View Full Version : What do you do for a quid?
Scotland
24th September 2007, 18:43
I can't remember if this thread has been done before on this board and am too lazy to use the search function anyway.
So, what are we all getting paid to be doing while we are posting here?
Underdog
24th September 2007, 18:52
I just started as an entry level network engineer.
I design, install, program and maintain client phone networks
previously worked for the big T before redundancy
kilaw
24th September 2007, 20:28
Coles group... fresh produce... *sigh*
Genesis67
24th September 2007, 21:02
I run my family's engineering firm.
We produce and sell undercarriage components for everything from little garden trailers to mining equipment to agricultural equipment, and everything in between.
jesterwester
25th September 2007, 14:45
Accountants Assistant for a trucking company in the south west..
Not a bad job mine ain't..
Not at all..
Eagles Gal
25th September 2007, 15:09
Accountant. Specialise in tax....:(
wotdoiput
25th September 2007, 15:45
Add to the Accountant tab, live in SA, looking to move to Perth in a few years :D
WaDsY
25th September 2007, 17:57
Project Manger in IT Infrastructure is what I do for a quid.
My job however is to follow my beloved eagles around Australia.
Scotland
25th September 2007, 18:01
Christ this place is full of accountants.
Add another tick to the Engineer column for me.
jesterwester
25th September 2007, 18:22
Oh yeah forgot to say i am a trainee accountant, rather than an assistant.
Give me a few years and i'll be an accountant.
So far we have more smarts on this thread than the entire collingwood members!!!
Probably earn more too... Although the dole these days...:eek:
SubmergedEagle
25th September 2007, 19:29
I am a submariner in the navy.
Trump
25th September 2007, 19:39
eek... Journalist....
ashley12
25th September 2007, 20:37
University Student/accountant to be
Underdog
26th September 2007, 01:17
eek... Journalist....
F**k off Duffield!
:p
weagles_fan
26th September 2007, 01:18
structual engineer hopefully in a few years
larrikin
26th September 2007, 09:45
Human Resources / Org Development
sydney eagle
26th September 2007, 09:57
Comfortably retired after 30 + years at the ATO.
kilaw
26th September 2007, 10:05
ohh lots of accountants here ay?
I'll be doing an accounting degree over the next few years, doing tertiary accounting next year (for year 12). LOL
daddy_4_eyes
26th September 2007, 10:08
I did management accounting for 2 years, found it boring as bat sh*t. I dunno how you folks do it.
I'm in financial planning these days.
wotdoiput
26th September 2007, 10:27
Management accounting, gee thats what Im doing. Dont say its boring. I dont wanna be like those guys on the jatz adds.
Magnum27
26th September 2007, 10:56
Clerk( shipping container park) fairly easy job that allows me time to post on BF.
Alphanumeric
26th September 2007, 10:58
Gee lots on Accountants.
I actually work for MYOB.
Also work part-time as a statistican for Pro-Stats and the WCE.
k00k
26th September 2007, 13:07
3D modeller/animator. Have to get a real job one day... :)
Embers
26th September 2007, 15:43
Ive had more jobs then you can imagine. Ive done from produce like kilaw, too journalism, too waiting. ATM im a representative for my uncles company + I also help run his restaurant down at Freo.
Big Man
26th September 2007, 15:53
Blue collar worker here.
Building, renovations etc etc.
Shit, am I the only one whose not a student or in a office?! :D
hype
26th September 2007, 16:22
Lazy unemployed uni student... :(
larrikin
26th September 2007, 16:24
Blue collar worker here.
They teach us to post things once in offices!!!!
Embers
26th September 2007, 16:24
Blue collar worker here.
No, we are all computer geeks here who use this site while they are supposed to be doing work. ;), Its safe to say Bigfooty contributes to thousands of hours in wasted labour per year
wce4premiership
26th September 2007, 16:31
pre app sparky.
Keyser Soze
26th September 2007, 17:05
They teach us to post things once in offices!!!!
Renovators always do things twice.
Scotland
26th September 2007, 17:12
Ugh.
Christmas card list. Larrikin. Cross.
:)
OLDEP
26th September 2007, 17:31
Real Estate Agent for the Elders Network.
MAG87
26th September 2007, 17:54
project/construction manager in about a years time. just about finished this degree. havent looked back ditching civil engineering.
Big Man
26th September 2007, 19:03
Struth sorry lads, the BF site at that stage wasnt letting me post. :confused:
Here it is again; Blue collar worker........
Btw Keyser, I do the job properly or I dont do it all. ;) :D :thumbsu:
Scotland
26th September 2007, 19:05
project/construction manager in about a years time. just about finished this degree. havent looked back ditching civil engineering.
You plan on becoming a project manager within your first year out of uni?:eek:
Good luck with that.
Keyser Soze
26th September 2007, 20:01
Struth sorry lads, the BF site at that stage wasnt letting me post. :confused:
Here it is again; Blue collar worker........
Btw Keyser, I do the job properly or I dont do it all. ;) :D :thumbsu:
I'd expect no less from you BM.:)
For the record I'm an ex-accountant. Now I'm involved in construction.
Big Man
26th September 2007, 20:15
I'd expect no less from you BM.:)
For the record I'm an ex-accountant. Now I'm involved in construction.
Great move mate.
What do you do if I can ask? Well I can ask because I just asked but.....you know what I mean. :o
Isandula
26th September 2007, 21:52
At the moment I work horses for money while going to Uni. Then earn the big bucks when when I become a geographer once completed Uni :) :thumbsu:
Quinzate1
26th September 2007, 21:57
Student, completely mind-****ed and avoiding study for serious upcoming examinations :thumbsd:
Frizzo
27th September 2007, 00:01
Uni student.
The majority of my income comes from (in order):
1. Poker
2. Parents
3. Youth allowance
larrikin
27th September 2007, 09:26
Ugh.
Christmas card list. Larrikin. Cross.
:)
Ouch.
Had some bad experiences have we?
jaxxon
27th September 2007, 10:30
Project manager for a medium / large construction company.
Scotland
27th September 2007, 11:26
Ouch.
Had some bad experiences have we?
Haha, just one or two.
I did some HR at uni, and the number of people I've come across in that field who excel in turning the straightforward into the incredibly complicated and drawn out amazes me.
larrikin
27th September 2007, 12:05
Haha, just one or two.
I did some HR at uni, and the number of people I've come across in that field who excel in turning the straightforward into the incredibly complicated and drawn out amazes me.
I work in the OD side, so end up dealing with lots of org psychs etc.
I know what you mean.......
daddy_4_eyes
27th September 2007, 13:32
Good luck with that.
Job titles are meaningless these days.
I refer to myself as the "Junior Vice President"
:D
Scotland
27th September 2007, 13:55
Job titles are meaningless these days.
I refer to myself as the "Junior Vice President"
:D
Agreed. Apparently if you attach the word 'management' to a position, it makes it more important.
Project Manager in Engineering/Construction is usually a legit term though.
Jezzza
27th September 2007, 18:09
Plant Operator for a grain handling and storage company. We look after all the barley that gets malted for beer amongst other things.
Juddyzthebest
27th September 2007, 19:00
Uni Student - PR/Marketing
work in retail part time.
Its rivoting stuff.
MAG87
27th September 2007, 19:01
Good luck with that.
lol.ive been at uni for 3 years. did civil for a semester then got some exemptions in construction management. 3rd year right at this moment. :thumbsu:
weagles_fan
27th September 2007, 19:35
Uni Student - PR/Marketing
work in retail part time.
Its rivoting stuff.agree with that - go produce at supermarket!
Goldenblue
27th September 2007, 20:06
Swing my handbag on a street corner. ;)
I work for IGA formally known as FAL
ashley12
27th September 2007, 23:33
I assume all the students on this site are "doing there assignments/studying" at the moment. I curse the man who introduced me to this site, he cost me marks in my courses.
He knows who he is.
^BL|TZ^
29th September 2007, 17:17
qualified sparky here.......working on a mine here in Kalgoorlie as a Security systems technician.:thumbsu:
angel12
29th September 2007, 17:55
dancer, now studying pyschology
eaglerock
30th September 2007, 22:24
tree surgeon
Jezzza
1st October 2007, 14:14
tree surgeon
So you'll be looking after Hurns legs if he needs any operations in the future *
* touch wood it will never happen
Ljam
1st October 2007, 14:39
the dreaded ATO no mention of cashies while I'm around
juddy_Like
3rd October 2007, 00:35
Add another Accountant student to the list. Also doing Marketing as well.
Oh and i come from a family with a bakery empire. We own half the bakeries in Perth. Worst shit ever to work in the summer time. Old man won't fix the friggen air con.
heals
3rd October 2007, 00:39
Tennis coach and umpire, good money for a student.
paicey-awa
3rd October 2007, 22:08
IT Manager in government...waiting for the torrent of abuse to come but it pays the bills. Bonus of being the manager is that no-one watches your Internet usage :D
CaffeinatedMop
4th October 2007, 11:53
I'm stuck at one of the worst schools in the state for another month, then I finish my secondary education at a somewhat better institution for another 12 months next year and then.. I don't know.
For now I'm content with the title of "Professional random"
Star_is_Braun
4th October 2007, 11:56
I'm in Corporate Security, look after the physical security needs for various facilities within Australia.. AT LEAST IM NOT AN ACCOUNTANT!!
juddy_Like
4th October 2007, 14:11
Im finding the Accounting profession rather boring now and im not even qualified yet. :o
Dole line here i come. :D
lyall
8th October 2007, 16:25
I assume all the students on this site are "doing there assignments/studying" at the moment. I curse the man who introduced me to this site, he cost me marks in my courses.
He knows who he is.
Who could that be :p
lyall
8th October 2007, 16:27
A lazy arse at the moment, studying Surveying at UNi.
Obi-Haive
8th October 2007, 16:54
With my handy bullwhip by my side, battered brown fedora on my head, I'm an adventurer and (I've always wanted to say it) collector of rare antiquities!
http://www.latimes.com/media/photo/2007-10/32956433.jpg
Who am I?
Obi-Haive
8th October 2007, 16:58
. . . in reality I'm an art director.
kobeh
8th October 2007, 18:28
I'm a nurse yay, I get to drug people :D
greennick
9th October 2007, 01:13
Meant to reply to this thread before, but I had an unfortunate incident involving a coloured card.
You can add another to the list of accountants (recently chartered) for me.
We must have lots of spare time at work, so many of us are serial posters on here...
bzparkes
9th October 2007, 01:50
Restaurant/bar supervisor, recently just got back from 3 months snowboarding while living in the snow. Now I'm headed for the surf of Queensland until I can hit the slopes again (no not Vietnamese, I'm not racist).
OneJ
11th October 2007, 01:53
Full-time final year accounting & corporate finance student at UWA. Part time gigolo.
Oops i mean furniture sales & deliveries.
thefamilyguy
11th October 2007, 17:57
I work for Biomedical Engineering in the Health Department. Glorified receptionist really.
Just about to start I.T Information systems throught the open universtity, means i can work full time and study (hopefully) about 8 hours a week. Full university degree after 4 years in I.T.
I wonder how many hours are lost due to big footy. I assume most people are on here around an hour a day? ( for some that is a conservate estimate, others its way less )
We'll assume an hour a day. Thats at least 10,000 people ???? Is that way to many? average wage 15dollars? Being very conservative.
Thats 10 thousand people times 15 dollars equals 150,000 dollars a day.
Thats 54,750,000 dollars a year big footy is costing the australian workforce.
Thats amazing........ Keep up the good work guys!!:p
EscapeHere
12th October 2007, 02:04
Organisational Development is related to HR?
Finally... I always wondered what our "Organisational Development Manager" at work did :D
Rids
14th October 2007, 15:32
I work as an actuarial advisor (god I hope there is someone here that knows what that is) and nearly fully qualified as an actuary.
Probably of more interest is a weekend job doing the stats for the AFL (well for Champion Data who are the AFL statisticians).
greennick
15th October 2007, 12:24
I work as an actuarial advisor (god I hope there is someone here that knows what that is) and nearly fully qualified as an actuary.
Probably of more interest is a weekend job doing the stats for the AFL (well for Champion Data who are the AFL statisticians).
Woo hoo, there is someone on here with a job with a worse rep than mine!
larrikin
17th October 2007, 23:42
. . . in reality I'm an art director.
Now that is interesting.....
Mastablingbling
19th October 2007, 20:12
Occupational therapy student...part-time Ben Cousins freedom fighter...part-time bank teller...
It's an interesting combo :D
Judd4PM
25th October 2007, 12:36
I have been working in IT for about 4 years, I am completely over it and need a change.
Anyone know the best way to get on the mines with no experience, willing to do anything, almost.
thewest
29th October 2007, 17:16
im an accountant....no wait I meant to say i am a Wharfie(extemely hard worker):p
Makka
29th October 2007, 17:22
I'm a photographer working from a home based business doing portraits, weddings, modelling, maternity shots etc! Sure beats 9 to 5! :thumbsu:
SonOfReep
29th October 2007, 17:48
M&A lawyer.