View Full Version : Why do Hawthorn crave to be in the BIG 4

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Merv
9 Oct 2007, 17:35
This is a question i'm sure you have all asked yourselves at one time or another.

They are almost rabid with anticipation of the day when they may FINALLY be accepted as part of the BIG 4.

Of course this is the basis of their relentless bagging of the Richmond FC

They see them as the easiest way into the BIG 4

Even they are aware they are not ready to take on the powerhouses of Victorian and National football in Essendon, Collingwood and carlton, so they stalk the sickly animal in the herd, Richmond.

Now most would think they would be content to dominate their overseas games and make up the numbers but it seems they are not content with that and crave to be accepted as being a part of the BIG 4

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 17:45
If my football club had hired Matthew Knights as coach, I'd also be p**sed off at the world.

I'm sorry you're going through a hard time atm, hope you feel better soon. :)

donsman4eva
9 Oct 2007, 17:45
Well they are doing their almighty best to become part of it. They sold their home ground and decided to shack up with Essendon and Carlton at the dome, maybe trying to get some info on how the big clubs do things properly. On the financial side, they sell home games interstate, obviously hoping to corner one area of the population. This effecitvely makes it look like they have a comparable membership to the clubs in the big 4, while in actual fact, they only have about 10000 members showing up to games while the rest have to watch it on tely from interstate.

The problem with all of that is, you have to be a sucessful club to demand respect. Looks like the Dawks have a fair way to go yet.

shotta
9 Oct 2007, 17:47
Wasn't the "big four" the bottom 4 last year. Your insipid team is very deserving of being mentioned in the same breath as Carlton and Richmond at the moment.whats more those rabbles will soon giving you something to chase!

BudddddyLove
9 Oct 2007, 18:02
Wasn't the "big four" the bottom 4 last year. Your insipid team is very deserving of being mentioned in the same breath as Carlton and Richmond at the moment.whats more those rabbles will soon giving you something to chase!

Hahaha owned !

Back in your boxes bummer fans a spoon awaits u on the other side of 2008.

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 18:04
If my football club had hired Matthew Knights as coach, I'd also be p**sed off at the world.

Alistair Clarkson anyone?

Knights>Sheedy>Daylight>A lump of coal>Clarkson

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:04

feel free to keep our rejects as your assistants:thumbsu:

I seem to remember everyone bagging the Hawks on Alistair (i can't coach finals) Clarkson when you appointed him, so lets just wait until Knights coaches a few seasons before we judge shall we.

donsman4eva
9 Oct 2007, 18:06
Hahaha owned !

Yeah, but 2094 is so far on the other side of 2008 it wont matter for me. But hawks WILL win the wooden spoon in 2008.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:07
Hahaha owned !

wow, buddylove says we are owned, we better leave Bomber's.

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 18:07
They sold their home ground and decided to shack up with Essendon and Carlton at the dome, maybe trying to get some info on how the big clubs do things properly.

Huh? Are you referring to Hawthorn being a Telstra Dome tenant when they are an MCG tenant...

At least get simple facts straight

dave_27
9 Oct 2007, 18:08
They are a minnow club.

We look down on them and it cuts them deep.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:08

Wow they are hurting, this guy has even gone to the extreme of rating Knights above Sheedy.

How amusing. :)

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:10
"The big 4" are given to then teams, that have performed consistently over 100 odd years, all you've had is a good stint in the 80's;):thumbsd::D

Mullarkey

Coach of the year anyone?

Thought Essendon were hanging out for Bomber Thompson? He didn't want to go back to Windy Hill huh?

Roddy
Wow they are hurting, this guy has even gone to the extreme of rating Knights above Sheedy.

AND I didn't see Sheedy, daylight OR a lump of coal getting voted coach of the year this year!
This individual owned himself....

Roddy
9 Oct 2007, 18:11

Thought Essendon were hanging out for Bomber Thompson? He didn't want to go back to Windy Hill huh?

Bugger, just beat me to it...

donsman4eva
9 Oct 2007, 18:12
AND I didn't see Sheedy, daylight OR a lump of coal getting voted coach of the year this year!
I didnt see Clarkson get named coach of the year numerous times over the past 27 years ;)

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:12
feel free to keep our rejects as your assistants:thumbsu:

Hilarious, Hardwick will continue to coach our forward line while Knights will continue to coach a bottom 4 side. :)

I seem to remember everyone bagging the Hawks on Alistair (i can't coach finals) Clarkson when you appointed him, so lets just wait until Knights coaches a few seasons before we judge shall we.

Clarkson came in to do a full rebuild, Knights has come in actually saying you have a good list.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:13

Clarkson got beaten by the real coach of the year in the semi's.

We were waiting to see if Bomber wanted to come back, but after the year he had who blames him for staying put.

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:13
I'd like to see the Hawks win 4 more premier ships with clarkson:rolleyes:

Go The Mores # 2
9 Oct 2007, 18:14
Well they are doing their almighty best to become part of it. They sold their home ground and decided to shack up with Essendon and Carlton at the dome, maybe trying to get some info on how the big clubs do things properly. On the financial side, they sell home games interstate, obviously hoping to corner one area of the population. This effecitvely makes it look like they have a comparable membership to the clubs in the big 4, while in actual fact, they only have about 10000 members showing up to games while the rest have to watch it on tely from interstate.

The problem with all of that is, you have to be a sucessful club to demand respect. Looks like the Dawks have a fair way to go yet.
you fkn deadsh*t. if your gonna slag off other clubs at least get these simple facts right we havent ever played regular home games at the dome. the reason for this is probably that we're not a bunch of cats and we can hack playing out in the wind and rain. poor lloydy could never leave the dome could he ??? imagine the diving that would go on if the wind blew a bit hard

PADJUAN
9 Oct 2007, 18:15
theres nothing wrong with appointing an unheralded coach, but what does it say about a club when following a more than extensive interview process with publicised criteria, a club hires an untried coach who doesnt meet any criteria a clubs board has stated? does a club like that know what direction theyre going in?

varmints
I'd like to see the Hawks win 4 more premier ships with clarkson:rolleyes:

So would i :)

FevJunior
Hilarious, Hardwick will continue to coach our forward line while Knights will continue to coach a bottom 4 side. :)

Clarkson came in to do a full rebuild, Knights has come in actually saying you have a good list.

lol, u don't even know you're teams coaches :p, Hardwick specialises in backman ;):thumbsd:, ur really desperate for a comeback and you provide false facts:rolleyes:

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 18:16

Coach of the year?

This from the same organisation which gave Shane Woewoedin a brownlow - nuff said.

dave_27
Even they are aware they are not ready to take on the powerhouses of Victorian and National football in Essendon, Collingwood and carlton, so they stalk the sickly animal in the herd, Richmond.

Keyword their.

No club from Tassie can be considered seriously especially compared to big Victorian clubs.

Mullarkey
Clarkson got beaten by the real coach of the year in the semi's.

We were waiting to see if Bomber wanted to come back, but after the year he had who blames him for staying put.

Laidley was stiff not to get it, but such is life

The Knights appointment reeks of desperation if you believe the comments re the Essendon list. More to do with whta the board wanted to hear. Maybe that's why Bomber didn't waste his time

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:17

dipper, stop trying to imitate Parrot you're not smart enough.

Knights has already delisted the dead wood on our list, what more do you expect him to do?

and on Hardwick, he couldn't have wanted to get out quicker with all the (not allowed to talk because of sanctions) that goes on. Pity he didn't pass 4 clubs coaching interviews or he might have got away.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:19
Laidley was stiff not to get it, but such is life

The Knights appointment reeks of desperation if you believe the comments re the Essendon list. More to do with whta the board wanted to hear. Maybe that's why Bomber didn't waste his time

possibly, we will never know. Not sure why the Knights appointment reeks desperation, if he fails then the board are gone so wouldn't they get someone who is on the right track?

hawkstar
9 Oct 2007, 18:19
For the life of me i can't see Knights doing you guys any good.

FFS the team he was captain too wouldn't even listen too him!

We have traditional "hard nuts" in charge of our club, essendon is now run by a Marshmallow.

Essendon = bottom dwellers!

BTW we own you!

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 18:21
possibly, we will never know. Not sure why the Knights appointment reeks desperation, if he fails then the board are gone so wouldn't they get someone who is on the right track?

just prolonging the inevitable I suspect!

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:21
lol, u don't even know you're teams coaches :p, Hardwick specialises in backman ;):thumbsd:, ur really desperate for a comeback and you provide false facts:rolleyes:

Please, go back and think about what you have said. Hardwick was Hawthorn forward line coach in 2007.

You poor soul. :o

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:24

We have traditional "hard nuts" in charge of our club, essendon is now run by a Marshmallow.

BTW we own you!

why do you own us?

have a look over every game we have played each other, not "Big Footy's guide to owning" and you will see who is owned.

hard nuts know more about footy because???

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 18:25

BTW we own you!

And that is what makes Whorethorn such a small club. While the big fish like Essendon and Carlton focus on winning premierships (16:p), all the dead fish like the Dawks focus on is winning a game against their biggest rival. And so small is the club, that the biggest rival's biggest rival isn't Whorethorn. Whorethorn are probably 6th or 7th in the rivalry stakes.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:26
just prolonging the inevitable I suspect!

could be, we won't know until 2009 though will we.

will you guys dump Clarkson when he fails to coach a finals win next year? he may be good with the players but mate, you know as well as i do the man can't coach a piece of shit down the toilet.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:27
Knights has already delisted the dead wood on our list, what more do you expect him to do?

Knights has already delisted some dead wood, that leaves your list with 32 players worth of dead wood left.

and on Hardwick, he couldn't have wanted to get out quicker with all the (not allowed to talk because of sanctions) that goes on. Pity he didn't pass 4 clubs coaching interviews or he might have got away.

And yet he came straight back, go figure.
Poor Essendon, Hardwick said you have a dud list, you didn't listen and now you're stuck with choc nose Knights ;)

How amusing :D

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:27

BTW we own you!

last time i checked, 16 premierships is bigger than 9

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 18:30
And that is what makes Whorethorn such a small club. While the big fish like Essendon and Carlton focus on winning premierships (16:p), all the dead fish like the Dawks focus on is winning a game against their biggest rival. And so small is the club, that the biggest rival's biggest rival isn't Whorethorn. Whorethorn are probably 6th or 7th in the rivalry stakes.

Honestly, I have never seen a more pathetic post, ever.

Why are you wasting precious oxygen on our planet?

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 18:33
could be, we won't know until 2009 though will we.

will you guys dump Clarkson when he fails to coach a finals win next year? he may be good with the players but mate, you know as well as i do the man can't coach a piece of shit down the toilet.

Actually I disagree. Terrific coach, still learning just like our players.

Knights may be a great coach, who knows? But at the moment he is just name with no runs on the board. I honestly can't see Essendon performing much better just because of Knights. Seems like he won't make the hard decisions so will languish as a mid table team.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:34
Knights has already delisted some dead wood, that leaves your list with 32 players worth of dead wood still left.

And yet he came straight back, go figure.
Poor Essendon, Hardwick said you have a dud list, you didn't listen and now you're stuck with choc nose Knights ;)

How amusing :D

most likely as he was in contract, but don't let that blind you.

Knights said we have a dud list, is doing what Hardwick was going to do so not sure why you feel he's worse than Hardwick.

then again, i am in bay13 so perhaps i should just finish up with

DaWkz R Homoz, & Ur a Poofta!!!!

enjoy the new Government rules when they come in, hope Box Hill are topped up with talent.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:36

Knights may be a great coach, who knows? But at the moment he is just name with no runs on the board

exactly, which is why i'm bemused to everyone saying he's a dud.

sure if we win 5-10 games in the next 2 years then rip his head off, until then lets just wait and see what he's made of.

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 18:37
Honestly, I have never seen a more pathetic post, ever.

Why are you wasting precious oxygen on our planet?

And that is what makes Hawthorn such a small club. While the big fish like Essendon and Carlton focus on winning premierships (16:p), all the dead fish like the Hawks focus on is winning a game against their biggest rival. And so small is the club, that the biggest rival's biggest rival isn't Hawthorn. Hawthorn are probably 6th or 7th in the rivalry stakes.

Happy?

Now stop dodging the issue.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:37
, you know as well as i do the man can't coach a piece of shit down the toilet.

Well he did out coach Essendon a couple of times this year, so infact he did out coach a piece of sh*t down the toilet. ;)

Not to mention he was voted the best coach by the AFL players for 2007 :thumbsu:

hawkette
9 Oct 2007, 18:40
I didnt see Clarkson get named coach of the year numerous times over the past 27 years ;)

If Clarkson had been named coach of the year when he was 12 years old well then we all would be impressed!!!

Clarko has years of coaching in front of him and there is no point comparing them at this stage. In the distant future, when Clarkson retires then the arguments can begin.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 18:44
most likely as he was in contract, but don't let that blind you.

If he really didn't wan't to coach at Hawthorn, he would have asked for a release from his contract.

Knights said we have a dud list, is doing what Hardwick was going to do so not sure why you feel he's worse than Hardwick.

Knights choc nosed the board, Essendon fell for it, and now you're stuck with an inferior coach.

Enjoy the ride :o

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:46
If Clarkson had been named coach of the year when he was 12 years old well then we all would be impressed!!!

Clarko has years of coaching in front of him and there is no point comparing them at this stage. In the distant future, when Clarkson retires then the arguments can begin.

so sacking is also referred to as "retiring" these days :rolleyes:

bruce29
9 Oct 2007, 18:46
If he really didn't wan't to coach at Hawthorn, he would have asked for a release from his contract.

Knights choc nosed the board, Essendon fell for it, and now you're stuck with a dud.

Enjoy the ride :o
when we're on the GF podium...i will remember u mate

Hawkk
9 Oct 2007, 18:47
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

Essendon is NOT a ‘Big 4’ club.

1987 was 20 years ago.

retroparty
9 Oct 2007, 18:49
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

1987 was 20 years ago.

Wrong! Essendonfc says we got over 36k.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:50
Well he did out coach Essendon a couple of times this year, so infact he did out coach a piece of sh*t down the toilet. ;)

Not to mention he was voted the best coach by the AFL players for 2007 :thumbsu:

the man is a great players coach, but when it comes to the crunch (ala finals) he shows his true colours.

Clarkson is the new Grant Thomas, he has a super list but not quite sure how to use it.

hawkstar
9 Oct 2007, 18:51

Does that include Gold Fish as well?

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:51
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

1987 was 20 years ago.

i was just flicking through my 2007 Grand Final Footy Record, and i noticed a page selling football cards, hawthorn/bulldogs/kangaroos team cards = $20.00 Essendon/Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond Team Cards = $30, i rest my case ;)

tommyk72
9 Oct 2007, 18:52
Hi all,

Just wanting to check - of the Bombers fans out there supporting Knights, which of you wanted to get rid of Sheedy, and which of you wanted to keep him?

Feel free to discuss amongst yourselves and spend another $50k deciding if you want.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:52
1987 was 20 years ago.

this coming from a Hawks fan is just too funny to let go:D:D

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:53
Hi all,

Just wanting to check - of the Bombers fans out there supporting Knights, which of you wanted to get rid of Sheedy, and which of you wanted to keep him?

Feel free to discuss amongst yourselves and spend another $50k deciding if you want.

it's all good, a wasted 50k wont send us running to Tasmania for financial support:o

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 18:54
Does that include Gold Fish as well?

we could just sign our dogs, ala Hawthorn:thumbsu:

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 18:57
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

1987 was 20 years ago.

the 80's were when u were winning many premierships, we still had the largest supporter base in the afl, or then the vfl

rangermcdee
9 Oct 2007, 18:58

Knights may be a great coach, who knows? But at the moment he is just name with no runs on the board. I honestly can't see Essendon performing much better just because of Knights. Seems like he won't make the hard decisions so will languish as a mid table team.

The Port Adelaide Magpies know...... what was that record in one season, 7 wins and 20 losses in 2004. Such a memorable year for such a proud club. After hat he then went on to join the Essendon Football club as an assistant and head coach of the Bendigo Bombers for three years (2007 8w 10l, 2006 4w 14l. They did make the finals in 2005 in his first season... credit where credit is due). Matthew Knights honestly beleives the Essendon FC list is ok, despite many fans and "experts" in the media constantly implying that they are too slow in the midfield and are way too reliant on a handful of top level players (Lloyd, Fletcher and Lucas to name three).

Alistair Clarkson at his time at Central District FC (Same league so it is comparable) 1 premiership and losing GF. Oddly enough AC coached a finals at that time and won them too. Then he joined Port Adelaide Power as an assistant coach in 2003 and assisted in Ports premiership year. He was then selected "from no where" to be the hea coach of a rabble of a club in Hawthorn, and has steadilly improved and this year returned Hawthorn to the finals, winning one. This hapened after a realistic list appraisal, subsequent clean out which forced a bottoming out to get early dibs on talented kids in 2004 and 2005.

Not that these stats will mean anything to the readers on Bay 13, but thought I would share just in case. ets see where the respective teams are at the end of, lets say 2010 when Essendon should of recovered from this blip of form. Realistically, thats enough time for them to be back playing finals and be competetive with a team that is promising to be regular finals competitors in Hawthorn. (note I am of the opinion that Essendon can turn it around in two years... assuming they are managed right..... and who is one of the main managers at a footy club.... oh dear the Coach.... now my stats may mean something)

Bifrost
9 Oct 2007, 18:58
What the hell is it with this "BIG 4" shit?

Why do people continue to believe that there is some sort of "Big 4 Gang"?

Essendon is a rich club - one of the richest. Collingwood is a rich club - possibly THE richest. Both have been quite successful in terms of wins for the last decade.

Carlton has about 5 red cents to scrape together and so does Richmond. Both have been shithouse for the best part of 10 years and haven't won a Premiership in 15 (in Richmond's case 27). Both clubs are recovering from MASSIVE debt problems which have hit the clubs hard and been what I consider to be the single largest reason behind both clubs' lack of recent success (note that Carlton's debt problems are far more recent than Richmond's).

Hawthorn is not a rich club, but it is a successful one over the last probably 20 years. It has a very, VERY large bandwagon which is just gone from completely empty to three-quarters full in the space of the 2007 season.

North Melbourne is the poorest club in the AFL. It doesn't even have a bandwagon, but it has been reasonably successful from the 90s onward and for somehow it manages to maintain an air of rough determination in the face of no money and next-to-no support.

St Kilda has probably its highest membership in 50 years and while not the poorest of clubs, despite its decade of winning on the field, is not the richest of clubs either. But it's premiership window is, as far as I'm concerned, shut. It's time for them to rebuild. Like Port Adelaide, I reckon they could probably do it quickly because they have mid-age personnel who are bloody good. But getting the right kids in is going to be a difficult task. What this'll do to their financial position and membership is anyone's guess. I reckon Saints fans are a loyal lot - they'd want to be.

The Western Bulldogs are an enigma. They're a relatively poor club with some of the most passionate supporters around. They also have one of the best on-paper lists around. They just can't buy a final. I have no idea what's going on there, but I like the dogs. Go dogs.

Geelong are about to boom membership-wise. It's a pity their stadium can't hold half of their membership base, let alone the opposition's. These guys are going to be on the very rich list in the next couple of seasons.

Now...Exactly what makes a club a member of the "Big 4"? Is it a secret handshake? Because if it's anything other than that, then there's no ****ing way Essendon, Collingwood, Richomnd and Carlton are in the same gang. No set of criteria fits all four and certainly no set of criteria fits just those four and excludes other Victorian clubs.

GET OVER THE BIG 4 - IT'S AS DEAD AS ELVIS.

hawkette
9 Oct 2007, 19:00
so sacking is also referred to as "retiring" these days :rolleyes:

who said anything about sacking clarko??? why on earth would they do that.......?

dave_27
9 Oct 2007, 19:01
2007 HOME Attendances (credit hawkk)

1. Collingwood 54,754
2. Essendon 49,484
3. Richmond 40,327
4. Carlton 39,306
5. St Kilda 39,220
6. West Coast 37,950
7. Hawthorn 35,983
8. Adelaide 35,863
9. Sydney 35,124
10. Geelong 34,638
11. Fremantle 33,526
12. W Bulldogs 32,804
13. Melbourne 32,155
14. Brisbane 30,242
15. Kangaroos 29,040
16. Port Adelaide 27,760

Hugshawks
9 Oct 2007, 19:02
i was just flicking through my 2007 Grand Final Footy Record, and i noticed a page selling football cards, hawthorn/bulldogs/kangaroos team cards = $20.00 Essendon/Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond Team Cards = $30, i rest my case ;)

I suggest you go back to collecting cards, and skip on posting stupid comments in the future.

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 19:03
What the hell is it with this "BIG 4" shit?

and other stuff

Nice post! :thumbsu:

donsman4eva
9 Oct 2007, 19:03
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

1987 was 20 years ago.
Like I said earlier, you might have similar membership numbers, but seeing as though half of that number is situated in Tasmania, it has no relevance. It members that actually go to matches that matter. While you guys continue to piss your money away going down to Tassie to try and scrounge some supporters, our club remains in Melbourne, making money and gaining support of people who actually give a shit about footy. Going down to Tassie is just a token gesture to try and get some uncommited fans on the bandwagon. That isnt worth the toilet paper which I wipe my shit on.

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 19:05
Membership (2007)
1. Adelaide 50,976
2. West Coast 45,979
3. Fremantle 43,343
4. Collingwood 38,587
5. Carlton 35,431
6. Port Ad 33,938
7. Essendon 32,796
8. Hawthorn 31,064
9. St Kilda 30,394
10. Geelong 30,169
11. Richmond 30,044
12. Sydney 28,794
13. W Bulldogs 28,725
14. Melbourne 28,099
15. Kangaroos 22,196
16. Brisbane 21,976

1987 was 20 years ago.

Premierships (2007)
1. Essendon 16
1. Carlton 16
3. Collingwood 14
4. Melbourne 12
5. Fitzroy/Brisbane 11
6. Richmond 10
7. Hawthorn 9
8. Geelong 7
9. SM/Sydney 4
10. Kangaroos 4
11. West Coast 3
12. Adelaide 2
13. St Kilda 1
13. Bulldogs 1
13. Port 1
16. Fremantle 0

I beg to differ

Go The Mores # 2

1. Collingwood 54,754
2. Essendon 49,484
3. Richmond 40,327
4. Carlton 39,306
5. St Kilda 39,220
6. West Coast 37,950
7. Hawthorn 35,983
8. Adelaide 35,863
9. Sydney 35,124
10. Geelong 34,638
11. Fremantle 33,526
12. W Bulldogs 32,804
13. Melbourne 32,155
14. Brisbane 30,242
15. Kangaroos 29,040
16. Port Adelaide 27,760
Mate they are pretty damning figures but just remember that we did play our 4 games in Tassie which I know is our choice but the max attendance there is not even 20,000 so that impacts. And we got screwed over by the dogs at the AFL twice when we had to play Carlton and Collingwood at the Dome instead of the G. Easy 20,000 extra in each of those two games alone. Dont read too much into these figures

Hugshawks

1. Collingwood 54,754
2. Essendon 49,484
3. Richmond 40,327
4. Carlton 39,306
5. St Kilda 39,220
6. West Coast 37,950
7. Hawthorn 35,983
8. Adelaide 35,863
9. Sydney 35,124
10. Geelong 34,638
11. Fremantle 33,526
12. W Bulldogs 32,804
13. Melbourne 32,155
14. Brisbane 30,242
15. Kangaroos 29,040
16. Port Adelaide 27,760

Round 22 Home and Away Season 2007

Hawthorn Hawks: 5th, back in Finals footy

Essendon: 12th, no coach, crashing and burning

Collins-Langford-Ayres
9 Oct 2007, 19:06
This is a question i'm sure you have all asked yourselves at one time or another.

They are almost rabid with anticipation of the day when they may FINALLY be accepted as part of the BIG 4.

Of course this is the basis of their relentless bagging of the Richmond FC

They see them as the easiest way into the BIG 4

Now most would think they would be content to dominate their overseas games and make up the numbers but it seems they are not content with that and crave to be accepted as being a part of the BIG 4

Is this another 'I can't stand the line in the sand stuff and the fact we're their bitches now' post?

Who cares about Big 4? I had a great year watching the footy this year... did you?

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 19:07
I suggest you go back to collecting cards, and skip on posting stupid comments in the future.

the comments show that the big 4 are respected and are valued higher than a shit coloured team

Bazzar
9 Oct 2007, 19:07
wow, buddylove says we are owned, we better leave Bomber's.
But how can you take any poster serious when he shows the world his sexual lusting of his favourite player in his nic.

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:12

Essendon: 10 wins coming from 3, pick 6, new coach, new beginning :)

Hawthorn: First finals appearance since 2001, 3 or so players get suspended in the process for being dirty thugs, shittest logo in the AFL, sign up pet dogs to boost membership numbers.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 19:16
the man is a great players coach, but when it comes to the crunch (ala finals) he shows his true colours. .

1 win 1 loss in his first finals appearance with a very young list, not to mention he has had success coaching Central District to its first flag in 20 years. On the otherhand you have Knights, who destroyed a highly successful club in Port Adelaide, was actully chased out of the club and then earn't the senior job at Essendon by choc nosing the board.

How embarrassing ;)

SM10
9 Oct 2007, 19:17
Essendon: 10 wins coming from 3, pick 6, new coach, new beginning :)

Hawthorn: First finals appearance since 2001, 3 or so players get suspended in the process for being dirty thugs, shittest logo in the AFL, sign up pet dogs to boost membership numbers.

Don't make me do it..

Hawthorn: 9 VFL/AFL Flags

Essendon:

FevJunior
9 Oct 2007, 19:18

Hawthorn Dawks: 9 premierships, 11 wooden spoons

Essendon Bombers: 16 Premierships, 4 Spoons

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:19

BTW we own you!
He already has.

He's made it clear his aim is to get the most out of this year's draft. Which means no trading draft picks unless it's to improve our draft position.

He's announced he'll be playing some kids right from the start of the season, all players no matter how old, will have to EARN their spot.

He's giving us a fresh start and a proper path to rebuilding. :thumbsu:

Keep your "hard nuts" and keep getting players suspended.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 19:27
Hawthorn Dawks: 9 premierships, 11 wooden spoons

Essendon Bombers: 16 Premierships, 4 Spoons

6 premierships, before we entered the competion, when the game was just a recreational sport for cricketers to keep fit in the off season.

Take away 2 premierships in the 90's for blatant salary cheating

Hawthorn 9 > Essendon 8. :) :thumbsu:

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:30
6 premierships, before we entered the competion, when the game was just a recreational sport for cricketers to keep fit in the off season.

Take away 2 premierships in the 90's for blatant for Salary cheating

Say what you like mate, at the end of the day...

EFC = 16 premierships (thanks for 84 and 85)
HFC = 9 premierships

Ben the Gooner
9 Oct 2007, 19:31

OK if we can selectively edit the data.

Since 1992,

Essendon 2 > Hawthorn 0 :) :thumbsu:

keefriffhard
9 Oct 2007, 19:32

Because the board is looking to paper over the cracks so they don't get turfes out on their arse for letting the club go down the road it has. Knights may well be better than Sheedy. Sheedy has to shoulder a massive amount of blame for the quagmire your club is sliding into. Your list is age heavy and shows signs of a genuine lack of talent by your recruiting staff. Personally I love Sheeds for the way he has bent you all over the table for the rest of the AFL to roger. :thumbsu:

But I digress. The board wouldn't listen to a total rebuild scenario that most of the candidates put forward and chose instead to appoint Knights who blew smoke up the butts about how good the players he has been looking after are. So he looks good and the board doesn't have to go through the pain of rebuilding with the abuse they would have copped from the feral supporters during it. Works for both of them.

Knights better enjoy the time he's in charge because sure as you like he will be shafted by your spineless board long before they take responsibilty for their mistakes.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:33

lets take away premierships won without buying players

Essendon 2
Hawthorn 0

:):thumbsu:

keefriffhard
9 Oct 2007, 19:33

The AFL mean signed up members mate. Not kelpies. ;)

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:35
Because the board is looking to paper over the cracks so they don't get turfes out on their arse for letting the club go down the road it has. Knights may well be better than Sheedy. Sheedy has to shoulder a massive amount of blame for the quagmire your club is sliding into. Your list is age heavy and shows signs of a genuine lack of talent by your recruiting staff. Personally I love Sheeds for the way he has bent you all over the table for the rest of the AFL to roger. :thumbsu:

But I digress. The board wouldn't listen to a total rebuild scenario that most of the candidates put forward and chose instead to appoint Knights who blew smoke up the butts about how good the players he has been looking after are. So he looks good and the board doesn't have to go through the pain of rebuilding with the abuse they would have copped from the feral supporters during it. Works for both of them.

Knights better enjoy the time he's in charge because sure as you like he will be shafted by your spineless board long before they take responsibilty for their mistakes.

were you in on the meetings?

you sure seem to know quite a bit of what went on in all interviews, you wouldn't be getting your information off Big Footy would you.

oh dear, you are.......how embarrassing:o

Hawk0373
9 Oct 2007, 19:36
Quite amusing reading these insecure bummer fans trying to rattle the Hawks cage - thought you lot were mainly realists and avoided the slanging matches, my how a few years in the trough makes one bitter.
Time to face some home truths however, we own you now and you all know it, you also know there's going to be many years of mediocrity to add to the 3 already achieved.
I'll take top 4 over big 4 any day - but keep clinging to the irrelevant if that helps you get through this period of crud, a period that is yet to fully bottom out.

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:36
The AFL mean signed up members mate. Not kelpies. ;)

I love how Hawthorn keep trying to put this on other clubs:D

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:39
Quite amusing reading these insecure bummer fans trying to rattle the Hawks cage - thought you lot were mainly realists and avoided the slanging matches, my how a few years in the trough makes one bitter.
Time to face some home truths however, we own you now and you all know it, you also know there's going to be many years of mediocrity to add to the 3 already achieved.
I'll take top 4 over big 4 any day - but keep clinging to the irrelevant if that helps you get through this period of crud, a period that is yet to fully bottom out.

as soon as you win a flag without having to buy 90% of the players feel free to bag Essendon supporters, until you are our bitches

2 Grand Finals
1 Grand Final

we only count the ones that matter

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:39
Daniher, Gumbleton, Jetta, Hislop, Davey, Houli, Reimers, Ryder, Dempsey, Neagle, Hocking, Lonergan, Monfries, Slattery, Nash, Stanton, Winderlich, Laycock, Watson, Lovett, Lovett-Murray... plenty of young talent there and more to come in November.

Next year we'll have one of the youngest lists in the AFL.

The board wouldn't listen to a total rebuild scenario because we don't need one. Our list needs a lot of work but doesn't need a total rebuild. You don't give away your champions no matter how old they are.

dipper86
9 Oct 2007, 19:41
lets take away premierships won without buying players

Essendon 2
Hawthorn 0

:):thumbsu:

Actually its still

Essendon 8
Hawthorn 9

:) :thumbsu:

Go The Mores # 2
9 Oct 2007, 19:43
Poor old Essendon. After years of dominating in a competition the strength of the local netball comp ( pre 1925 ) they now cannot hack hearing about the rabble that their club has become. You only have to drive past Windy Hill atm, looking in great shape with holes in the walls everywhere- in stark contrast with the state of the art facilities at Waverly. Their coach got belted by one of the smallest men ever to play the game so it looks as if they about to embark on yet another period of softness, which will follow the years of unwillingness to put their heads over the ball since Hawthorn tore them a new one in THAT fight.

Mullarkey
9 Oct 2007, 19:44
as soon as you win a flag without having to buy 90% of the players feel free to bag Essendon supporters, until you are our bitches

Not sure what this means? EFC don't pay their players?

Mal Michael went to the club for free?

Maybe you should look into paying players, you know, an incentive to win! :thumbsu:

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 19:46
Sorry i'm late, i hope i haven't missed all the skum bitch slapping.
I'm still laughing at the desperation of essendon supporters already clinging to the past because their future looks the bleakest in the compitition.
You've got nothing left! The idols you worshiped so fiercely have left the sinking ship and now all you have to look forward to is a long future of woodern spoons and the joy of being the bunt of everyone's jokes for generations to come.
'Watch the bombers crash down, down!'

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:47
Actually its still

Essendon 8
Hawthorn 9

:) :thumbsu:

nah, i'm counting the times we beat each other in the big ones

you know, the only reason we follow the game(it's been a while i know but c'mon you know what i'm talking about.....)

that's right, i'm talking about Premierships.

Essendon 2 over Hawks
Hawks 1 over Essendon

you are forever our bitches.

hurts doesn't it.:o

DapperDon
9 Oct 2007, 19:49
Not sure what this means? EFC don't pay their players?

Mal Michael went to the club for free?

Maybe you should look into paying players, you know, an incentive to win! :thumbsu:

i'm talking about drafting players, not poaching them like teams did prior to 1987.

and people told me Hawthorn supporters had an education.

hawkstar
9 Oct 2007, 19:50
The Essendon posters are starting to reek of desperation, hence all the anti Hawk threads they have posted today.

Seems to me like they are starting to shit themselves, knowing their future isn't a very bright One.

But the worst thing for them is that it's the Mighty Hawks who are giving them a football lesson.

Bottom Dwellers = Bottom Feeders.

NGHAWK
9 Oct 2007, 19:53

you know, the only reason we follow the game(it's been a while i know but c'mon you know what i'm talking about.....)

Essendon 2 over Hawks
Hawks 1 over Essendon

I can barely remember the last time Hawthorn were beaten by essendon??
I can how ever remember the last few schilackings we've inflicted upon you.
Get used to it fellas, coz it's the future you face.

Go The Mores # 2
9 Oct 2007, 19:53
Daniher, Gumbleton, Jetta, Hislop, Davey, Houli, Reimers, Ryder, Dempsey, Neagle, Hocking, Lonergan, Monfries, Slattery, Nash, Stanton, Winderlich, Laycock, Watson, Lovett, Lovett-Murray... plenty of young talent there and more to come in November.
Mate you are definitely clutching at straws there.
Daniher: Was drafted yesterday how the hell can you say hes the cream of your young guns
Hislop, Reimers, Dempsey, Neagle, Hocking, Lonergan, Laycock, Gumbleton,Jetta: If these blokes cannot crack a game regularly while you have been bottom 4 or 5 regularly what hope do they have ???
The rest: Apart from Lovett they go alright cant knock em

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:54
Poor old Essendon. After years of dominating in a competition the strength of the local netball comp ( pre 1925 ) they now cannot hack hearing about the rabble that their club has become.

We're still one of the richest clubs though, you guys just keep playing games in tassie in search for more money... :)

You only have to drive past Windy Hill atm, looking in great shape with holes in the walls everywhere- in stark contrast with the state of the art facilities at Waverly.

What are you doing driving through Essendon and passing by Windy Hill? The obsession must run real deep ey? BTW we're doing upgrades.

Their coach got belted by one of the smallest men ever to play the game so it looks as if they about to embark on yet another period of softness

Yeah because you're ability to coach well all depends how well you fight...

which will follow the years of unwillingness to put their heads over the ball since Hawthorn tore them a new one in THAT fight.

Ess 24.10.154 def Haw 12.8.80 - you mean THAT fight?

Go The Mores # 2
9 Oct 2007, 19:56

Essendon 2 over Hawks
Hawks 1 over Essendon

Now come on mate that is very very unfair. Our golden run of 10 years at least is abotu to start and you hacks will be bottom 4 for that period at least so how are we meant to beat you in Grand Finals ???? I spose now that Knights has left Bendigo they might go alright and if Box Hill can get it together we could play each other in a VFL grand final but as for AFL you are no chance

Tambu
9 Oct 2007, 19:57
Mate you are definitely clutching at straws there.
Daniher: Was drafted yesterday how the hell can you say hes the cream of your young guns
Most of them are in order of being drafted...

Hislop, Reimers, Dempsey, Neagle, Hocking, Lonergan, Laycock, Gumbleton,Jetta: If these blokes cannot crack a game regularly while you have been bottom 4 or 5 regularly what hope do they have ???
They've been injured. I think you'll be surprised how many of them crack our 22 next year.

Hawk0373
9 Oct 2007, 19:58

2 Grand Finals
1 Grand Final

we only count the ones that matter

you weren't good enough to make '86 or '89 - they also counted.

ownage relates to current day streaks, it'll be that feeling you'll have in your stomach as you go to the next Hawks v Bombers clash - ie fear.

Go The Mores # 2
9 Oct 2007, 19:59
Yeah because you're ability to coach well all depends how well you fight...

Ess 24.10.154 def Haw 12.8.80 - you mean THAT fight?
Mate i didnt say how well you fight determines how well you coach its the attitude that the coach brings. Clarkson was a dog of a player tough as nails and look at the steel he has installed into us. Sheeds was the same for a while but now Knights. Jesus u blokes are in trouble. And thats exactly the fight i mean the one that has made you forever sh*t yourselves and seen you unable to beat us without the help of goal umpires