View Full Version : New apparel sponsor

eliiiiza
9 Oct 2007, 20:17
Got this off another messageboard (Cats Claw)... Yup, we have a new apparel sponsor for 2008. It's called ISC.

ISC was established in 1991 and has been a major supplier of merchandise under license to:

Cricket World Cup 1992;
Australian Cricket Board (ACB) 1991-2002;
Australian Football League (AFL) 1992-2001;
and including Fox Studios Apparel 1999-2001;
Coco-Cola;
K-mart;
World Wrestling Federation;
Big W and Myer. Currently ISC is a licensed supplier to NRL Teams: Sydney Roosters, Newcastle Knights, South Sydney, Canberra Raiders, Penrith Panthers and Super 14 Teams: Brumbies Rugby and the Western Force.
ISC holds an exclusive supporters license for the NRL, and also holds licenses for supply to Bowls Australia.
The UK arm of ISC holds merchandise licenses to 4 of the 12 English Super League Teams; the Bradford Bulls, Salford City Reds and the Wakefield Wildcats and the new French Team, Catalans. ISC distribution includes France, Italy, USA and New Zealand.

http://www.isc-sports.com.au/about.htm

Sounds pretty shit to be honest.

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 20:20
Got this off another messageboard (Cats Claw)... Yup, we have a new apparel sponsor for 2008. It's called ISC.

http://www.isc-sports.com.au/about.htm

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:th umbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

rainmaker
9 Oct 2007, 20:27
good
slazenger were shite
still had king as captain on their website,

eliiiiza
9 Oct 2007, 20:28
good
slazenger were shite
still had king as captain on their website,
ISC doesn't look to be much better either.

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 20:31
ISC doesn't look to be much better either.

ADIDAS to FILA to SLAZENGER to ISC...............greatest club of all, you would think that apparel sponsors would be knocking down their door!!!!

rainmaker
9 Oct 2007, 20:31
what the website you saw it at

roger explosion
9 Oct 2007, 20:32
'sif Adidas or Nike aren't knocking on the door after your year?

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 20:40
'sif Adidas or Nike aren't knocking on the door after your year?

:( You think they would, but they dont want to travel an extra hour down the highway

eliiiiza
9 Oct 2007, 20:41
:( You think they would, but they dont want to travel an extra hour down the highway
Lazy assholes! :mad:

Hoffy95
9 Oct 2007, 20:41
God that sh**s me how they keep changing all the time.

All the current Slazenger apparel and merchandise all of a suddenly feels retro.

FTW_
9 Oct 2007, 20:42
Yeah.
It sounds like some unknown brand that will be shit! Agh.
I never liked FILA, but even they'd be better than whatever brand this is.
I really liked Slazenger too...

serpico66
9 Oct 2007, 20:43
Geez life must be tough at the Cattery when your biggest problem is which apparel sponsor you are going to have.

Who cares who makes the blue and white hoops.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
9 Oct 2007, 20:45
Here comes another slightly modified guernsey.

rainmaker
9 Oct 2007, 20:46
we should back to adidas
who are a class act

eliiiiza
9 Oct 2007, 20:46

All the current Slazenger apparel and merchandise all of a suddenly feels retro.
Yeah, but just think, it's what the players wore in our premiership year! ;)

Geez life must be tough at the Cattery when your biggest problem is which apparel sponsor you are going to have.

Who cares who makes the blue and white hoops.
Well you wouldn't want to wear (potentially) shitty supporter gear, would you?

catattack
9 Oct 2007, 20:54
ISC is a reputable company that has made some pretty good stuff over the years. I don't reckon it will be that bad at all...

Bryceson
9 Oct 2007, 21:02
any company is gunna make quality gear, so all i care about is if the logo looks decent on our jumper. anyone have a pic?

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 21:08
Here comes another slightly modified guernsey.

Exactly!!!!! More money going from my wallet

need to update the guernsey collection

FTW_
9 Oct 2007, 21:11
any company is gunna make quality gear, so all i care about is if the logo looks decent on our jumper. anyone have a pic?
This is what I imagine it will look like, that's the logo from the ISC website... Ew.
http://i23.tinypic.com/16m37zs.png

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
9 Oct 2007, 21:16
Exactly!!!!! More money going from my wallet

need to update the guernsey collection
This was the first year I decided not to wear my guernsey (circa. 2000) to the footy anymore. Then I made a deal with myself that if we made the Big One, I'd buy this year's and wear it. Bought it on the Friday, wore it with pride on the Saturday.

Week and a half later and we're about to change it again!

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 21:18
This was the first year I decided not to wear my guernsey (circa. 2000) to the footy anymore. Then I made a deal with myself that if we made the Big One, I'd buy this year's and wear it. Bought it on the Friday, wore it with pride on the Saturday.

That just sucks....damn the Geelong FC for making us do this!!!!!!

Tonycam*
9 Oct 2007, 21:19

Might have ended up unlucky anyway mate. Buy another .LOL

Bryceson
9 Oct 2007, 21:22
This is what I imagine it will look like, that's the logo from the ISC website... Ew.
http://i23.tinypic.com/16m37zs.png
that looks terrible:(

Dasher39
9 Oct 2007, 21:24
That just sucks....damn the Geelong FC for making us do this!!!!!!I'm not sure of the exact details, but it may not be Geelong's fault.

Slazenger may have dropped us. Perhaps they didn't want to sponsor an AFL side anymore and go down a different path so opted not to renew the contract.

Either way I am sure we'll have quality gear again next year. Apparently the players had a big input into the way they wanted the gear designed and they are all very happy with the results.

ISC are a renowned Rugby brand. They sponsor various clubs in the NRL (South Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra, Penrith to name a few) and all Australian Super 14 clubs as well as a few NBL clubs. This will be their first foray into AFL.

I've known about this since about May/June so I made sure not to buy any Slazenger stuff this year as I knew it would be a waste.

Looking forward to seeing what the gear looks like!

FTW_
9 Oct 2007, 21:25
that looks terrible:(
Yep, and it makes us look like we have too many logos on our guernsey.
I wouldn't mind it if it was a simple "ISC" text logo (like Slazenger), not a picture logo.

Bryceson
9 Oct 2007, 21:29
Yep, and it makes us look like we have too many logos on our guernsey.
I wouldn't mind it if it was a simple "ISC" text logo (like Slazenger), not a picture logo.
yeh, maybe get rid of the gfc logo?

BlueNWhite
9 Oct 2007, 21:31
you know what'd be really terrible? if we got all high and mighty about who has decided to pay our team big dollars for sponsorship. stop looking a gift horse in the mouth, every dollar we earn is going into the 2008 premiership defence kitty....
:rolleyes:

Dasher39
9 Oct 2007, 21:36
you know what'd be really terrible? if we got all high and mighty about who has decided to pay our team big dollars for sponsorship. stop looking a gift horse in the mouth, every dollar we earn is going into the 2008 premiership defence kitty....
:rolleyes:And in the end that is all that matters.

We will still be playing in the blue and white hoops and that's what is important.

I've also heard that we are getting quite a favourable deal with ISC, a lot better than we would get with a Nike, adidas, Puma, Rbk etc. Those companies take a large slice of the money the club makes from merchandise. By using lesser known companies, we are able to keep a larger amount of the money made from merchandise which gives us more money to spend on the Football Department, Marketing etc.

rainmaker
9 Oct 2007, 21:38
but lets hope they have gear, and not like this year where gear was impossible to get in gf week
club lost thousands in the gf week because of a lack of stock

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 21:49
And in the end that is all that matters.

We will still be playing in the blue and white hoops and that's what is important.

I've also heard that we are getting quite a favourable deal with ISC, a lot better than we would get with a Nike, adidas, Puma, Rbk etc. Those companies take a large slice of the money the club makes from merchandise. By using lesser known companies, we are able to keep a larger amount of the money made from merchandise which gives us more money to spend on the Football Department, Marketing etc.

Good point Dasher; put it into perspective.

ablett5
9 Oct 2007, 21:51
were are you puma ,i would love to be marketed as the PUMA CATS.

re cat
9 Oct 2007, 22:19
I'm not sure of the exact details, but it may not be Geelong's fault.

Slazenger may have dropped us. Perhaps they didn't want to sponsor an AFL side anymore and go down a different path so opted not to renew the contract.

Either way I am sure we'll have quality gear again next year. Apparently the players had a big input into the way they wanted the gear designed and they are all very happy with the results.

ISC are a renowned Rugby brand. They sponsor various clubs in the NRL (South Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra, Penrith to name a few) and all Australian Super 14 clubs as well as a few NBL clubs. This will be their first foray into AFL.

I've known about this since about May/June so I made sure not to buy any Slazenger stuff this year as I knew it would be a waste.

Looking forward to seeing what the gear looks like!

It was no big secret, I also was told in June.:p

Stripey PJs
9 Oct 2007, 22:22
ISC are a renowned Rugby brand. They sponsor various clubs in the NRL (South Sydney, Newcastle, Canberra, Penrith to name a few) and all Australian Super 14 clubs as well as a few NBL clubs.
Don't forget their custom designed Year 12 jerseys, and Bowls Australia apparel (http://www.bowls-aust.com.au/default.asp?pg=default&spg=display&articleid=38234). Giddy up.

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 22:23
It was no big secret, I also was told in June.:p

How did you guys know bout it?????

eliiiiza
9 Oct 2007, 22:25
Don't forget their custom designed Year 12 jerseys, and Bowls Australia apparel (http://www.bowls-aust.com.au/default.asp?pg=default&spg=display&articleid=38234). Giddy up.
REOWW! :thumbsu:

Geelong2k9
9 Oct 2007, 22:35
REOWW! :thumbsu:

I wonder if that is what the new off field apparel will look like???

Shell
9 Oct 2007, 23:07

So which one are you dating then Stripes? The one on the left with the clown makeup on?

Dasher39
9 Oct 2007, 23:07
It was no big secret, I also was told in June.:pI'm sure quite a few people knew about it, things like this don't stay secret for very long!

kendall_cedric
9 Oct 2007, 23:18

The club wants to sell more merchandise. Pretty clever really.

roger explosion
9 Oct 2007, 23:19
it's not just about the guernsey; the accompanying attire like polos, hats and stuff like that have to look good to sell... that's why a company like Nike or Adidas is valuable to have

worthogs
9 Oct 2007, 23:26

Naa just shows you were a supporter in our premiership Year and not just a bandwagon jumper

catfan29
9 Oct 2007, 23:36
Guess this means we will have a resdesigned clash jumper for next season as well

bigdroppunt
10 Oct 2007, 08:31
I'm not sure of the exact details, but it may not be Geelong's fault.

Looking forward to seeing what the gear looks like! Isnt the head of slazenger a big time member at GFC ?

Guess this means we will have a resdesigned clash jumper for next season as well why would it change,dont they just make the stuff, i dont thing they qwn the design?

Dawn2Dark
10 Oct 2007, 11:31
Maybe they'll bring back this style with the crappy logo in the navy bit :(
http://www.gfc.com.au/Portals/0/cats_docs/cats_shop_v2_233x144px.jpg

I'm glad i'll have a premiership year jumper though :thumbsu:
Does anyone know if we'll be able to get the guernseys with the GF logo on them?

rizzo
10 Oct 2007, 11:50
Who cares what they look like? Besides this years jumper was shit quality anyway

CatmanForever
10 Oct 2007, 12:04
had a look at the Rabbitohs shop and the ISC stuff looks good. I think some are over reacting. Check it out for yourself

http://www.souths.com.au/shop/products.asp?CategoryID=7

nananana catman
10 Oct 2007, 12:39

That is why they do it, so people keep buying new merchandise.

Dawn2Dark
10 Oct 2007, 13:08
Who cares what they look like? Besides this years jumper was shit quality anyway

so true

Tonycam*
10 Oct 2007, 16:29
had a look at the Rabbitohs shop and the ISC stuff looks good. I think some are over reacting. Check it out for yourself

Agree , there is no use getting carried away until they come out and we see what they offer. There is always the chance we just may like them

Dawn2Dark
10 Oct 2007, 16:37
I'm actually pumped about this now, if it means better quality gear. I had the biggest struggle with the cats shop and slazenger to attempt to get a guernsey that didnt look like it had been layed out in the sun for 3 years

randyzany
10 Oct 2007, 16:53
Don't they sell Geelong guernseys without any of the sponsors logos?
I've heard that they're cheaper as well, couldn't give a stuff about sponsors logos the guernsey looks better without them.

rizzo
10 Oct 2007, 16:54
Don't they sell Geelong guernseys without any of the sponsors logos?
I've heard that they're cheaper as well, couldn't give a stuff about sponsors logos the guernsey looks better without them.

K-Mart?

Herbs
10 Oct 2007, 17:42
Haha, tackling the important issues I see...........:rolleyes:

eliiiiza
10 Oct 2007, 17:46

This was said on Cats Claw:
from what I can gather, the high-profile owners of the Rabbitohs, including one Russell Crowe, aren't exactly loving the ISC deal and have set up their own sub-merchandising brand.

Quote thanks to Bozo.

Dasher39
10 Oct 2007, 20:22
That doesn't necessarily mean their gear isn't any good, just that they aren't happy with the deal, which I would assume means the financial deal (which was probably struck before Crowe and Holmes a Court took over).

I have been reliably informed the club have negotiated a very good deal for the club.

Some of the South Sydney gear is very good, hopefully the Geelong gear can be even better!

foxdoog50
10 Oct 2007, 20:32
[quote=BluenWhiteHoops;9124557]Maybe they'll bring back this style with the crappy logo in the navy bit :(
http://www.gfc.com.au/Portals/0/cats_docs/cats_shop_v2_233x144px.jpg
I think how they had slazenger in that little navy part. I hope put the ISC back in there. it would be alot better:thumbsu: What u all think

cats2rise
10 Oct 2007, 20:42
Heard about this a few days ago.

Might need to get a new jumper now. However I like going Old School :)

Dasher39
10 Oct 2007, 21:42
I think how they had slazenger in that little navy part. I hope put the ISC back in there. it would be alot better:thumbsu: What u all thinkKind of like this...

http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/7463/geelongjumperif9.jpg

re cat
10 Oct 2007, 21:53
Just trust Cookie, he knows what he is doing.

eliiiiza
10 Oct 2007, 22:11
Kind of like this...

Looks weird, but semi-decent, actually...

foxdoog50
10 Oct 2007, 22:31
Kind of like this...

Yeah thats the one:thumbsu: i like it, Ha well we will be able to get cheap this years jumpers know cos slazenger have finish

catattack
10 Oct 2007, 23:07
Six weeks into the season, you will not even notice the change

re cat
10 Oct 2007, 23:41
Yeah thats the one:thumbsu: i like it, Ha well we will be able to get cheap this years jumpers know cos slazenger have finish

Nothing left foxdog.:D

$$$$$$$$:)

Turbocat
11 Oct 2007, 21:57
Just a guess but I dont think they will use their full oval design used on the Rabbitohs , two Oval's is just too much oval. If you have a look there are several other clubs , Roosters & Panthers , that just use the ICS letters that are inside the oval.

Dasher would it possible to make up one in a similar fashion to the Roosters/Panthers?