View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

OMNIPOTENT_1
29 Jun 2008, 11:55
2008 R.D.F.L. East v West Showcase.

.......................East...........................

B. Warren Else Warren Kairns Daniel Trotta

HB. Brian Mathews Kar Weng Ng Allan Carroll

C. Chris Collins Sam Bowen James Wright

HF. Paul Podbury Mick Lacy Blake Henderson

F. Rick Dowling Cam Dawson Dave Fowler

FOLL. Tom Waters Guy Donovan Blake Whiteway

INT. Ryan Connellan David Cornish Ben Johns

Myles Dorman Robert Martin Aaron Christiansen

matt_nicholls
29 Jun 2008, 13:57
Was very impressed by the Tigers yesterday. Looked to have improved a fair bit since the early matches. Should be a ripper local derby when these two sides meet in a fortnight. Sunday game should see a massive crowd for what might be an elimination final!?

Not bad sides there OMNI, these are what mine would be:

EAST
B: Warren Kairns, Warren Else, Brad Colliver.
HB: Phil Conway, Kar Weng Ng, James Hardwick.
C: James Wright, Cam Dawson, Simon Choate.
HF: Ben Richmond, Mick Lacy, Tristan Salter.
F: Dave Cornish, Ryan Connellan, Rick Dowling.
R: Tom Waters, Blake Whiteway, Guy Donovan.

WEST
B: Bevan Green, Matt Martin,Craig Thompson.
HB: Matt Krul, Jason Allen, Bobby Johnson.
C: Peter Robertson, Leigh McInerney, Shaun Sims.
HF: Brian Wheelahan, James Petran, Brendan Chugg.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Cole Laurie.
R: Jeremy Jose, Sam Young, James Petran.

Itsmyshow
29 Jun 2008, 14:19
Was very impressed by the Tigers yesterday. Looked to have improved a fair bit since the early matches. Should be a ripper local derby when these two sides meet in a fortnight. Sunday game should see a massive crowd for what might be an elimination final!?

Not bad sides there OMNI, these are what mine would be:

EAST
B: Warren Kairns, Warren Else, Brad Colliver.
HB: Phil Conway, Kar Weng Ng, James Hardwick.
C: James Wright, Cam Dawson, Simon Choate.
HF: Ben Richmond, Mick Lacy, Tristan Salter.
F: Dave Cornish, Ryan Connellan, Rick Dowling.
R: Tom Waters, Blake Whiteway, Guy Donovan.

WEST
B: Bevan Green, Matt Martin,Craig Thompson.
HB: Matt Krul, Jason Allen, Bobby Johnson.
C: Peter Robertson, Leigh McInerney, Shaun Sims.
HF: Brian Wheelahan, James Petran, Brendan Chugg.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Cole Laurie.
R: Jeremy Jose, Sam Young, James Petran.

Petty playing on the ball and at CHF.. Good form from the young man, although I think in a game like this he should give others a shot too... :p

matt_nicholls
29 Jun 2008, 14:20
Petty playing on the ball and at CHF.. Good form from the young man, although I think in a game like this he should give others a shot too... :p

Haha. yeah his good mate James CLIMAS should be on the ball

OMNIPOTENT_1
29 Jun 2008, 14:28
Anyone willing to have a crack at picking the 2 sides for the East/West game?? Would be interesting to see people's opinions on the line up's... Looking forward to checking out the Under 16's game too...

How close we get pal, me or Matt ?

onlyintwos
29 Jun 2008, 15:15
on past performances we should be playing a game of Riddell vs combines rest of league

Mongrel
29 Jun 2008, 15:17
on past performances we should be playing a game of Riddell vs combines rest of league

i agree.care to name the rdfl side onlyintwos???????

Richo_MAN
29 Jun 2008, 15:23
i agree.care to name the rdfl side onlyintwos???????

Riddell to win by five goals:

B: Bevan Green, Warren Kairns, Warren Else.
HB: Bobby Johnson, Kar Weng Ng, Craig Thompson.
C: James Wright, Leigh McInerney, Peter Robertson.
HF: Simon Choate, Mick Lacy, Brendan Chugg
F: Cam Dawson, Cole Laurie, Brian Wheelahan.
R: Jeremy Jose, Blake Whiteway, Guy Donovan.

onlyintwos
29 Jun 2008, 15:46
sorry im not knowledable enough on players names to complete this task but i do believe on what ive seen that riddell are one hell of a side

Itsmyshow
29 Jun 2008, 15:54
How close we get pal, me or Matt ?

Both out a bit.. :D

Itsmyshow
29 Jun 2008, 15:55
Riddell would not beat a combined rest of the league team...

onlyintwos
29 Jun 2008, 17:22
pretty bad hamstring tear to a power midfielder at riddell. off the bone i believe and out for the rest of year

footy mad 2
29 Jun 2008, 18:05
Can anyone find a spot for cuffe on the ground. That bloke will still take 7+ HEAVILY contested marks per game when he is 50.

who framed Daryl B
29 Jun 2008, 22:09
agree matt will be a great game very disapointed that A.j higgins and ben johns were not looked at for the east v west game as they have been super for romsey also good to see romsey back with a good win against centrals need to win in 2 weeks to have a crack at finals

Itsmyshow
30 Jun 2008, 07:28
agree matt will be a great game very disapointed that A.j higgins and ben johns were not looked at for the east v west game as they have been super for romsey also good to see romsey back with a good win against centrals need to win in 2 weeks to have a crack at finals

AJ would battle to get into this side me thinks, there would be plenty of guys ahead of him.. Benny Johns should have been considered though, consistent performer for the Redbacks for several years. :thumbsu:

justchecking
30 Jun 2008, 08:27
Here is a challenge! Whilst we consider the pros and cons of the East/West game, let's have a look at the second half and have a serious dip at picking the final 6. Every team has played each other once now. Only three teams have a 'positive' percentage. The second half draw appears to be weighted on last year's finishing order. Impact areas include, who plays Riddell (and perhaps Woodend) to have their % hammered, who gets 4 points for a bye, who plays more home games, who has known long term injuries. A round by round assessment is very interesting!!

And by the way, my opinion, the Riddell / Woodend game in two weeks is going to be perhaps the best RDFL regular season game for a long time, and if played on a Sunday would attract a bigger crowd than the East /West game! If Woodend can get Lacy, Johno and Sippy back, I wouldn't write them off too quickly.

Itsmyshow
30 Jun 2008, 08:35
Here is a challenge! Whilst we consider the pros and cons of the East/West game, let's have a look at the second half and have a serious dip at picking the final 6. Every team has played each other once now. Only three teams have a 'positive' percentage. The second half draw appears to be weighted on last year's finishing order. Impact areas include, who plays Riddell (and perhaps Woodend) to have their % hammered, who gets 4 points for a bye, who plays more home games, who has known long term injuries. A round by round assessment is very interesting!!

And by the way, my opinion, the Riddell / Woodend game in two weeks is going to be perhaps the best RDFL regular season game for a long time, and if played on a Sunday would attract a bigger crowd than the East /West game! If Woodend can get Lacy, Johno and Sippy back, I wouldn't write them off too quickly.

Next week is for the rest of the season... And a serious dip should be had at just what you ask for... This week though... Its all about the East/West game... Riddell is going to be pumping.. From Thursday to Sunday its all going to be happening.... :thumbsu:

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 08:48
OMNI said we can all get on the bourbon at the match and stay at his place afterwards . . . :D

justchecking
30 Jun 2008, 08:54
Next week is for the rest of the season... And a serious dip should be had at just what you ask for... This week though... Its all about the East/West game... Riddell is going to be pumping.. From Thursday to Sunday its all going to be happening.... :thumbsu:

I thought it was starting on Wed?

Itsmyshow
30 Jun 2008, 09:19
I thought it was starting on Wed?

Wednesday for the 16's squad.. But they cant drink Bourbon... :p

justchecking
30 Jun 2008, 09:33
Wednesday for the 16's squad.. But they cant drink Bourbon... :p

Let's not forget there is a netball match on also. Our two girls are going to a uniform presentation and team meeting on Wednesday night at Digger's rooms. And some of them can definitely put the Bourbon away ;)

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 09:38
I know it's all about the big games this Saturday, but I'll just put this mouth-watering teaser out for all of you.

The next round of matches will be:

Riddell v Woodend-Hesket (1 v 2)
Sunbury Kangaroos and Diggers Rest (3 v 5)
Lancefield v Romsey (4 v 7)
Melton Central v Kilmore (8 v 9)
Rockbank v Wallan (11 v 10).

As stupid as this may sound, but apart from the top-two sides, no other side is safe to make the finals. Diggers Rest looked to of had a place sewn up, but they are crumbling at the moment and don't play well against the Kangaroos as a general rule. You would think whoever wins that match will make it. The local derby between Lancefield and Romsey hasn't been this important since 2004, and it is basically an elimination final for both sides in my opinion. Lancefield has a tough draw and need to win desperately. Whoever loses in the game at MacPherson Park cannot make the finals. While Wallan can keep their slim chances alive with a win, while Rockbank will be desperate for their first victory. Like Big Kev would say . . . I'M EXCITED!

But on to the All-Star game.

I'm really looking forward to the U16 match, and the thing I'm looking forward to seeing in the showcase game is how well the teams will work together. The midfield should work okay because all the players picked are smart and know how to find the footy, but the forward lines will need to get their act together. On paper you would expect the West Team to win, but they may have trouble working out which forward to kick to.

29-little-CHAMP
30 Jun 2008, 10:35
East V"s West ................ ? What a stupid concept !

How many players are going too drop out ? Woodend v Bombers next round !

If i were in charge down there would'nt it be nice to give your top line players a week's rest...

IMO: there will be a few little niggle's around the place...

Itsmyshow
30 Jun 2008, 11:47
East V"s West ................ ? What a stupid concept !

How many players are going too drop out ? Woodend v Bombers next round !

If i were in charge down there would'nt it be nice to give your top line players a week's rest...

IMO: there will be a few little niggle's around the place...

If there are players dropping out they will be subjected to the same rules that applied for the AFL game, they will need to be missing the game before or after through injury otherwise will be suspended... You may think it is a stupid concept, but the players have responded resoundingly in favour of the concept, I dont think there are too many at all in the West squad that have made themselves unavailable because they dont want to play, only 2 that are unavailable for valid reasons.

Banggoal1
30 Jun 2008, 12:55

Does the East/West Game count as a match if a player was reported/suspended on the week-end ?

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 12:59
Does the East/West Game count as a match if a player was reported/suspended on the week-end ?

You would hope players wouldn't be doing anything untoward in an exhibition or "friendly" match.

Banggoal1
30 Jun 2008, 13:05
You would hope players wouldn't be doing anything untoward in an exhibition or "friendly" match.

No, if you were reported in round 11 game ?

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 13:21
No, if you were reported in round 11 game ?

Sorry, suspended players are eligible, so therefore it wont count against them.

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 13:41
OMNI said we can all get on the bourbon at the match and stay at his place afterwards . . . :D

You forget to take your Medication again ?

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 13:46
You forget to take your Medication again ?

Sorry mate its been a long week. You know, with the Robbo departure and all. Even thought about going for a job at the Tocumwal Times. But its time to move on and a new love child will be announced later in the week.

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 13:50
Sorry mate its been a long week. You know, with the Robbo departure and all. Even thought about going for a job at the Tocumwal Times. But its time to move on and a new love child will be announced later in the week.

Which lucky Club are you leaning towards pal ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 13:51
2008 R.D.F.L. Team Form Top 50.

Rank...Player…….....Club……..Score.

1……Sam Young………Riddell……..34.
2……Peter Robertson….Riddell……..26.
3……Kar Weng Ng……Woodend…...24.3.
4……Justin Belleville….Riddell……..22.
5……Sam Bowen………Woodend…..20.7.
6……Paul Podbury…….Woodend…...19.8.
7……Aaron Blade……...Riddell……...19.
8……Jeremy Jose………Diggers……..18.5.
9……Lee James………...Riddell……...18.
10…..Brendon Chugg…..Melton………17.6.
11…..Tom Waters………Lancefield…..16.5.
12…..Robbie Martin……Woodend……15.3.
13…..Matt Robertson…...Kilmore……..15.2.
14…..Bobby Johnson……Sunbury…….15.
15…..Guy Donovan……..Woodend…...14.4.
16…..James Climas……...Riddell……..14.
17…..Mick Lacy…………Woodend......13.5.
18…..Chris Collins….…...Lancefield….13.4.
19…..Leigh McInerney….Sunbury…….13.2.
20…..Steve James……….Sunbury……..13.2.
21…..Jason Allen………..Riddell……...13.
22…..Blake Whiteway…..Wallan………12.6.
23…..Blake Henderson….Wallan………12.6.
24…..Craig Thompson…..Diggers……..12.5.
25…..Ben Shipard……….Woodend……11.7.
26…..Glen Nankervis…....Melton………11.6.
27…..Mick Allen………...Riddell.….…..11.
28…..Cole Laurie………...Diggers……..11.
29…..Bryan Mathews……Macedon……10.8.
30…..Daniel Trotta………Macedon…….10.8.
31…..Ben Johns……….....Romsey………10.4.
32…..Brent Sutherland…...Sunbury………10.2.
33…..David Patterson……Woodend……...9.9.
34…..Alan Carroll………..Kilmore……….9.6.
35…..Bevan Green……….Diggers………..9.5.
36…..Brian Wheelehan…..Melton…………9.2.
37…..Shaun Sims………...Diggers………...9.
38…..Ryan Connellan……Romsey………...8.8.
39…..Caleb Plowman……Lancefield………8.5.
39.....James Wright......Macedon........8.5.
40…..Jay Downing………Woodend……….8.1.
41…..James Petran……….Riddell…………8.
42…..Dean Besanko.……..Riddell.………...8.
43…..Adam Kearney…..…Romsey………..8.
44…..Warren Kairns……..Romsey………...8.
45…..Jamie Cuffe………..Sunbury.………..7.8.
46…..Matt Martin………..Melton………….7.6.
47…..Luke Barker……….Woodend……….7.2.
48…..Adam Johnstone…...Woodend……….7.2.
49…..Stuart Davis………..Sunbury………..7.2.
50…..Cam Dawson………Romsey………...7.2.

Mark Power…………Riddell…………7.
Scott Smithwick…….Lancefield……...7.
Rick Dowling……….Lancefield……...7.
Daniel McCabe……..Diggers…………7.

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 13:52
Which lucky Club are you leaning towards pal ?

There's a few contenders, one of them is your work colleague :p

justchecking
30 Jun 2008, 14:31
[quote=OMNIPOTENT_1;11552273]2008 R.D.F.L. Team Form Top 50.

Excuse my ignorance, but how does the points scoring system work?

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 14:46
Was just doing my weekly trawl through clearance lists around the traps and happened to stumble upon an interesting one. Don't know if the Kangaroos know yet, but according to the VCFL's records, our very own Dean Helmers will be leaving the Sunbury Kangaroos for Geelong and District League club Bannockburn.

AHGF
30 Jun 2008, 15:35
thanks for pointing out the link. :thumbsu:

i understand that the all-stars game should have the best avaliable players but surely the concept is to showcase the entire league as well.

the east netball side has 5 girls from macedon (the coach is from macedon) and 3 from lancefield. im sure some of the clubs that are not being represented would be very dissapointed. i know of at least one club that was not even approached or spoken to. :thumbsd:

poor effort by macedon coach and a missed opportunity for netball girls within the league to mix amoungst each other and help build the profile of the football/NETBALL league.

matt_nicholls
30 Jun 2008, 15:48
I don't know anything about netball, but from what I've seen, the Macedon A-grade side is pretty darn good.

justchecking
30 Jun 2008, 15:57

i understand that the all-stars game should have the best avaliable players but surely the concept is to showcase the entire league as well.

the east netball side has 5 girls from macedon (the coach is from macedon) and 3 from lancefield. im sure some of the clubs that are not being represented would be very dissapointed. i know of at least one club that was not even approached or spoken to. :thumbsd:

poor effort by a very arrogant macedon coach and a missed opportunity for netball girls within the league to mix amoungst each other and help build the profile of the football/NETBALL league.

Sounds like some emotion there. I have no idea of the selection process but I find it strange if one person was the sole selector. The arguement against best versus balanced selection is an old one in football terms. I just checked the ladders and Macedon would appear to be a very good side. Gets back to the basics - best versus demonstration. My understanding was that the whole day was being promoted as 'best' players in the RDFL. I'm not disagreeing with your position, just not too sure that you should take it out on one person, who possibly, is operating under direction or is part of a larger selction panel.

Halffullonfence
30 Jun 2008, 17:52

Interesting, Bomber plays 8 games in their best twice and in the league top 50 how was this arrived at ?

Itsmyshow
30 Jun 2008, 18:01

Interesting, Bomber plays 8 games in their best twice and in the league top 50 how was this arrived at ?

He's playing favorites. :p

ronald mcdonald
30 Jun 2008, 18:17
another great weekend of footy with the ladder changing week to week. plenty of footy to be played as it will be an interesting run home for all. This weeks game is shaping up now which is grest for the competition. who are the coaches and their staff. Are any club coaches involved and who will have the honour of leading the two teams out as both sectiuons have a couple of great leaders? Who is playing beforte the main game pickles?

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 20:21

Excuse my ignorance, but how does the points scoring system work?

[quote=Halffullonfence;11555059]

He's playing favorites. :p

The data I used boys was obtained from the clubs best players lists on the RDFL web site. I then used my own Formula (which is not unlike the kfc Fomula) based on each teams wins to calculate a players score.

Simple enough for yoos ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 20:30

poor effort by a very arrogant macedon coach and a missed opportunity for netball girls within the league to mix amoungst each other and help build the profile of the football/NETBALL league.

After viewing site & looking at HER selection of HER team this particular coach has Completely lost the plot about picking the BEST side available to her; & you have to ask the question has nepotism also played a part here ?

Halffullonfence
30 Jun 2008, 20:31

And your teams would be ?????

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Jun 2008, 20:45
And your teams would be ?????

Maybe Woodend could have done the same thing with the East Footy side..... wouldn't be right & I am sure "THEY" wouldn't do it either !

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 07:21
[quote=justchecking;11552706]

[quote=Itsmyshow;11555192]

The data I used boys was obtained from the clubs best players lists on the RDFL web site. I then used my own Formula (which is not unlike the kfc Fomula) based on each teams wins to calculate a players score.

Simple enough for yoos ?

Does the formula contain the seven secret spices????

Halffullonfence
1 Jul 2008, 08:54
[quote=OMNIPOTENT_1;11556947][quote=justchecking;11552706]

Does the formula contain the seven secret spices????

The main ingredient a large dose of AURA:D

Crookknee
1 Jul 2008, 10:15
Sorry guys, I dont know how this has happened but I seem to have mistakenly got onto to the Riddell district Big netball thread, can someone point me in the right direction back to the footy.:D

justchecking
1 Jul 2008, 10:25
Maybe Woodend could have done the same thing with the East Footy side..... wouldn't be right & I am sure "THEY" wouldn't do it either !

Now this debate has taken an interesting turn. We are now talking about Netball and Football. What is this weekend about? Are we seeing the best Footballers and Netballers, or are we going for equal representation? Can someone tell me me the direction given by the RDFL? To my knowledge it has been advertised as the 'best players' - I might be wrong. What ever we do we have to be consistent and not attack people that are operating under instructions, if they are following those. When you have a look at the original football squads they were based on the best players and the changes which have flowed since have be based on injuries. Are we after the best, or are we looking a some compasionate leveling to make all the clubs feel warm and fuzzy? I think you understand my preference!!

BrownDog2
1 Jul 2008, 10:25
does anyone have the start times for the two games on Saturday?

matt_nicholls
1 Jul 2008, 10:37

U16s curtain raiser - 11am
Best of the best netball match - 12.30pm
All-Star footy match - 2pm
Halffull's arrival at the ground - 5pm

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 10:38

11am for the 16's game and then 2 for the seniors I believe. Netball starts at 12.30

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 11:50
Pending a vote of their members. The Broadford FC will seek join the RDFL in 2009 and become the 12th team.

At a meeting with the RDFL last night Broadford expressed their wish to join the league.

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league.

29-little-CHAMP
1 Jul 2008, 11:58
How many player's will be heading to a pub, or going fishing,or late family get together.

Will there be any tackle's in the game .. i.e AFL all STAR game ..... that game was the very first game that put me too sleep in the second qrt........

The RDFL has to re-think this game .

matt_nicholls
1 Jul 2008, 12:10
How many player's will be heading to a pub, or going fishing,or late family get together.

Will there be any tackle's in the game .. i.e AFL all STAR game ..... that game was the very first game that put me too sleep in the second qrt........

Look mate, I don't know whether you are a disgruntled player who didn't get picked, or a 50-year-old has been, but this game is a one-off, its a great promotion for the league, which is rapidly improving, and should be a pretty good game to watch. If you don't like it, don't go, but please refrain from moaning about it on this thread.

downtheguts
1 Jul 2008, 12:11
Pending a vote of their members. The Broadford FC will seek join the RDFL in 2009 and become the 12th team.

At a meeting with the RDFL last night Broadford expressed their wish to join the league.

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league.

Terrific news. Gets rid of the bye and increases the strength of the league

matt_nicholls
1 Jul 2008, 12:11

I'd support it for sure. Broadford is a good club with good footy and netball sides and would bring a lot to the RDFL.

Crookknee
1 Jul 2008, 12:30
Look mate, I don't know whether you are a disgruntled player who didn't get picked, or a 50-year-old has been, but this game is a one-off, its a great promotion for the league, which is rapidly improving, and should be a pretty good game to watch. If you don't like it, don't go, but please refrain from moaning about it on this thread.

I agree with everything you say in regards to this game matt, but you cant have it both ways. You are on here constantly promoting freedom of speech and all that jargon but all of a sudden, when it suits, you go and get a little bit personal with little champ. In fact, your'e assessment of him might even be right but right now you reek of hypocrisy.

Kings Army
1 Jul 2008, 12:37

This whole web site is based on opinions and thoughts. He has every right to post his opinion postive or negative.
I don't think he is far off the mark after speaking with some players that are "forced" to play a game they have no interest in. Not everyone has to come on here and do cart wheels over a nothing game. As much as you and others want to promote this game there will be a lot of people that won't be convinced or interested in it.

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 12:43

You are nothing but a negative, un-educated nit wit.. Go and hang around in the WRFL thread... :mad:

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 12:45
This whole web site is based on opinions and thoughts. He has every right to post his opinion postive or negative.
I don't think he is far off the mark after speaking with some players that are "forced" to play a game they have no interest in. Not everyone has to come on here and do cart wheels over a nothing game. As much as you and others want to promote this game there will be a lot of people that won't be convinced or interested in it.

And it is their right not to attend... So which players did you speak to that have been "Forced" into playing.. Would be interested in hearing that, every player contacted has responded fantastically to the game. Noone is going to be "forced" to do anything..

justchecking
1 Jul 2008, 12:59

So let's go back a little. This is not a dig at Wallan. This is a short and long term view/question of where the RDFL is heading.

What has been the benefit of the introduction of an eleveneth team brought to the league? There are several obvious disadvantages - byes, uneven rounds etc.

A 12th team would balance the bye but would we have 22 rounds?

Bigger question - does the RDFL have a growth plan/strategy (e.g. 5 year plan) which the CLubs are educated on and agree with?

Kings Army
1 Jul 2008, 13:01
And it is their right not to attend... So which players did you speak to that have been "Forced" into playing.. Would be interested in hearing that, every player contacted has responded fantastically to the game. Noone is going to be "forced" to do anything..

If it is not a forced game why have the the rule that the players will be suspended if they pull out? Of course its forced and the players have to grit their teeth and smile each time they talk about it. Do you think any Riddell or Woodend player would like to miss their clash the following week? Great honour to be selected but give them a medal and the week off.

mockery
1 Jul 2008, 13:12

Gave Pickles the mail on this a couple of weeks ago - Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year.

As for this weeks game, there are valid points in both arguments as to players playing or not etc. - at the end of the day it is a promotional day for the league and hopefully they get a good turnout and we see some good match ups.

Kangas people - What's the latest on Mongrel's clearance to the GDFL?

Half full - Which Cats are playing this Sat?

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 13:30
If it is not a forced game why have the the rule that the players will be suspended if they pull out? Of course its forced and the players have to grit their teeth and smile each time they talk about it. Do you think any Riddell or Woodend player would like to miss their clash the following week? Great honour to be selected but give them a medal and the week off.

These players aren't on 100,000 a year and representing the AFL, its about representing the league.. If the players are legitimately sore or injured then they are not forced to play.. For players who dont want to play most sure were concerned when they hadn't heard anything for a while..

Doona2
1 Jul 2008, 13:31

Is this right :confused:

Doona2
1 Jul 2008, 13:32
Gave Pickles the mail on this a couple of weeks ago - Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year.

ease up there big fella :confused:

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 13:48
ease up there big fella :confused:

Are you saying they are not Doona??

Doona2
1 Jul 2008, 14:21
Are you saying they are not Doona??

:confused: Who are they IMS? Don't think you can assume anything after what I thought was was meant to be a bit of a chit chat - can anyone accurately post the thoughts of everyone involved at BFNC based on an hour talk thats all im saying :confused:

blues12
1 Jul 2008, 14:26

So let's go back a little. This is not a dig at Wallan. This is a short and long term view/question of where the RDFL is heading.

What has been the benefit of the introduction of an eleveneth team brought to the league? There are several obvious disadvantages - byes, uneven rounds etc.

A 12th team would balance the bye but would we have 22 rounds?

Bigger question - does the RDFL have a growth plan/strategy (e.g. 5 year plan) which the CLubs are educated on and agree with?

Being the 12th team will balance the bye, but lets just sit on our hands for a few months, i believe that another club may wish to also enter, then back to the bye. I was all for a bye last year untill now after having it, it makes it very hard to get a run on, Kangas had Queens B'day then the Bye, then 2 rounds, East/West Bye, 2 more rounds then another Bye.
On the Broadford entrance, I thought our Bus trip home from Kilmore was good, I cant wait for the Broadford trip. I think a new strip would need to be introduced, only 1 spot for the kangas jumper :D

mockery
1 Jul 2008, 14:42
:confused: Who are they IMS? Don't think you can assume anything after what I thought was was meant to be a bit of a chit chat - can anyone accurately post the thoughts of everyone involved at BFNC based on an hour talk thats all im saying :confused:

Originally Posted by Itsmyshow http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11570176#post11570176)

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league. [/quote]

Doon - I was just commenting on the above info from IMS about the meeting between the RDFL & BFNC.....

justchecking
1 Jul 2008, 14:44
[quote=blues12;11571741]Being the 12th team will balance the bye, but lets just sit on our hands for a few months, i believe that another club may wish to also enter, then back to the bye.

That is what I mean about a long term strategy/plan for the League. We can't just go from season to season bringing in clubs. I believe we shouldn't have brought in an 11th club until we had a 12th one with it. We need a plan!! Byes have proved to be a pain!

Doona2
1 Jul 2008, 14:47
Doon - I was just commenting on the above info from IMS about the meeting between the RDFL & BFNC.....

So how do you come up with "Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year." don't think IMS said that, nor did he hand Pickles the mail 3 weeks ago like you've stated

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 14:56

Fair point mate.. I meant the Broadford FC.. But you are right.. I am only going on the information passed onto clubs that BFC are keen to return.

mockery
1 Jul 2008, 14:59
So how do you come up with "Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year." don't think IMS said that, nor did he hand Pickles the mail 3 weeks ago like you've stated

Well this meeting they had would be an indication that they have some sort of interest i would of thought.....

BrownDog2
1 Jul 2008, 15:22
i have noticed at some games there haven't been field or boundary umpires so l assume the league is short of umpires.

If Broadford came in with u18's that's an extra 18 umpires the league need to cover them.
6 Field 6 Boundary 6 Goal for 3 games, Seniors, Reserves, 18's.

Hope the RDFL think of this and are out there recruting or there will be more games not covered if this season is any guide.

onlyintwos
1 Jul 2008, 15:57
spot on matt we need to pump this up andkeep it going at least the league is having a crack at doing something different and we should all be supporting of them. i just hope that the weather gods are smiling on riddells creek on saturday......is there a big footy tent????with lots of bourbon

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 16:40
spot on matt we need to pump this up andkeep it going at least the league is having a crack at doing something different and we should all be supporting of them. i just hope that the weather gods are smiling on riddells creek on saturday......is there a big footy tent????with lots of bourbon

I reckon the league should put on a BF tent... :thumbsu:

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 16:55
I reckon the league should put on a BF tent... :thumbsu:

What so you could be the Ring Master ? ;)

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 17:03
Now this debate has taken an interesting turn. We are now talking about Netball and Football. What is this weekend about? Are we seeing the best Footballers and Netballers, or are we going for equal representation? Can someone tell me me the direction given by the RDFL? To my knowledge it has been advertised as the 'best players' - I might be wrong. What ever we do we have to be consistent and not attack people that are operating under instructions, if they are following those. When you have a look at the original football squads they were based on the best players and the changes which have flowed since have be based on injuries. Are we after the best, or are we looking a some compasionate leveling to make all the clubs feel warm and fuzzy? I think you understand my preference!!

Well if we take your preference then the East v West Footy match should only be for Riddell & Woodend players ?

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 17:07
U16s curtain raiser - 11am
Best of the best netball match - 12.30pm
All-Star footy match - 2pm
Halffull's arrival at the ground - 5pm

Think you made a Typo' here Matt ?

Should read.... West V Macedon netball match - 12.30pm !

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 17:14
I have a compromising picture of a leading RDFL journo.. How do I put it up on a post??

justchecking
1 Jul 2008, 17:39
Think you made a Typo' here Matt ?

Should read.... West V Macedon netball match - 12.30pm !

Well if we take your preference then the East v West Footy match should only be for Riddell & Woodend players ?

I thought you actually had a balanced view! 5 out of 10 is not the whole team! I don't really care about Macedon Netball players, what we are advertising is the best RDFL has to offer - is this the case? And if Riddell and Woodend had the best 22 in each group or even the best 11 (consistent with the netball selection of 50%) then so be it. What is your selection criteria then? A bit of this and a bit of that? And be the way, if Riddell and Woodend did play on a Sunday, they would get as many, if not more than the East/West match!

bigbear24
1 Jul 2008, 17:54
i have noticed at some games there haven't been field or boundary umpires so l assume the league is short of umpires.

If Broadford came in with u18's that's an extra 18 umpires the league need to cover them.
6 Field 6 Boundary 6 Goal for 3 games, Seniors, Reserves, 18's.

Hope the RDFL think of this and are out there recruting or there will be more games not covered if this season is any guide.

Haven't seen any games with out field or goal umps, been to a couple without boundarys in the 2s. The Riddell umpires are independent to the RDFL but I've been told they are looking at different ideas to recruit umpires. They might have to give up umpiring the ammos like they did with Ballarat this year.

matt_nicholls
1 Jul 2008, 18:10
Seeing as I'm a registered Romsey player, and that their girls are disgruntled about no Redbacks getting a call up for the All-Star netball match, I've decided to put my hand up to represent Romsey in the East Team. Not stopping there, and seeing as the All-Star footy match is on after the very exciting netball clash, I thought I'd pull on the boots one last time for the old East.

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/6473/allstarpromopicgw8.jpg

Itsmyshow
1 Jul 2008, 18:46
Omni,

Just read Mike Lyon's team on the RDFL website.. His side seems an awful lot like yours?? What's the go there???

:confused:

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 19:40
Omni,

Just read Mike Lyon's team on the RDFL website.. His side seems an awful lot like yours?? What's the go there???

:confused:

Plagiarism is alive and well I guess..............................................OR is ONE asking that question to take the spotlight off ONE ? :cool:

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 19:45
Seeing as I'm a registered Romsey player, and that their girls are disgruntled about no Redbacks getting a call up for the All-Star netball match, I've decided to put my hand up to represent Romsey in the East Team. Not stopping there, and seeing as the All-Star footy match is on after the very exciting netball clash, I thought I'd pull on the boots one last time for the old East.

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/6473/allstarpromopicgw8.jpg

Are you checking out your own "Rack" there Matt ?

Spose at least in netball garb your man boobies dont look out of place !

OMNIPOTENT_1
1 Jul 2008, 20:15
I thought you actually had a balanced view! 5 out of 10 is not the whole team! I don't really care about Macedon Netball players, what we are advertising is the best RDFL has to offer - is this the case? And if Riddell and Woodend had the best 22 in each group or even the best 11 (consistent with the netball selection of 50%) then so be it. What is your selection criteria then? A bit of this and a bit of that? And be the way, if Riddell and Woodend did play on a Sunday, they would get as many, if not more than the East/West match!

Well thanks for the vote of confidence pal !
Your maths are a little out though, its actually 5 out of 9.
Or if we are talking about on court it could in fact be 5 outa 7 !
In footy terms that would be like 14 players from 1 club taking field,
Imagine 14 Woodend or 14 Riddell players starting the East West Game; How is that promoting the League ?

One persons Arrogance & Selfishness is making a mockery of the Spirit of this contest !

& I too couldn't give a rats arse about the Netball BUT, and this is the biggie, It is a showcase of the Leagues best, & a promotion of the League.
Not ONE Club at the expenses of some of the others !

justchecking
2 Jul 2008, 09:05
Imagine 14 Woodend or 14 Riddell players starting the East West Game; How is that promoting the League ?

One persons Arrogance & Selfishness is making a mockery of the Spirit of this contest !

& I too couldn't give a rats arse about the Netball BUT, and this is the biggie, It is a showcase of the Leagues best, & a promotion of the League.

I wish you would make your mind up! You keep saying the League's best but you want it spread across all clubs which will dilute the 'Leagues best'. I repeat an earlier question, what is the RDFL selection criteria? I am yet to hear that from anybody. Secondly, as for your attack on the 'One person' I assume you must know that they are the sole selector. Is that correct? And by the way, I want to see the best players out there and I don't care if it is 14 Riddell players or not. If I was one of the best players in the comp and didn't get a game because I was in one of the best club teams I would be pretty annoyed.

justchecking
2 Jul 2008, 09:25

May I also add, the league really has 2 choices. Either they pick the best players, regardless of club, or they have an even distribution of players from each club eg 4 from each club. I assume you support the latter, I would prefer to see the best.

OMNIPOTENT_1
2 Jul 2008, 09:34
I wish you would make your mind up! You keep saying the League's best but you want it spread across all clubs which will dilute the 'Leagues best'. I repeat an earlier question, what is the RDFL selection criteria? I am yet to hear that from anybody. Secondly, as for your attack on the 'One person' I assume you must know that they are the sole selector. Is that correct? And by the way, I want to see the best players out there and I don't care if it is 14 Riddell players or not. If I was one of the best players in the comp and didn't get a game because I was in one of the best club teams I would be pretty annoyed.

I wish you could get my point !

Now pay attention cause I dont want you to miss it, come closer to the screen......... closer............. closer....... closer........ ah thats right.....
I DONT THINK IT IS THE BEST TEAM !

Got it now ?

justchecking
2 Jul 2008, 10:07
I wish you could get my point !

Now pay attention cause I dont want you to miss it, come closer to the screen......... closer............. closer....... closer........ ah thats right.....
I DONT THINK IT IS THE BEST TEAM !

Got it now ?

your a comedian as well! Interesting reply from a 'Moderator"! Why don't you just try and answer my question?

red_devil69
2 Jul 2008, 10:52
i think this east west game is a joke! the league says they cant find anyone to play them in an interleague game but the western region have the same problem, they should just play each other wrfl div2 vs rdfl any thoughts?

Doona2
2 Jul 2008, 11:07
i think this east west game is a joke! the league says they cant find anyone to play them in an interleague game but the western region have the same problem, they should just play each other wrfl div2 vs rdfl any thoughts?

Here here, interleague is the way to go IMO :thumbsu:

Ya can't really put it on ya resume can you if your talking to prospective clubs - for e.g "played 100 odd senior games, won a senior B & F, top 5 twice in comp medal, lucky enough to play in a senior flag . . . . oh and yeah I represented East in the annual RDFL East vs West clash"

red_devil69
2 Jul 2008, 11:16
damn straight i think both leagues are about even! no point wasting your time east vs west how dissapointing would it be for someone to get injured representing no one when you could represent your whole league! especially with geddes the coach what club will he stuff over next my bet is rockbank!!

blues12
2 Jul 2008, 11:23
On the netball issue,the leagues leading goal shooter couldn't get an invite for the west side. Which club is the coach from?

With interleague, The VCFL may have blackbanned any country comps playing us, due to them wanting us to leave the metro league and joining them.

With Broadford, if the members voted in favour, if our clubs voted in favour, and if the black ban is true. Would the VCFL allow them to move?

blues12
2 Jul 2008, 11:24
damn straight i think both leagues are about even! no point wasting your time east vs west how dissapointing would it be for someone to get injured representing no one when you could represent your whole league! especially with geddes the coach what club will he stuff over next my bet is rockbank!!

Thats a Bit harsh.

Doona2
2 Jul 2008, 11:47
With Broadford, if the members voted in favour, if our clubs voted in favour, and if the black ban is true. Would the VCFL allow them to move?

F**ked if I know blues12 to be honest :confused:

Do agree with the VCFL though in thinking country towns should play in "country fotball" comps and rep games should be contested against VCFL comps.

Maybe the RDFL should drum up an annual game vs WRFL Div 2 as suggested or maybe the EDFl Div 2?

red_devil69
2 Jul 2008, 11:55
wrfl is best bet edfl are pretty strong comp take nothing away from rdfl or wrfl the both fit in the same category plus edfl play nfl in interleague already would be a cracker of a game hard physical contest would attract crowds too play it at a ground like windy hill or coburg maybe even williamstown not on a crap ground like riddel