View Full Version : Port Adelaide FC vs North Melbourne FC (2nd PRELIMINARY FINAL)
Discuss;
Kangaroos should give a good crack at Port, the first interstate final for the boys from Arden Street. Real hard to say, as my brain says Port, but my heart and guts says Kangaroos, so that is 2 to 1.
GO ROOS!
Port are favourites but expect the Kangaroos to come out and give it a red hot go!
Asgardian
17 Sep 2007, 07:41
Should be an excellent game, and a real clash of styles.
Naturally I'm tipping a Port win, but never underestimate the Roo.
PJ Power
17 Sep 2007, 08:51
As the reality of our opposition and the occasion sets in, I am having more doubts as to whether we can get up.
The tipsters and consensus will be that we go in as favourites, but we have been humbled by the Kangaroos so many times over our history, many of which have been when we have gone into matches with good form and sitting pretty high on the ladder.
Full respect to the Kangas from me. They will make this Prelim extremely hard to win. Match up well on us in the ruck and especially in the midfield, where their midfield group is a bit harder than ours IMO and are a little better equipped at winning the 50-50 and the clearances.
Prior to Saturday night's Hawks game, I would have felt confident that we might have gained an advantage in our forward line, but I wasn't counting on the Roos shutting down Roughead, Franklin and co. for as long and as well as they did.
I don't think the Aami stadium factor is that big, nor the crowd really.
It will be a game that will still be alive well into the last quarter.
Roos have been our bogey side over the years no doubt about it
The only time the 2 teams have met this season was in Round 2. Port pretty much controlled the game from start to finish even though it was only a 3 goal margin.
I have alot of respect for the Roos and i love the way they go about it.
Im still very confident that we will win and win well.
The weeks break, rested a few injured players. Others have had time to get over some niggles, plus the home ground advantage should see us get through.
In saying that i expect the Roos to come out very hard and throw everything including the sink at us. We will need to be at our very best to get through.
Port 21 points
On paper Port should win easily. The only problem is on paper Port's been the better team then Roos about 9 or 10 times, yet the ledger is 13-4 in their favour. Which is a testament to how they play the game.
Port knows what they'll always get playing the Roos - tough, hard, pressure football. The risk is it's the game style Port struggle most against and it's what is encountered more in finals. The plus side is we've already beaten the Roos this year and as then and when they played the Hawks, the same players that blitzed then are the danger men now - Harvey, Simpson, Harris, Sinclair.
Without trying to insult the rest of the Roos, the last few years you could almost say when Port at least play them that 'Stop Harvey, Stop North Melbourne'. He must love playing us.
I'm tipping the Roos will ensure it's an ugly, scrappy contest, with lots of ball ups and scragging. It'll be close all night, but with the extra week off, Port will pull away as the match runs out to finish about 2-3 goals up.
Power King
17 Sep 2007, 20:50
one general feeling i have gathered prior to this match, is that the kangaroos and port and both sets of fans generally respect each other.
GO PORT
Pedro59
18 Sep 2007, 21:30
Full credit to both teams for defying the critics and making it this far.
IMO the dynamics have changed since the Roos used to have the wood over us.
We used to rely too much on Tredders to kick our goals but now with Hoff , Ebert and Motlop up there I think we are vastly improved.
Troy Chaplin coming on well at CHB has enabled Chad to stay in the center, and with Rodan and Cassisi and Shaun Burger feeding of of Lade and Brogan (if fit) With the speed of Boak, Salopec and pierce running the ball I feel more confident. Our backline is our poss weak point as it is relatively new but with Wakes in he may provide good steadying ability.
CarnaKangas
19 Sep 2007, 00:28
im really excited about this game on the weekend, to teams who no one would have picked at the start of the year to be playing in one of the prelims, i know i didnt pick my own team to make it this far. i will be looking forward to see how daniel motlop copes against his old club. i think this game is very 50-50 and it will just be decided by which side wants it more, i hope i get to see arch play another game after this weekend. and i think everyone will be hoping that umpires dont impact the match like they have in the last 2 games that the roos have played.
USAbasedsupporter
21 Sep 2007, 04:47
Call me what you will, but I am concerned for the Kangas in that they set out this year to gain respect, and if you look at some of the comments from players like Rawlings, it would seem that the feeling is that goal has been acomplished by being able to win at least one final.
I think North is the fitter team, if you look at the replay of last week, the Hawks were shot by 3/4 time and the early pre-season really seems to be paying off.
If North comes out to play like last weekend they will win, if the team that took the track against Geelong comes out, i.e. nervous nellies and lacking confidnece after the first 15 mins they will lose.
I think Port is pretty stable and the onus lay with North.
dA Crow
21 Sep 2007, 13:41
I reckon Port will get up quiet comfortably (And thats not just because I am trying to Jinx them as a Crows supporter). The Roos' have done really well this year, but the general consensus here is that Port will be way to strong at home; you just need ot read the Advertiser or look at the odds to see that nobody really expects the Roo's to do much this weekend. Most of the talk here is about how ugly the Roo's will make the game to avoid an embarressing blowout like last seasons finals when they meet Port.
Shane_Mag
21 Sep 2007, 13:59
this is gonna be a hard game for both teams. port needs to play 4 good quarters of football and not drop off in 1 quarter like they have done a few times this year. gonna be an awesome game to watch and ill be there to see it :D. go the power!
Howard Littlejohn
21 Sep 2007, 14:21
There's no doubt Port's disposal is generally better. Where we can beat them is in tight, at contested ball. If its fast and open, we turn it over too often. If we can make it a physical slugfest; some might say ugly, I say accountable; we're a shot at winning it.
If both teams are on song, it should be a cracker. (Unlike tonight's game, where if Geelong are at 30% or more its already over.)
peterss
21 Sep 2007, 17:28
Kangas to win.
They have a good record over the Power and will once again prove everyone wrong.
stainedclass
21 Sep 2007, 17:52
Really looking forward to it:D
Worlock
22 Sep 2007, 09:49
only hours to go can't wait this game is gonna be intense which should make for some top notch footy:thumbsu:
westroo
22 Sep 2007, 09:57
us nomads dont care were we play bring it on and we see at the end
go the roos
jenny61_99
22 Sep 2007, 10:32
Head says Port, heart says Kangas.... hell, I'd rather neither of em win! ;) Hope it's a cracker of a game!
port_rule
22 Sep 2007, 10:41
I think very tight first half, with Port to put the Roos to the sword in the third quarter
Groggyk
22 Sep 2007, 10:58
Should be a blinder. Bit of history with both clubs; Port looking at redeeming the balance sheet and the Roos aiming to get another crack at Geelong. We saw enough in last nights game to suggest that whoever wins should have some chance against the Cats. Carna' Roos!
timeless
22 Sep 2007, 11:22
the odds for this game are ludicrous, kangas should be paying about $8
.... just kidding :cool:
but i do think the odds are ludicrous, kangas were over $3 yesterday, they are far better than that. i'm crapping myself
GO POWER!!!!!!!!!!
the odds for this game are ludicrous, kangas should be paying about $8
.... just kidding :cool:
but i do think the odds are ludicrous, kangas were over $3 yesterday, they are far better than that. i'm crapping myself
GO POWER!!!!!!!!!!
According to the bookies there's been no money for Port Adelaide the last few days.
timeless
22 Sep 2007, 12:13
TAB are paying $3.40 for the kangas!
http://www.tab.com.au/Sports/Betting/PlaceFixedOddsBet.aspx?State=1&ContestDate=2007-09-22T00:00:00&Competition=102&BetOption=FAFPFPTKAHH&ContestCode=37895&LocationCode=0&MeetingType=1
or am i just looking in the wrong place? i'm not a betting type, i'm just intrigued by the head-to-head odds in footy :)
i reckon you'd be mad not to drop a pineapple on the roos at $3.40
Shane_Mag
22 Sep 2007, 12:53
not long now. cant wait
yeah im a bit worried about this game as well, i would much rather be playing the hawks but this is not the case. north seem to match up well against us and although we have won the last few encounters between the two teams, they are still our hoodoo team which makes the result anything but certain. hoping port can put in a 4 quarter effort, and if this is the case we should get over the line by a few goals
out of order
22 Sep 2007, 13:26
port by ten goals, anything less will be a choke
yeah im a bit worried about this game as well, i would much rather be playing the hawks but this is not the case. north seem to match up well against us and although we have won the last few encounters between the two teams, they are still our hoodoo team which makes the result anything but certain.
The "hoodoo" business may have been a claim once, but the recent record is 3-2 in favour of the Roos. It's still an overwhelming statistic, the 13-4 H2H, but has little bearing on today. Also our only two wins against Port Adelaide at AAMI stadium were the 41pt win in round one last year, and the 10pt win in round one 2002. The others have all been blow outs in favour of Port Adelaide. I'm confident if we give our all today we can stop PA's running game, but the hoodoo thing is more the Pagan era.
philhawk
22 Sep 2007, 13:57
What time is the game?
Does anyone know if it's on the telly up here in Sydn?
Chadwiko
22 Sep 2007, 14:00
What time is the game?
Does anyone know if it's on the telly up here in Sydn?
First bounce 4pm SA time (4:30 EST)
philhawk
22 Sep 2007, 14:02
First bounce 4pm SA time (4:30 EST)
Cheers, mate.
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 14:27
4PM live on Ten for those wanting TV Times.
blue & gold forever
22 Sep 2007, 14:33
I hate PORT ADELAIDE, so i am hoping the KANGAS win this game and go into the 2007 AFL GF...
Tip: Kangaroos by 14pts... Aaron Edwards to kick 5:):thumbsu:
hope we can get another crack at geelong!
carn north!
Chadwiko
22 Sep 2007, 14:57
I'm getting super nervous about this game... oh geez...
PAFCsince1870
22 Sep 2007, 15:08
According to the bookies there's been no money for Port Adelaide the last few days.
Really? I find it hard to believe a team paying $1.32 has had no money coming in.
All the shortening of late has been on the Roos according to Gerard Daffy of Lasseters Sport and Norm Short of Flemington Sportsbet. In yesterdays HS. Look it up.
Darwin Sportsbet Phil Hannah : "I think the Roos are great value. We're the best odds for Port anywhere at $1.35 and still can't attract much interest".
In any case, whatever. This has no relevance to the game itself.
kookadog
22 Sep 2007, 15:24
North worries me the fact that a couple of weeks ago they absolutely dropped the ball and went down by 106, Can they maintain that focussed intense pressure footy for 4 quarters??
If North get up it will be a massive effort.
So I'll reluctantly say port by +19.5
kickingoals
22 Sep 2007, 15:46
hope we can get another crack at geelong!
carn north!
what you havent had enough already !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Footylover1
22 Sep 2007, 16:32
I think Port Adelaide will win but I wouldn't be the slightest surprised if North Melbourne win. I like both teams, so I wouldn't be upset if either side won today. :thumbsu:
Port will win comfortably.
I'll say 37 points.
Wont be much of a game to watch really.
Over by 3 quarter time.
North by 16 pts.
Will be close all day but North to hit the front late and pull away in the last 5 mins.
Hey, Im an optimist :)
Beau_Waters for PM
22 Sep 2007, 16:50
I'm tipping Port by under 20 points.
I think they have the Roos' measure here.
Will get up in the premiership quarter.
Worlock
22 Sep 2007, 16:57
Er we go tv on beer in hand, cheers to my fellow Port fans lets enjoy:thumbsu:
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:07
ROOS LATE CHANGE
IN: Green
OUT: Hansen (Essendon like Virus...)
ApplecrossWC
22 Sep 2007, 17:11
Were they just saying on channel 10 that Daniel Wells may have rolled his ankle in the warm up? :eek:
Bombers_Forever
22 Sep 2007, 17:13
So does the game actually start at 5pm Melbourne time or 4:30?
Stormer
22 Sep 2007, 17:13
He looks a bit groggy. :eek:
I'd say 4:30
ApplecrossWC
22 Sep 2007, 17:14
So does the game actually start at 5pm Melbourne time or 4:30?
4pm in Adelaide and we are 30 minutes behind so 4:30pm in Vic.
EDIT: I mean we are 30 mins ahead.
Heard Wells may have rolled his ancle in the change rooms he was limping a little but seemed ok
Bombers_Forever
22 Sep 2007, 17:18
4pm in Adelaide and we are 30 minutes behind so 4:30pm in Vic.
Thanks. Roos just on the ground now
Beau_Waters for PM
22 Sep 2007, 17:20
Anyone put money on this game?
I heard alot of people talking about their bets for the Geelong vs Pies game, but not alot about today's game.
OUT: Hansen
That has happened quite a bit this year :(
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:28
OUT: Hansen
That has happened quite a bit this year :(
With an Essendon like virus though?
Anthem.
Cousin Jed
22 Sep 2007, 17:29
We have listen to Quatermain and Christian? geez
Hope this means Huddo and Tim Lane are doing the GF
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:30
Sounds like a decent turnout. Roos playing mind games with Simpson making Tredrea wait at the toss. Port win the toss and take the breeze towards the golf course (Left of screen?)
With an Essendon like virus though?
Anthem.
Nah normally a hammy, or a finger :thumbsd:
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:30
Hope this means Huddo and Tim Lane are doing the GF
I read a couple of weeks ago it's Hudson, Lane, Walls, Blight and Voss doing GF duties.
Quarter time:
Port Adelaide: 6.5
Kangaroos: 1.4
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:32
Watt-Tredrea
Casssi-Harvey (playing Forward)
Wilson-Grant
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:33
Pearce-Wells
Sinclair-C.Cornes
The Final Word
22 Sep 2007, 17:34
Quartermaine:
"Brady Rawlings is probably regarded as the best tagger in the comp"
I think AA Cameron LIng might have something to say about that.
BarraXR8
22 Sep 2007, 17:34
Quarter time:
Port Adelaide: 6.5
Kangaroos: 1.4
I thought you were serious !!
Port to win by 17 pts.
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:35
Lower on P.Burgoyne....
Footylover1
Quartermaine:
Brett Kirk and Kane Cornes would be ahead of Brady Rawlings. :rolleyes:
Quartermaine:
I think those 2 have the ugliest players award wrapped up.
stmookeyj
Motlop marks, milks 50 off Archer and goals.
PORT 1.0.6
ROOS Donuts
Footylover1
22 Sep 2007, 17:36
Silly stuff by Archer but soft arse 50 metres though.
Rod Stroker
Motlop marks, milks 50 off Archer and goals.
PORT 1.0.6
ROOS Donuts
Ridiculously soft free kick! :mad:
ApplecrossWC
Port Adelaide cheat for the first goal of the match.
Cousin Jed
Archer off to a ripper start
NMWBloods
22 Sep 2007, 17:37
Bullshit home town umpiring already! :mad:
Ricardo
Motlop took a dive, just like Chadley "********" Cornes always does.
stmookeyj
Shannon Grant snaps one against the run of play
PORT 1.0.6
ROOS 1.0.6
it is a 50 metre penalty any day of the week :thumbsu:
ApplecrossWC
22 Sep 2007, 17:38
Um no it isn't.
footycliche
22 Sep 2007, 17:39
Motlop knew he had to milk the 50m pen, cos he folds like oragami under pressure in big games...
stmookeyj
Rodan's long ball finds K.Cornes near the square. Resulting kick a sausage roll.
PORT 2.0.12
ROOS 1.0.6
Cousin Jed
If the Kangaroos want to win they should hope Pratt just knocked Archer out. How does Cornes take an uncontested mak in the square?
Stormer
I hate Glenn Archer. :(
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:40
Roos struggling to work out matchups on ground.
BarraXR8
22 Sep 2007, 17:41
At the netball !
since82eags
22 Sep 2007, 17:41
At the netball !
Contact! GD !:D
Footylover1
22 Sep 2007, 17:42
At the netball !
And for Daniel Kerr against North Melbourne. :D :thumbsu:
No, not it isn't.
Very soft and terrible dive. :thumbsd:
stmookeyj
Contact! GD !:D
Pass or shot.
Rod Stroker
If the Kangaroos want to win they should hope Pratt just knocked Archer out. How does Cornes take an uncontested mak in the square?
Kornes is Wells opponent, who is looking iffy after rolling his ankle in the warm up
stmookeyj
22 Sep 2007, 17:43
Downfield free sees the ball with C.Cornes (who marked it anyway). Helicopter punt findds Lade, handball to Rodan.
PORT 3.0.18
ROOS 1.1.7
Stormer
Our backline. :rolleyes:
TheBrownlowMan37
The Power are too slick, they should win this easily at this rate.
Bombers_Forever
22 Sep 2007, 17:44
Shocking camera work from 10 there - seriously, it looks like a camera is not working and they only have the long shot and the close up.
good game so far :thumbsu:
TheBrownlowMan37
22 Sep 2007, 17:45
Wow Ten are a mess:rolleyes:
Stormer
Channel 10 just cut to an ad break. Pathetic.
Cousin Jed
Dis anybody elses' channel 10 just randomly start showing some ad?
Bombers_Forever
22 Sep 2007, 17:46
Wow Ten are a mess:rolleyes:
They just showed an ad there while the play was going
Not sure if only Sydney got it
Stevie_Crow
Channel 10 just cut to an ad break. Pathetic.
That was...Seven-esque
WTF it switched to an add for 5 seconds then back to the footy while the ball was in play. ****ing channel 10
Adelaide Hawk
KG Cunningham just said "Port will belt this mob", so the Kangas should win it. :)
BarraXR8
Dis anybody elses' channel 10 just randomly start showing some ad?
Yep.
Ch 10 WTF ??