View Full Version : Worst Magpies Trade Deals
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 16:13
this time of the year make me think of all trade periods that we've done some shockers.....
i'll get the ball rolling with mark kinnear from sydney for andrew schauble.
schauble goes onto win a b&f (maybe 2) play finals etc...and mark kinnear retires at age 21 the day he gets to melbourne (after deal was done)
geez we mustn't have done our homework with that one.....
can anyone remember any other not so memorable trades??
a few with us:
Chard rintoul, Chad morrison, andrew williams
i_hate_scams
9 Oct 2007, 16:17
Lee Walker for pick 12 comes to mind,
you really should start this on the NM or Freo board
mal micheal
paul williams (my favorite player ever to wear the black & white)
barry micthell (million $ man)
shane woewodin
What did we get for Mal Michael and Jason McCartney?
I guess one of our worst trades was Davis for Sydney's 2nd rounder, although it was pretty much that or nothing.
micheal for molloy, not sure if an extra pick was in there too
would i be outta line to say scott cummings was a bad trade
or did we pick him up in the pre season draft
rick olarenshaw, hamstring injury prone more than bucks , i remember he came back and did it in a game or something.
least we arent as bad as some other clubs , martyn to carlton was laughable
i remember jason taylor was taken at a very high pick.
what a waste
so was mcgaune and mitchell to carlton.
magpies42
9 Oct 2007, 16:22
Lee Walker for pick 3 comes to mind,
lee walker was a gun CHF! injury problems screwed him and us!
The worst trade ever was getting Mckee and missing out on Pavlich
2004 - Bo Nixon and pick 7 (Jordan Lewis) to Hawthorn for pick 10 (Chris Egan)...figure that out!
Pick 35 (Brent Hall) for Heath Scotland. We had previously offered Scotland plus our first round pick to PA for Nick Stevens.
pick 37 (LeCras) to WC for Chad Morrison
1994 Pick 12 to WC for Lee Walker
would i be outta line to say scott cummings was a bad trade
or did we pick him up in the pre season draft
we got him for nothing in the PSD
by far the biggest star we missed out (even more than judd)
was TONY LOCKETT.
we had him. i cringe everytime i think of that
the_champ_2004
9 Oct 2007, 16:27
2004 - Bo Nixon and pick 7 (Jordan Lewis) to Hawthorn for pick 10 (Chris Egan)...figure that out!
Finally someone else who remembers this trade. I still have no idea what went on here. Why would you give up a player and a pick for a worse pick. Mind you I am glad we didn't get Lewis. He is my most hated AFL player BAR NONE
ridethewind
9 Oct 2007, 16:33
Easily the Pavlich pick for Roach and McKee
Cost: minimum 2 flags
We also got pick 37 in that deal which gave us Chad Morrison. I guess we didn't rate Nixon at all (ended up being delisted pretty quickly anyway). Although pick 37 ended up being used on LeCras.
Edit: Just read that we were going to delist Nixon that year anyway.
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 16:35
Finally someone else who remembers this trade. I still have no idea what went on here. Why would you give up a player and a pick for a worse pick. Mind you I am glad we didn't get Lewis. He is my most hated AFL player BAR NONE
i would rather lewis than egan though...
imo
i shouldve started a worst draft selections thread too.... no doubt bo nixon at 15, and billy morrison (next jonathan brown) at 17 wouldve figured prominently
i_hate_scams
9 Oct 2007, 16:41
lee walker was a gun CHF! injury problems screwed him and us!
The worst trade ever was getting Mckee and missing out on Pavlich
no point trading for a Wayne Carey with one leg amputated, he already did a knee or 2 before we give the coasters our 3rd pick. Medical staff should've said no, or a much lower pick if traded.
We also got pick 37 in that deal which gave us Chad Morrison. I guess we didn't rate Nixon at all (ended up being delisted pretty quickly anyway). Although pick 37 ended up being used on LeCras.
Edit: Just read that we were going to delist Nixon that year anyway.
Yep I just checked and you're right, and it makes sense now since we had committed to Travis Cloke at 39 as a father/son selection so we didn't have a pick in that round to trade.
this time of the year make me think of all trade periods that we've done some shockers.....
i'll get the ball rolling with mark kinnear from sydney for andrew schauble.
schauble goes onto win a b&f (maybe 2) play finals etc...and mark kinnear retires at age 21 the day he gets to melbourne (after deal was done)
geez we mustn't have done our homework with that one.....
can anyone remember any other not so memorable trades??
Schauble for pick 34 and Mark Kinnear who walked out on us. We got Leon Davis with that pick. Schauble ended up washed up, had the one or two good seasons but wasn't as good as Presti or Wakelin. He played finals but so has most of our list by then.
Rintoul was a PSD pick up.
We gave away Adkins for Williams. Lose lose, although I'd rather try and make a good player out of Adkins who lacked opportunities @ Eagles.
This was perceived as a bad trade by most people, I'm not so sure. We essentially traded pick 7 + Bo Nixon for C. Morrison and pick 10. They picked Egan we picked Lewis although you cannot tell whether or not we would've picked Lewis or Egan with pick 7. Chad was a failure, but I felt we should've gone for him at the time tbh.
Scotland for pick 35 (I think) Brent Hall was the worst one.
Sydney bent us over to grab a 2nd rounder (or was it a very late 1st rounder) we used on Bo Nixon for Davis. Bo Nixon was a huge draft mistake that people don't talk about.
My memory does not serve me well in terms of how the deep the draft was and how Roach was rated at the time to really comment on how the McKee/King/Pick 7/Pick 4 deal was viewed at the time. But obviously the results speak for themselves. And certainly nowadays there is a difference between top 5 and top 10 and 1 handy average player wouldn't bridge that gap unless it's a crap draft group. It was a drafting mistake in that case more than anything I guess.
CarnthePies
9 Oct 2007, 16:54
I hope we didn't get rid of anything for Scott Cummings
Lee Walker for pick 3 comes to mind,
What trade was this.... I dont remember shipping off pick 3 for Lee Walker
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 16:58
Schauble for pick 34 and Mark Kinnear who walked out on us. We got Leon Davis with that pick. Schauble ended up washed up, had the one or two good seasons but wasn't as good as Presti or Wakelin. He played finals but so has most of our list by then.
Rintoul was a PSD pick up.
We gave away Adkins for Williams. Lose lose, although I'd rather try and make a good player out of Adkins who lacked opportunities @ Eagles.
This was perceived as a bad trade by most people, I'm not so sure. We essentially traded pick 7 + Bo Nixon for C. Morrison and pick 10. They picked Egan we picked Lewis although you cannot tell whether or not we would've picked Lewis or Egan with pick 7. Chad was a failure, but I felt we should've gone for him at the time tbh.
Scotland for pick 35 (I think) Brent Hall was the worst one.
Sydney bent us over to grab a 2nd rounder (we used on Jason Cloke I think) for Davis.
sydney gave us a pick for nick davis, we then gave that same pick to melbourne for woewodin, melbourne used that pick on daniel bell.
No just check my edited post we grabbed Bo Nixon with the pick we got (pick 21) for him. We used our 1st rounder (pick 16-19) for Woey which IMO was an ok trade IMO despite people's hate for Woewodin.
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 17:03
No just check my edited post we grabbed Bo Nixon with the pick we got (pick 21) for him. We used our 1st rounder (pick 16-19) for Woey which IMO was an ok trade IMO despite people's hate for Woewodin.
i stand corrected then...
sorry mate
pick 14 (Daniel Bell) - that was a pretty crap draft for most clubs - outside the top 10 there are very few players left.
We got Scott Cummings in the Pre-season Draft in 2002.
He was pick 4.
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 17:05
We got Scott Cummings in the Pre-season Draft in 2002.
He was pick 4.
yeah we were deciding between cummings and adrian fletcher in that one.
we didnt take fletcher as a player so we offered him a role at willy.
i_hate_scams
9 Oct 2007, 17:06
What trade was this.... I dont remember shipping off pick 3 for Lee Walker
correction, pick 12, still way too high
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=2237
yeah we were deciding between cummings and adrian fletcher in that one.
we didnt take fletcher as a player so we offered him a role at willy.
Fletcher would have been better he was dominating Willy.
Spagger83
9 Oct 2007, 17:08
obviously theres afew of us with copies of the AFL 2007 or anyother year books??
either that or some people have great memories!!
why are we so bad at the draft table?? or are other clubs just as bad its just that we dont take as much notice coz we hate them??
obviously theres afew of us with copies of the AFL 2007 or anyother year books??
Spot on! Great book.
bradrowe#32
9 Oct 2007, 17:10
Delisting Sav Rocca and thus, allowing NM to pick him up for free was a very ordinary move. We should've at least got a pick for him, especially considering he played well at NM for a couple of years.
Danny_CFC
9 Oct 2007, 17:14
Obviousy the worst was the heath scotland deal for some late 30s to early 40s pick.
Anyone trades done by Tony Shaw
ridethewind
9 Oct 2007, 17:18
Obviousy the worst was the heath scotland deal for some late 30s to early 40s pick.Not even close.. the Pavlich pick for Steve stunning McKee
Not even close.. the Pavlich pick for Steve stunning McKee
It's clear why Mick Malthouse didn't rate ruckman after that deal! ;)
Thommo 42
9 Oct 2007, 17:37
McKee was ok before they changed the rules.
Pointless speculating, as there is no guarantee we would have taken thos eplayers with those picks (especially given our drafting during thos eperiods)
McKee sucked but he was still better than our current dud ruckman. :eek:
yeah always easier to say five years later when you see how the players play and compare them based on that lol . at the time it would be hard to tell.
mckee i didnt think was that bad eitheir , until yeh before the ruck rules changed.
Pointless speculating, as there is no guarantee we would have taken thos eplayers with those picks (especially given our drafting during thos eperiods)
mckee wasnt terrible before they stopped him from sheperding in ruck contests as he couldnt jump, was shit around the ground but before the changes more than decent in the ruck.
Not worth a top whatevere pick though
this is painful to write. and yes i know hindsight is great.
we took danny roach in 1999 at pick 7.
just have a look at the names which we could/should have taken:
Joel Corey - 8
Darren Glass - 11
Robert Murphy - 13
Brad Green - 19
Adam Hunter - 29
Paul Chapman - 31
David Hille - 40
Lindsay Gilbee - 43
Corey Enright - 47
Chance Bateman - 48
Ryan O'Keefe - 56
Cam Bruce - 64
thank god those recruiters have moved on.
ridethewind
9 Oct 2007, 18:01
Pointless speculating, as there is no guarantee we would have taken thos eplayers with those picks (especially given our drafting during thos eperiods)Hello... the entire thread is pointless speculating about what could have been.. and while McKee was "ok".. I think we can agree Pavlich is superb
PieLebo87
9 Oct 2007, 18:01
was TONY LOCKETT.
Can someone explain how this went down? Because I never heard the story. All I know is we practically signed him, what went wrong?
Again, can someone who knows, please explain how this went down?
Easily the Pavlich pick for Roach and McKee
Cost: minimum 2 flags
I'd nominate this as our worst trade deal, ever.
Can someone explain how this went down? Because I never heard the story. All I know is we practically signed him, what went wrong?
the board said no or one certain board member in particular, thanks Richo:thumbsu:
http://www.injuryupdate.com.au/forum/archive/index.php/t-340.html
That's the Bo Nixon + pick 7 trade.
Nixon and national draft pick No. 7 were traded by Collingwood to Hawthorn for draft selections 10 and 37.
The latter pick was used by the Magpies to recruit Chad Morrison from West Coast.
Balme said the use of Nixon to effect the three-way trade was beneficial to the player.
"If you have a three-way deal, there have to be two players," he said.
"We looked at what they had, and they looked at what we had and they were quite interested in the young man.
"He is a terrific kid and we were pleased to be able to do that for Bo.
"We need to find room on the list and he was one of the ones in contention (to be delisted). We had said to him, 'We will try to find a home for you because we reckon you deserve it'. Otherwise he might have been delisted."
Thommo 42
9 Oct 2007, 18:13
mckee wasnt terrible before they stopped him from sheperding in ruck contests as he couldnt jump, was shit around the ground but before the changes more than decent in the ruck.
Not worth a top whatevere pick though
We traded Pick 4 for McKee and Pick 7 - I doubt people were screaming at the club when the deal was done. Especially given we also had Pick 1. We then grabbed Fraser, Freo grabbed Hasleby, Richmond grabbed Fiora and Freo grabbed Pavlich.
So in most of these comparisons we look at who got picked up with the pick we traded - that player is Fiora, not Pavlich.
We also got Davis and Johnson on that draft, which was a strong draft. Roach was an almighty ****up, but had nothing to do with Pavlich. We rated Roach so high, most suggested we would have taken him at 3 anyway!
Hello... the entire thread is pointless speculating about what could have been.. and while McKee was "ok".. I think we can agree Pavlich is superbYes, but Fiora is the relevant player in that trade, not Pav.
ridethewind
9 Oct 2007, 18:17
Yes, but Fiora is the relevant player in that trade, not Pav.We were never after a runner, even after we traded that pick we did it for two KP's, a ruckman (McKee) and pick 7, a key position (Roach).. it would have been Pavlich no doubt
Thommo 42
9 Oct 2007, 18:18
Just had a look at the entire draft.
5 of the first 10 picks were duds, and 10 of the first 20 picks were duds. (we got Shaw at #18 under f/s, not rated as a dud)
So basically it was a lottery. The only club that grabbed 2 good players in that first 20 are Freo - so we can agree it was a VERY weird year of recruiting!
On a side note J Brown went at 30 (f/s) and Chapman went at 31!
Thommo 42
9 Oct 2007, 18:20
We were never after a runner, even after we traded that pick we did it for two KP's, a ruckman (McKee) and pick 7, a key position (Roach).. it would have been Pavlich no doubtyet we drafted Ben Johnson, Rhyce Shaw and Leon Davis with the picks that followed?
The Royal Sampler
9 Oct 2007, 18:38
We were never after a runner, even after we traded that pick we did it for two KP's, a ruckman (McKee) and pick 7, a key position (Roach).. it would have been Pavlich no doubt
We would never have gotten Pavlich, unless we wanted to give up Fraser.
Fremantle wanted Pavlich but they also wanted Hasleby. The rumour was that Richmond were keen on Hasleby, so Fremantle made sure to take him with their first pick (#2) and leave Pavlich to #4.
Had Collingwood not traded pick #3 to Richmond, Freo would have taken Pavlich at #2 after we took Fraser, meaning we could have used #3 to take Hasleby or possibly Fiora, who was also highly rated at the time.
So really, the draft blunder could be argued as Fraser or Pavlich, or alternatively McKee/Roach or Hasleby, or both. Not great reading however you look at it.
We would never have gotten Pavlich, unless we wanted to give up Fraser.
Fremantle wanted Pavlich but they also wanted Hasleby. The rumour was that Richmond were keen on Hasleby, so Fremantle made sure to take him with their first pick (#2) and leave Pavlich to #4.
Had Collingwood not traded pick #3 to Richmond, Freo would have taken Pavlich at #2 after we took Fraser, meaning we could have used #3 to take Hasleby or possibly Fiora, who was also highly rated at the time.
So really, the draft blunder could be argued as Fraser or Pavlich, or alternatively McKee/Roach or Hasleby, or both. Not great reading however you look at it.
Funny my understanding was they took Haselby as he wanted to go to Freo ...Pav indicated Freo as his last option.
Funny how it all goes.
You could go mad looking at drafts etc ......you win some - you lose some.
fraser25
10 Oct 2007, 08:29
What did we get for Mal Michael and Jason McCartney?
I guess one of our worst trades was Davis for Sydney's 2nd rounder, although it was pretty much that or nothing.
We should've said nothing, no way he would've gone into the PSD, that was so weak.
fraser25
10 Oct 2007, 08:39
Obviousy the worst was the heath scotland deal for some late 30s to early 40s pick.
There was nothing we could do on that one though.
Scottie was gonna leave anyway.
IMO Mick totally ****ed it all up. I like Mick but when he first came here he had this snobbish opinion about some of our players, Michael, S. Rocca, Scotland and he held onto it. Delisted a few guys and never gave Scottie a chance till we realised he was a fukn gun in about round 18 2003 when he starred in Sydney. By then it was too late he wanted out after years of no chances and we had a choice to let him go to PSD or get that pick. But anyway, that's drafting, we could've got someone good, so I don't think you can call it a bad trade
fraser25
10 Oct 2007, 08:45
I'd nominate this as our worst trade deal, ever.
Has to be.
fraser25
10 Oct 2007, 08:47
the board said no or one certain board member in particular, thanks Richo:thumbsu:
We would've never done anything with Tony Shaw as coach anyway, so what difference would've it made.
Optimax
10 Oct 2007, 10:33
We would've never done anything with Tony Shaw as coach anyway, so what difference would've it made.
that is a good point shaw killed rocca could of added a bigger forward scalp to his list i spose
BIG G PIEMAN
10 Oct 2007, 10:38
Quote:
Originally Posted by enosis7
fraser25
10 Oct 2007, 11:01
Quote:
Originally Posted by enosis7
enosis7
10 Oct 2007, 11:49
pick 7 (Jordan Lewis) + Bo Nixon for pick 10 (Chris Egan) plus pick 37
pick 37 (LeCras) for Chad Morrison
you should have read on a bit before quoting, we cleared that all up a few pages ago.;)
What the....??? :confused: Did this really happen?? Did they let the work experiance kid sign of on that deal?
Kind of, we got pick 37 as well though, and the player we traded was going to be delisted.
TheHistorian
10 Oct 2007, 13:18
was TONY LOCKETT.
We didnt have him at all. He never noninated us. He nominated Richmond.
And even if he did nominate us, we wouldnt have goten the deal done as we couldnt give St. Kilda what they wanted, just as Richmond couldnt.
And then EVEN if we did land him, under Shaw's coaching we would have dragged ourselves up to 12th. Didnt help the Saints much, did he? In fact even Sydney didnt win a flag.
Just a lot of hooey.
TheHistorian
10 Oct 2007, 13:20
It was a PSD stupid pick, when we could have picked Adrian Fletcher. He would hav ebeen handy in the 02 GF. Cummings was a tub of lard and reamins so.
PIES_MAGIC
10 Oct 2007, 13:22
First Paul Willams and Mick McGuane left because of Buckley and his FIGJAM ways back in the day. Mal Michael got traded because he wanted more money.
Both Roccas in one forward line was not working at all. Sav had to go because he was older but he is a champion. Know one knew how Pav was going to turn out and we were in desperate need of a ruckman so we took a punt with Mckee. All the supporters who say if only we had Pav build a bridge and please get over it. Like the Judd issue when he got picked up Hawthorn get a hammering why they didnt pick up judd why dopnt they give it to st kilda for picking up ball who has shown nothing in recent time.
Nick Davies had a sook and wanted to go home, Scott Russell thought he still had something to give the game. Monkey thought he had something to give the game, Tony Francis wanted to play on. Our trades havent been that bad. We got rid of the players that were holding us back like richard cole. who is struggling to be fit to get on the field.
Give the pies a break with chad morrison, rintoul and williams. they would have been mates with malthouse back in the day when he was over in the west atleast he didnt dog them. and we picked them up because we were in grandfinals and he probably thought to top up the team and try and snatch a granny.
The trades that we have benefited from Jimmy, obree, freeborne and steinford and dont say they were duds or rejects because if we won the granny you would be licking there toes. Buckley, Rocca, Licca, Holland players that held the team together for a large amount of time.
So relax fellas.
bradrowe#32
10 Oct 2007, 13:26
Both Roccas in one forward line was not working at all. Sav had to go because he was older but he is a champion.
Fair enough, but we should've at least got a pick or a player for Sav instead of just delisting him. That was really puzzling.
i was shocked when steinfort retired when he did, i thought he still had a few more years in him. was a decent player for us at the time