View Full Version : What do you do for a crust?

Wild Kangaroo
6 Oct 2007, 16:13
What do you fellow North supporters do for a job. Dont want to know where.
What you do? job title? Industry? and If you have had any jobs you hated? had a run in with a work colleague/Boss/Management..?

I work as a Maintenance Administrator in the Motor/Rental Industry

The Filth Wizard
6 Oct 2007, 17:51
I have the most boring job you will find... I sell flooring. And at Harvey Norman so its corporate bulls*** to boot:(

Manbearpig
6 Oct 2007, 18:35
Research scientist at a University. Can be a bit repetitive, but not too bad I guess.

giantroo
6 Oct 2007, 19:27
Work in retail and as a Fruiterer.

oh yeh on top of this,get youth allowance.

Kangalicious
6 Oct 2007, 19:30
Research scientist at a University. Can be a bit repetitive, but not too bad I guess.

snap.

micky_11
6 Oct 2007, 19:42
Student and Footballer:thumbsu:

Manbearpig
6 Oct 2007, 20:01
snap.

Maybe we work together at don't even know it... I'm going to have to keep a look out for any of the ladies in our department and whether they are North fans.

Come to think of it, not many people in my department are crazy footy fans, so probably not.

Kangalicious
6 Oct 2007, 20:30
Maybe we work together at don't even know it... I'm going to have to keep a look out for any of the ladies in our department and whether they are North fans.

Come to think of it, not many people in my department are crazy footy fans, so probably not.

hmmmm, the guy in the office next to me barracks for north . . . do you wear a beanie in cold weather?

The Other Dean
7 Oct 2007, 02:23
hmmmm, the guy in the office next to me barracks for north . . . do you wear a beanie in cold weather?

Why ? Does that strike you as odd ?

Don't quote me on this, but I'm pretty sure cold weather is what beanies were designed for. :)

Manbearpig
7 Oct 2007, 09:04

Actually I do. Will have to pop in and say hi one day...

Chadwiko
7 Oct 2007, 14:11
Photographer and Uni student.

micky_11
7 Oct 2007, 14:33
Actually I do. Will have to pop in and say hi one day...

are you serious, you 2 work in the same place and never knew?

giantroo
7 Oct 2007, 14:57
Haha thats kool if true.

DarwinRoo
7 Oct 2007, 15:08
Im an Aircraft Technician in the Australian Army. I am currently posted to 1st Aviation Regiment, Robertson Barracks.

theduckfan
7 Oct 2007, 15:08
i work at Dimmeys...

Good pay, shit hours.

mark73
7 Oct 2007, 15:22
Musician/Songwriter.

Chadwiko
7 Oct 2007, 15:32
Musician/Songwriter.

Tim? ;)

xpnorf
7 Oct 2007, 15:40
Cut the end off the bread!

year of the roo
7 Oct 2007, 16:04
I sell spoons. Spppppppppp-poons?!

It's very absorbing for me.

Lidge
7 Oct 2007, 16:22
Single mother & part time fluffer.

Melly017
7 Oct 2007, 19:17
Single mother & part time fluffer.

Do you need a uni degree to be a fluffer?

bellzy
7 Oct 2007, 20:32
Bartender (underage of course)

giantroo
7 Oct 2007, 23:16
Bartender (underage of course)

* Hits Bartender music on*

Roos4eva
7 Oct 2007, 23:17
University student.

The Other Dean
8 Oct 2007, 00:00
Tim? ;)

Errr, no.

I believe serial non-poster (as ZondorFish would put it) "MadridRoo" is the name you're looking for there.

CrazyQ
9 Oct 2007, 13:57
Uni and bartenr/waiter.

Gabbie
9 Oct 2007, 20:37
Nobody's mentioned your second unpaid job of wasting the bosses hard earned by logging onto BF.

Mr Reliable
9 Oct 2007, 20:44
Nobody's mentioned your second unpaid job of wasting the bosses hard earned by logging onto BF.

Happy staff are productive staff, Gabbie;).

Gabbie
9 Oct 2007, 20:52

True :thumbsu:- is it Friday yet? Got back from Melbourne last night and fronted up to work for the first time in a week - sooooooo tired and HOT here, have air con on full blast. Am house sitting tho it's their power bill while they waltz around France.

schimma3
10 Oct 2007, 10:56

Could not agree more. Pity I work with so many unhappy staff. Probably not spending enough time on Big Footy.

HR Manager and Chief Financial officer at University

j flex roo
10 Oct 2007, 11:04
Could not agree more. Pity I work with so many unhappy staff. Probably not spending enough time on Big Footy.

HR Manager and Chief Financial officer at University

If you work for La Trobe put more money in to computer facilities!

The Teflon Dean
10 Oct 2007, 13:00
Peter Norths stunt double.

Peggsy
10 Oct 2007, 13:04
environmental chemist at UWA

Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 14:23
Peter Norths stunt double.

You mean Ron Jeremys' Stunt double.....

Roobunny
10 Oct 2007, 14:42
I work for the South Australian Government (insert all public servant jokes here). More specifically I'm a project officer in the traineeships and apprenticeships area.

Bryentos
10 Oct 2007, 20:28
Piano Restoration/ piano moving.

Shinboner Schem
10 Oct 2007, 20:37
Senior Analyst Programmer
for an IT Consultantcy

Rooby_Tuesday
10 Oct 2007, 21:18
Freelance marketing for services firms, and "home duties".

hilly
10 Oct 2007, 21:38
Importer/Exporter.

Horace
10 Oct 2007, 22:02
I try to do as little possible and instead send Horace at Work??? off each day to do some financial planning. Instead the b****** spends all day logged on to Big Footy.:D

Mr Reliable
10 Oct 2007, 22:08
Importer/Exporter.

George Costanza?

The Other Dean
10 Oct 2007, 22:20
George Costanza?

Art Vandelay.

Lidge
10 Oct 2007, 22:30
Importer/Exporter.

Schapelle or Mercedes?

Shinboner Schem
11 Oct 2007, 12:41
Importer/Exporter.
Matches and Chips?

Are you considering quitting the importing and just focusing on the exporting?

jozeph
11 Oct 2007, 20:57
Art Vandelay.I'm watching Seinfeld on TV1, and guess what episode is on.:D

Mr Reliable
11 Oct 2007, 21:03
Art Vandelay.

That's it. Vandelay Industries. They were "in latex".

IIRC George always trotted that name out. Hallmark of a good liar- consistency.

The judge in the final episode was called Vandelay I think -which didn't augur (or all go) well for the outcome of their case.

Mr Reliable
11 Oct 2007, 21:05
I'm watching Seinfeld on TV1, and guess what episode is on.:D

Not the one where he tells the woman at the Dole Office that he's got an job interview at VI?

Manbearpig
11 Oct 2007, 21:28
And you want to be my latex salesman.

jozeph
11 Oct 2007, 21:32
Not the one where he tells the woman at the Dole Office that he's got an job interview at VI?

No, it was the one where he first invented the name Art Vandelay, Jerry and George went to her office building and they were trying to come up with lies as to what they were doing there and George came up with import/export and the name Art Vandelay, he actually thought of a different name originally, Burt Harbinson I think, but he blurted out Art Vandelay, architect.

Mr Reliable
11 Oct 2007, 22:41
No, it was the one where he first invented the name Art Vandelay, Jerry and George went to her office building and they were trying to come up with lies as to what they were doing there and George came up with import/export and the name Art Vandelay, he actually thought of a different name originally, Burt Harbinson I think, but he blurted out Art Vandelay, architect.

Love it:D.

Lidge
11 Oct 2007, 22:47
That's it. Vandelay Industries. They were "in latex".

IIRC George always trotted that name out. Hallmark of a good liar- consistency.

The judge in the final episode was called Vandelay I think -which didn't augur (or all go) well for the outcome of their case.

More on Art Vandelay:thumbsu:

Art Vandelay (taken from the name prefixes van, de, and lé) first appears in the episode "The Stakeout", in which George and Jerry need an excuse to give to a woman as to why they are waiting in the lobby of the office building where she worked. Their excuse is that they were meeting Art Vandelay, an importer/exporter, for lunch. The name originates as Art Core, before an indecisive George morphs it first into Art Corevelay, and finally, Art Vandelay. In one instance ("The Boyfriend, Part 1"), George tells the unemployment office he is close to getting a job at "Vandelay Industries." The name is also used as a fake boyfriend of Elaine. Here, Art is also an importer/exporter, and used as a cover story for when George is going on a date with Marisa Tomei, claiming that George and Elaine are meeting to discuss a problem with her boyfriend so that Susan does not think that George is having an affair "The Cadillac, Part 1". George also uses the pseudonym when interviewing for a job with Elaine's boss in "The Red Dot". When asked which authors he reads the answer is "Art Vandelay" from New York. In "The Serenity Now", George calls up fake customers, one of which is "Mr. Vandelay", pretending to get computer orders. In "The Bizarro Jerry" George goes to an office and asks for Mr. Vandelay, as part of a setup to approach an attractive secretary. Finally, in "The Puerto Rican Day", George pretends to be Vandelay (along with Jerry as Varnson and Kramer as Pennypacker) to try to sneak into an open house to watch a Mets game that they had left because they were getting blown out. In the episode "The Finale", the name of the presiding judge is actually Arthur Vandelay, much to the amazement of George. George says he thinks it is "good luck" that that is the judge's name.

And some more of George's Pseudonyms..

At one point ("The Maid"), George wants to be known as T-Bone, but his co-workers at Kruger Industrial Smoothing nickname him Koko because of the way he had flailed his arms when demanding the nickname "T-Bone" back from a coworker. George deliberately hires a woman named Coco to work there, only to be nicknamed Gammy instead.
George reveals that if he were to be a porn star, his name would be Buck Naked. ("The Outing")
During a very long period of unemployment for George, Jerry calls George Biff, referring to the Biff Loman character in Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman. George is also compared to Biff Loman by the daughter of Lorene Sokol, the woman in charge of George's unemployment benefits.
George once assumes the identity of a man named O'Brien in order to take his limousine ("The Limo"), only to later discover this man was the leader of a white supremacist neo-nazi group and was on his way to make his first public appearance, at Madison Square Garden.
In "The Watch", a doorman mistakenly tells Mr. Dalrymple that a "George Bonanza" has arrived to see him.
In "The Chinese Restaurant", the host calls for a "Cartwright" to answer a call from George's girlfriend.
George's attempt to streak at Yankee Stadium while wearing a body suit earned him the name Body Suit Man. ("The Millennium")
In "The Library", George is reunited with his former old high school teacher who always called him "Canstanje" as in "can't stand ya".

The Other Dean
12 Oct 2007, 00:36
Good work, Lidge.

Love the part in the Peurto Rican Day episode where the three of them are all there together - Art Vandelay, H. E. Pennypacker, and Kal Varnsen. :thumbsu:

Also, it would be remiss of us not to mention Kramer's classic Dr. Van Nostrand alias.

The Filth Wizard
12 Oct 2007, 00:42
Good work, Lidge.

Love the part in the Peurto Rican Day episode where the three of them are all there together - Art Vandelay, H. E. Pennypacker, and Kal Varnsen. :thumbsu:

Also, it would be remiss of us not to mention Kramer's classic Dr. Van Nostrand alias.

For mine, one of the funniest scenes in Seinfeld history.

"Pennypacker". "Varnsen". "Vandelay".
Absolute fried gold.

SweetLeftFoot
12 Oct 2007, 00:46
Back on topic ...

I'm captain of the Australian cricket team.

No, I'm a political journalist in Britain.

Really.

we57st
16 Oct 2007, 10:24
I'm an architectural draftsperson.

Anyone need a house drawn?

1jasonoz
16 Oct 2007, 10:33
I'm a foreman on an Offshore Oil platform off North West WA-until next July then i'm outta there! :D

Boozeroo
18 Oct 2007, 17:16
Bottle shop manager in Launceston.

Highest selling area for pre-mixed drinks in Australia.

NorthBhoy
18 Oct 2007, 17:21

Woodstock would be king round those parts, surely.

B-Rock
18 Oct 2007, 17:38
I work for Foxtel, Im a technical guy.

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
18 Oct 2007, 19:19

You've chosen the perfect name :thumbsu:

misteroo
18 Oct 2007, 20:21
cow "farmer" in nt

year of the roo
19 Oct 2007, 01:40

Yeah I'm the same (except Melbourne). It's all about Vic, Draught, Beam and JD here (some people just have no taste) - is it the same for you too?

Twinkletoes
19 Oct 2007, 15:07
Financial Consulting, automotive industry..............mainly buying and selling of car dealerships.

T'toes

Urmoe
19 Oct 2007, 15:13
I'm a Marine Biologist.

j flex roo
19 Oct 2007, 21:55
Yeah I'm the same (except Melbourne). It's all about Vic, Draught, Beam and JD here (some people just have no taste) - is it the same for you too?

Vic = Very Best.

Love it. Would have it on my weeties if I was an alco.

Until I am an alco I'll settle for milk.

Lidge
19 Oct 2007, 22:07
Vic = Very Best.

VB = Vitamin B

But Kahlua & Milk on corn flakes has been consumed on a few occasions as a New Years Day recovery potion. :thumbsu:

j flex roo
19 Oct 2007, 22:32
VB = Vitamin B

But Kahlua & Milk on corn flakes has been consumed on a few occasions as a New Years Day recovery potion. :thumbsu:

I like your thinking. Traditionally I cant eat until about the 3rd of Jan due to a fear of imminent regurgitation.

year of the roo
20 Oct 2007, 01:23
Vic = Very Best.

Can I ask why? I cringe every time I sell the stuff, it is just so bad. And what do you make of Fosters' decision to reduce VB to 4.8% and the longnecks back to 750ml? I know of a bloke who has decided to boycott VB because of this.

Mr Reliable
20 Oct 2007, 09:14
VB = Vitamin B

How about muscat or tokay on ice cream? Now there's a dessert.

ARDENSTREETforever
20 Oct 2007, 09:49
I'm a Green Keeper at a prominent Melbourne Golf/Country Club.

j flex roo
20 Oct 2007, 10:49
Can I ask why? I cringe every time I sell the stuff, it is just so bad. And what do you make of Fosters' decision to reduce VB to 4.8% and the longnecks back to 750ml? I know of a bloke who has decided to boycott VB because of this.

Dunno, I like other beer as well but it's the stuff I've been drinking since I started drinking when I was a teenager and have the taste for it.

The beauty of subjective judgment is that your favorite might not be my favorite, and vice versa.

As for the scaling back of alcohol percentages and smaller king brown bottles - minor, very minor. Didn't even know they did it.

SweetLeftFoot
20 Oct 2007, 20:14
VB = Vitamin B

Baileys and milk on coco pops is better.

ASlso, for a true flavour sensasation, on a ciold winters day, get beside an open fire with a pint of Guinness and a kit kat.

Trust me.

Wild Kangaroo
22 Oct 2007, 10:15
I'm a Green Keeper at a prominent Melbourne Golf/Country Club.

Nice:thumbsu:

FrangaRoo
25 Oct 2007, 08:13
Ive gone from consuming cask wine and cheap borbon cans in my teens to buying fine wine for a job 10 years later...how things change.

CrazyQ
25 Oct 2007, 14:18
Why anyone would drink VB is beyond me.

Disgusting shit.

HeLMie
25 Oct 2007, 20:31

shit, shit, brilliant, just terrible awful stuff

year of the roo
26 Oct 2007, 00:47
shit, shit, brilliant, just terrible awful stuff
Draught has its purpose. The rest are for bogans, in JD's case - bogans with money.

j flex roo
26 Oct 2007, 16:45
Fine VB aint the best there is, but it's the workhorse of the Australian alcohol industry.

Fuelling Australia since establishment.

Gold.

year of the roo
27 Oct 2007, 02:08
Fine VB aint the best there is, but it's the workhorse of the Australian alcohol industry.

Fuelling Australia since establishment.

Gold.
Surely if any beer were to be the 'workhorse' beer of the Australian alcohol industry it would be Carlton Draught (named after draught Horses, Clydesdales) ;)

colby68
28 Oct 2007, 11:33
I work for the South Australian Government (insert all public servant jokes here). More specifically I'm a project officer in the traineeships and apprenticeships area.

So your the one that works there !

scottywiper
28 Oct 2007, 15:00
Chip Le Grand impersonator.

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
28 Oct 2007, 16:11
Chip Le Grand impersonator.

High paying gig? :p

scottywiper
31 Oct 2007, 11:56
High paying gig? :p

Has its moments.