View Full Version : How 1/3 sided is the SANFL at the moment?

RoosterWedgie
25th May 2002, 20:47
Honestly I know Norwood beat the Bulldogs last week but I cant see any team getting within 10 goals of Centrals come a day GF at Footy Pk.
Having said that I cant see any other team getting within 10 goals in the finals of the next 2 sides in Sturt and Norwood.
This year is unbelievabley biased, as I can only see 3 teams out of 9 having positive percentage this season.
Hell Nth lost their last 2 game by a total of 183pts and have actually moved UP the ladder!

dreamkillers
25th May 2002, 21:04
Certainly does look like it's Central's then daylight.......with even more daylight after the top 3 although.....

Centrals only worry will be themselves and possibly injuries.......

As for North moving up the ladder......it helps when 1 side loses one game by more the combined total of your last 2 losses......:D

RoosterWedgie
25th May 2002, 21:09
agreed, I never thought I'd be embarassed with my team moving up the ladder! lmao

Am I stupid when I say I reckon Centrals could push some AFL clubs? I honestly thought that after I saw them live, I reckon if any South fans got out to Housing Trust Park today they'd probably agree with me! lol

raboyle
25th May 2002, 21:26
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Am I stupid when I say I reckon Centrals could push some AFL clubs?

Pushing an AFL team to the limit...nah. Pitting the SANFL premiers skills against the Crows or Power would be interesting but it would probably be pretty difficult even with a club at full strength after a Grand Final.

Testing our skills against an interstate league premier would be good though.

Bring on the VFL premier! :D

RoosterWedgie
25th May 2002, 22:16
Actually I reckon an AFL team v Centrals would be closer than Centrals v a VFL team, you'd kick their butts!

dreamkillers
26th May 2002, 01:11
agreed, I never thought I'd be embarassed with my team moving up the ladder! lmao

Am I stupid when I say I reckon Centrals could push some AFL clubs? I honestly thought that after I saw them live, I reckon if any South fans got out to Housing Trust Park today they'd probably agree with me! lol

I'd say they would have a good crack at a couple of the bottom sides in the AFL on their day but it is a big step up from the SANFL to the AFL as a lot of players realise when they make the jump.........

be interesting if they would bring back the competition at the end of the year where the winner in each state league played off for the champion club in the country.......at the moment I'd say Central's would be a very good chance at taking that out......

just wish they would go back to showing the SANFL on the ABC up here in Darwin........

Port01
26th May 2002, 01:44
I don't want to be the next team to cop Central on the 'rebound'.

Uncle Steve
26th May 2002, 03:29
At the start of the season I predicted Norwood over Centrals...

I stand by that prediction.

It will be a Norwood - Central Grand Final, mark my words.

On the day I think Norwood has as good a chance as any. Based on current form I think Norwood will be closer to their peak come September.

sapaul
26th May 2002, 04:12
Norwood-Sturt next Friday night should a beauty.Don't discount Sturt just yet despite an average performance against Port.

Youngster
26th May 2002, 04:22
Hi SaPaul

Average performance by the Blues...fill us Territorians in on what happened...11.22? I was worried going into the game, beware the wounded magpie...

And Dreamkiller...have you contacted the ABC yet? I sent an email weeks ago about the subject of getting f*****g hockey from Mararra instead of the real footy, still waiting on a reply - as I expected!!!!!!

Go Blues, lets kick some Redleg butt on Friday night...what a game it will be. Might have to see what airfares I can get from the Alice...

sapaul
26th May 2002, 04:33
Oh Youngster, maybe average isn't correct but it was a frustrating game to watch on tele, most seasons you would just be happy to beat Port no matter what and no matter by how much, I went into this match expecting to win by 10 goals plus and Port were definitely fair dinkum and played well and yes Sturt should have won by a hell of a lot more if not for kicking at goal, Chambers kicked 4.5(I think) and other culprits missed what should have been easy goals, Mattner a couple I think, it was a fairly scrapy game with lots of errors, I guess we should just be thankful we got the bikkies but a thumping would have been lovely.

Macca19
27th May 2002, 13:37
Originally posted by sapaul
Sturt should have won by a hell of a lot more if not for kicking at goal, Chambers kicked 4.5(I think) and other culprits missed what should have been easy goals, Mattner a couple I think, it was a fairly scrapy game with lots of errors, I guess we should just be thankful we got the bikkies but a thumping would have been lovely.

Chambers has to be one of the worst shots on goal ive seen. Every week you look in the paper and see hes kicked 2.5, 3.4, 1.4, 4.10 or whatever. BIG boy tho. I havent seen a footballer that size before!

The culprits? Chamber 4.5, Weatherlad 1.4, Wicks 1.3, Feast..Howman 0.2. And the strange thing...only 1 rushed point.

sapaul
27th May 2002, 14:05
He has kicked 25.22 this year and I keep hearing he has improved from last year.Anne loves him though.

Go South
27th May 2002, 14:48
I reckon if any South fans got out to Housing Trust Park today they'd probably agree with me! lol

Yes... not only that, but after the way we played, I think Port Elliot's reserves could come close to beating us.

renton
27th May 2002, 17:36
Originally posted by Macca19

Chambers has to be one of the worst shots on goal ive seen. Every week you look in the paper and see hes kicked 2.5, 3.4, 1.4, 4.10 or whatever. BIG boy tho. I havent seen a footballer that size before!

Heh, you don't know the half of it. He set the trend in his debut game against Glenelg. During the last quarter he had a set shot and as he dropped the ball, rather than kick it, his kicking foot hit the turf and never made contact with the footy! :rolleyes:

Blues_Girl
27th May 2002, 18:03
Originally posted by sapaul
He has kicked 25.22 this year and I keep hearing he has improved from last year.Anne loves him though.

Yes that's right I love my boy :) :)

dreamkillers
27th May 2002, 19:50
Originally posted by Youngster
Hi SaPaul

Average performance by the Blues...fill us Territorians in on what happened...11.22? I was worried going into the game, beware the wounded magpie...

And Dreamkiller...have you contacted the ABC yet? I sent an email weeks ago about the subject of getting f*****g hockey from Mararra instead of the real footy, still waiting on a reply - as I expected!!!!!!

Go Blues, lets kick some Redleg butt on Friday night...what a game it will be. Might have to see what airfares I can get from the Alice...

Youngster.....we've got buckley's chance of getting the SANFL back........I've spoken to Charlie King about it on a couple of occasions and it's basically payback from the split with the local AFLNT League earlier this year...........once the hockey is finished we can look forward to country QLD rugby :( our best hope is a resolution to the local league conflict next season..........not that you will be told that in the reply should it eventually turn up........

dreamkillers
27th May 2002, 19:52
Originally posted by Go South

Yes... not only that, but after the way we played, I think Port Elliot's reserves could come close to beating us.

Is the mighty Port Elliot still in existance.........used to be a great social club.......:D

UDOGS
27th May 2002, 22:54
Originally posted by dreamkillers

Youngster.....we've got buckley's chance of getting the SANFL back........I've spoken to Charlie King about it on a couple of occasions and it's basically payback from the split with the local AFLNT League earlier this year...........

Is that a split between the AFLNT and the ABC or the AFLNT and the SANFL. Still hoping for an introduction of an NT team. Anything for an excuse for a trip to Darwin - love that place.

Unley Legend
27th May 2002, 23:23
what happened...11.22?
I was behind the northern goals, up towards the scoreboard at Adelaide Oval on saturday, and I have to tell you the Sturt boys COMPLETELY misjudged the wind at that end. They sent in some absolute shockers! The misses they made were absolutely criminal. Port didn't make the same mistakes when they went near the goals at that end. Jeez it was frustrating to watch but at least we came away with the points. GYBB!

dreamkillers
28th May 2002, 00:28
Originally posted by UDOGS

Is that a split between the AFLNT and the ABC or the AFLNT and the SANFL. Still hoping for an introduction of an NT team. Anything for an excuse for a trip to Darwin - love that place.

Split between the AFLNT and the ABC.........the ABC asked for a couple of games to be shifted timewise and the local league said no and then rubgy stepped in and said they would play games whenever the ABC would like if they could get coverage.......from then on no local footy on TV..........even the Grand Final missed out and only a last minute deal behind the scenes saw it and the Tiwi Islands GF shown on 7 and C7.

The NT side in the SANFL is still on the agenda but has been delayed for at least a couple of years while the local comp gets it act together - part of the deal with competing in the SANFL is that the local league pay for the flights of opposition teams as well as their own...........

It will be interesting to see how many current NT players in the SANFL play for the local side........give them a couple of years to mould as a team and they will be more than competitve.......

our lovely dry season winter is just starting......about to go below 20 at night........time for the doonas and jumpers to come out.........:D ...........

For the next 3-4 months it's perfect weather up here..........18-20 at night and 27-30 during the day with little humidity.........and maybe 1-2 days with some rain if we're lucky.......:D

eddie eagle
28th May 2002, 17:33

Am I stupid when I say I reckon Centrals could push some AFL clubs?

yes a little silly - didn't centrals play the crows seconds side and get thrashed at norwood this year.

bulldog pommy
28th May 2002, 18:00
Hey eddie

if 13 points is a thrashing then what the hell is 70 point win.
At least ya kicked 1 more goal than ya did in the grand final.

Or are you jealous that Norwood has replaced you guys as the crows reserves.

Remember what happened last time Norwood were the first team to beat us in the season?

BACK TO BACK
:p :p

Blues_Brat
28th May 2002, 18:01
Originally posted by Youngster
Mate, it's worth the trip. I am almost tempted to delay my flight out of here, I enjoyed the game on Saturday so much (despite some poor kicking).

Even had thoughts about moving back to Adelaide when that final siren went and watched Port supporters trudging out of the ground with miserable looks on there faces. :D

Blues_Brat
28th May 2002, 18:02
Originally posted by dreamkillers

Is the mighty Port Elliot still in existance.........used to be a great social club.......:D
They've amalgamated with Goolwa. A lot of Port supporters are upset that they're now sleeping with the enemy.

raboyle
28th May 2002, 19:06
Originally posted by eddie eagle
yes a little silly - didn't centrals play the crows seconds side and get thrashed at norwood this year.

The Central side that played was a big mix of league, reserves and some under-19s.

Did you expect our full premiership side to play in a trial match like that?