View Full Version : GEELONG vs COLLINGWOOD (1st PRELIMINARY FINAL)
Pages :
[
1]
PoidaCat
16 Sep 2007, 17:02
:):thumbsu:
Discuss.
haywood jablome
16 Sep 2007, 17:06
Geelong will win ;D
PoidaCat
16 Sep 2007, 18:08
Geelong will win ;D
I concur. :D:thumbsu:
And none of this " Team FC vs Team 2 FC" bullshit this isn't soccer.
It's the Cats vs the Pies or Geelong vs Collingwood....
nick_savo
16 Sep 2007, 18:53
Cats vs. Pies sound more Australian :p
Bryceson
16 Sep 2007, 19:06
Carn The Cattas!!!!
Im just loving how cocky these Geelong %^&*# are....:):)
All i can say is we love being the underdogs.....:D
haywood jablome
16 Sep 2007, 21:41
We love being favourites, we can handle pressure, the team knows they are good - the proof is in the pudding. You can do all the dreaming and hocus pocus shit you want; Collingwood won't win. Cling on to that "underdog" bull crap like its yours balls, because that is all you will have between now and Friday night; after then they will get destroyed by a superior team - Geelong.
madhawkboy
16 Sep 2007, 22:30
Cats by 57
PoidaCat
16 Sep 2007, 22:41
Can be said both ways. You've got your fair share of cocky supporters. Most of the people saying we will thump you are Essendon and Carlton supporters. :D
Tristagi
16 Sep 2007, 22:53
i think it will be a great game if it rains, if its a fine night we should walking in by 5-6 goals, but if the rain comes (which is predicted) its the great equalizer.
Hopefully if it rains though and they go in with the three talls..
We love being favourites, we can handle pressure, the team knows they are good - the proof is in the pudding. You can do all the dreaming and hocus pocus shit you want; Collingwood won't win. Cling on to that "underdog" bull crap like its yours balls, because that is all you will have between now and Friday night; after then they will get destroyed by a superior team - Geelong.
No you can't say we can handle the pressure, we are the team which has struggled with pressure most over the VFL/AFL history.
I stress that this is not the view of all Geelong fans. The past is nothing now, the present is what we care about. We have to prove on friday night that we are up for it, the fact that we were dominant this season means nothing. Personally I think both teams play similarly and match up well against each other. It will be closer than many people think. It will be a good game.
Oh and for those who are generalising about Geelong supporters being cocky, we are nervous, and the views like the one shown above, don't reflect the general Geelong supporter base.
PoidaCat
16 Sep 2007, 23:50
No you can't say we can handle the pressure, we are the team which has struggled with pressure most over the VFL/AFL history.
I stress that this is not the view of all Geelong fans. The past is nothing now, the present is what we care about. We have to prove on friday night that we are up for it, the fact that we were dominant this season means nothing. Personally I think both teams play similarly and match up well against each other. It will be closer than many people think. It will be a good game.
Oh and for those who are generalising about Geelong supporters being cocky, we are nervous, and the views like the one shown above, don't reflect the general Geelong supporter base.
I fail to see how the side in 89/92/94/95 has an bearing on this years team. We have been favourties basically every week and smashed all in our path.
Especially the "pressure" from last week which resulting in our 106 point demolition.
So we have handled the pressure well this year which is probably what he is referring too. Neither I, nor probably him care about what happened 15 years ago.
The Royal Sampler
17 Sep 2007, 00:04
From our last encounter, which resulted in a 14 point win to Geelong:
Collingwood + Rusling, Buckley, Clement
Geelong - Egan.
Have I missed anyone?
I think it will be a good match, with Geelong deservedly favourites.
PoidaCat
17 Sep 2007, 00:36
16 points it was.
Plus we played pretty shit. So I wouldn't read to much into our last encounter.
Hoffy95
17 Sep 2007, 01:06
Geelong - Egan.
Have I missed anyone?
Geelong - Egan, + Rooke & Nathan Ablett
smiddaz123
17 Sep 2007, 01:15
Geelong deserve to be favourites. head and shoulders above the rest of the comp. if they go into the game with the right mindset they'll win.
However if they get complacent then thats when Collingwood might pull off an upset, coz you can bet your bottom dollar the pies will be trying to absoltue guts out for Buckley.
somocca
17 Sep 2007, 01:24
16 points it was.
Still reason for Geelong to be a little worried. You played pretty shit because the oposition didn't allow you to play well. I couldn't give two hoots about the result but if Geelong go in half as cocky as the majority of their supporter base, Collingwood will give them a hiding!
PoidaCat
17 Sep 2007, 02:01
. You played pretty shit because the oposition didn't allow you to play well.
Didn't watch the game obviously.
Collingwood played pretty poorly aswell.
Goddamn I wanna grab your handbags and belt you with em!!!!
YOU HAVEN"'T WON THE FLAG YET!!!!!
If we don't beat you this wk the kangas will smash you in the big one.... For revenge and for Arch....:D
Hope your handbags are full of kleenex.... hahahahaha:)
PoidaCat
17 Sep 2007, 02:34
If we don't beat you this wk the kangas will smash you in the big one.... For revenge and for Arch....:D
A highly toughtful and valuable contribution to the thread.
Cheers for that. Enjoy Primary School Tomorrow.
I concur. :D:thumbsu:
And none of this " Team FC vs Team 2 FC" bullshit this isn't soccer.
It's the Cats vs the Pies or Geelong vs Collingwood....
No worries, adolf.
chunk_master
17 Sep 2007, 03:31
adolf lol
i reckon the winner will win the premiership... but even as a collingwood supporter i dont think it matters how cocky cats supporters are... we wont win... we've done awesome to get this far and i'm proud of the team... but we have nothing on the likes of ablett, bartel and corey
great season anyway pies... at least 4th without a top 40 player in the league!!
haywood jablome
17 Sep 2007, 08:59
A highly toughtful and valuable contribution to the thread.
Cheers for that. Enjoy Primary School Tomorrow.
So true :thumbsu:
Good to see so many people have been drinking their haterade.. I think my team will win and I am cocky, it's called FAITH :rolleyes: Tall poppy syndrome.
A shame that either side who i dislike have to play off for a spot in the grand final. Hopefully whomever wins, gets the tar beaten out of them the following week by either Port or the Roos :D:thumbsu:
CoolCat75
17 Sep 2007, 16:32
Geelong - Egan, + Rooke & Nathan Ablett
Here is a complete list of the in's and out's of the round 15 match, assuming Frasier replaces Richards or Bryan
Geelong In - Rooke, Byrnes, N. Ablett
Geelong Out - Egan, Varco, Hawkins
Pies In - Clement, Buckley, OBrien, Rusling
Pies Out - Johnson, Iles, Licuria, Richards/Bryan
I am biased of coursed, but Geelong should be too strong for Collingwood, especially in the midfield. Collingwood, to their credit, smashed the Eagles there, but don't bank on Swan getting much of it this time with Cling wearing him tighter than a pair of 80's leather pants. Last time Maltouse said the Pies had played bad, but don't forget the Cats played average too, and their inaccurate kicking in the 2nd half stopped a blow out of 6+ goals.
Co Cats, and then....off comes the lid.
Here is a complete list of the in's and out's of the round 15 match, assuming Frasier replaces Richards or Bryan
I am biased of coursed, but Geelong should be too strong for Collingwood, especially in the midfield. Collingwood, to their credit, smashed the Eagles there, but don't bank on Swan getting much of it this time with Cling wearing him tighter than a pair of 80's leather pants. Last time Maltouse said the Pies had played bad, but don't forget the Cats played average too, and their inaccurate kicking in the 2nd half stopped a blow out of 6+ goals.
Co Cats, and then....off comes the lid.
Harry played last time didn't he? I seem to remember him giving away a free-kick to Johnson
CoolCat75
17 Sep 2007, 17:01
Harry played last time didn't he? I seem to remember him giving away a free-kick to Johnson
Right you are. Correct list
Pies In - Clement, Buckley, Rusling
Pies Out - Johnson, Iles, Licuria
Anyway, can't read too much into that match. I think both teams were pretty tight on each other, and that's what lead to both teams saying they were below average. Cat's will be too good this week.
Stakerz
17 Sep 2007, 17:12
Geelong - Egan.
Have I missed anyone?
I think it will be a good match, with Geelong deservedly favourites.Ben Johnson.
Stakerz
17 Sep 2007, 17:14
Co Cats, and then....off comes the lid.Swan will go forward, Good luck Lingy in that case.
Whats the chance of me getting general admission tickets to this game? I dont support either team but think it will be a cracker of a game in front of a massive crowd.
moondog21
17 Sep 2007, 17:17
you must be mates with that ^%$#head that sits in the collingwood cheer squad because u both know nothing obviously. Forgot collingwood supporters
moondog21
17 Sep 2007, 17:21
Swan will go forward, Good luck Lingy in that case.
doesnt matter where he goes he is a hang out and ling will smash him AGAIN.
Lunchlady Doris
17 Sep 2007, 17:24
Swan will go forward, Good luck Lingy in that case.
Everyone underrates Ling's aerial skills. He never loses a 1 on 1 contest in the air. Never.
Anyway, Enright will pick him up if that's the case, and Ling will go forward and kick 3 no worries.
Optimax
17 Sep 2007, 19:21
16 points it was.
and we played horrible really horrible so i liek our adds
haywood jablome
17 Sep 2007, 20:19
TnzFRV1LwIo
Duskfire
17 Sep 2007, 21:15
Swan can go forward, and Ling can just be moved and go onto another midfielder. No big deal. If anything it hurts the Magpies.
TheMightyPies
17 Sep 2007, 21:44
my tip: Will be Close with Cats winning a thriller by 10 points
Azzballz Deluxe
17 Sep 2007, 22:07
Cats to get up by 74 points.
nananana catman
17 Sep 2007, 22:58
Biggest game of the year, atmosphere will be bigger than the GF.
PUSSIES_07_FLAG
17 Sep 2007, 22:58
9 AA's v 0 AA's.
....and then a Geelong thumping
Poor Eddie.
:o
nananana catman
17 Sep 2007, 23:04
9 AA's v 0 AA's.
....and then a Geelong thumping
Poor Eddie.
:o
AA selection means nothing, it's what you do when you pull on the club jumper that youll be remembered for.
If the Cats dont bring their A game, theyll be in trouble.
Pie eyed
17 Sep 2007, 23:16
Cats vs. Pies sound more Australian :p
Plus your average Pie probably has a fair bit of cat in it...lol
Pies for mine by 11 points...in a game which could be the best ever 1st Prelim.
somocca
17 Sep 2007, 23:27
AA selection means nothing, it's what you do when you pull on the club jumper that youll be remembered for.
If the Cats dont bring their A game, theyll be in trouble.
Couldn't agree more. Just ask the Hawthorn 1991 Premiership team.
2S23QKsbtdE
1 of the 22 who will destroy the "mighty pussy catters" friday night.
catpounce
17 Sep 2007, 23:41
What a game we are in for this friday night. Bigger in terms of actual football then any potential Granny.
Geelong fans; don't underwrite Collinwood, they have shown so much this year and have a bright future in store for them. Their last quarters have been outstanding a good indicatorof team quality. They have Nathan Buckley, undisputably a champion footballer and competitor. Last week he played an absolute shocker and this week he risks going out a la Glenn Archer (slow and dirty). I heard earlier this year he is running from his own to training and back each session. This shows the pride he has in himself and how much he loves the competition. He will be playing for the jumper which has given so much to him and will go down fighting to the last. RESPECT HIM. The pies also have a few spark players namely didak and thomas who can really turn the momentum of a game.
Collingwood fans; Geelong fans may be talking it up as loud as they can, but thats what a good football fan should do. We wear our hearts on our sleeves. Collingwood have been guilty of that before. However if you saw the final huddle after the Collingwood game you would be able to see this is not the case with the players. Watching Harley sent chills down my spine and reinforced that this team means business.Don't doubt it.The midfield is where you guys will cop a slaughtering. You simply cannot match it with Geelong. How can you stop Ablett? If you do Bartel, Corey, Kelly, Selwood step right into his place. In the forward line Scarlett, Harley, Milburn, Mackie and Wodji will be rebounding relentlessly all day, do you have the fitness, athleticism and manpower to cover this? Mooney is on fire can Clement, having only played ten games this season handle him? Again Johnson and Chapman too much to handles add the niftyness of Stokes and the inconsistent brilliance of Nathan Ablett.
NSnx0jKFOoc
no2 of the 22, the great man loves skinning cats, BOG Friday night.
lxMrcRL0RxI
no3 of 22, this ones for the "mighty pussy catters" fans. WHO DAT? the last highlight was the last time we played you on the G at Night on a Friday ;)
thats my last video. Lets wait until friday night to see the other 19 running magpie highlight reels.
PUSSIES_07_FLAG
18 Sep 2007, 01:16
lxMrcRL0RxI
no3 of 22, this ones for the "mighty pussy catters" fans. WHO DAT? the last highlight was the last time we played you on the G at Night on a Friday ;)
thats my last video. Lets wait until friday night to see the other 19 running magpie highlight reels.
What relevance do this videos have? Leon 5 minute wonder?
I'm sorry but this is finals - these flash tricks from bogans like Didak and flashy bananas from Leon won't be enough.
And watch us expose Buckley like we exposed Archer last week.
Gone Critical
18 Sep 2007, 02:42
Everything points to Geelong
9 AA's
Best team this year
Rested this week
Stars on every line
Hardnuts in the side unlike the 90's
Collingwoods very hard long match last week followed by returning from Perth (even at low altitude)
Collingwoods lack of class players, this eventually gets found out in finals
If it wasn't for the final skeletons in your cupboard you would have to say 10 goal win minimum.
These next two weeks more than ever will be a contrast for Geelong people. Win the cup and your team goes down as one of the greats and these become the best days of your life. Forget births families and marriages this will be the greatest time of your lives.
Lose and there will be an extra lane created on the West Gate that day called the drive off lane. The despair you will feel will makes the 90's a joyous time to look back on ( I do worry for some of you that it already is)
A magpie loss will be a disaster also (dont believe you can finish top 4 then lose and write it off as good experience. You get there rarely and when you do winning is the only acceptable result) but one that we may recover from. I dont believe the Cats could recover from anything less than a flag, your clubs culture would be totally gutted.
You should win easily on Friday but the stakes are higher than they have been for any club ever before. Lose and you will never recover.
I would love to wish you good luck but I cant bring myself to be insincere
Go Pies
Copernicus
18 Sep 2007, 03:23
The only bad thing about this matchup is that I wont be there in person to see it. I'll be in front of the boob tube at 5:30 in the morning waking up the missus, probably. Should be a cracker game. First quarter will be the key. If we can get off to a flyer and break the Pies' spirit just a little, we'll be in good stead. If the Pies keep it close then they will have every chance - they're nothing if not battlers when the game is on the line.
Should be a great match, huge crowd, can't wait!
Paddywackers
18 Sep 2007, 06:30
Cats to get up by 74 points.
why arn't you on trade talk discussing the impossibilities of Essendon getting Judd.
The Royal Sampler
18 Sep 2007, 09:59
Yeah, I forgot Ben Johnson. Buckley, Rusling and especially Clement are massive in's though.
One factor that no-one has mentioned, I believe last time Anthony Rocca was returning from a two-game suspension. Being Anthony Rocca, he clearly wasn't match fit, and Scarlett ran off him at every opportunity, setting up 6 goals directly (as was the official stat). I can't see that happening this time, and our small forwards such as Leon (10 tackles last week) and Medhurst, and even Rusling are doing some brilliant chasing out of their own forward 50.
G_Money
18 Sep 2007, 12:58
Yeah, I forgot Ben Johnson. Buckley, Rusling and especially Clement are massive in's though.
One factor that no-one has mentioned, I believe last time Anthony Rocca was returning from a two-game suspension. Being Anthony Rocca, he clearly wasn't match fit, and Scarlett ran off him at every opportunity, setting up 6 goals directly (as was the official stat). I can't see that happening this time, and our small forwards such as Leon (10 tackles last week) and Medhurst, and even Rusling are doing some brilliant chasing out of their own forward 50.
You're going to win because Leon Davis and Paul Medhurst will tackle Matty Scarlett? That's hilarious. Glad we're not relying on inconsistent fatties.
Suspense
18 Sep 2007, 13:14
Should be a great game. I have no idea how collingwood are going to stop Ablett and Mooney, but it will interesting to watch.
Just remember cats fans, there's no second chances anymore, no guarantees of a match next week. The last time I remember when Geelong's back was against the wall like this would be the 2005 semi final against Sydney... :cool:
G_Money
18 Sep 2007, 13:28
Should be a great game. I have no idea how collingwood are going to stop Ablett and Mooney, but it will interesting to watch.
Just remember cats fans, there's no second chances anymore, no guarantees of a match next week. The last time I remember when Geelong's back was against the wall like this would be the 2005 semi final against Sydney... :cool:
Those sunglasses make a convincing point.
Rik E Boy
18 Sep 2007, 14:41
Being Anthony Rocca, is he ever match fit? Scarlo to run off him again.
regards,
REB
Rik E Boy
18 Sep 2007, 14:43
Especially if our ruckman goes down and we have no bench.
regards,
REB
****ing afl members...no tickets left
Can't wait til friday night at the G', emotions will be huge and it will be the first team that settles and then controls there emotions that will be the victors.
With the passing of Len Thompson that will only make the pies more hungier but if you need excuses to motivate you any more afl players are kidding themselves.
The cats will have there own motivations so they won't be going into this game with there heads in the clouds, the way this game has been talked up since the wobbles win over the eagles has been unbelievable as such.You would'nt have thought there's another prelim on, both sides are saying they did'nt play upto there best in the last game they played against each other & the pies were missing buckley & clement etc etc...i tend to agree but as someone else said on another thread this is the cats biggest game in 40 years and sure they'd be chuffed with all there success and AA selections but they will not let this one slip.It's universal that whoever wins this clash will win the flag so buckle up cats fans and enjoy the ride.
Ferga18
18 Sep 2007, 16:50
Cats by 57
57 points????
someone is still cranky from last saturday night...
melbournemartin
18 Sep 2007, 17:20
Are there general admission tickets on sale? MCC guest passes sold out very quickly so that's my only way in. When I clicked on reserved seating for the game, it came up with a window to enter Collingwood or Geelong membership barcodes which I don't have.
Maybe they come out on Wednesday?
Optimax
18 Sep 2007, 18:23
Watch out for strange bouncing balls this week cats, we have someone very special lookig down on us this week
Rip Len we are doing for you champ
BigKevs
18 Sep 2007, 18:25
Should be a ripper of a game. Cats by 28 points.
Lockyer24
18 Sep 2007, 19:28
From last time: Egan out. Buckley and Clement In.
I think this will both improve the Magpies forward line and backline stability.
Geelong has clear edge in midfield and week off on their side, which will balance things out.
Didak and Thomas the dangers for Collingwood. A big game from either and a solid performance from Rocca and we can win.
Ablett and Chapman appear tough to stop for the Catters, and Ottens height could be their X Factor up forward which might stretch us.
Cats by 11pts.
From last time: Egan out. Buckley and Clement In.
I think this will both improve the Magpies forward line and backline stability.
Geelong has clear edge in midfield and week off on their side, which will balance things out.
Didak and Thomas the dangers for Collingwood. A big game from either and a solid performance from Rocca and we can win.
Ablett and Chapman appear tough to stop for the Catters, and Ottens height could be their X Factor up forward which might stretch us.
Cats by 11pts.
While Didak and Thomas will be dangers for the cats to watch, SJ who was quite against the kanga's will be looking to making it unbearable for the pies backs and will be hard to match up on.One big plus the cats forwardline has had this yr is eveness, when one has been well held others have popped up eg Chapmans 5 against the kanga's whilst SJ was kept to 1.
admiral
18 Sep 2007, 20:17
Collingwood will surprise everyone, even their own supporters by beating an overconfident Geelong outfit easily by either attacking all out or playing a cat and mouse game until Geelong cracks. In form Collingwood can beat anyone, I think their massive win over North was the worst thing that could have happened to the cats, they now think they are legends in their own minds. Panic will set in when the Pies make it tough for them - no premiership since 1963 - and the Pies will show us all why.
:):thumbsu:
Discuss.
Cats to dominate from start to finish. If any Collingwood players pipe up and argue. We will just whack an AA on him to shut him up.
Cats by 82 points
Cats to dominate from start to finish. If any Collingwood players pipe up and argue. We will just whack an AA on him to shut him up.
Cats by 82 points
haha, i am loving this.
Optimax
18 Sep 2007, 21:30
Cats by 82 points
geelong supporters at their modest best:rolleyes:
linga_is_no1
18 Sep 2007, 22:33
geelong supporters at their modest best:rolleyes:
Mate there is a good reason why Geelong finished 1st and the pies 6th, there is also a reason why we won 5 more games then you did!
Geelong beat you last time we played in one of geelongs worst peformances of the year, Bomber thompson even said 'the collingwood game was a mini form slump'. Now if we beat you in a form slump by 16 points imagine what we can do to you when we are all fired up like what we were in the Roo's game. Don't kid yourself a team that finished 20 points below its opponent doesnt usually win.
didak04
18 Sep 2007, 22:36
Mate there is a good reason why Geelong finished 1st and the pies 6th, there is also a reason why we won 5 more games then you did!
Geelong beat you last time we played in one of geelongs worst peformances of the year, Bomber thompson even said 'the collingwood game was a mini form slump'. Now if we beat you in a form slump by 16 points imagine what we can do to you when we are all fired up like what we were in the Roo's game. Don't kid yourself a team that finished 20 points below the its opponent doesnt usually win.
It's pretty simple geelong are the better side, they are deserved favourites. But the rest of the season counts for bugger all once the ball is bounced. I'm not writing us off just yet, we have exceeded all my expectations so far this year and i hope that we can continue to do so
PUSSIES_07_FLAG
18 Sep 2007, 22:48
Ling,Corey,Ablett,Bartel,Scarlett,Mooney,Johnson,Milburn
Fear these names.
Fear them Collingwood fans.
They will be what you see and hear all night.
Domination from the Cat Australians.
Abba Lonie
18 Sep 2007, 23:24
Geelong's dominance this year is based on confidence, not ability.
They have the momentum, denting that confidence is the key to winning for the pies.
PoidaCat
19 Sep 2007, 01:01
Yes. Nothing to do with having good footballers.... :rolleyes:
haywood jablome
19 Sep 2007, 08:40
It's pretty simple geelong are the better side, they are deserved favourites. But the rest of the season counts for bugger all once the ball is bounced. I'm not writing us off just yet, we have exceeded all my expectations so far this year and i hope that we can continue to do so
You are wrong. The rest of the season counts for everything since it was the path we took to get where we are. The teamwork, spirit and skills have all been developed over the season, it counts for everything and is the reason we will beat you on Friday.
a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
19 Sep 2007, 10:45
They have the momentum, denting that confidence is the key to winning for the pies.
Abba Lonie?
Been diving for yourself without oxygen again?
So no ability in a team that won 9 AA selections, which is largely an individual award and not team based?
nice work tiger - suggest you run for the American presidency. Obviously you are over qualified for that post............
Solstice Raver
19 Sep 2007, 11:52
Geelong - Egan.
Have I missed anyone?
All three are great players but it must be said that all three need to lift from their efforts last week. If they bring the same game they will be pantsed.
Rik E Boy
19 Sep 2007, 12:04
Winning the ball might help too.
regards,
REB
Solstice Raver
19 Sep 2007, 12:08
2S23QKsbtdE
1 of the 22 who will destroy the "mighty pussy catters" friday night.
Feel the man love :D
con1980
19 Sep 2007, 14:18
Cats will win. Their only opposition left are teams on the rise who are not quite ready to go all the way. The only sides that could have challenged the Cats were full strength Swans or Eagles. The Swans because they are the toughest team to beat that I have ever seen in my lifetime. The Eagles purely because their midfield at full strength cannot be beaten, not even by the Cats. You could put Warrick Capper at Full Forward, the entire 1996 Fitroy defence and have Damian Drum coach and the Eagles midfield will still keep it close!:p
PoidaCat
19 Sep 2007, 14:39
SOLD OUT TO PUBLIC! :thumbsu:
:) Well Done.
ClassyCat
19 Sep 2007, 15:57
Settle back, we smashed them 106pts...... Bucks will need the Kleenex when the cats finish his career off for him on friday night!
Go Cats!!
Hoffy95
19 Sep 2007, 16:31
Settle back, we smashed them 106pts...... Bucks will need the Kleenex when the cats finish his career off for him on friday night!
Go Cats!!
Actually Lingy might need the Kleenex to clean up the blood that the mongrel will probably swipe on him again.
understudy
19 Sep 2007, 16:46
Collingwood are a chance.
Anyone who thinks Collingwood have absolutely no chance (and Im seeing plenty state it across this site) is being stupid and is totally out of touch with the game and professional sport.
KissStephanie
19 Sep 2007, 17:09
Ling,Corey,Ablett,Bartel,Scarlett,Mooney,Johnson,MilburnThe last time I went to a match that those blokes all played together was last season against Collingwood. Fear these names.They were about as frightening as Banana's in Pyjama's.Fear them Collingwood fans.I'm sure they will better than they were in that match though, but the most important thing is that I'm sure the Collingwood players don't fear any Geelong players of course, and are probably looking forward to the challenge of beating nearly half of the All-Australian team. They certainly don't frighten me because most everybody has written Collingwood off any way. If Collingwood happen to win the 'unwinnable' match, it will just be an unexpected bonus! :thumbsu:They will be what you see and hear all night.Yes it was a night match at the MCG when I saw those blokes play now that you mention it.
PUSSIES_07_FLAG
19 Sep 2007, 17:32
The last time I went to a match that those blokes all played together was last season against Collingwood.They were about as frightening as Banana's in Pyjama's.
Thats quite selective, didn't manage to wander down to the match this year, round 15?
gazisgod
19 Sep 2007, 17:52
carn the mighty cats. this is the game ive wanted the cats to win for a long time now, beating the pies and getting into the gf
nick_savo
19 Sep 2007, 18:33
Carn the pies, this is the match we show everyone what we are made of!!!!
KissStephanie
19 Sep 2007, 18:37
Thats quite selective, didn't manage to wander down to the match this year, round 15?No I didn't. I was here in America. I watched it live on telly, and I can certainly understand the reason that Mick Malthouse was so critical of Collingwood's lack of pressure. I certainly expect that to be different on Friday.
BarraXR8
19 Sep 2007, 18:38
HI Guys !
I'm a new member but I've been watching the Forum for quite a while.
Here are my thoughts on Friday's Game.
1). Geelong are head and shoulders above the other sides in the league this year.
2). The top 3 teams I thought would be West Coast, Geelong and Port in no particular order (the loss of Kerr, Cousins etc was huge last week).
3). Friday's game has two teams out on the field and there are no guarantees (it could go either way in theory).
4). If Geelong play as well as they can they'll smash Collingwood.
5). The planets are aligning for Collingwood. They're on a roll, Geelong has NEVER had the wood on them, Buckley is ready to go out on a high, Len Thompson RIP, etc.
I don't know what'll happen on friday night, but sense says Geelong will win confortably, and if there is justice in this world Geelong will win and also win the flag. They ARE the best team this year.
BTW I've been to 4 losing Geelong GF's. The one that hurt the most was 1989 - Geelong was the best team that year but they came second. In my book that is as good as 10th.
KissStephanie
19 Sep 2007, 18:57
The planets are aligning for Collingwood. They're on a roll, Geelong has NEVER had the wood on them, Buckley is ready to go out on a high, Len Thompson RIPAnd how absolutely fitting it would be too if Collingwood could honour two of their best ever players with a win on Friday, and then possibly a premiership. Time will tell.if there is justice in this world Geelong will win and also win the flag. They ARE the best team this year.The best team in the home and away season deserves the McClelland Trophy, and a home state final in the first week and the double chance. Nothing more than that. The best team in the finals deserves to win the premiership, but there are two weekends left to determine which side that is.
blue & gold forever
19 Sep 2007, 18:59
Friday night should be an absolute cracker.... I think there will be at least 95000 people there.... I think the pies can win in a nailbiter.. Pies by 2pts.. Either way the winner of this game WILL WIN THE FLAG!!:cool::)
GOD i hope your right :thumbsu:
BarraXR8
19 Sep 2007, 19:30
If you look at the matchup's and the midfield, the result is a formality:
Bartel, Ablett, Ling, Kelly, Corey, Selwood, etc, it's awesome.
Can Collingwood matchup here where the Engine room is ?
I'll never discount the "Wood's men" but the more I think of it, the more I believe Geelong will come out on top.
Go Cats !!
Lockyer24
19 Sep 2007, 19:34
You're right - we surrender
How will the rain effect the game?
BarraXR8
19 Sep 2007, 19:40
You're right - we surrender
How will the rain effect the game?
Rain is a great leveller. But it also means that the harder team at the ball will come out on top.
Geelong have looked super the last few weeks. Remember Laidley's comment in the media.
"It was men against boys in most of the contests".
Collingwood will give 100%
The team with the greatest spirit, talent, determinaton and hunger will win. Lets hope the Umps don't spoil the contest with a few stupid decisions !!
KissStephanie
19 Sep 2007, 20:04
If you look at the matchup's and the midfield, the result is a formality: Bartel, Ablett, Ling, Kelly, Corey, Selwood, etc, it's awesome. Nothing in footy is a formality, and there is nothing definite about footy. With the exception of Selwood, those other players were involved in the 102 point loss to Collingwood under lights at the MCG in 2006. Collingwood will be confident enough of stopping them again as they did on that night.Can Collingwood matchup here where the Engine room is ?See above.I'll never discount the "Wood's men" but the more I think of it, the more I believe Geelong will come out on top.Geelong are probably the hottest favourite in recent finals history, so that is not a surprise that you feel that way. If Collingwood win it will be one of the biggest upsets in years, but Collingwood have an edge in MCG experience under lights, and they have an edge in sudden death finals as the last time that Geelong played in such a match was in the 2005 semi final against Sydney at the SCG. Collingwood have a lot of outside motivation and are a definite chance.Geelong have looked super the last few weeks. Remember Laidley's comment in the media.
"It was men against boys in most of the contests".I think he was referring to that one match, not this Friday's match. Different day, different teams, and it's still to be determined whether the week off has slowed Geelong's momentum. Collingwood will give 100%If you're right, then Collingwood will win. It's impossible for two teams to give 100%, because if one of them does, it's because they've shut down the opposition enough to win the match. The team with the greatest spirit, talent, determinaton and hunger will win.That's your opinion, while I can show many occurrences in the past that a team has even won a premiership without all four of those attributes. West Coast were probably more talented than Sydney in 2005, but Sydney were the better team and they won the premiership.
Optimax
19 Sep 2007, 20:14
I hope collingwood wins but if that game is that close i will die of stress.
Anyway colingwood by 7
ClassyCat
19 Sep 2007, 20:15
KissStephanie....while you have some interesting points....
CATS WILL WIN THIS FRIDAY NIGHT!!!