18th September 2007, 11:45
Who and Why :rolleyes:

MadMan V1.2
18th September 2007, 13:14

Will be a cracking game!!!

I think Mt Waverly will win, probaly by 5 goals

reasons:

Black Rock believe they hold the physical edge over Mount which they most likely do, but i think that they are focusing too much on that one point. If black Rock go out there just to be physical against the man mount will win the ball which could hurt the Rockers on the scoreboard!!

I also believe that the forward structure at the rockers is struggling a little, Owen is a star but he has yet to prove that in a final, and more importantly on the larger mordialloc ground. The rockers score alot of there goals from the midfeild, maybe Tim Sim in the goal sqaure could work??

Anderson is the Rockers biggest threat, if mount cannot stop his goal kicking / goal creating ability, this one could slip

Mount are younger, quicker, and maybe a little more determined, there young talls could hurt black rock who are struggling for a dominate ruckman and chf.

Losing J.Smith this year hurt the rockers, especially against wilkin who is all class!!

Challis has a massive job on saturday, not sure where they will use him, id say forward as Logan and Cuz are good tall backs for the rockers.

Constantino is a gun, as is price, kirkup kicks goals and wilkin all class..

prediction:

Mt Waverly to pull away late in the last qaurter win by 26points
BOG: Wilkin

lonewolf
18th September 2007, 16:50

Bitter that you couldn't make it, or bitter that the side you have rubbished all year has??:D:D

hows your head
18th September 2007, 17:06
i couldnt care who won but when we played mt they only just beat us both times.. i played seniors the second time against mt and nothing impressed me at all.. i think i cost us the game actually hhahahaha and when we played rock they smashed us so saying that i will pick rock...oh and were sharing the rooms with rock so have to be nice or maybe our bags will go missing lol......... joke!!!

SMUU28
19th September 2007, 16:39
It'll be an interesting game and it should be close. The weather could play a huge factor in who wins as well. If wet Black Rock for sure. If dry it'll be determined which half back line is more creative and runs harder. Kirkup won't play and if he does one hit from ago on his right shoulder will end his day. My tip is mount by a goal if dry if wet rockers by 3 goals.

benchman
19th September 2007, 17:19
It'll be an interesting game and it should be close. The weather could play a huge factor in who wins as well. If wet Black Rock for sure. If dry it'll be determined which half back line is more creative and runs harder. Kirkup won't play and if he does one hit from ago on his right shoulder will end his day. My tip is mount by a goal if dry if wet rockers by 3 goals.

Weather report says dry so far smuu. Agree, kirkup won't play, but he didnt kick a goal when MW beat BR by 1 pt earlier in the season, so i doubt it makes any difference if he plays or not.

MM, dunno how you can say price is a gun, he's 45. Although I did rate him best on against cant in the qualifier, so i guess you have some merit there.

Challis got toweled up by young Roberts last encounter, so hopefully Ando makes a change there. I think BR forward line will be too big and strong for the likes of Pearce and Dawson down back for MW who they have relied heavily on all year. I don't think Pearce had an opponent last encounter and earned bog honors for it, on a bigger ground like this Ando won't let that happen.

Keys for MW will be Gallagher up forward, probably match up on Logan, obviously be expecting big things from Wilkin in the ruck. Jeffries/Spratt could be a killer match up if it happens on the wing, I doubt it will, they play opposite wings every time which is disappointing.

I dunno boys, it's a tough one. I see it as a battle of the back lines though, and Mennan is trash, can he even play? I can't believe he's on coin down there, ridiculous. BOG will be whoever he plays on.

Hawks91
19th September 2007, 18:46
Black Rock by 12 points with Logan BOG.

No.4
19th September 2007, 21:07
Big call on Mennan, Benchy. Hope that doesnt bite ya on the bum :eek:.

P.S since dyeing my hair my mum says i look atmost 43, so ease up please tiger. :)

Vulture_72
19th September 2007, 22:22
I will be shattered if Kirkup doesn't play. Who should we bag instead?
Mount to win by 1 pt.

benchman
19th September 2007, 23:01
I will be shattered if Kirkup doesn't play. Who should we bag instead?
Mount to win by 1 pt.

The blokes from skye seem to think Phillips (#10) is a decent kid to bag. Confirmed on phone just now, Kirkup out. Spewing for us, that probably gives MW a better sniff now.

MadMan V1.2
20th September 2007, 07:33
The blokes from skye seem to think Phillips (#10) is a decent kid to bag. Confirmed on phone just now, Kirkup out. Spewing for us, that probably gives MW a better sniff now.

I heard he was right to go!!

I heard mount had a full list to pick from which means there will be a few to get the tap on the shoulder tonight!!

lonewolf
20th September 2007, 08:27
I heard he was right to go!!

I heard mount had a full list to pick from which means there will be a few to get the tap on the shoulder tonight!!

Spot on MM - full list to choose from.
A few guys will be disappointed after training tonight, that is for sure.

MadMan V1.2
20th September 2007, 08:44
Spot on MM - full list to choose from.
A few guys will be disappointed after training tonight, that is for sure.

yep the same thing will have to be done at skye tonight considering there are 32 qaulified!!

makes tonight alot harder, should be a happy time for the club but this puts a little downer on the whole thing

Master of Cooks
20th September 2007, 09:02
I dunno boys, it's a tough one. I see it as a battle of the back lines though, and Mennan is trash, can he even play? I can't believe he's on coin down there, ridiculous. BOG will be whoever he plays on.
Gee Benchman, you really don't like this guy do you? What did he do, sleep with your missus?:D

benchman
20th September 2007, 09:34
Gee Benchman, you really don't like this guy do you? What did he do, sleep with your missus?:D

Just tellin it how it is mate.

30 metre handpass
20th September 2007, 12:00
steve and the boys i wish you all the best of luck on saturday.
i hope everybody gives it their all and understands the opportunity that you all have doesn't come around all that often. go mountain lions see you all saturday

benchman
20th September 2007, 20:49
Both sides picked. BR no changes. MW 2 changes. You Skye boys have your wish, Kirkup is still in at this stage. Could prove to be costly if he goes off in the first 5 minutes after Cuz cleans him up.

MadMan V1.2
20th September 2007, 22:32
Both sides picked. BR no changes. MW 2 changes. You Skye boys have your wish, Kirkup is still in at this stage. Could prove to be costly if he goes off in the first 5 minutes after Cuz cleans him up.

Cuz will do that, I know from experience this year!!!

benchman
20th September 2007, 23:29
Cuz will do that, I know from experience this year!!!

My point exactly MM. MW are idiots for playing him if you ask me. My reports (from good sources) were that yesterday he couldn't even lift his arm above his head. Even though he's named in the side, i'd still be suprised if he plays. I know Ando will put Cuz on him in the square if he does play.

MadMan V1.2
21st September 2007, 08:05
My point exactly MM. MW are idiots for playing him if you ask me. My reports (from good sources) were that yesterday he couldn't even lift his arm above his head. Even though he's named in the side, i'd still be suprised if he plays. I know Ando will put Cuz on him in the square if he does play.

I'm tipping it aint that bad, otherwise he wouldnt be playing, I heard he was fine, it was just a knock 2 weeks ago nothing too serious

greengold
21st September 2007, 08:07
Ha Ha a bit worried Benchman

benchman
21st September 2007, 08:48
Ha Ha a bit worried Benchman

Not at all mate.

Are we all hoping dingley win? So whoever wins tomorrow doesn't have to play those idiots next year?

greengold
21st September 2007, 08:53
Not at all mate.

Are we all hoping dingley win? So whoever wins tomorrow doesn't have to play those idiots next year?
Agree with that for sure.

SMUU28
21st September 2007, 16:54
His shoulder is cactus. I was the bloke who got him, in the second semi - fair i might add, we were both going the nut. But i heard something go crack and he was in a fair bit of pain on the ground. Reckon it would be an A/C so a knock right on the shoulder would end his day, no amount of straping can stabalise that sort of an injury. If he does play good luck to him, and hopefully he gets through but i doubt it will hold up.

SMUU28
22nd September 2007, 18:39
Congrat's to Black rock, can't imagine the emotions going through both camps, but IMO mount the best side all year but that amounts to jack shit if you don't bring it to grand final day. A few teams have won it from third now, and it poses the question is the week off really that benifical? I know it didn't do us any favours have bye, game, week off, second semi. Maybe the league should look at follow the country leagues lead and hosting both semi's on one weekend ie: one sat one sunday. so the week off is a bit more benifical. All that aside after the celebrations die down i wonder how many retire?:confused:

Jascave
22nd September 2007, 19:51
One of the best grand finals seen in this or in any other league. Congratulations to Black Rock (and special congrats to my cousin Steve Anderson-premiership coach-well done mate!) and also to Mount Waverley to put on possibly one of the best grand finals in suburban footy for some time. A special mention about Black Rock. When Steve Anderson first took on the coaching job at Black Rock, the Rockers hadn't won a game for a year and morale was very low. For Steve Ando to do what he has done, to take a team from not winning a game to premiers in just 2 years is incredible. So well done Black Rock.

benchman
22nd September 2007, 22:09
Hot Fuzz

one_glove
23rd September 2007, 03:19
Without trying to sound negative after a super win, the "not winning a game" thing was in div 2. As Canterbury have shown this year, a team struggling to keep up in div 2 should be expected to do well in div 3.

All I can say is I hope the boys do better up in div 2 this year than they did 3 years ago. That is if they take the option, I can't see why they wouldn't.

Super game by a lot of players today. Rockers probably lucky that everyone showed up to play, only winning by a point with every person play well just goes to show how easily MW could have won, they had so many players that didnt seem like they wanted to be there today. Whoever number 19 was for MW, good job manning up on Jenkins mate, you are playing backline and I don't think you got within 10 meters of him all day.

well done benchman (ando) on being gracious in defeat (noted sarcasm at that particular post), after such a good game why would you bring up a random backline/forward line match up... sounds petty as...not relevant and expected better. hope you keep a similar side next year, and hope not to many ol guys retire cos if they do it will cost you, good luck next year to everyone

benchman
23rd September 2007, 09:31
Hot Fuzz

SMUU28
23rd September 2007, 11:44
I'm not Ando mate. And my point about the match up was Jenkins was one of our best, and if MW had 21 players on the park that gave as much as our 21 blokes, we would have got absolutely smashed.
Did Kirkup get through?

one_glove
23rd September 2007, 13:21
Did Kirkup get through?

only about a quarter and a bit of game time

Norfolk & Clew
24th September 2007, 15:12
Without a doubt the best grand final of i have ever seen in terms of excitement and edge of your seat stuff. The bloke who rushed the behind to give the point to the Rockers must be pretty down on himself. He wasn't composed enough and could have easily of taken the mark.

Fantastic night at the Rockers club rooms, the Pils were going down a treat. First time i had been to one of their games only know one of the players and all the blokes seemed like real nice fellas!

Loved the song "I was walking through the jungle with my c*ck in my hand..."

Uncle Mick
24th September 2007, 16:28
Without a doubt the best grand final of i have ever seen in terms of excitement and edge of your seat stuff. The bloke who rushed the behind to give the point to the Rockers must be pretty down on himself. He wasn't composed enough and could have easily of taken the mark.

Fantastic night at the Rockers club rooms, the Pils were going down a treat. First time i had been to one of their games only know one of the players and all the blokes seemed like real nice fellas!

Loved the song "I was walking through the jungle with my c*ck in my hand..."

Can't agree with you there mate. Having a close affiliation with some Black Rock people, I'm not being biased for the bloke who dropped the mark. He was wrong footed and looked a little disoriented by where the post might be as well as it being a floater. I was just off the fence directly behind the goals and can categorically say there's no way he should feel responsible for the point. It looked as though he was trying to do everything right and being a quick kick out he was a little rushed and caught off guard. Remember it's Div 3 footy too champ.

In respect to the lads.... led by a ripper bloke, you'd expect them to be a good bunch.

Norfolk & Clew
24th September 2007, 16:35
Can't agree with you there mate. Having a close affiliation with some Black Rock people, I'm not being biased for the bloke who dropped the mark. He was wrong footed and looked a little disoriented by where the post might be as well as it being a floater. I was just off the fence directly behind the goals and can categorically say there's no way he should feel responsible for the point. It looked as though he was trying to do everything right and being a quick kick out he was a little rushed and caught off guard. Remember it's Div 3 footy too champ.

In respect to the lads.... led by a ripper bloke, you'd expect them to be a good bunch.

Point taken, easy to say when i am not out there myself i suppose!

No 1 important
24th September 2007, 17:43
Point taken, easy to say when i am not out there myself i suppose!

This wouldn't be Josh from Bendigo would it?

Norfolk & Clew
24th September 2007, 22:00
This wouldn't be Josh from Bendigo would it?

Norfolk & Clew from Big Footy mate.:thumbsu: