View Full Version : Challenge for the senior players....

SeinDude
27 May 2002, 09:54
The reason Geelong haven't been good enough over the last few seasons... the same reason we have lost games this year, is that our senior players simply don't give us enough on the ground when it counts most.

When a side that has a lot of young, inexperienced players is put under pressure, you have to look towards the senior (and supposed better players) to lift and show some leadership and direction for the rest to follow and in my opinion, we dont have that at Geelong!!

You can put up with the kids making mistakes as they are learning the game and will get better with experience, but there is no excuses for our best players doing that and I think it's time they stand up and show the kids how it's done!!

BEN GRAHAM:
Is our captain and should be moved back to defence where he can have the most influence on the game. Ben has been out of form so far this season, and must take responsability for his own game and do whatever it takes to get back to his best form. There's no point worrying about how the team is going when your own game is down as captain. Ben must lead by example... that is what makes a great captain!!

PETER RICCARDI:
Goes missing too often when he is tagged in the midfield and I think should spend more time up forward, maybe rotating through the wing/half forward flank.

RONNIE BURNS:
Has been injured but with a couple of games under his belt now, there's no excuses and hopefully Ronnie will work hard and turn it around soon.

DARREN MILBURN:
In my opinion, Dasher is one of our most skillful players and should be playing in the midfield where he can have the most influence on the game. Playing on a half-back flank, we simply dont get enough from Dasher and now Rooke and Wojcinski have showed that they can provide good run from half back, it's time Mark Thompson moved Milburn into the centre.

BRAD SHOLL:
I would move Brad Sholl into our forward line similar to what Dennis Pegan did with his brother Craig at North Melbourne towards the end of his career. I think Brad's time is almost up in defence, as he's lost a yard of pace and struggles to keep up with his opponent. I know that sounds very harsh, but when I see him turn back towards the centre corridor when under pressure in our defence, funble, not picking up his man, providing very little run off half back in the 2nd halves of games, we have to look seriously at him in the side as a defender.

STEVEN KING:
Played much better yesterday and just think how much better he'll be when Peter Street is in the side as well. I dont believe King should be in the centre bounces, as he doesn't jump anymore. King is very good around the ground and also up forward, and I think Mark Thompson should be looking at using King in a different role to get the best out of him.

So, the challenge is there for Geelong's better and most experienced players and lets hope they can answer the challenge in the coming weeks!!

Go Cats!!
SeinDude

badcat
27 May 2002, 10:19
Agree 100% with your oppinion SeinDude.

With any luck they'll play either Gardiner or McCarthy up forward as they have both played well in the reserves and Graham can go to the backline where he belongs.

I also would like to know what you think about maybe trading Graham at the end of the year. I think that for someone like Graham with the ability to kick a mile and being as tall as he is, he should be staring each week yet he doesn't and really hasn't since 1999.

SeinDude
27 May 2002, 14:22
Originally posted by badcat
I also would like to know what you think about maybe trading Graham at the end of the year. I think that for someone like Graham with the ability to kick a mile and being as tall as he is, he should be staring each week yet he doesn't and really hasn't since 1999.

badcat,

I wouldn't go as far as trading Ben Graham, but I do think he is being played out of position and therefore, Geelong aren't getting the most we can out of our captain. Ben should go back to centre half back where he is much more comfortable and also can be used as an attacking weapon off half back with his long kicking. :):)

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

badcat
27 May 2002, 15:54
I know his been played out fo position, but our backline functions pretty well without Graham and it's forwards that we need maybe he could be drafted for a forward?

you_idiot
27 May 2002, 17:23
Great point, SeinDude. Each of the players you mentioned-- and King, Riccardi and Graham especially-- should be leading by example, and they quite simply are not doing that.

This is where Thompson should lay down the gauntlet, read the riot at to all the veteran players, and let them know that no single player's untouchable. It can be said that the young players will learn from losing, but footy being the business that it is, losing will not sell people on buying memberships to the GFC.

I'm with Catman-- Thompson made some ridiculous decisions having to do with tactics, especially, and this is his chance to redeem himself.

Cheers,
William

Catman
27 May 2002, 18:15
I also would like to know what you think about maybe trading Graham at the end of the year. I think that for someone like Graham with the ability to kick a mile and being as tall as he is

That idea has some merit, but realistically, who would take him?

Mattster
27 May 2002, 18:53
at least bomber isn't making changes all the time.

he's sticking with players in positions and hopefully they will learn to play in those positions. having faith is a good thing. look at Tom Harley...champ.

but true, our senior players need to perform better because we cannot rely on our kids to play well the whole 4 quarters.

i have always wondered why we never picked up players in the pre-season draft...except this year in Aaron Lord. perhaps we could look into that to get experienced players. we could sure have done with a Simon Cox i reckon

Matt

SeinDude
27 May 2002, 19:00
Originally posted by you_idiot
This is where Thompson should lay down the gauntlet, read the riot at to all the veteran players, and let them know that no single player's untouchable.

you_idiot,

I think you're right about Mark Thompson needing to lay down the law with the more senior players. In my opinion, there is a need for Geelong to get back to some basic football tactics and team selection.

On a positive, Mark Thompson was saying on Triple M before the game on Saturday that Corey Enright will be back in the seniors this week against Melbourne which is a fantastic news!! :):)

SeinDude

Catman
27 May 2002, 19:14
Originally posted by Mattster
at least bomber isn't making changes all the time.

You reckon?

I feel he makes too many changes. Players aren't given long enough in a position before they are changed.

Examples from Saturday are...

Ablett
Grgic
Scarlett (he was playing well up forward, why move him back to defence)
Bartel
Any of the kids.

He needs to let players, in particular the young ones to learn to play be leaving them in a position for the entire match. This will give them plenty of confidence knowing they wont be moved if they don't get a heap of touches.

badcat
27 May 2002, 22:58
You missed Mooney, Catman.
He seems to only get 5 minutes a game to prove himself, yet if he was told that a certain position was his for the rest of the season no matter how bad he played, his confidence would surely have to rise.

Catman
27 May 2002, 23:14
You missed Mooney, Catman.
He seems to only get 5 minutes a game to prove himself, yet if he was told that a certain position was his for the rest of the season no matter how bad he played, his confidence would surely have to rise.

Cam Mooney is another, I forgot about him. To top it off, after every loss the excuse from the coach is " The kids will have to learn, etc, etc, etc".

How can they gain any confidence when they are blamed for every loss?

Mattster
28 May 2002, 17:41
you're probably right

i haven't really been following footy as closely as i have in the past

SeinDude
28 May 2002, 21:08
Originally posted by Catman
To top it off, after every loss the excuse from the coach is " The kids will have to learn, etc, etc, etc".

How can they gain any confidence when they are blamed for every loss?

Catman,

That is why I started this topic about the senior players not doing enough when we need them most!!

The problem we have at the moment is that if you compare Geelong's best 6 players with the best 6 players at other clubs, Geelong's would fall well short in most, if not all areas.

SeinDude

badcat
29 May 2002, 11:20
Hey Catman this might explain why Thompson drags a player as soon as he does something good.

I happen to talk to Thompson a fair bit as his kid plays tennis with my kid. I asked him wether we are playing for a spot in the 8 or playing for priority picks in the draft and he just said what ever is best for the club.

If I were coach I’d be thinking that the priority picks would be more beneficial to the club than winning another 3 or 4 games.

Mattster
29 May 2002, 18:57
do we need more kids?

with next years draft expected to be significantly less in quality, would a few places make a difference?

I just hope we don't finish last, and Carlton do, cos i got a good bet with me mate. He turns up to uni naked if Carlton finish dead last :)

SeinDude
29 May 2002, 20:22
I just hope we don't finish last, and Carlton do, cos i got a good bet with me mate. He turns up to uni naked if Carlton finish dead last :)

Mattster,

My Dad has a $10 bet with his work mate every year on who finishes higher on the ladder out of Carlton vs Geelong. I think he's looking good this season!! :):)

SeinDude

Mattster
29 May 2002, 20:33
whoever goes for geelong ( i assume ya dad) must have lost a bit of money

SeinDude
29 May 2002, 21:42
whoever goes for geelong ( i assume ya dad) must have lost a bit of money

Mattster,

Yeah, it's a bet that's been going since 1992 and Dad isn't in front unfortunately!! ;);)

SeinDude