View Full Version : Celebrities You Have Met
The Filth Wizard
5 Oct 2007, 16:06
Alright, lets have a chat about the rich and famous that you have met.
I don't mean (AFL) footballers.
I've had a few...
Hung out with The Darkness after one of their Sydney gigs, and also hung out for beers with Mental As Anything... their drummer tried to get me to go back to his place to listen to some old Bee Gees stuff which creeped me out a bit.
Met Sylvester Stallone, Will Smith, James Caan, Stephen Dorff, Shaquille O'Neal and Jean Claude Van Damme at the Planet Hollywood opening when I nabbed some entry tickets.
Sold sunglasses to Billy Joel... he was trying very hard to get noticed.
One day in Newtown I sat at the opposite table to Daniel Johns and Paul Mac, chatted to the tall Wiggle (the blue one?) about the massive pile of heavy metal he was buying, and then got almost knocked out by Tim Freedman as he was stumbling out of a pub.
And the only time I ever chased down an autograph was when Tommy Lee came in to the Moore Park Supacenta up here in Sydney on a late tuesday afternoon. I thought it was so odd no one would believe me.
Roos4eva
5 Oct 2007, 16:08
Unfortunately my list isn't quite so big.
I met System of a Down five years ago at Melbourne Airport when they were here for the Big Day Out. I was pretty much the only person who recognised them.
bushranger
5 Oct 2007, 16:09
i met shaun tait
The Filth Wizard
5 Oct 2007, 16:17
I met System of a Down five years ago at Melbourne Airport when they were here for the Big Day Out. I was pretty much the only person who recognised them.
Damn cool band...
I forgot, I did once give Ed Kowalczyk from Live a high five at one of their gigs. That's like meeting him:rolleyes:
Your reading the word's of a relative of Billy Crystal. Read 'em and wheep boys (and girls).
The Filth Wizard
5 Oct 2007, 17:00
Your reading the word's of a relative of Billy Crystal. Read 'em and wheep boys (and girls).
How far removed, Bellzy?:rolleyes:
I'll trump it. I'm a third cousin of Gary Cooper.:D
How far removed, Bellzy?:rolleyes:
I'll trump it. I'm a third cousin of Gary Cooper.:D
Well played sir. Third I believe...:p
benny1712
5 Oct 2007, 17:26
:eek:
nice :thumbsu:
micky_11
5 Oct 2007, 17:29
Ive met David Foster:thumbsu:
Crankitup
5 Oct 2007, 17:29
Billy Connolly (he was walking down Hay St in Perth) years ago.
Kim Hughes (played at the same cricket club as him; Subiaco-Floreat).
Bob Hawke
Did I mention Harold Holt? Yeah, was walking down the streets of Beijing a few months ago...
The Filth Wizard
5 Oct 2007, 18:53
Did I mention Harold Holt? Yeah, was walking down the streets of Beijing a few months ago...
Arm in arm with Elvis on their way to dinner at Amelia Earharts?:D
SweetLeftFoot
5 Oct 2007, 18:55
Tony Blair.
The Filth Wizard
5 Oct 2007, 18:57
Tony Blair.
We said "celebrities":p
SweetLeftFoot
5 Oct 2007, 18:59
He's a celebrity now!
I know them out of Killing Heidi too.
sammy_18
5 Oct 2007, 19:01
met michael clarke
courtney love back in 95' she was carrying her teddy bear backpack with kurt's ashes inside...crazy chik... she'd definatley get three strikes from the afl's drug policy:D
SweetLeftFoot
5 Oct 2007, 19:04
Would you have done her?
Arm in arm with Elvis on their way to dinner at Amelia Earharts?:D
Didn't you hear? Elvis is dead...:o
Constipated Duck
5 Oct 2007, 20:23
Hung out with The Darkness after one of their Sydney gigs
You bastard.
chatted to the tall Wiggle (the blue one?) about the massive pile of heavy metal he was buying
What???? This demands an explanation!!! If you're being cryptic I've missed it.
Arden Street
5 Oct 2007, 20:54
i have a cousin who plays in the WNBA she recently won the championships with Phoenix Mercury. She also plays for the Australian Opals her name is Belinda Snell.
Would you have done her?
In a second:p she was reaching over my back to check out my CDs... very juicy cans;)... I'll stop now:D
The big ROObowski
5 Oct 2007, 21:34
tadgh Kennelys my technical cousin but theres no blood link involved.
my aunt married his uncle....were practically brothers!
i've met arj barker, Adam Clayton the bassist from u2 and i got introduced to Coxy from postcards...yep coxy.
micky_11
5 Oct 2007, 21:38
tadgh Kennelys my technical cousin but theres no blood link involved.
my aunt married his uncle....were practically brothers!
i've met arj barker, Adam Clayton the bassist from u2 and i got introduced to Coxy from postcards...yep coxy.
Coxy:eek: you win hands down
NimChief
6 Oct 2007, 02:22
I know Demet from Big Brother.
she's my cousins friend.
I've also met John Ilhan...owner of Crazy Johns.
He's an uncle of a girl i know.
The Filth Wizard
6 Oct 2007, 09:34
You bastard.
What???? This demands an explanation!!! If you're being cryptic I've missed it.
Not cryptic at all, CD.
The man was literally buying a ton of heavy metal at a music store in Newtown.
And at that, I used to be in musicals in Wagga Wagga with the new Wiggle, when we were kids.
No shortage of celebs in our house.
I was once a contestant on 'Battle of The Sexes':D
The missus is an actress/singer, my youngest kid was in the Stingers cast for a year, I work in the TV / Film industry - so name dropping actors, athletes, and musos would probably come across as a wank fest.
By the way, I lost the battle of the sexes episode - blame it on Merv Hughes.
Kangalicious
6 Oct 2007, 13:32
I took Anthony Hopkins to the theatre about a million years ago. Melb Uni Union theatre, at interval he asked me to show him round campus, rather than sit and be stared at. So we went for a walk.
Two weeks later 'Silence of the Lambs' was released. I have to say, if I'd seen that first, he could have found his way round campus on his own.
SweetLeftFoot
6 Oct 2007, 19:05
In a second:p she was reaching over my back to check out my CDs... very juicy cans;)... I'll stop now:D
Yes, she was less cracked out then.
DarwinRoo
7 Oct 2007, 15:22
I met one of the constestants off the first series of "The Block". He was married to the chick that was a singer. He was the brother in law of a Flight Sergeant posted to RAAF Wagga.
Chadwiko
7 Oct 2007, 15:35
Dave Grohl
Daniel Johns
John Howard
Kim Beazley
Fergie and the rest of the black eyed peas
Kevin Rudd
Jennifer Hawkins
and a whole bunch of rock/punk bands
The big ROObowski
7 Oct 2007, 16:35
Dave Grohl
Daniel Johns
John Howard
Kim Beazley
Kevin Rudd
Jennifer Hawkins
ok did you punch anyone in the face?
please say daniel johns.
Chadwiko
7 Oct 2007, 17:08
ok did you punch anyone in the face?
please say daniel johns.
Can't say I have.
Dave Grohl opened a beer for me with his elbow... ELBOW!
micky_11
7 Oct 2007, 17:26
Dave Grohl
Daniel Johns
John Howard
Kim Beazley
Kevin Rudd
Jennifer Hawkins
The Dave Grohl off Viva La Bam?
I met one of the constestants off the first series of "The Block". He was married to the chick that was a singer. He was the brother in law of a Flight Sergeant posted to RAAF Wagga.
Gavin or wazza?... sorry had to say it;)
DarwinRoo
7 Oct 2007, 21:27
Gavin or wazza?... sorry had to say it;)
Very funny Jozeph. :rolleyes:;)
The Zebra
8 Oct 2007, 00:55
I have had sex with a former soapie star (she wasn't a total star, but she was on a major iconic soap) and then she was on another Aussie drama later (9:30pmish) - doing ads lately.
RoyalBlue
8 Oct 2007, 03:42
I have a cracking Johnny Young of Young Talent Time fame story for anyone who can find me at the players BBQ.
I have also met MARK PERKINS.
Chadwiko
8 Oct 2007, 07:59
I have had sex with a former soapie star (she wasn't a total star, but she was on a major iconic soap) and then she was on another Aussie drama later (9:30pmish) - doing ads lately.
http://www.seven.com.au/catalogueFiles/ha2-3/images/portrait-character/haa_portchar_186x186_alf_01.jpg
The Filth Wizard
8 Oct 2007, 09:10
http://www.seven.com.au/catalogueFiles/ha2-3/images/portrait-character/haa_portchar_186x186_alf_01.jpg
:D:thumbsu:
http://www.aussieactors.com/new%20images/headshots/rowenawallace.jpg
Chadwiko
8 Oct 2007, 11:17
Oh....oh god...
Zebra, nooooo
Did you have a Flamin' Mongrel Zebs?
But was she in the same room Zebra?
Hahaha pretty good effort that!
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 01:24
And here was me thinking Vivien Grey had retired.
vb_is_4_me
9 Oct 2007, 14:22
bouncer had a dump on my lawn once.
clarke_rubber
9 Oct 2007, 14:24
My sister slept with an Australian Idol runner up. Sorry can't say his name.
The Filth Wizard
9 Oct 2007, 16:05
My sister slept with an Australian Idol runner up. Sorry can't say his name.
Anthony Callea???:D
The Filth Wizard
9 Oct 2007, 16:06
bouncer had a dump on my lawn once.
I take it you don't mean the bouncer that king hit David Hookes. Wouldn't put it past the low-life.
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 16:10
Lots.
Just got off the phone to Kim Salmon, and I'm speaking to Simon Honisett (ex-lead singer of the Sea Stories and Sunglass) now.
So, there you go.
Life in the fast lane.
And here was me thinking Vivien Grey had retired.
Haha, had to google that first!
Being a receptionist for a publishing company had it's perks, one being all sorts of celebs coming in for interviews and photo shoots.
My favs were
Hugh Jackman
Steve Waugh
Maurie Fields and Son
Kouta - accidentally came into office cos he was lost
John Wood
Angry Anderson - actually a nice guy to chat to
Jim Keays - see Angry A (this is for u oldies out there}
Non favs
Dermie
and 3 guys from Richmond (goes without saying considering one was Campbell - yurck)
and that bimbo who is on australia's funniest home video -
I took Anthony Hopkins to the theatre about a million years ago. Melb Uni Union theatre, at interval he asked me to show him round campus, rather than sit and be stared at. So we went for a walk.
Two weeks later 'Silence of the Lambs' was released. I have to say, if I'd seen that first, he could have found his way round campus on his own.
Hang on, you've been giving me crap for the last week or two and you drop that pearler now?
Like Lidge, a bit too easy and too wanky, but just to prove that I'm not above being a complete tosspot, I was once thanked in a Gold Logie acceptance speech.:p
Lots.
Just got off the phone to Kim Salmon, and I'm speaking to Simon Honisett (ex-lead singer of the Sea Stories and Sunglass) now.
So, there you go.
Life in the fast lane.
Name dropper!
Yesterday for me..a couple of A Listers.
Robert Walls
Matthew Hardy
Last week it was Silverchair & Powderfinger (a couple of your favourite bands).
We filmed their gig at Vodafone.
I reckon Daniel Johns would slot in nicely at Hawthorn FC. Wouldn't be out of his depth at West Coast either.;)
As I said in an earlier post - too many too mention. But the highlight this year would have been meeting the boys from Little Britain when they were doing their press junkets a few months ago.
Like Lidge, a bit too easy and too wanky, but just to prove that I'm not above being a complete tosspot, I was once thanked in a Gold Logie acceptance speech.:p
Fingers crossed I'll be accepting a different shade of one of them gongs and an AFI next year.
"Best Reality TV Series/Program".:D
Mr Reliable
9 Oct 2007, 21:14
Did you have a Flamin' Mongrel Zebs?
Flamin' hell. It wasn't Ailsa was it?
Mr Reliable
9 Oct 2007, 21:17
You may as well go all the way and tell us who by???
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 21:20
Last week it was Silverchair & Powderfinger (a couple of your favourite bands).
Look who's name-dropping now. I'm impressed.
But because you know full well how posteriorly-retentive I am about music, can the record reflect that I am no fan of Silverchair really. Powderfinger go alright though.
Weirdest celebrity I've ever met - James Ellroy.
Whoa. Dude is intense.
Intensely fcuked-up, that is.
Zeb's belly warmer?
Constipated Duck
9 Oct 2007, 21:20
Oh....oh god...
The audio transcript was the last thing we needed....
SweetLeftFoot
9 Oct 2007, 21:26
Just got off the phone to Kim Salmon,
Surreal.
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 21:29
The audio transcript was the last thing we needed....
:D :D
Nice one.
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 21:30
Surreal.
See above post.
SweetLeftFoot
9 Oct 2007, 21:32
See above post.
I does me best.
It probably won't impress anyone outside Scotland, but I have also met Luke Mitchell. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luke_Mitchell)
I does me best.
It probably won't impress anyone outside Scotland, but I have also met Luke Mitchell. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luke_Mitchell)
'Nice'.
My sister-in-law was Myra Hindley's lawyer.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myra_Hindley
SweetLeftFoot
9 Oct 2007, 21:38
'Nice'.
My sister-in-law was Myra Hindley's lawyer.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myra_Hindley
Hey - cool.
Is she still in the UK.
I've also met Ahmed Zakayev (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/2375233.stm)
His bodyguard was the scariest bugger I've ever met.
Not a big guy, probably in the early 40s, but just had the eyes of a man who had killed lots and lots and lots people, and was going to get a few notches on the kalashnikov before checking out.
Hey - cool.
Is she still in the UK.
Yep.
And I probably should add pharro to the celebrities that I've met. Just as my young fella Oscar has his own entry on IMDb - so does the sharp dressed man!
And if anyone is a Comedy Festival regular, you may have seen Mrs Lidge doing a season of D-Cuppetry (the chick's version of Puppetry of the Penis).
And while on the topic of comedy - Big Footy's own Yianni gets a plug in this thread.
SweetLeftFoot
9 Oct 2007, 22:00
What a multi talented bunch we are.
The Other Dean
10 Oct 2007, 03:08
Yep.
And I probably should add pharro to the celebrities that I've met. Just as my young fella Oscar has his own entry on IMDb - so does the sharp dressed man!
And if anyone is a Comedy Festival regular, you may have seen Mrs Lidge doing a season of D-Cuppetry (the chick's version of Puppetry of the Penis).
And while on the topic of comedy - Big Footy's own Yianni gets a plug in this thread.
I wholeheartedly endorse those mentions.
And I also nominate yourself. On the basis that I'm sure at some point you've probably shattered Boonie's can-sinking record on a flight over to London.
Btw, on the subject of poster's wives, I have heard that a certain BF poster's wife does a very good Diamond Joe Quimby impersonation.
Wouldn't have a clue which poster though, of course.
And I also nominate yourself. On the basis that I'm sure at some point you've probably shattered Boonie's can-sinking record on a flight over to London.
Close, but no cigar.
Minor placings for me. Ranking somewhere between Doug Walters & Rod Marsh's efforts.;)
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 11:52
Actually met any celebrities. well no, but seen them around. Well mainly footballers who Iv echatted with, but they dont count, Chatting with CJ, Arch & Boomer. Beaten Leon Davis in a game of Pool. I know Paul Wheatley from Melbourne.
Colin " Funky" Miller at Mercury Lounge around 2003, with a fine looking young lady!
Mate of mine and my self just yelled out "FUNKY" he just laughed and shook our hands!
Saw Jane Hall and Kay Kendall at the Luggage pick up at Melb Airport, this year the same day I came the closest to meeting a celebrity in the one and only Chrissie Hynde from The Pretenders at the Aiport stnding out side her tour bus chatting to one of her band members, I had to get passed her to get to the other side so walked right passed her and and I said "Excuse me" and she moved out of my way, I think she may have said "sorry" I said "thank you" and just smiled.
Humming a few bars of " Brass in pocket"...............
Saw Jane Hall and Kay Kendall at the Luggage pick up at Melb Airport, ............
Kate Kendall.
Good egg that girl. Her husband, well that's a different story.
Jennifer Love Hewitt, Jennifer Hawkins just to name a couple.
taz@freo
10 Oct 2007, 12:03
Being a massive autograph collector here are a list of a few celebs I've met:
Carlos Santana (he bought me a scotch on the rocks when I was 15 after his concert)
John Travolta...what a guy
Enrique + Anna Kournikova
Roger Federer, Rafa Nadal, Rod Laver
The Foo Fighters.... Dave Grohl is a true legend
Greenday (My personal favourites)
Heath Ledger, Naomi Watts, Hugh Jackman.. at various appearances
Delta Goodrem
Dan Carter, Tana Umaga, George Gregan, John Eales
Michael Schumacher, Kimi Raikkonen, Jack Brabham, Jackie Stewart
I've definitely have left a few off but I hope you guys enjoy my list..
I've also got a plain white Footy Jersey signed by nearly every living member of the AFL Hall of Fame + Len Thompson.. 90 autographs on it!!!!!
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 12:04
Kate Kendall.
Good egg that girl. Her husband, well that's a different story.
Was a good player though!
Groggyk
10 Oct 2007, 12:06
Band I was in was a support act for Geldof in the early nineties in country Vic. Didn't actually meet him tho coz he wouldn't talk to nobodies like us and Michael Hutchence (RIP) was ploughing his Mrs. at the time. Very brooding character that one.
The big ROObowski
10 Oct 2007, 20:37
since we seem to be getting a bit more obscure, my godfathers Shane Howard i'm guessing TOD's the only one who's going to gonna know him and probably what song his second cousin listened to on the radio on november 12th 1987:D
A few of us other than TOD knows his work. (Solid Rock;))
Cousin of the Maddens (I used to work with Simon).
Plus Shane's sister (who really is a sister/nun), Adele Howard runs a production company out of Carlton. My missus was the lead actor in her first feature docu-drama - and Shane Howard also was in it.
Ask him about Ursula Frayne.
Small world.
2 degrees of separation instead of 6.
The big ROObowski
10 Oct 2007, 20:53
i figured some other folks would know i was just hoping to wind TOD up a bit.
i actually didnt know that he was related to the Maddens he never mentioned it.
The Other Dean
10 Oct 2007, 22:45
i figured some other folks would know i was just hoping to wind TOD up a bit.
Hehe. I remain unwound.
"Livin' on a razor's edge, tryin' to touch the sun...."
Man, Goanna were dorky.
Hehe. I remain unwound.
"Livin' on a razor's edge, tryin' to touch the sun...."
Man, Goanna were dorky.
And IIRC - their drummer wore a freaking Essendon jumper in the music vid for Solid Rock.
That's a bad thing.
SweetLeftFoot
10 Oct 2007, 22:49
And IIRC - their drummer wore a freaking Essendon jumper in the music vid for Solid Rock.
That's a bad thing.
And its guys like Jeff Buckley that get taken from us in tragic accidents ...
Did you see The Chaser tonight? A good Buckley piss take.
SweetLeftFoot
10 Oct 2007, 23:02
Did you see The Chaser tonight? A good Buckley piss take.
Sadly they don't show it in Scotland.
fair point you make.
SweetLeftFoot
10 Oct 2007, 23:05
fair point you make.
They do show Flight of the Conchords though.
"I'm The Hip-Hop-Otamus ... my rhymes are bottomless"
Gold.
The Teflon Dean
10 Oct 2007, 23:06
That's a bad thing.
Speaking of Essendon jumpers(EDFL), weren't you the guy that evaded a metal shower from FA and lived to tell the tale?
FA is a celebrity I have met.;)
SweetLeftFoot
10 Oct 2007, 23:06
FA being?
The Teflon Dean
10 Oct 2007, 23:08
FA being?
Believe me, he would know.;)
FA being?
Fat Albert.
Pretty sure he's pushing up daisies these days. (FA's from the previous generation of underworld figures).
IIRC - Teflon's referring to a card game where I stole the pot (bluffing with nothing) vs Fat Albert.
Now Teflon - spill. Who the feck are you?
The Teflon Dean
10 Oct 2007, 23:14
Fat Albert.
Pretty sure he's pushing up daisies these days. (FA's from the previous generation of underworld figures).
IIRC - Teflon's referring to a card game where I stole the pot (bluffing with nothing) vs Fat Albert.
Now Teflon - spill. Who the feck are you?
I only know Fat Albert as a cartoon character. Sorry wrong bloke.;)
RoyalBlue
10 Oct 2007, 23:53
Your work on Chances was top notch tho pharro.
Uncle Ray.
Yep.
I do? Hey, waddya know, there I am. Next thing you know I'll have my own Wiki page.
Never met the bloke but saw him play in his prime. :thumbsu:
Funny you should say that...
The Other Dean
11 Oct 2007, 03:16
I agree. Being Jeremy Sims' bare buttocks stunt-double is not an easy gig, I've heard.
RoyalBlue
11 Oct 2007, 04:24
I agree. Being Jeremy Sims' bare buttocks stunt-double is not an easy gig, I've heard.
It was pharro's knotwork that sealed the deal.