View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2008
evil dwarf
15 Jul 2008, 11:46
maybe need to start up a new thread "Bitches ,personal gripes , and general character assasinations" and leave this one to conversation about the local matches just played or the round coming up.
Richo_MAN
15 Jul 2008, 11:56
Did the form last night and this is how I see the results panning out:
R13 - Rid d Mac, WH d MC, Lan d Kil, SK d Rom, DR d Wal.
R14 - MC d Mac, WH d Lan, Wal d Rom, DR d Rock.
R15 - Mac d Lan, WH d SK, Wal d Kil, Rom d Rock, Rid d MC.
R16 - Mac d SK, Kil d Rock, DR d Rom, Rid d Lan.
R17 - Mac d Wal, WH d Rock, DR d Kil, Rid d SK, Lan d MC.
R18 - Mac d Rock, WH d DR, Rom d Kil, Rid d Wal, SK d MC.
The ladder
Rid 72pts
WH 64pts
DR 48pts
Mac 42pts
Lan 40pts
SK 40pts
Wal 34pts
MC 32pts
Rom 32pts
Kil 28pts
Rock 8pts
Finals
W1 - Rid d WH, SK d DR, Lan d Mac.
W2 - Rid d SK, WH d Lan.
W3 - WH d SK.
W4 - Riddell wins flag by 80pts.
Itsmyshow
15 Jul 2008, 12:09
The ladder
Rid 72pts
WH 64pts
DR 48pts
Mac 42pts
Lan 40pts
SK 40pts
Wal 34pts
MC 32pts
Rom 32pts
Kil 28pts
Rock 8pts
Finals
W2 - Rid d SK, WH d Lan.
W3 - WH d SK.
Very good.. Opinions differ on some results, but overall pretty good..
Richo_MAN
15 Jul 2008, 14:54
Very good.. Opinions differ on some results, but overall pretty good..
Thanks, it seems all of those people who predicted Romsey to be the big sliders at the start of the season were right though :eek:
Itsmyshow
15 Jul 2008, 15:13
Thanks, it seems all of those people who predicted Romsey to be the big sliders at the start of the season were right though :eek:
I copped a bit of flak early in the year when I predicted Kilmore to be the biggest sliders....
Richo_MAN
15 Jul 2008, 15:24
I copped a bit of flak early in the year when I predicted Kilmore to be the biggest sliders....
You definitely deserve a prize for that. Don't think any others predicted that. Can you remember what your other predictions were?
Itsmyshow
15 Jul 2008, 15:54
Bowen Medal: Jamie Cuffe (SK) Daniel Sipthorpe (WH)
Roughie: Arnel Davis (DR)
Goalkicking: Lee James (Riddell)
Biggest Movers: Macedon FC
Biggest Sliders: Kilmore
Geez.. I even picked Macedon to be the biggest movers.. My bowen is a probably not though.. Give it to S.Young now...
burras_1
15 Jul 2008, 20:07
The ladder
Rid 72pts
WH 64pts
DR 48pts
Mac 42pts
Lan 40pts
SK 40pts
Wal 34pts
MC 32pts
Rom 32pts
Kil 28pts
Rock 8pts
Finals
W2 - Rid d SK, WH d Lan.
W3 - WH d SK.
just curious how you arrived at kangaross beating diggers in first week of finals. considering you are going by the "form" and from what I can see the rest of your results are simply based on who is higher on the ladder.
Diggers beat Sunbury just last week AND you have them finishing 3rd opposed to 6th. would that not mean that diggers have both the form and the higher position over the roos... :confused::confused:
be told
15 Jul 2008, 20:14
on to the wekends matches coming up, and i was just looking at the draw and i think if Wallan can upset diggers this week they are a big chance of sneaking into the 6. if the lose it will probably be pretty tough for them.
Woodsy should be pretty confidetn of returning to the winner list over centrals, but not quite at full strength. not sure on blokes like ng and lacy.
Lanny should get over kilmore but it will be a challenge. but i think kilmore might be done for season 2008. sunbury should beat romsey, and secure a top 4 spot they are going pretty well without much hype. And macedon might get within 100 of riddell. its a bit early but ill say the top 6 will be Riddell, woodsy, sunbury, diggers, lancefield, - last spot i dont know maybe centrals over macedon, romsey and wallan. just a guess!
could some one out there be so kind to give me lee james mobile number
Rodriguez
15 Jul 2008, 22:36
I was referring to Sipthorpe
Your still off the mark mate defintely our most important player. Will be massive for us in the run to the finals.
Rodriguez
15 Jul 2008, 22:39
Macedon are flying and are the 3rd best side in the comp.. But injuries could derail them, their match this week could be a very interesting one, to see how the kids hold up against Riddell. What is happening with Woodend.. They have dropped off the radar again, but with Ng and Lacy playing should beat Centrals at home. Diggers were impressive last week, I dont think Wallan can beat them, but that is how this year has gone.. Lancefield are the danger side at the moment.
IMS dont know about falling off the radar. Riddell are clearly the measuring stick, we were not up to it on the weekend plenty to work on. Team who you say is the 3rd best team we defeated by 7 goals the week before, with a similar team to the weekend.
Halffullonfence
15 Jul 2008, 22:39
Anyone got Kilmores goal kickers and best players from last Saturday?
blues12
16 Jul 2008, 08:55
just curious how you arrived at kangaross beating diggers in first week of finals. considering you are going by the "form" and from what I can see the rest of your results are simply based on who is higher on the ladder.
Diggers beat Sunbury just last week AND you have them finishing 3rd opposed to 6th. would that not mean that diggers have both the form and the higher position over the roos... :confused::confused:
Have you looked at the Draw, Diggers don't get flogged by Riddell twice, and play Rockbank, Kilmore, Wallan and Romsey twice. They only play 1 side in the top 6 in their run home and that is Woodend. If they don't finish third i'll go hay.
Richo_MAN
16 Jul 2008, 09:00
Exactly. Plus finals is a much different game to the home and away rounds. Also, if you look closely I don't just pick the highest ranked side. Accounted for the fact that Centrals has a big home ground advantage, and the past records of some clubs. Also, I think the McInerney brothers will be right for the finals :cool:
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 09:31
IMS dont know about falling off the radar. Riddell are clearly the measuring stick, we were not up to it on the weekend plenty to work on. Team who you say is the 3rd best team we defeated by 7 goals the week before, with a similar team to the weekend.
Yeah fair point mate.. I just meant in the context of where you guys sit in relevance to Riddell.. Many were talking up the "Champion Team" side of things and that looks a fair way away at this point.. Macedon were missing quite a few against you guys too, but you are spot on, still clearly the 2nd best side in the comp... I didn't mean off the radar as a whole, just in a competition with Riddell... :thumbsu:
29-little-CHAMP
16 Jul 2008, 10:43
What's going on with matt ......
Hope he has not got upset about my east v's west comment's.
Blue's 2 blame the RDFL for that one , east v west game ,
Did you really think that the, Tiger's and Cat's would be in the top 6 at this stage of the year ?
In the next 6 week's Diggers play .... Pies, Ram's, Blues (start of year top 4 was on the cards) , Red Backs ( have not finnished outside the top 6 for 8 year's ) and Digger's have a bye, and play the Hawk's.
And Digger's Rest cant play them self.
Your are only crying about 1 game and that's the Bomber's.
Look at the draw , when the Ram's play i:e bomber's , the following week Digger's play the Bomber's , It's the same all year , It's just a rolling draw.
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 10:48
What's going on with matt ......
Hope he has not got upset about my east v's west comment's.
Blue's 2 blame the RDFL for that one , east v west game ,
Did you really think that the, Tiger's and Cat's would be in the top 6 at this stage of the year ?
In the next 6 week's Diggers play .... Pies, Ram's, Blues (start of year top 4 was on the cards) , Red Backs ( have not finnished outside the top 6 for 8 year's ) and Digger's have a bye, and play the Hawk's.
And Digger's Rest cant play them self.
Your are only crying about 1 game and that's the Bomber's.
Look at the draw , when the Ram's play i:e bomber's , the following week Digger's play the Bomber's , It's the same all year , It's just a rolling draw.
Does anyone else have trouble understanding every post this guy writes?? Who is "crying" about 1 game against Riddell?? If you are talking about Blues12 post, it is merely pointing out that Diggers have a very good run home and are in the box seat to finish 3rd... What has the rolling draw got to do with anything???
29-little-CHAMP
16 Jul 2008, 11:16
Diggers don't get flogged by Riddell twice. ?????? Is that not crying .
At the start of the year who would have thought that the Cat's and the Tiger's would have been in the top 6 .
A few guy's in here thought that Digger's would have missed the top 6.
As they say it's the luck of tha draw ,,,,,, Get over it ...
You play who you play .
Anyone got Kilmores goal kickers and best players from last Saturday?
pretty sure Pickles would ave em
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 11:58
At the start of the year who would have thought that the Cat's and the Tiger's would have been in the top 6 .
A few guy's in here thought that Digger's would have missed the top 6.
You play who you play .
No.. Dont think it was... It was highlighting a point as to why Diggers should finish 3rd... But I have picked up on it all now... When its not you saying something it is crying.... Tool....
29-little-CHAMP
16 Jul 2008, 12:10
No.. Dont think it was... It was highlighting a point as to why Diggers should finish 3rd... But I have picked up on it all now... When its not you saying something it is crying.... Tool....
A big footy moderator getting upset !
Sunbury Rover's must have had a loss on the weekend.
blues12
16 Jul 2008, 12:13
You play who you play .
I'm over it and i'm not cyring, i never said anything about our draw or anybody elses for that matter, Obviously you have a problem with anybody from my club having an opinion.
Here is another one. It is My Opinion that if a side is beaten by more than 80 points, that is flogged.
How many sides this year can say that they have not been flogged by Riddell?
Riddell have an easy draw, every side they play twice is below them.:D
EchucaBomber
16 Jul 2008, 12:24
Chimp are you in some way an associate of the Phantoms?
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 12:31
Chimp are you in some way an associate of the Phantoms?
Think there may be a connection...
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 12:32
A big footy moderator getting upset !
Sunbury Rover's must have had a loss on the weekend.
The best part of being a moderator is that I can award a holiday for people I consider are "trolling"...
EchucaBomber
16 Jul 2008, 12:36
Think there may be a connection...
Phantom ommitted and Chimp in you think IMS?
Where is it that you play Romsey this week? Might be able to arrange an afternoon off.
29-little-CHAMP
16 Jul 2008, 12:43
The best part of being a moderator is that I can award a holiday for people I consider are "trolling"...
All come's down to I ..........................:thumbsu:
If you don't like what someone say's you boot them .............
I only post in a few places , Richmond and the RDFL the most ....
Grow up it's ok for you to call someone a tool !:p
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 12:53
Phantom ommitted and Chimp in you think IMS?
Where is it that you play Romsey this week? Might be able to arrange an afternoon off.
Definite possibility... Although Phantom was a little more articulate.
At Romsey... Should be a great game, we have had some ripper contests over the past couple of years... :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
16 Jul 2008, 13:50
All come's down to I ..........................:thumbsu:
If you don't like what someone say's you boot them .............
I only post in a few places , Richmond and the RDFL the most ....
Grow up it's ok for you to call someone a tool !:p
No... It comes down to individuals who give themselves an identity and then continues to make posts that are directly linked to creating a negative response by being nothing but troublesome and argumentative.. This is approximately the precise time that these individuals are "booted". Hope this clarify's the situation for you.
IMS
Digger52
16 Jul 2008, 17:27
My God there"s some bullshit on this thread this week.How about we look @ weekends tips
Riddell by 100pts (sorry Cats,but thats how I feel about Riddell @ the moment)
Woodend by 20pts ; Don"t take centrals lightly thought
Lancefield by 30pts ; They are playing well @ the moment ,whereas Kilmore are"nt
Kangas by 30pts ; unless romsey find some discipline there year is over this weekend.
Diggers over Wallan by 35pts .
Rockbank too sink the cans this weekend:D:D:D
OMNIPOTENT_1
16 Jul 2008, 18:16
Omni’s Ladder at end of Home & Aways
Riddell…………72
Woodend……….64
Diggers..………..44
Sunbury…...……44
Macedon……….42
Lancefield………40
Romsey…………36
Wallan………….30
Melton………….28
Kilmore…………24
Rockbank……….12
Bowen Medal………. Sam Young (Riddell)
Roughie…………….. Sam Bowen (Woodend) or Peter Robertson (Riddell) or Jeremy Jose (Diggers)
No Comment
16 Jul 2008, 19:32
Riddell…………72
Woodend……….64
Diggers..………..44
Sunbury…...……44
Macedon……….42
Lancefield………40
Romsey…………36
Wallan………….30
Melton………….28
Kilmore…………24
Rockbank……….12
Roughie…………….. Sam Bowen (Woodend) or Peter Robertson (Riddell) or Jeremy Jose (Diggers)
who have you got rockbank beating?
OMNIPOTENT_1
16 Jul 2008, 19:48
who have you got rockbank beating?
Shhhhhhhhhhhh dont tell anyone cause I want em to win at least 1 this season.............. but I reckon they might be half a chance at home in Rnd 16.
burras_1
16 Jul 2008, 23:41
can anybody tell me if the u/18's comp is top 5 or 6 this year ? ?
4thburra
17 Jul 2008, 00:18
Riddell…………72
Woodend……….64
Diggers..………..44
Sunbury…...……44
Macedon……….42
Lancefield………40
Romsey…………36
Wallan………….30
Melton………….28
Kilmore…………24
Rockbank……….12
id rate him slightly higher than a roughie!
Halffullonfence
17 Jul 2008, 08:52
can anybody tell me if the u/18's comp is top 5 or 6 this year ? ?
Getting nervous are we ?
Relax it is a final 6.
TheEyeOfTheStorm
17 Jul 2008, 15:51
There are a few things that Rockbank may beat before years end but an RDFL side will not be one of them.
They may beat Melton by claiming the highest unemployment rate in the world
They may beat Moe for the highest rate of teenage pregnancy in the state
They may beat Malta itself for the highest population rate of Maltese anywhere in the world
and they may beat Port Phillip prison for having the biggest amount of convicted criminals in one spot at any one time
Win a game?? come on old mate- your better than that
Harsh but fair
who framed Daryl B
17 Jul 2008, 22:06
They were out coached also a lot more commited to winning and romsey were not so they need to move on and think about next year blood some kids dont forget romsey has been up the to3 or 4 for the last 10 years love the club LOVE THE JUMPER WE WILL BE BACK MARK MY WORD
burras_1
17 Jul 2008, 23:48
They were out coached also a lot more commited to winning and romsey were not so they need to move on and think about next year blood some kids dont forget romsey has been up the to3 or 4 for the last 10 years love the club LOVE THE JUMPER WE WILL BE BACK MARK MY WORD
Suggest you try using a bit of the old punctuation next time. Makes your posts much easier to understand. I had to read this about three times to know what you were on about. :confused:
who framed Daryl B
18 Jul 2008, 00:39
Sorry about that just came of a double shift very tired what i was saying is romsey have been in the top three or four for a long time now so as they slip they will have to re build hope that is a lot better have had a sleep now.
ALLASONE
18 Jul 2008, 07:42
Sorry about that just came of a double shift very tired what i was saying is romsey have been in the top three or four for a long time now so as they slip they will have to re build hope that is a lot better have had a sleep now.
Spot on who framed Daryl B. The REDBACKS have 8-10 really talented young blokes that they can start to build a great side around.The time for the club to start this process is now . No need to wait till the end of the year . YOU KNOW WHO FRAMED DARYL B ;)
The Hawk 7
18 Jul 2008, 14:09
Riddell have an easy draw, every side they play twice is below them.:D[/quote]
Yeah, but they haven't beaten anyone above them though. :D
TheEyeOfTheStorm
18 Jul 2008, 15:01
Riddell have an easy draw, every side they play twice is below them.:D
Yeah, but they haven't beaten anyone above them though. :D[/quote]
You could almost say that its a "Riddle" to work out who will finish between 3rd and 6th.... ( i realise that what i just wrote was a sh#t joke, but im bored) :cool:
Any predictions on winners and margains this week?
discoduck
18 Jul 2008, 17:21
ha ha. one of the funniest posts i've read in ages. there's still no punctuation.
i personally don't give a crap about punctuation, grammar, spelling, or capitals apparently! but i did laugh at the above.
MustonMagic17
18 Jul 2008, 18:36
Yeah, but they haven't beaten anyone above them though. :D
You could almost say that its a "Riddle" to work out who will finish between 3rd and 6th.... ( i realise that what i just wrote was a sh#t joke, but im bored) :cool:
Any predictions on winners and margains this week?[/QUOTE]
Bloody Riddell think the own the league!!
sunba97
18 Jul 2008, 19:57
Has anyone heard a rumour going around that former 'GUN' premiership player from Sunbury Lions and Pascoe Vale Shane (the Boota) Wellington will be pulling on the boots for the Burras this weekend? Massive in if this is true.
KilmoreBlue
18 Jul 2008, 21:03
One for Burras fans, where is Steve Grey these days?
4thburra
19 Jul 2008, 09:36
playing over 40s or something in sunbury.
never heard of wellington.
no truth to the rumour
joeblow2
19 Jul 2008, 18:20
Lancefield by 10 goals over Kilmore.
dwyane WADE show
19 Jul 2008, 19:49
Wallan by 3 goals over Diggers Rest in real windy conditions over there. Fantastic win
OMNIPOTENT_1
19 Jul 2008, 19:55
Riddell by nine goals over Macedon... Final Scores Riddell 14.6 Macedon 5.7...James (Nipper) Wright B.O.G. (Macedon)
& Sunbury got up by Six Points over Romsey.
onlyintwos
19 Jul 2008, 20:20
Riddell by nine goals over Macedon... Final Scores Riddell 14.6 Macedon 5.7...James (Nipper) Wright B.O.G. (Macedon)
woodend 15 goals over centrals,seems the windy hill flu over at woodend with all the big guns playing today b.o.g ng on a very wet and heavy woodend ground
4thburra
19 Jul 2008, 21:44
Heard he started a band with Jack Black, Pink, Barry White, Bobby Brown, Richard Green, the Red Rooster, Casey DellAQUA, Scarlet Johansson, Deep Purple and the purple people eater.
thats not funny.
bigbear24
20 Jul 2008, 00:24
Noticed on the website Mick Allen didn't kick any, did he play and what was the weather lke. I can tell you its a beautiful 22 here in Fiji and not a breath of wind. Good to see the results on Big Footy as there are a couple missing from the website.
OMNIPOTENT_1
20 Jul 2008, 03:08
Noticed on the website Mick Allen didn't kick any, did he play and what was the weather lke. I can tell you its a beautiful 22 here in Fiji and not a breath of wind. Good to see the results on Big Footy as there are a couple missing from the website.
Mickey started the game but came off very early & rushed off to be at his missus side for the birth of their child........ hope all went well & Mick is now half cut puffing on a large Cuban. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
dwyane WADE show
20 Jul 2008, 19:39
Not much talk about this weekends round of footy so far such as wallan's big upset over the more fancied diggers rest, woodends return to form and macedon competing pretty well with riddell.
Also heard the rumour that if broadford decide to join our league, they will become the broadford swans and change their jumpers to the red and white. I assume it would have to do with barry hall's connection to the club. Sounds like they are really considering the change of leagues.
Not much talk about this weekends round of footy so far such as wallan's big upset over the more fancied diggers rest, woodends return to form and macedon competing pretty well with riddell.
Also heard the rumour that if broadford decide to join our league, they will become the broadford swans and change their jumpers to the red and white. I assume it would have to do with barry hall's connection to the club. Sounds like they are really considering the change of leagues.
What a load of $hit!!! Broadford has only ever worn two strips and I reckon a move away from either would be $hithouse form :thumbsd:
dwyane WADE show
20 Jul 2008, 22:14
What a load of $hit!!! Broadford has only ever worn two strips and I reckon a move away from either would be $hithouse form :thumbsd:
Yeah i agree i would never want wallan to move away from our black and white stripes either mate, but when we moved to the dvfl 6 yrs ago we nearly changed our jumpers to port power because of montmorency having black and white, but because they were in 1st div the league allowed us to stay the same because we weren't in the same div.
But say if you guys did move i would assume the same thing would happen because of the sunbury kangaroos. Anyway it was just the rumour that i heard
anniswan
20 Jul 2008, 23:13
Coaching cricket
Punt Road Feral
21 Jul 2008, 00:13
If Broadford do move, does that mean that the juniors follow them or stay in the SDJFL?
blues12
21 Jul 2008, 09:04
If Broadford do move, does that mean that the juniors follow them or stay in the SDJFL?
If they are run by the same body i would say they would follow, if they are 2 seperate bodies, one would assume the junior club would need to have their own vote(if the committee wanted to follow) to make the move.
allaboutseptember
21 Jul 2008, 14:34
could Bford look at a red and white roos strip for when they play sunbury kangas in sunbury???
or perhaps a predominently white jumper with a blue roo - the jumper clash will cause problems....
Blueboy16
21 Jul 2008, 17:32
What's this I hear about Arnel Davis being asked to apply for the Diggers senior coach job next season. Does someone want Hopkins OUT?
4thburra
21 Jul 2008, 20:01
What's this I hear about Arnel Davis being asked to apply for the Diggers senior coach job next season. Does someone want Hopkins OUT?
thats almost as stupid as the ben cousins going to wallan statement.
jonathan brown playing for rockbank next year is more likely than someone from diggers wanting fitsy out.
rightfoot_sloth
21 Jul 2008, 20:43
On a sightly different slant. Who are the best 'coaches' in the RDFL at the moment. Greenshields and Jared from Sunbury Kangaroos would have to amongst the better ones around ? Also which coaches within the RDFL ranks could coach at a higher level ? Higher level I am saying major league Ballarat FL, Bendigo FL or EDFL A Grade.
evil dwarf
21 Jul 2008, 22:32
[quote=anniswan;11780186]Coaching cricket[/quot
and playing footy for sunbury masters football club
when he's not getting run over by taxi's:D
evil dwarf
21 Jul 2008, 22:35
Arnel would be a top coach with a good listof players ,which i believe diggers do have . but would be suprised if they gave Hopkins the flick
evil dwarf
21 Jul 2008, 22:36
& Mick is now half cut puffing on a large Cuban. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:[/quote]
:eek::eek::eek:
Itsmyshow
22 Jul 2008, 09:34
How does everyone rate each side out of 10 in comparison to what they have gotten out of their list in 2008??
Kings Army
22 Jul 2008, 09:35
Can anyone from Woodend explain how Considine gets dropped before Barker? Both down on form however Considine has out performed Barker. Is the name the key here. I thought that was an old school practice.
Richo_MAN
22 Jul 2008, 09:43
Can anyone from Woodend explain how Considine gets dropped before Barker? Both down on form however Considine has out performed Barker. Is the name the key here. I thought that was an old school practice.
Have no idea why, both about the same this season. Although it must be said that I was very unimpressed with Considine in the All-Star match. All he did was get in the way of other players!! Wouldn't be the first time the Hawks made a forward a scape goat heading into the finals. They dropped Rick Dowling for their premiership campaign last season, despite him leading their goalkicking! According to the RDFL website he has dobbed 45 goals from 12 matches thus far - pretty good going! And where is the bloke they dropped him for to give more room? Overseas and not playing! Lucky they scraped over the line against Romsey and Sunbury Kangaroos in the finals last year and came up against a nervous Riddell side, otherwise people might starting to question how good Mick Giddings actually is :eek:
Richo_MAN
22 Jul 2008, 09:47
How does everyone rate each side out of 10 in comparison to what they have gotten out of their list in 2008??
Riddell - 10
W/Hesket - 8.5 (if they had everyone available each week it would be 9.5)
Lancefield - 9.5
Diggers Rest - 8
Sunbury Kangaroos - 8
Macedon - 7.5 (injuries keep them lower)
Wallan - 7
Melton Central 6.5
Romsey - 5
Kilmore - 2
Rockbank - 4
Richo_MAN
22 Jul 2008, 13:03
Just had this story emailled to me. It was in the Star newspaper:
Kilmore's four, off they go
by Stuart Teather
CONTROVERSY reigned in round 13 of the Riddell District Football League (RDFL) on Saturday, with the game between Kilmore and Lancefield descending into chaos after halftime.
After what had been a close opening half, a series of contentious umpiring decisions changed the course of the match.
Early in the third quarter, Travis Hede gave away three consecutive 50 metre penalties before being and sent off for mouthing off to the umpire.
This incident started a chain reaction, which saw three more Kilmore players being sent off in quick succession.
Kilmore coach Campbell Spears was scathing in his reaction.
“The first bloke (getting sent off) I can accept, he mouthed off and it was fair enough,” he said.
“The other decisions ... it was the most atrocious piece of umpiring I’ve been involved with.
“They just lost control, the umpires; it wasn’t even within the laws of the game.”
Spears said up until that point, the game had been a tight, even struggle, and having four players off destroyed his side’s chances.
“It was a terrific game; it was a real struggle for both sides... It was a real tough, solid game.”
Lancefield coach Chris Collins had a different perspective on the game. “We started to get on top of Kilmore a bit in terms of general game play - they started to lose their tempers a little bit.
“We commented after the game - we found the umpiring was pretty good and it was pretty consistent.
“They maybe took it a little too far with a couple of players getting sent off, where maybe a stern word would have done.
“But I’ve got no real sympathy - if we’re getting done and our backs are against the wall, I don’t tell our blokes to start throwing punches, I tell them to work a bit harder.”
The result of the match saw Lancefield win by 10 goals. At the time of writing, no one from the RDFL was available for comment.
Elsewhere, Wallan pulled off a big win against Diggers Rest, knocking over the fourth-placed side by 17 points.
A blinding first term from Wallan put the challenge out to Diggers Rest, with six goals to nil to set up a big lead.
It was a case of holding on after that, with Diggers Rest replying with five goals in the second term, but unable to close the gap.
The second half was a defensive affair with both teams managing just one goal after the main break.
For Wallan, it was the usual contributors who stood up with David Cornish booting three goals and Shannon Galea adding two.
Lindon Coleman, Matthew Vidal and captain Matt Gibson were amongst the best for the side.
For Diggers Rest, Jeremy Jose was the only multiple goal scorer with two majors. He was also the best player for his side, along with Shaun Sims and Dylan Hannan.
Itsmyshow
22 Jul 2008, 13:15
Blues lost the plot
July 22nd, 2008 by Matt Nicholls
LAST week I said Kilmore’s senior football side was fighting for respect in the closing stages of the season, but what the Blues did last Saturday was appalling.
In the space of five minutes, the Blues had four players sent from the field – three for abusive language towards an umpire, and another for striking.
It was a sad capitulation of a side, which in the previous hour, had done so much to lift its reputation as a football team.
While all four players should be held accountable for their actions, one triggered the collapse, and let a whole side down, as well as their supporters.
Travis Hede, arguably Kilmore’s best player in the first half, got on the rough end of an umpiring decision at about the 10-minute mark of the third quarter.
Rather than cop it on the chin and concentrate on the next piece of play, he decided that abusing the umpire was the better option.
Rightly so, the man in orange decided a 50-metre penalty was the right punishment. Normally in these situations a player will then shake his head, and get on with the game. But not Hede. He continued to give it to the umpire and went on to concede another 50-metre penalty – handing Lancefield a free goal.
Still not satisfied that he had given the referee enough stick, Hede persisted with the abuse.
He was then yellow-carded, giving him a 15-minute rest, but leaving the Blues one short on the field.
From then on, all hell broke lose.
Lancefield’s Paul Cook was yellow-carded for wrestling soon after, and Kilmore’s Andrew Hibbert and Trent Harries were both sent off for umpire abuse.
Teammate Brad Colliver, the Blues’ vice-captain, was also yellow-carded and reported for striking Tiger defender Tim Collins.
So dire was Kilmore’s situation, that if any remaining player was yellow-carded, the Blues would have had to forfeit the match.
The rules state that no side can compete with 13 players on the field. Kilmore had just 14 on the ground after their five-minute frenzy.
Contrary to the report in Tuesday’s North Central Review, in which Kilmore senior football coach Campbell Speers labelled an umpire’s actions “disgraceful”, I think the officials did a pretty good job in tough circumstances.
I’ve been a harsh critic of umpires in the past, and the two umpires on Saturday have been in the spotlight of my denigration in recent years, but what the Kilmore players did was unacceptable.
Although the two umpires are known for “over officiating” in matches, I even gave Speers pre-warning before the game that they wouldn’t tolerate backchat or abuse from players.
And nor should they, or any other umpire.
As a football lover and a former player, I can sympathise with players who might hand out the odd piece of “advice” to umpires, because footy is a sport that invokes passion and split-second decisions.
But I can’t sympathise with what certain Kilmore players did on Saturday. They lost the plot, forgot to think, and let their teammates and club down.
With just four matches to play, the Blues now have to win back the respect they lost last Saturday, as well as what they have lost over the season.
Luckily they have a bye this week to think about it all.
Same bloke that recently umpired the Lancefield v Wallan game by any chance?
blues12
22 Jul 2008, 14:23
An interesting read from Nicholls i thought. 3 kilmore sent for abusing and one for striking. Just one query, a lancefield player was sent off for wrestling, was he wrestling with himself? as i would have thought that it would take 2 to tango, therefore i would have expected a kilmore bloke to also been sent off for wrestling. Does anybody know if the other player in the wrestle was the bloke sent off for striking? if not, poor form by an umpire.
The Earl
22 Jul 2008, 14:30
Have no idea why, both about the same this season. Although it must be said that I was very unimpressed with Considine in the All-Star match. All he did was get in the way of other players!! Wouldn't be the first time the Hawks made a forward a scape goat heading into the finals. They dropped Rick Dowling for their premiership campaign last season, despite him leading their goalkicking! According to the RDFL website he has dobbed 45 goals from 12 matches thus far - pretty good going! And where is the bloke they dropped him for to give more room? Overseas and not playing! Lucky they scraped over the line against Romsey and Sunbury Kangaroos in the finals last year and came up against a nervous Riddell side, otherwise people might starting to question how good Mick Giddings actually is :eek:
Both have been very good at times this year. Barker’s form had been better in recent weeks. He had kicked 5 (against Kilmore), 4 (against Macedon) and 1 (against Riddell with large stints in defence when most players were terrible). It looked to me like Considine was the victim of Woodend having quite a few tall forwards. They started on the weekend with Barker, Lacy and Forrest all in the forward half. One more may have been a bit of a stretch on a wet day. From all reports Considine went back and dominated the Reserves.
I don’t believe Considine was a scapegoat and nor was Dowling. Dowling is a very good forward and has proved this over many years. I assume you are referring to Salpietro in your post and I think that Woodend needed a crumbing forward with a bit of pace on the big grounds in the finals last year. Dowling was the extremely unlucky player to miss out. Salpietro was outstanding in the finals.
In relation to the finals series last year, another interpretation could be that Woodend had a gutsy come from behind win against Romsey, accounted for Sunbury comfortably in the end by 5 goals and stood up when it mattered on Grand Final day to beat a powerful Riddell. I believe Giddings has been great at Woodend over the last 3 years, so I suppose your interpretation of the finals series depends upon the argument that you are trying to support.
Wing Nut
22 Jul 2008, 14:57
Both have been very good at times this year. Barker’s form had been better in recent weeks. He had kicked 5 (against Kilmore), 4 (against Macedon) and 1 (against Riddell with large stints in defence when most players were terrible). It looked to me like Considine was the victim of Woodend having quite a few tall forwards. They started on the weekend with Barker, Lacy and Forrest all in the forward half. One more may have been a bit of a stretch on a wet day. From all reports Considine went back and dominated the Reserves.
I don’t believe Considine was a scapegoat and nor was Dowling. Dowling is a very good forward and has proved this over many years. I assume you are referring to Salpietro in your post and I think that Woodend needed a crumbing forward with a bit of pace on the big grounds in the finals last year. Dowling was the extremely unlucky player to miss out. Salpietro was outstanding in the finals.
In relation to the finals series last year, another interpretation could be that Woodend had a gutsy come from behind win against Romsey, accounted for Sunbury comfortably in the end by 5 goals and stood up when it mattered on Grand Final day to beat a powerful Riddell. I believe Giddings has been great at Woodend over the last 3 years, so I suppose your interpretation of the finals series depends upon the argument that you are trying to support.
Good reply. I like your interpretation. It meerly points out the fact that if you reverse a couple of results in close matches, it can change everything. Woodend was a good side last year, but no one feared them. But they won the flag and now people are convinced they are stars. If they had of been knocked out by Romsey, they may be sitting in fourth or fifth position right now. Reputation can do wonders in footy. But hats off to the Hawks, they've seemingly made all the right decisions!
Richo_MAN
22 Jul 2008, 15:03
Fair call Earl. I'm just saying if you blokes had of lost against Romsey or the Kangas and Riddell went on to win their third flag in a row, we'd be saying that the Bombers are the best side in modern RDFL footy. But you guys got lucky. Everything went your way in terms of injuries, opposition, selection etc. its the difference between winning a flag and losing a semi-final. The stars were alligned for WH last September :)
Sunqvist
22 Jul 2008, 15:56
Anyone give lancefield a chance of caausing an upset this week?
i think they are playing alright lately and could catch woodsy on an off day. they would just about be certantys of playing finals. my early tips are for this week
lanny by 1 point over woodsy, diggers to beat rockbank by only about 5 goals probably close at half time then diggers will be alright in 2nd half. wallan vs romsey a really hard one but probably 3 goals win to wallan. and also a tight one at centrals with macedon maybe by a goal.
MustonMagic17
22 Jul 2008, 16:40
For the record the lancefield player was sent off for lining up a 17yo kid and cleaning him up, not wrestiling. 1 of the 4 Kilmore players was sent off for not handing the ball back to the umpire!! The "Strike" was laughable and was too high and never a reportable offence. They lost control of the match. 2 players should have had there mouths closed but the Kilmore never went the biff. Spears was fair in his assesment.
CommonKnowledge
22 Jul 2008, 17:38
Good post Earl.
You sound like a guy who knows things, a guy who knows things about Woodend-Hesket. Would you like to enlighten us about the shambles at Riddell a couple of weeks ago and whether it will effect Woodend in any way for the rest of the year.
vantheman32
22 Jul 2008, 18:37
i would like to rebutt to the false information in the article! i was not the player that gave the original 50 metre penalty, and the umpire had sent me off before the goal had been kicked and this is when i started giving it too him, easy to have a look from the sidelines?! I admit i did the wrong thing and let my team mates down and im sorry for this.
get your information correct nicholls, i gave away one 50 metre penalty!
the article in the review then goes as far to say im not welcome at the club, well if thats how a club or other people in charge looks after its young players this is not a good thing local players stick around coaches dont, and if you look at the record this yr, there is obviously only one reason players have left the club disgruntled this yr.
ALLASONE
22 Jul 2008, 19:22
For the record the lancefield player was sent off for lining up a 17yo kid and cleaning him up, not wrestiling. 1 of the 4 Kilmore players was sent off for not handing the ball back to the umpire!! The "Strike" was laughable and was too high and never a reportable offence. They lost control of the match. 2 players should have had there mouths closed but the Kilmore never went the biff. Spears was fair in his assesment.
If that is the lancefield player that was mentioned in one of the previous posts , then that would be his form. I've seen him bully kids on the ground before. Maybe thats what happens when you play a couple of years past your time.
MustonMagic17
22 Jul 2008, 21:02
i would like to rebutt to the false information in the article! i was not the player that gave the original 50 metre penalty, and the umpire had sent me off before the goal had been kicked and this is when i started giving it too him, easy to have a look from the sidelines?! I admit i did the wrong thing and let my team mates down and im sorry for this.
get your information correct nicholls, i gave away one 50 metre penalty!
the article in the review then goes as far to say im not welcome at the club, well if thats how a club or other people in charge looks after its young players this is not a good thing local players stick around coaches dont, and if you look at the record this yr, there is obviously only one reason players have left the club disgruntled this yr.
Agree with your comments Van well said it was an umpire on a power trip sending a player off for not standing on the mark
I reckon you just dust of the pads mate, get in the nets early & focus some of this energy on a big summer with the bat ;)
Itsmyshow
23 Jul 2008, 09:36
All...
The footy tipping has gone butt up... Not sure at this stage whether it can be fixed.. Have admin looking in to it.. My apologies...
Richo_MAN
23 Jul 2008, 09:45
If that is the lancefield player that was mentioned in one of the previous posts , then that would be his form. I've seen him bully kids on the ground before. Maybe thats what happens when you play a couple of years past your time.
He killed us a couple of weeks ago. If he's passed it then there are a lot of blokes who should be taking a long hard look at themselves!
KilmoreBlue
23 Jul 2008, 18:45
Youre out of control Hede.
You were dropped for disciplanary reasons and come back into the side and let the whole club down with your antics.
Like what Speers was eluding to in the Review you should never be allowed to pull a Kilmore jumper on again.
George 08
23 Jul 2008, 19:21
Youre out of control Hede.
You were dropped for disciplanary reasons and come back into the side and let the whole club down with your antics.
Like what Speers was eluding to in the Review you should never be allowed to pull a Kilmore jumper on again.
oh oh oh oh i love this!! :eek: when was this review?
vantheman32
23 Jul 2008, 19:22
Ever again you are a twit who ever you are
George 08
23 Jul 2008, 19:27
Ever again you are a twit who ever you are
obviously its someone making it up! did the coach come out with this openly or just suggested it? would be very ordinary if the coach did and find it very hard to believe! when was this review?
vantheman32
23 Jul 2008, 20:00
review is the local paper released on tuesday, a terrible article was written very similar to that of the star paper.
bearsboy
24 Jul 2008, 10:44
obviously its someone making it up! did the coach come out with this openly or just suggested it? would be very ordinary if the coach did and find it very hard to believe! when was this review?The Kilmore coach comes across as a bit of a tool.
He made some terrible calls pre-season if i remember correctly.
You dont have to explain yourself on here Van but stick to your guns son.
We will have you at Gisborne next year if your interested :thumbsu:
Itsmyshow
24 Jul 2008, 11:42
Word is that Hawthorn are sending a scout down to next weeks Riddell Vs Centrals to have a look at "a more senior draftable prospect" for next years draft.
Trueblueroo
24 Jul 2008, 11:48
Word is that Hawthorn are sending a scout down to next weeks Riddell Vs Centrals to have a look at "a more senior draftable prospect" for next years draft.
Won't be the only club watching either
Itsmyshow
24 Jul 2008, 12:40
Thanks for the offer Omni.. Would love some specialist coaching advice.. See you there... :thumbsu:
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2008, 12:40
Won't be the only club watching either
Robbo??
4thburra
24 Jul 2008, 12:52
ben sonogan - gun
has the ability
MustonMagic17
24 Jul 2008, 13:14
His not mature though surely??