View Full Version : Worst TV Shows
Wild Kangaroo
8 Oct 2007, 15:59
Worst TV Shows... How easy
Big Brother & Australian Idol
Whats yours?
Manbearpig
8 Oct 2007, 18:41
Hmm hard one. Its like asking best places you haven't been to.
I really don't like Rove, Australia's funniest home videos, Friends, Frasier and Everybody Loves Raymond.
But since I don't watch any of them, I'm really just assuming they're bad.
The Filth Wizard
8 Oct 2007, 18:44
Hmm hard one. Its like asking best places you haven't been to.
I really don't like Rove, Australia's funniest home videos, Friends, Frasier and Everybody Loves Raymond.
But since I don't watch any of them, I'm really just assuming they're bad.
Agreed, agreed, agreed, agreed and agreed.
Also can't stand this new show, Californication. It reeks of blow-hard.
And I always walk out the room when I hear the music for Idol or BB.
j flex roo
8 Oct 2007, 19:47
In order:
1. Big Brother or any of its derivatives
2. Macleods Daughters
3. Home and Away
4. Australian Idol
5. Oprah and Dr Phil (on a par)
giantroo
8 Oct 2007, 19:56
Any reality tv shows!
In order:
1. Big Brother or any of its derivatives
2. Macleods Daughters
3. Home and Away
4. Australian Idol
5. Oprah and Dr Phil (on a par)
Get a job and you wont have to watch them...
j flex roo
8 Oct 2007, 20:12
Get a job and you wont have to watch them...
Uni student and shift worker - regardless of whether or not I'm home to watch them, they're still the 5th worst show on the teev.
Scientific fact - more scientific that Dr Phil's qualifications.
Wild Kangaroo
8 Oct 2007, 20:40
Agreed, agreed, agreed, agreed and agreed.
Also can't stand this new show, Californication. It reeks of blow-hard.
And I always walk out the room when I hear the music for Idol or BB.
Is alright, almost porn on tv. Its good for a laugh, can talk about woth mates and say, gee I cant believe " that guy didnt want to **** his missus, what an idiot"
BB is crap, Australian Idol everyone must be tone deaf on that show.
Singing Bee
Thread closed :D
That was pretty lame... so was 5th grader!!!
You guys aren't trying or haven't watched enough bad TV.
Off the top of the head, some Aussie junk from just the past couple of years.
McLeods Daughters
Weakest Link
Neighbours
Home & Away
Always Greener
Big Brother
X Factor
Australian Idol
A Current Affair
Today Tonight
Meet My Folks
Comedy Inc
The Wedge
Today
Sunrise
Funniest Home Videos
Good Morning Australia
Beauty & The Beast
The Footy Show
The Resort
Mornings with Kerri-Anne
Starstruck
Queer Eye (Aust version)
Who Wants To Be A Millionaire
Australian Princess
9am with David & Kim
Celebrity Dog School
The Master (Mark Beretta's quiz show)
Clever (Georgie Parker's quiz show)
Yasmin's Getting Married
Catch Up (Aussie version of The View)
Chains of Love
Outback Jack
The Hot House
Australian Survivor
Australia's Worst Driver
Dancing on Ice
Joker Poker
The Other Dean
9 Oct 2007, 01:19
McLeod's Daughters lays all to waste.
A truly horrific show.
Tucker's Daughter > McLeod's Daughters
(And I hate that ******* song.)
Manbearpig
9 Oct 2007, 07:48
I swear, Australian TV execs put almost no effort into thinking up ideas for TV shows.
Singing Bee, Dirty Jobs, Are You Smarter than a 5th graded and almost every other show idea are obviously all just stolen from the US.
Channel Seven poach Jamie Durie. I can almost see the meeting where they came up with an idea for a show... "I know, you've worked on backyards on TV, so why don't we do a show to find Australia's best backyards?" "Gold!"
Sounds a bit like Kramer's idea for a coffee table book about coffee tables.
COOL-A-ROO
9 Oct 2007, 10:28
Kath & Kim
Watched it for the first time on Sunday and waited for the much hyped laughs.
They didn't come. That show is tragically un-funny :thumbsd:
Manbearpig
9 Oct 2007, 11:15
Kath & Kim
Watched it for the first time on Sunday and waited for the much hyped laughs.
They didn't come. That show is tragically un-funny :thumbsd:
This season is easily the least funniest.
It had its day a few years ago.
Mr Reliable
9 Oct 2007, 17:05
You guys aren't trying or haven't watched enough bad TV.
Off the top of the head, some Aussie junk from just the past couple of years.
McLeods Daughters
Weakest Link
Neighbours
Home & Away
Always Greener
Big Brother
X Factor
Australian Idol
A Current Affair
Today Tonight
Meet My Folks
Comedy Inc
The Wedge
Today
Sunrise
Funniest Home Videos
Good Morning Australia
Beauty & The Beast
The Footy Show
The Resort
Mornings with Kerri-Anne
Starstruck
Queer Eye (Aust version)
Who Wants To Be A Millionaire
Australian Princess
9am with David & Kim
Celebrity Dog SchoolThe Master (Mark Beretta's quiz show)
Clever (Georgie Parker's quiz show)
Yasmin's Getting Married
Catch Up (Aussie version of The View)
Chains of Love
Outback Jack
The Hot House
Australian Survivor
Australia's Worst Driver
Dancing on Ice
Joker Poker
Peter Sellers said in the 1979 movie Being There "I like to watch (TV)". That's me.
I highlighted the bad ones that I watched once or twice. Most of the others I've never watched. I don't mind Home and Away. Fairly mindless, which is just what I need when I first get home from work. Anything Eddie's in I will say I hate and try to avoid watching at all costs.
That Mark Philipoussis dating show was pretty terrible and I hate those shows where they're hacking some poor bastard's stomach open (RPA??) or chopping her nose off (plastic surgery shows). Can't watch, have to read the paper.
I couldn't watch Dancing on Ice either. Someone was always just about to fall and hurt themselves.
I used to dislike Sam Waterson. He was the scrawny prosecutor in Law and Order. A real smug smart arse. He'd be prosecuting a serial killer of children and I'd be hoping the guy would get off so Waterson would lose his job:eek:.
Agree with Kath and Kim too. It's Krap. Best watched on an aircraft, when you think, oh well watching this is better than crashing. I think I need to visit a psychiatrist:confused:.
The Filth Wizard
9 Oct 2007, 17:10
Is alright, almost porn on tv. Its good for a laugh, can talk about woth mates and say, gee I cant believe " that guy didnt want to **** his missus, what an idiot"
BB is crap, Australian Idol everyone must be tone deaf on that show.
Hardly porn, and hardly anything that hasn't been done before. Really, if Duchovny wasn't attached to this it wouldn't have seen the light of day. The writing is terrible, the acting is terrible, the 'sex' scenes are barely tittilating.
Expect this to be axed before the end of the season.
The big ROObowski
9 Oct 2007, 18:20
I second the wedge.easilt the worst of all time throw in the majority of cookie cutter american sitcoms.According to Jim,Stand by me(or something like that),grounded for life,that 70's show,that 80's show. heaps more but those are the worst.
Manbearpig
9 Oct 2007, 19:30
Three words:
Yasmin's Getting Married.
McLeod's Daughters lays all to waste.
A truly horrific show.
Tucker's Daughter > McLeod's Daughters
(And I hate that ******* song.)
I heard it the other day. Hasn't aged well.
Mossy was being interviewed and mentioned how frustrated he got when people claimed Don Walker wrote the song for him.
Mossy said "I wrote the music and the main hook line - 'build me up / tear me down'. Don just filled in the lyrics from there."
My question would have been "so are you boasting that you paid someone to write "slap my kneebones to the ground??"
Friends was actually quite good for a couple of seasons.
I used to get into BB but the novelty has definitely worn off.
Also, I LOVED the Singing Bee. But don't tell anyone.
IMy question would have been "so are you boasting that you paid someone to write "slap my kneebones to the ground??"
Zing!
And Ian Moss without a shadow of a doubt is responsible for the worst & most embarrassing live performance I have ever seen (and I admit to paying cash to see The Hooters at Festival Hall).
Rockalonga (Yarrawonga's bi-annual version of the Peaches & Cream Festival). INXS were the headliners, Diesel, Baby Animals & Ian Moss.
Mossy did was into the 3rd song of his set which happened to be a self induced encore of Tuckers Daughter. Violently pelted with a variety of full cans and booed off stage. Diesel came out on stage and tried to defuse the situation, but that was all over red rover. The punters refused 2 attempts of Moss to return to the stage.
And BTW - Michael Hutchence was elegantly wasted that night. Busted his ankle falling off the stage that night during the 2nd song. Too his credit, he had another hit or a few lines, plonked himself on a stool and performed for another 90 minutes.:thumbsu:
The Other Dean
10 Oct 2007, 02:36
Zing!
Zing indeed.
Beautifully played, roobear.
The Other Dean
10 Oct 2007, 02:40
...and I admit to paying cash to see The Hooters at Festival Hall....
See, whereas I probably wouldn't.
I also probably wouldn't even be at The Hooters show in the first place, but I digress.....
(Liked the Mossy story though, Lidge. Sounds like he got back a little of what he clearly deserved for having a hand in writing that abomination of a song.)
year of the roo
10 Oct 2007, 02:53
Lost, Heroes, Jericho, Desperate Housewives, Prison Break, Seinfeld, Friends, anything CSI, anything Law & Order, anything reality, anything American (save only 6 shows ever), anything Australian and apparently a comedy in the past decade, anything on MTV, anything Sci-Fi.
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 10:49
Hardly porn, and hardly anything that hasn't been done before. Really, if Duchovny wasn't attached to this it wouldn't have seen the light of day. The writing is terrible, the acting is terrible, the 'sex' scenes are barely tittilating.
Expect this to be axed before the end of the season.
Maybe, but still better than Home & Away and Neighbours
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 10:52
Zing!
And Ian Moss without a shadow of a doubt is responsible for the worst & most embarrassing live performance I have ever seen (and I admit to paying cash to see The Hooters at Festival Hall).
Rockalonga (Yarrawonga's bi-annual version of the Peaches & Cream Festival). INXS were the headliners, Diesel, Baby Animals & Ian Moss.
Mossy did was into the 3rd song of his set which happened to be a self induced encore of Tuckers Daughter. Violently pelted with a variety of full cans and booed off stage. Diesel came out on stage and tried to defuse the situation, but that was all over red rover. The punters refused 2 attempts of Moss to return to the stage.
And BTW - Michael Hutchence was elegantly wasted that night. Busted his ankle falling off the stage that night during the 2nd song. Too his credit, he had another hit or a few lines, plonked himself on a stool and performed for another 90 minutes.:thumbsu:
Did Deisel have any bottles with him to stick up any "female newsreaders back side"
;)
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 10:54
Friends was actually quite good for a couple of seasons.I used to get into BB but the novelty has definitely worn off.
Also, I LOVED the Singing Bee. But don't tell anyone.
Friends seasons 1-4 were the best ones, after that it went all downhill.
j flex roo
10 Oct 2007, 10:56
Friends seasons 1-4 were the best ones, after that it went all downhill.
I dont think it ever made it to the top of the hill...
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 11:42
I dont think it ever made it to the top of the hill...
Yeh it did, especially the Seasons 1-4. 2-3 were most popular
j flex roo
10 Oct 2007, 12:09
Yeh it did, especially the Seasons 1-4. 2-3 were most popular
The beauty of subjective judgment...
Each to their own.
The Teflon Dean
10 Oct 2007, 13:01
All those yank cop shows and sitcoms, 24 hrs, CSI, Ugly Betty etc.:thumbsd:
Wild Kangaroo
10 Oct 2007, 13:06
The beauty of subjective judgment...
Each to their own.
Exactly
Did Deisel have any bottles with him to stick up any "female newsreaders back side"
;)
LOL:D:D
My worst is anything under the heading of "reality" and "with Celebrities"
also, and i know some of you are going to disagree but it's my worst list-so there.
TT & ACA with a special mention to 60 Mins - BIAS BIAS BIAS!!!
Kath & Kim
All Saints
McLeod's Daughters
The Footy Show - AFL & NRL
Rove
any type of Talent Show - it's all about the advertiser & TV Ch making $$$$
and in the past
The Brady Bunch
The Sullivans
Blue Heelers
The Wedge :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Mr Reliable
11 Oct 2007, 17:02
All those yank cop shows and sitcoms, 24 hrs, CSI, Ugly Betty etc.:thumbsd:
Don't you just love it how in CSI the victim's got dirt on his shoe and the dirt can only be found on a mountain where the prime suspect has a holiday house.
Or they go in for an interview with Horatio and they've still got the victim's blood on their t-shirt.
Wild Kangaroo
11 Oct 2007, 19:43
LOL:D:D
My worst is anything under the heading of "reality" and "with Celebrities"
also, and i know some of you are going to disagree but it's my worst list-so there.
Kath & Kim
All Saints
McLeod's Daughters
The Footy Show - AFL & NRL
Rove
any type of Talent Show - it's all about the advertiser & TV Ch making $$$$
and in the past
The Brady Bunch
The Sullivans
Blue Heelers
The NRL Footy Show Sh1ts all over the AFL one.
I cant stand Criminal Intent, That lady detective, played by Mariska Hargitay,I cant stand that character, just want to bash her head and tell her to get over herself!
Manbearpig
11 Oct 2007, 20:32
I reckon only people from Melbourne who get the irrits with Sam Newman like the NRL footy show. Everyone I know who's from NSW or Qld reckons the NRL show is pure shyte.
Yet they let Diesel on?
Staggers me that these throwbacks are still being made.
Jimmy's Hot Dogs
15 Oct 2007, 23:13
Lost, Heroes, Jericho, Desperate Housewives, Prison Break, Seinfeld, Friends, anything CSI, anything Law & Order, anything reality, anything American (save only 6 shows ever), anything Australian and apparently a comedy in the past decade, anything on MTV, anything Sci-Fi.
So you like the ABC? :p
year of the roo
15 Oct 2007, 23:17
So you like the ABC? :p
I watch 2 shows on the ABC.
DarwinRoo
17 Oct 2007, 00:10
Footy Calcified. Only because the bitch is on it.