View Full Version : League B and F
Bit stiff paddy edwards (dingley) not to get invited
lonewolf
14 Sep 2007, 22:04
Anyone know who got invitied in each grade?
From Mount there was Wilkin and Costantino in the seniors, and Leask in the reserves.
Anyone know who got invitied in each grade?
From Mount there was Wilkin and Costantino in the seniors, and Leask in the reserves.
don't know about seniors, but the two's at doveton have jack huang going!!
i think marzy is stiffer.
best tagger in SFL
i am talking bout divvy 2. edwards and debbolfo very stiff
MadMan V1.2
15 Sep 2007, 01:00
The great man "supercoach" vinny o'connor got invited from skye, good luck coach!!!
Tigerarmy88
15 Sep 2007, 12:09
mundy will win the reserves division 3 if vinny doesnt
woof woof woof
17 Sep 2007, 14:54
i am talking bout divvy 2. edwards and debbolfo very stiff
How can you say that Bolfs (De Bolfo) was stiff.
Im sure he'd be the first to tell you that he doesnt get anywhere near enough posessions, and his skills are terrible.
This is something he will work on over the next few years and hopefully become a good footballer.
Twisted
17 Sep 2007, 15:07
Does any body have any info on who got invited from division one?
I think Newman (st.kilda) and Smith (high) should as i reckon it will be out of them for who wins it.
When is it anyway?
Return of the Pies
17 Sep 2007, 16:19
Does any body have any info on who got invited from division one?
I think Newman (st.kilda) and Smith (high) should as i reckon it will be out of them for who wins it.
When is it anyway?[/quote]
I think Mark Shalders, Barry Hope and Paul Wineberg will also be in the mix. The Presentation night is on Fri 4th October same venue in Springvale (can't remember the name of it?)
superfreak
17 Sep 2007, 16:23
If this league has any credibility (or the umpires for that matter) Rolla should win easily.
Twisted
17 Sep 2007, 16:47
If this league has any credibility (or the umpires for that matter) Rolla should win easily.
Hey superfreak why dont you loose your cheltenham bias and nominate someone that may actually have a chance of winning it
bolf is bout as stiff as my dick to not get league bnf
Hey superfreak why dont you loose your cheltenham bias and nominate someone that may actually have a chance of winning it
Mark Shalders is in the best three players in the league, so he has a big chance of winning.
Smith from Highett and Barry Hope are the two others who can win. St Pauls and City have too many taking votes off each other.
superfreak
17 Sep 2007, 17:28
Your kidding right??
The bloke is the best player going around. He just doesn't get the same wraps as Hassan and co. but ask any opposition coach and they will tell you how good he is.
Flack from Chelsea Heights would be some chance in an average side, as would Smithy and Fernee who isn't a bad player and will poll well but shouldn't win it in my opinion.
Who do you think will win it???
sizzled
17 Sep 2007, 18:03
2 guys from st pauls are in top 5.
Twisted
17 Sep 2007, 18:12
Your kidding right??
Who do you think will win it???
Newmann or Smith
Twisted
17 Sep 2007, 18:13
2 guys from st pauls are in top 5.
Who are they?
Barnes (surely) & ??????
sizzled
17 Sep 2007, 18:21
artz
Twisted
17 Sep 2007, 18:33
artz
I didn't think he had that great a year (from what i saw, which was 5 or six games). I suppose everyone has off days. I suppose he stands out though.
How did you personally think he went?
artz
That is staggering. He only played 8 games and from speaking to a few St Pauls players, was very lucky to be in the side for a while there. If true, just goes to show the umpires have no idea
eliza barnes is better than me at footy
sizzled
17 Sep 2007, 20:22
na it aint artz its james
Twisted
18 Sep 2007, 08:03
So is it only the top 5 that get invited from each division?
15 players get invited from the entire playing group of the SFL (1000+ players). That is pretty poor. There must be a lot of hangers on that get invited to these type of functions.
cuttingedge
18 Sep 2007, 08:11
15 players get invited from the entire playing group of the SFL (1000+ players). That is pretty poor. There must be a lot of hangers on that get invited to these type of functions.
Jay Bruno StKilda City invited , I think finished 2nd in goally award behind Dimachki, and finished around 10th in club B& F
lonewolf
18 Sep 2007, 08:25
Close - Top 5 in each grade (so 30 players in all) get invited. Having been last year, there is a lot of hangers on and club officials that make up the numbers, though some clubs actually organise extra tables in case more players want to go along ( I think Cerberus had 3 tables last year, even though they had noone in the running in either grade!).
Twisted
18 Sep 2007, 08:32
Jay Bruno StKilda City invited , I think finished 2nd in goally award behind Dimachki, and finished around 10th in club B& F
are you saying that newman, dimachki, casset, hassan & tasiyan all didn't get invited?
the_fresh
18 Sep 2007, 10:31
That is staggering. He only played 8 games and from speaking to a few St Pauls players, was very lucky to be in the side for a while there. If true, just goes to show the umpires have no idea
The umpires love him, not sue if it's cause they think he's a superstar of the SFL or something but the way they talk and listen to him is amazing.
for me no one will beat Philly Smith.
Stands out more than any other player, won our B&F by a record and beat just about every other ruckman this year.
cuttingedge
18 Sep 2007, 11:03
are you saying that newman, dimachki, casset, hassan & tasiyan all didn't get invited?
Dimachki invited for goallies award, Casset for goalkicking, no one else
Twisted
18 Sep 2007, 11:18
Dimachki invited for goallies award, Casset for goalkicking, no one else
First division invitees:
Top 5: Barnes (st pauls)
James (st pauls)
Bruno (st kilda),
Smith (High)
& 1 more
Looking at the number of time in the best: in order
Hope, ogier, fernee, shalders, sweeney, flack, sauer, johnson, horler, wineberg
i'll tip the last place goes to either wineberg, flack or johnson. I dont see many other from their clubs taking votes of them.
Smith to win it from Barnes which is probably a correct vote.
Hawks91
18 Sep 2007, 15:36
Ogier from Mordialloc
Twisted
18 Sep 2007, 15:53
Ogier from Mordialloc
has he been invited?
If he has he might go quite close. Mordy didn't win many games and he wouldn't have many taking votes of him.
superfreak
18 Sep 2007, 19:36
Twisted, just like to get your thoughts on the validity of the League B&F??
For example last year Chelt (yes im biased this time!!) won 14 games and lost 4. We polled a total of 36 votes out of a possible 108. What a joke!! There was a game where we beat EB by 8 goals at home and didnt receive one single vote, another game we beat Clayton by 12 goals at home and only got the 1 vote. Do you think umpires have any bias or just look for certain players no matter how other blokes are going??
Twisted
18 Sep 2007, 20:14
Twisted, just like to get your thoughts on the validity of the League B&F??
For example last year Chelt (yes im biased this time!!) won 14 games and lost 4. We polled a total of 36 votes out of a possible 108. What a joke!! There was a game where we beat EB by 8 goals at home and didnt receive one single vote, another game we beat Clayton by 12 goals at home and only got the 1 vote. Do you think umpires have any bias or just look for certain players no matter how other blokes are going??
Fair points you make freak.
my thoughts are that umpires can show bias towards and away from teams and in particular some players (this aspect is human nature, if the don't like them, they don't vote for them). I have been an umpire and have noticed it first hand. and yes they do have favourite players.
I think that generally the bloke who wins the league medal is the right choice. Which is why i hope Smith or Barnes win it this year. I have heard many vfl/afl greats say that they value club awards more so than brownlows as the club awards are generally voted on by people from the club who know what they are trying to achieve on any one day.
As for cheltenham. I have seen them play a few games this year. Everytime i've seen them they have been pretty even across the board. I'd say they rely on more than one or two players and thats what can make them such a good side, and this may also make it hard for the umpires to give them votes. Especially if the there are 2 or 3 standouts for the opposition. You example above makes no sense though.
superfreak
18 Sep 2007, 20:53
Fair points you make freak.
my thoughts are that umpires can show bias towards and away from teams and in particular some players (this aspect is human nature, if the don't like them, they don't vote for them). I have been an umpire and have noticed it first hand. and yes they do have favourite players.
I think that generally the bloke who wins the league medal is the right choice. Which is why i hope Smith or Barnes win it this year. I have heard many vfl/afl greats say that they value club awards more so than brownlows as the club awards are generally voted on by people from the club who know what they are trying to achieve on any one day.
As for cheltenham. I have seen them play a few games this year. Everytime i've seen them they have been pretty even across the board. I'd say they rely on more than one or two players and thats what can make them such a good side, and this may also make it hard for the umpires to give them votes. Especially if the there are 2 or 3 standouts for the opposition. You example above makes no sense though.
How can it make no sense??
There are 18 rounds. There are six votes per round -- 3, 2, 1. That equates to 108 possible votes that a club could get (if they got every vote in all 18 games). Chelt players got 36 votes in total. (Mordi, Highett, EB and Chelsea Hts all got more than us and we finished 3rd on the ladder).
Example 1-
Chelt beats Clayton by 12 goals. Clayton players get 3 and 2 votes, Chelt got the 1.
Example 2-
Chelt beats East Brighton by 12 goals. East Brighton players get 3, 2 and 1 votes, Chelt got nothing but won by 8 goals.
Surely if a team wins by 12 or 8 goals, one of their 21 players has to be in the top three players on the ground??
Anyone else got any thoughts on this, I'm sure that we arent the only club that it has happened to??
FWIW, Smith should win the medal from those invited. Quality player and a good bloke.
Twisted
19 Sep 2007, 08:55
How can it make no sense??
When i said it makes no sense, i was agreeing with you. I meant it makes no sense that cheltenham players didn't get the majority if not all of the votes. I realise i didn't make myself clear.
superfreak
19 Sep 2007, 10:59
When i said it makes no sense, i was agreeing with you. I meant it makes no sense that cheltenham players didn't get the majority if not all of the votes. I realise i didn't make myself clear.
sorry mate, misunderstanding!!
Hawks91
19 Sep 2007, 19:03
Who cares about this crap??
The real medals are handed out at 5pm on Sunday so anyone who gets one has my respect.
As for Cheltenham you blokes are the most even side in the comp and that is why you won't win a flag with your current list.
artz
you are an absolute d1ckhead Ben Artz. nominating yourself as a contender. one of the most hated people in the league, when your own team mates dont like you why would the umpires you ****1n idiot.
cuttingedge
25 Sep 2007, 12:51
you are an absolute d1ckhead Ben Artz. nominating yourself as a contender. one of the most hated people in the league, when your own team mates dont like you why would the umpires you ****1n idiot.
Word has it the 5 invitees are Bruno (Stkilda city) Wineberg (Chelsea) Barnes & James (St Pauls) & Smith (Highett)
cuttingedge
25 Sep 2007, 12:55
The real medals are handed out at 5pm on Sunday so anyone who gets one has my respect.
As for Cheltenham you blokes are the most even side in the comp and that is why you won't win a flag with your current list.
Good call, they look great around our necks, it would be great to see little Jay Bruno win the league medal, even though he finished about 9th in the club count and also Matty Harris in the twos who was runner up at the club good luck to both boys. Its been a huge year 17 wins, with both goalkicking winners, goal umps award and flag, should be a big night
cuttingedge
25 Sep 2007, 12:57
has he been invited?
If he has he might go quite close. Mordy didn't win many games and he wouldn't have many taking votes of him.
Ogier is a gun, would have won it in a finals side, would definitely be starting midfield in any SFL divvy 1 side, I dont think he made top 5
notwotiheard
25 Sep 2007, 14:09
Word has it the 5 invitees are Bruno (Stkilda city) Wineberg (Chelsea) Barnes & James (St Pauls) & Smith (Highett)
Our man Mimo would have to be a chance.
Mr Insider
25 Sep 2007, 14:24
Mark Shalders is in the best three players in the league, so he has a big chance of winning.
Smith from Highett and Barry Hope are the two others who can win. St Pauls and City have too many taking votes off each other.
Barry Hope should poll well, he had a mighty season and Smithy is about the only thing running round at Turner Road
superfreak
25 Sep 2007, 14:48
Yeah we do have a very even side. Where do you think we need to improve mate to be serious premiership contenders??
Only december/january but who are the early pics for each divisions B and F? I'll have a stab probably get mocked and ridiculed but here we go
Divison 1. James from the doggies
Division 2. Matty smith from the bear cave, shaun hawking from murrumbeena (if the beena can string a few together!!!)
Division 3. Josh Tate canterbury, Jarred Wilkin Mount, Kemp dandy, and a big smokey polson from skye.
Give your opinions....
pdog pizza's
23 Dec 2007, 09:15
Alright i'll have a stab in the dark:
Divvy 1: Flack (Chelsea Hts) or Hope (East Brighton)
Divvy 2: Einsiedel (Heatherton) or Gniel (Dingley)
Divvy 3: Kemp (Dandenong)
GOING PLACES
26 Dec 2007, 19:21
Divy 1 : Roberts (chelsea Heights)
Divy 2 : Einsdel
Divy 3 : Macgeorge (skye)
backtoback08
26 Dec 2007, 19:43
Div 1 Dimachki StKilda City
Div 2 Matt Jamieson Heatherton
Div 3 Julius Smith south Yarra again
MadMan V1.2
27 Dec 2007, 16:18
Your a Knumbskull GP!!
The Jooce Caboose
28 Dec 2007, 07:04
Going Places Tony MacGeorge or David MacGeorge?
League B & F Kemp for mine only if he doesn't kick!!!
discotrain
3 Jan 2008, 17:48
Bit biased there jooce i am tipping that you are the main reason kempy is going to dandy, like you hes probably at the stage where he wants to relax a bit now and hit the stammo the night before a game. Would that be a fair assumption???? hehe
Shakermaker94
3 Feb 2008, 21:09
Chris Morgan League B And F In 2008
LeftFootRaker
4 Feb 2008, 11:01
Is Morgan any relation to Chad.... where is he playing SHAKER? He the young fella that played at the Heights and won a club B&F in '02 or '03 and played interleague! Big bonus for a lucky club.....
Return of the Pies
4 Feb 2008, 13:47
Is Morgan any relation to Chad.... where is he playing SHAKER? He the young fella that played at the Heights and won a club B&F in '02 or '03 and played interleague! Big bonus for a lucky club.....
From what I heard these days you would have trouble getting him out of bed, let alone retirment;). Has anyone heard news about Kent Kingsley? Apparently poised to sign at an SFL club??
woof woof woof
4 Feb 2008, 14:14
From what I heard these days you would have trouble getting him out of bed, let alone retirment;). Has anyone heard news about Kent Kingsley? Apparently poised to sign at an SFL club??
apparently signed, sealed and delivered at Doveton Eagles!!
guess we cant ask for confirmation from anyone, as they cant afford the internet connection to use on their stolen computers.
Division 3 finally has a half decent player, atleast someone with a name. I give him 1 game before he walks out and realises what evryone else already knows about the standard of division 3.
the_fresh
4 Feb 2008, 14:24
guess we cant ask for confirmation from anyone, as they cant afford the internet connection to use on their stolen computers.
Division 3 finally has a half decent player, atleast someone with a name. I give him 1 game before he walks out and realises what evryone else already knows about the standard of division 3.
All BS
I can tell you after talking a few weeks ago with him he is going overseas.
He came into my work, we had quite a funny little chat about Caroline Wilson.
He then said that he was spending at least 08 overseas and that if he can the year after as well.
woof woof woof
4 Feb 2008, 14:34
All BS
I can tell you after talking a few weeks ago with him he is going overseas.
He came into my work, we had quite a funny little chat about Caroline Wilson.
He then said that he was spending at least 08 overseas and that if he can the year after as well.
what a blatant lie!!!!
get off the forum if you are just going to make up stories.
will pull on a doveton eagles jumper this year, the first player in the clubs history to pull on a jumper he paid for legally, and will last 1-3 games.
heard that a few times!!:rolleyes: you play for dingley, lol, you blokes will be here for 3-4 years, think you are ready to return to c/cardinia, and then last 3-4 years before it all gets too hard again, lol! you're pathetic!the rental is up on your pc as well, better return it before they sell your daughter!
the_fresh
4 Feb 2008, 17:44
what a blatant lie!!!!
will pull on a doveton eagles jumper this year, the first player in the clubs history to pull on a jumper he paid for legally, and will last 1-3 games.
lol
Has he been down to training?
No
why?
Because he's overseas & will be for at least 12 months.
fevsuperstar
4 Feb 2008, 19:30
what a blatant lie!!!!
hahah u are a joke ya poof. wen are u guna reveal ya name so we can see how gud u really are. i bet u playing in reserves at dingley anyway u tossa cause no senior player there would talk tat much shit, especially wen u lost the flag anyway. Y arent u playing divisoin 1 if u such a superstar?
LeftFootRaker
4 Feb 2008, 19:54
Yeah...heard the same about C.Morgan. Apparently has left a big dent on his couch cause he's on there so much...imagine the WEDGIE.
Heard the same re: Kent Kingsley....wonder whose doorstep he will lob onto! Any good backs to cover him? He would be handy with delivery from a certain No.5 player within the league!:D
Shakermaker94
4 Feb 2008, 20:27
chris morgan is from dingley.
ruckman.
woof woof woof
5 Feb 2008, 06:17
hahah u are a joke ya poof. wen are u guna reveal ya name so we can see how gud u really are. i bet u playing in reserves at dingley anyway u tossa cause no senior player there would talk tat much shit, especially wen u lost the flag anyway. Y arent u playing divisoin 1 if u such a superstar?
ahhhhhhh, what? speak english!
how about you message me privately and i'll happily pay for your grade 1 education so you can communicate with people!
Brightspark
2 Mar 2008, 16:32
Now that most recruits are known my selections for Goal Kicking and B+F are as follows.
Div.1.
Goals:Williams (Springy)
B+F:Lindsay (StK)
Div.2.
Goals:Quinn (Ding)
B+F:Lavars (Ding) Again
Div.3.
Goals:Macgeorge (Skye)
B+F:Thomas (Doveton)
Thomas is going to Berwick Brightspark, Big Jules will probably win it again.
thomas has gone back to doveton(ccfl)
Frankencow
4 Mar 2008, 13:03
Who's MacGeorge?
MadMan will go close, especially playing in the 2008 Premiership team ($1.01). Kirkup with the second most goals. :D
flying dutchman
5 Mar 2008, 08:26
Who's MacGeorge?
MadMan will go close, especially playing in the 2008 Premiership team ($1.01). Kirkup with the second most goals. :D
Wonder if kirkup will wear the headband again this year. Maybe "tap" the boundry line after another super goal.:D
Frankencow
5 Mar 2008, 08:52
Wonder if kirkup will wear the headband again this year. Maybe "tap" the boundry line after another super goal.:D
I reckon it was more of a knock than a tap. Almost as if there was a trapdoor in the forward pocket... Funny thing is he probably doesn't remember doing it, but we do. :D
one_glove
5 Mar 2008, 09:01
I reckon it was more of a knock than a tap. Almost as if there was a trapdoor in the forward pocket... Funny thing is he probably doesn't remember doing it, but we do. :D
do you remember the amount we beat you by both times?
Frankencow
5 Mar 2008, 09:33
do you remember the amount we beat you by both times?
As clearly as I remember a Greg Norman-esque choke and dropped mark on the backline in extra time of the Grand Final. :D
one_glove
5 Mar 2008, 09:39
As clearly as I remember a Greg Norman-esque choke and dropped mark on the backline in extra time of the Grand Final. :D
well played :thumbsu:
MadMan V1.2
5 Mar 2008, 15:34
well played!!
MadMan V1.2
5 Mar 2008, 15:36
Now that most recruits are known my selections for Goal Kicking and B+F are as follows.
Div.1.
Goals:Williams (Springy)
B+F:Lindsay (StK)
Div.2.
Goals:Quinn (Ding)
B+F:Lavars (Ding) Again
Div.3.
Goals:Macgeorge (Skye)
B+F:Thomas (Doveton)
I believe that Smasha might consider playing MacGeorge as more of a attcking running half back flanker??
I would suggest that MacGeorge wont win the Div 3 SFL Goal Kicking award..........
MadMan V1.2
5 Mar 2008, 15:36
Who's MacGeorge?
Frank have you ever actually seen me play a game, I am assuming not!!
Frankencow
5 Mar 2008, 21:12
Frank have you ever actually seen me play a game, I am assuming not!!
I think you did a blac04 and played 5 minutes against us, then went off with a knee. Oh, but what a five minutes, lol. Nah, heard a lot of big things in the lead up to last season. Kicked quite a few in the matches you did play didn't you?
one_glove
6 Mar 2008, 06:07
well played!!
get an original comment carrum downs boy
MadMan V1.2
6 Mar 2008, 15:39
sorry fool, i agreed with you
i wont make that mistake again
carrum downs boy, damn thats harsh, is that the best you got a$$clown??
Master of Cooks
6 Mar 2008, 19:02
sorry fool, i agreed with you
i wont make that mistake again
carrum downs boy, damn thats harsh, is that the best you got a$$clown??
:o :p
Where you playing or watching champ?
Footnote...... Not sure if i was playing or watching either!. Oh well maybe this year. ;)