View Full Version : The curse of #36

Mitchell Madness
9 Oct 2007, 08:22
All fans know about our dreaded #36 jumper, so i ask, which player will next get this jumper? Surely Josh Kennedy will get 11 or 21 (thorpe should get number 19), which will see him become a star (the 36 is cursed!)

Dont believe it? Seen the Last 2 players to wear it? Boyle - Constantly injured, gets the number 20 and his injury is almost gone.

Bailey - Snaps his ankle! come on! this kid was going to be a star! everyone knew it, how many players have the guts to take a hanger in their first match over the AA full back?

Adelaide Hawk
9 Oct 2007, 09:18
What can you expect? Demetriou wore 36 for the Hawks. And that high priced reject from Essendon, Young (just forget his first name).

Mojo
9 Oct 2007, 09:24
What can you expect? Demetriou wore 36 for the Hawks. And that high priced reject from Essendon, Young (just forget his first name).

Demetriou played footy for Hawthorn?

WOTTAMACHINE
9 Oct 2007, 10:06
Barry Young.. The guy looked like a gun at the bombers back then, however put him in an ordinary team and he struggled, showed his true colours..
I reckon if Thurgood is still in the team next season, give him the number 36, that should keep him out of the side :p

The TACHawks
9 Oct 2007, 10:06

Yeah, he wore the jumper...wouldn't say he did anything useful on the field :o

bak2bak8889
9 Oct 2007, 11:04
no, not really he was always at the canteen, stuffing that gut.

Gilbert_Hodge
9 Oct 2007, 13:04

Shudders :(

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 13:27
All fans know about our dreaded #36 jumper, so i ask, which player will next get this jumper? Surely Josh Kennedy will get 11 or 21 (thorpe should get number 19), which will see him become a star (the 36 is cursed!)

Dont believe it? Seen the Last 2 players to wear it? Boyle - Constantly injured, gets the number 20 and his injury is almost gone.

Bailey - Snaps his ankle! come on! this kid was going to be a star! everyone knew it, how many players have the guts to take a hanger in their first match over the AA full back?

Didn't Bailey got the No 1 when Spider left?? That was before the injury.

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 13:31
Didn't Bailey got the No 1 when Spider left?? That was before the injury.

And didnt Bailey do his knee, not snap his ankle

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 13:33
And didnt Bailey do his knee, not snap his ankle

Yeah, wasn't it an ACL???

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 13:34
ACL???

Yeaup

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 13:36
Hey Roughie, have you noticed our avatars look alike?:D

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 13:38
Hey Roughie, have you noticed our avatars look alike?:D

Bahaha good point out!

I think good ole Gazza Coleman would of made a great crumbing forward

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 13:44
Bahaha good point out!

I think good ole Gazza Coleman would of made a great crumbing forward

LOL, 'What you talkin bout Goldspink!'

soupofficial
9 Oct 2007, 13:51
only just over a month until this year's draft - by then we need to be able to spell the names of the players we drafted last year.

thorp, for example. 5 letter word, phonetic, anglo - should be within reach. this is bigfooty's homework for the next 6 weeks.

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 13:56
LOL, 'What you talkin bout Goldspink!'

Haha your a pisser

Soupofficial make a thread about this because you and a couple fans would love it as you are all tedious about the spelling of players names.

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 14:02
Haha your a pisser

Soupofficial make a thread about this because you and a couple fans would love it as you are all tedious about the spelling of players names.

I'm quite fond of Soupofficial, i'm not quite sure if he remembers but he gave me quite a warm welcome into Big Footy on my first day back in Jan.
We got into a big dispute about god only remembers and i nearly got red carded!
Ahh memories;)

soupofficial
9 Oct 2007, 14:23
spelling 5 letter names correctly would not only be a good sign of respect and attentiveness to the club and players that you support, but it would also make you look literate and intelligent.
all 4 of these things are great qualities for a human to have. it'll also make it much easier for the rest of us to denigrate collingwood and richmond supporters as toothless illiterate idiots - it's only convincing when we don't embody the traits that we're criticising.

Mojo
9 Oct 2007, 14:31
I'm quite fond of Soupofficial, i'm not quite sure if he remembers but he gave me quite a warm welcome into Big Footy on my first day back in Jan.
We got into a big dispute about god only remembers and i nearly got red carded!
Ahh memories;)

I was just about to say the same thing! I only just noticed him a couple of days ago.. Good work mate! :thumbsu:

Adelaide Hawk
9 Oct 2007, 14:51
Barry Young.. The guy looked like a gun at the bombers back then, however put him in an ordinary team and he struggled, showed his true colours..

Sounds like judd at Carlton :D

Mitchell Madness
9 Oct 2007, 18:05
my appologies guys, that was boyler who did his ankle wasnt it?

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 18:41
my appologies guys, that was boyler who did his ankle wasnt it?

Broke his leg both bones I think as well

Mitchell Madness
9 Oct 2007, 18:44
Broke his leg both bones I think as well

see! burn the 36 now! FFS, Demetriou wore it!

Adelaide Hawk
9 Oct 2007, 19:03
Ricky Nixon also wore 36 for the Hawks in the early 90s.

Mitchell Madness
27 Oct 2008, 00:17
thought this deserved a bump.

are there any more believers after seeing kennedy's struggle's this year?

Junior boi
27 Oct 2008, 07:48
What curse?

Remember Barry Young?

Adelaide Hawk
27 Oct 2008, 09:07
What curse?

Remember Barry Young?

Yes, unfortunately.

noosa hawk mad
27 Oct 2008, 13:54
What curse?

Remember Barry Young?What would i be remembering mate you cant actually believe that he played any good football for us can ya????

Mitchell Madness
27 Oct 2008, 14:06
What curse?

Remember Barry Young?

you do not believe in the power of the number 36! only the collective stregnth of all of us can rid this place of 36!

do you feel the power!

kimbopen
27 Oct 2008, 14:35
The number 36 at Hawthorn should now be locked away, and confined to the annals (or should that be anals? ;)) of history forever more, never again to darken our days with its presence.

Especially since that flog Demetriou wore it! :eek: :rolleyes: