View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2008

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Harry Wilson
12 Nov 2007, 20:23
Not sure why romsey would oppose us coming back when we have a pretty good relationship with that club. We compete with them every year for the annual hogans cup. Anyone know why they are opposing our return???

As a senior player at the Romsey Football Club, I'm very suprised to hear that there is opposition coming from our camp. We do compete every pre-season for the Hogans cup and the games are always played in good spirit and are generally pretty tough encounters. I know when I was a bit younger there used to be a pretty healthy (fierce) rivalry between the two clubs that sometimes ended in physical altercations on and off the field. These are things that I'm sure neither club are proud of and both clubs have worked hard to better the relationship. All I can say is that if I had the vote, I would be voting for the return of the Magpies.

dwyane WADE show
12 Nov 2007, 22:10
any news on how the vote panned out?

Doona2
12 Nov 2007, 22:20
any news on how the vote panned out?

Surely it was a formality and Wallan are now part of the RDFL again.

Howd Kilmore's first get together go tonight? Bit of talk around town the past week about tonights briefing by the incoming coach. How many got along fella's and who were the new recruits?

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 06:48
Surely it was a formality and Wallan are now part of the RDFL again.

Howd Kilmore's first get together go tonight? Bit of talk around town the past week about tonights briefing by the incoming coach. How many got along fella's and who were the new recruits?

Wallan are in! Got an 80% majority, won't mention who opposed them though.

Last night's presentation at Kilmore by incoming coach Campbell Speers was extremely professional and well attended. Around 60 players attended, many of them new faces. I was invited on the clause that I would not reveal too much, but I can say that only one of my two favourite Kilmore players was in attendance.

Speers told those there that he will be holding another presentation tonight in Melboune for about 14 players, noting that the club will have a training program based in Melbourne on Tuesday nights, with the whole group training as one on Thursdays.

Itsmyshow
13 Nov 2007, 07:17
One more step taken by Wallan, a step closer with the clubs voting them back in... Was good to see to, an excellent result for our league I believe..

Also, heard that Rockbank are pretty pleased after their first training session with over 30 players turning up for the new coach.. Anyone know how many of these were new players or were they all just returning players?

blues12
13 Nov 2007, 07:20
Wallan are in! Got an 80% majority

From our end they are, now they will be just waiting for AFL victoria to grant them a clearance from Northern FL.

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 08:45
THEY’RE BACK!
Wallan return to RDFL

by Matt Nicholls

WALLAN will return to the Riddell District Football League next year after getting the nod from RDFL clubs on Monday night.
In a special league meeting at Diggers Rest, the Magpies received an 80 per cent majority from the 25 senior and junior affiliated clubs.
Surprisingly, Kilmore reversed its previous decision to oppose Wallan’s transfer from the NFL and moved the motion to accept the Magpies back into the competition.
At the start of the meeting, Wallan officials Bob Whiteway and Jason Heck had the opportunity to speak about the reasons the club wanted to return to the competition it had left in 2001.
Kilmore then put forward a motion to accept Wallan back into the competition with Sunbury Kangaroos seconding.
It was then put to a vote, with 80 per cent of clubs voting in favour of the Magpies’ return.
When it was finalised, Wallan president Neal Langborne said he was rapt with the result.
“It’s terrific news, now we just need to get approval from the Northern Football League,” he said.
Langborne was of course referring to the appeal process, where a league has the power to put forward a protest regarding a club’s transfer to another competition.
Should the NFL decide to appeal, the ball will rest in AFL Victoria’s court.
While it is believed the NFL will not protest, Wallan could have a problem if they decide to.
Having converted the now defunct Diamond Valley Football League into the NFL, AFL Victoria’s finger is firmly into the NFL pie.
Should AFL Victoria feel that Wallan’s departure will impact severely on future plans for the Northern Football League, it may oppose the league transfer.
RDFL general manager Scott McCartney said he was hopeful that Wallan would be cleared across without any hiccups.
Now into his second year, McCartney said it was great for the competition to have three new football teams and two more netball sides from Wallan.
With Kilmore expected to field an Under 18s side, the RDFL thirds will now become a 10-team competition with the Magpies’ inclusion.
However, there will be an uneven amount in the senior levels.
While not confirmed, it is believed the league will continue to run an 18-round competition with a four-week finals series comprising the top five clubs.
Should there be ten Under 18 clubs, the draw will run perfectly. However, a bye will be created at all other levels.

NotDoneYet
13 Nov 2007, 09:02
Wallan are in! Got an 80% majority, won't mention who opposed them though.

Last night's presentation at Kilmore by incoming coach Campbell Speers was extremely professional and well attended. Around 60 players attended, many of them new faces. I was invited on the clause that I would not reveal too much, but I can say that only one of my two favourite Kilmore players was in attendance.

Speers told those there that he will be holding another presentation tonight in Melboune for about 14 players, noting that the club will have a training program based in Melbourne on Tuesday nights, with the whole group training as one on Thursdays.

So out of robbo and cornish.. Ill take a stab and say robbo wont be back at kilmore next year.. Can you confirm this Matt or are you not able to say anything

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 09:17
So out of robbo and cornish.. Ill take a stab and say robbo wont be back at kilmore next year.. Can you confirm this Matt or are you not able to say anything

Cornish was there, Robbo wasn't. Still no certainty that Cornish will stay as I hear Wallan have splashed some big bucks out for him ... $500+

Robbo told me last week that he had other offers from clubs but told them he wouldn't leave Kilmore until he had spoken to Speersy. Time will tell. All I will say is that if those two stayed, Kilmore would be top-three certainties next year if the players stay injury free.

I'm pretty sure it hasn't been mentioned on here even though it is old news, but is it true Woodend-Hesket and Daniel Sipthorp have parted ways? An incident in one of the Woodend establishments post premiership was the reason I've been given.

vantheman32
13 Nov 2007, 09:35
very good turn up at the kilmore clubrooms last night, great to see a lot of young fellas up there. word is that there is 34 players for the under 18s this is fantastic for the club.
with the robbo situation, only time will tell, we need him to stay as he is a bloody good player.
matt, i also heard a rumour that sipthorp is no longer welcome at woodend? anyone confirm

future29
13 Nov 2007, 10:04
Cornish was there, Robbo wasn't. Still no certainty that Cornish will stay as I hear Wallan have splashed some big bucks out for him ... $500+

Robbo told me last week that he had other offers from clubs but told them he wouldn't leave Kilmore until he had spoken to Speersy. Time will tell. All I will say is that if those two stayed, Kilmore would be top-three certainties next year if the players stay injury free.

I'm pretty sure it hasn't been mentioned on here even though it is old news, but is it true Woodend-Hesket and Daniel Sipthorp have parted ways? An incident in one of the Woodend establishments post premiership was the reason I've been given.
was whitmar present matty or mr hede
very good turn up at the kilmore clubrooms last night, great to see a lot of young fellas up there. word is that there is 34 players for the under 18s this is fantastic for the club.
with the robbo situation, only time will tell, we need him to stay as he is a bloody good player.
matt, i also heard a rumour that sipthorp is no longer welcome at woodend? anyone confirm

get of my fukn house phone hede u maggot

vantheman32
13 Nov 2007, 10:29
yeah whittmar was there.

B.O.G
13 Nov 2007, 10:31
matt, i also heard a rumour that sipthorp is no longer welcome at woodend? anyone confirm[/quote]

lucky these are just rumours hey.

your a bit riught on the fact that sippy is a little annoyed at the
'older pepole" at the club due to celebrating quite hard after tasting great premiership success. im sure if any of the other 9 clubs had won they too would have been able to celebrate hard.

the whole reason why sippy returned to his club was because he liked the family relaxed atmosphere. im quite sure that when the water has passed under the bridge he will be lining up in the hawks colours next year.

i think that the main rroblem was chinese whispers, after speaking to him i asked him if what i heard was true, and he told me that it was all wrong, he was just annoyed at the fact that all these un-true rumours were floating around. looking foward to a fitter and hungrier sippy for season 2008.

hey matt how are the teams that dont have 18's looking? undesatnd that melton dnt have them, but how will the inclusion of wallan effect the 18's and the netball??

for arguments sake, lets say that all of the players at kilmore who are "old" wallan players went back how many would they loose?

how did wallan end up in the footy though their grades this year? not living in the area i never got to see results of how they went.
will they make any impact in the next 2-4 years???

vantheman32
13 Nov 2007, 10:39
the players that kilmore would lose would be cornish, james & bruce hutchison, kale ramsdale.
i know that both james & bruce are very happy at kilmore and will play again next yr.
cornish name is still up the air, though he was at the meeting last night which is a good sign.
and ramsdale never played seniors at wallan, he didnt even finish juniors at wallan so he will be staying too.

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 11:53
HUGE SCOOP!

Cornish signs on

by Matt Nicholls

KILMORE Football Club received a major coup on Tuesday morning when gun forward Dave Cornish announced he would continue with the Blues in 2008.
Speculation had mounted that Cornish would return to his former club Wallan if they were accepted into the Riddell District Football League.
Cornish, a sneaky small forward with terrific hands, was the leading goalkicker in the RDFL last season with 73 goals from 17 games.
Unbelievably, his tally would have exceeded the 100 mark if not for his poor inaccuracy earlier in the season.
In one game against Lancefield, he kicked 2.10 and one out of bounds on the full.
STRONG SIGNS
Cornish was one of around 60 footballers to attend a 'meet the coaches' night at J.J. Clancy Reserve on Monday night.
Incoming senor coach Campbell Speers impressed many with his presentation and expects to attract between 7-10 new senior footballers to the Blues in 2008.
Speers reinforced his motto that "the time is now" for Kilmore to win a premiership.
The coach was also able to announce that club president Dayson Carroll would coach the reserves.
Kilmore's pre-season training commences tonight and will continue on Monday and Wednesday evenings before the Christmas break.
For details contact Speers on 0417 152 371.

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 12:10

'older pepole" at the club due to celebrating quite hard after tasting great premiership success. im sure if any of the other 9 clubs had won they too would have been able to celebrate hard.

the whole reason why sippy returned to his club was because he liked the family relaxed atmosphere. im quite sure that when the water has passed under the bridge he will be lining up in the hawks colours next year.

i think that the main rroblem was chinese whispers, after speaking to him i asked him if what i heard was true, and he told me that it was all wrong, he was just annoyed at the fact that all these un-true rumours were floating around. looking foward to a fitter and hungrier sippy for season 2008.

hey matt how are the teams that dont have 18's looking? undesatnd that melton dnt have them, but how will the inclusion of wallan effect the 18's and the netball??

for arguments sake, lets say that all of the players at kilmore who are "old" wallan players went back how many would they loose?

how did wallan end up in the footy though their grades this year? not living in the area i never got to see results of how they went.
will they make any impact in the next 2-4 years???

Thanks for clearing that up about Sippy champ.

Wallan will not make the finals next year, but they can the following year for sure. I reckon their netball will be strong as their is a really strong domestic netball comp in Wallan they can recruit from. The club already has courts organised at the adjacent secondary school (two years old). The reserves often went short, and the U19s struglled in the NFL, but I reckon they'll improve too.

My early predictions for Wallan's ladder positions: Seniors (7th), Reserves (6th), Under 18s (8th), A-grade (4th), B-grade (5th).

blues12
13 Nov 2007, 12:24
With Aaron James wanting to return to the RDFL next year, and Cornish signing at Kilmore, Could we see the man mountain lining up further down the highway in Black and White. :D

joeblow2
13 Nov 2007, 12:29
Thanks for clearing that up about Sippy champ.

Wallan will not make the finals next year, but they can the following year for sure. I reckon their netball will be strong as their is a really strong domestic netball comp in Wallan they can recruit from. The club already has courts organised at the adjacent secondary school (two years old). The reserves often went short, and the U19s struglled in the NFL, but I reckon they'll improve too.

My early predictions for Wallan's ladder positions: Seniors (7th), Reserves (6th), Under 18s (8th), A-grade (4th), B-grade (5th).

Let's see your early predictions for the rest of the comp Pickles. You've obviously given it some thought, all grades.

Doona2
13 Nov 2007, 12:30
With Aaron James wanting to return to the RDFL next year, and Cornish signing at Kilmore, Could we see the man mountain lining up further down the highway in Black and White. :D

Wallan I believe made contact but Im pretty sure he has committed himself again to Stanhope

Footytripper
13 Nov 2007, 12:34
I believe the NFL General manager has been in contact with the RDFL General manger this morning and have indicated the NFL will clear Wallan back to the RDFL without any problems. This will be confirmed in writing by Friday.

vantheman32
13 Nov 2007, 12:43
great news that cornish has resigned with kilmore!

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 12:44

Doubt it

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 12:51
Let's see your early predictions for the rest of the comp Pickles. You've obviously given it some thought, all grades.

SENIORS
Top 3 candidates: Riddell, Kilmore, Sunbury Kangaroos, Woodend-Hesket.
Fop 5 candidates: Diggers Rest, Romsey.
Bottom 4 candidates: Rockbank, Macedon, Lancefield, Melton Central, Wallan.

RESERVES
Finals chances: Riddell, Sunbury Kangaroos, Woodend-Hesket, Romsey, Wallan, Kilmore, Diggers Rest.
Improvers: Macedon, Lancefield.

UNDER 18s
Finals chances: Pretty much all sides except Rockbank and Wallan. I reckon the comp will be very even.

NETBALL
No real idea, although Riddell, Romsey and Diggers Rest will be strong, with sides like Lancefield, Kilmore, Macedon, and Wallan having topsy turvy seasons.

joeblow2
13 Nov 2007, 13:39
Wallan I believe made contact but Im pretty sure he has committed himself again to Stanhope

You might find he's going back to Sunbury.

4thburra
13 Nov 2007, 15:38
UNDER 18s
Finals chances: Pretty much all sides except Rockbank and Wallan. I reckon the comp will be very even.

top 5: diggers riddel sunbury woodend romsey macedon.
i set the top 3 in stone where they are. bottom 3 to battle it out for 4th and 5th. i cant see any of the other clubs doing much else.

blues12
13 Nov 2007, 16:09
Re: Northern Football League Division 2
Quote:

http://www.whittlesealeader.com.au/a...pv_sports.html

this was posted on Northern FL thread

makes for interesting reading, considering some comments made earlier

Ballsy
13 Nov 2007, 16:11

will they make any impact in the next 2-4 years???[/quote]

Sippy shouldnt have done what he did in front of kids in the pub. Great win by the boys but a little disappoointing with that sort of celebration.

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
13 Nov 2007, 17:23
centrals started training sun,with at least 40 players in attendance.some fresh faces as well.

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
13 Nov 2007, 17:24
what did sippy do?or is that off limits?

matt_nicholls
13 Nov 2007, 18:47
top 5: diggers riddel sunbury woodend romsey macedon.
i set the top 3 in stone where they are. bottom 3 to battle it out for 4th and 5th. i cant see any of the other clubs doing much else.

I guarantee you Lancefield's U18s will make the finals next year.

Grubby_3
13 Nov 2007, 19:48

a james will not be returning to the kangaroos

4thburra
13 Nov 2007, 19:53
hahah willing to give me odds?
im not sure about it.
they had a dissapointing season.
hard to see them turn it around.

Halffullonfence
13 Nov 2007, 20:13

For Lancfield to get to the finals Matt they will have to get all the boys back from Kyneton.

My run down for 08.

Woodend will not be as dominate but are always strong.

Romsey big? after two strong years will need to pick up a lot off talented 17 y/o to keep place.

Diggers had young list 07, B Grade premiers U/16 in 06 will be up there.

Macedon only loose 4 players from last year and have some good 17 y/o coming up from 16's.

Kangas Under 16 B grade premiers 07 will be big improvers in 08.

Riddell looking to pick up from Sunbury U/16's, Runners up in B Grade 16's 06 will improve.

Lancefield/Rockbank will need to recruit heavily long way of pace in 07.

Kilmore real wildcards I predict will make finalls first year in, strong 16's in 07.

Wallan, I have no idea.

Melton Centrals depends if deal is done with surplus East Keilor players (hope so.)

Hawker28
13 Nov 2007, 20:14
hahah willing to give me odds?
im not sure about it.
they had a dissapointing season.
hard to see them turn it around.

agree totally.odds please mr bookie

Hawker28
13 Nov 2007, 20:17
For Lancfield to get to the finals Matt they will have to get all the boys back from Kyneton.

My run down for 08.

Woodend will not be as dominate but are always strong.

Romsey big? after two strong years will need to pick up a lot off talented 17 y/o to keep place.

Diggers had young list 07, B Grade premiers U/16 in 06 will be up there.

Macedon only loose 4 players from last year and have some good 17 y/o coming up from 16's.

Riddell looking to pick up from Sunbury U/16's, Runners up in B Grade 16's 06 will improve.

Lancefield/Rockbank will need to recruit heavily long way of pace in 07.

Kilmore real wildcards I predict will make finalls first year in strong 16's in 07.

Wallan have no idea.

Melton Centrals depends if deal is done with surplus East Keilor players (hope so.)

can u give us your same thoughts on the senior sides halffull?

whatthe
13 Nov 2007, 20:48
[quote=Halffullonfence;9466054]For Lancfield to get to the finals Matt they will have to get all the boys back from Kyneton.

My run down for 08.

From what I have heared from people, not many of the Kangas under 16 B's will be comming and joining the roo's next year, apprantly they have other clubs to go to.

sunba97
14 Nov 2007, 06:41
The Riddell Football club wishes to formally invite all players to our first training session for the 2008 Football Season.

Training dates are 05/12/2007 & 12/12/2007 Wednesday nights starting at 6.00pm.

Training will then recommence on the 04/02/2008.

Coaches for for the 2008 seasons are:

* Seniors - Darren Rowsell.

* Reserves - Chris Meacham.

* Thirds - Glenn Elliot..

Trueblueroo
14 Nov 2007, 07:28
From what I have heared from people, not many of the Kangas under 16 B's will be comming and joining the roo's next year, apprantly they have other clubs to go to.[/quote]

Is that right...... Good to see you know so little!

They're might be one or two who choose to play elsewhere or not play @ all.
However, i might add that they are a extremely tight bunch of blokes, having spent the long weekend with a few, i assure you their intentions are to play with the Kangaroos in 08! The core group will remain the same steady blokes who sore them take junior honours this year.....

From a senior aspect, a core group has already started training, but an official date will be announced in due time.

Looking forward to a big pre-season and season 08 with some big signing's to a number of clubs, however the focus seems to be this year on the number of departures of some talented players.......

rightfoot_sloth
14 Nov 2007, 07:58
The Riddell Football club wishes to formally invite all players to our first training session for the 2008 Football Season.

Training dates are 05/12/2007 & 12/12/2007 Wednesday nights starting at 6.00pm.

Training will then recommence on the 04/02/2008.

Coaches for for the 2008 seasons are:

* Seniors - Darren Rowsell.

* Reserves - Chris Meacham.

* Thirds - Glenn Elliot.

What happened to big Scotty did he reapply ?

sunba97
14 Nov 2007, 08:09
What happened to big Scotty did he reapply ?
Work commitments I think, he will still have some involvement with the club in the way of helping chris coach and playing in the 2s as well

Hawker28
14 Nov 2007, 08:33
Work commitments I think, he will still have some involvement with the club in the way of helping chris coach and playing in the 2s as well

would that mean that chris will be playing twos?

dazza_vic
14 Nov 2007, 08:50
any idea or announcement when the kangas start training

sunba97
14 Nov 2007, 08:51
would that mean that chris will be playing twos?
He will be coaching the reserves with Ants Power as his assistant and also playing Seniors.

Hawker28
14 Nov 2007, 08:59
He will be coaching the reserves with Ants Power as his assistant and also playing Seniors.

strange set up

Itsmyshow
14 Nov 2007, 09:12
A.James has resigned at Stanhope..

Good to hear some strong numbers early at clubs.. Rockbank with over 30, Centrals with over 30.. Good to hear.

Trueblueroo
14 Nov 2007, 09:13
Sunba, what the thought's on Mark Power being Roswell assitant... Everyone knows by now that he is off to Riddell, let face it the "Powers" are the RFC. His move to Riddell was the move that was always going to come @ the end of a fantastic career in local football.

Just being in control so long with Roswell look to him for advice or will Mark just go about being one of 22 each week is the main question that most want to know outside of Riddell.

Some big signing's and the return of Lee why wouldn't he want one more flag with his brothers and family to go out on. So far James, Meecham and if Power comes he could bring the likes of Robbo, Lobb, Griffen and many more.... Could be a formidable outfit.

Once again Riddell this time last year where to least most talked about club going around, and they were written off. Can't afford it to happen this year gents.

B.O.G
14 Nov 2007, 09:21

i thought the reason for meech leaving pacco was the fact that he couldnt play anymore and "retired" due to the body starting to slow down because of injuries?
that was the messege i got from a parent of a player at pacco.

Dose tha\t mean meech will bring any players down from pacco?
any names yet?

Mongrel
14 Nov 2007, 09:47
SUNBURY KANGAROOS TRAINING

the sunbury kangaroos pre season training will commence on monday 26 November at the club.6.30pm
with exciting times ahead for this highly improved club,i would encourage all players,past and present to be in attendance.id also like to invite any new faces to come down for the announcing of the 2008 coaching staff.
we anticipate a successful season in 2008 and look forward to welcoming new players,supporters and support staff to assist the clubs charge towards three premierships.
any new players wishing to talk about a move to the subury kangaroos can send me a private message.all enquiries will be treated with the strictest confidence.
DEAN HELMERS

almost there
14 Nov 2007, 10:39
i thought the reason for meech leaving pacco was the fact that he couldnt play anymore and "retired" due to the body starting to slow down because of injuries?
that was the messege i got from a parent of a player at pacco.

Dose tha\t mean meech will bring any players down from pacco?
any names yet?
Your spot on there mate, Meach did have a big injury interupted season and was contemplating retiring, but he told me that he did not train the last 6 weeks of the season and already having the last 2 months off have helped him big time, wont start training till "mid feb" so should be fully freshened up for the start of the season.
Doubt he would bring anyone from Pacco they all live over that way.

sunba97
14 Nov 2007, 10:44
Sunba, what the thought's on Mark Power being Roswell assitant... Everyone knows by now that he is off to Riddell, let face it the "Powers" are the RFC. His move to Riddell was the move that was always going to come @ the end of a fantastic career in local football.

Just being in control so long with Roswell look to him for advice or will Mark just go about being one of 22 each week is the main question that most want to know outside of Riddell.

Some big signing's and the return of Lee why wouldn't he want one more flag with his brothers and family to go out on. So far James, Meecham and if Power comes he could bring the likes of Robbo, Lobb, Griffen and many more.... Could be a formidable outfit.

Once again Riddell this time last year where to least most talked about club going around, and they were written off. Can't afford it to happen this year gents.
Have good information that Mark is playing up the bush somewhere with his one of his mates from his S.A.N.F.L days.

Itsmyshow
14 Nov 2007, 11:08
Half Full,

What's happening with your draft idea.. Had some merit.. Been waiting for it.. Im back lasses and gents.. :D:thumbsu:

NotDoneYet
14 Nov 2007, 11:24
Diggers Rest Pre-Season Training

Diggers Rest football club pre-season training commences
- Monday 19th November 6.15pm
- Will be running training on Mondays and Wednesdays for a few weeks before christmans
- All new players who would like to be part of what is going to be a successfull season in 2008 down at the burras are more then welcome to come down and have a run

Phar Lap
14 Nov 2007, 13:21
I enjoy reading your threads. I hear a rumour that Macedon have signed Goodwin as coach, anyone tell me if this is true? He will be a first year coach but the up side is that he has a lot of contacts down in Melb. Any recruit news on Macedon?

joeblow2
14 Nov 2007, 13:42
Whilst we're on the subject, Lancefield Football Club will begin pre season training on December 3. All past, present and future players are more than welcome to come and join us in the resurgence of the club in season 2008.

The coaching staff will be:

*Chris Collins (Senior Coach)
*Andrew Reaper (Senior assistant coach)
*Robert Curran (Reserves coach)
*Paul Cook (Under 18's coach)

Trueblueroo
14 Nov 2007, 14:56
I enjoy reading your threads. I hear a rumour that Macedon have signed Goodwin as coach, anyone tell me if this is true? He will be a first year coach but the up side is that he has a lot of contacts down in Melb. Any recruit news on Macedon?

Can confirm that Goodwin has been signed as the coach of Macedon in 2008. The lad is from Theory and will bring from all reports 2 brothers who are substantially good young footballers, one of them being a key forward.

As posted by Halful that, they are reported to have a number of players currently playing in other leagues coming home or returning to the cats.

With a good mix of 18's coming up they will be improvers in 2008....

The Cats will be a new look outfit according to some up in he sleepy hallows in 2008. A big selling tool for the clubs survival has been the new club rooms and the facilities..... Good Luck to Beats and the crew!

Doona2
14 Nov 2007, 15:27

A.James has resigned at Stanhope.

Resigned or re-signed? Thanks mate, seems when someone respected says it that it carries more credibility - I was made aware of the situation a while back when I made contact with Aaron on my club's behalf.

Stanhope back to back for me!!!

Halffullonfence
14 Nov 2007, 20:34
Half Full,

What's happening with your draft idea.. Had some merit.. Been waiting for it.. Im back lasses and gents.. :D:thumbsu:

Wanted people for RDFL bigfooty super coach contest.
Idea is a pre season draft (in March)of players then pick 6 players per week for your team, points awarded for best players, goal kickers, rising star noms and bowen votes.

Mid season trade.

Must be available for draft at somewhere central for a few ales.
No more than 12 players. 1st in 1st served.

Starters so far

1) Half ful
2) Omni1
3) Its m s

Harry Wilson
14 Nov 2007, 21:20
Wanted people for RDFL bigfooty super coach contest.
Idea is a pre season draft (in March)of players then pick 6 players per week for your team, points awarded for best players, goal kickers, rising star noms and bowen votes.

Mid season trade.

Must be available for draft at somewhere central for a few ales.
No more than 12 players. 1st in 1st served.

Starters so far

1) Half ful
2) Omni1
3) Its m s

Harry Wilson is a definite if there is still room!!:thumbsu:

Mongrel
15 Nov 2007, 06:57

count me in:cool::cool:

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 07:19

Harry, what's happening down at Redback land, a few rumours, (as per the norm) floating around.. Believe that Cam Dawson may be on his way to Heathcote and that Steve Burlak and Ben Sullivan have interviews with Sunbury Lions.. Do you have any insight?

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 07:22
Resigned or re-signed? Thanks mate, seems when someone respected says it that it carries more credibility - I was made aware of the situation a while back when I made contact with Aaron on my club's behalf.

Stanhope back to back for me!!!

Sorry mate.. Re-signed..

Im not sure why that's the case, I would have thought that you were fairly respected... We up for a return bout next year? :thumbsu:

Trueblueroo
15 Nov 2007, 07:28
Harry, what's happening down at Redback land, a few rumours, (as per the norm) floating around.. Believe that Cam Dawson may be on his way to Heathcote and that Steve Burlak and Ben Sullivan have interviews with Sunbury Lions.. Do you have any insight?

Nah it's Dawson to Braodford isn't it Doona? Heard you and the lad may touch base and talk very shortly from what i have heard....

Burlak to maybe have year off or talk with the Lions, and Sullivan in two minds as what to do, higher football or not......

News travels fast Getti!

matt_nicholls
15 Nov 2007, 07:47
Count me in HFF

billylid
15 Nov 2007, 08:56
im interested i being part of this as well

knackers29
15 Nov 2007, 10:04
Can confirm that Goodwin has been signed as the coach of Macedon in 2008. The lad is from Theory and will bring from all reports 2 brothers who are substantially good young footballers, one of them being a key forward.

As posted by Halful that, they are reported to have a number of players currently playing in other leagues coming home or returning to the cats.

With a good mix of 18's coming up they will be improvers in 2008....

The Cats will be a new look outfit according to some up in he sleepy hallows in 2008. A big selling tool for the clubs survival has been the new club rooms and the facilities..... Good Luck to Beats and the crew!

G'day all !!
Interesting reading....apparently having a "Meet the coach" this Friday.

So in light of all this, what odds are Macedon on finishing top 5 this year?

matt_nicholls
15 Nov 2007, 10:17
2008 PRE-SEASON ODDS - (if I was running a market).

To make the top five
Riddell $1.01
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.05
Woodend-Hesket $1.10
Kilmore $1.25
Diggers Rest $1.75
Romsey $1.95
Wallan $2.40
Lancefield $2.90
Melton Central $3.10
Macedon $4.00
Rockbank $7.00

To win the premiership
Riddell $1.70
Sunbury Kangaroos $3.50
Woodend-Hesket $4.00
Kilmore $4.50
Diggers Rest $8.50
Romsey $11
Wallan $15
Lancefield $25
Melton Central $41
Macedon $51
Rockbank $101

Bowen Medal
Lee James $5
Daniel Bonnici $5
Daniel Sipthorp $7
Matt Robertson $7
Dave Cornish $7
Justin Belleville $10
Shaun Sims $10
Mark McInerney $12
Leigh McInerney $12
Paul Podbury $12
Steve Burlak $15
Robbie Wittmer $15
Brydan Morgan $15
Brian Wheelahan $20
Matt Stacey $20
Chris Collins $20
Matt Gibson $20
Blake Whiteway $25

For quotes on any other player - PM me.

Please note: FANTASY bets refunded if player or club does not appear in the RDFL in 2008.

Trueblueroo
15 Nov 2007, 10:20
G'day all !!

Don't get me wrong they will have a good list of young kids, but your talking finals and Macedon.... A lot of work has to be done, and more recruiting needs to take place....

If you have a look at their list, I don't think it will be as good as what Lancefields was this year, they lack maybe couple more ball winners and a key tall backman. They will upset some sides along the way betting a few as they go, but finals i think at this stage, is a little to early.

My top 5 will be as follows

Woodend
Riddell
Sunbury
Kilmore
Lancefield

That just going on what i have heard player movement wise and depth and recruits. Have heard of movements and gains from other clubs outside these 5 and i still think that these 5 will battle at the top this year... I also think that the Bowen Medallist won't be in the list mentioned above by Nichols at this stage!

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 10:21
G'day all !!

HFF,

Can I come to meet the coaches??? :cool:

Mongrel
15 Nov 2007, 10:25
mongrel. if i play?

matt_nicholls
15 Nov 2007, 10:36
mongrel. if i play?

To win the Bowen? I'll give you generous odds of $101

Mongrel
15 Nov 2007, 10:50
To win the Bowen? I'll give you generous odds of $101

that backfired.i was hoping you would say all un listed players were 100.
so i could have a gorilla on cuffey

Doona2
15 Nov 2007, 10:55
Nah it's Dawson to Braodford isn't it Doona? Heard you and the lad may touch base and talk very shortly from what i have heard....

Not to my knowledge young fella :confused: but I do love talking footy so any phone numbers you can swing me Im happy to invest the 50c :D

matt_nicholls
15 Nov 2007, 10:56
that backfired.i was hoping you would say all un listed players were 100.
so i could have a gorilla on cuffey

I may by dumb but I'm not stupid. What if someone signed Shane Woewodin or Luke Saunders? They'd win the Bowen for sure. If peope want a "prospective" quote, they need to tell me who the player is first. For Cuffe, I'd give you $15.

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 11:12
Itsmy PRE PRE-SEASON predictions..

Ladder:

Riddell
Sunbury Kangaroos
Woodend/Hesket
Kilmore
Wallan
Romsey
Diggers Rest
Lancefield
Melton Centrals
Macedon
Rockbank

Bowen Medal: Mark McInerney/Daniel Sipthorp
Premiers: Sunbury Kangaroos
Runners Up: Riddell
Big Movers: Kilmore
Big Sliders: Romsey
Biggest Recruit: Kilmore - Robbie Whittmar
Rising Star: Jesse Sheppard (WH)
Leading Goalkicker: Lee James (Riddell)
Coach of the year: Jarrod Dixon (SK)

League's best:
Backman - Robbie Ellis/Jason Allen
Midfielder - Mark McInerney/Justin Bellville
Forward - Lee James/Daniel Sipthorp
Ruckman - Steve James/Ryan Connellan

Bulldogs08
15 Nov 2007, 11:20
Maybe a big call but i believe melton centrals will play finals. good coach and finally some stability within the club i tip a huge year for the boys from melton town. some very good recruits who have already shon at the first couple of pre season runs should put them in good stead for the year. i am sure matt will have to change his bowen medal odds with the whispers from centrals. one high class recruit should do very well getting votes. sorry cant name names i will leave it for the right people to do that. also have had 48 guys on the track.

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 11:25
Just thought I would post a big welcome to all the Wallan people that will no doubt be joining this thread.. May they all keep things in the same good spirit as the current posters on the RDFL thread.. As a Mod, I can say that the RDFL thread is one of the best on it for its strong discussion material relating to our league and I hope all newcomers enjoy their time on here...

Now most teams on here have what we like to call the "Honourary Representitive" The Big Footy Rep for the club if you like, so would be good to have someone step up and become the Wallan rep and keep us all informed of the goings on in Wallanland..

But welcome guys and gals... :D:thumbsu:

Itsmyshow
15 Nov 2007, 11:29
Maybe a big call but i believe melton centrals will play finals. good coach and finally some stability within the club i tip a huge year for the boys from melton town. some very good recruits who have already shon at the first couple of pre season runs should put them in good stead for the year. i am sure matt will have to change his bowen medal odds with the whispers from centrals. one high class recruit should do very well getting votes. sorry cant name names i will leave it for the right people to do that. also have had 48 guys on the track.

I hope you are right mate.. I rate Centrals, always have, they are tough side to play as they work really hard.. I just think they need quite a few recruits to add some real class outside of Wheels.. Think they may just need another year or two to get back into the finals...

Trueblueroo
15 Nov 2007, 11:59
Not to my knowledge young fella :confused: but I do love talking footy so any phone numbers you can swing me Im happy to invest the 50c :D

Mate, if i had it JD would have it before ya great self bud!

Phar Lap
15 Nov 2007, 12:02
Thanks Trueblueroo on the confirmation, you know there are about 6 Goodwin Brothers, depending on who he gets of them to play will make macedon a much more competitive side this year. There are 3 brothers that would nearly be walk up starts in any side. Also wonder who will come up to play from Melbourne have heard there will be a few from Therry to move, whispers on Bannister and Barron also I think he is trying to get a few players back who have been playing in the DVFL. Only whispers at this stage but if anyone can add light would be happy.

Kings Army
15 Nov 2007, 12:13

Serge is no chance of taking an official role if he plays at Riddell. Roswell works for him so the orders only go one way in that relationship and he is offended that it was raised.

Riddell is the most likely place he will have a kick but his body is stuffed and he would be lucky to be able to play to 6 or 7 games next year. The other option is joining his good mate Robbie Lee at Birchip and playing handful of games up there. My money is though he will join the Gissy golf club get his handicap down to single figures. That way he can play golf Sat morning and then pick the best game to go and drink cans at out of Riddell, Sunbury or Gisborne.

Griffen has retired and is living O/S and Lobb has moved to QLD.

The Chooks
15 Nov 2007, 12:35
G'day all !!

Depends on how good the D1 Ammos players that come are?

B.O.G
15 Nov 2007, 14:21
Serge is no chance of taking an official role if he plays at Riddell. Roswell works for him so the orders only go one way in that relationship and he is offended that it was raised.

Riddell is the most likely place he will have a kick but his body is stuffed and he would be lucky to be able to play to 6 or 7 games next year. The other option is joining his good mate Robbie Lee at Birchip and playing handful of games up there. My money is though he will join the Gissy golf club get his handicap down to single figures. That way he can play golf Sat morning and then pick the best game to go and drink cans at out of Riddell, Sunbury or Gisborne.

which lobb are we talking about??
what has he done up their for? work? play? footy?

Halffullonfence
15 Nov 2007, 15:30
Depends on how good the D1 Ammos players that come are?

With the middle Beatson brother also recruiting (part time) for the cats, I don't think their (recruits) ability will be a problem.

Grubby_3
15 Nov 2007, 16:22
I may by dumb but I'm not stupid. What if someone signed Shane Woewodin or Luke Saunders? They'd win the Bowen for sure. If peope want a "prospective" quote, they need to tell me who the player is first. For Cuffe, I'd give you $15.

carefull matt mongrel has lost a lot of kgs looking very trim id be dropping his odds if i were you:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Kings Army
15 Nov 2007, 16:47
which lobb are we talking about??
what has he done up their for? work? play? footy?

Jamie Lobb - QLD for work and to play footy up there. Only played at Sunbury this year for Power as he works with him.

vantheman32
15 Nov 2007, 17:45
surely matt you cant post odds on bowen medal at this stage! as no sides have finalised there lists or even close...
i would not even waste my time puttin my money on with you

also wallan were pretty pathetic last year so i wouldnt think they would make rdfl finals in a hurry they would want to recruit pretty heavily!
can i see that happening?
i doubt it but just gotta wait n see
Go Blues, its whistle time

The Chooks
15 Nov 2007, 18:48
With the middle Beatson brother also recruiting (part time) for the cats, I don't think their (recruits) ability will be a problem.

So they will be top 5 then.

19th Man
15 Nov 2007, 23:54

Talk to Demon after he has had a few beers, I have no doubt he would love to pull the boots on again.

Kings Army
16 Nov 2007, 16:13
Talk to Demon after he has had a few beers, I have no doubt he would love to pull the boots on again.

Demon has been retired for 8 years. Surley he could not drink that much that he starts telling people he wants to play again. Also his back is as bad as an 80 year olds.

Iceman27
16 Nov 2007, 19:25
Can't wait to play in RDFL again. Go Wallan.

dwyane WADE show
17 Nov 2007, 11:54
Just thought I would post a big welcome to all the Wallan people that will no doubt be joining this thread.. May they all keep things in the same good spirit as the current posters on the RDFL thread.. As a Mod, I can say that the RDFL thread is one of the best on it for its strong discussion material relating to our league and I hope all newcomers enjoy their time on here...

Now most teams on here have what we like to call the "Honourary Representitive" The Big Footy Rep for the club if you like, so would be good to have someone step up and become the Wallan rep and keep us all informed of the goings on in Wallanland..

But welcome guys and gals... :D:thumbsu:

Thanks mate. Wallan have just announced their coach for 08 in mark pederson. He coached wallan back in 97-99 including the 1998 grandfinal against gisborne and also coached lalor to the flag this year in the nfl. Things looking up for wallan at the moment! Our preseason training starts next monday 26th nov

Iceman27
18 Nov 2007, 06:32
Thanks mate. Wallan have just announced their coach for 08 in mark pederson. He coached wallan back in 97-99 including the 1998 grandfinal against gisborne and also coached lalor to the flag this year in the nfl. Things looking up for wallan at the moment! Our preseason training starts next monday 26th nov

Speaking to Pedo last night and it seems the boys could be in for a solid pre season, which will be great. We also seem to be doing pretty well on the recruiting side of things.

Also speaking with a few other people last night and they seem to think that the article in the Free Press on Cornish signing on at Kilmore for next year may have been wrong and that he has not signed yet.

matt_nicholls
18 Nov 2007, 10:36
Speaking to Pedo last night and it seems the boys could be in for a solid pre season, which will be great. We also seem to be doing pretty well on the recruiting side of things.

Also speaking with a few other people last night and they seem to think that the article in the Free Press on Cornish signing on at Kilmore for next year may have been wrong and that he has not signed yet.

Maybe Cornish is too embarrassed to tell Wallan he has signed at Kilmore?

He rang the Kilmore coach on Tuesday morning of last week and told him that he will stay with the Blues. Speers then told club president Dayson Carroll before ringing me and letting me know in time to get it in the paper. If the coach tells me he has committed, its good enough for me.

Plus, what I saw of Wallan last year, the forwards were not your problem. One or two accountable defenders and a ruckman should be the priority down there.

Iceman27
18 Nov 2007, 12:25
Maybe Cornish is too embarrassed to tell Wallan he has signed at Kilmore?

He rang the Kilmore coach on Tuesday morning of last week and told him that he will stay with the Blues. Speers then told club president Dayson Carroll before ringing me and letting me know in time to get it in the paper. If the coach tells me he has committed, its good enough for me.

Plus, what I saw of Wallan last year, the forwards were not your problem. One or two accountable defenders and a ruckman should be the priority down there.

Couldn't agree more, a ruckman and a CHB should on top of our shopping list.

dwyane WADE show
18 Nov 2007, 13:35
Couldn't agree more, a ruckman and a CHB should on top of our shopping list.

You could also help fill one of those roles fully fit this year. Has all clubs started preseason yet? And how are all the grounds looking because in the nfl we had to start our season late and only play 15 rounds because nearly all the grounds weren't up to scratch and way too hard!

Itsmyshow
19 Nov 2007, 06:54
You could also help fill one of those roles fully fit this year. Has all clubs started preseason yet? And how are all the grounds looking because in the nfl we had to start our season late and only play 15 rounds because nearly all the grounds weren't up to scratch and way too hard!

The RDFL has enough grounds to cover a full season.. At the moment recycled water being installed at Boardman Reserve, believe that Rockbank and Centrals are the only 2 grounds that may have some trouble.

Harry Wilson
19 Nov 2007, 08:54
The RDFL has enough grounds to cover a full season.. At the moment recycled water being installed at Boardman Reserve, believe that Rockbank and Centrals are the only 2 grounds that may have some trouble.

I was down at the Romsey ground on Saturday and I must say, it was looking perfect. Green, lush and reasonably soft under foot. The boys playing cricket on it were raving about how good of condition it is in. This ground won't be a problem come start of the season 08. It is the best ground in the league hands down. You could play footy on it now.:thumbsu:

On another note, Romsey have appointed a President and a coach will be appointed by the end of this week. I attended an "Extraordinary General Meeting" yesterday, where all of the points of contention, ie. the fact that the President and Coaches positions hadn't been appointed, were bought to a head. The names will be announced on Friday. We will also have our training schedule arranged once the coaches position has been filled.

Everything seems to be getting back on track for the Redbacks, albeit a little later than first anticipated.

matt_nicholls
19 Nov 2007, 09:19
I was down at the Romsey ground on Saturday and I must say, it was looking perfect. Green, lush and reasonably soft under foot. The boys playing cricket on it were raving about how good of condition it is in. This ground won't be a problem come start of the season 08. It is the best ground in the league hands down. You could play footy on it now.:thumbsu:

On another note, Romsey have appointed a President and a coach will be appointed by the end of this week. I attended an "Extraordinary General Meeting" yesterday, where all of the points of contention, ie. the fact that the President and Coaches positions hadn't been appointed, were bought to a head. The names will be announced on Friday. We will also have our training schedule arranged once the coaches position has been filled.

Everything seems to be getting back on track for the Redbacks, albeit a little later than first anticipated.

I know the names Romsey have for the coaching job and I must say, they aren't of great quality. With plenty of discussion of players leaving the Redbacks, they'd want their new coach to act quickly and retain some of this year's young stars.

matt_nicholls
19 Nov 2007, 09:41
LATEST RDFL SENIOR PREMIERSHIP ODDS

Riddell $1.40
Woodend-Hesket $4.50
Kilmore $5.00
Sunbury Kangaroos $6.50
Diggers Rest $9.50
Romsey $11
Wallan $13
Lancefield $15
Melton Central $15
Macedon $25
Rockbank $51

Harry Wilson
19 Nov 2007, 11:49
I know the names Romsey have for the coaching job and I must say, they aren't of great quality. With plenty of discussion of players leaving the Redbacks, they'd want their new coach to act quickly and retain some of this year's young stars.

The fact that they need to act quickly goes without saying. Having spoken to a couple of the younger guys myself, nothing is set in stone yet and at this stage they are still looking to stay with the Redbacks.

As far as the coaches are concerned I think that a comment like yours above is a little bit disrespectful. If you know the names then you would know that one of the applicants should be respected more than that and the other names are relatively unknown to this league, so it's a bit harsh to be labelling them as "not of great quality". I understand this is your opinion Pickles, but potting a person before they've even had a chance to either fail or succeed is a new low.

You start with a clean record when you take on a senior coaching role in a new league, the "unknown factor" can come in to it and with a fresh face sometimes comes fresh enthusiasm. Either way, we'll soon enough find out.