View Full Version : Brett Jones reaction time
No joke he must have the slowest reaction time ever. Its not his decision making persay thats the problem its the amount of time he takes to do something after hes made the decision. When he handballs it takes him 15 seconds to do it and by the time he delivers the handball the other bloke who receives it is under extreme pressure.
Brett Jones is a worry for mine. Hes not cut out for finals football. If he wants to handball all the time he needs to learn how to do it properly an d if he wants to be a small defender he needs to imrpove his disposal. Personally id prefer he beefed up and became a third tall. We have enough small running defenders without him
BarcaRulz
15 Sep 2007, 16:21
Are you serious? He was amongst our best last night. He kept his cool throughout most of the game. Surely you are mistaking him for someone else? :confused:
BK Eaglesfan
15 Sep 2007, 16:25
I actually agree with embers.....he was very good in contests last night, but gee whiz he makes me nervous at times. You could literally see him changing his mind as he had the footy in his hands on several occasions. It's one thing to look for the best option, but there were several times last night where he seemed to have no clue where he was going next, and therefore neither did his team mates.
He played well last night and is a super player, but at times does need to make a decision, and then action it more quickly.
dont bowl there
15 Sep 2007, 16:26
Embers you are the worst Eagles supporter on this site. Most at least know a little about the team they support, you know jack shit. Brett Jones was one of your best players last night and last week. Never stops running and has more courage than most in the AFL.
Are you serious? He was amongst our best last night. He kept his cool throughout most of the game. Surely you are mistaking him for someone else? :confused:
Are you insane. How many hospital passes did he deliver last night. St John of God will name a wing after him after that performance. He lost his cool alot.
The stats will show he got a ton of possessions but they were wasted and useless stats in the end I thought
Embers you are the worst Eagles supporter on this site. Most at least know a little about the team they support, you know jack shit. Brett Jones was one of your best players last night and last week. Never stops running and has more courage than most in the AFL.
He runs, he has courage but like most he can improve. He was woeful by his high standards he set this season. For mine this season he was close to AA but hsi finals series let him down alot. His disposal and as I said his reaction time need to improve. If they do he can become a AA player.
P.S - Leave cheap insults to your own board mate
I actually agree with embers.....he was very good in contests last night, but gee whiz he makes me nervous at times. You could literally see him changing his mind as he had the footy in his hands on several occasions. It's one thing to look for the best option, but there were several times last night where he seemed to have no clue where he was going next, and therefore neither did his team mates.
He played well last night and is a super player, but at times does need to make a decision, and then action it more quickly.
That he was. Outside of the contest though he made alot of errors
BarcaRulz
15 Sep 2007, 16:29
Are you insane. How many hospital passes did he deliver last night. St John of God will name a wing after him after that performance. He lost his cool alot.
The stats will show he got a ton of possessions but they were wasted and useless stats in the end I thought
Can you give us some examples? I can't remember him doing it too many times. I do however remember him keeping his cool twice in the last quarter and running the ball out of a packed defence by using Hunter and then running on to receive the handball and kicking it to the midfield.
For mine that one comment completely describes Brett Jones the player. He gets the ball handballs it to someone then receives it again. Why doesnt he just run. Why does he have to handball the ball inside the 50m defensive arc. Its a wasted stat and puts others under pressure int he one place you dont want to be under extreme pressure. Brett Jones looks to handball alot when running out. Fact is he isnt the best handballer and its a big part of our overuse. I dont mind overusing the ball. Just dont do it in defence :thumbsd:
BarcaRulz
15 Sep 2007, 17:27
For mine that one comment completely describes Brett Jones the player. He gets the ball handballs it to someone then receives it again. Why doesnt he just run. Why does he have to handball the ball inside the 50m defensive arc. Its a wasted stat and puts others under pressure int he one place you dont want to be under extreme pressure. Brett Jones looks to handball alot when running out. Fact is he isnt the best handballer and its a big part of our overuse. I dont mind overusing the ball. Just dont do it in defence :thumbsd:
He did it so that he can run away from the player in front of him. There is nothing wrong with that.
I'm still waiting on the tons of times he handballed to players under pressure, examples?
He did it so that he can run away from the player in front of him. There is nothing wrong with that.
I'm still waiting on the tons of times he handballed to players under pressure, examples?
Im not a clock watcher so its hard for me to give you exact times it happened but in the last he hospital handballed to Hurn twice. He gave Fletcher a real bad handball in the 2nd which I think ended up as holding the ball.. J-Mac got a bad handball in the 2nd too from him and he was run down.
Can you honestly tell me Brett Jones handballing inside the 50 hasnt worried you all year though?
Underdog
15 Sep 2007, 17:34
You're joking right?
Do you even remember the incident? They were under immense pressure, he used the handball to get around 1 or 2 Magpie's then ran it out of defence. It was entirely necessary
the crane
15 Sep 2007, 17:34
I reckon you're clutching at straws embers.
B Jones was very good one-on-one last night and has steadily improved every year he has been at the club. Also he is one of our quickest players (running in a straight line) and uses his quickness to burst out of the defensive fifty. he uses the one-two a lot to get up a bit of steam. also unlike some of our other players reliably hits a target when one presents. jones is very direct and will more often than not go straight down the corridor.
don't forget last night we had numbers back so when jones ran out of defence there was often no-one to kick to at all. That makes it a lot tougher to find the right option but i can't honestly say i noticed what you said too much last night.
I reckon you're clutching at straws embers.
B Jones was very good one-on-one last night and has steadily improved every year he has been at the club. Also he is one of our quickest players (running in a straight line) and uses his quickness to burst out of the defensive fifty. he uses the one-two a lot to get up a bit of steam. also unlike some of our other players reliably hits a target when one presents. jones is very direct and will more often than not go straight down the corridor.
don't forget last night we had numbers back so when jones ran out of defence there was often no-one to kick to at all. That makes it a lot tougher to find the right option but i can't honestly say i noticed what you said too much last night.
Hes a very good player. He can be elite if he fixes the way he disposes of the ball. He handballs it too much and does it unnecessarily. I dont really buy the "freeing himself up", gaining momentum etc rubbish. Guys like Kennelly McLeod dont do it... I cant think of any players other then Bones who does do it.
You're joking right?
Do you even remember the incident? They were under immense pressure, he used the handball to get around 1 or 2 Magpie's then ran it out of defence. It was entirely necessary
He did it twice though, The first time it was necessary the 2nd time both he and Hunter were in acres of space and it just seemed like a waste of time
Independent Observer
15 Sep 2007, 17:48
No joke he must have the slowest reaction time ever. Its not his decision making persay thats the problem its the amount of time he takes to do something after hes made the decision. When he handballs it takes him 15 seconds to do it and by the time he delivers the handball the other bloke who receives it is under extreme pressure.
Brett Jones is a worry for mine. Hes not cut out for finals football. If he wants to handball all the time he needs to learn how to do it properly an d if he wants to be a small defender he needs to imrpove his disposal. Personally id prefer he beefed up and became a third tall. We have enough small running defenders without him
Again, you dont really make much sense. Jones was one of your best defensive players along with Glass last night.
His reaction time? The bloke played 1st class cricket as a batsman and had .6 of a second to make a decison on what stroke to play as an 18 yr old.
It may look tedious, this is so because of what your fowards offer. Not much.
Your backline handballs because there is rarely and escape valve in the form of a leading target on the wing.
Brett Jones was one of the better defenders in terms of poise and this confirms your limited football knowledge in my mind.
Again, you dont really make much sense. Jones was one of your best defensive players along with Glass last night.
His reaction time? The bloke played 1st class cricket as a batsman and had .6 of a second to make a decison on what stroke to play as an 18 yr old.
It may look tedious, this is so because of what your fowards offer. Not much.
Your backline handballs because there is rarely and escape valve in the form of a leading target on the wing.
Brett Jones was one of the better defenders in terms of poise and this confirms your limited football knowledge in my mind.
In terms of poise all bar Glass were pretty awful in that respect. Jones wasnt one of the better ones.....
Independent Observer
15 Sep 2007, 17:58
In terms of poise all bar Glass were pretty awful in that respect. Jones wasnt one of the better ones.....
You really need to watch the game again. I just cant comprehend how anyone can get so many things wrong so often.
dan kerr
15 Sep 2007, 18:02
really cant agree with most of the thigs you have said there Embers yes he dose handball alot but dosent west coast on a whole???? he was really the only west coast player who ran and carryed the ball form the backline last night and i though he used the ball fairly well most times. watch for him next yeaR to have a big year and become one of the best half backs in the league :thumbsu:
Big Cox
15 Sep 2007, 18:03
You really need to watch the game again. I just cant comprehend how anyone can get so many things wrong so often.
Brett Jones was awful last night. The turnover king. If he has good disposal then Rowan Jones disposal is crisper then a Granny smith
BarcaRulz
15 Sep 2007, 18:07
Im not a clock watcher so its hard for me to give you exact times it happened but in the last he hospital handballed to Hurn twice. He gave Fletcher a real bad handball in the 2nd which I think ended up as holding the ball.. J-Mac got a bad handball in the 2nd too from him and he was run down.
Can you honestly tell me Brett Jones handballing inside the 50 hasnt worried you all year though?
Hasn't worried me a single bit. And for the life of me i cannot remember those incidents. I don't doubt he has made a few mistakes, but if you list every player in every game they are bound to have some.
He is one of our more important players now, and his handball-receive-runout under pressure in our defensive 50 is one of the reasons why.
Hasn't worried me a single bit. And for the life of me i cannot remember those incidents. I don't doubt he has made a few mistakes, but if you list every player in every game they are bound to have some.
He is one of our more important players now, and his handball-receive-runout under pressure in our defensive 50 is one of the reasons why.
Im a big believer in NEVER handalling in the defensive 50 and Brett Jones does it more then any other player in the AFL so hes a walking heart attack for me. I think our defence made alot of errors last night (Nicoski too). Infact if i remember right 3-5 goals directly came from our failure to clear it from defence and it probably cost us the game in the end
The players give and go so that they can either switch it up or set up shepherds... what's wrong with it?
huddo#9
15 Sep 2007, 18:17
Bad luck on last night, as a victorian non collingwood supporter it was a disappointing result.
But as for Jones, I haven't seen much of him, but agree that his decision making last night was terrible. He just made poor decisions and second guessed his team mates with poor disposal that made them look bad, he really needs to get it on to his boot, but his first, second, third and fourth options are to always kick. He had a fair crack though and will be a good player, his pace and attack is unquestioned.
I also thought Selwood panicked alot and like Jones put his teamates under alot of pressure and caused quite a few turnovers.
p.s. Well trade you Jones for Ray ;)
The players give and go so that they can either switch it up or set up shepherds... what's wrong with it?
When it doesnt come off it ends up a goal down the other end because the defenders are all sitting on the top of the 50m arc. I thank god every day we have Darren Glass to clean things up of they go astray
Bad luck on last night, as a victorian non collingwood supporter it was a disappointing result.
But as for Jones, I haven't seen much of him, but agree that his decision making last night was terrible. He just made poor decisions and second guessed his team mates with poor disposal that made them look bad, he really needs to get it on to his boot, but his first, second, third and fourth options are to always kick. He had a fair crack though and will be a good player, his pace and attack is unquestioned.
I also thought Selwood panicked alot and like Jones put his teamates under alot of pressure and caused quite a few turnovers.
p.s. Well trade you Jones for Ray ;)
Selwood was badly injured. He could barely run at times and looked to handball instead of kick so he can be excused.
You summed up what I was trying to say pretty well. Thanks :thumbsu::)
eagles06
15 Sep 2007, 18:59
Stupid thread.:thumbsd:
Ridiculous. Jones was great all night. Hard, tough, plays tall or small, runs hard, I don't know how you can suggest anything otherwise. He didn't have many clangers or turnovers (only 18%, as picked up from the clanger thread, see below). 27 disposals for a HBF is an excellent effort, only five clangers. Can't disagree with this thread more.
Player Disp Clangers % (By Clanger %)
Jones B 27 5 18
Didnt really see it myself sorry bro.
Thought he was very good, had great poise and his decisions were 10x better than Waters had he been out there!
94_Eagles
15 Sep 2007, 22:21
Intelligent people tend to have a million thoughts going through their mind at once. I'd say ole Bretty is one of these people as he holds a commerce degree and wants to make the exact right decision every time. Probably doesn't have the instincts of a Judd but is a very good player usually.
jimbeam06
16 Sep 2007, 10:21
Dont you mean rowan jones
BK Eaglesfan
16 Sep 2007, 16:04
Intelligent people tend to have a million thoughts going through their mind at once. I'd say ole Bretty is one of these people as he holds a commerce degree and wants to make the exact right decision every time. Probably doesn't have the instincts of a Judd but is a very good player usually.
Absolutely agree. Just needs to go with his first thought more often.....the most worrying part of the way he changes his mind is it seesm to also confuse team mtaes. If you don't know yourself what you are going to do next, how can anyone else. That trait is desireable in a forward...........