View Full Version : Crows in the SANFL: Finals Week 1
Since Norwood and the Crows are out i've decided not to wait for Drummond and to put up my own!:o
Elimination Final: Sturt Vs. Glenelg.
Sturt should have Marty Mattner coming off a wing (Stop this NC!) and Glenelg should have young Dicky Douglas and Johnny Hinge.
Qualifying Final: North Vs. Eagles
North have many Crows lining up for them with Nick Gill on a HFF, Andrew McIntyre at Full Back and rookie Greg Gallman coming off the bench. The Eags should have SANFL powerhouse Bernie Vince carving it up on the ball and finals specialist Ken McGregor dominating in the forward line!
Unless I'm mistaken both games are usually on ABC TV on Sunday afternoon?:confused:
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 20:42
There has been talk of McGregor playing on Gill but I can't see Ronald Fuller going for that as Gill would be too quick. It should be a beauty on Sunday at Adelaide Oval, get down there and support real footy.
Both games should be on the ABC...
betterthanu
13 Sep 2007, 20:51
There has been talk of McGregor playing on Gill but I can't see Ronald Fuller going for that as Gill would be too quick.
Gee i reckon Jars would be pretty happy if that match up eventuated. Gill can out run him, our sprint him and out jump him
Porps_is_HOT_loz
13 Sep 2007, 21:00
There has been talk of McGregor playing on Gill but I can't see Ronald Fuller going for that as Gill would be too quick. It should be a beauty on Sunday at Adelaide Oval, get down there and support real footy.
Both games should be on the ABC...
I wood like to see that game:)
What happens when Gilly outruns Kenny..:confused:
Will Kenny get mad LOL:D
Kane McGoodwin
13 Sep 2007, 21:30
Bays must have a good winning record when Douglas plays.
Looking forward to Sunday.
I'll be heading down to the Oval to view both of these games, should be good fun :) Definitly interested in how the Crows boys go, especially Mattner, Hinge and Gallman, but go sturt ;)
betterthanu
13 Sep 2007, 21:41
Does the reserves lineup get announced tonight online? For the bays specifically
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 22:11
I'll be heading down to the Oval to view both of these games, should be good fun :) Definitly interested in how the Crows boys go, especially Mattner, Hinge and Gallman, but go sturt ;)
why would you even give a shit how the Crow lads go now? the Crows season is finished for ****s sake so their form means absolutely nothing for the AFC
just get behind the team which you 'sometimes' go for instead of cheering on Crow players
jesus christ
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 22:12
Does the reserves lineup get announced tonight online? For the bays specifically
Not sure about the Bays lineup, I guess it would be on their site as North's ressies team is online.
the snoutlout site would have it I assume
why would you even give a shit how the Crow lads go now? the Crows season is finished for ****s sake so their form means absolutely nothing for the AFC
just get behind the team which you 'sometimes' go for instead of cheering on Crow players
jesus christ
Where did that come from :confused:
Because someone wants to see how the Crows fellas go, you blow your stack?
Keep a lid on it cowboy :rolleyes:
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 22:16
Well it is SANFL finals and the Crows do not play next week so who cares how they go! Personally as long as Mad Dog, Gallman and Gill play well the others can all do **** all as far as I'm concerned, especially Ken and Bernie.
Good to see you defending the online ladies while trying to chase a bit of skirt ;)
Well it is SANFL finals and the Crows do not play next week so who cares how they go! Personally as long as Mad Dog, Gallman and Gill play well the others can all do **** all as far as I'm concerned, especially Ken and Bernie.
Still think it is of interest, especially for the not so 'hardcore' fans such as yourself. ;) :p
I'll certainly be out there, probably stick around for your guys game too. You know, to watch the crows fellas go around :p.
Very interested to see Gallman. I've heard nothing but good things.
Hopefully, Douglas kicks 25 and Mattner plays in a back pocket and doesn't get a kick :D. Sturt are full of bloody PAPs anyway, and it's always nice to give them a flogging.
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 22:25
Gallman is great, he has played well on Chambers twice this season. He will need another big game this week though.
I ****ing hate Sturt, I hate their team, I hate (most of) their supporters... they gave us so much shit last week but went silent when he stormed back. **** did we give it to them when we won.
On form the Bays should win easy but anything can happen in finals, and Glenelg haven't played in one this century.
Crowman32
13 Sep 2007, 22:42
Sellar named in the league side for Glenelg.
betterthanu
13 Sep 2007, 22:44
I was waiting to see if this actually happened
Bree - yant.
Obviously means Duldig didn't come up.
Edit: Have you a source on this, because I can't find one
Since Norwood and the Crows are out i've decided not to wait for Drummond and to put up my own!:o
I've just found out that Drummond has got the red card - what for?
Did he give it to himself now that the Legs season has finished?:D
Obviously means Duldig didn't come up.
Edit: Have you a source on this, because I can't find one
Teams read out on 5RPH radio tonight. Duldig definitely out with his ankle injury. Sellar named on the bench in an extended side of 25, so he still might not make the final team for Sunday.
Hopefully he plays, or he wont have a game on the weekend, as our ressies have the week off AFAIK.
RoosterLad
13 Sep 2007, 23:17
Yep you lot finished top in the magoos so you have a week off.
Guess he could play in the 19's if need be. They've got a Saturday Elimination final against West.
Slick Dog Johnson
14 Sep 2007, 00:36
You ****ing beauty.
Superstar of the modern game.
ROOno.1
14 Sep 2007, 11:02
You ****ing beauty.
Superstar of the modern game.
Then why has he been playing for reserves?
ROOno.1
14 Sep 2007, 11:44
Can't wait to see Mattner playing in the double blue guernesy on Sunday. He was brilliant to watch last time at Unley and at Adelaide Oval there is even more space for him to run out on the wing. Will be fantastic to see him with is confidence back.
Will be heading off to see Sturt beat Glenelg for the 2nd time this year
adelaide_girl
14 Sep 2007, 19:30
Going to make the trek with the kiddlets to watch my blue boys hopefully get up against the bays on sunday. :D
Go Blues :thumbsu::thumbsu:
fantastic_crows
16 Sep 2007, 12:43
Carn you Roosters :thumbsu:
Dogga79
16 Sep 2007, 12:57
Im gonna go and watch Gilly kick a bag and take a couple of hangers today.
Go the Roosters!!!
Did Sellar make the seniors for the bays?
Truck Rutten
16 Sep 2007, 13:45
Did Sellar make the seniors for the bays?
Yes he did :thumbsu:
Come on you Tigers!
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 15:36
gee Hinge is average. Let's hope we weed out these average young players (Jericho) this year.
Pride of SA
16 Sep 2007, 16:00
From the little I`ve watched on ABC, Sellar looks pretty good. Takena couple of nice marks, nice kick for goal, though the wind pushed it offline at the last second.
Douglas looks like hes put a bit of weight on too thankfully. cant see through him anymore at least. Put him in the middle more next year, hes not a crumber or back flanker.
Hinge isnt impressing me much.
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 16:36
From the little I`ve watched on ABC, Sellar looks pretty good. Takena couple of nice marks, nice kick for goal, though the wind pushed it offline at the last second.
Douglas looks like hes put a bit of weight on too thankfully. cant see through him anymore at least. Put him in the middle more next year, hes not a crumber or back flanker.
Hinge isnt impressing me much.
Douglas is going to be a player. Sellar and Hinge look very ordinary.
Crows and now Sturt. Footy sucks sometimes.:(
macca23
16 Sep 2007, 17:06
Douglas really stood up in that last quarter and was a big factor in Glenelg's 1 point win. Quality player.
A bit harsh on Hinge fellas. He was pretty useful IMO, particularly in the last quarter when it really counted.
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 17:08
Douglas really stood up in that last quarter and was a big factor in Glenelg's 1 point win. Quality player.
A bit harsh on Hinge fellas. He was pretty useful IMO, particularly in the last quarter when it really counted.
and Sellar??? Hmmm next.
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 17:13
and Sellar??? Hmmm next.
Mate fair chop, he's drafted as a 17 year old and he's had major problems during the draft year with injury and illness. When he rocked up to pre-season he wasn't fit enough for SANFL ressies let alone AFL.
Give him a pre-season and some development under his belt. Will be a modern day champion, mark my words.
macca23
16 Sep 2007, 17:16
and Sellar??? Hmmm next.
Sellar was very disappointing. Let's hope he has a good pre-season and starts to come on, because I didn't like what I saw today, although it is only one game.
Mattner was pretty good for Sturt.
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 17:16
Hope McGregor has a big one today - with a lot of possessions to show people that he isn't incapable of moving.
Richie Douglas :)
This boy is sensational. WHAT a star :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Would have had at least 15 touches in the last quarter alone. Nice seeing him get physical today too. Wins the hard ball, can run, kick, quick hands, courage. GUN :D
Sellar, meh wasn't his day. Good luck being a forward with the delivery today. Was OK early, faded out, not fit enough. Needs a massive PS. He'll be a very good player, just not fit enough at this stage. Having OP doesn't help.
Hinge - good last term, poo before that. He's borderline delist material.
WHAT A FKN WIN
Go YOU TIGES :thumbsu:
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 17:51
Richie Douglas :)
This boy is sensational. WHAT a star :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Would have had at least 15 touches in the last quarter alone. Nice seeing him get physical today too. Wins the hard ball, can run, kick, quick hands, courage. GUN :D
Sellar, meh wasn't his day. Good luck being a forward with the delivery today. Was OK early, faded out, not fit enough. Needs a massive PS. He'll be a very good player, just not fit enough at this stage. Having OP doesn't help.
Hinge - good last term, poo before that. He's borderline delist material.
WHAT A FKN WIN
Go YOU TIGES :thumbsu:
How good did he look? Screams young Tyson Edwards to me, will take time but when he gets there will be sensational. His hands in the last quarter in setting up Moore's goal were just brilliant. Looks to have bulked up a fair bit too, give him just one more pre-season and I reckon he'll be there or thereabouts. Can't wait till next year.
As a neutral supporter, how good did Matts look on a wing. He'll be traded this year for sure and probably reasonably cheaply. What's even worse is the club that gets him will be picking up an absolute gem :(
Good to see the Bays get some success actually, shame for all the other teams that the Doggies are gonna win again ;)
Hope McGregor has a big one today - with a lot of possessions to show people that he isn't incapable of moving.
Before I comment on the Sturt loss :(
Does anyone think now that KMac has declared he wants out, that the AFC should protect their investment and pull him out of any further SANFL matches?
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 17:56
Does anyone think now that KMac has declared he wants out, that the AFC should protect their investment and pull him out of any further SANFL matches?
Interesting call, but I think it would be the nail in the coffin of the McGregor/Crows relationship if they tried that on.
And the way McGregor has been playing in the SANFL, wouldn't a good performance in the finals help his value?
macca23
16 Sep 2007, 17:58
I understand why you say that, but I'd leave it up to Kenny.
We want to work with him in this trade thing to maximize our return, so I wouldn't be doing anything to put him off-side.
Shattered...2 weeks in a row both under 1 goal :(
Mattner shows why he can be a good player when given the right position.
Douglas shows why the AFC have invested in him. Hinge.. looked out of sorts till the last 1/4 . Sellar. Wasnt the day for forwards with the wind. Just terrible out there .... saying that I noticed there wasnt the Sellar focus by the Bays players...they looked more for Kirkby.. he looked good as well...as did Chambers...he is a strong player and wont get pushed around.
Looked at number 58 'ena' sharples. 18 yrs old..can get the ball but like Mattner tries to do that 1 step to much and got caught a few times..was only his 2nd game so keep an eye on him
Simon Feast at 32 shows why ruckman can take so long...he just knew where to be
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 18:11
Mate fair chop, he's drafted as a 17 year old and he's had major problems during the draft year with injury and illness. When he rocked up to pre-season he wasn't fit enough for SANFL ressies let alone AFL.
Give him a pre-season and some development under his belt. Will be a modern day champion, mark my words.
Regardless of age you look for little signs in a player. I haven't seen anything in Sellars game to excite me. His attack at the contest is average, overhead he's average and he looks too slow and lumbering to be considered a quality forward. If anything, the only think I was impressed with was his ruckwork in the forward line but unfortunately at 195cm, he's too short to be an AFL ruckman. Good old Fantassia, at least he was consistent.;) Jesus I reallly hope I will have egg on my face with this one but the signs aren't good.
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 18:16
Regardless of age you look for little signs in a player. I haven't seen anything in Sellars game to excite me. His attack at the contest is average, overhead he's average and he looks too slow and lumbering to be considered a quality forward. If anything, the only think I was impressed with was his ruckwork in the forward line but unfortunately at 195cm, he's too short to be an AFL ruckman. Good old Fantassia, at least he was consistent.;)
OP + 0 Fitness base due to Glandular Fever + Chronic Gastro = Unfit & no proper conditioning. Throw in the conditions today not suiting a young kid playing @ CHF.
He can play mate, we're very lucky he slid. In 2 years you'll be eating these words barring a terrible injury.
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 18:25
OP + 0 Fitness base due to Glandular Fever + Chronic Gastro = Unfit & no proper conditioning. Throw in the conditions today not suiting a young kid playing @ CHF.
He can play mate, we're very lucky he slid. In 2 years you'll be eating these words barring a terrible injury.
I blo*dy hope so mate. We really need to start having a few wins with our high draft picks.
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 18:30
I blo*dy hope so mate. We really need to start having a few wins with our high draft picks.
Whilst I'm hardly a recruiting manager, I reckon I'm a fair judge of young kids (ie I know a spud when I see one). Sellar is one of the top youngsters I've ever seen play the game for his age (this is pre injury). He looks a different player post injury but from what I've been told that's not a permanent thing. Give him a proper pre-season and I reckon he'll develop out of sight.
TBH I reckon he's about 198cm now anyway and could still become an ELITE ruckman. Not what we need or like to hear but he could play backup ruck next year at AFL level. Will develop into an AA CHF though and if played at CHB then he'd be a once in 50 years type player.
I Manlove this kid, seriously.
SpringChoke
16 Sep 2007, 18:35
Whilst I'm hardly a recruiting manager, I reckon I'm a fair judge of young kids (ie I know a spud when I see one). Sellar is one of the top youngsters I've ever seen play the game for his age (this is pre injury). He looks a different player post injury but from what I've been told that's not a permanent thing. Give him a proper pre-season and I reckon he'll develop out of sight.
TBH I reckon he's about 198cm now anyway and could still become an ELITE ruckman. Not what we need or like to hear but he could play backup ruck next year at AFL level. Will develop into an AA CHF though and if played at CHB then he'd be a once in 50 years type player.
I Manlove this kid, seriously.
Hmm big wraps.
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 18:37
Hmm big wraps.
Very. I reckon he'd make a better CHB than a CHF but he'll be a star at either position.
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 18:38
Hmm big wraps.
The manlove call - I'm sold, not a term to be thrown around lightly.
brown30
16 Sep 2007, 18:39
The manlove call - I'm sold, not a term to be thrown around lightly.
:D Get on the Sellar train for a debut mid-2008 and a starring role by start of 2009.
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 19:07
7 frees to O'Hara.
What the ****.
Lazy last quarter, but with only one man left on the bench, they were a show to over-run us.
fantastic_crows
16 Sep 2007, 19:18
YEAHHHHHHHHH!!!
What a ****en win.
Down by 5 goals, and we came back again. Great character from the boys.
MATTHEW WRIGHT, WHAT A GUN!
Greg Gallman and Andrew McIntyre were pretty decent I thought.
Bring on Centrals.
EDIT: Oh my god, 75 free kicks in the game :eek:
What odds RoosterLad be redcarded by 10pm?
:D
Punchy Bassett
16 Sep 2007, 19:32
What odds RoosterLad be redcarded by 10pm?
:D
Isn't he already under suspension right now?
Drummond
16 Sep 2007, 19:35
gee Hinge is average. Let's hope we weed out these average young players (Jericho) this year.
?????????????????????
Just got back from the gamne, will post reports on both games in a sec.
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 19:37
Isn't he already under suspension right now?
He's back today.
REDCARD HIM AGAIN
AdelUniCrowFan
16 Sep 2007, 19:38
YEAHHHHHHHHH!!!
What a ****en win.
Down by 5 goals, and we came back again. Great character from the boys.
MATTHEW WRIGHT, WHAT A GUN!
Greg Gallman and Andrew McIntyre were pretty decent I thought.
Bring on Centrals.
EDIT: Oh my god, 75 free kicks in the game :eek:
I didn't watch the match but a 41-34 Free Kick suggests that as a spectator you would have been pulling your hair out.
Glenelg led the frees in the other match 33-20.
betterthanu
16 Sep 2007, 19:40
Gallman = Gun.............Gunman
Punchy Bassett
16 Sep 2007, 19:42
He's back today.
REDCARD HIM AGAIN
Eh, I think he'll be having too much fun at the Cathedral right now to be around here!
I live with two Sturt supporters who have been bagging me about Norwood all year, trying to get up the courage to mention they only ended up playing one more game! :)
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 19:53
The Umpiring in that game was a disgrace.
Without going into who was favoured or not - that many frees in a game of footy is bloody pathetic.
fantastic_crows
16 Sep 2007, 19:53
I didn't watch the match but a 41-34 Free Kick suggests that as a spectator you would have been pulling your hair out.
Glenelg led the frees in the other match 33-20.
It was frustrating to watch.
Both teams gave away some soft and silly free kicks, and 50 of the free kicks were probably there, but 75, thats just nuts.
Leaping Lindner
16 Sep 2007, 19:56
Superb! :thumbsu:
First qualifying final win since 1991!
Drummond
16 Sep 2007, 20:00
First of all Ruory Kirkby was absolutely terrific today! :thumbsu:
He plays exactly how a true half forward should and he covered an amazing amount of ground. He keeps working and makes lead after lead. He took countless marks including two or three ripper contested marks. I know he’s 21 and Sellar’s only 18, but the gap between the two is massive. Unlike Sellar, he continues to present and he demands the ball. He kept the Bays in the game today and was the main reason they got over the line. Draft him with a late pick.
I was extremely disappointed in Sellar today, especially after quarter time. His first quarter was good and he laid many tackles and even had a great smother. He led well on one occasion and had a kick from about 45 out into the breeze but missed. But from then on he was pretty much awful. IMO he makes life easy for his opponent because he makes very short leads and if he hasn’t got a very big gap from his opponent he gives up. Problem is he doesn’t continue making hard leads, he just runs a few metres, stops and runs back. He doesn’t look like a natural forward, and that’s because he’s been developed as a ruckman. Can you become a key forward if you’re not a “natural”? Because after being so excited when he was drafted, I am now shaking my head. I know he’s got potential, but this season we’ve seen absolutely none of it. :thumbsd:
After a quiet start Richard Douglas was very, very impressive in the last half. Spent some time up forward for little impact but when he was in the midfield he did well. Would’ve had 20+ possessions and most of which were in contested situations were he cleared the ball from heavy traffic. His last quarter was excellent and whenever he was in the packs you fancied him to get hands on it such was his dominance. Also worth noting was his tackling.
Now I can’t believe people are bagging Hinge. IMO he was very good and those who were there would’ve appreciated his game a lot more. He worked very hard in defence and he covered a lot of ground. The ball was coming into the Blues forward line quite often and Hinge mopped up extremely well. Generally used the ball very well and he showed some genuine football smarts today, especially when in 1-on-1 contests. I honestly struggle to believe why he’s receiving so much criticism because to me he was very important to Glenelg’s defence holding so tight. His opponent had no impact and he found the ball and used it well. Good game from a solid player. :thumbsu:
This may come as a shock but Mattner played on the wing!!!! I thought he was quite good and his tackling was brilliant. Dodged his way past many opponents and had quite a few inside 50’s. I loved his aggression and when he’s stuck in defence you don’t get to see this side of Mattner. He broke tackles, won possession in heavy traffic, contested well for a few pack marks, and on the whole was a good contributor from the wing. I would HATE to see him leave because we’re too stupid to play him in his correct position.
Now for North v Eagles…
Andrew McIntyre should be shown the door as IMO there is very little to work with. His biggest weakness is his constant fumbling. Don’t think I’ve seen a player fumble the ball as often as he does, and this wasn’t just a one off thing it’s happened every time I’ve seen him. Is slow, leans back too far when he kicks, and yeah, the fumbling. Also tacks intensity. McNamara >>> McIntyre.
Greg Gallman is better than McIntyre. Stays close to his opponent, has good closing speed, is aggressive and he’s more than willing to tackle and chase. Won’t be tall enough to be a key defender at the top level but there’s a bit to work with.
Vince was average. Kicked 0.3 from memory, all gettable shots. Tackled very well but was well down on what we’ve come to expect from him in the SANFL.
McGregor started very slowly, but his second and third quarters were good. Worked hard and dished out some very crisp handballs to the running player. Would’ve taken about half a dozen marks and kicked 2 goals in a reasonable performance on a day not suited to key forwards.
Gill wasn’t too bad. He kicked a great goal to open the game, and also took a screamer in the second quarter but missed. Was stuck at full forward for a while when the Roosters couldn’t seem to find the ball but when North starting to roll he become more important.
I saw both games at the Oval today. Mattner, Hinge and Douglas were all pretty good in the first game. Sellar didn't to much at all, he looked a little lost. Wasn't leading very well etc. Mattner was one the wing and looked like his oldself. They all got off to a good start, but faded away before picking up in the last qtr. My stats are:
Mattner: K - 8, H - 5, M - 3, T - 4
Hinge: K - 11, H - 7, M - 2, T - 0
Sellar: K - 4, H - 1, M - 2, T - 0, B - 1
Douglas: K - 10, H - 11, M - 3, T - 2, B - 1
Again, in the second game everyone played reasonably well. Vince would've been the stand out of the Crows players, he looks to be in the best shape he has been all year. McGregor came and went, as did Gill. He got crunched in a tackle and wasn't to comfortable with his shoulder. McIntyre was ok, Gallman did some nice things but I didn't record his stats. My stats are:
Gill: K - 5, H - 2, M - 5, T - 3, G - 1
McIntyre: K - 4, H - 5, M - 4, T - 0
Vince: K - 8, H - 7, M - 5, T - 5, B - 3
McGregor: K - 6, H - 5, M - 6, T - 1, G - 2
Drummond
16 Sep 2007, 20:06
Again, in the second game everyone played reasonably well. Vince would've been the stand out of the Crows players, he looks to be in the best shape he has been all year. McGregor came and went, as did Gill. He got crunched in a tackle and wasn't to comfortable with his shoulder. McIntyre was ok, Gallman did some nice things but I didn't record his stats. My stats are:
Gill: K - 5, H - 2, M - 5, T - 3, G - 1
McIntyre: K - 4, H - 5, M - 4, T - 0
Vince: K - 8, H - 7, M - 5, T - 5, B - 3
McGregor: K - 6, H - 5, M - 6, T - 1, G - 2
I felt all players in the later game were average. Apart from a few nice tackles, Vince was very average. And McIntyre was a lot worse than "OK", he was dreadful.
Mattner: K - 8, H - 5, M - 3, T - 4
Hinge: K - 11, H - 7, M - 2, T - 0
Those figures surprise me. I would have thought Marty had at least 15 kicks
I doubt they're exact, Marty was hard to spot in the sturt team.
And Drummond, I thought Vince better than 'very average'. He wasn't fabulous, but he spent most of the game on the ground and play his role, didn't give away too many frees as he sometimes does. I agree with you on McIntyre. He took some good marks, but he hesitated too often when taking a kick and could've done more.
Pride of SA
16 Sep 2007, 20:35
How did Chambers not get a decent go at the AFL? Hes a gun.
Port_GW
16 Sep 2007, 20:45
How did Chambers not get a decent go at the AFL? Hes a gun.
Same reason why Adam Richardson didnt, good player, but not quite enough polish.
Crow-mo
16 Sep 2007, 20:48
Same reason why Adam Richardson didnt, good player, but not quite enough polish.
king of the obvious and redundant statement today :thumbsu:
Drummond
16 Sep 2007, 20:50
And Drummond, I thought Vince better than 'very average'. He wasn't fabulous, but he spent most of the game on the ground and play his role, didn't give away too many frees as he sometimes does. I agree with you on McIntyre. He took some good marks, but he hesitated too often when taking a kick and could've done more.
Well you see I think kicking 0.3 and not having a whole of the ball counts for very average. It was breezy out there and I understand players missing shots on goal, but Vince has 3 attempts and all were gettable. He had two from about 30-40 out, including one in the third term which would have sealed the game. Always going to be tough today, but he missed goals that should’ve been kicked.
This is how I ranked all the Crows today:
Douglas
Hinge
Mattner
Gallman
McGregor
Vince
Gill
McIntyre
Sellar
Port_GW
16 Sep 2007, 20:59
king of the obvious and redundant statement today :thumbsu:
Give it a rest you moron, it was a response to a direct question asked on here.
How about some sensible football debate/analysis instead of the inane dribble and criticism that appears your only contribution to Big Footy and this board.
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 21:13
oh what a sexy day for football
first of all, North 2 early goals and a few frees then after that we were raped by the umps, definitely favoured Woodville, or West Torrens or whoever they want to be called these days
secondly, 5 goals down, low scoring game.. we were gone. our finals footy has been ordinary in recent years but they ****en stood up
O'Hara simply SUPERB against his old team and was BOG at the club
i rocked up at the cathedral at 12:30 or so, about 1 i hear BEN HART is out.. but he ended up playing and dominating, 2nd best at the club
what a superb win, Matty Wright slots the sealer, what a ****en gun he puts it away in a pressure game, not like that **** wonnymirries from norwood who is shite
****en you beauty!!!
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 21:15
P.S. Vince was shut down by the best tagger in the comp, Krieg (no. 8 from North) he has smashed J Clayton plenty of times, now smashed pretty boy Vince
team man ****en oath
Crow-mo
16 Sep 2007, 21:24
How about some sensible football debate/analysis instead of the inane dribble and criticism that appears your only contribution to Big Footy and this board.
the word is drivel btw. and i'm not sure a lightweight like you wants to get into a content argument. after all, you've entertained us today with how Adam Richardson didn't make it because he wasn't quite good enough, and how next year will be important for James Sellar. whatever can we learn next? :thumbsu:
Port_GW
16 Sep 2007, 21:30
the word is drivel btw. and i'm not sure a lightweight like you wants to get into a content argument. after all, you've entertained us today with how Adam Richardson didn't make it because he wasn't quite good enough, and how next year will be important for James Sellar. whatever can we learn next? :thumbsu:
I actually said Richardson and Chambers lack polish, and were similar in that regard and its the reason why neither would make it at AFL level, is that such a controversial statement, i guess any excuse to try and look funny you'll take it (even if it just shows how petty a human being you are).
Yeah content like Brad Ebert's dad played for Norwood, sorry yeah cant compete with that. You afterall know everything, and are the first person to shoot someone down over nothing. Oh and yeah Freo likely to take Nathan Bock and pick 10 for Pavlich, yeah you're on the money there :thumbsu:
P.S. Vince was shut down by the best tagger in the comp, Krieg (no. 8 from North) he has smashed J Clayton plenty of times, now smashed pretty boy Vince
team man ****en oath
Did Krieg even play in the last half? I thought he got injured....
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 21:40
Did Krieg even play in the last half? I thought he got injured....
Did Vince play? ;)
first of all, North 2 early goals and a few frees then after that we were raped by the umps, definitely favoured Woodville, or West Torrens or whoever they want to be called these days
secondly, 5 goals down, low scoring game.. we were gone. our finals footy has been ordinary in recent years but they ****en stood up
O'Hara simply SUPERB against his old team and was BOG at the club
i rocked up at the cathedral at 12:30 or so, about 1 i hear BEN HART is out.. but he ended up playing and dominating, 2nd best at the club
what a superb win, Matty Wright slots the sealer, what a ****en gun he puts it away in a pressure game, not like that **** wonnymirries from norwood who is shite
****en you beauty!!!
Jars put Hart on the wing in the 2nd half, I like him there. Makes you wonder why he never really played there for the crows. I guess he was too good as a defender, but if he had his football career over again I am sure he would have liked to get forward of centre more. I would not have had him as 2nd best today, as he turned the ball over a few times in crucial areas.
The umpiring in both games was the worst I have seen at the SANFL ever. The inconsistency was staggering. As a neutral observer, Sturt were definitely stitched up by the umps in what I saw in the 2nd half of their game. As for the North v Eagles games, the less said about that the better. There were a lot of out on the full free kicks which would have accounted for quite a number of the 75 given. That said, to say the umps were whistle happy would be an understatement.
None of the Crows players had a huge influence.
Gill was starved of opportunities for basically a half of football as North couldn't get it past centre.
McGregor is good player at SANFL level and a handy player at best in the AFL. Did nothing special today, was just typically McGregor.
When he got the ball Vince did some things which shows he is a cut above the rest. Should have kicked 3 but missed in tough conditions. Was shut down for the most of it, I don't think he really is an onballer, certainly not at AFL level. His spot has to be forward/half forward pushing up to the wing.
It will be 2009 before McIntyre makes his AFL debut, if at all. Has he been pigeonholed as a defender only? Doesn't look confident over the ball, from memory he was injured from a while this year. Maybe a preseason will help.
NSWCROW
16 Sep 2007, 21:56
:(:thumbsd:
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 21:59
oh and Cubillo, what a star, what a tackler, he lifted second half and is a draft priority
might make a thread or two about him
Great day of footy.
Gallman got absolutely smashed though.
oh and Cubillo, what a star, what a tackler, he lifted second half and is a draft priority
might make a thread or two about him
Getting a bit too excited based on one half's performance. I'd be rookie listing Wundke before him.
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 22:07
Getting a bit too excited based on one half's performance. I'd be rookie listing Wundke before him.
Hi homie.
Cubillo has shown a lot this year, made his debut in a final against the Dogs last year and struggled but won a Coke rising star thing award this year. He is a unit, tough as **** and he's only a kid. I agree though, Wundke, Cubillo, Wright and Hart should all be rookie listed next year.
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 22:08
Great day of footy.
He wasn't smashed, he was good at times, he is a kid and will be a gun.
Hi homie.
Cubillo has shown a lot this year, made his debut in a final against the Dogs last year and struggled but won a Coke rising star thing award this year. He is a unit, tough as **** and he's only a kid. I agree though, Wundke, Cubillo, Wright and Hart should all be rookie listed next year.
Haha god I love the RoosterLad!
Hi homie.
Homie?
Might as well rookie list Barrie Robran as well.
Port_GW
16 Sep 2007, 22:20
Homie?
Might as well rookie list Barrie Robran as well.
RL will Ken Farmer go on the rookie list or the main list? :D
roostersgal4eva
16 Sep 2007, 22:21
Hi homie.
love ya work rooster :p:thumbsu: - he could of been perfect for Buddy....ah well :D
Great win by the roosters - 30pts down and still win!!!!!!!!
fantastic_crows
16 Sep 2007, 22:22
Great day of footy.
Wouldn't say he got smashed.
I thought he was above average.
RoosterLad
16 Sep 2007, 22:23
Seriously. North have the best supporters in the world.
n_3UZzpUIAA
roostersgal4eva
16 Sep 2007, 22:27
Thankyou you mighty Roosters - its been a shiate day and the win has brighten it up
King Elvis
16 Sep 2007, 22:55
We'll knock off the Bays next week, then North the week after, then Centrals.
Assuming the SANFL Umpires don't keep trying to break the ton in free kicks they give.
Dandy_GO
16 Sep 2007, 23:34
You missed a few of Douglas' tackles I'd say. The man was a tackling machine today. Absolutely crunched a few guys. It was definately the most impressive side of his game this week, perhaps due to the conditions.
Love seeing the skinny little fella bury blokes twice his size.
Dandy_GO
16 Sep 2007, 23:36
Now I can’t believe people are bagging Hinge. IMO he was very good and those who were there would’ve appreciated his game a lot more. He worked very hard in defence and he covered a lot of ground. The ball was coming into the Blues forward line quite often and Hinge mopped up extremely well. Generally used the ball very well and he showed some genuine football smarts today, especially when in 1-on-1 contests. I honestly struggle to believe why he’s receiving so much criticism because to me he was very important to Glenelg’s defence holding so tight. His opponent had no impact and he found the ball and used it well. Good game from a solid player. :thumbsu:
Agreed. The only criticism I would have would be that he lacks a bit of hardness at the contest at this point. He seems to have been that way since his mid-year injury. Still, I thought he played a good game. I don't know how people could write him off based on today. Played his role very well.
Sorry to correct you BUT
K: 12
H: 15
P: 27
;)
Easy to miss alot of his though. Got ALOT of contested footy :thumbsu:
macca23
17 Sep 2007, 10:55
You missed a few of Douglas' tackles I'd say. The man was a tackling machine today. Absolutely crunched a few guys. It was definately the most impressive side of his game this week, perhaps due to the conditions.
Love seeing the skinny little fella bury blokes twice his size.
Gee, I would have thought that 6 to 8 tackles would have been the bare minimum for Douglas. As Dandy says he was a tackling machine.
2 tackles is wrong and just doesn't do his game justice.