View Full Version : Danny Meyer?

Pages : [1] 2

philhawk
9 Oct 2007, 19:43
Supposedly 3AW reported that Meyer was talking to Hawthorn.

Would we look at him?

Based on what i've seen of him, he seems a talented enough player (who dominates at VFL level), who hasn't been able to convert that at the top flight.

Pretty good skills as well? Would we look at him?

sammy555
9 Oct 2007, 19:56
I think he'd be alright

Roughie
9 Oct 2007, 20:09
I would consider him for Little or a low pick

noosa hawk mad
9 Oct 2007, 20:49
Pick 12 2004 draft worth a look

TylerDurden
9 Oct 2007, 20:52
Supposedly very soft. I wouldn't be giving up too much. And if he was any good, the Tiges wouldn't wanting to be dishing him off at such a young age...

GALON
9 Oct 2007, 20:55
Why oh why?
What is it about 2007. First we dodge Shannon Watt and now Meyer.

Please, if we are going to trade for somene can they at least be getting a game at AFL level at their original club.

B-HAWK 26
9 Oct 2007, 20:57
Why oh why?
What is it about 2007. First we dodge Shannon Watt and now Meyer.

Please, if we are going to trade for somene can they at least be getting a game at AFL level at their original club.never use meyer in the same sentence as SHANNON WATT... watt is a bloody hack..
MEyer at least has ability... i would consider meyer

serpico66
9 Oct 2007, 20:59

Would we look at him?

Based on what i've seen of him, he seems a talented enough player (who dominates at VFL level), who hasn't been able to convert that at the top flight.

That is a massive over statement.

thefinalstraw
9 Oct 2007, 21:01
i don't want to let him go...i just keep thinking if he goes he will turn out to be another fiora..switch clubs then start playing decent footy...awesome skills and hes always a name i hope to see on the team list on a thursday arvo..hopefully a big 08 in yellow and black for danny

Hawk0373
9 Oct 2007, 21:12
If Richmond don't want him, neither do we.

mulhollanddrive
9 Oct 2007, 21:17
I hope not.

Splodge15
9 Oct 2007, 21:23
I really hope not. He's soft, mentally and physically and he has not come close to any expectations. Good skils, but he doesn't impose himself on the game at all. We have blokes like Young ahead of him in this regard.

I'd only ever look at him in the PSD pick.

Blasé
9 Oct 2007, 22:08
This subject raises an interesting theory I have on trading.

A lot of people say that if he can't get a game for Richmond then he must stink.

A lot of people say, someone like Prismall would be a great acquisition, because Geelong have such a strong team, then he is good but just not good enough to get into a very good team.

I agree on this, but I also disagree that Meyer is crap because Richmond are crap.

'Beneath the rubble a star can be found!'

Dunno if I'm quoting someone, cos I seem to recall something like that, but my point is, in a disastrous year some kids get a bit lost because they don't get the support on the snr blokes. In other words, the snr blokes don't carry the load so that the kids can find their feet. Richmond definitely lack the reliable snr players we have, and was the reason behind their crash.

You want another example: Fremantle. They have been a club that have their team raided by opposition clubs.
A couple of names: Bell and Clement.

Bell could barely get a game, went to a strong stable club like North for barely nothin, became a quality midfielder, then Freo wanted him back for a much bigger asking price.

Clement always showed he could kick the ball, pies grab him for barely nothing turn him into a premium defender.

So, I reckon Meyer maybe worth a look for a 2nd rounder. It would seem he'd be an outside midfielder from what I've heard, and what little I've seen. Anyone got an idea what sort of player he may become? It may very well be, that we interviewed the kid in the original draft, and he made a good impression on Pelchen & co.

PS: Fremantle have a talented list still, have underachieved and are ready to be raided. David Mundy, a kp defender is one that I'd be throwing a bit at.

One-eyed Tiger
9 Oct 2007, 22:08
That is a massive over statement.

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.........................

One-eyed Tiger
9 Oct 2007, 22:17
This subject raises an interesting theory I have on trading.

A lot of people say that if he can't get a game for Richmond then he must stink.

A lot of people say, someone like Prismall would be a great acquisition, because Geelong have such a strong team, then he is good but just not good enough to get into a very good team.

I agree on this, but I also disagree that Meyer is crap because Richmond are crap.

Dunno if I'm quoting someone, cos I seem to recall something like that, but my point is, in a disastrous year some kids get a bit lost because they don't get the support on the snr blokes. In other words, the snr blokes don't carry the load so that the kids can find their feet. Richmond definitely lack the reliable snr players we have, and was the reason behind their crash.

You want another example: Fremantle. They have been a club that have their team raided by opposition clubs.
A couple of names: Bell and Clement.

Bell could barely get a game, went to a strong stable club like North for barely nothin, became a quality midfielder, then Freo wanted him back for a much bigger asking price.

Clement always showed he could kick the ball, pies grab him for barely nothing turn him into a premium defender.

So, I reckon Meyer maybe worth a look for a 2nd rounder. It would seem he'd be an outside midfielder from what I've heard, and what little I've seen. Anyone got an idea what sort of player he may become? It may very well be, that we interviewed the kid in the original draft, and he made a good impression on Pelchen & co.

PS: Fremantle have a talented list still, have underachieved and are ready to be raided. David Mundy, a kp defender is one that I'd be throwing a bit at.

Actually agree with your theory. Rodan might even be proof although his knee injury was also a factor. We picked up Brisbane players in the past who weren't quite good enuf (Morrison & Weller) and none of them made it. Worries me that we are reportedly sniffing around Geelong for Blake or Playfair.

Teams that finish towards the bottom are also under greater pressure to improve which can make them more desperate/impatient at trade time.

FWIW Danny Meyer looks to have all the tools but just doesn't seem to work hard enough. A change of club may do that but I wouldn't be overly confident.

Blasé
9 Oct 2007, 22:53
so what would your asking price be, keeping it realistic?

i said 2nd rounder, based on him coming from pick 12. i may be overestimating it though given the lack of interest. perhaps a swap of picks; our 2nd rounder for your 3rd rounder.

flukeyluke
9 Oct 2007, 22:57
Dont know much about him. What possie does he play?

Splodge15
9 Oct 2007, 23:01
Dont know much about him. What possie does he play?
HFF.

PHX
9 Oct 2007, 23:04
I really hope not. He's soft, mentally and physically and he has not come close to any expectations. Good skils, but he doesn't impose himself on the game at all. We have blokes like Young ahead of him in this regard.

I'd only ever look at him in the PSD pick.

That's the most accurate description you could get about him.:thumbsu:

You're right on the money.

Lidge
9 Oct 2007, 23:10
never use meyer in the same sentence as SHANNON WATT... watt is a bloody hack..
MEyer at least has ability... i would consider meyer

Watt has his flaws but is a reliable 3rd tall defender. Only ordinary when forced to play at fullback.

Meyer is rubbish. Crap even at VFL level.

Pansted everytime I saw him in the VFL this year by 18 yr old kids who'd be ranked in the bottom half dozen on our list.

SA HAWK
9 Oct 2007, 23:25
No. Couldn't even get a game for the bottom side this year.

Bojangles17
10 Oct 2007, 00:32

Would we look at him?

he hasnt dominated at VFL thats been a real problem we drop him down there and he struggles to find the pill...has great skill and good mark just cant seem to find a gear...Needs a new home to try and get best out of himself..a 4R pick I would think as a speculative investment

Bojangles17
10 Oct 2007, 00:37
[QUOTE=Blasé;9118077]This subject raises an interesting theory I have on trading.

QUOTE]

congrats , thats about as much sense as Ive read on BF for some time:thumbsu:...In reality there are prob more recycled players that make it from poorly performing clubs than those fringe players from leading clubs...Ive seen it often with rejects from WC and the Lions fizzling out after failing to fire a shot. Meyer is still speculative I wonder whther he has the desire to be an elite footballer...you wouldnt give us a 2 r ...3R at best i would think possibly 4 rounder

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 00:41
congrats , thats about as much sense as Ive read on BF for some time:thumbsu:...In reality there are prob more recycled players that make it from poorly performing clubs than those fringe players from leading clubs...Ive seen it often with rejects from WC and the Lions fizzling out after failing to fire a shot. Meyer is still speculative I wonder whther he has the desire to be an elite footballer...you wouldnt give us a 2 r ...3R at best i would think possibly 4 rounder

How do you personally rate Meyer? Do you think he has potential? And would you be keen to keep him at Richmond?

KingRich
10 Oct 2007, 00:46
I cant see the point in trading for a player that will more than likely be delisted. We dont really really want or need him so lets see if we can get him for free in either of the 2 drafts.

Same situation with Tim Callan and the dogs. He would have surely been delisted so why trade for him??

Wally Matera
10 Oct 2007, 03:17

Credibility = ZERO! Show's you how little you know - he hasnt even dominated a training drill this year! ::rolleyes:

Honestly, l dont want to lose Meyer, think of it as my little pet project player. However, the kid has big issues.

- Cant get a kick in VFL
- Didnt once probably get the pill any more than 15 times once all year! (in the VFL!)
- No passion
- Doesnt try
- Homesick and has never once tried to settle in
- Good skills and has courage

When he arrived at the club, l thought he would end up being a more skillful player than Deledio and the best buy out of 5 picks in the first 20. Nothing but a huge disappointment.

In saying that, l reckon he's got something. Blind faith. :o

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 03:21
Credibility = ZERO! Show's you how little you know - he hasnt even dominated a training drill this year! ::rolleyes:

Honestly, l dont want to lose Meyer, think of it as my little pet project player. However, the kid has big issues.

- Cant get a kick in VFL
- Didnt once probably get the pill any more than 15 times once all year! (in the VFL!)
- No passion
- Doesnt try
- Homesick and has never once tried to settle in
- Good skills and has courage

When he arrived at the club, l thought he would end up being a more skillful player than Deledio and the best buy out of 5 picks in the first 20. Nothing but a huge disappointment.

In saying that, l reckon he's got something. Blind faith. :o

Personally, i'd just love to get him in the hope that he 'does a Rodan'.

Can you imagine the reaction from Richmond fans if that happens?

Mojo
10 Oct 2007, 09:13
Not interested!

Perhaps, Matt Little + fourth round.

Just on the off chance he does pull it together.

Alex_au
10 Oct 2007, 10:25
Just on SEN strong interest from hawthorn

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 10:26
SEN: They expect Meyer to come to HFC later in the week :)

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 10:31
Personally, i'd just love to get him in the hope that he 'does a Rodan'.

Can you imagine the reaction from Richmond fans if that happens?

He doesnt even have 25% of drive, passion and love for footy that Rodan does so I cant see him doing a Rodan.

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 10:32
He doesnt even have 25% of drive, passion and love for footy that Rodan does so I cant see him doing a Rodan.

You hope that is the case. It would not be nice for another fairytale to occur, as did happen with Rodan.

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 10:35
You hope that is the case. It would not be nice for another fairytale to occur, as did happen with Rodan.

Rodan had a history of being a potential gun.

Two morrish medals for example.

Playing good VFL games.

Meyer has **** all. He's lucky to get 10 possessions in VFL games.

He's shown nothing to suggest he'll do a Rodan.

You'd be better off getting Hartigan if you want a player with potential and drive to make it happen. Far more likely than Meyer if he can stop the injuries.

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 10:37
You'd be better off getting Hartigan if you want a player with potential and drive to make it happen. Far more likely than Meyer if he can stop the injuries.

Nice diversion ;)

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 10:40
Nice diversion ;)

heh.

But seriously. If you want him you can have him, I cant believe we could get a pick for him. :eek: But he'll only be a success if you make him an unaccountable back flank sweeper where the ball comes to him. His skills are sublime but he cant find the footy.

Thank me later if that's how he succeeds/ ;)

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 10:42
heh.

But seriously. If you want him you can have him, I cant believe we could get a pick for him. :eek: But he'll only be a success if you make him an unaccountable back flank sweeper where the ball comes to him. His skills are sublime but he cant find the footy.

Thank me later if that's how he succeeds/ ;)

You will get a third or fourth rounder for him. Well worth the risk considering what i have seen from him.

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 10:47
You will get a third or fourth rounder for him. Well worth the risk considering what i have seen from him.

Fourth? Nup, not in this draft, doubt we'll see any player succeed that low this year. We'd probably rather bank on his potential and keep him on the list for one more year. Im liking third though.

Christ, I just thought of the shit I'd have to put up with if he did go to Hawthorn and succeed considering my best friend and girlfriend are Hawks fans. :eek: :o

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 10:50
Fourth? Nup, not in this draft, doubt we'll see any player succeed that low this year. We'd probably rather bank on his potential and keep him on the list for one more year. Im liking third though.

Christ, I just thought of the shit I'd have to put up with if he did go to Hawthorn and succeed considering my best friend and girlfriend are Hawks fans. :eek: :o

Should be interesting to see what we part with.

Oh well, my GF is a Richmond fan and i have given her hell for years. I love all the wooden spoons ive given to her over the years :)

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 10:51
Should be interesting to see what we part with.

Oh well, my GF is a Richmond fan and i have given her hell for years. I love all the wooden spoons ive given to her over the years :)

Kinky. ;)

Hmmmf I guess we'll just have to see what transpires, should be interesting. Cheers.

TylerDurden
10 Oct 2007, 10:59
Not interested!

Perhaps, Matt Little + fourth round.

Just on the off chance he does pull it together.

Exactly, i would trade Matt Little for him, that's it...

PHX
10 Oct 2007, 11:23
Exactly, i would trade Matt Little for him, that's it...

Who? :confused:

richcogs
10 Oct 2007, 12:15
He was very highly rated in Adelaide back in 2004, has failed to deliver at the RFC, but most players have (Deledio, Tambling are just 2 of those names). The reason I mention our two top young players is because it's a great highlight of how crap our development squad is.

I spoke with a scout about a month ago and he said Richmond have turn him (Deledio) from an absolutely dominate classy midfielder; quote 'the best junior he's seen', into a ok player in a shit team.

Anyway Meyer and most of the RFC boys have alot more to give, I'm sure you guys at Hawthorn can get him going and good luck to him!

Bojangles17
10 Oct 2007, 14:40
How do you personally rate Meyer? Do you think he has potential? And would you be keen to keep him at Richmond?

I seriously question he has the desire or competitive streak to make it as a league footballer...He has shown that he has the tools...nice kick and strong hands...simply not often enough...just maybe a new environment could snap the lethargy from him and thats a big maybe...a 40 something pick would snare him or else he will be delisted, Im sure of it

FriarTuck
10 Oct 2007, 15:02
He was very highly rated in Adelaide back in 2004, has failed to deliver at the RFC, but most players have (Deledio, Tambling are just 2 of those names). The reason I mention our two top young players is because it's a great highlight of how crap our development squad is.

I hear your pain. Felt the same under Schwab. Losing hurts but seeing guys stagnate cuts to the core.

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 15:40
I seriously question he has the desire or competitive streak to make it as a league footballer...He has shown that he has the tools...nice kick and strong hands...simply not often enough...just maybe a new environment could snap the lethargy from him and thats a big maybe...a 40 something pick would snare him or else he will be delisted, Im sure of it

Oh ok, do you think any other clubs would show interest if he was delisted?

One-eyed Tiger
10 Oct 2007, 16:33
Oh ok, do you think any other clubs would show interest if he was delisted?

Both Adelaide clubs however I don't think he'll be delisted.

borgo
10 Oct 2007, 17:24
Did Clarko coach him back in SA?

May be the reason for the interest??

Nevermind - recruited from Glenelg so not likely

Splodge15
10 Oct 2007, 19:38
Rodan had a history of being a potential gun.

Two morrish medals for example.

Playing good VFL games.

Meyer has **** all. He's lucky to get 10 possessions in VFL games.

He's shown nothing to suggest he'll do a Rodan.

You drafted him at pick 12 so you must have imagined that Meyer would be a potential gun too.

spudley14
10 Oct 2007, 20:55
Danny Meyer? are you serious, he cant even get a game at Richmond so why the hell would we want him

Blasé
10 Oct 2007, 21:00
Seeing some of the Richmond's folk giving him nothing but negative reports, my interest is starting to wane.

Yeah sure 4th rounder, but for us, it's a question of whether we're prepared to give him a spot on our list. That may sound arrogant, but to be honest, we have 3 retirees and a couple of automatic delistings, giving us 5 spots. Given that we may acquire a defender, and we may promote McEtee, that would only leave us 3 spots, the bare minimum for drafting. So unless another player is delisted or traded, perhaps Boyle, then that's the only way it appears we can fit Meyer on a 40 man list. Unless of course Meyer puts himself in the draft.

I wouldn't mind rookie listing him, but given he was a first round pick, someone else would probably risk it, and besides that, we're far down in the pecking order for drafting rookies.

Matt Murder
10 Oct 2007, 21:14
Yeah nah. Who would he replace in our 22 if he can't crack Richmond's?

The Cryptkeeper
10 Oct 2007, 21:23
He's quick.

That's all though.

Waste of time trading to get this guy. He will have a year at Box Hill and then be delisted. This bloke isn't just a hack, he's a hack of the highest order. I mean hack in the very true sense of the word. He brings nothing to the table aside from the ability to run quickly....away from any sort of physical pressure.

No thanks.:thumbsd:

lickmerocks
10 Oct 2007, 21:26

Would we look at him?

Couldnt get a game or a kick in a shocking mob like Richmond.

Is built like a twig and will not be a midfielder. Maybe Half Back Flanker at best.

Move on.

xellis
10 Oct 2007, 21:35
if we can get him for a late pick why not? wont be getting much quality in this draft with a late pick anyway...

Back Pocket Rocket
10 Oct 2007, 21:44
I think he'd be ok in a good side. For a late pick I'd say why not. I hope we get him:thumbsu:

kirbatron
10 Oct 2007, 21:55
rubbish

2006 - 8 games, picked up 10 or more touches only 3 times
2007 - 3 games, 15 touches total.

he's gone backwards in a team that won the spoon and was playing kids

Back Pocket Rocket
10 Oct 2007, 21:58
2006 - 8 games, picked up 10 or more touches only 3 times
2007 - 3 games, 15 touches total.

he's gone backwards in a team that won the spoon

I think that would change having Mitch, Lewis, Sewell and Hodgey feeding him! Remember he is playing for Richmond where if you want a kick you have to get it yourself. I know he's not an in und under hard nut but he's quick and got great skills so why not take a punt:thumbsu:

kirbatron
10 Oct 2007, 22:06
Mitch, Lewis, Sewell and Hodgey feeding him!:thumbsu:

donuts? :thumbsu:

whack him in the gym for 18 mths then unleash fury!

brown_2000au
10 Oct 2007, 22:25
Would Meyer for Morton be possible? Maybe we want all 3:eek:

PAOKTSIS
10 Oct 2007, 22:30
If we give up next to nothing for him (by that I mean our 3rd round pick and fringe player), I'll definitely take the deal! Lets not forget that he was highly rated as a youngster and went pick.12 in a very solid draft...

Its true that a club can determine the progress of a kids development, and unfortunately for Richmond fans, their youth development program simply isnt working! The more I consider this trade, the more im hoping it goes through...if all goes well and he develops within our environment, he can be a very handy small forward/midfielder.

hawks_legends
10 Oct 2007, 22:36
I just dont want to trade anyone....

westhawk
10 Oct 2007, 23:28
If Richmond don't want him, neither do we.

They didnt want Rodan either and he has been great for Port.

PHX
11 Oct 2007, 01:00
Couldnt get a game or a kick in a shocking mob like Richmond.

Is built like a twig and will not be a midfielder. Maybe Half Back Flanker at best.

Move on.

Richmond?

He could barely get a bloody kick at Coburg let alone Richmond!

Sit him at a place where the ball comes to him and he doesnt have to work much and you MIGHT get something out of him.

I'd be very happy to cut our losses and get a pick for him.

philhawk
11 Oct 2007, 01:02
Richmond?

He could barely get a bloody kick at Coburg let alone Richmond!

Sit him at a place where the ball comes to him and he doesnt have to work much and you MIGHT get something out of him.

I'd be very happy to cut our losses and get a pick for him.

Honest answer - has he been played out of position for Richmond/Coburg?

PHX
11 Oct 2007, 01:10
Honest answer - has he been played out of position for Richmond/Coburg?

I dont believe so because with his skill he should be a midfielder/HFF because he has the pace and skills to hit a leading forward lace out more times than most RFC players, not that that is any achievement at the moment.

But I believe he would succeed most by playing like a Heath Shaw on a Half back flank to get some confidence into him getting and delivering the ball and then try to step it up to the midfield.

But I just dont think he has it. He doesnt work hard enough and he doesnt know how to find the footy. He needs to be led to to footy to get it.

He's just a very frustrating footballer. One of those athletes that cant play the game.

philhawk
11 Oct 2007, 01:19
I dont believe so because with his skill he should be a midfielder/HFF because he has the pace and skills to hit a leading forward lace out more times than most RFC players, not that that is any achievement at the moment.

But I believe he would succeed most by playing like a Heath Shaw on a Half back flank to get some confidence into him getting and delivering the ball and then try to step it up to the midfield.

But I just dont think he has it. He doesnt work hard enough and he doesnt know how to find the footy. He needs to be led to to footy to get it.

He's just a very frustrating footballer. One of those athletes that cant play the game.

Doesn't sound promising - but thanks for the answer!

Drummond
11 Oct 2007, 01:23
Doesn't sound promising - but thanks for the answer!
Meyer will be a quality player who is capable of the extraordinary. Great pace, excellent vertical leap and has top notch foot skills skills.

Absolutely no idea what happened to him this year. Saw him about 3 times with Coburg and as Richmond fans have said he barely got a touch. How someone with so much talent can have such little impact in the VFL is beyond me.

I’ve started a few threads on him on the Crows board and everyone knows how highly I rate him. I wish the Crows were showing interest but it appears if he is to be traded it will be to Hawthorn.

That's deliberate
11 Oct 2007, 01:46
who the pluck is Danny Meyer?

Never heard of him and he can't get a game for the Tetley tigers...

Opportunities ....they one 1 game for the entire year , anyone that actually knows what a football looks like could of got a game for the toothless tigers this year...

If we are to trade we trade for blokes that can actually get the damn pill consistently week in week out and dish it off to a bloke wearing our colours and preferably that same person needs to be on the same playing surface ..

We trade for Jude Bolton or no-one, someone with grunt, pace, can actually win the pill, lay a tackle and hit a target week in week out...all day every day..

mulhollanddrive
11 Oct 2007, 01:56
Do you want your only target to be 30+ when we are in premiership contention?

HFC082
11 Oct 2007, 02:07
Danny Meyer (Glenelg)
-------------------------------------

The profile follows below but I first want to clarify one point.

I describe his pace as "OK". I know some people describe him as very quick but I'm not so sure. I have no problem with his pace over a distance. I also agree he has a rapid-pumping running action that often at least makes him look quick. Perhaps I am underrating his overall pace but I am not convinced about his speed off the mark. After the first 10m, fine, but its the first few metres I'm not convinced about. I probably should have split my verdict re his pace so it differentiated between the two categories.

I don't know his background but he gives me the impression of possibly having been a slowish early teenager who has recently worked hard on his technique and is now getting almost as much pace out of himself as his body lets him.
-------------------------------------

183/70 mid-age right foot (dual-sided) HFF.

*STYLE LIKE: Tyson Edwards

*TRADEMARK:

- Screamer.

*SUMMARY ASSESSMENT, RECOMMENDATION:

- 6' marking forward worth early Rnd 2.

- He is not the complete package but is AFL IMHO and has a bit of "X factor". Plays very tall, kicks important goals and has a fair bit of development in him due to playing mainly school footy and trying to play tall but with a slim body size.

- Concentrating on school footy and often playing on a flank has meant he has displayed good form at that level without really being extended. This worries me a bit but I get the impression that, although reserved off-field, he enjoys rising to the occasion on a big stage and that encourages me to be optimistic for AFL level. I think he has more to offer than what he sometimes shows. The U18 Champs gave him a good guide as to where he currently sits, and what ground he needs to make up relative to his peers, when he found himself robbed of the freedom to perform his usual school party tricks.

- Currently lacks weight for the style of game he tries to play. Is slim and will improve a lot once he gains weight/strength.

- He sits at 18 in my rankings. In a typically stronger draft I would have him lower as he has a 5cm reach disadvantage and is somewhat unproven. I kept trying to drop him lower but, in the end, I could not find enough alternatives who had better credentials. Having said that, there are four other SA kids I would take ahead of him. I am rating him more on what I believe he will be capable of, rather than reading too much into his actual form to date. He just hasn't had the grounding that, say, the TAC kids have had.

I likened his style to Tyson Edwards but I think with time he might become the guy that you put your best stopper on. He has the potential to become very damaging - slippery, plays tall and kicks damaging goals.

Ready year 2.

*DISPOSAL:

- Generally a good set kick, especially for goal. I quite rate his kicking but not to the same extent that some others do. Overall he is a good, but not special, kick in general play. Hurt factor could be a bit better.

- Economical kicking action yet good power.

- Genuinely dual-sided.

- Good balance of kicks to feeds. Kicks are predominantly long. His accurate kicks hurt.

- Range seems to be just fractionally more than 50m but he gets the 45-50m consistently. Range is likely to improve once he adds weight and gets more power/strength in his legs and back.

- Dangerous around goals. Good goal sense - set, snap or on the run. Has shown he can kick a "must get" goal.

- Handball accuracy and hurt factor is a mixed bag under great pressure but he has quick hands.

*DECISION-MAKING, SMARTS:

- Generally makes the right decisions. Shows poise, has very good vision, looks for options and thinks quickly.
- Reads the play very well. Reads the ball well and roves the pack/spill well.
- Good traffic management.

*HANDS:

- Is reasonably clean below the knee without being especially reliable. He is arguably cleaner overhead than at ground level. Strangely, he seems to be cleaner off the ground under great pressure than he is when the pressure is a bit less. (Perhaps when he has time to think, he is inclined to spend it before he gets it?)

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Loves a mark. Strong overhead for his size. Plays very much taller than his 183cm and can take frequent one-grab screamers, include pack. Took one of the best grabs I saw all year, including AFL games.

- Reliable from the front or behind but is especially effective coming over the top. Good judgement, very good hands, and generally holds his ground OK one on one. Nevertheless, those who have seen him virtually unbeatable in the air at schools level did not see the same aerial dominance once he played at the hugely higher standard of U18 Champs. Only 2 contested marks in 3 games.

- Has a 5cm reach disadvantage compared to the average player of his height and that is logically a big disability for this type of game. It does concern me, of course. If it weren't for that, I'd be more confident about his prospects. However, many of his marks come through his enormous leap, often with arms not even needing to be fully extended. He can take a chest mark shoulder high. I place a lot of weight on reach advantage, especially in a marking player. In the end, the leap versus reach disadvantage equation gave me enough reassurance. The reach is a shame though.

- Any current difficulties seem mainly due to lack of weight/strength. Once he bulks up he is likely to be an outstanding mark for his size. He attacks his marks but can currently be buffeted off the line.

*ATHLETICISM:

- Gives me the impression of being in decent trim but very under-developed and with more potential athleticism than he has shown thus far.

- Biggest athletic attribute, by a mile, is his leap. Terrific, even from a standing start.

- Pace is OK but not special. Running action fair but could get more efficient drive from arms and he is sometimes inclined to be too bent (especially his head) in a short run. Has scope to improve but I can't see him ever being genuinely quick. Definitely has enough pace for AFL but the slippery ones will get away from him on occasions. Building up his quads will help.

- Excellent evasive ability.

- Normal agility is very good but recovery agility is a mixed bag.

- Needs to work a lot on his endurance.

- Is currently light but should finish up with a nice build. Has fairly good natural balance and keeps his feet well when tackled but currently gets pushed off the ball a fair bit when it comes down to a battle of bodies.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:

- Varies in some areas but overall good.

- Good 2nd efforts.

- Attacks the man. Prolific tackler. Tackles often but not always effectively or with enough physical strength behind the tackle. It is especially in that context that his recovery agility and acceleration can sometimes be found out. i.e. when he charges at a player and the tackle doesn't initially stick. He is likely to be a very effective tackler once he gains strength.

- Runs on.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Fairly consistent game by game and has consistent stats quarter by quarter but plays a bit in bursts. Will get 3 possessions in 3 minutes but maybe none for the next 15.

*AFL VERSATILITY:

- Is ideally suited to HFF or FP. Hasn't shown much inside midfield yet (and he doesn't appear to be "first dibs") but might be a chance, especially an outside role. I doubt he is suited to a defensive role.

*SCI (SCOPE FOR CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT):

- Has given most of his peers a head start, development-wise, by concentrating on school footy so is behind them in terms of learning curve, physical development and experience gained from playing under pressure.

*QUERY:

- Accountability to his own opponent. (No big deal, it's just that I don't have a handle on it)
- Versatility (maybe)?

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '04 U18 Champs:
Averaged 13 disposals and 3.3 marks in his 3 games. (Best TD 16).
Kicks to feeds: 23-16 (1.4:1).
Kicks long vs short: 15-3 (5.0:1).
Kicking accuracy: 5/23 ineffective incl 2 clangers.
Handball accuracy: 4/16 ineffective incl 1 clangers.
Total accuracy: 9/39 ineffective incl 3 clangers.
Gets own ball?: 9/39TD were HR. 6 HBG.
S.P. clearances: 4 incl 3 BU incl 1 CBC.
Tackles: 13
Marking: 2 of 10 were contested.

That's deliberate
11 Oct 2007, 02:09
Do you want your only target to be 30+ when we are in premiership contention?

If your referring to Jude Bolton ..he is 27 or there abouts,
Has been in Sydneys top 10 in the last 4 years,
Has led Sydney in 3 out of the last 4 years in contested possesion, not a bad stat seeing as though they are the best at it,
and
was number 1 for sydney this year in clearances -

he is a gun

He rips us to shreds every time we play them and is consistent week in week out...

am i the only one that sees him as a must in our side or am i on another planet and yet we talk about duds like Meyer, Thornton, Macmahon and the like...

Bolton has all the attributes and is a gun player, quick , tough, wins the ball and hits targets, very rarely have i seen him beaten one on one...

We have lost 3 experienced players so we can top up with a gun

Unlike Vanders , Dixon and Smith - Bolton would easily be in our best 10 next year and the year after that...

I know i'm a bit left of centre sometimes but surely somebody MUST be thinking the same thing...

mulhollanddrive
11 Oct 2007, 02:27
He's 27, equal 2nd oldest at the club is he's picked up. Which means all things being equal, he'll be amongst the first few players to retire in the future.

Point is our core is 18-25. Premierships are won with a core 24-28. Thats about 2-3 years.

I like Bolton as a player, if we had 3 finals campaigns in a row and were expecting a GF and nothing less for the next year.

But we're still developing, and a player at 27, no matter how good is not worth giving up market value.

I agree that we've been linked to a lot of spuds. But we are not trading for 50 game players, as its very unlikely we'll be winning a premiership in 2 seasons, we are/should be trading for 100 game+ players.

That's deliberate
11 Oct 2007, 02:41
Valid points - i just thnk we need an older head in amongst the lads in the guts.

Books
11 Oct 2007, 08:56
I do NOT want Danny Meyer - he seems too skinny and soft.

However I don't mind trading Boyle and I'd like to get Jared Brennan or Travis Johnstone or another ruckman.

sammy555
11 Oct 2007, 09:17

However I don't mind trading Boyle and I'd like to get Jared Brennan or Travis Johnstone or another ruckman.

Johnstone= Dud
Brennan= dont need him

plod
11 Oct 2007, 09:26
Do we really need another skinny 70kg outside mid?

might be worth a gamble for a 4th round pick i guess....

Mojo
11 Oct 2007, 09:33

Jarred brennan is overated, because he is inconsistant! He neither works hard enough or contains team orientation.

Travis Johnstone, although good on his day is far to 'lazy' and once again inconsistant when the team isn't winning. He isn't a fighter!

Another ruckman is the last option Hawthorn should be electing to focus on! We have a great assortment of abilities:

Campbell - Acts as another midfielder, works tirelessly off and on the ball.

Taylor - Has a good athletic jump, still developing.

Mcentee - A supreme athletic ruckman.

Bailey - Taller than Sung Ming Ming the Chinese Basketballer. Great footy brain.

Renouf - Almost a utility in the ruck sense. Can play in multiple positions for a guy of his size! Very confident.

Roughie
11 Oct 2007, 11:30
Trust me Brennan will be going to Essendon if Hooper stays at Brisbane.

Pessimistic
11 Oct 2007, 11:35
theres gold in richmonds discards - fiora, roden, ottens etc etc - look carefully at the players

cschreuder61
11 Oct 2007, 11:57
Sounds like a finishing type that may benefit from a side like Hawthorn that has a fair few inside players to get the ball and dish it off.

We probably need a few front-runners to finish off some of our midfield work. The periods where we dominate the midfield still needs work, because our delivery inside 50 still gets wasted. Some of that is do to our in-experienced forwards, but a lot is do to poor delivery inside our forward 50.

Not sure if Meyer is the answer, I'd like to Ladson and Birchall push further up the ground but they are doing a good job in defense.

Meyer is talented, so if we rate him and can get him for our 4th round pick, or 3rd round at the absolute most, it may be worth a punt.

cma6
11 Oct 2007, 12:31
the kid is quick and can use the footy. he is worth a late pick.

outside midfielders rely on inside midfielders for the ball and hawthorns strength is its inside mids (hodge, mitchell, lewis, sewell etc.). much better than tuck, k.johnson, foley etc. if clinton young was at richmond he would be rubbish.

as for t.johnstone - he is 27 and that is the only reason i am not interested. he gets the number 1 tag every week at melbourne which is why he struggles. he would be a gun in a midfield where he is the 3rd, 4th or 5th option. he is one of only a few midfielders in the league who can turn a whole game with flashes of brilliance.

nikolasgabriel
11 Oct 2007, 12:36
Trust me Brennan will be going to Essendon if Hooper stays at Brisbane.

why?

have they had a falling out

or are they competing for cash?

itsintheblood
11 Oct 2007, 12:42

Would we look at him?

He's not much chop PH. Just another RFC recruiting blunder to be honest. Lazy footballer with some talent. Did nothing at coburg in fact. Far from dominates. Pick 12 for this guy was a disgrace. I'd be happy with a late second rounder for him now. We effectively gave ottens away for nothing.

philhawk
11 Oct 2007, 12:44
He's not much chop PH. Just another RFC recruiting blunder to be honest. Lazy footballer with some talent. Did nothing at coburg in fact. Far from dominates. Pick 12 for this guy was a disgrace. I'd be happy with a late second rounder for him now. We effectively gave ottens away for nothing.

I only say him play one game - and that was vs Box Hill on Anzac Day.

Unless i'm thinking of someone else, he killed us that day.

Roughie
11 Oct 2007, 12:46
why?

have they had a falling out

or are they competing for cash?

There are a couple of things. I actually broke this story of Brennan wanting to leave in August, and I was 95% sure Essendon was his destination so this was actually thought about for a long time for Jared.

Brennan and Leigh dont get on the best, Leigh one time didnt even inform Brennan he was dropped he saw it on T.V and thought they got their info wrong, he prepared like usual just to be told he wasnt playing. I am pretty sure he had family up to from the Territory to watch that game so to say the least he was a bit shattered.

Also Brisbane offered him a new contract which was actually a pay cut of around $30,000 even though 07 was arguably his best season to date. Essendon have been keen on Brennan for the past probably 4 years as Sheeds talked to him last time his contract expired.

He flew down to Melb before the Brizzy B & F, and talked to Knights where they had offered him a contract of around 1 Mill for 3 years. Brennan also voiced his wishes that he wants to get an oppurtunity to play up field more which he couldnt under Leigh, where Knights had said theyll let him play up on the wing more.

At the moment, if Hooper leaves which does seem likely, Brisbane will swing around with another contract offering him more money. But I worked it out that Hooper is on a third round draftee contract of around 40,000 a season so with that being said I dont think Brisbane have the money to match Essendon's offer. So for Brizzy's sake they need either players to commit to stay or leave so they can try get a trade done or fear to loose these guys come the PSD.

fishbowl
11 Oct 2007, 12:47
Pick 12 2004 draft worth a look

He is not worth pick 12 this year, just show you what a dud Greg Miller really is.

Pick 77 is adequate.

JezzHawk
11 Oct 2007, 12:53
sounds like a straight swap for a Josh Thurgood.

hardballgets
11 Oct 2007, 13:06
PICK THE KID UP.
all clubs should take note. when richmond discard players pick them up at any cost..

OTTENS - gun
RODAN - furtue gun
FIORA - could be anything

danny meyer could be handy at the hawks but i wouldnt give the tigers anything before round 3.

Cynic
11 Oct 2007, 14:00

Dunno if I'm quoting someone, cos I seem to recall something like that, but my point is, in a disastrous year some kids get a bit lost because they don't get the support on the snr blokes.

I have a feeling you're quoting Aladin myself ;)

davey_23
11 Oct 2007, 14:17
First of all as a Richmond supporter i thought i should clear something up, he is not soft.

He is a reasonable height, has good skills and is a very good overhead mark. He lacks confidence and i can see why he wants to leave Richmond. He was made to play alot of the year with a pretty bad shoulder injury whilst also having trouble with his ankles and he asked to be played in a different position but was left at HF or FP.

He had a shoulder reco and he is recovering ok, he also passed his medical for you guys.

hawks a plenty
11 Oct 2007, 15:52
if we get him cheap or pre season draft all good but wont be in our best 22

The TACHawks
11 Oct 2007, 16:46
There's a rumour going around...staright swap
Meyer & Hooper.
Personally Tigers win in that trade :confused:

philhawk
11 Oct 2007, 16:47
There's a rumour going around...staright swap
Meyer & Hooper.
Personally Tigers win in that trade :confused:

Brisbane aren't stupid.

I think.

Roughie
11 Oct 2007, 16:48
Brisbane are very keen to keep Hooper.

GALON
11 Oct 2007, 16:49
We are not talking to Richmond about Meyer at this point in time.

dipper86
11 Oct 2007, 16:59
We are not talking to Richmond about Meyer at this point in time.

We aren't talking to anybody

GALON
11 Oct 2007, 17:00
We aren't talking to anybody
But we are trying.

dipper86
11 Oct 2007, 17:03
But we are trying.

More like sitting in a corner sipping on some nice red.

GALON
11 Oct 2007, 17:04
Possibly, but I hear we're being quite the tease.

dipper86
11 Oct 2007, 17:08
Possibly, but I hear we're being quite the tease.

Could the red be kicking in !!!! Interesting.

I look forward to the Franklin straight swap for Meyer trade in the next few hours.