View Full Version : RDFL Thread 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

Mongrel
27 Sep 2007, 17:21
2008 COACHING APPOINTMENTS
2008 PLAYER MOVEMENTS
2008 PREDICTIONS

With such a successful season just completed for 2007,one can only imagine what the rdfl has to offer next season.the standard is improving and 2008 lets hope goes to a new level again

Mongrel
27 Sep 2007, 17:38
will scotty trezise be coaching at riddell again?

Grubby_3
27 Sep 2007, 17:49
i think he should apart from one bad quarter he done a great job :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Mongrel
27 Sep 2007, 17:55
i think he should apart from one bad quarter he done a great job :thumbsu::thumbsu:

diggers hopkins?
macedon available?
kangas ?????
lancefield collins
romsey ????
riddell ????
rockbank ???
melton ????
woodend giddings?
kilmore ??

Grubby_3
27 Sep 2007, 17:56
2008 COACHING APPOINTMENTS
2008 PLAYER MOVEMENTS
2008 PREDICTIONS

With such a successful season just completed for 2007,one can only imagine what the rdfl has to offer next season.the standard is improving and 2008 lets hope goes to a new level again
mark mcinerney looking to return to gisborne

Mongrel
27 Sep 2007, 18:00
mark mcinerney looking to return to gisborne

at least the kangas will keep the better brother:D
should i get out the cheque book? i cant let him go to gisborne

Grubby_3
27 Sep 2007, 18:02
at least the kangas will keep the better brother:D
should i get out the cheque book? i cant let him go to gisborne
you should return with us

Mongrel
27 Sep 2007, 18:05
you should return with us

i wouldnt get a game.too fat and crippled.
will we ever see l.grub in a cats jumper b4 he hangs them up?

Grubby_3
27 Sep 2007, 18:07
never say never mate. oh just found out mark already signed at kangas next year.

Grubby_3
27 Sep 2007, 18:10
maybe if you coach im sure it would be on the cards

BDR68
27 Sep 2007, 19:32
Good question!!!!! I've gotta stop CHOKING first. I would love to go around again, Riddell have some great kids that will be back next year and if I can entice some of the older (not me Older) guys to play on should be a another good year. Congrats to your boys on Sunday to win a Granny in 25 minutes was well done :mad::confused:

Mongrel
28 Sep 2007, 16:56
Good question!!!!! I've gotta stop CHOKING first. I would love to go around again, Riddell have some great kids that will be back next year and if I can entice some of the older (not me Older) guys to play on should be a another good year. Congrats to your boys on Sunday to win a Granny in 25 minutes was well done :mad::confused:

nothing wrong with the old blokes scotty:D

future29
30 Sep 2007, 23:57
whitmar to kilmore this year m,ay just be the player they need ot take em the next step. Played at port colts all this year and just never broke in with injuries etc fully fit could b the player to replace robertson should he leave already a league bnf in the rdfl tall and can jump over a house. could open up there midfield division a lot. goudge fully fit and uninjured. hede actually fit and with the younger blokes with that first year under their belt kilmore shoudl defs push for finals next year. How do you fellas rate young ramsdale from kilmore the kids me best mate and he done fairly well considering this was his first year in senior footy. is putting up a big pre season give me your thoughts.

WISH_I_COULD_KICK
1 Oct 2007, 08:06
greenshields will be centrals coach for 08,along with a couple of whispers of some recruits hopefully have a better year than 07.

NotDoneYet
1 Oct 2007, 12:56
[quote=Mongrel;8943462]2008 COACHING APPOINTMENTS
2008 PLAYER MOVEMENTS
2008 PREDICTIONS

G.Ploog not playing next year due to other comittments.
Hopkins is coaching Diggers. Havent the Kangas appointed Dixon yet?

Mongrel
1 Oct 2007, 16:46
[quote=Mongrel;8943462]2008 COACHING APPOINTMENTS
2008 PLAYER MOVEMENTS
2008 PREDICTIONS

G.Ploog not playing next year due to other comittments.
Hopkins is coaching Diggers. Havent the Kangas appointed Dixon yet?

aaron james may be planning a return to the r.d.f.l
likely club will be kilmore or sunbury

discreet1
1 Oct 2007, 17:18
[quote=NotDoneYet;8983842]

aaron james may be planning a return to the r.d.f.l
likely club will be kilmore or sunbury

- Lacey definately returning to the hawks for 2008

- Levi Moss apparently going from Gisborne to Riddell

Gimme_Money
1 Oct 2007, 17:31
never say never mate. oh just found out mark already signed at kangas next year.
he has not put pen to paper as yet.also hear luke saunders may coach gisborne next year

Rodriguez
1 Oct 2007, 18:13
[quote=Mongrel;8988158]

- Lacey definately returning to the hawks for 2008

- Levi Moss apparently going from Gisborne to Riddell

Don't know about Lacy, I imagine runner for Richmond is a tough job to walk away form..

dweeb
1 Oct 2007, 20:14
Matt Welsh considering having a year off to spend more time with his missus

Animosity
1 Oct 2007, 21:55
I heard it was to go to gift wrapping school as his efforts proved quite time consuming in 07 :D

NotDoneYet
2 Oct 2007, 08:31
Matt Welsh considering having a year off to spend more time with his missus

hahaha yeah i heard that too, they wanted to make saturday there day together, not have to spend it at the footy all the time..

Mongrel
2 Oct 2007, 08:35
he has not put pen to paper as yet.also hear luke saunders may coach gisborne next year

whatever happened to a players WORD meaning something?

Animosity
2 Oct 2007, 16:49
T Edwards returning to Kanga land :thumbsu::thumbsu:

thepres
2 Oct 2007, 21:11
Have just heard that due to family & work commitments Lee James will not be going back to Mulwala FC next year and wants to play with a club closer to home.
Does anyone have any more info.....

Itsmyshow
4 Oct 2007, 10:17
Jarrod Dixon reappointed coach of the Sunbury Kangaroos...

Grubby_3
5 Oct 2007, 16:21
rumor has it a james close to returning to kangaroos

Hawker28
5 Oct 2007, 16:49
is this true? or is this the start of season 08 argy bargy?

Dasher_23
6 Oct 2007, 10:33
Surely they would not have James back?

ozdevil1978
6 Oct 2007, 18:47
brendan chugg from werribee centrals where he was captain there to melton centrals 2 play with his mate wheels and maybe another of wheels mates going there who grew up with wheels in sunshine!!!!!!

Gimme_Money
8 Oct 2007, 11:35
whatever happened to a players WORD meaning something?
he just wanted to find out who was assistant before he said he would stay:thumbsu:

footballtragic
8 Oct 2007, 12:43
rumor has it a james close to returning to kangaroos

RDFL will not allow Aaron James to return. They will not clear him or register him so Kanagroos should put efforts into other players

Uncle_Touchy
11 Oct 2007, 16:59
heath wadden 8 weeks.great footballer,and a very respectable career.
it would be a shame if that was his last game.very disappointing to see a footballer with so much talent to finish up this way.thats not to suggest he is retired,i suppose a lot will depend on the leagues disgression

Hawktawka
11 Oct 2007, 20:32
it would be a shame if that was his last game.very disappointing to see a footballer with so much talent to finish up this way.thats not to suggest he is retired,i suppose a lot will depend on the leagues disgression

R U kidding. no one made him make an ass of himself.

His choice how he goes out.

Hawktawka
11 Oct 2007, 20:34
RDFL will not allow Aaron James to return. They will not clear him or register him so Kanagroos should put efforts into other players

RDFL had a great year without him. Why cant 2008 be the same?

Uncle_Touchy
12 Oct 2007, 07:29
R U kidding. no one made him make an ass of himself.

His choice how he goes out.sometimes posts on the thread can be read in lots of different ways.what i meant was it would be a disappointing way from waddens personal point of view to go out this way.no player would be very proud of that sort of performance,especially if its the last game 4 him to remember.

Uncle_Touchy
12 Oct 2007, 07:37
RDFL had a great year without him. Why cant 2008 be the same?

what a ridiculous comment.why would there be a problem?
new rdfl general manager,overhalled tribunal,better protection from the off field antics,and a chance to play in the league he began his carrer in, after serving his penalty,he has the same right as anyone else to play again.

SM10
13 Oct 2007, 13:40
He got a life ban.

Mongrel
16 Oct 2007, 09:03
CONGRATULATIONS TO ROB BEATSON.
the newest addition to the mighty macedon life members group.all the hard work you have put in over numerous years and your loyalty is something to be very proud of.not to forget your coaching success.
from a past player i congratulate you,and hope the club can secure more people of your quality in the near future:thumbsu:

Hawktawka
16 Oct 2007, 14:07
new rdfl general manager,overhalled tribunal,better protection from the off field antics,and a chance to play in the league he began his carrer in, after serving his penalty,he has the same right as anyone else to play again.

I suppose the words "track record" comes to mind.

Mongrel
16 Oct 2007, 15:47
I suppose the words "track record" comes to mind.

can u tell me how many times jamesy has been suspended in his career of 24 years? once you tell me that,id be happy to discuss the issue with u further.track record,very good.mistakes,yes there is one that comes to all our minds.but he served a hefty penalty and came back better from it.
perhaps check his track record after his penalty was served

rightfoot_sloth
16 Oct 2007, 16:26
can u tell me how many times jamesy has been suspended in his career of 24 years? once you tell me that,id be happy to discuss the issue with u further.track record,very good.mistakes,yes there is one that comes to all our minds.but he served a hefty penalty and came back better from it.
perhaps check his track record after his penalty was served

Agreed Mongrel ... Played a lot of my underage footy with him. I reckon he might have got reported once or twice over the 5 years we played together. So if that indicates a tainted record ... I am not a sloth ! Everyone makes mistakes and he would acknowledge that he did stuff up. His inclusion would certainly increase the standard of the comp regardless who he plays for from Rockbank to Kilmore and all clubs in between. Almost all clubs would love to have him come round one in 2008 !

Mongrel
16 Oct 2007, 16:52
Agreed Mongrel ... Played a lot of my underage footy with him. I reckon he might have got reported once or twice over the 5 years we played together. So if that indicates a tainted record ... I am not a sloth ! Everyone makes mistakes and he would acknowledge that he did stuff up. His inclusion would certainly increase the standard of the comp regardless who he plays for from Rockbank to Kilmore and all clubs in between. Almost all clubs would love to have him come round one in 2008 !

thats a very unbiased call sloth.great call:thumbsu::thumbsu:

billylid
17 Oct 2007, 14:22
thats a very unbiased call sloth.great call:thumbsu::thumbsu:

if he has done his time then why wouldnt be available to play in the RDFL ... Mongrel what are the chances of him coming back to the Roos if high maybe i might put a few bob on with Matty nicholls now for the flag In 08

MyopicOne
17 Oct 2007, 16:06

What always seems ridiculous is why this is continually a topic. None of those factors you mention above should have any impact on how the lad plays football. If he put his head down, bum up and didn't react to the inane comments from morons in the outer he might still be playing AFL, VFL, WRFL, EDFL, NFL, RDFL or KDFL.

Can any club be 100% confident that he won't transgress again?

There's a real good example this week that sometimes the headache can't be cured by a couple of panadols.

He had his opportunity in this League. It's time for everyone to let it go and move on. (but somehow, I don't think we will)

Mongrel
17 Oct 2007, 16:26
if he has done his time then why wouldnt be available to play in the RDFL ... Mongrel what are the chances of him coming back to the Roos if high maybe i might put a few bob on with Matty nicholls now for the flag In 08

as long as the league accepts that he has finished his pennance,and allows him a deserved second chance,he is a definate starter.and after his performance this year i have no doubt the rdfl will take full benefit of a disciplined aaron james at his best.kicking bags of goals and drawing massive crowds.and maybe his fat little mate might play beside him:confused::D

MyopicOne
17 Oct 2007, 17:28
as long as the league accepts that he has finished his pennance,and allows him a deserved second chance,he is a definate starter.and after his performance this year i have no doubt the rdfl will take full benefit of a disciplined aaron james at his best.kicking bags of goals and drawing massive crowds.and maybe his fat little mate might play beside him:confused::D

While it will be undoubtedly down to the League to allow him to play. Isn't he over 16 weeks?

The biggest hurdle is your first sentence. Aaron has to accept that nothing this time around is going to be any different to what it was before. The crowd will still abuse him and he might not get every free kick. If he can't handle that again he won't last five minutes.

I won't pretend to know Aaron as well as you, but he seems like one of those blokes who has been given a lot of second chances. How has he deserved the second chance this time?

I would have thought if he felt he owed the Kangas anything he might have played the last three games to show everyone that he was committed to their cause.

I reckon you worked it out that it is hard enough getting a kick without taking everyone on and you appear to be enjoying your footy accordingly.

If the Kangaroos believe this is a long term solution to the development of a culture of success at their club, then they are kidding themselves.

discreet1
17 Oct 2007, 18:31

How can he be judged on 3 games and finals?? Didnt he sit the first 15 or 16 weeks out this season?? Bit hard to make a judgement on a handful of games. :confused::confused:

footy mad 2
17 Oct 2007, 19:44
How can he be judged on 3 games and finals?? Didnt he sit the first 15 or 16 weeks out this season?? Bit hard to make a judgement on a handful of games. :confused::confused:

well maybe the rdfl should have a serious look at itself about protecting players who consistently receive such treatment. I thought that after several weeks of having threats made they may have used some of the money he generated to put a couple of security guards to keep check on supporters and enforce there rule that peple can be barred.
If you had said and done to you week in week out I hope you would do the same. Its called having a spine.
Everyone is saying no A James, I can see your point.
Can you see mine when I say P**s of your D**KH**D supporters and players and lets make this league a powerhouse like it used to be.

MyopicOne
17 Oct 2007, 20:25
well maybe the rdfl should have a serious look at itself about protecting players who consistently receive such treatment. I thought that after several weeks of having threats made they may have used some of the money he generated to put a couple of security guards to keep check on supporters and enforce there rule that peple can be barred.
If you had said and done to you week in week out I hope you would do the same. Its called having a spine.
Can you see mine when I say P**s of your D**KH**D supporters and players and lets make this league a powerhouse like it used to be.

Who are the other players that have needed to be protected in the RDFL in recent years? Bloke with same surname kicked a lot of goals, don't think he had any problems.
Or perhaps the League could have a spine beef up security at all games and charge it to the clubs? I'm sure they'd all share the cost for one player. Perhaps even put fences up around the boundary you peanut?
Or maybe one bloke, cos it is only one, could just show some self control and people might stop making him a target. Idiots know they'll suck him in and will drive for miles to do it.

Reckon better off putting energy into what will be a very interesting season in 2008, as all the other Leagues struggle for grounds the RDFL should be right to go straight away.

footy mad 2
17 Oct 2007, 20:39
Who are the other players that have needed to be protected in the RDFL in recent years? Bloke with same surname kicked a lot of goals, don't think he had any problems.
Or perhaps the League could have a spine beef up security at all games and charge it to the clubs? I'm sure they'd all share the cost for one player. Perhaps even put fences up around the boundary you peanut?
Or maybe one bloke, cos it is only one, could just show some self control and people might stop making him a target. Idiots know they'll suck him in and will drive for miles to do it.

Reckon better off putting energy into what will be a very interesting season in 2008, as all the other Leagues struggle for grounds the RDFL should be right to go straight away.

PEANUT?
I'm the peanut?

The league has a duty to protect its players, umpires, and spectators.
People like you hide behind a fence and abuse players and expect that no matter what you say nothing can happen to you.
The league needs to step up to the next level and eject and ban people that are creating a disturbance.
You can not honestly stand up for people or FOOTBALL CLUBS that made it there job to try to put him off his game. This is not in the spirit.

Mongrel
18 Oct 2007, 07:30

no comparison between the two james boys.one was a local footballer and the other played at the elite.theres no need to make a big issue out of this.just if he does play rdfl again,perhaps a bit more security at the games and bobs ya uncle.NO NOT UNCLE TOUCHY EITHER:D
anyway enuff of jamesy

Trottyboya
18 Oct 2007, 08:08
if he has done his time then why wouldnt be available to play in the RDFL ... Mongrel what are the chances of him coming to the Roos if high maybe i might put a few bob on with Matty nicholls now for the flag In 08

Broadford wear Kangaroos jumpers maybe he could play there didnt Doona hook him up with to play at Stanhope as a favour to a mate

blues12
18 Oct 2007, 10:32
all this talk, does anybody actually know if he is leaving stanhope? after 6 games and a premiership

matt_nicholls
18 Oct 2007, 11:01
I've kept quiet on this, wanting to read people's opinions first.

But I have to say that I would be extremely disappointed if Aaron James returned to the RDFL, whether it be for the Kangaroos or Blues.

He was a menace in 2006 and although there were some idiots taunting him, he has no excuse for his behaviour.

His reaction at the tribunal after copping a two-year ban was disgraceful, and if he loses his temper again on the football field he could seriously injure someone.

The RDFL is slowly becoming stronger, and its great to attract "high profile" players. But a reputation for being a thug's competition we do not want. In the four games I saw Aaron James partake in last year I think it is safe to say he played like a thug.

NotDoneYet
18 Oct 2007, 11:23
all this talk, does anybody actually know if he is leaving stanhope? after 6 games and a premiership

I quote from Kangaroos coach J. Dixon " If the kangaroos coaches and commitee want A.James, he will play there next year"

Looks like they have a big decision on their hand down at kangaroo land

Mongrel
18 Oct 2007, 11:49

But I have to say that I would be extremely disappointed if Aaron James returned to the RDFL, whether it be for the Kangaroos or Blues.

He was a menace in 2006 and although there were some idiots taunting him, he has no excuse for his behaviour.

His reaction at the tribunal after copping a two-year ban was disgraceful, and if he loses his temper again on the football field he could seriously injure someone.

The RDFL is slowly becoming stronger, and its great to attract "high profile" players. But a reputation for being a thug's competition we do not want. In the four games I saw Aaron James partake in last year I think it is safe to say he played like a thug.

my last post on this issue.what are u smoking matt?THUG. you have got to be joking.theres many people that have opinions on aaron,but thug is laughable.i cant beleive youve actually played and umpired footy.
because you just dont seem to have a grasp on the game.it sounds like his size intimidates you as well.
"if he loses his temper again he could seriously injure someone" ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.worst call ever matt.go and stick to ya knitting classes.its a mans sport that obviously doesnt suit you:D

SWANNEES
18 Oct 2007, 15:31
my last post on this issue.what are u smoking matt?THUG. you have got to be joking.theres many people that have opinions on aaron,but thug is laughable.i cant beleive youve actually played and umpired footy.
because you just dont seem to have a grasp on the game.it sounds like his size intimidates you as well.
"if he loses his temper again he could seriously injure someone" ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.worst call ever matt.go and stick to ya knitting classes.its a mans sport that obviously doesnt suit you:D

saw jamed play in wrfl several times,undiscipled yes, vigorous yes,
team player no, reliable no, THUG NO.

vantheman32
18 Oct 2007, 15:33
Wallan supposedly back in RDFL 2008? anyone confirm ?

Mongrel
18 Oct 2007, 16:33
Wallan supposedly back in RDFL 2008? anyone confirm ?

havent heard anything about that yet van.last time it was mentioned i beleive the vote from the wallan footy club was to stay where they are

Grubby_3
18 Oct 2007, 17:37

matt you scared little pussy cat. if a.james was a thug dont you think he would have jumped the fence when d heads threw rocks at him or went after the f wit who yelled out from behind the fence that he hopes his unborn child dies. thug i think not.

discreet1
18 Oct 2007, 21:14

"Can you see mine when I say P**s of your D**KH**D supporters and players and lets make this league a powerhouse like it used to be.[/quote]"

Im assuming your talking about him here?? Hasnt the league already done that?
Why would they take him back?? Didnt he throw a chair in the tribunal hearing last time?? :confused::confused:

footy mad 2
18 Oct 2007, 21:59
You have got me there. As you know i was talking about the players on the outside of the fence that made it there duty to make him do what he ended up doing. (any person subject to what he was would do the same.) All that I can say is if the league had shown any diligence in the handling of this matter it would have never gotten to where it did. By the responses on this forum it looks like things wont have changeds if he comes back. what a shame.
Recently I have tried to influence some high profile x players to come play rdfl and the example of spectator performance and lack of protection has come up twice with people who now have families and dont need the shit.
How suprised i was when they would prefer to play wrfl than our league.
This is something all suporters need to think about next time they watch a game. No matter who is playing.

Mongrel
19 Oct 2007, 07:22
good call footymad2.:thumbsu:
and discreet1 i have always respected your opinion on this thread.but in this case i dont have to agree with it;)

Wing Nut
19 Oct 2007, 10:49
I doubt wallan would be able to join the rdfl next season, maybe 2009

matt_nicholls
19 Oct 2007, 10:51

You never know :p

discreet1
19 Oct 2007, 17:42
good call footymad2.:thumbsu:
and discreet1 i have always respected your opinion on this thread.but in this case i dont have to agree with it;)

Thats ok Mongrel, we all have different opinions. I totally agree with wiping out the 'throwing things at players' and 'very personal sledges' etc.. which is completely unacceptable but its hard to draw a line with spectators and whats acceptable/not acceptable and police it throughout a season. Given his track record in the past, does the league take another chance of the same thing happening as soon as he is abused etc... and would Sunbury want the negative publicity etc.. again just as they are rebuilding and starting to move somewhere??

Lots of questions to be asked!!:rolleyes:

future29
19 Oct 2007, 18:39
if you cant handle the heat in the kitchen get out.
Betcha he didnt mind the massive pay chek he got after each game. it comes with the territory u wanna play footy u gotta cop shit from supporters mayb they went over board but any half profesional person would have dealt with it in correct measures. Hes a high profile player he gets high profile pay cheks hes gotta cop the high profile attention. end of story

dwyane WADE show
20 Oct 2007, 12:35

being from wallan if we dont move at the end of this season, we will never move. its as simple as that

MustonMagic17
21 Oct 2007, 13:06
if james returns to the rdfl it will be with the roos not blues,he approached the blues in early 2007 offering to play for reduced rates and kilmore said no,i cant see why that would change in 2008

It Is Me
22 Oct 2007, 18:15
Wallan's new committee is looking into the move to RDFL for 2008 but time may be against the move. We'll see soon enough.

Harry Wilson
25 Oct 2007, 14:02
PEANUT?
I'm the peanut?

The league has a duty to protect its players, umpires, and spectators.
People like you hide behind a fence and abuse players and expect that no matter what you say nothing can happen to you.
The league needs to step up to the next level and eject and ban people that are creating a disturbance.
You can not honestly stand up for people or FOOTBALL CLUBS that made it there job to try to put him off his game. This is not in the spirit.

Just looking at the highlighted comment above and couldn't help but think about this for a few minutes and come to a conclusion.......

I agree, this is NOT the spirit, but let's just face reality for a minute. This happens to every high profile player in every league. If you go to the AFL, Nathan Buckley cops everything, Brendon Fevola cops everything. This is a problem that occurs from the top (AFL) right down to grass roots footy.

Having said that, from a Romsey perspective, a certain player for our club is on the receiving end of a hell of a lot of "directed advice" week in, week out and no other club is more willing to pass on "advice" to Brydan Morgan than the Sunbury Kangaroos. Now let me qualify my comments, I have watched the Roos turn from a rabble into the successful and respected club they are today and by no means am I sledging the club for the comments made, the point I am making is it is the supporters and the spectators that insite the retaliations from the players. More often than not the cluns find it very difficult to control the words that come out of the mouths of very proud and passionate supporters. Some players respond like Brydan did, go even harder at the footy, kicked goals and was pivotal in the Romsey win that day, on the other hand some players retaliate by abusing the crowd, mouthing off to spectators and starting fights with opposition players.

Personally I couldn't care less if A James plays again, good luck to him and the club he plays for, it will only make the backmen for opposition sides a lot more accountable, and in turn it will put a lot more pressure on the opposition midfield to cut off the supply to him. These things are all good for footy. What I can say is, if he does come back maybe he would need to be on some sort of 12 month probation, given the nature of his last offence and the incident that occurred in the tribunal hearing.

The probation may include a set penalty for different offences ie, if he is reported and found guilty for swearing or abuse to an umpire, immediate minimum of 6 weeks, if he is found guilty for any level of stricking then perhaps he misses at least 8 weeks. These penalties would therefore act as a deterant rather than wondering how many he "may" get, which would possibly make him think about his actions prior to acting on them. This is just something I was thinking of to qualify my comments regarding the probation. Although on the other hand if he is granted entrance back into the RDFL then shouldn't he be on the same level playing field as everyone else?

Jack_Bauer
25 Oct 2007, 21:02
Well said Harry.
Lots of people have copped shit before from the fans over the fence. Some more than others. Personally, I think if you are copping shit you must be a pretty handy player. It's only the good players that people want to put off their game. The thing is IMO how players deal with the shit. Good players with strong character will turn it on and dominate the game. Opposition fans will soon realise that making them angry makes them play better and they will shut up pretty quickly. People with weak character and no self-control will jump the fence and get into the crowd.

I didn't see Andrew Symonds jump into the crowd during the recent tour of India, but I did see him smash 107 not out in a game to sink the "Edited" I'm pretty sure he got player of the series too.

I would love to see jamesy back in the comp. He has served his sentence and should be able to play. He will however cop shit from the side lines. That is a given. I suggest he lets his goal kicking do the talking. A couple of bags of ten in some early games will shut up opposition supportes pretty quickly.

NotDoneYet
26 Oct 2007, 10:10
Enough of Jamesy people. If he plays he plays let it be for now.

Lets get the ball rolling with some action ive heard for 2008 so far
Riddel - M. Kelly and A. Mcabe signed from sunbury lions
Romsey - Matty mclelan not playing next year
Sunbury - Tim Rhodes signed but may have lost of few young guns

Other teams not too sure at this stage. Feel free anyone to add to the list

Doona2
26 Oct 2007, 10:45
How was the head this morning Van and how did you end up faring last night did u get amongst it :D Was told the Blues have conducted their interviews and a coach should be announced shortly after speaking with some impressive applicants.

Best wishes to Tez also who has moved up Echuca way :thumbsu:

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
26 Oct 2007, 13:46
any confirmation on finchy and MK...

also who r the young guns that the kangaroos are looking at losing??

i have heard bout timmy @ kangaland also so im guessing that 1 is no secret..

Ballsy
26 Oct 2007, 17:14
Wallen to get voted in on Monday night at the RDFL presidents meeting ??Would create a bye in the seniors the league want them in but will the clubs oppose , this they are struggling in 2nd Division DVFL. Heres a curly one for you ,maybe Halful can answer this- Omnipotent contemplating sitting on the tribunal now that would be interesting. How do you reckon you would go Grub with him??

Hawker28
26 Oct 2007, 17:48
Wallen to get voted in on Monday night at the RDFL presidents meeting ??Would create a bye in the seniors the league want them in but will the clubs oppose , this they are struggling in 2nd Division DVFL. Heres a curly one for you ,maybe Halful can answer this- Omnipotent contemplating sitting on the tribunal now that would be interesting. How do you reckon you would go Grub with him??

i doubt whether omni would have the right temperament 4 this tribunal:confused:
one must be outdated,know bugger all about the game,have his verdict decided b4 the player enters the building,and one must make sure he attends the game that the offence occurred at.

NotDoneYet
26 Oct 2007, 17:55

Rumours are that M. Welsh, J. Baddeley, J. House, L. Smith, D. Ellery will not play

Mongrel
26 Oct 2007, 18:06

Rumours are that M. Welsh, J. Baddeley, J. House, L. Smith, D. Ellery will not play

you said it thommo. RUMOURS.
they are all required players and at this time of the year,who doesnt wanna forget football.give it another 6 weeks and everyone will be missing footy again

Grubby_3
26 Oct 2007, 21:58

i would probably get life.....:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Grubby_3
26 Oct 2007, 21:59
they are all required players and at this time of the year,who doesnt wanna forget football.give it another 6 weeks and everyone will be missing footy again

i wont be missing it mate:):):)

Halffullonfence
27 Oct 2007, 00:18
one must be outdated,know bugger all about the game,have his verdict decided b4 the player enters the building,and one must make sure he attends the game that the offence occurred at.

Sad but true.

Halffullonfence
27 Oct 2007, 09:45

Think the guys at head office are looking to revamp the tribunal with an AFL delegate to chair it.

NotDoneYet
27 Oct 2007, 10:26

Thats right Deano thats why i said rumours. No Confirmation yet.. We got a few ourselves down at diggers but i wont mention any of those.. Are you pulling the boots on again mate or just gonna be the assistant?

BDR68
27 Oct 2007, 12:44
Gday mongrel, not long to go now... the count down begins! Can anyone tell me what the actual credentials required are to apply to sit on the tribunal. maybe u and I can apply Deano!!!!!!!!!! That would be interesting viewing. Rotate in Grubb, Waddsy, Brinks and Colesy???????????

OMNIPOTENT_1
27 Oct 2007, 19:20

Fair points pal. :D
Guess we will just have to see............................... MAYBE ! :cool:

Mongrel
29 Oct 2007, 07:44
Gday mongrel, not long to go now... the count down begins! Can anyone tell me what the actual credentials required are to apply to sit on the tribunal. maybe u and I can apply Deano!!!!!!!!!! That would be interesting viewing. Rotate in Grubb, Waddsy, Brinks and Colesy???????????

ill have you notice big scotty that 3 out of the 5 rdfl bad boys u just mentioned are from riddell.theres definately a bad element down there at riddell:D:D:D

Rodriguez
29 Oct 2007, 08:56
Can anyone tell me a young fella by the name of Brett Shae goes? I believe he played for Wooden this season.

Got his chance at the end of the year and did well. Pretty athletic and did some good jobs for us!

rightfoot_sloth
29 Oct 2007, 13:08
Just saw on the Kilmore site they have released the name of their new senior coach. It is Campbell Speers ... I did a quick google and found he has played footy at Craigieburn. Has anyone got information on him ? Is he going to be a playing coach or non playing ? :thumbsu:

vantheman32
29 Oct 2007, 13:20
campbell came to the club last yr, he played a few senior games and a few reserve games, hes much loved at the club as he is a character of the game. he coached the under 14 junior club. but his experience from senior footy will make him a very good coach, his main principls will be work ethic, discipline. he is a very good communicater which is prob what got him the job, confident he will be great for the club. non playing coach i belive

BDR68
29 Oct 2007, 13:34
ill have you notice big scotty that 3 out of the 5 rdfl bad boys u just mentioned are from riddell.theres definately a bad element down there at riddell:D:D:D

Also mention 3 retired, 1 should be, 1 might be!!!!!!!.:):):):D

Mongrel
29 Oct 2007, 16:21
Also mention 3 retired, 1 should be, 1 might be!!!!!!!.:):):):D

care to elaborate big fella?

matt_nicholls
30 Oct 2007, 09:32
The time is now

by Matt Nicholls

CAMPBELL Speers, an astute professional with over 17 years of senior football experience, was appointed as a non-playing senior coach of the Kilmore Football Club last week.
Already he has big plans for the Blues in 2008.
“We’re not playing to make the finals,” he said.
“We’re playing to win a premiership. I wouldn’t have taken the job if the best we could finish is fourth or fifth, the time is now for the Kilmore Football Club.”
The local father of three said last season’s list had the potential to be anything, but lacked the discipline and desire to really challenge the top sides.
While Speers believes it’s important to retain all listed players, he said that he was only interested in players who were prepared to commit to the Blues’ premiership goal for 2008.
“We had a huge opportunity to go all the way last season. There is no side in the Riddell District League that we can’t beat if we play well,” he said.
Despite being appointed on Friday, Speers has spent the better part of a month talking to prospective players from around Victoria in anticipation that he would get the job.
He said he wasn’t cocky about getting the coaching gig, but believed that if he didn’t start recruiting a month ago, he wouldn’t be in a strong position to obtain players now.
Without giving names, Speers is confident he can lure at least one or two ruckmen, some classy onballers and some key position talls.
Having played junior football in Lalor, Speers played for Carlton’s Under 19s, which is the equivalent to what the TAC Cup is now.
From there he went to Southport to play a season in the QAFL, before returning to Lalor.
The now 37-year-old also spent a season for North Launceston in the Tasmanian State League under the coaching of former Carlton great David Rhys-Jones.
After short stints at Lalor and Mernda, Speers unwound his career at Craigieburn, where he spent the best part of a decade.
Last season, Speers played five games for the Blues – three in the reserves and two in the seniors.
He was also the coach of Kilmore’s Under 14 side where he took a side no-one expected to make finals into the grand final.
HIGH STANDARDS
Speers believes the key ingredient to success next year will be total commitment from the playing group.
“If guys don’t meet the standards we set they won’t play senior footy.”
Pre-season will be tough for the Blues this summer, but not unmanageable.
According to Speers, players will be required to do two basic things over pre-season, running and ball work.
“Our skills were shocking last year. The main difference between us and the top sides was our turnovers,” he said.
“In RDFL footy, every side runs forward, few run back the other way. Those who don’t play two-ways won’t play senior footy at Kilmore.”
While drawing a tough line, Speers is one of the most popular blokes off the field. He has a natural charisma and is deemed to be the off-field joker.
But when it comes to football there is no time for jokes.
Speers plans to treat his players professionally, and change the entire culture of the club.
“We’re going to take Kilmore to a new level of professionalism never seen before.”
A big percentages man, the new coach believes it’s important to play the odds in football.
“If you have the ball in the back-flank and you have two options, to either switch the ball back through the other side, or to play the boundary, we want our players to take the option that is both in favour of us getting the ball up forward, and also reducing the chance of getting a goal kicked if the ball does turnover.”
Speers will be assisted on the sidelines by John Bordignon, a former Broadford captain/coach who also had success at Tullamarine for many years.
Kilmore will also be boosted with an Under 18s side, which Speers said is a definite next year.
“Nathan Phillips will coach the boys. he’s played a really good brand of footy before, only to be cut down by injuries.”
The position of reserves’ coach is likely to be finalised this week.
MEET THE COACH
On Monday, November 12, Speers is offering a presentation to all prospective Kilmore players, supporters, sponsors, friends and family.
“It will basically be what next year is going to be about,” he said.
“We want Kilmore boys to return to Kilmore. The time is now. Kilmore Football Club will not accept anything less than a premiership next year.
“Get on board!”

BDR68
30 Oct 2007, 09:44
care to elaborate big fella?

Certainly my good friend.... Coles, Wadden,Brinks gone.. Me should be!.. and You haven't made ya mind up yet...... or have you????? Only time will tell my good man.:) 173 days to go :thumbsu:

BDR68
30 Oct 2007, 09:46
The time is now

by Matt Nicholls

CAMPBELL Speers, an astute professional with over 17 years of senior football experience, was appointed as a non-playing senior coach of the Kilmore Football Club last week.
Already he has big plans for the Blues in 2008.
“We’re not playing to make the finals,” he said.
“We’re playing to win a premiership. I wouldn’t have taken the job if the best we could finish is fourth or fifth, the time is now for the Kilmore Football Club.”
The local father of three said last season’s list had the potential to be anything, but lacked the discipline and desire to really challenge the top sides.
While Speers believes it’s important to retain all listed players, he said that he was only interested in players who were prepared to commit to the Blues’ premiership goal for 2008.
“We had a huge opportunity to go all the way last season. There is no side in the Riddell District League that we can’t beat if we play well,” he said.
Despite being appointed on Friday, Speers has spent the better part of a month talking to prospective players from around Victoria in anticipation that he would get the job.
He said he wasn’t cocky about getting the coaching gig, but believed that if he didn’t start recruiting a month ago, he wouldn’t be in a strong position to obtain players now.
Without giving names, Speers is confident he can lure at least one or two ruckmen, some classy onballers and some key position talls.
Having played junior football in Lalor, Speers played for Carlton’s Under 19s, which is the equivalent to what the TAC Cup is now.
From there he went to Southport to play a season in the QAFL, before returning to Lalor.
The now 37-year-old also spent a season for North Launceston in the Tasmanian State League under the coaching of former Carlton great David Rhys-Jones.
After short stints at Lalor and Mernda, Speers unwound his career at Craigieburn, where he spent the best part of a decade.
Last season, Speers played five games for the Blues – three in the reserves and two in the seniors.
He was also the coach of Kilmore’s Under 14 side where he took a side no-one expected to make finals into the grand final.
HIGH STANDARDS
Speers believes the key ingredient to success next year will be total commitment from the playing group.
“If guys don’t meet the standards we set they won’t play senior footy.”
Pre-season will be tough for the Blues this summer, but not unmanageable.
According to Speers, players will be required to do two basic things over pre-season, running and ball work.
“Our skills were shocking last year. The main difference between us and the top sides was our turnovers,” he said.
“In RDFL footy, every side runs forward, few run back the other way. Those who don’t play two-ways won’t play senior footy at Kilmore.”
While drawing a tough line, Speers is one of the most popular blokes off the field. He has a natural charisma and is deemed to be the off-field joker.
But when it comes to football there is no time for jokes.
Speers plans to treat his players professionally, and change the entire culture of the club.
“We’re going to take Kilmore to a new level of professionalism never seen before.”
A big percentages man, the new coach believes it’s important to play the odds in football.
“If you have the ball in the back-flank and you have two options, to either switch the ball back through the other side, or to play the boundary, we want our players to take the option that is both in favour of us getting the ball up forward, and also reducing the chance of getting a goal kicked if the ball does turnover.”
Speers will be assisted on the sidelines by John Bordignon, a former Broadford captain/coach who also had success at Tullamarine for many years.
Kilmore will also be boosted with an Under 18s side, which Speers said is a definite next year.
“Nathan Phillips will coach the boys. he’s played a really good brand of footy before, only to be cut down by injuries.”
The position of reserves’ coach is likely to be finalised this week.
MEET THE COACH
On Monday, November 12, Speers is offering a presentation to all prospective Kilmore players, supporters, sponsors, friends and family.
“It will basically be what next year is going to be about,” he said.
“We want Kilmore boys to return to Kilmore. The time is now. Kilmore Football Club will not accept anything less than a premiership next year.
“Get on board!”
Good post Matty.. Can you help me with the criteria needed to be a tribunal member?

matt_nicholls
30 Oct 2007, 09:53
Good post Matty.. Can you help me with the criteria needed to be a tribunal member?

A clean record would certainly help :D

BDR68
30 Oct 2007, 11:39
A clean record would certainly help :D
I thought some experience in the real world was essential.;)

OMNIPOTENT_1
30 Oct 2007, 12:00
Think the guys at head office are looking to revamp the tribunal with an AFL delegate to chair it.

I believe the Acronym you are referring to here pal is in fact not the Obvious one, but stands for instead .......... Astute Football Legend !

A. " Present " !

Mongrel
30 Oct 2007, 14:35
Certainly my good friend.... Coles, Wadden,Brinks gone.. Me should be!.. and You haven't made ya mind up yet...... or have you????? Only time will tell my good man.:) 173 days to go :thumbsu:

has colesy retired?

i will let u know in due course big fella about my plans for 2008.are u sure u dont wanna venture down to sunbury.BIG things happening there,and i guess theres plenty happening throughout the comp.not just at kilmore mr niccholls:D