View Full Version : Carlton Release Statement bout Chris Judd

Feva25
17 Sep 2007, 16:19
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=51221

Bentick's My Man.
17 Sep 2007, 16:23
The Carlton Football Club has confirmed it will be speaking with Chris Judd and his manager as soon as possible to discuss his playing future.

“Now that Chris has made his decision to return home to Victoria we are very keen to sit down and speak with Chris and his manager Paul Connors to discuss the possibility of Chris becoming a Carlton player. Our initial discussions will determine the interest Chris has in joining the Carlton Football Club at what we believe is an exciting time for the club with the growth on and off the field,” said Carlton CEO Greg Swann.

“There is sure to be much speculation on Chris’ playing future. This speculation will not only relate to where he will continue his career but also on the potential deal that will need to be negotiated with West Coast.

“Carlton’s priority is to first speak with Chris and his manager and then, if it is appropriate, hold discussions with West Coast as part of the Exchange Period.”

The club will not be making further comment on any rumours and speculation about players changing clubs.

Judd will be at Carlton next year..

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 16:25
It's getting more likely by the minute. I just hope we don't give up too much. And as if they hadn't met with his party before!!!

Alpha1
17 Sep 2007, 16:26
Lol werent most of them in Perth on the weekend? What were they doing there selling sodaS?

MyBloodIsBlue
17 Sep 2007, 16:26
I'm trying not to be too optimistic (But I can't keep a lid on!)
All Judd has to do is nominate someone else and we'll have egg on our faces...

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 16:28
It's getting more likely by the minute. I just hope we don't give up too much. And as if they hadn't met with his party before!!!

And I have wet dreams over Caroline Wilson.:D

as0l0
17 Sep 2007, 16:31

how so? there was nothing in the statement that we didn't know (or expect).

with that said, what an excellent way to handle the situation and a great statement. Top work Carlton.

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 16:33
how so? there was nothing in the statement that we didn't know (or expect).

with that said, what an excellent way to handle the situation and a great statement. Top work Carlton.

Yeah but how many other clubs have come out on the front foot to state their intentions? By the way, how proffessional is Swann? He has been our best recruit in years:thumbsu:

as0l0
17 Sep 2007, 16:35
Yeah but how many other clubs have come out on the front foot to state their intentions? By the way, how proffessional is Swann? He has been our best recruit in years:thumbsu:
just the good one's :D

[ToTTi]
17 Sep 2007, 16:36
The decision lies with Judd, doesn't it? He has to nominate which club he wants, therefore I have great faith that Swann and co. will put our best case forward to bring Juddy down.

as0l0
17 Sep 2007, 16:37
;8804781']The decision lies with Judd, doesn't it? He has to nominate which club he wants, therefore I have great faith that Swann and co. will put our best case forward to bring Juddy down.

that's right mate. we don't have to convince west coast of anything. what we have to do is convince Judd and have him convince us.

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 16:44
Judd said he'd let the club know what club he wants to go to and then figure out a trade ala Aker and the Bulldogs. So whichever club he nominates is in a huge position of power because West Coast must agree to their terms or get nothing. Fingers crossed it's us.

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 16:48
Judd said he'd let the club know what club he wants to go to and then figure out a trade ala Aker and the Bulldogs. So whichever club he nominates is in a huge position of power because West Coast must agree to their terms or get nothing. Fingers crossed it's us.

Why is it that I already know it won't be us.:thumbsd:

Sunday after Grand final. "Pies win flag and Judd":thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::mad::mad:

I'm off to the Westgate. Nice knowing you guys.:D

WorthTheWaite
17 Sep 2007, 16:51
How close are we to getting this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40U3YP84UhU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjWjwLcfrdE

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 16:52
Why such a loss of faith BluesRules??? Juddy himself told me earlier this year that he wouldn't come back home for a while!!! What a liar!!!

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 16:57
Why such a loss of faith BluesRules??? Juddy himself told me earlier this year that he wouldn't come back home for a while!!! What a liar!!!

It must be because I have disappointment from the CFC imprinted in my mind since 2002.

Do you know Judd?

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 16:58
How close are we to getting this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40U3YP84UhU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjWjwLcfrdE

That's my third underwear change of the day!!:D

I would trade murph, gibbs, fev, pick 1, 2 and 20 for Judd after watching that vid. That pace is bloody awesome.

Just kidding

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 17:01
It must be because I have disappointment from the CFC imprinted in my mind since 2002.

Do you know Judd?
Only met him a few times through school. Nicest bloke too. Baout 3 months ago I told him he'd look better in Navy Blue than light blue and he said he's pretty comfortable with the light blue. What a liar.

blues4flag
17 Sep 2007, 17:03
I can see things getting ugly if Judd doesn't end up at Carlton. :thumbsd: The way some people are acting, they seem to think it's a forgone conclusion.

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 17:06
I can see things getting ugly if Judd doesn't end up at Carlton. :thumbsd: The way some people are acting, they seem to think it's a forgone conclusion.
I think you're wrong. The best thing about our situation is that gaining Judd is a massive bonus but if we don't get him, we score Kreuzer, another great midfielder, pick 20 and keep Bower and Kennedy, which I would almost rather. So it's a win win.

Big Delut
17 Sep 2007, 17:06

I agree. Plenty of things have to fall into place still. I think we have a very good chance of getting him but i'm not getting too excited just yet.

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 17:09

I will kill myself if he goes to collingwood or essendon

BluesRules
17 Sep 2007, 17:09
Only met him a few times through school. Nicest bloke too. Baout 3 months ago I told him he'd look better in Navy Blue than light blue and he said he's pretty comfortable with the light blue. What a liar.

I happy to have him if his only fault is being a liar;)

Pamam
17 Sep 2007, 17:10

if he doesnt come to the blues then i definately dont want him going to the pies or dons!!!

Roughie
17 Sep 2007, 17:11
On where he will go next

“Just [to] a Melbourne club. I want to go to a club that I can feel has a chance of being successful in the future. "

Sorry....

OZBomb
17 Sep 2007, 17:12
Seems to me that Carlton's fuelling this decision to leave. We've seen it reported that Judd wants job security beyond his playing career, and to me that smacks of a Dick Pratt Visy Special. He's already got numerous ex-Carlton people working there and he's tried to sway Vodafone using Visy as well.

Not to say other clubs won't match our offer.

blues4flag
17 Sep 2007, 17:14
I think you're wrong. The best thing about our situation is that gaining Judd is a massive bonus but if we don't get him, we score Kreuzer, another great midfielder, pick 20 and keep Bower and Kennedy, which I would almost rather. So it's a win win.

I agree with you. Either we get one of the best players to ever play the game, or we keep our young talent + pick 3. However, some people seem to hae their sights set on getting Judd - and I'm sure opposition supporters will dig their boots in if Judd does go elsewhere, given the reaction of some.

That said, ATM I'm not even sure if getting Judd is worth it.

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 17:18
I agree with you. Either we get one of the best players to ever play the game, or we keep our young talent + pick 3. However, some people seem to hae their sights set on getting Judd - and I'm sure opposition supporters will dig their boots in if Judd does go elsewhere, given the reaction of some.

That said, ATM I'm not even sure if getting Judd is worth it.
At this stage, I don't think he's worth it. Bower was taking huge leaps towards the end of last season. Kennedy will only get better. Cotchin / Morton / Palmer / Mastern will be potential stars. Are we really wanting to waste our development of these players?

Faz 2000
17 Sep 2007, 17:24
if he doesnt come to the blues then i definately dont want him going to the pies or dons!!!

We don't want him going to the Pies, cos he could put them over the top, and that's something nobody wants! ;)

If he goes to Essendon he'll directly replace Hird - he'll be their on-field leader, he'll be brilliant, he'll win them games. But ultimately he'll be propping them up higher than their list should be, and they'll never win. Which I am happy with. I think they're a knock-down rebuild, the Bombers. Just my take.

spEKTre
17 Sep 2007, 17:25
Don't be mistaken about Judd and his hunger, he wants success and wouldn't be happy wallowing in the bottom 8 and this will be a massive driver of his decision. I would Guess only Collingwood would be able to pay him what he wants, a club on par with WCE for prestige and instant success.

I hope personally he goes to Richmond like I have stated before as the "blowback" will be minimal and he can help bring them up from the bottom.

Carltons previous drug culture ( Angwin and his mates ) salary cap cheating and general "lets just throw some money around" attitude would not be to Judds liking.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
17 Sep 2007, 17:27
I wish people wouldn't get so confident. God help us with the backlash we'll receive on BF if he doesn't come. What i don't get is why Judd would want to come to Carlton. I can understand why West Coast would want to trade with Carlton because of our picks, but what does Carlton have to offer Judd? He'll be offered the captaincy everywhere, and although us Carlton fans think our side has heaps of potential for the future, lets face it, we've been a rabble for years and the joke of the AFL

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 17:28
I hope personally he goes to Richmond like I have stated before as the "blowback" will be minimal and he can help bring them up from the bottom.

If Richmond trade pick 2 for him, there would be a fair chance of us getting Cotchin at 3:thumbsu::thumbsu::):)

nutcase888
17 Sep 2007, 17:29
i agree mayesy 23 it's really not that big a deal whether we get him or not. i think with or without Judd we will be a serious flag threat around 2010. under the right circumstances i would love to have him but if we give up anymore than pick 3 + bower i will be furious. if collingwood or essendon want to mortgage their future for Judd then let them but we shouldn't mortgage ours.

i also agree with the comment made by the poster that Swann is our best recruit. He is really bringing a sense of proffesionalism to our club that we have not had for a while.

Mayesy_23
17 Sep 2007, 17:35
i agree mayesy 23 it's really not that big a deal whether we get him or not. i think with or without Judd we will be a serious flag threat around 2010. under the right circumstances i would love to have him but if we give up anymore than pick 3 + bower i will be furious. if collingwood or essendon want to mortgage their future for Judd then let them but we shouldn't mortgage ours.

i also agree with the comment made by the poster that Swann is our best recruit. He is really bringing a sense of proffesionalism to our club that we have not had for a while.
True. I've been saying to my mates we'll win it in 2011 for about 3 years now. We have the talent. Believe in ourselves. With or without Judd. I'll also take kudos for the remark about Swann.;)He has been sensational. Well done Pratt.

Blue Dimension
17 Sep 2007, 17:48

Yeah, i wouldn't want him to go to Collingwood, Essendon, or Hawthorn.

Could you imagine all the Collingwood ferrals and Eddie's face after he adopts a new son in Judd. Vomit worthy.

4blues
17 Sep 2007, 17:53
Don't be mistaken about Judd and his hunger, he wants success and wouldn't be happy wallowing in the bottom 8 and this will be a massive driver of his decision. I would Guess only Collingwood would be able to pay him what he wants, a club on par with WCE for prestige and instant success.

Carltons previous drug culture ( Angwin and his mates ) salary cap cheating and general "lets just throw some money around" attitude would not be to Judds liking.

Get off our board you tosser, OUR previous drug problems, look at your own club before throwing that line around, at least we sacked our player, we payed for our salary cap mistakes and are now a lot better option than what we were, get your own shop in order before spreading your garbage on ours.

Bluebear
17 Sep 2007, 17:57
The timing of the Vodafone deal couldn't be better either.
Internationally they are a massive player with guys like Becham on sponsorship deals.

Judd may just become the face of Vodafone next year wearing Navy Blue - might take $700k of the TPP and $800k+ in sponsorship.:thumbsu:

Gotta love the saints.

borissey
17 Sep 2007, 18:10
I wish people wouldn't get so confident. God help us with the backlash we'll receive on BF if he doesn't come. What i don't get is why Judd would want to come to Carlton. I can understand why West Coast would want to trade with Carlton because of our picks, but what does Carlton have to offer Judd? He'll be offered the captaincy everywhere, and although us Carlton fans think our side has heaps of potential for the future, lets face it, we've been a rabble for years and the joke of the AFL

Who gives a toss about backlash on BigFooty?

That's what this site is all about?

If Richmond get him we'll all be crying 'You paid too much you idiots'!

Its all footy banter that means nothing in the end.

lopezz
17 Sep 2007, 18:21
Mike Sheahan wrote today...

I expect it to be Carlton, despite the enthusiasm and clout of Collingwood and Essendon, and the certainty that one or two others will "throw the town hall" at him.
The Blues have the draft choices (1, 3 and 20), they have handy bargaining chips (Brendan Fevola and Josh Kennedy) to offer the Eagles or trade for more early draft choices and they are well advanced in discussions with Judd's manager Paul Connors.
Carlton chief executive Greg Swann is a smart operator. Not only does he know his way round, he has a chairman (Richard Pratt) who will tell him to worry about nothing other than securing Judd's signature.
It's worth noting Carlton made Matthew Pavlich an offer believed to be worth $4 million for four years before he re-signed with Fremantle recently.

I think his manager has been talking to whichever club he decides for months! And i think were in a great possy. But i think a deal would be struck before the trade period behind closed doors!

audas
17 Sep 2007, 19:57
Carlton were a rabble and its time people realised we have turned the corner. Judd or not, we will see a massive turn around next season and rightly so.

No point in reading old newpapers mate. History. We are may not have started the race, but for the first time in years we are lining up at the starters blocks and we will not be any where near the tail when its over.

The above comments are well considered, and for mine on the money. IT would be remarkable for calrton to not get Judd considering the plethora of talented people at the helm. Further despite worthewaites comments it is apparant, to me at least, that we one of the most professional out fits around - a stark difference to where we were only a matter of months ago.

Underestimating our club now is something which the opposition do at their peril (both supporters and officials), something which we as blues fans can finally put to one side.

With Judd and Nick Stevens to come into the Blues next year, Gibbs of the leash walker hitting his straps with muph and simpson, I think everyone can revise their forecasts for success.