View Full Version : Drugs in sport

Kenny_01
6 Oct 2007, 13:43
Last night me and a mate were out, and a very well known WA sports player asked my mate if he had a form of recreational drug. He must have overheard us because we were talking about it.

Anyway, my mate was taken back a little, and said "even if I did, I wouldn't sell them to you because I am a ____________ supporter." My mate obviously follows the team this player plays for.

The player then follows up by saying "don't worry mate, we never get caught".

My mate then still says he doesn't want to sell him anything (he actually doesn't have anything on him to sell anyway). And then at this stage, the sports player introduces us to his friend and we go to shake his hand and to our suprise he has cash all scrunched up in his hand... obviously hinting he wants to buy the goods.

We were a bit shocked and said "nah sorry fellas, we don't have any" and walked away.

The couple of things that worried me is a) how he says they never get caught, implying they are frequent users, and b) having no respect for the current environment where the damage to their club (if they are caught) would be huge. I mean they were just asking random people for drugs. A very poor effort.

Ripper
6 Oct 2007, 17:03
I hope your mate doesn't support the same team that you do.

Kenny_01
6 Oct 2007, 17:06
I hope your mate doesn't support the same team that you do.

Nope, he doesn't.

ImperialPurple
6 Oct 2007, 17:22
And I assume that the sport this guy plays is AFL?

Freo Big Fella
6 Oct 2007, 17:25
PM us the identity?:o:p

Kenny_01
6 Oct 2007, 17:59
Yeah, AFL player. But won't say any more on here because they seem to be tough on people starting rumours and what not.

Dyslexic Emo
7 Oct 2007, 14:06
yeah can you PM me as well champ?

Cameron_K
7 Oct 2007, 14:46
Happens in all clubs in every sport in Australia, don't by any means think there are clubs not affected by this.

In football terms I think the training and schedules has pushed a lot of the players to avoid the alcohol and take up other things. If a game is Saturday night and the players want to go out and have some fun after the game and they need something to "boost" them certain drugs seem the logical choice considering they have to be up early for recovery the next day and a hangover is not going to go down well.

freocynic
7 Oct 2007, 23:49
The tests are virtually a joke! They are NOT really very effective at all. Today I was kicking the footy in a park with a friend and he brought along a friend of his and he was on a 'illicit substance'. The guy works on a mine site and will head back in 2 days and he knows it will be out of his system in that time. Most substances (except the wacky weed) are flushed out in 48hrs. Unless the guy stupidly does it the night before, or is on it during the test, they are pretty safe bet to not get caught. I think this would be exactly the same deal as AFL players. 48 hours, out of the system, no evidence, no crime

BTW, this guy played pretty well in the park