View Full Version : Judd NO to Essendon
Oh well, it was good for a dream, good luck to him in whichever club he chooses to play for.
Many positives in this - all the more reason to hate Carlton or Collingwood and we don't lose any of our young guns!!!
bomberstomake8
1 Oct 2007, 14:12
SEN does say a lot of crap though, is it one hundred percent official?
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
1 Oct 2007, 14:13
I wouldv'e rathered he goto Melbourne if he was coming our way, but since he's not i'd rather he goto Collingwood and i think he will, because they're finals bound next year and have A grade facilities and lots of $$$$.
gdaytiger2001
1 Oct 2007, 14:16
I wouldv'e rathered he goto Melbourne if he was coming our way, but since he's not i'd rather he goto Collingwood and i think he will, because they're finals bound next year and have A grade facilities and lots of $$$$.
So what you are saying is that you would rather see Collingwood win a flag.
Than Carlton get off the bottom of the ladder.
Judd to Carlton- much improved team but still not a serious premireship contender.
Judd to Collingwood- Serious premireship contender.
Please Judd choose the blues!
thank god..now we can go about fixing this list properly.
BomberGal
1 Oct 2007, 14:23
If true, bugger. But then I think it's been obvious for the last week or so that he wasn't coming to Essendon.
Now if he would just pick his club so everyone could stop talking about it...it is getting silly now. Well, sillier.
bomberstomake8
1 Oct 2007, 14:38
no suprises that judd isnt at essendon btw... its probably cartlon thatll be the ones to get him now.... which would be fine by me, it would probably just lift them from bottom three to 9th tenth or eleventh..
as long as judd has both of them as potential clubs then carlton will win, they have way more to offer.....
on a seperate note, whats happening to adcock, there was talks of him leaving the lions about a month ago and i think he would be a very good pickup at the EFC
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
1 Oct 2007, 14:38
So what you are saying is that you would rather see Collingwood win a flag.
Than Carlton get off the bottom of the ladder.
Judd to Carlton- much improved team but still not a serious premireship contender.
Judd to Collingwood- Serious premireship contender.
Please Judd choose the blues!
I don't care, i just hate Carlton more than i do Collingwood and i would rather Carlton suffer down at the bottom of the ladder than be knocking on the door of the top 8.
Baby bomber
1 Oct 2007, 14:39
Why havnt essendon announced this on there website yet?
Its good that we know now and lets move on and see if we can pick up a couple of great talented players.
BurnleyBomber
1 Oct 2007, 14:46
I'm not believing it until there's a press release, regardless of who says what, or what sources they say they have.
gdaytiger2001
1 Oct 2007, 14:46
Just wait for next year when he gets a go as a forward, then you'll see it.
But we're off topic, we should be slagging of Judd for rejecting us like the Demon supporters- **** you Judd now we'll have to keep our very talented ruckman who can play anywhere on the ground, and our young CHF who was could become a dominant presence in the modern game, and our number 6 draft pick!!! :rolleyes:
Number 6 pick is going to Collingwood for way more than it's worth!
If Collingwood want Judd they have to pay, so why can't we be the one's to cash in.
fish_bowl
1 Oct 2007, 15:01
SEN also said judd was a shoe in for melbourne... until someone gives a sauce its rubbish
I'm not believing it until there's a press release, regardless of who says what, or what sources they say they have.
Agree. I wont believe it until it is totally confirmed
VanDerHaar
1 Oct 2007, 15:07
Nothing else in The Age today (1:40pm re Judd and Essendon)......????
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/judd-turns-back-dees/2007/10/01/1191091001818.html
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2007, 15:11
I'm fine with this if true. At least we won't have to give up young players + picks.
It is 100% true.
SEN contacted Essendons media manager Simon Mathews and he confirmed it
The Donners
1 Oct 2007, 15:17
It is 100% true.
I dispute SEN's credibility! I am not disputing your credibility! Until I hear something concrete, he hasn't turned Essendon down... having said that I don't think he's coming! :D
They (SEN) are always the first to spread a rumour! They get some right, only through weight of numbers!
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 15:17
Well, we never had him in the first place and the idea itself was always going to a nothing more than a pipedream.
No loss, as in order to lose something you have to have it first.
Let's get on with the hate.:D
It is 100% true.
Not believing it until its up on our website
VanDerHaar
1 Oct 2007, 15:18
IN reality - I dont know why we thought that Essendon would be attractive to Judd when we couldnt even Rischitelli who barracked for Essendon and grew up nearby......!!!
Sam the RAMA fan
1 Oct 2007, 15:21
It's finished.
He isnt ours.
Time to move on and look forward to the changes in our draft period.
Hopefully the duds get picked off and some good new talent comes in :thumbsu:
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 15:23
It's finished.
He isnt ours.
Time to move on and look forward to the changes in our draft period.
Hopefully the duds get picked off and some good new talent comes in :thumbsu:
Agreed. Whatever Carlton or the Pies give up in this years draft for him I'm happy to take.
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2007, 15:34
IN reality - I dont know why we thought that Essendon would be attractive to Judd when we couldnt even Rischitelli who barracked for Essendon and grew up nearby......!!!
Maybe because he was settled in Brisbane?
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2007, 15:38
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5402
VanDerHaar
1 Oct 2007, 15:47
Lets be fair dinkum! I am all for the lets move on and someone was settled there etc BUT, the reality is that it is gutting that we are not the club we used to be! We are not the club that people fear, respect, want to be at etc anymore and that is a huge loss. If we were that team, we would get the Judd's (who yes wants to come home) and the Rischitelli's etc who would seriously consider a move. I hope that EFC take this as a wake up call and get the club back to where it should and coule be. Unfortunately, one of the biggest opportunities ever presented to us has passed us by....!!!
gdaytiger2001
1 Oct 2007, 15:58
Lets be fair dinkum! I am all for the lets move on and someone was settled there etc BUT, the reality is that it is gutting that we are not the club we used to be! We are not the club that people fear, respect, want to be at etc anymore and that is a huge loss. If we were that team, we would get the Judd's (who yes wants to come home) and the Rischitelli's etc who would seriously consider a move. I hope that EFC take this as a wake up call and get the club back to where it should and coule be. Unfortunately, one of the biggest opportunities ever presented to us has passed us by....!!!
I think you are being a little dramatic here!
Essendon even with all its success has never in recent times been a club that players have been knocking down doors to join.
The fact of the matter is unless you have high draft picks there is no guarantee you will end up at that club.
Essendon has never finished low enough to utalise except for last year.
Making us a club that as a player you would always be taking a chance trying to get to.
Which makes us not a very attractive option just incase someone else picks you up before we can.
kelvin_sheedy
1 Oct 2007, 16:02
Spot on Vanders.
Another reflection of how far the club has slipped since the heady days of 2000.
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2007, 16:07
I feel bad for saying this, but I agree.
i reckon since we cant get judd jed adcock could be a good pick up .. also he is young.
Bluebear
1 Oct 2007, 16:17
I think not having a coach to meet him hurt........then announcing the coach two days befoe the GF hurt more.
He hates the spotlight and media. Hence he choose no to say anything until today. As you should have done with the coach. I think this is part of the overall picture as to why he has not chosen Essendon.
I honestly hope that you guys get behind Knights and the board/angry mob rubbish is settled so you can get on and be a good footy team again.
The competition is so much better when the Blues and Dons are in "lock-outs" at the MCG.:thumbsu:
Agree with the Adcock comments........but if we don't get Judd we will throw a bit at him (assuming its not just his manager pushing up his price a little by threatening his return.......an all to common ploy in Brissie).
Good luck in trade week guys.:thumbsu:
Yagabomb
1 Oct 2007, 16:20
Totally agree. I think the only way we can start to get some creditability back is to delist around 6\7 players ( i think we all know who they should be) and actually try our asses off to pick up someone decent during the trade week
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 16:23
Totally agree. I think the only way we can start to get some creditability back is to delist around 6\7 players ( i think we all know who they should be) and actually try our asses off to pick up someone decent during the trade week
I believe Knights has already advised the board of the 6 players to be delisted.
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 16:24
I think not having a coach to meet him hurt........then announcing the coach two days befoe the GF hurt more.
He hates the spotlight and media. Hence he choose no to say anything until today. As you should have done with the coach. I think this is part of the overall picture as to why he has not chosen Essendon.
I honestly hope that you guys get behind Knights and the board/angry mob rubbish is settled so you can get on and be a good footy team again.
The competition is so much better when the Blues and Dons are in "lock-outs" at the MCG.:thumbsu:
Agree with the Adcock comments........but if we don't get Judd we will throw a bit at him (assuming its not just his manager pushing up his price a little by threatening his return.......an all to common ploy in Brissie).
Good luck in trade week guys.:thumbsu:
Quite possibly the smartest post on here. And from a Bluebagger?!?!? :D
Bluebear
1 Oct 2007, 16:27
Quite possibly the smartest post on here. And from a Bluebagger?!?!? :D
I had to tread carefully. I copped an infraction last time I posted on here.
Didn't want to come across as a troll.
The Donners
1 Oct 2007, 16:28
I believe Knights has already advised the board of the 6 players to be delisted.
When will we hear of said delistings?
fish_bowl
1 Oct 2007, 16:32
too be honest i would prefer an adock than a judd. we would pay through the nose to get judd and morgage our future. whilst adcock would not be cheap, he wont cost the house. i thought adcock was not available, but that is the type of player we should be looking at.
essendon needs to get its self a plan and have everyone pull in the same direction, as geelong has done over the past 12 months. no need to be upset that judd didnt choose us. best of luck to him, but we are better off.
collingwood will need to trade up to get a poick to satisfy the eagles, and this is where we could become the third party. i would be rapt to get a nathan brown type player for our first pick.
Stargazer
1 Oct 2007, 16:34
It's funny but I'm over these footballers (Carey, Ackermanis and now Judd) who do the rounds of clubs deciding which one they will go to. The sheer arrogance of it leaves me speechless.
I don't want a player under those circumstances, tell them to take their bag of tricks and rack off.
The Donners
1 Oct 2007, 16:40
too be honest i would prefer an adock than a judd. we would pay through the nose to get judd and morgage our future. whilst adcock would not be cheap, he wont cost the house. i thought adcock was not available, but that is the type of player we should be looking at.
essendon needs to get its self a plan and have everyone pull in the same direction, as geelong has done over the past 12 months. no need to be upset that judd didnt choose us. best of luck to him, but we are better off.
collingwood will need to trade up to get a poick to satisfy the eagles, and this is where we could become the third party. i would be rapt to get a nathan brown type player for our first pick.
I'd love Didak!!!
I had to tread carefully. I copped an infraction last time I posted on here.
Didn't want to come across as a troll.
So it's working, good ;)
Re Judd, glad we can finally move forward and get on with business
Bluebear
1 Oct 2007, 16:54
So it's working, good ;)
Re Judd, glad we can finally move forward and get on with business
:D........I'm usually very well mannered.
Salmon Fever
1 Oct 2007, 17:00
exactly we have never been a club that others have wanted to come too, i mean young guns not players like mal michael or campo or allan rah rah rah.
we have money we need midfielders yet who says they want to come to us.
oh by the way RIP chris mainwaring
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 17:00
When will we hear of said delistings?
Good question. You could only imagine it will happen soon. Time to start placing some bets I reckon.:thumbsu:
All I know it was reported in the Age (by Caro) that he had told the board/put forward a list of which players should be going as part of his final interview.
im mighty glad
all this hype, im f*ckin sick of it
Bluebear
1 Oct 2007, 17:07
Good question. You could only imagine it will happen soon. Time to start placing some bets I reckon.:thumbsu:
All I know it was reported in the Age (by Caro) that he had told the board/put forward a list of which players should be going as part of his final interview.
Carro was also adamant that Judd was a "lock" for the Dees........according to her impeccable inside sources............:rolleyes:
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 17:07
im mighty glad
all this hype, im f*ckin sick of it
hear that!
Runknisse
1 Oct 2007, 17:12
Carro was also adamant that Judd was a "lock" for the Dees........according to her impeccable inside sources............:rolleyes:
Look dont' get me wrong, I'm no fan but she certainly has contacts. As for the Judd to Melbourne well I think a lot of us thought that would happen.
Still, you'd have to think that Knights would've been asked by the board nonetheless of which players should be shown the door, why they should be and what he would do with those still considered worthy of a place on the list.
Bluebear
1 Oct 2007, 17:17
Look dont' get me wrong, I'm no fan but she certainly has contacts. As for the Judd to Melbourne well I think a lot of us thought that would happen.
A lot of us did think it.
But none of us have our entire credibility riding on it. She is in the "selling papers" game and her "inside sources" are what makes or breaks her stories.
For me to say where I think he is going is idle chit chat.......much like you'd say at the pub........for Carro to say "her source says" Judd to Dees.........that's her career.......not idle banter.
I wonder if she'll admit she was wrong or if "at the time I said those comments they were 100% true".........:rolleyes:
Anyway, no doubt Knights had some players written down before he was given the nod, just in case he got the job and had to make some decisions.........doesn't take an inside source to know players will be delisted this week, if you haven't let any go yet.
High Ryder
1 Oct 2007, 17:26
Devastated....
Lovett Lover 13
1 Oct 2007, 17:35
shattered
bomberbastic
1 Oct 2007, 17:38
I am glad he has turned us down. Too expensive, too injury prone.
The media was suggesting Melbourne would trade Travis Johnstone for him - WCE would have no use - would we want TJ, and if so who could we trade to them in a 3 way deal?
Longy413
1 Oct 2007, 17:39
I feel bad for saying this, but I agree.
Reality of modern day football...
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
1 Oct 2007, 17:43
I am glad he has turned us down. Too expensive, too injury prone.
The media was suggesting Melbourne would trade Travis Johnstone for him - WCE would have no use - would we want TJ, and if so who could we trade to them in a 3 way deal?
No, we don't want him, he's past it and we're not interested in old players.
DynamoUltra
1 Oct 2007, 17:44
I think Judd would put a team like Carlton or Essendon, both relying heavily on youngsters, behind by about 2 years.
DonMania#5
1 Oct 2007, 17:44
Good, didn't want him in the first place if we had to give up Gumby/Ryder.
bombersno1
1 Oct 2007, 17:45
In a way I am glad. Gumbleton and Ryder will be stars, and who is to say Judd wil DEFINATELY recover from his groin injury..all that and he'll cost a million bucks a year!
Mighty Reds
1 Oct 2007, 18:17
We would have given up a lot to get him so I am glad he is not coming.
Bit tired of all the carry on about it all. Would have been nice to have him. Life goes on.
Judd 24 years of age to old and past it???????????
That comment has to be in my top ten of most ill informed posts of all time.
That comment just reaks of sour grapes!
Ok we didn't get him bad luck to be honest i wasn't all for getting judd myself but which ever club he picks to go to he will dramatically improve that side.
He was talking about travis johnstone, not judd mate lol
Judd 24 years of age to old and past it???????????
That comment has to be in my top ten of most ill informed posts of all time.
That comment just reaks of sour grapes!
Ok we didn't get him bad luck to be honest i wasn't all for getting judd myself but which ever club he picks to go to he will dramatically improve that side.
No he was talking about Travis Johnstone. I guess your post now goes to my list of most ill-informed posts of all time.
gdaytiger2001
1 Oct 2007, 18:37
I do appologise should not jump to conclusions. That post of mine did not make my top 10 it sits right on top at number 1! sorry
Lance Uppercut
1 Oct 2007, 18:46
I'm fine with it. I'm just interested in seeing how Ryder, Gumby, Jetta, Hislop, Davey, Reimers, Neagle etc develop over the next 12 months
coming from a carlton supporter i wouldve rather seen judd go 2 essendon or melb rather than collingwood (even if it meant us not getting him). now i really really hope he comes to carlton.
Ludwig van Bertstare
1 Oct 2007, 19:00
coming from a carlton supporter i wouldve rather seen judd go 2 essendon or melb rather than collingwood (even if it meant us not getting him). now i really really hope he comes to carlton.
I would rather him go to Carlton than Collingwood.
bombersno1
1 Oct 2007, 19:21
I'd rather him go to Collingwood to be honest. I want him to at least play in a good team!
Salmon Fever
1 Oct 2007, 19:34
pfft i hope he rips his sack now, i hate both those teams andi hope they give awaytheir future for him not that he isnt worth it but i want to see a player go to west coast who carlton or collingwood will regret getting rid of.
B-Bomber
1 Oct 2007, 19:51
I don't care either way...
Collingwood: Judd adds to them the little bit of oomph they need for success (AAAARGH!)
Carlton: Judd goes here.... INSTEAD OF US?! WTF?
They're both bad. :eek:
Doesnt bother me. Wouldve been a great addition, however...where we're at right now just doesnt compete with Collingwood. Our list still needs to develop and their facilities are the best of any Victorian club. Would surprise me if he declares Carlton as his desired club though.
celtic_pride
2 Oct 2007, 11:01
I don't care, i just hate Carlton more than i do Collingwood and i would rather Carlton suffer down at the bottom of the ladder than be knocking on the door of the top 8.
LOL well guess what sunshine ?
Regardless of whether judd goes to Carlton or not (I think it's now a dead-set certaintity he will btw) He still rates our club a lot higher then yours :D
I can cue your Bomber fans reacting like Kevin Kline in A fish Called Wander after he opens the safe and there is no jewels in there ...
'I'M DISSAPOINTED !!!!' :D
edfl2006
2 Oct 2007, 12:48
no wonder he didn't pick essendon the list is very sub standard all essendon suppporters rave how great their young players are or going to be but you could only pick 3 or maybe 4 young kids that'll be any good!!! no depth in the list why would one of the greatest midfielders to play the game want to play footy with a terrible list? i sure wouldn't!!!!!!
Pevers-Legend
2 Oct 2007, 13:03
no wonder he didn't pick essendon the list is very sub standard all essendon suppporters rave how great their young players are or going to be but you could only pick 3 or maybe 4 young kids that'll be any good!!! no depth in the list why would one of the greatest midfielders to play the game want to play footy with a terrible list? i sure wouldn't!!!!!!
Lucky for you (and for us) you don't have to.
FandangoDingo
2 Oct 2007, 14:31
Something tells me you're nowhere near being one of the greatest midfielders of all time.... So just relax chump.
We finished with the same number of Premiership points as Brisbane this year.... And pumped you by 10 goals in our one encounter. We acknowledge we're rebuilding. Where does that put you??? Typical redneck Queenslander! :thumbsu: :D
Runknisse
2 Oct 2007, 16:08
LOL well guess what sunshine ?
Regardless of whether judd goes to Carlton or not (I think it's now a dead-set certaintity he will btw) He still rates our club a lot higher then yours :D
I can cue your Bomber fans reacting like Kevin Kline in A fish Called Wander after he opens the safe and there is no jewels in there ...
'I'M DISSAPOINTED !!!!' :D
meh...:cool:
Runknisse
2 Oct 2007, 16:09
I agree. Especially when you use so many excalamation marks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You can focus some of the blame on the fact we didnt try and rebuild early enough after 2001. We are now in the middle of a period that was always going to come. We are rebuilding the list and that is not attractive to the big name players. People saying they are hoping the club can take it as a wake up call are a bit behind the action. The review that was completed in about August 2006 actually found we where behind in a number of areas. They have started on fixing a few areas but it has only been in place for 12 months so there is more work (and follow reviews) to be done. The next two to three years is about developing the list and putting in place the peices to fast track the young blokes as much as possible.Lets hope that the plan they put in place does have the desired effects and they continue to follow up on recruiting and the football department.