View Full Version : Awesome football injuries and stories

Optimax
7 Oct 2007, 18:51
Alright id say most fo us played football as juniors some still may do so.

I just wanted to hear anybodies awesome football injuries or stories i know ive got a couple.

Injuries
Broke a rib playing in under 16s ran back with ball and got knee square to the ribs hurt like hell and had my brother poking me for months after.

Slipped disk in back, (partial blame to my old job) but first started in under 15s when i went to tackle an under 17s forward at training worst decision ever on my part.

Stories
Alright i wasnt a great player and only kicked a few goals i remeber kicking on ein a grand final in under 12s and getting dragged for over celebration coach didnt like my running back to my wing high fiving every team mate. The goal was my first and cam aftre 12 behind in two weeks.

Also last game under 17s grand final getting on at 20 minute mark of first qtr being sent off 25 minute mark of first qtr after i put my opponent on his arse after he called my gf and then my mother unsavoury names. Coach wasnt happy and thus sent me home at half time (we won game coach still wasnt happy with me)

So guys please share your stories

PieLebo87
7 Oct 2007, 19:06
Injuries;
In my last year, I broke my ring finger and had a collapsed knuckle (punching a wall after a fight with the Mrs [see? Not all Lebos bash their Mrs!]) anyway, played out the whole year with it, only had it strapped a couple of times because I couldnt handball well with all the tape. Slightly Millane-sque, only his was a much bigger injury lol and until this day, the knuckle is still collapsed and the finger bone healing unco.

Stories;
I remember in my U16 days when I had some fitness, I was playing in the middle but on this occasion, I was on the far wing of the ground and we had Bo Dowler in the ruck. It wasn't planned or anything, it justed worked out as such where he'd punch it to the HFF of the square, and I'd race away from my opponent before it all and gather and deliver into the forward line and we'd goal. After, LITERALLY, 3 goals straight of the same thing, the 4th time, Bo Dowler, being such a shit footballer (joke, absolute champ), didnt punch it out infront of me and I yelled out "F%^K!!", which then ended in me getting sent off. Returning later on in the game, only to be sent of again for foul language. The coach told me later to try and control my temper, he had a point.

dooda
7 Oct 2007, 19:49
Injuries: Last year in U'17s broke me collarbone and missed 8 weeks came, then later on during the year I was being a bit of a show pony and broke me right thumb taking a grab and missed the last 2 weeks.

Story: This could come agin under injuries, in my first year of Under 15's I went up for a spoil in the first quarter and broke my arm. However, i played the rest of a game and got an award and i couldn't even shake the Coaches hand after the game.

the_jib
7 Oct 2007, 20:07
Inuries: Many during my juniors but nothing severely at one instance more over the course of the seasons being able leap really high cause me to be placed in the ruck against some big big guys and i'm only 6 foot 6'1 at the most so crashing shins with them gave me some shocking shin pain and having them smash into my time and time again gave me a bad back....plus i didn't mind getting my body on the line and taking a hit....probably every fourth game or so without fail someone would break my nose it's not big mind you which always had me confused lol...and no it doesn't look like bucks now even after several breakings lol.

Stories: One week i was laid up in bed with a really bad case of the flu vomiting sweating buckets rolled my ankle extremely badly the game before it swelled double the size and went almost black with bruising and my back was messed up i couldn't get out of bed or stay awake for more then half an hour at a time over four days before a pretty important game and i was no hope of playing i thought...but my coach called up and they were pretty desperate to get me down even if i only played in five minute bursts...
so off i went feeling like sh*t limping got strapped up took a panadol lol and went out played the whole game in the ruck and across half back took a massive hanger over a mate of mine who played for the other team we won....didn't sing the song with the boys just jumped in mum's car and off to the hospital where i was on a drip for 24 hours lol probably wasn't the smartest thing i did but thinking back on it i do feel proud of the effort.

GETSOMENUTS
11 Oct 2007, 01:19
Injuriy: Same injury as Blake Carracella I suffered mine at start of 03 seson.
At the ball up to start the second quarter there was a bit of a maul in the middle of the ground, the ball spilt out to me I came off half back flank bent down to pick up the ball and got cleaned up front on,squashing my spine and compressing all the bones and popping out all the disks as well. but the guy kept hold of my neck as he continued the tackle/bump and ripped by head back as he went over the top. Never felt such pain before or since. Ambos had to come out on the ground as I immediately lost all feeling from the neck down. Spent 2 days in the Alfreds trauma ward where I was being assesed as a paraplegic. Spent the next 8 weeks in a neck brace- 2 in hospital, 6 at home. Had to rely on the GF at the time (now my wife) to do everything for me.
The injury ended my season- and my career. Can never play again and had to give away the other sport I played at the time, basketball.
The neck has healed but it will never be 100%
Worst thing is if I crossed paths with the guy again I wouldnt know, as I never saw who did it:mad:

scottyD
13 Oct 2007, 21:16
i was a good rover/ goalsneak and when i was in year 7. our school team made it to the state finals. first we had to pass at horsham then ballarat and then spotswood, melbourne. we had made it to the grand final at optus oval(Princess Park).

we played great but lost due to lack of energy and umpires. true. the next year(2006) we made it to spotswood again for the semi finals. i had won best player at the horsham tournament which gave me inspirarion to play better. we had won the first two games and the last was the important one. we played the game goal for goal until our ruckman who was a very fast runner and good footballer punched their rover stupidly. he got yellow carded and with two of our star players off. one was sick.

the whole team knew they had to step up. a very relaxing talk at half time we were up by 8 the team had to prove we could go out and play more better then we could. i was on the right flank and the ball was bounced. jake(2nd ruckman) suprisingly tapped down to stevo who made a run but was tackled. bounced the ball again. their ruckman won this one and then recieved the hand ball of his rover.

he booted it long towards the opposition. hayden picked it up and kicked it to Jazza. Jazza handballed it back to hayden who was running past. he then was stuck and ave a handball to Ayden. i saw my chance so i sprinted towards the boundary.

he saw me and kicked it high from the wing. the sky was pitch blue and the ball was spinning perfectly. i had recently dropped a lot of marks so i told my self 'KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE BALL!!" what i couldnt just see was the wind had carried it towards the sideline more. I sprinted faster then i have truely ever sprinted. the ball started to drop and it fell into my arms.

i blinked as i marked it and with my eyes still shut, i crashed into the metal pole fence. i opened my eyes and could remember seeing the cars and the grass. i fell back onto my back and the only thing i could hear was seany who was on the bench which was on the directly opposite of the ground.
i landed with my right leg under the other and i was yelling and screaming. i couldnt feel my right leg. it was so strange. i kept yelling and screaming. my teammates came over and they were in shock. the nurse came and called the ambos. my parents were in queensland at the time...

i was staying with stevos parents those couple of days and they stretchered me into the umpires room. they chucked ice on it. the parents and nusre person kept giving me words on what to do. it was too confusing so i just didnt listen. the only thing that was on my mind now was are we winning, are we winnning, are we winning?

i kept asking the parents to check the scores every 5 seconds. we were now losing. the parents started talking sense so i listened to them but not the trainer as she was really stuckup. i was in there for bout 30 mins. the worst 30 mins of my life. the ambos finally arrived and i was stretched up on to the bed. they gave me the green stick.

they told me to keep sucking on the green stick. i was wheeled in and i then hear an applause to my right. i look out and see the whole team there out of the door. i decided to do sumthing that they will remember me by so i gave them the punk rock sign as i breathed in the morphine stick. they all laughed. they then closed the doors and started driving. i look out the window and see the 3 teams all clapping... it was the longest trip ever to the royal childrens even though it was only a few ks away.

i arrived and i wasnt allowed to drink or eat. i had eaten snakes at halftime so i had to wait 8 hours before surgery. stevos parents rang mine up and explained what had happened...

they took some x-rays and i asked jackie(stevos mum) if they were bad? and her reply was always a cautious yes. i wanted to drink because the drugs gave me a dry mouth. i wasnt allowed and the only type of water i was allowed was on a cottoned bud that was dabbed onto my lips by jackie. i needed it every 5 minutes and i thank you for that. my parents were back in a few hours. first time i saw them i cried. it was just really emotional. i kept saying im sorry for sum reason. probs the drugs. i needed to pee at the moment which was embarrinsing. skip that bit.
my result was a broken femur behind the knee ( ) that far away from the growth plate. i had two 'nancy' lol rods in the leg and was put in a cast...

more then a year later, its still screwed.

scottyD
13 Oct 2007, 21:29
NEW ONE!
I played for Horsham United in the fourths.
We struggled to win games averaging one a year.
Anyways, in themiddle of the season we played pretty poor Dimboola and knew we had to desperately win.
Third Quarter it was and they were up by 10 or so. The team looked tired, especially when a bloke sprinted off from the kick-in and nobody went after him. Screw this i said as i ran knowing there wont be any way until i reach him until there forward line. I sprinted faster as he slowed down on the flank.
He kept looking back at me with a worried look as i powered myself to him. we got to the wing, and with fans and coaches yelling at me in encouragement, i dived for the tackle and wrestled him to the ground.
Boy, was he pissed off as he punched the ground and then stood on the mark.
I kicked to our ruckman on the flank as the dirty bloke gave me a cheap shot after i kicked it awarding 50m.I looked up and spotted my captain leading. Perfect kick to him as he dodged two blokes before snapping on his opposite through for a goal. It won me most determined and runnersup B&F.

NEW ONE
School footy at lunchtime is dirty and scrappy. The rules are completely off but nobody cared. We were up easily and Billy was running it off the Half Back line. He wasmy team mate andhe was closely followed by Jamie. (A prick who ive hated all my life and still do). This was my time to shut him up for good as i aimed up and ran for him withmy eyes fixed on him. He didnt see me at all as i hip&shouldered him in the head as hard as i could. He landed back on his head knocked out for good with blood pissing out of his ear and eye. I stood tall as nobody went over to help him until the end of lunch were he was still down but not out. Feel proud of getting him back after the shit he gave me.

Cheers

Jabso
16 Oct 2007, 21:51
I ated the purple berries.

Optimax
16 Oct 2007, 21:53
I ated the purple berries.

alright ill play along.

"so what do they taste like Jabso?"

Jabso
16 Oct 2007, 22:02
alright ill paly along.

"so what do they taste like Jabso?"

You spell unpossibly bad English.

campbell023
16 Oct 2007, 22:08
Thankyou for you life story Scotty:D

Optimax
16 Oct 2007, 22:09
You spell unpossibly bad English.

and your a moody arse mod that thinks he shit doesnt stink and he is gods gift to the collingwood forum on big footy.

Thought i would throw it out ther while we were picking flaws

scottyD
17 Oct 2007, 16:15
Thankyou for you life story Scotty:DAnytime. :)

Cjkirbs19
18 Oct 2007, 18:23
Hmmm where to start???

Injuries:
Im 19, had to miss the whole season just gone due to injury.
Missed 36 games in the last 3 years.
Was captain of the team so i can play a little bit but this year was my first in the seniors so disappointed to not get on the ground (technically i did i was the runner!!)

The injury is a dislocated shoulder:
1st time:(Jun 06) Tackled from behind, carried forward, put the left arm out to break the fall. Popped the shoulder, 10 mins into the first quarter.
We were at Gisborne (play for North City in Bendigo League, we're the Ballarat team in the league, North Ballarat VFL is our senior club if youd like), and at Gisborne they have no hospital, only a shit medical clinic. Driving to the clinic dad hit a pot hole, and the shouldet popped back in!!!!!!!!!! Missed 5 weeks.

2nd Time: Come back after missing 5 weeks (Aug 06), played five weeks, we were sitting 4th, guaranteed finals birth, and in the last quarter of the final home and away match, their centreman baulked me, i slipped and stuck the left arm out trying to reach, he ran into and whacked it backwards behind the perpindicular. End result, another dislocated shoulder, me screaming with pain running off the ground to the rooms, and the i/c steward saying i couldnt come back on if i didnt go through thre gates(i was very kind in my response). Ended up being taken by Ambulance to the hospital (i was playing in Bendigo), sucking on the green stick. My shoulder was dislocated for 2 hours 45 mins before the geniusesat the hospital knocked me out and put it in. Worst pain ever.

3rd time: 5 months had passed (Jan 07), shoulder was reasonable. Went to cricket training (not football i know but original injury was), and im a right arm Legspin bowler (play 1s in Ballarat Criccket Association), and my let shoulder dislocated when i was bowling a standard leggie. Very hot day, driven to hospital, doctors put it back in and away i went, with the first half of footy season gone.

4th Time: April 26, 2007 (i know this as it was the day after Anzac Day), watching a replay of the game, about to get ready for my final physio appointment on the shoulder, when i sneeze and bang out goes the left shoulder again. The pain this time was equivalent to the 2nd time (3rd and 1st didnt hurt as much). Resulted in a torn rotator cuff.

Finally had my reco only 4 weeks ago, due to my surgeon going on a 6 week holiday before my surgery date therefore pushing it back 6 weeks, then wheni was 2 weeks away he broke his wrist and pushed it back even further. The result was:
- My shoulder was a 1 in 50 injury
- Ligaments ripped off the bone
- Cartiledge 50 % worn away.
- 6 weeks in a sling (typing one handed atm)
- 12 Weeks of intense Physio
- The good news..... Im right by round one next year!!!!!

smiddaz123
18 Oct 2007, 18:35
I've been playing sport since I was 17...I;m 17 atm and I've never had any serious injuries. And I've played in positions where I take hits a lot.

Worst I've done is strained my quad, and strained my lower back.

Stakerz
18 Oct 2007, 23:38
Hmmm where to start???

Injuries:
Im 19, had to miss the whole season just gone due to injury.
Missed 36 games in the last 3 years.
Was captain of the team so i can play a little bit but this year was my first in the seniors so disappointed to not get on the ground (technically i did i was the runner!!)

The injury is a dislocated shoulder:
1st time:(Jun 06) Tackled from behind, carried forward, put the left arm out to break the fall. Popped the shoulder, 10 mins into the first quarter.
We were at Gisborne (play for North City in Bendigo League, we're the Ballarat team in the league, North Ballarat VFL is our senior club if youd like), and at Gisborne they have no hospital, only a shit medical clinic. Driving to the clinic dad hit a pot hole, and the shouldet popped back in!!!!!!!!!! Missed 5 weeks.

2nd Time: Come back after missing 5 weeks (Aug 06), played five weeks, we were sitting 4th, guaranteed finals birth, and in the last quarter of the final home and away match, their centreman baulked me, i slipped and stuck the left arm out trying to reach, he ran into and whacked it backwards behind the perpindicular. End result, another dislocated shoulder, me screaming with pain running off the ground to the rooms, and the i/c steward saying i couldnt come back on if i didnt go through thre gates(i was very kind in my response). Ended up being taken by Ambulance to the hospital (i was playing in Bendigo), sucking on the green stick. My shoulder was dislocated for 2 hours 45 mins before the geniusesat the hospital knocked me out and put it in. Worst pain ever.

3rd time: 5 months had passed (Jan 07), shoulder was reasonable. Went to cricket training (not football i know but original injury was), and im a right arm Legspin bowler (play 1s in Ballarat Criccket Association), and my let shoulder dislocated when i was bowling a standard leggie. Very hot day, driven to hospital, doctors put it back in and away i went, with the first half of footy season gone.

4th Time: April 26, 2007 (i know this as it was the day after Anzac Day), watching a replay of the game, about to get ready for my final physio appointment on the shoulder, when i sneeze and bang out goes the left shoulder again. The pain this time was equivalent to the 2nd time (3rd and 1st didnt hurt as much). Resulted in a torn rotator cuff.

Finally had my reco only 4 weeks ago, due to my surgeon going on a 6 week holiday before my surgery date therefore pushing it back 6 weeks, then wheni was 2 weeks away he broke his wrist and pushed it back even further. The result was:
- The good news..... Im right by round one next year!!!!!That sucks man, I did my shoulder too.

I hope I don't do it again!

Get better mate.

didaka
19 Oct 2007, 00:18
Won't go into any of my has been stories:) but I have had some wonderful injuries.

The best of the injuries, or should I say incident that should have caused injury came when I was about 16. My best mate always looked for me, and is a very good player. Unfortunately for me, he is a very good ball winner, but his disposal sometimes let him down. I'm talking floaters that you just sit under and thinks cripes.

So anyway the day was wet, the grass was freshly cut and there were some clipping.

So what happens next. Me mate breaks out of the centre and I lead to the fat side of the ground, and it was a sensational lead:D. Little did I know the bloke behind me had some toe and I slacked off a little. Thought I had blown him out of the park. So here comes this footy floating like usual, and i'm thinking ya ********, but atleast I have this sewn up.

I extend the arms and look to craddle this one into the chest, when suddenly my opponent making a last effort to spoil knocks the old left leg out from under me.

This is where I do a flip through the air. And down I come landing on the top of my head.

There goes the feeling in the feet and some tingling in the fingers, and I though shit hey, I am in deep trouble.

So that's the end of the game, 1st quarter, game called off, nobody allowed to move the cripple in the foward line.

Ambulance comes, i'm shipped up to the Frankston hospital lay there thinking i'm screwed as the feeling all of a sudden starts to come back in the legs and body.

After a night in hospital I convince myself i'm never playing again. So yeah, the next Sunday I was out on the park running around again:thumbsu:

sirlothie
19 Oct 2007, 03:26
I broke my jaw, 2 places clean complete break, king hit round arm from behind me smash. Never saw it coming.

It was broken around location of my wisdom tooth on my left side, and when you break your jaw it normally breaks two places because it has to go somewhere... the other break which made it rare I think because two clean breaks was up by my right ear.

They put me to sleep in hospital, took out my left wisdom tooth to put a metal plate and screws in my jaw at that location, 7 stitches inside my mouth also, they put this horrible braces like things in my mouth I had to wear it for 4 weeks to hold my jaw in place because to put in a plate on the break near my right ear they would have had to cut open and scar my face because they couldn't get to it from inside my mouth.

The braces weren't on my teeth, they were wired into my gums and pulling wires out of your gums was so painful I nearly fainted, it hurt more than when my jaw broke I knew it was broken but it wasn't painful, it just felt loose and numb.

But when I woke up from the operation I felt a million times worse and even though it happened 6 years ago now almost my teeth will never perfectly chomp together like they did before because they can never align it just perfect so my top teeth is slightly forward and to the left of my bottom teeth.

The plates and screws I could get them removed but you don't have to so I haven't bothered and now my jaw if someone tried it again they probably just smash up their hand because my jaw is as strong as Roger Ramjet's... :p

Facial injuries aren't nice but that's the only "major" thing I've done apart from a broken arm and a broken wrist and muscle strains but never a tear (as far as I know, although did do my side abdominals while bowling playing cricket, couldn't bowl for 6 weeks without strong pain but I never got it diagnosed properly).

That's it for me.

MrNatural
24 Oct 2007, 10:32
- The good news..... Im right by round one next year!!!!!

Mate my story is nearly the same as urs.Dislocated my shoulder twice playing footy back in first year under 18s. Dislocated it the 3rd time just having a play fight wif a mate.Had reco,havent gone back since.

My greatest moments as a player:
Havent won any premierships or played in many finals so these are mainly personal moments

Under 16s:Kicking 6-0 in a intra club match against one of my best mates (bragging rights)

Under 18s:First game back from shoulder reco,had 3 kicks,all goals!

Under 18s:Having about 35+ possessions but still losing by 160pts haha

Seniors:Playing my old team,dominated down back and won the game,best game ever

Seniors:Playing down back till 3 qtr time,game was pretty even.Coach swings me forward.Other team kicked the first 3-4 goals and we were on the ropes.Ball wasnt coming down.Finally came down,kicked a goal,then kicked another within a minute.Then we got another and won by 5 pts

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 21:14
Thankyou for you life story Scotty:D
Thats fine.
http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/6037/img0003pp3.jpg

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 21:42
Thats fine.
http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/6037/img0003pp3.jpg

I don't play footy. Never played (except auskick). But Scotty, that is GROSS!!!!! I took one look at it & could feel it & cringed!!!! ewwwww.... f*** that must of hurt!!!!!

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 21:48
I don't play footy. Never played (except auskick). But Scotty, that is GROSS!!!!! I took one look at it & could feel it & cringed!!!! ewwwww.... f*** that must of hurt!!!!!
And it bloody did! haha..... awell.... that morphine stuff was da best stuff out of the day! Even to the fact my rents were in QLD at the time.
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/6413/img0005ul2.jpg
4 weeks after

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 21:55
And it bloody did! haha..... awell.... that morphine stuff was da best stuff out of the day! Even to the fact my rents were in QLD at the time.
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/6413/img0005ul2.jpg
4 weeks after

Dude, thats gross!!!!
Are those things in the middle of the leg still there???

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 21:58
Dude, thats gross!!!!
Are those things in the middle of the leg still there???
Nah.
Whats even worse was the stuck out of the bone in the knee (not through the skin) and a bit off tissue rubbed along it until one day it got stuck in between the end of the rod and the bone..... so i got them out!
Sorry!:thumbsu:

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 22:04
Nah.
Whats even worse was the stuck out of the bone in the knee (not through the skin) and a bit off tissue rubbed along it until one day it got stuck in between the end of the rod and the bone..... so i got them out!
Sorry!:thumbsu:

Right...
I've never broken a bone... yet. But it looks kinda painfull!!!

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 22:13
Take a look at this poor bloke playing American Football.
Apparently he Dislocated his right anckle & broke his right leg...

http://www.funnyphotos.net.au/userimages/user756_1157514374.JPG

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 22:15
Take a look at this poor bloke playing American Football.
Apparently he Dislocated his right anckle & broke his right leg...

http://www.funnyphotos.net.au/userimages/user756_1157514374.JPGI have seen that..... and worse!!!!

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 22:20
I have seen that..... and worse!!!!

There's worse???

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 22:21
There's worse???
Have a look on youtube. Type broken legs and it gets worse!

dooda
3 Nov 2007, 22:25
Scotty D and Magpie Girl, u should try and find ure own private room where you can chat all night. Nah. i love seeing blossoming lovers

The Royal Sampler
3 Nov 2007, 22:29
and your a moody arse mod that thinks he shit doesnt stink and he is gods gift to the collingwood forum on big footy.

Thought i would throw it out ther while we were picking flaws
Nah, he's just quoting the Simpsons.

I think Optimax is going to Eat Up Martha. :D

Scotty, those are some ace X-rays, very nice. :thumbsu:

I don't have many cool stories, I only played a bit of school footy, and although I could play, I didn't get much opportunity.

In Year 9 I played for Loyola, and we didn't have that good a team really. However we still managed to go the whole season undefeated and then somehow scored the GF away! :confused: We didn't mind though, because Eltham College's oval was > ours by miles. Anyway, we shut them out 92-0 on their home turf. I kicked three, although one was called back because this knob on our team went for a ridiculous hanger in the square and gave away a free as the ball sailed through.

I did have an amusing game for La Trobe Uni against Melbourne, we were towelling them up so badly that in the last quarter, we started tackling our teammates who were hogging the ball inside 50. I kicked an awesome banana goal from about 30 out, a step in from the boundary, but it was only awesome because I'd evaded about 2 Melbourne Uni defenders and another half-dozen of my own teammates. :D

Worst injury was a fracture/dislocation of my middle finger on my left hand. I dropped a few marks and was very disappointed in myself before noticing that my hand was curiously swollen on the bus home.

MagpieGirl_13
3 Nov 2007, 22:32
Have a look on youtube. Type broken legs and it gets worse!

OMG!!!! they are DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!! I was in tears, they are SO GROSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't believe an human leg can do that!!!
I could only watch about 5 of them...
The one "Trampoline Broken leg"(or something like that) is a fake!

scottyD
3 Nov 2007, 22:32
Cheers sampler.... did it for footy

Marklar_33
5 Nov 2007, 07:27
Outside of primary school modified rules, I have played one game of football, for my High School

Got put in the forward pocket (to hide, I think) and my opponent decided I really wasnt good enough to man up on, so he bolted within 2 minutes to go ball hunting. Anyway, with no score as yet, ball kicked to a contest at the top of the square, FF & FB contest, I run to the front, ball lands in my arms, I snap a goal! Sweet! Flashes of my impending AFL career run through my mind, started thinking about how many I would end up with after kicking one in the first 5 minutes...

That remains my only possession ever. After spending the rest of the game standing in the pocket, I just couldnt be bothered with it anymore. It definately wasnt because I was no good! :D

Tarkyn_24
8 Nov 2007, 08:39
Injury: Recurring back. No awesome story there.
Story: Once KO'd in a game of basketball after jumping on my opponents back, footy like, and landing on my head. Wasn't fun.

Also got fouled off once for pushing a bloke over; starting a pretty big fight between the two teams, simply because he fouled one of my teammates in what I considered to be a pretty unfriendly way.

Pie eyed
9 Nov 2007, 21:10
I was 17 playing in the under 19's and fully dislocated my left knee.
The first opposition player to get on the scene spewed when he saw it..this made me a little worried...then the pain came......still makes me quite ill thinking about it 30 odd years later....the ambo who turned up could not decide what to do...this made me even more worried....in the end the club physio pulled it out straight and it sort of half popped back...the pain was gone and was right to stand....or so I thought until I put my weight on it and it popped right back out again....off to the Hossie in the big white van for some recreational drugs. never even cried...or breathed for that matter.

I spent two years in the pool with my arms on the edge, lifting a house brick tied up in a tee-towel which was tied to my ankle. extreme fun.

Went on to play until I was 35 but the old knee used to pop out every now and then...eventually it was not too painfull at all....I am really paying for it now though.
Other than that only a few popped fingers and general soreness as they say in the press conferences.

Pie eyed
9 Nov 2007, 21:18
I've been playing sport since I was 17...I;m 17 atm and I've never had any serious injuries. And I've played in positions where I take hits a lot.

Worst I've done is strained my quad, and strained my lower back.

Congatulations on such a long, injury free career in sports....lol
I started "nude, blind folded bull fighting" eight seconds ago and in my entire career I have never once been gored by or seen a bull.
Just lucky I guess.