View Full Version : C Section C Section 2008
Alright everyone here's your chance to say on who'll be C Section Premiers, the final ladder, the biggest improvers (and disappointments) of the 2008 season in C Section.
Rupo would have to loom large in the scheme of things. I expect Ormond to be the big improver.
Ladder
Rupo
Ormond
Mazenod
AJAX
Oakleigh
Whitefriars
Hampton
Monash
Parkdale
MHSOB
Jascave
25 Oct 2007, 14:13
My ladder for C Section for 2008:
Rupertswood
Ormond
Hampton Rovers
AJAX
Oakleigh
Whitefriars
Mazenod
Parkdale
Monash
MHSOB
Hampton Rovers to reverse the D Section Grand Final embarassment by defeating Rupertswood in a very close Grand Final.
Do you have 8 identities Jas???
missfinland
25 Oct 2007, 19:55
great " c" grade comp comming up in 2008.
rupertswood
ajax
ormond
mazenod
whitefriars
hampton rovers
oakleigh
mhsob
parkdale
monash - there is no reds or nobs this year, they will not escape the drop.
The Tiger's Nuts
25 Oct 2007, 22:17
I normally stay away from picks, but will have an educated guess for this one.
rupertswood
ormond
ajax
whitefriars
hampton rovers
mazenod
oakleigh
parkdale
mhsob (ouchies)
monash
Lance Burkhardt
26 Oct 2007, 16:46
Ajax
Rupertswood
Ormond
Mazenod
Whitefriars
Oakleigh
MHSOB
Parkdale
Rovers
Monash
Jackas stiff to come back down this year, from all reports Rupo the new "Blacks" of the ammos.
kingbrown
26 Oct 2007, 18:25
I think most sides would see 2008 as a huge opportunity. Alot will depend upon pre-season as last year sides were extremely disadvantaged with sub-standard pre-seasons due to ground conditions. Mazenod impressed me greatly last year , I have to say i am very surprised by Ormond's change of coach, to me they were on the verge of something in spite of some undisciplined efforts. Whitefriars have shown faith in their coaching team and that is a credit to this club, it is very easy to blame the coach. Parkdale are an interesting conundrum, have great heart and a strong us against them culture. They would see 2007 as alot of missed opportunity and would feel strongly they can match it with most sides. Monash would see 2008 as a year also to improve, lucky probably not to be relegated and could re-group strongly
Can't speak for the others, Rupo need to build on their season it was a good one, i suspect the boys will, and have unfinished business. Will be the hunted in a sense so they will have to deal with this.
All in all i cant wait again for 2008.
Jascave
26 Oct 2007, 21:24
I think the teams to look out for in '08 will be Rupertswood, Ormond (especially now that Russell Barnes has returned 'home' to coach his old side) , Hampton Rovers (beware of teams that are humiliated in a grand final, they bounce back hard the following year-Old Xavs a good example) Oakleigh, and Mazenod.
BarryDawson
27 Oct 2007, 00:18
I think the teams to look out for in '08 will be Rupertswood, Ormond (especially now that Russell Barnes has returned 'home' to coach his old side) , Hampton Rovers (beware of teams that are humiliated in a grand final, they bounce back hard the following year-Old Xavs a good example) Oakleigh, and Mazenod.
Nothing like sitting on the fence hey Jase, come on mate you've picked 5 out of the 10 to watch out for!
Rupo vs Oakleigh for mine, the rest are mere numbers i'm afraid. Ormond will go backwards without Mathews, big mistake!
Jascave
27 Oct 2007, 09:17
Yes, but having one of the great legends of Ormond in Russell Barnes return back to the club that made him a legend of VAFA football would be a enormous boost of confidence to Ormond.
Jack Mihocek
28 Oct 2007, 17:21
I think most sides would see 2008 as a huge opportunity. Alot will depend upon pre-season as last year sides were extremely disadvantaged with sub-standard pre-seasons due to ground conditions. Mazenod impressed me greatly last year , I have to say i am very surprised by Ormond's change of coach, to me they were on the verge of something in spite of some undisciplined efforts. Whitefriars have shown faith in their coaching team and that is a credit to this club, it is very easy to blame the coach. Parkdale are an interesting conundrum, have great heart and a strong us against them culture. They would see 2007 as alot of missed opportunity and would feel strongly they can match it with most sides. Monash would see 2008 as a year also to improve, lucky probably not to be relegated and could re-group strongly
Can't speak for the others, Rupo need to build on their season it was a good one, i suspect the boys will, and have unfinished business. Will be the hunted in a sense so they will have to deal with this.
All in all i cant wait again for 2008.
KB hope that the off season is treating you well and that you're still enjoying those Blondes!
Your guys were terrific this year and will start raging favourites which will mean that they will be hunted from the start which will be an interesting challenge as they have no doubt been the hunters on their journey through the grades! Certainly the game I saw your lads play against the Friars was impressive I liked their style lots of run. I would also expect that Ajax will be right there which probably takes 2 positions in the top 4! I think Mazenod will also be right up there as they are a well organised team and seemed to play a cohesive brand of footy without too many stars, their achilles heel however may be lack of talls at either end of the ground. Ormond had a good finish but I think they may be suspect on a big fast track. Don't know anything about the D grade combatives but it would be hard to see them making as much of an impact as last years D graders OC & Rupo. Having said that they will both command respect! Our boys will be a year older and if we can pick up some onballers to get it to our marking forwards we will be ok, depth last year however was a problem, I believe that there are a few o/s players returning to the fold which will hopefully help this. Parky, Monash & the High School will make up the rest. My prediction:
Rupertswood
AJAX
Mazenod
Whitefriars
Ormond
Oakleigh
Hampton
Parkdale
MHSOB
Monash
I think that 3-8 is a raffle with any of those teams making the 4th position, but I'll tip our boys on the basis of some (fingers crossed) good recruiting over summer!
uglydermie
28 Oct 2007, 21:44
Rupo and Jackas by the length of the flemington straight. Two proud clubs clearly above the rest. Nods and Friars to make up the numbers.
A the other end - hampton to struggle to win a game (#$#$ weak when it counted) and MHSOB. Monash and Vultures to win just enough to stay up.
Sorry Jas - nothing personal mate! You just need to face facts pal!
Jascave
29 Oct 2007, 10:38
Anything could happen between now and April 12. The thing about VAFA football over the years is that one club might be all the rage and possibly the top pick for the premiership (regardless of what section it's in) yet come the start of the season things change dramatically. So, yes while AJAX and Rupertswood might be the top choices for the C Section flag in '08, we'll get a better idea come Round 9 where these two clubs (and everyone else) are at.
uglydermie
29 Oct 2007, 11:11
agree with the logic there Jas - why the poll then?
Jascave
29 Oct 2007, 12:34
What will the betting market look like for those who want to take a punt on the 2008 C Section premiership?
team_ramrod
30 Oct 2007, 13:01
Only thing hampton will be good for in c grade is being recipients of even more prank calls!!!!!!!!!
Jascave
30 Oct 2007, 20:17
I still think that the Rovers will win C Section, however it depends on two things: 1) how well they recruit new players to the club;and 2) would they get over the D1 Grand Final humilation from Oakleigh.
Gunn Reserve
1 Nov 2007, 08:30
Matt Robbins confirmed starter for the 'Monds in 2008, along with his brothers Dave & Brendan.
kingbrown
1 Nov 2007, 08:35
Matt Robbins confirmed starter for the 'Monds in 2008, along with his brothers Dave & Brendan.
Miller still to win the B&F. Ormond now favorites.
Rufus Red
1 Nov 2007, 09:52
I still think that the Rovers will win C Section, however it depends on two things: 1) how well they recruit new players to the club;and 2) would they get over the D1 Grand Final humilation from Oakleigh.
you're kidding yourself aren't you Jas? It is one thing to be confident, but another to make that statement, even with qualifiers. Do you remember the gulf between C and D grade?
Rufus Red
1 Nov 2007, 09:53
Miller still to win the B&F. Ormond now favorites.
Stop playing yourself down KB. Ormond are still old, slow and fat, with a couple of exceptions who are absolute guns. You only need to develop a decent tagger and you are right.
Great news, instead of having 2 D I C K Head bogans they will have 3.
team_ramrod
1 Nov 2007, 22:50
Hampton have a real chance ..................
thats if their supporters and 2s players collaborate striking allegations on the eve of finals, trying to rub out players who weren't even involved
Doesnt matter though. They love getting enihalated in the big one. lest we forget!!!
Gunn Reserve
2 Nov 2007, 07:48
Great news, instead of having 2 D I C K Head bogans they will have 3.
Coming from a c*ck sucker it doesn't really mean much, does it...?
Ouch!!!!
And seeing you are asking me a question, yes it does mean something.
I hope Barney spits on you first!
Regards
Surly
Hampton have a real chance ..................
thats if their supporters and 2s players collaborate striking allegations on the eve of finals, trying to rub out players who weren't even involved
Doesnt matter though. They love getting enihalated in the big one. lest we forget!!!
At least our home ground has grass on it...
Oh, and keep the sms threats coming...
Nothing more than a typical SFL club. No doubt you'll tell further lies and change the story 6 times if you face the tribunal again in 2008, which you no doubt will. Not to mention evidence from a "still camera" which was clearly a video camera. :rolleyes:
Betting Market-c Section 2008
Rupertswood $1.02
Ajax $1.30
Ormond $2.20
Oakleigh $2.50
Mazenod $3.10
Hampton Rovers $3.30
Parkdale $4.30
Whitefriars $5.00
Mhsob $7.50
Monash $8.00
Everyday Spelling
2 Nov 2007, 21:51
Jascave
You are now offcially the worst bf poster ever with your market. Please fix before surly gets angry. Thats if the surgeons let him.
missfinland
2 Nov 2007, 22:28
everyday spelling, you are correct, this is the worst market EVER,
I shall have a crack.
These odds are based on what i have heard aswell as results from last year both " B " grade joing " c " grade and then " d " grade comming up
Rupo - $3.00
Ajax - $3.90
Ormond - $5.20
Mazenod - $6.00
Whitefriars - $12.00
Oakleigh - $15.00
Hampton - $17.00
Parkdale - $18.00
Mhsob - $25.00
Monash - $30.00
GF Final Double - Rupo V Ajax - $10:00
Rupo V Ormond $ 15.20
Rupo V Mazenod $ 18.00
Ajax V Ormond - $20.00
Ajax V Mazenod - 23.00
Mazenod V Ormond - $31.00
The rest write your own ticket
B & F
Bloke from Ormond Kehlar ( going for four in a row )- sorry if incorrect spelling - $1.80
Good brother from parkdale - $4.00
Chamberlin nodders - $5.50
Monzell ( rupo ) - $7.00
What are the odds on the trifecta happening for 2008 ie Rupertswood (VAFA C Section Premiers), Geelong (AFL Premiers), Melbourne Storm (NRL)?
kingbrown
3 Nov 2007, 18:25
What are the odds on the trifecta happening for 2008 ie Rupertswood (VAFA C Section Premiers), Geelong (AFL Premiers), Melbourne Storm (NRL)?
Using your brilliant market for 2008 and using information i have heard i would say 1.09
uglydermie
4 Nov 2007, 07:38
all certain Jas - add hampton and the quadie would pay only about $5 (for a 10% return)
Jascave
14 Nov 2007, 22:05
I know I've done this before, but with the fixtures release imminent here's how Round 1 might look like:
Hampton Rovers v Oakleigh
AJAX v Rupertswood
Whitefriars v MHSOB
Monash v Parkdale
Mazenod v Ormond
I know I've done this before, but....
Jase - that's the point where you really should stop typing mate.
This is getting ridiculous.
uglydermie
21 Nov 2007, 16:12
Hey Jas - maybe whip up a spreadsheet with the full C grade fixture. Your round one is perfect - but how does it flow on from there?
cheers Ugly
Jascave
21 Nov 2007, 17:15
Just out of interest, what will be the key games to watch out for in C Section in 2008?
Any suggestions/thoughts?
clubwatchdog
21 Nov 2007, 21:45
brendon waldron from port melbourne 2 monash, and have also heard that he has a few players coming with him!!!!! i would not right them off!!!! as the blues team can change every yr!!!! the darkhorse!!!!
Jack_Bauer
23 Nov 2007, 08:40
Just out of interest, what will be the key games to watch out for in C Section in 2008?
Any suggestions/thoughts?
Rupo Vs Oakleigh should be a cracker. Lot of history there. Although most of the young Rupies were playing U19's when that rivalry was last thriving.
Jascave
23 Nov 2007, 09:10
And that could well be the grand final match-up. A Rupertswood-Oakleigh Grand Final would be very interesting, possibly the two best in-form on-field clubs after Old Xaverians and St Bedes Mentone Tigers (in terms of recent on-field success over the past few years). I reckon next to St Kevins-Old Xaverians, and Hampton Rovers-AJAX, this is another big VAFA rivalry that will probabaly grow over the next 2-3 years or more.
Chazz M Michaels
23 Nov 2007, 09:29
And that could well be the grand final match-up. A Rupertswood-Oakleigh Grand Final would be very interesting, possibly the two best in-form on-field clubs after Old Xaverians and St Bedes Mentone Tigers (in terms of recent on-field success over the past few years). I reckon next to St Kevins-Old Xaverians, and Hampton Rovers-AJAX, this is another big VAFA rivalry that will probabaly grow over the next 2-3 years or more.
Thats not a rivalry Jas... OEG v St Bernards... Thats a knife.. i mean rivalry
I reckon next to St Kevins-Old Xaverians, and Hampton Rovers-AJAX, this is another big VAFA rivalry that will probabaly grow over the next 2-3 years or more.
I'll stand corrected by Tutto or Brian if this isn't completely accurate, but I'd venture SKOB and Xavs would've only been in the same grade for about 6 of the last 15 seasons, the last time being 2005.
Bit hard to have a rivalry if you don't play each other......
Jascave
23 Nov 2007, 13:54
But I still reckon that Oakleigh v Rupertswood would be THE C Section Grand Final for 2008. It would not surprise me if Oakleigh and Rupertswood finish in the top two and the end of the H&A series next year.Let's assume if these two clubs were to play off in the C Section Grand Final, what would the outcome be like-Oakleigh or Rupertswood?
Conduct Unbecoming
23 Nov 2007, 14:12
But I still reckon that Oakleigh v Rupertswood would be THE C Section Grand Final for 2008. It would not surprise me if Oakleigh and Rupertswood finish in the top two and the end of the H&A series next year.Let's assume if these two clubs were to play off in the C Section Grand Final, what would the outcome be like-Oakleigh or Rupertswood?
Oakleigh won't be playing any grand finals pal.
Monkeyboy
23 Nov 2007, 16:43
Rupo 25-20-170 def Oakleigh 5.13.43
flying dutchman
23 Nov 2007, 18:19
Ajax
Rupertswood
Ormond
Mazenod
Whitefriars
Oakleigh
MHSOB
Parkdale
Rovers
Monash
Jackas stiff to come back down this year, from all reports Rupo the new "Blacks" of the ammos.
Jackas are the softiest team i have every played all hang out no heart i would expect them to finish mid table your 2,3,4 and 5 teams to hard to strong for any jackas outfit, boys you can round around caulfield park 1000 times but really you should buy a few frozen hearts. Tough but fair please leave your thoughts.
missfinland
24 Nov 2007, 08:22
[/b][/u]
Rupo 25-20-170 def Oakleigh 5.13.43
yes agreed monkeyboy,
Two very different sides from several years ago, Rupo to pull the krushers pants down in rd1 and give them a lesson in " c " grade footy.
Oakleigh will not be playng finals,
Rupo
Ormond
Nodders
Ajax
Jascave
24 Nov 2007, 12:09
Can we see anyone challenging Rupertswood for premiership contention, or is it all going to be one-way traffic?
Ormond appears to be the team to beat from where I'm sitting, especially if Robbo lines up for them.
team_ramrod
27 Nov 2007, 09:33
Dont write off the young krushers just yet.
3 senior premierships in 4 years lets we forget
Yes Rupo should be the benchmark but correct me if im wrong are perrenial bridesmaids having also gone up 3 grades in 4 years without a flag
Lance Burkhardt
27 Nov 2007, 10:23
Jackas are the softiest team i have every played all hang out no heart i would expect them to finish mid table your 2,3,4 and 5 teams to hard to strong for any jackas outfit, boys you can round around caulfield park 1000 times but really you should buy a few frozen hearts. Tough but fair please leave your thoughts.
Regardless of the Jackas perceived "softness" they were still fairly stiff to get relegated. If a few games went there way in '07 they would've just missed out of a finals birth. Having said this, and unsure of changes to their playing list, one can only draw to the conclusion that a drop in division would see them very competitive this year. Other teams may be harder, but a team that can run out a game won't have too much difficulty being competitive. People always like to think that the standard of footy within a section, is pretty close to the section above. Realistically with the exception of the top or top 2 teams the B-C gap is a lot bigger than you give credit for.
I just love my footy
27 Nov 2007, 11:33
It is interesting to see that everyont has the grade down to 3-4 teams, and we are still in November. Long time to go before the season starts.
Ruperstwood? Oakleigh? Ajax? Ormond? Is this the only 4 teams that are in C Grade?
I thought there were 10 teams, and funnily enough, right at this point in time, each of them probably has about the same chance of winning the flag in 2008 as the next one. Who knows what some of the clubs may be doing?
Whitefriars were in A Grade only 3 years ago, and i am sure are not that far away.
Mazenod have been ther eand done that too. Have we forgotten them?
Never right off a team like MHSOB or they may come up and bite.
Monash Blues? University teams do throw up some pretty amazing years if the right talent turns up to play.
Lets not get too bogged down yet, we are still over 4 months away, and i am sure most teams have only recently started training. If you want to blow your own trumpet, sit at the pub and do it. You are merely wasting time by posting on here, as it puts in writing evidence that can be used against you when your team FAILS in season 2008.
Seriously, get on with it boys, and talk the talk during the season, when you can actually walk the walk to back it up. Stop wasting everyone's time with useless drivel!!!
Guess we'd better shut the whole BF site down then eh?
Re-open the AFL stuff in late March and the other leagues in mid April.
See you all then. :rolleyes:
Lance Burkhardt
27 Nov 2007, 12:31
Lets not get too bogged down yet, we are still over 4 months away, and i am sure most teams have only recently started training. If you want to blow your own trumpet, sit at the pub and do it. You are merely wasting time by posting on here, as it puts in writing evidence that can be used against you when your team FAILS in season 2008.
Seriously, get on with it boys, and talk the talk during the season, when you can actually walk the walk to back it up. Stop wasting everyone's time with useless drivel!!!
Useless drivel :confused::confused:
Correct me if i'm wrong but isn't this exactly what everyone wants?
As an example there was no better moment than after the B Section second semi when OE choked after a great pre-season of talking themselves up. (probably not for OE supporters)
Personally, i'd rather sink pi$$ at the pub and i'd rather hear people talking up their team on big footy.
Jack_Bauer
3 Dec 2007, 12:49
Apparently we can't talk about footy on Big Footy anymore so here goes....
How does everyone think the Aussies will go in the cricket this year? Do you thinks many players will go to the IPL?
Hows about the Melbourne Victory at the moment what a rabble? No Fred No Victory!
Should Brad Hodge get another crack at the aussie team?
Melbourne Tigers doing OK at the moment. Go the NBL!Wasn't this thread started by a poll of who is going to win the flag this year? What else are we supposed to talk about at this time of the year?:D
Solarium Obsession
3 Dec 2007, 13:43
Apparently we can't talk about footy on Big Footy anymore so here goes....
How does everyone think the Aussies will go in the cricket this year? Do you thinks many players will go to the IPL?
Hows about the Melbourne Victory at the moment what a rabble? No Fred No Victory!
Should Brad Hodge get another crack at the aussie team?
Melbourne Tigers doing OK at the moment. Go the NBL!Wasn't this thread started by a poll of who is going to win the flag this year? What else are we supposed to talk about at this time of the year?:D
They've lost their last 4. Hardly would've thought they're doing ok???
FYI, the fixtures for C Section in 2008 has been released.
Games to watch out for include:
Round 1-Hampton Rovers v Oakleigh: How will the Rovers respond to last year's D1 Grand Final humiliation to Oakleigh.
Round 1-Ormond v Mazenod-Russell Barnes returns home to coach his old club against the Nodders.
Round 2-Oakleigh v Ormond: Oakleigh unfurl their 2007 premiership flag when they play Ormond.
Round 5, Rivalry Round-Hampton Rovers v Ormond: Two of the most successful district clubs meet as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary.
Round 8-Hampton Rovers v AJAX: No love lost between these two clubs whenever they meet.
Round 9-Rupertswood v Oakleigh: A likely C Section Grand Final preview.
For the full VAFA fixture, go to www.vafa.com.au.
missfinland
8 Dec 2007, 09:27
Jason, no grand final preview in rd 9.
Oakleigh will not play finals let alone be moving to " B" grade in season 2009.
There is no way that oakleigh / hampton were as good as carey ( one of the best D grade sides ever to grace the park ) or rupertswood moving up to c grade this year and the results proved just how good both sides were with them being involved in one of the best pre lims ever at vafa level.
Ormond have signed Matty Robbins, to add to what was already a very very good unit, that will fill a finals spot, Ajax won 6 games in " b " grade this year and cuold have a case of staying there, you would think that will be good enough to get a finals spot, rupo lost the prelim by 4pts, you would think they will hold a finals spot, and the nodders while started slow won thier last 12 games or something like that to make finals, have a very good even side that will again be very hard to beat,
There will be noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oakleigh in finals 2008.
harvey35
8 Dec 2007, 12:46
Jason, no grand final preview in rd 9.
Oakleigh will not play finals let alone be moving to " B" grade in season 2009.
There is no way that oakleigh / hampton were as good as carey ( one of the best D grade sides ever to grace the park ) or rupertswood moving up to c grade this year and the results proved just how good both sides were with them being involved in one of the best pre lims ever at vafa level.
Ormond have signed Matty Robbins, to add to what was already a very very good unit, that will fill a finals spot, Ajax won 6 games in " b " grade this year and cuold have a case of staying there, you would think that will be good enough to get a finals spot, rupo lost the prelim by 4pts, you would think they will hold a finals spot, and the nodders while started slow won thier last 12 games or something like that to make finals, have a very good even side that will again be very hard to beat,
There will be noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oakleigh in finals 2008.
I think that is what everyone said this year about Oakleigh going to D1 and look what happened. Much bigger ask next year you would think but wouldn't want to write them of just yet.
I think the VAFA made the right choice in choosing Hampton Rovers & Ormond to be the main drawcard for C Section in next year's rivalry round (Round 5). Not only are they the most successful district clubs as far as premierships are concerned, they also have a strong rivalry, which goes back as far as the 1951 A Section premiership play-off, where Hampton Rovers, who with one game remaining in the home & away season were not even a chance to make the finals, stunned Ormond by winning the premiership (some Ormond old-timers have still not got over that result, even when Ormond won multiple A Section premierships). It got too much for the Ormond trainer who slapped the umpire across the face with his towel and copped a 12 month suspension. Add to this is the fact that Russell Barnes used to play at Ormond, then he coached Hampton Rovers for 3 years, the highlight being the 1998 premiership. Next year, Russell Barnes will coach Ormond in what looks to be, on paper one of the games of the season in C Section.
kingbrown
8 Dec 2007, 16:21
My feel for Rupo at this point is this. Given we get every recruit and hold on to all our players with natural improvement we will be an 8-10 goal better side. At the other end of the scale with players trying out at VFL level, players being lured for dollars and players unable to commit for passionate reasons worst case scenario we would be 5 goals worse, in that there is a 13-15 goal difference in possibilities. The challenge for most sides is now with obstensibly (Jack do you like that one), with the coaches and administration. Look at what the 2 OC's achieved. N.Holland with the help of that tall prick of an umpire kicked 8, could have kicked 11, didn't play till round 14 was a great pick up and really helped OC2 to b division. No problems with them having the ability to pick up such great players. Can't wait till 2008.
missfinland
10 Dec 2007, 14:50
Kingbrown, if your first point about Rupertswood holding onto their players and adding a couple comes true, that would be quite scary for every other side in c section this year, they could quite easily go the season without dropping a game,
The other point you mention is that you have several at VFL clubs ?
Who are they and what chance do you give them of making the list ?
And how many of your young up and comming guns are being lured away for the coinn ?
Could make things very interesting if Ruperstwood do lose several of their key young players.
kingbrown
10 Dec 2007, 15:07
Not sure of all the dynamics of where all of our players are at. My point is that to speculate at this time of the year is fun but it is also futile. At some point next year i am sure we will welcome back Dave Collins, Jay Plummer, Daniel Burrowes, Eric Dressler, Scott Nettleton and hopefully a fitter Luke Spinner among many others. This may offset things a bit overall. Each year we have had players trying out with VFL clubs as we probably do this year, i would not have a clue on there situation of making a list, but one thing for sure they come back very fit. By late Feb we should have a good indication of the strength of our list, which will vary depending on players situations.
missfinland
10 Dec 2007, 20:41
done a little research KB, and you have listed 6 players that have played h TAC cup footy or A grade ammos' footy or both.
Collins, your captain and going through several posts from this years c grade thread, that would be a great get comming back from his knee - hope all goes well, dressler ??? played vic rep footy while at the cannons ? burrows, played cannons and a year at bearnards ? not mention luke spinner,
KIng brown, get in the line to collect your medal son,
All one way traffic in " c grade "
Methinks AJAX -v- Rupo would be an exciting, hard running encounter befitting of top billing at this very early stage.
Should be happy times ahead for the C section crew.
Here's hoping the summer is a bit wetter so that no club is disadvantaged through lack of access to grounds during Jan-March.
Freebaser
15 Dec 2007, 20:43
How are the Nodders going guys? have been out of the loop for a couple of months. Any interesting off season moves?
Big Barb
20 Dec 2007, 12:38
FYI, the fixtures for C Section in 2008 has been released.
Round 1-Hampton Rovers v Oakleigh: How will the Rovers respond to last year's D1 Grand Final humiliation to Oakleigh.
Round 1-Ormond v Mazenod-Russell Barnes returns home to coach his old club against the Nodders.
Round 2-Oakleigh v Ormond: Oakleigh unfurl their 2007 premiership flag when they play Ormond.
Round 5, Rivalry Round-Hampton Rovers v Ormond: Two of the most successful district clubs meet as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary.
Round 8-Hampton Rovers v AJAX: No love lost between these two clubs whenever they meet.
Round 9-Rupertswood v Oakleigh: A likely C Section Grand Final preview.
For the full VAFA fixture, go to www.vafa.com.au (http://www.vafa.com.au).
Jase is your favourite word "humiliation"? Outrrrrraaaaaagggggggeeeeeous!
Not great.
Well after such an enjoyable year on the hill I for one am looking forward to another interesting season. Deck chairs have been steam cleaned, scarves washed and the tonsils lubricated. Pity any side that travels out to the hell hole at Rupo next season as they have recruited magnificently.
And that is only the supporter base. Go Eagles!!!
kingbrown
21 Dec 2007, 08:03
How are the Nodders going guys? have been out of the loop for a couple of months. Any interesting off season moves?
The nodders as expected keep a low profile and won't see a heap of spruicking. If i lived on that side of town i would love to be at that club. Mind you Monash's ground would be a definite lure, good club and the ground is the best surface in Amateur footy, not that i have seen them all. Nodders ground is also a beauty. Seasons greetings to all and already cant wait for 2008.
ultimate hater
21 Dec 2007, 08:39
Jase is your favourite word "humiliation"? Outrrrrraaaaaagggggggeeeeeous!
Not great.
you are a tool.
Big Barb
21 Dec 2007, 16:09
you are a tool.
And you are a fish.
Hook
Line
Sinker
Wanker
You are NOT great. Outraaaaaaggggeeeous
north of the river
21 Dec 2007, 17:32
[quote=Jascave;9626768]FYI, the fixtures for C Section in 2008 has been released.
Also Jas, Barnes coached Hampton to a grand final (premiership??) in 90's??
Ultimate Hater .. mate you are becoming 1 pain in the arse poster - chill out man as other poster are walking away with the crap you load on other posters.
Jascave
21 Dec 2007, 19:02
Yes, the 1998 premiership when the Rovers played Beaumaris. You all know my thoughts are about this match so no need to go through it again. Yet it still amazes me as to why Russell Barnes was overlooked for the State coaching job, when the VAFA gave the job to Nick Bourke (now VAFA president). Did the VAFA not take into account Barnesy's coaching performance, especially since the Rovers went from virtual relegation to premiers in 1 year in a very tough section?
Dudley Hamstrung
22 Dec 2007, 05:24
KB, by coincidence i bumped into the Z-Man on the powder white slopes of Switzerland and he is keen to board his way back to the Roo-Roo-Roo-Pee train and lead them toward a much desired flag. Since the "Z" has been gone, the place has felt a little colder, a little less inviting and a little less egg-Ziting.
With Nip Nip Hatty's committed to O/S duties they have lost a forward, but the prospects of 'Hansel' Clarke returning are good. It is also rumoured that Luke 'Garrison' Harrison will finally return to take the number 9 guernsey he so proudly wore long ago.
Also, Dave 'Crum Diddy' Keenan has shaken off the knee soreness and is ready, sauced, fluent in jibberish and fired up to tear apart C section 2008. He has also managed to score a tan (AKA: more freckles)
The last update is K (now) 'Muscles' McTrewin who has put on at least 45kgs in the off season and can practically bench press a mack truck.
Go C Grade 2008!
Jascave
22 Dec 2007, 08:50
When was the last time a club (not counting Under 19s or Club 18) went through a season undefeated in C Section, seeing that there's a good chance that Rupertswood might go through 2008 without dropping a game?
Dudley Hamstrung
23 Dec 2007, 05:24
Jas, I think St.Bedes went through the season undefeated in C last year. Only to lose the first final to Ajax
Jascave
23 Dec 2007, 09:19
You might as well slot Rupertswood in as one of the two grand final teams. The other spot is very much up for grabs. I can't see anyone-and I include Hampton Rovers in this-beating Rupertswood.
Ammo Man
23 Dec 2007, 16:41
Why the raps on the Rovers?
kingbrown
24 Dec 2007, 06:20
Jas am looking forward to locking horns in 2008, wish we had your confidence about Rupo, it will not happen. Like all sides we would look to make the final four, then anything can happen. Losing a prelim can be a disaster for some teams, hopefully that won't happen either. What does everyone think about pre-Christmas training? I think it is over rated at this level.
bedford
24 Dec 2007, 06:48
there is no need at c section level to start before xmas.clubs could build a better relationship with councils and summer sports if they didnt.as long as the players look after themselves theres no need.
Jascave
24 Dec 2007, 08:21
I can't work out why you would want to have pre-Christmas training when we are still in the early stages of cricket season, clubs are still getting over their performances of the year just gone. There's no need for pre-Christmas training. It'd be better (and a lot smarter) to start pre-season training as a whole in late January, rather than have a pre-Christmas training period, then a break for Christmas, then start up all over again in January.
Personally, I think pre-Xmas training is very useful for setting a tone for a club's season, particularly if the previous one was not too flash. I can't recall a season where I didn't attend and participate in pre-Xmas training (whether I was playing A, B, C or now D section).
Just briefly, here are a few reasons why you might wish to have a few sessions to bring your playing list together:
1. introduce new recruits early
2. introduce new coaches to players
3. provide one or two weekly sessions for players to work on maintaining, if not improving their fitness base
4. players keen to improve can show the coaching staff early their intentions by working hard on skills and conditioning.
In the VAFA, pre-Xmas training should be encouraged, but not made compulsory. Those who are keen to improve themselves, and their team, should have an opportunity to get stuck into things as early as they wish.
Just my opinion.
NB - I've never played cricket, so impinging on a summer sport hasn't been an issue either. Again - it's a personal preference.
kingbrown
24 Dec 2007, 17:05
Personally, I think pre-Xmas training is very useful for setting a tone for a club's season, particularly if the previous one was not too flash. I can't recall a season where I didn't attend and participate in pre-Xmas training (whether I was playing A, B, C or now D section).
Just briefly, here are a few reasons why you might wish to have a few sessions to bring your playing list together:
1. introduce new recruits early
2. introduce new coaches to players
3. provide one or two weekly sessions for players to work on maintaining, if not improving their fitness base
4. players keen to improve can show the coaching staff early their intentions by working hard on skills and conditioning.
In the VAFA, pre-Xmas training should be encouraged, but not made compulsory. Those who are keen to improve themselves, and their team, should have an opportunity to get stuck into things as early as they wish.
Just my opinion.
NB - I've never played cricket, so impinging on a summer sport hasn't been an issue either. Again - it's a personal preference.
I'm with you on all those points Scribe and see it as a necessary function in today's footy. I just see it as unfortunate that with the continued path of elite football, statistics, reviews, game plans etc that it is necessary for suburban footy to attempt to keep up. Cricket and footy now have an overlap that is ridiculous and makes it hard to play both, this goes with all sports as an 11 year old if you make a representative basketball team it requires 4 to 5 days of commitment and leaves the kid with limited time to do anything else. Let's follow the French and have 4 day weeks, less stress and more time for sport.
St.Kev's Cowboy
28 Dec 2007, 06:54
For me, it's too early to say a side will go undefeated...in fact, just saying that is quite outrageous. If it were to happen to a young club like Rupertswood I'd say "good o," but I seriously doubt it will happen. I think MHSOB will need to be watched. They've had too much bad press too early. For me, this is a little dangerous to the stronger clubs. My money - at this very early point - is on Mazenod. They took a little while to get rolling in season 07, but the string of 9-10 wins in a row they put together (which included defeats of the 3 ther finals participants) will see them confident of a strong flag tilt in 08.
I'm agreeing with Scribe on the need for pre-Chrissy training as it can help a side gain that little bit of extra fitness and closeness.
Hope those Pure Blondes taste just as good in Summer as they do after a victory KB!
Over The Post
30 Dec 2007, 20:50
I did a pre-Christmas regime last year, but hurt my knee at work and training aggravated it to the point where it only just came right in March. I pinged a hammy at training in April and it followed me all the way through to the end of the season.
So this year I thought I'd give the legs a thorough rest, and start gentle running next week so that I'm ready for the preseason proper when it hits. Concurrent with that is a few sessions with a personal trainer for cardio and stretching, and watching what I eat. Diet changes alone has seen me drop almost 10kg in the last month, I'm well under last seasons playing weight and setting myself up to be competitive with the young buggers next year.
If I wasn't so conscious about the hamstring situation I'd have been doing light work with the guys down the club from mid November. But thats only because I don't play cricket and would otherwise just be blobbing out. I don't think its reasonable to expect those playing cricket seriously to do footy preseason as well, especially before the end of January.
Now that we are 4 months away from the opening bounce of the 2008 C Section season (drought conditions permitting, be prepared for a late start like last year), what's the early money for the C Section Premiership as far as punters are concerned, as well as the best & fairest of the C Section comp this year?
team_ramrod
3 Jan 2008, 15:40
its gotta be hampton jase
they are the best eveeerrrrrrrr
as for the b and f for c section it must be a 22 way tie between all the hampton firsts.
ultimate hater
7 Jan 2008, 15:16
Ultimate Hater .. mate you are becoming 1 pain in the arse poster - chill out man as other poster are walking away with the crap you load on other posters.
i hate on people who deserve it.. big barb was posting tripe which didn't contribute to the thread one bit, i don't "load crap" on posters having a go and giving an opinion on something.. having said that, i do like to argue give a bit of stick, but i never come out with a straight up "you're a tool" statement unless its deserved, and BB fully derserved it with some of the things he/she had been posting at the time.. have a read..
not sure why you were offended by it though..??
Jascave
10 Jan 2008, 08:08
Here's my ladder for season 2008:
Rupertswood
Ormond
Mazenod
AJAX
Oakleigh
Whitefriars
Hampton Rovers
Parkdale
MHSOB
Monash
Big Barb
16 Jan 2008, 20:42
i hate on people who deserve it.. big barb was posting tripe which didn't contribute to the thread one bit, i don't "load crap" on posters having a go and giving an opinion on something.. having said that, i do like to argue give a bit of stick, but i never come out with a straight up "you're a tool" statement unless its deserved, and BB fully derserved it with some of the things he/she had been posting at the time.. have a read..
not sure why you were offended by it though..??
Are you an emo Ultimate hater?
Don't worry, be happy mate. OUTRAGEOUS!
Has anyone heard about the progress of the Jackas?
Heard AJAX are raring to go in '08, and have lots of big names at the Club for this year..
Having won 6 and lost 3 by less than a kick in B Grade last year , they have to be one of the hot sides in 08.
Heard AJAX are raring to go in '08, and have lots of big names at the Club for this year..
Having won 6 and lost 3 by less than a kick in B Grade last year , they have to be one of the hot sides in 08.
Go on BigJ, you seem to be the only one here who knows anything about AJAX - care to expand? Who are these names and how big are they?
Isn't every club flying at this time of year ?? :cool:
bedford
18 Jan 2008, 22:06
who cares their soft
Ajax soft?
Winning is the name of the game..
Ajax soft?
Winning is the name of the game..
Who are these 'big name' players of which you speak?
Can you wait till April 12th????
Jascave
26 Jan 2008, 17:00
What's the betting market like for the 2008 C Section premiership?
Hey Jas, can you tell us why the big Chief has been stood down as the Hampton president?