View Full Version : I think it's nice...
After reading over many of these bay 13 threads I have noticed that the Hawks and North supporters seem to have found a good rivalry between them. I think it's nice that Hawks have finally found a real rival. I know it's just between supporters and not a real on field rivalry like the major Vic clubs, but it's good to see they've found someone who cares about them.
My question to Hawks fans is does this mean you'll stop pretending there's some great rivalry between Essendon and you? Every year we hear about the line in the sand game and how all your players get more pumped up for games against us, when to Essendon supporters the Hawks are just another team. We live for wins against the mighty Pies and the Blues- real rivals. It's not that we like you or hate you Hawthorn, we simply nothing you.
Really well done on finding yourself a nice little rival Hawks. Pity you can't challenge the Kangas on the field and make a real rivalry(see this years final if you need evidence of this point), but beggers can't be choosers.
Gilbert_Hodge
9 Oct 2007, 22:50
Kangaroos play us in rivalry round.
Hawthorn v Essendon are 80's rivals.
Hugshawks
9 Oct 2007, 22:50
After reading over many of these bay 13 threads I have noticed that the Hawks and North supporters seem to have found a good rivalry between them. I think it's nice that Hawks have finally found a real rival. I know it's just between supporters and not a real on field rivalry like the major Vic clubs, but it's good to see they've found someone who cares about them.
My question to Hawks fans is does this mean you'll stop pretending there's some great rivalry between Essendon and you? Every year we hear about the line in the sand game and how all your players get more pumped up for games against us, when to Essendon supporters the Hawks are just another team. We live for wins against the mighty Pies and the Blues- real rivals. It's not that we like you or hate you Hawthorn, we simply nothing you.
Really well done on finding yourself a nice little rival Hawks. Pity you can't challenge the Kangas on the field and make a real rivalry(see this years final if you need evidence of this point), but beggers can't be choosers.
Given recent performances by your club, and given your hopeless new coach, I'd say that the rivalry could be dead. Guess we're just gonna be gifted a couple games every year.
Ah well, I'll take them. ;)
(see this years final if you need evidence of this point)
The same finals that Essendon weren't in? :)
chaddles
9 Oct 2007, 22:51
Definitely no rivalry, your team isn't good enough to get anywhere near us. And as for Big Footy, you Essendon supporters are a f$*kin joke. Bring on the North supporters any time, at least they have a bit of heart and know how to troll!
Essendons new rivalry is with winning.........They will do what ever it takes not to win!
That's not what you dawks think, you are always going on about being our rivals, when really you are an insignificant interstate team to us.
matty lloyd the champ
9 Oct 2007, 22:55
Definitely no rivalry, your team isn't good enough to get anywhere near us. And as for Big Footy, you Essendon supporters are a f$*kin joke. Bring on the North supporters any time, at least they have a bit of heart and know how to troll!
Vandenburg is a f***ing joke.
No wonder he retired, can't play for cr@p
You would think that being captain you would have to be a top ten player at the club but Ritchie proves otherwise.
You should be happy that he left your club.
Essendon>>>>>>>hawks
You would think that being captain you would have to be a top ten player at the club but Ritchie proves otherwise.
Essendon>>>>>>>hawks
I think Vanders played when we beat you this year, so by your account we beat you with 21 players?
Gilbert_Hodge
9 Oct 2007, 22:58
Essendon>>>>>>>hawks
So many things wrong with that post. The only reason why your captain would even be in your top ten is because your team is a bunch of spuds.
We played finals this year. We have owned you the last 5 times we have played.
Hawthorn>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Carlton>>>>>>>>>Essendon
matty lloyd the champ
9 Oct 2007, 23:00
So many things wrong with that post. The only reason why your captain would even be in your top ten is because your team is a bunch of spuds.
We played finals this year. We have owned you the last 5 times we have played.
Hawthorn>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Carlton>>>>>>>>>Essendon
vandenburg wouldn't even be on most team's 22 (except richmond)
Captains lead by example on the field unlike vandenburg
Vandenburg wouldn't even be in our top ten players let alone our 22
They have realised they are too small and insignificant to be a arch rival of the Essendon Football Club.
So you admit that we don't care about you? It seems you're indicating you don't care about us, and that simply isn't true. Certiainly isn't reflected in your own supporters post's...
Why North Melbourne again? Would you consider the Kangaroos as strong rivals? I personally do not...
I would have thought that Essendon have a bigger rivalry with Hawthorn than with Carlton...
Anyway, at least we still get to see the Hawks smash the Bombers twice this year.
I loved the Hawks v Essendon rivalry was perfect but unfortunately they will draw more at the Carlton v Bombers game. I went to Roos v Hawks at the dome last year and there was no one there and no atmosphere. I am heading back this Sunday with a group of mates for the first of probably 2 games that I attend each year and I hope we get a better turnout and a better atmosphere! I certainly dont hate the Kangaroos though like I hate other sides.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314257&highlight=essendon+rivals
Or going back to last year on a who's our biggest rival thread...
1 Essendon = Goes back to the 80s when the teams played in 3 consecutive flags and the amount of hatred directed towards each other during the late 90s/early 00s. Known as the scum to hawks supporters....
Essendon are our biggest rivals by a long way! Followed by:
Cats, Melbourne, West Coast I would think. These are the games I am find the best anyway.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=281299&highlight=essendon+rivals
Personally I'm all for you guys admitting that the rivalry Hawks supporters keep mentioning is non-existant. It means you can focus on your real rivals with the Tassie Devils for full control of that fruitful market. Only downside is that you wont really be able to play them now that you've stopped accepting VFL ressies level players what with Vandenbergs retirement and all.
chaddles
9 Oct 2007, 23:24
Essendon>>>>>>>hawks
Our captain had a heart and did anything for his club. The best player rarely is a great captain. Vanders beat the f#%k out of your soft **** team, turned McPhee and the rest of your team into a bunch pussy's for the past 3 years.
Lloyd should be playing soccer, always falling over at any opportunity. Tough man too smashing a kids face in with his arm guard. Real captain material.
You club is on a downward spiral to being the new Carlton. Enjoy your plummet to the bottom of the table!
Our captain had a heart and did anything for his club. The best player rarely is a great captain. Vanders beat the f#%k out of your soft **** team, turned McPhee and the rest of your team into a bunch pussy's for the past 3 years.
I'm sorry is toughness now chucking punches at a guy on the ground while he's being held down? Is that what it is? It's hard to keep up with you Hawthorn supporters ideas about concepts like toughness and winning. Like how in that match we creamed you yet you guys still consider it a win. Confusing stuff...
I reckon I could punch McPhee if he was being held down- does that make me tough? Can I captain the Hawks too? I'm pretty average and not up to VFL standard- so pretty much as good as Vandenberg was.
chaddles
9 Oct 2007, 23:33
I'm sorry is toughness now chucking punches at a guy on the ground while he's being held down? Is that what it is? It's hard to keep up with you Hawthorn supporters ideas about concepts like toughness and winning. Like how in that match we creamed you yet you guys still consider it a win. Confusing stuff...
I reckon I could punch McPhee if he was being held down- does that make me tough? Can I captain the Hawks too? I'm pretty average and not up to VFL standard- so pretty much as good as Vandenberg was.
No toughness is wearing a cast on your arm knocking young kids out!! :rolleyes:
In all fairness we both know that Thurgood was no loss to your team at the time. Really he did you guys a favour as you didn't have to play two men short with both Vanders and Thurgood in the same team.