View Full Version : How are your exams going?
The big ROObowski
2 Oct 2007, 21:57
I know there a few people around my age here doing exams so i thought it'd be good to have a good to vent and for the older blokes (i said older not old) you can reminisce about what it was like chisseling them into your concrete slabs.
For starters today we had practice exams and the assistant principle walked in halfway through and the kid in front of me just screamed at the top of his lungs "FCUKIN BICTH!" the whole gym fell over.sooo.....yeah...practice exams at school are pointless but do have good moments
Never much of a studier. Spent the bulk of my time playing footy & cricket. :)Used to cram the night before, never stress too much and get the job done. Luckily I had a pretty good memory and could string a few words together in an essay without too much trouble.
And FWIW - did HSC in 85 when the final exam was worth 50% of your final score.
Not sure why kids today get so stressed about doing VCE.
The big ROObowski
2 Oct 2007, 22:12
i'm not to stessed really just find it frustrating that theres so much importance thrown onto it and how the VCE system is out to screw over those damn kids who prefer Humanities to sciences(me) Why is that if i bust my balls all year in say-politics- that my study score of 40 can be downgraded to a 33 while little johnny doing shit all in physics gets his score of 25 boosted to 35.
Let me reassure you that by not pursuing Maths/Science and doing humanities - you will get more tail in the years to come:thumbsu:
micky_11
2 Oct 2007, 22:26
Yeah i have exams coming up, only did 2 and 1/2 pre tertiarys this year in grade 11, English Communications:thumbsd:, Religion (catholic School:thumbsd:) and Economics. English Communications is very hard and Economics very chalenging. Hoping to get 25-30 points from both of them at the end of the year, then next year i will do 3 and 1/2 pre tertiarys: Pysical Science, Maths 5c and Sport science and the other half of my Relgion Course. Hoping to get 75 points to get into Exercise Science, would love to go to a melbourne uni and get out of tassie and also further my football. Im a bit like Lidge, focus to much on my sport and cram the studying in after.
... the kid in front of me just screamed at the top of his lungs "FCUKIN BICTH!"
How do you pronounce that?
The big ROObowski
2 Oct 2007, 22:42
How do you pronounce that?
to pronounce it correctly i would have to pull out your tounge
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
2 Oct 2007, 23:02
i'm not to stessed really just find it frustrating that theres so much importance thrown onto it and how the VCE system is out to screw over those damn kids who prefer Humanities to sciences(me) Why is that if i bust my balls all year in say-politics- that my study score of 40 can be downgraded to a 33 while little johnny doing shit all in physics gets his score of 25 boosted to 35.
Physics goes up by 3.
Get stuck into those Specialist Maths kids. Up by 11!
giantroo
2 Oct 2007, 23:16
Bloody hell, exams are approaching. 2 bloody more weeks.
giantroo
2 Oct 2007, 23:18
Physics goes up by 3.
Get stuck into those Specialist Maths kids. Up by 11!
'
Haha yes. Have a shot at me. Make it 12.
6 for methods, 4 physics but my IT drops down.
NimChief
3 Oct 2007, 00:51
Exams are ****ed. So much emphasis is put on it and people just freak out.
It's bullshit that 13 years of schooling comes down to how well you go in 2 hours.
Should be like QLD where they don't do exams and get judged on how they went during the year. People shouldn't be judged on how they went in 2 hours of high pressure exams imo
The Filth Wizard
3 Oct 2007, 02:29
It's bullshit that 13 years of schooling comes down to how well you go in 2 hours.
Should be like QLD where they don't do exams and get judged on how they went during the year. People shouldn't be judged on how they went in 2 hours of high pressure exams imo
Or should be like Tasmania where there is no high school and you get judged on how many teeth you have left by the time you are 18:D
giantroo
3 Oct 2007, 05:55
Thats why im thanking the world that RMIT offers snap. Just incase i do crap.
Paddy_Mac
3 Oct 2007, 12:16
Starting VCE next year.
I picked English, General (Advanced) Maths, Maths Methods, Physics, Chemistry, P.E. (3&4) for Year 11.
And for year 12, all of the above subjects except for P.E., all as unit 3&4.
The big ROObowski
3 Oct 2007, 12:25
just got back form my practice psyc exam.Think i did allright but the highlight was the bird flying into the window...we have low attention spans.
giantroo
3 Oct 2007, 12:38
just got back form my practice psyc exam.Think i did allright but the highlight was the bird flying into the window...we have low attention spans.
Haha poor little bird.
giantroo
3 Oct 2007, 12:39
Starting VCE next year.
I picked English, General (Advanced) Maths, Maths Methods, Physics, Chemistry, P.E. (3&4) for Year 11.
And for year 12, all of the above subjects except for P.E., all as unit 3&4.
Good. Never do P.E in yr 12. My mates are absolutely hating it.
I've done everything bar chemistry and p.e.
Yr 11: Did I.T and Business Management
Yr 12: Just dropped BM
rooboy_88
3 Oct 2007, 12:45
Finished VCE last year and wish every1 in High school exams the best if luck.
I did all the business subjects like eco accounting and BM so if any1 is doing these subs, would be happy 2 help out.
Im just worried about me uni exams, with all my exams being 60% of the semester.
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
3 Oct 2007, 16:06
'
Haha yes. Have a shot at me. Make it 12.
6 for methods, 4 physics but my IT drops down.
Didn't see you as a total Maths Science nerd there GR. :thumbsu:
Good luck with those exams.
micky_11
3 Oct 2007, 17:04
Finished VCE last year and wish every1 in High school exams the best if luck.
I did all the business subjects like eco accounting and BM so if any1 is doing these subs, would be happy 2 help out.
Im just worried about me uni exams, with all my exams being 60% of the semester.
Im doing Eco, just finished off the Balance of Payments today, find it pretty chalenging but interesting at the same time. how did you like it?
rooboy_88
3 Oct 2007, 17:05
Im doing Eco, just finished off the Balance of Payments today, find it pretty chalenging but interesting at the same time. how did you like it?
yeh wasnt 2 bad but would much rather analyse the policies and relate it to how it will effect the eco objectives
giantroo
3 Oct 2007, 17:30
Didn't see you as a total Maths Science nerd there GR. :thumbsu:
Good luck with those exams.
I don't think anyone did. Yeh and thanks :thumbsu::)
Anti Gold Coast
3 Oct 2007, 23:54
How did you guys go on your midyears?
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 00:11
How did you guys go on your midyears?
I only had the physics and didnot do too well but so didnot the smartest girl in the class.
I was lucky to get 3/4 of the way throught it. Time flew.
The big ROObowski
4 Oct 2007, 01:24
hey just wondering do you fellas have prac exams at your school? i mean the whole deal with asserors and everything.
mine does and it just cuts into time that could -and i stress the could- be spent studying.
Anti Gold Coast
4 Oct 2007, 01:42
hey just wondering do you fellas have prac exams at your school? i mean the whole deal with asserors and everything.
mine does and it just cuts into time that could -and i stress the could- be spent studying.
I'm in y11. But for my accounting unit 4 exam, we had out trial exam in the last week of school. It's good to give you exam practice, and a feel of what the exam will be like. But if you have to do a practice exam during the holidays, that is pretty silly, cause it'll waste so much time you could use at home studying (or on BF.:p) You might as well turn up, take the exam and leave, and use the exam as practice material closer to the time.
NimChief
4 Oct 2007, 01:51
tip for anyone doing the exams, hang around the asian kids. They know their shit.
Anti Gold Coast
4 Oct 2007, 01:54
tip for anyone doing the exams, hang around the asian kids. They know their shit.
Indians?
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 06:51
I'm in y11. But for my accounting unit 4 exam, we had out trial exam in the last week of school. It's good to give you exam practice, and a feel of what the exam will be like. But if you have to do a practice exam during the holidays, that is pretty silly, cause it'll waste so much time you could use at home studying (or on BF.:p) You might as well turn up, take the exam and leave, and use the exam as practice material closer to the time.
I think schools should start with exams from day one you enter high school. It gets you ready for the big ones.
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 06:52
Indians?
Indians, asians all same shit. They're all from asia.
micky_11
4 Oct 2007, 17:17
you cant go saying things like that on a public forum, some people will or could be offended
micky_11
4 Oct 2007, 17:18
In Years 11 and 12 at my school we have Practice exams in the middle of the year, call them "mid terms". We go down to the Local Football Club and do them, as to cut out all the daily noise from the school
The big ROObowski
4 Oct 2007, 17:25
i only had the one midterm this year for psychology didnt to badly but would have been better if i hadnt turned up half an hour late.damn car tyre.
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 17:30
you cant go saying things like that on a public forum, some people will or could be offended
They can deal with me if they are offended.
Fact: Asians, indian, middle easterns: smartest people in the world. Of course work ethic is included
Anti Gold Coast
4 Oct 2007, 22:12
They can deal with me if they are offended.
Fact: Asians, indian, middle easterns: smartest people in the world. Of course work ethic is included
Don't forget Jews, even though Israel is 'middle east'. Anyway, I am Indian, and not offended.
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 22:30
Don't forget Jews, even though Israel is 'middle east'. Anyway, I am Indian, and not offended.
Yeh well they are living there so they're classified as asians.
micky_11
4 Oct 2007, 22:33
Heads up for anyone thinking about doing English Communications. Think again please
giantroo
4 Oct 2007, 23:09
Heads up for anyone thinking about doing English Communications. Think again please
whats that about?
j flex roo
5 Oct 2007, 12:53
I'm 23 years of age and have been lobbed in the education system since I was 4 years old starting out in grade prep.
Have a year of uni left after this one (part-time hours essentially) and I'll be qualified in the profession I've been working towards since I was 17 when I began uni.
All I can say is go hell for leather in your exams. True, they are not the be all and end all of life, but what's the point in even bothering if you only do it half asrsed? They'll be over in a few weeks, just grin and bear it. My education is my biggest asset and I have a lot of pride in what I've achieved to date.
The years from high school to mid-twenties f-ing flies like buggery so make the most of your opportunities before you have a wife, three kids and a mortgage. :thumbsu:
Paddy_Mac
5 Oct 2007, 21:37
Don't forget Russians.
giantroo
5 Oct 2007, 21:45
Don't forget Russians.
Well they are located in asia so yes.
The big ROObowski
7 Oct 2007, 01:11
huh, today is the last day of school holidays ever for me.
....meeeeeeemories like the windows...nah better not.
giantroo
7 Oct 2007, 14:21
huh, today is the last day of school holidays ever for me.
....meeeeeeemories like the windows...nah better not.
I know, not long now. I got 2 more weeks of classes then exams. Officially finish all my exams on November 16th. Draft starts on November 24th. Beauty!!!
Anti Gold Coast
20 Oct 2007, 23:13
Only two weeks to go. Y12s are lucky. It's pretty bad being a Y11, and having to go through a whole arduous year of schooling, only to have to study again for next year.
The big ROObowski
20 Oct 2007, 23:22
Only two weeks to go. Y12s are lucky. It's pretty bad being a Y11, and having to go through a whole arduous year of schooling, only to have to study again for next year.
trust me when your two weeks out and all you can think about is how screwed you are because you should have spent a little less time doing nothing and more time studying then you wont think were so damn lucky,but i admit i thought the same thing in yr11.
For the other year 12's here what texts are you guys doing for english/lit?
mine are
Citizen Kane and The Kiterunner for English
The Great Gatsby and Antigone for Literature.
I'm ok for psyc and Theatre Studies but i have to learn the entire history of Taiwan and china for politics (my best bit of advice for yr 11's is to not sit next to anyone of your mates in your difficult subjects, i did and when things got complicated i'd start mucking around with them,just make sure you hang out with them at lunch so they dont think your a dikc)
good luck fellas:thumbsu:
essendon2008
21 Oct 2007, 00:04
6 for methods, 4 physics but my IT drops down.[/quote]
The scaling isnt a set value for each subject: it depends on what you get as to how much it gets scaled. Eg 50 wont get scaled down, a 40 might go down say 4 and a 30 in the same subject could go down say 6. The scaling in most cases is fair.
rooboy_88
21 Oct 2007, 19:15
trust me when your two weeks out and all you can think about is how screwed you are because you should have spent a little less time doing nothing and more time studying then you wont think were so damn lucky,but i admit i thought the same thing in yr11.
mine are
I'm ok for psyc and Theatre Studies but i have to learn the entire history of Taiwan and china for politics (my best bit of advice for yr 11's is to not sit next to anyone of your mates in your difficult subjects, i did and when things got complicated i'd start mucking around with them,just make sure you hang out with them at lunch so they dont think your a dikc)
I did gatsby
NimChief
22 Oct 2007, 19:05
The scaling isnt a set value for each subject: it depends on what you get as to how much it gets scaled. Eg 50 wont get scaled down, a 40 might go down say 4 and a 30 in the same subject could go down say 6. The scaling in most cases is fair.
No it's not. It's racist against us white people that aren't smart enough todo the Asian 5.
Shane Clayton
22 Oct 2007, 19:18
anyone here do IB? (the alternative to the VCE program)
Benno_900
22 Oct 2007, 19:30
anyone here do IB? (the alternative to the VCE program)
Yeh mate, I do :thumbsu:
j flex roo
22 Oct 2007, 19:43
The scaling isnt a set value for each subject: it depends on what you get as to how much it gets scaled. Eg 50 wont get scaled down, a 40 might go down say 4 and a 30 in the same subject could go down say 6. The scaling in most cases is fair.[/quote]
Pigs arse.
My year 12 score got completely pillaged by scaling. Only one subject (economics) was scaled up 3 points. The rest was either even or scaled down.
I scored 6 A's and 4 A+'s in total and heaps of B+'s and two of my mates who strugged to get C's in all the maths and science subjects got 10 points higher in the ENTER.
It's devestating when a committed student who isn't great with numbers isn't rewarded. They should have streams like 'humanities stream', 'science/maths stream' etc and give an ENTER on merits but give it a category e.g. 90.00 ENTER (HUMANITIES STREAM). Different streams give access to different course etc. If you want to go and do a course outside your stream, they should make you sit an entrance exam.
Only fair way to do it.
Scaling. Sucks. Balls.
theduckfan
22 Oct 2007, 20:09
Had my first exam today, it was my Italian Oral, i had to speak italian for 15 minutes about the history of the family 50years ago.
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 20:18
But you do have to realise what Maths and Science has created. Without them we wouldn't have roads,transport, tall buildings, bridges,etc.
Fair to say, yeh you may be smarter in something else but you must ask your self, does that subject bring as much success to a community or to yourself than Maths/Science stream?
Anti Gold Coast
22 Oct 2007, 20:39
Pigs arse.
My year 12 score got completely pillaged by scaling. Only one subject (economics) was scaled up 3 points. The rest was either even or scaled down.
I scored 6 A's and 4 A+'s in total and heaps of B+'s and two of my mates who strugged to get C's in all the maths and science subjects got 10 points higher in the ENTER.
It's devestating when a committed student who isn't great with numbers isn't rewarded. They should have streams like 'humanities stream', 'science/maths stream' etc and give an ENTER on merits but give it a category e.g. 90.00 ENTER (HUMANITIES STREAM). Different streams give access to different course etc. If you want to go and do a course outside your stream, they should make you sit an entrance exam.
Only fair way to do it.
Scaling. Sucks. Balls.[/quote]
I know what you mean, but unfortunately, VCAA needs to encourage people to undertake more difficult subjects. I don't think subjects should be scaled down, however unfortunately, it's increadibly difficult to encourage students to undertake such difficult subjects, without providing them with an incentive.
What did you end up getting J-Flex? Because it seems you were harshly dealt when it comes to the final ENTER .
The big ROObowski
22 Oct 2007, 20:47
But you do have to realise what Maths and Science has created. Without them we wouldn't have roads,transport, tall buildings, bridges,etc.
Fair to say, yeh you may be smarter in something else but you must ask your self, does that subject bring as much success to a community or to yourself than Maths/Science stream?
12+56-82 / 96.5 2x8 23=23 125-3 46.5.7 83*67 8+.89
.....oh wait you cant communicate with numbers:D
i'm being a smartarse i know:o
All the things you listed are, granted, critical to society but so are humanities.The advancement of culture, philosophy, the building of international relationships for the betterment of mankind.It may be all fine and dandy to have some really nice roads but what would be the point of them if no one wanted you to visit? As j-flex suggested the stream idea is the only thing that could give equal oppurtunities to each particular aspect of education rather than putting 10 extra enter points in the pockets of those who are more Number orientated.Neither is better than the other but it seems the VCAA think differently.
Mitchell Madness
22 Oct 2007, 20:52
mine are
Look Both Ways, I'm Not Scared, Man For all Seasons, Minimum of Two in English (bold what i will write on in exam)
Antigone and Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? in Lit.
I found Antigone so boring, but eh, win some lose some, i jsut dont like greek plays. We did Gatsby last yr in lit, and man it was boring! I am glad i wont be doing it for the exam!
The big ROObowski
22 Oct 2007, 20:59
Look Both Ways, I'm Not Scared, Man For all Seasons, Minimum of Two in English (bold what i will write on in exam)
Antigone and Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? in Lit.
I found Antigone so boring, but eh, win some lose some, i jsut dont like greek plays. We did Gatsby last yr in lit, and man it was boring! I am glad i wont be doing it for the exam!
my man you havent experienced boredom untill you've read Judith Wright. 250 pages about how much she hates penis'.
Antigone isnt to bad i mainly picked it because it's easy to write on I enjoyed Carver alot but i found it harder to analyse.
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 21:02
12+56-82 / 96.5 2x8 23=23 125-3 46.5.7 83*67 8+.89
.....oh wait you cant communicate with numbers:D
i'm being a smartarse i know:o
All the things you listed are, granted, critical to society but so are humanities.The advancement of culture, philosophy, the building of international relationships for the betterment of mankind.It may be all fine and dandy to have some really nice roads but what would be the point of them if no one wanted you to visit? As j-flex suggested the stream idea is the only thing that could give equal oppurtunities to each particular aspect of education rather than putting 10 extra enter points in the pockets of those who are more Number orientated.Neither is better than the other but it seems the VCAA think differently.
Better be, because you can definately communicate with numbers. All depends on what the VCAA are aiming to achieve.
As we know technology is radiply growing and you need those new students to be able to do the things that is required to get them working. If we don't, how do we control the world?
Hugshawks
22 Oct 2007, 21:02
Study? Year 11?
Nahh thats for year 12 mate!
rooboy_88
22 Oct 2007, 21:04
Mate, scaling is a joke.
I was a business student and the scaling really affected me. Got all A's and A+s with the odd B+ and was screwed over.
Only got a 79.85
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 21:05
If anyone loves reading, The Kite Runner is one hell of a book to read. We done it for english and im expecting to do it in my exams along with Lantana or The Quiet American.
The author of the book is a great writer. His first book too and he just published his second one not long ago. I don't usually recommend people about books, but this is really good.
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 21:07
Mate, scaling is a joke.
I was a business student and the scaling really affected me. Got all A's and A+s with the odd B+ and was screwed over.
Only got a 79.85
May well be, but im sure it's gunna affect me too.
j flex roo
22 Oct 2007, 21:16
In answer to Anti-GC's question, I got 82.75 for my ENTER...I finished in 2001 and that was the first year without the old CATS assessment and in with the SACS or whatever they call them nowdays.
I did the two IT subjects on offer at the time (one in yr 11), english, history, psychology, economics, religion (catholic school made me do it, d'oh!).
My point is courses such as Law that require scores in the high 90s are the aspiration of many people who are outstanding with words and analysis rather than numbers, and the current scaling system effectively disqualifies them from being able to obtain the scores necessary. I am living proof. I went and got my Arts degree and earned a 70% + average over the three years and got into law that way, and now I'm doing just as well in law. Most kids I study with at law school out of year 12 did maths, physics etc just to get the score to get into the course, which if you'll forgive me, has ZERO to do with the law. Not fair that you have to be great with numbers to get into courses favouring the strongly literate.
Scaling is honk.
Yes roads and bridges are good, and kids who do those hard subjects should be rewarded. But the unfairness to others should be evened out, I feel.
rooboy_88
22 Oct 2007, 21:29
You will find that if you do lets say an accounting degree, doing all the business subjects in the year 11 and 12 will help you enormously.
Especially economics and accounting because we have had heaps of assessment lately and ive found that the people who never did it in VCE are struggling enormously.
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 21:37
You will find that if you do lets say an accounting degree, doing all the business subjects in the year 11 and 12 will help you enormously.
Especially economics and accounting because we have had heaps of assessment lately and ive found that the people who never did it in VCE are struggling enormously.
Wouldn't it be better for them to go through tafe first if they didnot do it in vce?
rooboy_88
22 Oct 2007, 21:55
Wouldn't it be better for them to go through tafe first if they didnot do it in vce?
not many people are keen on an extra year in the system :D
it will always be a big debate between the science and humanities student until the victorian government address the scaling issue
Anti Gold Coast
22 Oct 2007, 22:00
What are current year 12's aiming on scoring?
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 22:01
not many people are keen on an extra year in the system :D
it will always be a big debate between the science and humanities student until the victorian government address the scaling issue
Extra year in the system can give you credits in uni. All worthwhile.
Don't change it this year. I want the marks.:D
giantroo
22 Oct 2007, 22:04
expecting between 65- 85. I'll be happy with anything in that range. Don't expect too much from a state school.
NimChief
22 Oct 2007, 23:00
What can I say, I'm a gun.
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
22 Oct 2007, 23:36
My point is courses such as Law that require scores in the high 90s are the aspiration of many people who are outstanding with words and analysis rather than numbers, and the current scaling system effectively disqualifies them from being able to obtain the scores necessary. I am living proof. I went and got my Arts degree and earned a 70% + average over the three years and got into law that way, and now I'm doing just as well in law. Most kids I study with at law school out of year 12 did maths, physics etc just to get the score to get into the course, which if you'll forgive me, has ZERO to do with the law. Not fair that you have to be great with numbers to get into courses favouring the strongly literate.
Scaling is honk.
I don't disagree with you but isn't the point of scaling any subject twofold. Firstly to increase its popularity amongst the students to study a given subject. And secondly to reward student who attempt a "harder" course and load.
Now not knowing too much about the law - I'm no Ben Cousins - but Psych or Eco have about as much relevance as Methods or Chem. Anyway.....
Your example has shown the many pathways to educational enlightenment. :D
Well done :thumbsu:
j flex roo
22 Oct 2007, 23:48
I don't disagree with you but isn't the point of scaling any subject twofold. Firstly to increase its popularity amongst the students to study a given subject. And secondly to reward student who attempt a "harder" course and load.
Now not knowing too much about the law - I'm no Ben Cousins - but Psych or Eco have about as much relevance as Methods or Chem. Anyway.....
Your example has shown the many pathways to educational enlightenment. :D
Well done :thumbsu:
I think you'll find a sound knowledge of economic theory stands you in excellent stead to understand numerous legal doctrines.
And yes, scaling may well increase scaled-up subjects popularity, and of course I agree that kids who do it should be rewarded as there is a need for engineers, scientists etc. However the inbalance is HUGE. When a kid gets all A's and gets 10 ENTER points less than a kid who struggled for C's in 'harder' subjects, something isn't right.
Like I said, there has to be a system where kids who are good with figures are rewarded, but more critical minded students aren't frozen out.
Oh, and for someone who is a natural and maths, the 'hard' subjects wouldn't be hard at all...well they would be to a degree, all year 12 subjects are challenging - but relatively speaking it'd be impossible for me to pass maths methods because I'm a dunce at numbers, and I know a few people who can run numbers like lightning who couldn't structure a sound essay argument if you gave em a million dollar research fund.
Scaling sucks. And thank you, my path to enlightenment was rough and tough, but I got there. :thumbsu:
Mitchell Madness
23 Oct 2007, 08:15
my man you havent experienced boredom untill you've read Judith Wright. 250 pages about how much she hates penis'.
Antigone isnt to bad i mainly picked it because it's easy to write on I enjoyed Carver alot but i found it harder to analyse.
I love story's with stupid bitches(n/o to anyone) who go on about how they hate males - it gets me involved, hating the character and therefore can gain a better understanding.
Carver was difficult, but you gain more each time you read it.
Antigone, it was so confusing, like come on! It is 2000 years old! give us something decent! the laws that they go on abotu aren't exactly relevant to most of western society these days
The big ROObowski
1 Nov 2007, 21:53
***! its tommorow! damn it! i think this is a moment for 'Serenity now!'
good luck folks
NimChief
1 Nov 2007, 21:55
i'm ****ed
all this time spent on Bigfooty will be the death of me
If anyone loves reading, The Kite Runner is one hell of a book to read. We done it for english and im expecting to do it in my exams along with Lantana or The Quiet American.
Hey giantroo, i tutor all of those books =p
im a penultimate year uni student and i tutor english for part time work!
i agree - those books are really good...
good luck on ur english exam 2moro!
u dnt happen to be from Mount Waverly? i tutor quite a few kids from that school studying the same texts as you
giantroo
1 Nov 2007, 22:45
Hey giantroo, i tutor all of those books =p
im a penultimate year uni student and i tutor english for part time work!
i agree - those books are really good...
good luck on ur english exam 2moro!
u dnt happen to be from Mount Waverly? i tutor quite a few kids from that school studying the same texts as you
Thanks mate but i hate Text reponses.Can't stand em not one bit. I can do the analysis and persuasive essays in a breeze. It's just TR that annoy me. Well i'll see what i can do.
Nah i dont. Live in Thomastown.
The best tip i can offer for text responses:
make sure you have 3 points supporting one MAJOR argument per paragraph.
Also have evidence for those 3 points , ie QUOTES!!
grEEk_rOO
1 Nov 2007, 23:25
ahhh to be in vce again. im a 2nd year mechanical engineering student...imagine studying for my exams :thumbsd:
rooboy_88
2 Nov 2007, 10:31
The best tip i can offer for text responses:
make sure you have 3 points supporting one MAJOR argument per paragraph.
Also have evidence for those 3 points , ie QUOTES!!
this time last year i was in this situation.
I always found either 3 characters 3 themes or 3 events with supporting quotes was always the formula to a solid to good essay,.
giantroo
2 Nov 2007, 13:58
Managed to do 3 and 1/4 essays today. Had to purposely leave because i got a blood shot eye and the coughing was ringing in my eyes.
The big ROObowski
2 Nov 2007, 14:27
Managed to do 3 and 1/4 essays today. Had to purposely leave because i got a blood shot eye and the coughing was ringing in my eyes.
dude thats tough but at least you got your 3 and a quarter done. what did u think of the topic? i think kids today are overprotected.
NimChief
2 Nov 2007, 15:12
I ****ed up and did both my text responses in the one book.
the examiner went nuts at me...lol:o:rolleyes:
NimChief
2 Nov 2007, 15:17
3? eh?
Did you guys do more then two text responses? or are you including the writing tasks too?
giantroo
2 Nov 2007, 15:18
dude thats tough but at least you got your 3 and a quarter done. what did u think of the topic? i think kids today are overprotected.
I think it was good and yes we are over protected.
giantroo
2 Nov 2007, 15:19
3? eh?
Did you guys do more then two text responses? or are you including the writing tasks too?
yeh mate im including the writing task.
NimChief
2 Nov 2007, 15:30
Argued the same with my point of view piece. Related it all back to the government and their "nanny state" approach to society. ie. refusing classification to games like Grand Theft Auto, designing that new internet filter for parents to download etc.
Turned out into a ripper piece:D:thumbsu:
theduckfan
3 Nov 2007, 13:13
i did 4 essays. was for that kids are overprotected.
Cooldude
4 Nov 2007, 02:13
It's important to get your quotes right though. I think English examiners are very hard on accuracy and precision on the wording and meaning of the quotes. Although they do allow errors because people do make them, I dunno how strict they are in terms of the leeway they give for a wrongly worded quote
Although if the quote retains roughly around the same meaning, it should be fine I think. It's when you get the plot or what happened in the text totally wrong that gets ya
Textual knowledge and accuracy is important, inaccuracy loses you marks
giantroo
7 Nov 2007, 10:42
Will be trying to apply to get a derived score for my first 2 exams due to my eye. Got it checked and Doctor said i shouldn't have done the exams.
The big ROObowski
7 Nov 2007, 11:25
good luck with that mate. a firend of mine got glandular fever last year and he got the special consideration for his exams.
I had theatre studies today, had my way with it, tommorows gonna have its way with me though my two hardest subjects Psyc and Lit are on.
giantroo
7 Nov 2007, 11:32
good luck with that mate. a firend of mine got glandular fever last year and he got the special consideration for his exams.
I had theatre studies today, had my way with it, tommorows gonna have its way with me though my two hardest subjects Psyc and Lit are on.
Thanks. Damn thats gunna cane. I have it hard next week. Methods, IT, Physics, and Spec Maths all in one shot.
The big ROObowski
8 Nov 2007, 18:09
oh thanks god thats over.God damn you Antigone you inbred bitch.
and Gatsby dont even get me started you friggin weirdo.
giantroo
8 Nov 2007, 18:12
oh thanks god thats over.God damn you Antigone you inbred bitch.
and Gatsby dont even get me started you friggin weirdo.
Wow, you had it hard i see.
The big ROObowski
8 Nov 2007, 18:22
eh not really the passages they gave us were good and i think i did allright but when you study these bastards for so long you end up hating them which is a shame because Gatsby is a good story but if i see it anywhere near me i'll go postal.
giantroo
8 Nov 2007, 18:32
eh not really the passages they gave us were good and i think i did allright but when you study these bastards for so long you end up hating them which is a shame because Gatsby is a good story but if i see it anywhere near me i'll go postal.
Haha lol.
how i'm glad i quite lit, don't think i could of lasted another day in that subject readn caver, hamilton case( god that book is a pain) then u had judith wright and bloody much ado about nothing, the pain i endured those 2 terms.
anyone do psych today, thought it was an easy paper to do. lookn 4wrd 4 law and that will be it 4 me for now anyway. can't bloody wait.
The big ROObowski
8 Nov 2007, 18:48
yeah psyc was weired. did u get that question about what it's best to do before an exam after studying well one option was sleep the right one (i hope)
and the other options were ridiculous like go for a lap of the oval.And dont get me started on Wright the old sandtrap.
giantroo
8 Nov 2007, 18:57
how i'm glad i quite lit, don't think i could of lasted another day in that subject readn caver, hamilton case( god that book is a pain) then u had judith wright and bloody much ado about nothing, the pain i endured those 2 terms.
anyone do psych today, thought it was an easy paper to do. lookn 4wrd 4 law and that will be it 4 me for now anyway. can't bloody wait.
Hey samira, you have been calling SEN in the last week or so haven't you?
j flex roo
8 Nov 2007, 20:06
So how are the exams going kiddies? Any of you freaked out yet?