View Full Version : Teams for this week
philhawk
13 Sep 2007, 18:12
No news as to the Hawks, but the Roos have supposedly left out Brown (:() and Jones(through injury) and have brought in Lower and Hansen.
Wonder if there'll be any changes for us.
No news as to the Hawks, but the Roos have supposedly left out Brown (:() and Jones(through injury) and have brought in Lower and Hansen.
Wonder if there'll be any changes for us.
I heard that too. Mcglynn will be emergency I think, still stuggling with a groin injury.
I think we'll just keep the same team as last week.
Horace at Work???
13 Sep 2007, 18:21
How confident do Hawks supporters feel about the fitness of Hodge and Campbell Brown?
Probably the two most important players to your team.
philhawk
13 Sep 2007, 18:22
How confident do Hawks supporters feel about the fitness of Hodge and Campbell Brown?
Both will be fine, have been training fine.
EXTREMELY confident. If Hodgey can come back on 10 minutes after the injury happened, and rip that game apart the way he did, he'll be right.
And young Master Brown. It takes more than a goal post to stop him.....
ormond-allen
13 Sep 2007, 18:34
CHanges confirmed on SEN...
ROOS: In... Hansen, Lower Out...Brown, Jones
HAWKS: No change
RustyHawk
13 Sep 2007, 18:35
KANGAROOS v HAWTHORN
Saturday, 7.30pm AEST, MCG
KANGAROOS
B: Daniel Pratt, Michael Firrito, Josh Gibson
HB: Jesse Smith, Shannon Watt, Ed Lower
C: Brent Harvey, Adam Simpson, Brady Rawlings
HF: David Hale, Drew Petrie, Aaron Edwards
F: Glenn Archer, Shannon Grant, Scott McMahon
R: Hamish McIntosh, Daniel Harris, Daniel Wells
I/C: Lachlan Hansen, Jess Sinclair, Andrew Swallow, Eddie Sansbury
EMG: Matt Campbell, Leigh Brown, Leigh Harding
In: Lachlan Hansen, Ed Lower
Out: Corey Jones (foot), Leigh Brown
HAWTHORN
B: Brent Guerra, Stephen Gilham, Campbell Brown
HB: Grant Birchall, Trent Croad, Rick Ladson
C: Jordan Lewis, Sam Mitchell, Richie Vandenberg
HF: Chance Bateman, Tim Boyle, Ben Dixon
F: Lance Franklin, Jarryd Roughead, Luke Hodge
FOLL: Robert Campbell, Brad Sewell, Shane Crawford
I/C: Michael Osborne, Joel Smith, Simon Taylor, Clinton Young
EMG: Travis Tuck, Ben McGlynn, Tom Murphy
No change
FatBoy's Wombats
13 Sep 2007, 18:37
Cheers Rusty!
Handy inclusions/exclusions for hawthorn in that Kangas side. Bring 'em on:thumbsu:
goblues09
13 Sep 2007, 18:40
very glad to see jones out - hard player to match up on and he was the diff IMO down at Inceston earlier this year
RustyHawk
13 Sep 2007, 18:40
Xavier Ellis has been replaced on the emergency list by Tom Murphy......hmm do we read something in that????
Murphy plays KPP forward or back whilst X man is a mid/defender...
Man, that's a great looking team. On paper, we are absolutely all over the Roos. On the day.....???
The Cryptkeeper
13 Sep 2007, 18:48
Corey Jones is a huge out for The Kangaroos. We are just about over the line I reckon.
very glad to see jones out - hard player to match up on and he was the diff IMO down at Inceston earlier this year
Well....umm...he did kick a lazy 7 goals - so that's a pretty fair assessment. :rolleyes:
Corey Jones is a huge out for The Kangaroos. We are just about over the line I reckon.
Thank goodness for that - I was worried that their 8-odd premiership players, the motivation of it being Archer's last game if they lose, a midfield of Wells, Harris, Simpson, Harvey and Rawlings, plus Shannon Grant and Archer playing forward might get them in the same suburb as our team of out and out proven champions.
Get a grip, this is still a 50/50 game.
Half fit Harris and Firrito also helps.
Should be a beauty.
keefriffhard
13 Sep 2007, 19:16
In: Lachlan Hansen, Ed Lower
Out: Corey Jones (foot), Leigh Brown
Looking handy with Jones out. :thumbsu:
Can anyone fill me in a bit on the two ins?
goblues09
13 Sep 2007, 19:16
this should be a cracker - cant help but think back to 2000 when the circumstances were very similar...from memory is was Salmons last game before he headed to a Farnham like retirement!!
the roos will wanna bounce back - but the Hawks will hopefully be on from the start whereas nerves were prevalent last week early on
Lets say Bye Bye to Arch and keep Vanders in it for at least another week hey!!!!
quiksilver83
13 Sep 2007, 19:21
Don't know too much about Lower... but Hansen was a high draft pick in last year's draft... KPP. Handy outs for the Roos, the Hawks should really make the most of this! No better opportunitiy to get into the pre-lim than this...
I'd say Murphy is emergency just in case a KPP doesn't come up for Hawthorn... having Ellis there along with McGlynn and Tuck would mean all three are midfielder types... Hopefully no changes to the named Hawthorn lineup. Should be a ripper! Carn Hawks !!!
Man, that's a great looking team. On paper, we are absolutely all over the Roos. On the day.....???
I dont see how, the midfields are fairly even, our backline is better, easily infact, your forward line is much better???? Not much in it imo.
The Cryptkeeper
13 Sep 2007, 19:55
Well....umm...he did kick a lazy 7 goals - so that's a pretty fair assessment. :rolleyes:
Thank goodness for that - I was worried that their 8-odd premiership players, the motivation of it being Archer's last game if they lose, a midfield of Wells, Harris, Simpson, Harvey and Rawlings, plus Shannon Grant and Archer playing forward might get them in the same suburb as our team of out and out proven champions.
Get a grip, this is still a 50/50 game.
How about you get a grip? I will back Crawford, Mitchell, Hodge, Sewell and Bateman against the five you put up there any day of the week and twice on a Saturday night.
As for milestone games, everybody knows that they mean diddly squat in terms of team motivation. But, if you want to play that card, I am sure that the HFC playing group reveres Richie Vandenberg just as much as the opposition reveres Glenn Archer.
Oh, and I will back Campbell Brown in on Shannon Grant and anybody that you want to put on Archer if he goes forward before I would back Firrito to beat Franklin and whomever they play on Roughead.
Hawthorn will win and win well. Back them over 39.5 points.
I dont see how, the midfields are fairly even, our backline is better, easily infact, your forward line is much better???? Not much in it imo.
Of course you don't see how. You're a Roos supporter, posting on a Hawk board...
I've never heard of most of the Kangas backline, so you'd know best :)
For the record, no game against North is easy, and it will take a mature, hard, four quarter effort to win it.
Go Hawks!!!!
For the record, no game against North is easy, and it will take a mature, hard, four quarter effort to win it.
Go Hawks!!!!
:D:D:D:D
Go Hawks!!!!
At least you are not dismissing a loss, alot of arrogant people on here.
Of course you don't see how. You're a Roos supporter, posting on a Hawk board...
No, im a football follower, on paper our backline is alot better, stop being biased. Your midfield probably has a slight edge in consistency, but either can be devestating on their day, and your forward line is alot better.
Im being perfectly unbiased actually.
No, im a football follower, on paper our backline is alot better, stop being biased. Your midfield probably has a slight edge in consistency, but either can be devestating on their day, and your forward line is alot better.
Gonna have to disagree about the backline.
Croad, Brown, Birchall stack up against anyone in the league. Gilham is under-rated. The others go as well as your guys IMO.
I'm worried about Harvey, Grant and co, but not about the backs.
Well congratulations. Happy for you.
I, on the other hand, am a Hawk supporter, posting on a Hawk board, so I'll be as biased as I like (although you should check my original post, and read it properly), so if you don't like it, f*ck off back to your own board....
Gonna have to disagree about the backline.
Croad, Brown, Birchall stack up against anyone in the league. Gilham is under-rated. The others go as well as your guys IMO.
I'm worried about Harvey, Grant and co, but not about the backs.
I agree with Brown, but Croad isnt close to the best tall back in the league, Birchall is young in improving, but ditto he isnt close to the best running defender either.
Firritio and Pratt werent far off AA, Gibson and Smith are excellent young players, and Jess Sinclair is very consistent, Watt on the other hand i have no excuse for, he does a job, thats about it. hopefully thats why they brought Hansen in.
HawkFan15
13 Sep 2007, 20:29
From the game in Tassie.
In: Franklin, Mitchell, Boyle
Out: Jones
Thats handy.
chaddles
13 Sep 2007, 20:32
Is going to be a very tight game, Cory Jones is a big loss for the Roos but that won't mean much on the day. If we can be in touch at half time like last week we will come home strong again and get the bacon.
Will be a lot closer than people think. Buddy will be licking his lips at a chance to perform infront of 60-70,000 people and on prime time tv!!
Well congratulations. Happy for you.
I, on the other hand, am a Hawk supporter, posting on a Hawk board, so I'll be as biased as I like (although you should check my original post, and read it properly), so if you don't like it, f*ck off back to your own board....
And yes it is unfortunate its a public forum too, unlucky buddy.
goblues09
13 Sep 2007, 20:38
sorry but Croad is up there with the top tall defenders in the competition - he is an All Australian and has had a very solid season - he probably split the points with J Brown earlier this year keeping him to only 5 majors - and will have more pace and strength than Petrie so the delivery will have to be Hodge like if Petrie is to get the points here....and with Hodgey in our colours - i dont like his chances against Croady
Brown n Gold
13 Sep 2007, 20:41
Our Midfield craps all over the kangas i'm afraid pal... B Harvey is the only bloke in there that would get a run for the hawks. D Wells is the most overated play in the last 5 years. He's like a poor mans S Burgoyne.
Harvey wouldnt only get a run, hed run the thing, hes one of the brownlow favourites for a reason...
Brown n Gold
13 Sep 2007, 20:47
And yes it is unfortunate its a public forum too, unlucky buddy.
I'd be tipping Swallows i think
goblues09
13 Sep 2007, 20:48
peter harvey, canberra, would get more kicks....did brent harvey play last week>>>
Hawkers Hero
13 Sep 2007, 20:49
you guys have a forward line????
The Cryptkeeper
13 Sep 2007, 20:49
Harvey wouldnt only get a run, hed run the thing, hes one of the brownlow favourites for a reason...
You're kidding right?
Luke Hodge is ten times the player Harvey is and before you throw the fact that Harvey is second favourite for the Brownlow back in our faces, I will point out that muppets like Tony Liberatore and Shane Wowoeful won Brownlow Medals. Greats such as Wayne Carey, Gary Ablett Sr and Leigh Matthews did not.
Hodge is so far in front of Harvey it is laughable. Harvey is about on par with Mitchell and will have a lot of fun trying to shake the tag of Brad Sewell this week.
goblues09
13 Sep 2007, 20:53
heard Sewelly is a bit iffy from a groin complaint....they can let harvey go i reckon - after all its a big game and he is bound to go missing anyway:D
hawkstar
13 Sep 2007, 21:08
This is what we need!
Take no prisoners!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v327/Hawkstar/crawfrr0.jpg
Collins-Langford-Ayres
13 Sep 2007, 21:39
Could Richie tag Shannon Grant all day?
The Cryptkeeper
13 Sep 2007, 22:23
Could Richie tag Shannon Grant all day?
I like Brown as the matchup for Grant. Grant is pretty dangerous but doesn't like it too physical and Brown is our most brutal one on one competitor.
kirbatron
14 Sep 2007, 10:07
someone rang in SEN with the late mail that Firrito would be replaced by Brown...
i hope that is the case