View Full Version : Schammer
the_champ_2004
9 Oct 2007, 16:55
Have heard his name was thrown around by Harvey yesterday. Also know he signed a contract 3 months ago but was that under Conolly? What do you rekon it will take to grab him off you guys?
wizard_9
9 Oct 2007, 16:59
Have heard his name was thrown around by Harvey yesterday. Also know he signed a contract 3 months ago but was that under Conolly? What do you rekon it will take to grab him off you guys?
Only way for it to happen is a fist round pick, otherwise its not a chance IMO. He loves Freo and doesnt wanna go anywhere.
dalethomas13
9 Oct 2007, 17:00
Yehh i too have some interest in him- i would of thought a second rounder? A first round pick would have to be out of the equation.
Perhaps (although we would like to keep him) but straight swap for Davis? Farmer has had off-field troubles and has struggled this season and is possibly on the wrong side of 30 (but still a gun) whilst Davis has blossomed somewhat and put together a very consistent season playing further up the ground. Also plays well on Subiaco oval.
Thoughts?
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 17:15
Yehh i too have some interest in him- i would of thought a second rounder? A first round pick would have to be out of the equation.
Perhaps (although we would like to keep him) but straight swap for Davis? Farmer has had off-field troubles and has struggled this season and is possibly on the wrong side of 30 (but still a gun) whilst Davis has blossomed somewhat and put together a very consistent season playing further up the ground. Also plays well on Subiaco oval.
Thoughts?
How about.. NO. He is worth a first round pick in this draft, he is talented and has more talent to burn than Davis. If we wanted a replacement, we wouldn't have given Farmer another contract.
inferno66
9 Oct 2007, 17:15
I agree with Wizard_9....its first pick for Schammer or he wont be traded.
Memories
9 Oct 2007, 17:17
Wouldn't get rid of Schammer for anything less than a top 10 pick. Still young and can improve his skills some, relatively fast compared to our other midfielders also. This year should be better than 2005 was for him, provided he stays healthy. Would like to get a really good midfielder beside him so he could improve even more, he's just waiting to hit the next level, but I think he will hit it.
peppy la pew
9 Oct 2007, 17:20
Why all the sudden interest in Schammer ?
He will step into Belly's shoe's next year :thumbsu:
ImperialPurple
9 Oct 2007, 17:25
Schammer has attracted interest from other clubs. Given he missed 3/4 of the season after debilitating illness, I can't see the club trading him when his trade value is at it's lowest. I would be very, very surprised (and disappointed) if Schammer is anywhere else next year.
pinkus maximus
9 Oct 2007, 17:43
maybe harvs wants to trade him because he is under 180cm ;)
dalethomas13
9 Oct 2007, 17:50
How about.. NO. He is worth a first round pick in this draft, he is talented and has more talent to burn than Davis. If we wanted a replacement, we wouldn't have given Farmer another contract.
Mate he is not worth a first rnd pick. You are kidding yourselves. His trade value is at its absolute lowest because he is injury prone and irrespective of how highly he is rated at Freo, no club will be prepared to give a first rnd selection for him. If he was really worth that he wouldn't be on the table or thrown around as bait.
Steve Johnson last year (who you would agree is far better than Schammer) was up for trade last year and was only worth a second round pick even though he wasn't traded. After his stellar 2007 season if Schammer is worth a first round pick what is SJ worth or even Judd? Lets get serious here.
With the players available for trade or on the table, only players to command a first round pick are either ruckman because alot of clubs are chasing them or Chris Judd. Simple as that.
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 17:56
Mate he is not worth a first rnd pick. You are kidding yourselves. His trade value is at its absolute lowest because he is injury prone and irrespective of how highly he is rated at Freo, no club will be prepared to give a first rnd selection for him. If he was really worth that he wouldn't be on the table or thrown around as bait.
Steve Johnson last year (who you would agree is far better than Schammer) was up for trade last year and was only worth a second round pick even though he wasn't traded. After his stellar 2007 season if Schammer is worth a first round pick what is SJ worth or even Judd? Lets get serious here.
With the players available for trade or on the table, only players to command a first round pick are either ruckman because alot of clubs are chasing them or Chris Judd. Simple as that.
Injury prone? He had a shoulder injury 2 years ago and since then his only "injury" was a burst appendix which cannot happen again, which lead to surgical complications. Now unless he has surgery in that same area, he will not likely have these same surgical complications. You sir are a buffoon, when do your school holidays finish?
Judd is worth 2 First round picks and a good young player, haven't you seen what they are asking for? Buffoon, Buffoon oh and yeah.. Buffoon. Go back to your board where you and your low IQ belong.
ImperialPurple
9 Oct 2007, 18:00
He is not injury prone. He had appendicitis, then a burst bowel (complications from surgery) - he lost 16kg (20% of his bodyweight). In January this year he looked like a walking skeleton. He worked his arse off to get back, which is a credit to his commitment and approach to his footy.
Right now he might be worth only a second rounder - but his value to us is far greater than what we could get for him in a trade. That's why we are saying anything less than a Top 10 pick and we would be ripping ourselves off. We would need a Top 10 pick to be able to replace him in our midfield. Read this slowly - his value to us is a top 10 pick.
But we won't get a Top 10 pick, so we should bloody well keep him.
Also - he is contracted, so we only need to trade if an absolute premium offer is made and we like what we see, otherwise he stays for another 2 years.
inferno66
9 Oct 2007, 18:01
Mate he is not worth a first rnd pick. You are kidding yourselves. His trade value is at its absolute lowest because he is injury prone .
If you dont think he is a first round draft pick...dont trade for him. Secondly he is not injury prone. Last year he had a burst apendix which in turn caused a bowel blockage which meant he lost a lot of weight. Before this incident Schammer has never had injury problems.
dalethomas13
9 Oct 2007, 18:10
Injury prone? He had a shoulder injury 2 years ago and since then his only "injury" was a burst appendix which cannot happen again, which lead to surgical complications. Now unless he has surgery in that same area, he will not likely have these same surgical complications. You sir are a buffoon, when do your school holidays finish?
Judd is worth 2 First round picks and a good young player, haven't you seen what they are asking for? Buffoon, Buffoon oh and yeah.. Buffoon. Go back to your board where you and your low IQ belong.
Settle down mate. Ok, perhaps they have been his only injuries and i may have been wrong and probably placed too much emphasis on his appendicitis which then like IP said led to complications with his burst bowel.
However, to suggest i am a buffoon is outlandish and childish on your behalf. Lets get serious here, i didn't come on here to troll, i just expressed interest in a player and an opinion which most people would agree with- Schammer is NOT worth a first round pick like many believe.
IP may be right, he may be worth a top 10 pick to your team but in the open market it is not even close and im sure the club knows it.
Is Leon Davis worth a top 10 pick because he is important to us? A player is only worth what you are prepared to pay for them. At the end of the day he is being used as bait and is on the market, however, going by the demands it will put every club off so he may as well be taken off the table. Similar to Travis Johnstone i think.
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 18:11
You would hope that this doesn't happen. Seriously why would Harvs even consider trading Byron after having him signed up for 3 years?
If he did go I would think that Melbourne would want him because of CC being there.
He's from Adelaide.. He'd go to Adelaide only.
Belnakor
9 Oct 2007, 18:14
I've got alot of time for Butthead Schammer, i'd very very dissappointed if we traded him.
In other news, apparantly Essendon wants a first round pick for Kelper Bradley! haha :)
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 18:14
Settle down mate. Ok, perhaps they have been his only injuries and i may have been wrong and probably placed too much emphasis on his appendicitis which then like IP said led to complications with his burst bowel.
However, to suggest i am a buffoon is outlandish and childish on your behalf. Lets get serious here, i didn't come on here to troll, i just expressed interest in a player and an opinion which most people would agree with- Schammer is NOT worth a first round pick like many believe.
IP may be right, he may be worth a top 10 pick to your team but in the open market it is not even close and im sure the club knows it.
Is Leon Davis worth a top 10 pick because he is important to us? A player is only worth what you are prepared to pay for them. At the end of the day he is being used as bait and is on the market, however, going by the demands it will put every club off so he may as well be taken off the table. Similar to Travis Johnstone i think.
May have? Come on out and admit it already, you were wrong.
Please, Its hardly childish. Children wouldn't know what a Buffoon is, theyd call you a stinky poopy head.
Schammer is worth a top 10 pick in this draft because it is a very shallow draft. Adelaide just got a 2nd rounder that isn't worth much because the draft isn't even that deep. He is 22 years old, coming off his best preseason prior to surgery and signed a new deal which means a premium offer is all that will take him from us, unlike the Judd deal.
Learn to read and we might not have these problems.
dont bowl there
9 Oct 2007, 18:17
If Schammer was in the draft right now he would go top 5 without a doubt. We should not trade him unless its for a top 5 pick, even then I would be disapointed.
dalethomas13
9 Oct 2007, 18:23
May have? Come on out and admit it already, you were wrong.
Please, Its hardly childish. Children wouldn't know what a Buffoon is, theyd call you a stinky poopy head.
Schammer is worth a top 10 pick in this draft because it is a very shallow draft. Adelaide just got a 2nd rounder that isn't worth much because the draft isn't even that deep. He is 22 years old, coming off his best preseason prior to surgery and signed a new deal which means a premium offer is all that will take him from us, unlike the Judd deal.
Learn to read and we might not have these problems.
Seriously mate get over it, i can admit that the injury prone statement was overblown but you can't admit the fact Schammer is not worth a top 10 pick.
In response to draft depth- that is another reason why he isn't worth anywhere near that. I'm sure the Freo staff would know he is not worth that.
Asking for demands like this will get you laughed out of Telstra Dome mate let alone laughed out of any bigfooty forum. Right now, Leon Davis would have more currency than Schammer so please don't give me this whole bullshit of wanting a top10 pick.
If he is so important to your team why is he even on the market?
MickyCrow
9 Oct 2007, 18:24
Have heard he wants to come to the Crows, but then every SA born player does at some point in trade week:D
wizard_9
9 Oct 2007, 18:27
Seriously mate get over it, i can admit that the injury prone statement was overblown but you can't admit the fact Schammer is not worth a top 10 pick.
In response to draft depth- that is another reason why he isn't worth anywhere near that. I'm sure the Freo staff would know he is not worth that.
Asking for demands like this will get you laughed out of Telstra Dome mate let alone laughed out of any bigfooty forum. Right now, Leon Davis would have more currency than Schammer so please don't give me this whole bullshit of wanting a top10 pick.
He isnt right now becase of his concerns last seasons concerns and the season before he was played out of position. But watch his 2nd yr in the AFL as a 19 yr old, 13 Brownlow votes and played i think 20 odd games. He is a quality footballer and when he gets fit and firing again a top 10 pick would be his worth. Right now he isnt worth that and thats why he wouldnt be traded.
inferno66
9 Oct 2007, 18:36
It was the other clubs enquiring with Freo with his availability rather than Freo shopping him around.
dalethomas13
9 Oct 2007, 18:42
Other clubs may be enquiring about his availability but it has been mentioned he is on the table. May not be being shopped around but he is on table if the right deal comes along.
As would every other player in the league.
wizard_9
9 Oct 2007, 18:45
So is Dale Thomas at the right price, so whats your point?
He was a #13 draft pick, has been good ever since and had one awesome yr and than one troubled season. His value wouldnt have changed since the day he was drafted.
inferno66
9 Oct 2007, 18:45
Could be through homesickness. Maybe that serious infection he had with the Burst Appendix may of caused him to be homesick. It's a little concerning.
Schammer actually loves Perth. He has settled in great at the club :thumbsu:
wizard_9
9 Oct 2007, 18:55
He's from Adelaide.. He'd go to Adelaide only.
Hes actually from Loxton, about 3 1/2 hours away from Adelaide. Its not like going to Adelaide would be like going home for him.
FWIW i speak to his brother semi-regularly and he loves WA.
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 19:36
And you know this how? His name was mentioned by The Age after he was inquired, probably by Melbourne and Port Adelaide. Port have been trying to get him ever since we took him in the draft, because they got rid of Pick 13 to us for a 3way. Because his name is mentioned by another club, it does not mean Freo are out there going "HERE YE HERE YE, BYRON SCHAMMER IS NOW FOR SALE!"
Bradesmaen
9 Oct 2007, 19:37
Hes actually from Loxton, about 3 1/2 hours away from Adelaide. Its not like going to Adelaide would be like going home for him.
FWIW i speak to his brother semi-regularly and he loves WA.
"Adelaide" I mean like Adelaide would be close enough to home ;) Closer than Melbourne, Perth or Brisbane.
the_champ_2004
9 Oct 2007, 22:57
you cannot say he is worth a first round in this draft, especially when tarrant was worth pick 8 and Medhurst in a far far stronger draft.
chook2734
9 Oct 2007, 23:11
you cannot say he is worth a first round in this draft, especially when tarrant was worth pick 8 and Medhurst in a far far stronger draft.
Trading is not that simple. He might not be worth a first rounder, but in order for Freo to be prepared to let him go, they might want a first rounder. If Freo didn't want him anymore, he'd probably go for a second rounder. It's all about what he's worth to the team he's with or the team that wants him. A players 'true' value is irrelevant.
dominguez
9 Oct 2007, 23:27
But surely the fact that it's a weaker draft makes it more likely that he'd be worth a first round pick this year?
He probably wouldn't have been worth a first rounder 12 months ago, but pick 12 this year is equivalent to pick 20 last year. You certainly wouldn't get a KPP with the same potential at pick 8 this year.
Avid_Avenger
10 Oct 2007, 01:44
its all speculative - if Schammer hits the potential we all see in him and once saw briefly in 2005, then the kid is worth a first rounder, probably in the top 10, but hey, he may not and as of now, hasn't.
That's why someone from the Collywobbles think he's worth a second rounder.
And that's why his own fans think he's worth more.
Add the weak draft into the equation and it bumps him up from a late first rounder to top 10 in our eyes.
So stop squabbling kids, its just a matter of perspective.
Neon Leon would be a handy acquisition but he's not a player that's going to change our fortunes around, especially not when we'd lose a player of Schammer's ability in the middle - NOT a win win situation at all
the_champ_2004
10 Oct 2007, 23:45
Don't get me wrong i think hes can be a star too, i have followed him very closely since just before he was drafted. hes a cousin of a cousin and a real good bloke, met him a few times and he even got me into the freo rooms one day at the G. I even got to meet rove