View Full Version : Port - Six Losses in a Row = No Sympathy

Blues_Brat
29th May 2002, 20:15
Sorry Port supporters, I don't care that you are getting pummled.

Why? Well who was the first to sink the boot in when the mighty Blues looked like going under?

Now that the berley is in the water....

I really enjoyed the game on Saturday despite the lack of skills on either side. The game could'e have blown out to a 10 thrashing had we kicked straight. Damn I enjoyed that! Been a few years since I've seen us beat Port :)

One thing that amazes me is the fact that a lot of people are still not rating Sturt as a GF contender. Who tore Norwood apart in round 1? This Friday will determine who is number 2 in the league at this point in time.

It is a good thing that there is a 3 way tussle for the premiership this year, there were predictions of Centrals being unstoppable.

Now that I am back in Perth: I have come to the conclusion that the only thing I miss about Adelaide is the SANFL. It is a great competition.

I'm sure I'll think of more things later on.. thanks to Virgin Blue for plying me full of Wild Turkey :)

Good to meet you Santos and (again) Macca!! :)

RoosterWedgie
29th May 2002, 20:17
Weird thing abouty it, is any other year and they'd be dead and buried for the year, because of the wacko way the SANFL is going this season Port will probably make the 5 this week, if not the week after.

(fingers crossed they don't though ;))

Blues_Girl
29th May 2002, 20:20
What?! No mention of moi?! HOW RUDE!:D

Blues_Brat
29th May 2002, 20:22
You know what.. funny thing is I have no doubt they will put it together at the right end of the season.. but at this stage it looks pretty bad. I for one wont care if they fail to make it. It is good for the comp.

Another thing that freaks me out is that they seem to get the lions share of media coverage over it.

Jeez. Who cares?

My fave quote from the paper: "they suffered the ignomy of being yelled at by Sturt supporters saying "get off losers"".. oh yeah :D

sapaul
29th May 2002, 20:23
If Port win and Glenelg beat South, the Magpies will jump to 4th on the ladder with 3 wins and 6 losses.

Last week's win by Sturt has seen us beat Port in 5 of the last 7 clashes between the 2 sides.

Blues_Brat
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
What?! No mention of moi?! HOW RUDE!:D
Well that booze up was the icing on the cake.. I'm sure I can make a mention on the General Talk board :D

Macca19
We are only 1 win out of 4th spot....we have a higher percentage than 4th spot at the moment. So if results go our way we could end up 4th at the end of next round!!!! Very strange indeed.
I guess the good thing is we havent actually looked overly bad and other than centrals our biggest loss is like 20 points or whatever.

Was good to meet up again Paul!

sapaul
29th May 2002, 20:24
Originally posted by Blues_Brat

Another thing that freaks me out is that they seem to get the lions share of media coverage over it.

Channel 7 News here last night even broadcast from their training.

Blues_Girl
29th May 2002, 20:24
Originally posted by Blues_Brat

Well that booze up was the icing on the cake.. I'm sure I can make a mention on the General Talk board :D

Hahaha yes i'm sure u can! :D

RoosterWedgie
29th May 2002, 20:27
Considering we lost 2 games by 98 and 85 pts and jumped up a spot on the ladder, how great are we going to go this week with the bye! lmao

Blues_Brat
29th May 2002, 20:49
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Considering we lost 2 games by 98 and 85 pts and jumped up a spot on the ladder, how great are we going to go this week with the bye! lmao
Could be worse... could be ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY FIVE... ouch.

Port Adelaide 1870
30th May 2002, 00:34
PAMFC est 1996....who gives????

kindest regards

PA1870

its a sad sad sad situation the SANFL forced the PAFC into...and I think they are laughing so hard their sides are splitting....

There we are..We got you traitor bastards back...Ha ,Ha ,Ha , f*cken , Ha.

It aint the same anymore..it simply aint..the SANFL , despite all the protestations is woooeful nas the PAMFC, siply doesnt reflect the might and glory of what Port Adelaide di when it was in the SANFL...because the PAMFC wear our old guernsey the expectation is they will perform like we use to.....

the playing field is lowered now..and we have been lowered to the same level as, Norwood, Centrals, Sturt, Glenelg, West, South etc.......

We simply cannot sustain two top level clubs..its either the Port Adelaide Football Club est 1870 now in the AFL or

a local foody .."Hey kick it to me, lets play friends!!" park lands game SANFL style ethelton F.C. PAMFC outfit..

Sitting in a lovely 80 year old lady from Largs Bay house today..she told me a wonderful story about Port Adelaide from the 1930's until 1996<b> ( my Historians hat on )</b>including the PAFC..she sees Port as no longer existing at SANFL level except for the PAMFC that replaced us...She sees that as a poor relation to the old<b> Semaphore Centrals , or Exeter football Clubs</b>.. The Lady said the current PAMFC is pretty ordinary compared to those teams....and they were Amatuer league..and several hours of passionate discussion on a number of brilliant Port teams from the 30's until 1996 were had.

More to come if you wish to discuss it..

kindest regards

PA1870

Jars458
30th May 2002, 11:16
Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
PAMFC est 1996....who gives????

two top level clubs..its either the Port Adelaide Football Club est
More to come if you wish to discuss it..

kindest regards

PA1870

Perahps Mr Williams and the staff down at PAMFC would be dismayed to here you say such things

I gues all it means is that we were right all along - as soon as you don't have success you drop off the bandwagon

Its the same team minus the few that went to the AFL

The other clubs lost just as many of there players to the AFL franchise which kept the name of the old clus est in 18whatever

How many of the Magpies first list in 96 played for the PAFC in 95?

How many of the staff are the same?

How many of the supporters are the same?

Where do they play their home games?

I think its pretty poor of you to disown the Magpies

Perhaps you are only proud of a winning tradition.

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 11:36
Finally someone with some sense out there and its a Port supporter!
Onya PA1870, Ive been telling people for the last 6 years that the Port Adelaide Football Club is now in the AFL and the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club has only been in existence since 1996.
Yes the PAMFC in 1997 were predominately the same team as the PAFC in 1996 and adpoted the PAFCs guernseys and nickname, but the fact is it was a new club.
If you dont believe me check out how long the PAMFC has been registered.
I owe ya a beer PA1870, Alberton in 2 weeks time?

Jars458
30th May 2002, 11:41
Finally
If you dont believe me check out how long the PAMFC has been registered.

No-one is doubting the "legalities" of it

Last time I looked football was about more than "legalities"

I guess the old Port players at teh PAMFC don't go out onto the ground drawing from the spirit and tradition of 100 years?????/

They stopped in 96 because a ASIC registation paper told them to

And I laughed.

Macca19
30th May 2002, 15:20
Originally posted by Jars458

just about all of them except for Waterhouse who was drafted, Darcy who was drafted and Robbie West who was beaten up. Tho im guessing you meant 96 and 97. In which case the majority were still at the Magpies

Not many i dont think. The majority went to the Power

All of them i would think

Alberton...and adelaide oval

Doesnt bother me that we are having a poor season. We been up for the last....16 or so...about time we had a downer me thinks.

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 15:28

I guess the old Port players at teh PAMFC don't go out onto the ground drawing from the spirit and tradition of 100 years?????/

Exactly right, their club is 6 years old and has won 2 premierships, that is their history and they should draw on that.

If they're brainwashed into some other ******** then so be it.

Port Adelaide 1870
30th May 2002, 15:33

Perahps Mr Williams and the staff down at PAMFC would be dismayed to here you say such things

I gues all it means is that we were right all along - as soon as you don't have success you drop off the bandwagon

Its the same team minus the few that went to the AFL

The other clubs lost just as many of there players to the AFL franchise which kept the name of the old clus est in 18whatever

I think its pretty poor of you to disown the Magpies

I have never stopped supporting the Port Adelaide Football Club????

Nor have I stopped supporting The PAMFC that Ive followed since 1996?? its just not the same club though...

My son plays for the PAMFC and he enjoys it..I support him whole heartedly..

However, my first reply still stands about the "league" standard the club and other SANFL clubs perform at..it is not to mean I dont support the PAMFC...just reality of the club in a new style post AFL .SANFL comp..the shirt just dont fit, look , or feel the same anymore that Port have left the SANFL.
Regards

PA1870

Port Adelaide 1870
30th May 2002, 15:36

Exactly right, their club is 6 years old and has won 2 premierships, that is their history and they should draw on that.

If they're brainwashed into some other ******** then so be it.

Rooster wedgie.....as much as youd like it not to be so, both clubs draw on the same tradition, it is a unique Duality..

Which club do you really want to beat in a GF... i'd guess,The PAMFC.

Regards

PA1870

Jars458
30th May 2002, 15:45

I have never stopped supporting the Port Adelaide Football Club????

Nor have I stopped supporting The PAMFC that Ive followed since 1996?? its just not the same club though...

My son plays for the PAMFC and he enjoys it..I support him whole heartedly..

However, my first reply still stands about the "league" standard the club and other SANFL clubs perform at..it is not to mean I dont support the PAMFC...just reality of the club in a new style post AFL .SANFL comp..the shirt just dont fit, look , or feel the same anymore that Port have left the SANFL.
Regards

PA1870

The standard has certianly dropped - no doubt - nothing means the same anymore - but that has been the case since 1991 and not 1997.

I dont think "the Club" ever did leave the SANFL

The legal entity of the club certainly did

But what Port was all about is still there in the SANFL in the new legal entity. The spirit the tradition et al. I think most from both sides of the fence would agree with that.

At the same time I think the Power cannot have adopted all that was "the club" even though it is the same "legal" entity nad has many people from "the club" involved (but certainly less than there was before)

one would imagine D Pittman N Chigwidden D Bailey etc etc would never have gone to PAFC pre 96

but now its the AFL its a different kettle of fish

Eago77
30th May 2002, 18:39

one would imagine D Pittman N Chigwidden D Bailey etc etc would never have gone to PAFC pre 96

Why would one imagine that? Players turned coaches etc quiet often end up at different clubs from where they originally played. Is Sheedy coaching Richmond? Ayres is at Hawthorn isn't he?? ... Locally Ando isn't at Port, McDermott "coached" North ... the list goes on.

Hollypig
30th May 2002, 19:36
' Coached ' F#*#%d more like it.

Port Adelaide 1870
30th May 2002, 19:54

The standard has certianly dropped - no doubt - nothing means the same anymore - but that has been the case since 1991 and not 1997.

I dont think "the Club" ever did leave the SANFL

The legal entity of the club certainly did

But what Port was all about is still there in the SANFL in the new legal entity. The spirit the tradition et al. I think most from both sides of the fence would agree with that.

At the same time I think the Power cannot have adopted all that was "the club" even though it is the same "legal" entity nad has many people from "the club" involved (but certainly less than there was before)

but now its the AFL its a different kettle of fish

I appreciate your "Outsiders look in " Jars and I can understand how you would dearly hold those perceptions....But 'the Club" really <i><b>Did</b></i> leave the SANFL..as I've been thru so many times here...we ensured that happened as the members of the club.

Your perception that it all changed in 1991 may be true for you , but for so many Port supporters that became a fact in 1997.

You and so many non Port people try and Deny the Port Adelaide Football club its history, but those on both sides of the fence as you put it, simply cant deny the club what it is..Try and Try and try as you may..history changed for the PAFC.

The thing I and all Port supporters have found are the Non Port people telling us who we are...It is almost pathological the zeal that non Port people try and tell us what we are now.....

The Port Adelaide Football club et al and its traditions and history belong to the Entity Port Adelaide Football Club...changing leagues has not changed that for the club, but it has for non Port supporters and...SANFL supporters...

it is simply unbelievable trying to discuss the PAFC Power with Crows supporters or SANFL non port supporters, they laugh, ignore, shout down, patronise any discussion re Port the moment you mention that the Port Adelaide Football Club was formed in 1870..you say" look here it is on my lapel" they laugh and say the Port Power Football club is new..

It is denial and trying to tell us who and what we are.......

it whilst infuriating is recognized by the club for what it is...

regards

PA1870

Macca19
30th May 2002, 20:11

it is simply unbelievable trying to discuss the PAFC Power with Crows supporters or SANFL non port supporters, they laugh, ignore, shout down, patronise any discussion re Port the moment you mention that the Port Adelaide Football Club was formed in 1870..you say" look here it is on my lapel" they laugh and say the Port Power Football club is new..

Solution: Dont talk to Crows supporters :D

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 20:22

The thing I and all Port supporters have found are the Non Port people telling us who we are...It is almost pathological the zeal that non Port people try and tell us what we are now.....

PA1870

That's a weird thing to say as I've spent the last 6 years trying to explain it to my Port Adelaide friends who insist the power is a new club and the port adelaide magpies football club has been around for over 100 years with 36 odd premierships.
They still dont believe me, can I get them to ring you? lol

Unley Legend
30th May 2002, 22:12
Hey Wedgie, does this mean I owe this guy (PA 1870) a beer as well?

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 22:21
he he, maybe.

I've been telling Port supporters for 6 years that my AFL team in Geelong has won more AFL/VFL premierships than the PAFC and my SANFL team in North has won more SANFL premierships than the PAMFC (13-2), so I win all round! lol

Santos L Helper
30th May 2002, 22:25
Rooster Wedgie, what's the deal with you putting lol after everything you say? Do you ever say anything in a serious discussion without making us believe you're just joking? LOL, LMFAO.:confused: :cool:

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 22:31
what can I say?
Im just a laughing, happy person! lol
roflmao
lmao
:D

Santos L Helper
30th May 2002, 22:32
what can I say?
Im just a laughing, happy person! lol
roflmao
lmao
:D

Fair enough, but you also seem to like to incite violence by your tough 'grog squad'. ;)

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 22:36
Santos, might I point out Im not part of the Grog Squad (although I have some good friends there), I spend every SANFL game with my fiance and 2 kids and enjoy outwitting a majority of people!
Im very untough! lol

Alberton Kid will back me up when I say I enjoy taking on a majority as a minority! lol

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

Fair enough, but you also seem to like to incite violence by your tough 'grog squad'. ;)

I think I must have given you the wrong impression Santos, the only point I would have previously made in regard to the Grog Squad is that anyone would be mad to mess with them, including my good self! lol

Might I also point out that I'd be the first person to enjoy a drink with any opposition supporter I meet, especially in here, I luv my SANFL footy and am stoked that others feel the way I do.

Santos L Helper
30th May 2002, 23:04
No worries mate, maybe at the next Port v Rooters game we could meet.
I like your need to outwit people too. Macca might be able to tell you about a certain Sturt supporter we ran into last week........funny funny stuff.

RoosterWedgie
30th May 2002, 23:06
I'll be at Alberton in 9 days time!
:)

Uncle Steve
30th May 2002, 23:26
No-one is doubting the "legalities" of it

Last time I looked football was about more than "legalities"

They stopped in 96 because a ASIC registation paper told them to

And I laughed.
Congratulations Jars.

While most of the posters in this thread are commenting to each other on the fineries of the Emperor's vestements, you are the little boy who sees the Emperor as he is: stark naked.

If a club can be distilled to a signature on a piece of paper - and if indeed such a piece of paper really does exist - then it is possible that the Port Power really is the original Port.

But - and this is a huge, gargantuan but which dwarfs the butt of Sara-Marie - it means that all the club is is a piece of paper.

For years prior to the Port bid being endorsed as the successful tender for the second licence, the Port supporters were telling us how Port was the logical option because of Port's history, success, tradition, record, etc.

Now they try to tell us that all that matters is the name; some legal document which labels Port Power as the "Port Adelaide Football Club"; and that qualities like history, tradition, etc - which still reside with the Magpies - no longer matter?

Sorry folks. It's not that sort of party.

The only evidence supporting the claim that the Power is the real Port is the propaganda generated from the club itself. Much of PA1870's comments on this thread are typical of this rhetoric. So I have to be a Port person to tell you who you are? Bugger that - I'll go with cold, hard evidence any day. All the evidence I see - and there are reams of it, more than I care to post here - point to the fact that the Magpies is the original.

I have nothing but respect for the real Port supporters in this world - the Maccas, dreamys and Santoses - who follow their SANFL club with some passion (irrespective of their personal views/allegiances to the AFL). Hell, at every Bays-Port match I meet up with a Port guy who goes to all the Maggies games. I am full of respect for the bloke; he is a far better supporter than I could ever be.

On the other hand I have nothing but contempt for those who hung around for the AFL entry and jumped ship completely when the Power began. They claim that the Magpies have nothing to do with Port; that the Maggies are completely new, came totally into existence when the alleged real Port joined the AFL. They call themselves supporters - I call them poseurs. Who are they to speak of tradition?

I am not interested in debating any of this; I would be wasting my time. Cognitive dissonance is a powerful mental state. Far more powerful than any rational argument than I could present. I would be changing nobody's mind. Nor do I especially care to. PA1870 and his chums are free to live their own sad little cotton-wool existence in blissful ignorance; I care not. Anyone who disagrees with me is entitled to do so; it is their own perogative to be wrong.

dreamkillers
31st May 2002, 00:21
As far as I'm concerned they are both Port Adelaide to me and I support both with the same passion I always have. To me they share the same history and tradition and always will.

The supporters group I help run up here Darwin is known as the 'Port Adelaide Top End Supporters Club' and is officially affiliated with both clubs. We have a few supporters of other SANFL clubs that follow Port in the AFL but the majority of our members support both clubs.

Just wish we could see some SANFL footy on the TV up here but at least I can rely on videos being sent up - not that I have been happy with the results recently but as long as we keep blooding the youngsters success will come in the long term.

As Macca mentioned earlier we've had a pretty good run for the last 15 odd years or so. We've been through a few lean times before like in the early 70's and mid 80's but as a long term Port logo says:-

Port Adelaide
Proud of the Past
Confident of the Future

So enjoy our rough patch while it lasts........

Hope to catch up with a few of you during the SANFL and AFL finals time as I'll be in Adelaide and hopefully Melbourne during September.

Go Port......

Macca19
31st May 2002, 01:47
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
No worries mate, maybe at the next Port v Rooters game we could meet.
I like your need to outwit people too. Macca might be able to tell you about a certain Sturt supporter we ran into last week........funny funny stuff.

hehe, what a clown that guy was!!! You could tell he was a bit slow cos it took him 10 seconds to register that i told him to get f'ed. Was funny when he came back....what is it with you at the bloody footy...you are always getting me into fights ;) :p

Port Adelaide 1870
31st May 2002, 09:04
Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Congratulations Jars.

While most of the posters in this thread are commenting to each other on the fineries of the Emperor's vestements, you are the little boy who sees the Emperor as he is: stark naked.

If a club can be distilled to a signature on a piece of paper - and if indeed such a piece of paper really does exist - then it is possible that the Port Power really is the original Port.

But - and this is a huge, gargantuan but which dwarfs the butt of Sara-Marie - it means that all the club is is a piece of paper.

For years prior to the Port bid being endorsed as the successful tender for the second licence, the Port supporters were telling us how Port was the logical option because of Port's history, success, tradition, record, etc.

Now they try to tell us that all that matters is the name; some legal document which labels Port Power as the "Port Adelaide Football Club"; and that qualities like history, tradition, etc - which still reside with the Magpies - no longer matter?

Sorry folks. It's not that sort of party.

The only evidence supporting the claim that the Power is the real Port is the propaganda generated from the club itself. Much of PA1870's comments on this thread are typical of this rhetoric. So I have to be a Port person to tell you who you are? Bugger that - I'll go with cold, hard evidence any day. All the evidence I see - and there are reams of it, more than I care to post here - point to the fact that the Magpies is the original.

I have nothing but respect for the real Port supporters in this world - the Maccas, dreamys and Santoses - who follow their SANFL club with some passion (irrespective of their personal views/allegiances to the AFL). Hell, at every Bays-Port match I meet up with a Port guy who goes to all the Maggies games. I am full of respect for the bloke; he is a far better supporter than I could ever be.

On the other hand I have nothing but contempt for those who hung around for the AFL entry and jumped ship completely when the Power began. They claim that the Magpies have nothing to do with Port; that the Maggies are completely new, came totally into existence when the alleged real Port joined the AFL. They call themselves supporters - I call them poseurs. Who are they to speak of tradition?

I am not interested in debating any of this; I would be wasting my time. Cognitive dissonance is a powerful mental state. Far more powerful than any rational argument than I could present. I would be changing nobody's mind. Nor do I especially care to. PA1870 and his chums are free to live their own sad little cotton-wool existence in blissful ignorance; I care not. Anyone who disagrees with me is entitled to do so; it is their own perogative to be wrong.

I have no desire to argue with you either Steve...you believe and quite simply what is the Fantasy in your mind...that the Port Adelaide Football Club is some entity in your mind......

It is the club Ive followed, supported and been a voting member of...my membership says .Port Adelaide Football Club this year

the same as it did in 1995...Understand.

I owned a black mitsubishi that I once use to rally. It was a great car and I one over half the races I entered, I ran in a small club that I dominated and my car was black ..I had a large devoted loyal following and several sponsors...the name of my team was "Black Diamond Rally giants"...

I was approached by a larger Victorian assoc, that I had never raced against to join them, my sponsors and majority of supporters wanted me to go there...However, supporters of the other teams in my SA assoc werent happy with our leaving and the head of our assoc opposed our move.

We were gaining support from the Vic assoc and our supporters and sponsors..however their was a team in the Vic assoc called the Giants and we were told to enter we had to change our name to enter...we submitted our new name Black Diamond Rally Power, our address was the same Garage, same mechanics same driving coach .

The SA assoc demanded we fulfil part of our contract that a Black mitsubishi be maintained in its comp..My little Brother stepped in and we got another little mitsubishi..the same model as mine and we called the team the "black diamond rally giants mitsubishi team' It looked the same as my old car, many of the supporters were happy that an entity that appeared identical to minewas still part of the local assoc.

However.....In stepped a fellow, My Uncle Steve...he said..Hang on PA1870...you never won any championships, they belong to your younger brother and his team that is in the SA assoc in your old Colours...

.. I support the PAMFC, with a hell of a lot more $$$$$$ and passion than youd ever imagine Uncle Steve...and I followed Port as the Magpies prior to them leaving the SANFL as well...

I voted for them to leave..and it happened, I voted for a PAMFC to be admitted into the SANFL and it happened..

were you there ?

did you have a part in the AFL move

were you involved in the process ?

The PAMFC carries on the tradition of the PAFC, that is not manufactued spin doctoring..It is happening..Even you believe that an entity called the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club won 34 Premierships..all silver ware says it is the Port Adelaide Football Club, all records, all official SANFL entries unequivocally say
Port Adelaide Football Club.

Both clubs share the same heritage..The Port Adelaide Football Club has the history.. When its team was known as the Magpies and played in the SANFL and won 34 premierships.

The Club is still known as the Port Adelaide Football Club, but its team changed its name to Power..THAT HAPPENED...ITS REALITY ...However to appease many nostalgics ,opposition and the needs of a local comps health We ( The PAFC) re admitted an outfit in the SANFL in our old Jumpers and our old Magpie moniker...This club, tho' it looked like us when we played in the SANFL, needed basically, new trainers, coach, it needed a training facility, offices , Postal address, President , board, Chairman, CEO..We provided all those things (PAFC)..

For all intents and purposes ( Ive heard that one before ) We were capable of maintaining a club in the SANFL that reflected our tradition in that comp...However many believe ( such as yourself )
believe that club is still US..

WE Gone..Bye bye, we play AFL now...However many of our supporters carry the Magpie flag in the SANFL ( such as myself), go to games on a regular basis, and devote much money to the Magpies...Because it is hard to let go of an image that was such a large part of our lives prior to 1996.....

So Uncle Steve it is no argument....You werent involved..You can comment and share your opinion and thoughts as is your right, but because part of your Reality is not the same anymore..you cant Force the Port Adelaide Football Clubto accept your perception of it...or give the PAMFC the title Port Adelaide Football Club.

Regards

PA1870

killer
4th June 2002, 13:25

I have no desire to argue with you either Steve...you believe and quite simply what is the Fantasy in your mind...that the Port Adelaide Football Club is some entity in your mind......

It is the club Ive followed, supported and been a voting member of...my membership says .Port Adelaide Football Club this year

the same as it did in 1995...Understand.

I owned a black mitsubishi that I once use to rally. It was a great car and I one over half the races I entered, I ran in a small club that I dominated and my car was black ..I had a large devoted loyal following and several sponsors...the name of my team was "Black Diamond Rally giants"...

I was approached by a larger Victorian assoc, that I had never raced against to join them, my sponsors and majority of supporters wanted me to go there...However, supporters of the other teams in my SA assoc werent happy with our leaving and the head of our assoc opposed our move.

We were gaining support from the Vic assoc and our supporters and sponsors..however their was a team in the Vic assoc called the Giants and we were told to enter we had to change our name to enter...we submitted our new name Black Diamond Rally Power, our address was the same Garage, same mechanics same driving coach .

The SA assoc demanded we fulfil part of our contract that a Black mitsubishi be maintained in its comp..My little Brother stepped in and we got another little mitsubishi..the same model as mine and we called the team the "black diamond rally giants mitsubishi team' It looked the same as my old car, many of the supporters were happy that an entity that appeared identical to minewas still part of the local assoc.

However.....In stepped a fellow, My Uncle Steve...he said..Hang on PA1870...you never won any championships, they belong to your younger brother and his team that is in the SA assoc in your old Colours...

.. I support the PAMFC, with a hell of a lot more $$$$$$ and passion than youd ever imagine Uncle Steve...and I followed Port as the Magpies prior to them leaving the SANFL as well...

I voted for them to leave..and it happened, I voted for a PAMFC to be admitted into the SANFL and it happened..

were you there ?

did you have a part in the AFL move

were you involved in the process ?

The PAMFC carries on the tradition of the PAFC, that is not manufactued spin doctoring..It is happening..Even you believe that an entity called the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club won 34 Premierships..all silver ware says it is the Port Adelaide Football Club, all records, all official SANFL entries unequivocally say
Port Adelaide Football Club.

Both clubs share the same heritage..The Port Adelaide Football Club has the history.. When its team was known as the Magpies and played in the SANFL and won 34 premierships.

The Club is still known as the Port Adelaide Football Club, but its team changed its name to Power..THAT HAPPENED...ITS REALITY ...However to appease many nostalgics ,opposition and the needs of a local comps health We ( The PAFC) re admitted an outfit in the SANFL in our old Jumpers and our old Magpie moniker...This club, tho' it looked like us when we played in the SANFL, needed basically, new trainers, coach, it needed a training facility, offices , Postal address, President , board, Chairman, CEO..We provided all those things (PAFC)..

For all intents and purposes ( Ive heard that one before ) We were capable of maintaining a club in the SANFL that reflected our tradition in that comp...However many believe ( such as yourself )
believe that club is still US..

WE Gone..Bye bye, we play AFL now...However many of our supporters carry the Magpie flag in the SANFL ( such as myself), go to games on a regular basis, and devote much money to the Magpies...Because it is hard to let go of an image that was such a large part of our lives prior to 1996.....

So Uncle Steve it is no argument....You werent involved..You can comment and share your opinion and thoughts as is your right, but because part of your Reality is not the same anymore..you cant Force the Port Adelaide Football Clubto accept your perception of it...or give the PAMFC the title Port Adelaide Football Club.

Regards

PA1870

Port kick tooo Sturt