View Full Version : Thoughts? A sub-forum that only Hawthorn fans can view?

Pages : [1] 2

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 01:42
Just want to see whether there's enough interest from you guys.

The other mods and myself have been considering starting an invitation only sub-forum that Hawk fans alone can view.

The point of this isn't to become clique like certain other Hawthorn fan-forums, but instead to ensure that things such as training reports and confidential reports made in regards to the club (i.e draft knowledge) can be discussed by Hawthorn fans without the fear that non-Hawthorn fans may be able to view it.

Thoughts? Do you guys think there's enough interest for it?

Thanks

Delisted
10 Oct 2007, 01:54
I'd be interested and support it :thumbsu:

thommo16
10 Oct 2007, 02:13
I would definately be interested!

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Oct 2007, 02:16
Definately Phil, I'm sure you have the tech available to do this. My only concern would be the fact that loose lips sink ships. Knowing the probs with the training reports and the recent Canberra report it's gonna take a bit of trust to be admitted to a site such as that.

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 02:18
Definately Phil, I'm sure you have the tech available to do this. My only concern would be the fact that loose lips sink ships. Knowing the probs with the training reports and the recent Canberra report it's gonna take a bit of trust to be admitted to a site such as that.

That'd be the key.

As I said, we're not going to go out of our way to try and be annoyingly 'clique', but we will have a few 'conditions' (if that).

Perhaps you guys can help us out here.

Perhaps Hawthorn fans need to have a certain number of posts before they're granted permission to view the sub-forum?

Or is that unfair?

thommo16
10 Oct 2007, 02:22
I dont think thats unfair. If they are a new poster give them time to learn and grow on the original board and then they will be able to access the other board

Rooney
10 Oct 2007, 02:25
Meh - I think it's sometimes interesting to get some of the outsider opinions in here. Especially when most visitors seem to be pretty well behaved about it.

(Or its the zero tolerance for trolls shown by the mods :thumbsu:)

If this is all because of the Canberra thing... well... unfortunately, that still would have happened as it was cut and pasted to the main board!

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 02:26
I dont think thats unfair. If they are a new poster give them time to learn and grow on the original board and then they will be able to access the other board

Exactly. And not that it's important, but at least this way you'd gain 'credibility' of sorts.

Particularly for things such as Rusty's training reports - it's so important in this day and age that opposition fans (particularly the media) aren't able to get their hands on it.

So unless people are desperate enough to write a lot of posts under the pretense of a Hawthorn fan, I think this should discourage that.

Another thing, to all the 'lurkers' (yes, I know there are plenty!), this'll probably mean the end of Rusty publically posting his training reports.

So you've got a whole 5 months to get on BigFooty and start posting so we know that you're a Hawthorn fan so that you're able to be invited to the new sub-forum!

So what should we say is the minimum post-count?

500? Is that too much?

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Oct 2007, 02:27
That'd be the key.

As I said, we're not going to go out of our way to try and be annoyingly 'clique', but we will have a few 'conditions' (if that).

Perhaps you guys can help us out here.

Perhaps Hawthorn fans need to have a certain number of posts before they're granted permission to view the sub-forum?

Or is that unfair?

Nah, probably not unfair but I've got over 1 000 posts babbling on about what the ****? What does that say to you?

I reckon two options - quote you membership number and if it was possible to check that.

Second option is that a Hawk poster who has been posting for 18 months or 2 years and who has posted 200 times or more gains automatic access and can, as a member, sponsor any Hawk poster who would like to join. Lot like any club.

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 02:28
Meh - I think it's sometimes interesting to get some of the outsider opinions in here. Especially when most visitors seem to be pretty well behaved about it.

(Or its the zero tolerance for trolls shown by the mods :thumbsu:)

If this is all because of the Canberra thing... well... unfortunately, that still would have happened as it was cut and pasted to the main board!

This isn't so much for getting an outside opinion, Rooney.

I agree with you entirely - that IS important and is probably one of the best things about BF (IMO).

This is moreso for confidential information - which on the odd occasion, does get posted on here.

By this, i'm talking about the likes of training reports, draft reports, etc, etc. Things that we WANT other Hawthorn fans to know about - without other prying eyes to peek and see.

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 02:29
Nah, probably not unfair but I've got over 1 000 posts babbling on about what the ****? What does that say to you?

I reckon two options - quote you membership number and if it was possible to check that.

Second option is that a Hawk poster who has been posting for 18 months or 2 years and who has posted 200 times or more gains automatic access and can, as a member, sponsor any Hawk poster who would like to join. Lot like any club.

Brilliant ideas, mate.

Hodge2Franklin
10 Oct 2007, 02:40
This is an awesome idea Phil and will make it so much easier for poor old Rusty ... It will also let us chat without being worried about information being leaked etc.

All I would say is that it needs to be by invite like you said, but very hard to get on. I would rather only 20 or so people but you could post anything you like and trust the people on there, than have it too loose and defeat the purpose.

If this gets up anyones nose then tough. If you are that into BigFooty that you would want to be on the board then I am sure you would be known enough around here by that time to be invited.

That's my view anyhow.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Oct 2007, 02:43
This is an awesome idea Phil and will make it so much easier for poor old Rusty ... It will also let us chat without being worried about information being leaked etc.

All I would say is that it needs to be by invite like you said, but very hard to get on. I would rather only 20 or so people but you could post anything you like and trust the people on there, than have it too loose and defeat the purpose.

If this gets up anyones nose then tough. If you are that into BigFooty that you would want to be on the board then I am sure you would be known enough around here by that time to be invited.

That's my view anyhow.

I reckon there could be some "Big Footy Hawthorn Gold' memberships originated from this.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Oct 2007, 02:47
Sorry, I'm brainstorming here by myself - could Roughie's All Posters Team be the inaugral members of such esteemed and priveliged company?

GoHawkers
10 Oct 2007, 02:48
Exactly. And not that it's important, but at least this way you'd gain 'credibility' of sorts.

Particularly for things such as Rusty's training reports - it's so important in this day and age that opposition fans (particularly the media) aren't able to get their hands on it.

So unless people are desperate enough to write a lot of posts under the pretense of a Hawthorn fan, I think this should discourage that.

Another thing, to all the 'lurkers' (yes, I know there are plenty!), this'll probably mean the end of Rusty publically posting his training reports.

So you've got a whole 5 months to get on BigFooty and start posting so we know that you're a Hawthorn fan so that you're able to be invited to the new sub-forum!

So what should we say is the minimum post-count?

500? Is that too much?

Ouch! I'll never make it. I'm too much a lurker.

philhawk
10 Oct 2007, 02:52
Ouch! I'll never make it. I'm too much a lurker.

That's exactly what i'm worried about, mate.

Posters like yourself post occasionally - but when they do, it's a really top notch post.

How can we effectively go about creating guidelines for this new forum without isolating posters like yourself who are in this category?

GoHawkers
10 Oct 2007, 03:05
That's exactly what i'm worried about, mate.

Posters like yourself post occasionally - but when they do, it's a really top notch post.

How can we effectively go about creating guidelines for this new forum without isolating posters like yourself who are in this category?

I'm not sure you can. Good question. Maybe a minimum length of membership to the forums......but then anyone could just make another user name and wait out the time. Maybe lesson minimum of posts and be a member for at least a certain length of time.

I'm probably in the minority though.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
10 Oct 2007, 03:36
I've given this a little more thought and maybe I was on the wrong track by suggesting this be too "elite" by creating certain rules and restrictions.

Another idea I have is just that you apply for membership from the mods, after all they know who the good guys and the bad guys are better than anyone. Any spilling of info would be reported by other discerning Hawks and result in castration and disembowellment.

I reckon that gives you dudes three very serious options anyway,

Mitchell Madness
10 Oct 2007, 08:17
only problem is, how to know? what is to stop other fans manipulating their profiles to say they support us?

Alex_au
10 Oct 2007, 08:37
Good idea guys. Will help out the Hawthorn team in the end too. Can't have other clubs officials logging onto this site and checking out our training report and press releases such as Pelchins.

RedDevils99
10 Oct 2007, 08:45
definately interested, just the question of how to manage the access and qualification side of things.

Membership numbers sounds good, but im sure if you really wanted too someone could get around that.

stemline
10 Oct 2007, 08:48
The main problem I can see is that it would probably decimate this board in terms of quality posters and posts. It comes down to whether you're prepared to let that happen. Something to consider, anyway.

And another problem with making qualification based on number of posts, is that it gives incentive to newer posters to post too often.

Adelaide Hawk
10 Oct 2007, 08:56
I'm more towards a system where anyone can read it, but you can only access the Hawthorn Board to post with a password approved by the moderators. That way the moderators can have control over who can access the board, and certainly suspend passwords for those deemed to be "unfriendlies". Not sure how much work would be involved though.

Like others, I welcome the input from supporters of other clubs, but sadly a lot of the garbage we've been putting up with lately has me rather angry with opposition supporters.

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 08:59
I like this idea.

Join date before Dec 2003 + 2500 posts.

Seems about right to me ;)

mick
10 Oct 2007, 09:01
I reckon it is a worthwhile idea to have a the sub-forum, particularly for Rusty's training reports, but I'm struggling to see how you could check the bonafides of posters.

Some of the biggest tools on big footy have high post numbers. I can't see how having a large post count confirms which club someone supports.

Hawthorn membership barcode is a pretty accurate gauge but I don't know how you would confirm it with the club.

Possibly personal recomendation might be the way to go.

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 09:05
Hawthorn membership barcode is a pretty accurate gauge but I don't know how you would confirm it with the club.

You are not getting my membership number ;) I'll try to get my GF tickets and they will have already have used my number :eek:

Khan
10 Oct 2007, 10:18
THe tiger board came online last night after a weeks worth of discussion

Early view working well, just need to set some guidelines for posting etc etc.

Go for it guys

Khan

The Cryptkeeper
10 Oct 2007, 10:25
I think that it is almost a case of the mods allowing access on a case by case basis. Valued contributors regardless of their post count should be admitted. Conversely there are plenty of people that post in just about every thread yet contribute bugger all in the greater scheme of things.

Also, any poster that brings any information from the "private" board to the main forum should face an immediate and permanent exclusion from the private board.

And...Fight Club rules need to apply.

MinerBoy
10 Oct 2007, 10:33
I give the idea two thumbs up Phil.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

PADJUAN
10 Oct 2007, 10:37
im all for it phil.. great idea! itd be good during trade period too where we could legitimately discuss trade ideas without trolls like boyle for collingwoods pick 14!

Hawkamania!
10 Oct 2007, 10:47
Great idea. I'm in.:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
10 Oct 2007, 10:59
definately interested, just the question of how to manage the access and qualification side of things.

Membership numbers sounds good, but im sure if you really wanted too someone could get around that.Im not a member living in Noosa but would spend over $200 a year on jumpers, scarfs and beanies for my 4 kids.There would be a lot off diehard Hawk supporters who can,t afford a membership so that would unfair i love reading Rustys training reports as do my boys :thumbsu:

Hawkers Hero
10 Oct 2007, 11:04
Im all for it (providing I have access :D)

As for the tests, I think a case by case acceptance from the Mods would be the best bet. As some have mentioned there are problems with the other methods;

# of Posts - Alot of Posters who post alot and contribute nothing
Length of Membership - Many new poster would have to wait 18 months for admission
Membership Number - Could be taken by unscrupulous members to get GF tickets :mad:

Rowie09
10 Oct 2007, 11:07
Would be keen for this idea.

I do a lot of lurking admittedly, and post on 'nothing' threads a lot however...

hawk3R_4lyfe
10 Oct 2007, 11:15
Great idea, as long as I get an invite.

hawk3R_4lyfe
10 Oct 2007, 11:25
Im all for it (providing I have access :D)

As for the tests, I think a case by case acceptance from the Mods would be the best bet. As some have mentioned there are problems with the other methods;

# of Posts - Alot of Posters who post alot and contribute nothing
Length of Membership - Many new poster would have to wait 18 months for admission
Membership Number - Could be taken by unscrupulous members to get GF tickets :mad:

Agree. I do however defend those who feel that they aren't articulate enough to contribute to posts productively or those whom suffer degrading memory loss due to age :o

Woodside Hawk
10 Oct 2007, 11:36
I think that it is almost a case of the mods allowing access on a case by case basis. Valued contributors regardless of their post count should be admitted. Conversely there are plenty of people that post in just about every thread yet contribute bugger all in the greater scheme of things.

Also, any poster that brings any information from the "private" board to the main forum should face an immediate and permanent exclusion from the private board.

And...Fight Club rules need to apply.

Great idea! I've been lurking for a long time, but don't often feel the need to post, as usually the good points are well covered by your goodselves!

Oh, and NoosaHawk, not sure if you're aware, but as an SA-based member I can tell you Interstate Hawthorn Memberships only cost around $100 and can even be paid by the month, making it remarkably cheap to be a paid-up member (although you don't get automatic access to GF tickets for interstate membership - but you do get your membership scarf).

Thaihawk
10 Oct 2007, 11:45
This would be great for people in my position who have limited access to newspaper reports etc. and it's common knowledge how crappy and uninformed most of those are. My main source of info is here, and if I cannot get good, and sometimes delicate news because other clubs may be accessing, then it's hardly looking for articles about the club I have loved for 60 odd years.

I get sick of the rubbish other club supporters write on our board, some of which is fit only for B13. Speaking of which it's good to see we are the most feared club in the competition, as we were in the 70s & 80s. At least that's how I evaluate it judging by the number of anti-Hawthorn posts on B13.

Count me as a supporter, Phil.

The Rat
10 Oct 2007, 11:45
Sounds like a really good idea.:thumbsu:

I probably don't fit the suggested criteria ATM but I'll endevour to get there eventually

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 12:03
I like the idea of a waiting list. MCC style...25 year wait to get into the board room ;)

chrismew
10 Oct 2007, 12:14
Great idea for a sub forum, I would be all for it.

500 posts for admission is maybe a bit much, cut it down to 200, so we don't lose some quality posters.

Brown Blood
10 Oct 2007, 12:21
Could be an idea to keep private more sensitive info from posters of other clubs.

But

You may not want the private board simply to take over from the more public open forum as the quality of that will deteriorate quickly and scare off new posters.

The Cryptkeeper
10 Oct 2007, 12:22
Great idea for a sub forum, I would be all for it.

500 posts for admission is maybe a bit much, cut it down to 200, so we don't lose some quality posters.

I notice that your post count is around the magical 200 mark mate.;)

chrismew
10 Oct 2007, 12:30
I notice that your post count is around the magical 200 mark mate.;)

you have busted me sunshine. :D:thumbsu:

FatBoy's Wombats
10 Oct 2007, 12:37
Good idea but if someone really wants the info they will get it. I support it however. It means I wont have to hang out for a PM from rusty with the training report.

Hawk-in-syd
10 Oct 2007, 12:54
I like the idea for access to the likes of Rusty's training reports. The downside is the impact on the hawks forum. As long as only things that could hurt the club if they got out to the great unwashed were posted and it didn't turn into some clique I know something you don't know forum. I like the idea of "Fight club rules"

As to who can access. I don't know, the number of posts is not ideal as you can quickly rack up hundreds with meaningless one liners in a BS rich/north/wce slanging match on bay13. Does that make a poster more valued than someone who isn't into that and prefers a well thought out reasoned discussion here that takes only a couple of posts.

Maybe you apply to the mods then:
(A)your posts reviewed by mods and they determine if you really are a supporter.
(B)everyone has a look at your posts then we get to vote using the poll function

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 13:03
The Rough-------Is In

Mojo
10 Oct 2007, 13:06
The Rough-------Is In

With Mojo holding his hand! :)

HFC082
10 Oct 2007, 13:06
The All-Hawthorn posters 22 should be auto admissions, and then each All-Hawthorn poster can nominate 1 poster that they deem worthy of the new forum. Once a poll determines that each poster is wanted in the forum, then the nomination is settled and the poster gets rights to the forum.

Then random posters from the 44 can select 1 new member per month...raffle out of a hat and the lucky person from the 44 can select a poster he/she wants in the new forum. Then the poll continues, and if successful, the new poster is welcomed, and if unsuccessful, the poster is not welcomed and no new poster is allowed to view the forum for that month.

PatientHawk
10 Oct 2007, 13:33
Count me in.
Especially Rusty's training reports

Hodge2Franklin
10 Oct 2007, 13:34
Count me in.
Especially Rusty's training reports

Patience ... patience... :p

keefriffhard
10 Oct 2007, 14:04
Sounds great to me.

I think that the only way to work out who gains access is by the Mods. You guys have a pretty good idea who most regular posters are and what they contribute. I'd think that you would have a fair idea already with Rusty's list etc.

mighty_fighting
10 Oct 2007, 14:44
Sounds awesome - I would love a place to chat without fear of trollers etc. This is why I stick mainly to the hawks board.
I think invitation via mods or even application through the mods - password protected obviously.
Mods would be able to see where members have posted previously and whether or not they are dodgy, or are useful contributors. They would take into account the number of years etc.........
Membership numbers are out for obvious reasons when ticketing etc.

Great idea phil

mojo can u stop holding hands now??

frankc
10 Oct 2007, 14:51
Great idea.

hawkstars
10 Oct 2007, 14:55
I'd be interested!

LuvMyHawks
10 Oct 2007, 14:58
An excellent idea. So much "crap" on the main forum at times.
The Mods have a pretty good idea how many of us are genuine Hawk lovers. Entry by password only is a great idea.
A lot of work for mods though. But a Terrific Idea!!!
Count me in..
Phil, do you know how the Tigers set up their board only? Maybe they can give us a few ideas.

razarback
10 Oct 2007, 15:16
Even though I don't post much i would love to be included.

hawkstars
10 Oct 2007, 15:18
I have a better idea for entry. Entry is only admitted once the membership number is plugged in!:thumbsu:

Mojo
10 Oct 2007, 16:15
Sounds awesome - I would love a place to chat without fear of trollers etc. This is why I stick mainly to the hawks board.
I think invitation via mods or even application through the mods - password protected obviously.
Mods would be able to see where members have posted previously and whether or not they are dodgy, or are useful contributors. They would take into account the number of years etc.........
Membership numbers are out for obvious reasons when ticketing etc.

Great idea phil

mojo can u stop holding hands now??

No deal! :p

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 16:22
on second thoughts I think it should be exclusive, not to the point that only a select 20 can get in. But something like 50 posts or something from a member that supports hawthorn, just so we dont have an opposition member creating a hawthorn account then getting instant access to this private forum?

hawka_fan
10 Oct 2007, 16:27
Yeah id be interested, how about you have to have signed up for a month at least and about 100 posts, just for the point that roughie made above, you dont want richmond trolls making new accounts.

buddylove_23
10 Oct 2007, 16:57
I like the idea and i'd be up for it.
Membership number sounds like the best option.
Just Hawks.

justthedukes
10 Oct 2007, 17:03
Not a bad idea at all. Membership number sounds good.

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 17:06
1) Could anyone fabricate member numbers? And is there anyway to check if the member number is legit

2) There are some kids on here that may not be able to afford a membership, I know this year I couldnt get one for my self for personal reasons, so there should be some exceptions to some people, esspecially the youngn's who cant get their parents to buy them one and their paper delivery cant cut enough money for one.

cambo39
10 Oct 2007, 17:07
Just want to see whether there's enough interest from you guys.

The other mods and myself have been considering starting an invitation only sub-forum that Hawk fans alone can view.

The point of this isn't to become clique like certain other Hawthorn fan-forums, but instead to ensure that things such as training reports and confidential reports made in regards to the club (i.e draft knowledge) can be discussed by Hawthorn fans without the fear that non-Hawthorn fans may be able to view it.

Thoughts? Do you guys think there's enough interest for it?

Thanks
PLEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

hawka_fan
10 Oct 2007, 17:09
dont make it membership, make it 100 posts on hawksboard/mustardpot, and maybe 6 months on bigfooty regurarly. also what are we going to do if someone with an unsuspicious username(like their real name) changes their team to the hawks? we wouldn,t know

Jonathan
10 Oct 2007, 17:14
I like the idea, though I probably wouldn't qualify.
I'm a member so I could provide the number if that's the way you choose to go.
I don't post much but I enjoy reading the reports and that sort of thing.

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 17:15
dont make it membership, make it 100 posts on hawksboard/mustardpot, and maybe 6 months on bigfooty regurarly. also what are we going to do if someone with an unsuspicious username(like their real name) changes their team to the hawks? we wouldn,t know

Yeah I think it would have to be semi exclusive, to the point where the Moderators have to be familiar with the poster to think they were genuine enough.

B&YBlood
10 Oct 2007, 18:49
definately interested sign me up!

DESTRUKTOR
10 Oct 2007, 20:14
I think it is worth consideration. But to limit it to numbers of posts does not work. I'm sure I am not alone, but I am not a big poster, but regular. I don't care to jump into speculative threads, or play fantasy footy (though I love the hawks posters team, vote 1 Glenn DESTRUKTOR).
I think a requirement should be someone who has popped up here and there (or more) for a couple of years who obviously bleeds brown and gold.
I go to the Hawks forum practically everyday, but may post 10 times in a week, then not once for a month or two.
Period of bigfooty membership would help eliminate false names who make up details etc to stir the (mustard) pot.
I'm not sold, but certainly interested in the idea. Good one Phil.

Roughie
10 Oct 2007, 20:29
I think it is worth consideration. But to limit it to numbers of posts does not work. I'm sure I am not alone, but I am not a big poster, but regular. I don't care to jump into speculative threads, or play fantasy footy (though I love the hawks posters team, vote 1 Glenn DESTRUKTOR).
I think a requirement should be someone who has popped up here and there (or more) for a couple of years who obviously bleeds brown and gold.
I go to the Hawks forum practically everyday, but may post 10 times in a week, then not once for a month or two.
Period of bigfooty membership would help eliminate false names who make up details etc to stir the (mustard) pot.
I'm not sold, but certainly interested in the idea. Good one Phil.

Well in that case I think it should be truly moderators choice. I know you may not post much but I know I am familiar with you and your posts thus you would be an accepted member. I think we all have a solid grasp of who the 'known' members are.

CAPTAINCRAWF
10 Oct 2007, 20:46
Excellent idea:thumbsu:

Most people could scan the back of their membership card and use as an attachment to prove membership??

or you could even just apply to be in the group and the moderators could check previous threads to ensure member is actually a Hawks supporter?

crannypeter
10 Oct 2007, 21:51
dudes membership not good id3ea i do not have a memebershop i just sneak in eacj week but i can probably get a membership card anyway dudes

hawks_legends
10 Oct 2007, 22:51
sounds good to me :)

vanders
10 Oct 2007, 22:52
Count me in!

Rexcellent
10 Oct 2007, 23:08
dudes membership not good id3ea i do not have a memebershop i just sneak in eacj week but i can probably get a membership card anyway dudes

huh?:confused:

Rexcellent
10 Oct 2007, 23:09
Count me in!

moi aussi, if i am correct using my yr 8 french...

Badga
10 Oct 2007, 23:25
Sounds like a great idea! However I will be one of those people who doesn't meet the criteria. I haven't been on here that long and I don't feel the need to post useless things like some people on here. Membership number would work for me though

HawkXNtric
10 Oct 2007, 23:56
Yep - great idea! Probably means a lot more work for the already hard-working mods though.

I don't think that membership number or number of posts would work - it really needs to come back to the mods subjectively reviewing an applicant's previous posts and deciding that they are probably not some Roos/Tiges/Blues troll.

Still like the idea if the mods can overcome the technical difficulties...

scout
11 Oct 2007, 00:19
Great idea. Membership number seems a good way to go.

philhawk
11 Oct 2007, 01:17
Attention everyone:

As some of you may have noticed, the Box Hill forum seems to have 'disappeared'.

It actually hasn't - instead it's the forum that's been 'privatised'. Rather than creating another separate sub-forum for discussion exclusively amongst Hawk fans, we thought it best to instead privatise the Box Hill sub-forum.

Gary, Rusty, Binxy and myself will discuss a few things over the next 24 hours and then we'll 'open the doors for business'.

Just so everyone knows, this new sub-forum (Hawk Talk), won't be clique as some may expect.

But we will have a few standards that posters must meet.

The other moderators and myself will establish some guidelines which will be posted in this thread in the next few hours.

Rich
11 Oct 2007, 01:23
I think it's a great idea..

Roughie
11 Oct 2007, 01:27
Attention everyone:

As some of you may have noticed, the Box Hill forum seems to have 'disappeared'.

It actually hasn't - instead it's the forum that's been 'privatised'. Rather than creating another separate sub-forum for discussion exclusively amongst Hawk fans, we thought it best to instead privatise the Box Hill sub-forum.

Gary, Rusty, Binxy and myself will discuss a few things over the next 24 hours and then we'll 'open the doors for business'.

Just so everyone knows, this new sub-forum (Hawk Talk), won't be clique as some may expect.

But we will have a few standards that posters must meet.

The other moderators and myself will establish some guidelines which will be posted in this thread in the next few hours.

Ok sounds good mate :thumbsu:

PADJUAN
11 Oct 2007, 09:42
good work phil

GNCLongJack
11 Oct 2007, 09:58
A huge YES PLEASE.:thumbsu:

MHDKA
11 Oct 2007, 10:01
Sounds interesting. I'd be interested.

crannypeter
11 Oct 2007, 10:32
huh?:confused:

sorry brother been at the pub that time i will be able to get a membership number from somewhere so no probs for me

philhawk
13 Oct 2007, 01:48
Hawk-Talk

This is a forum designed exclusively for Hawk fans to either discuss issues that are Hawthorn related – or merely talk with other Hawthorn fans without the fear of ‘prying eyes’ from opposition supporters.

Whilst this does mean that Moderators will give posters a little more leverage (in regards to language), please be aware that normal BigFooty rules apply and we will be forced to deal with those who intentionally or inadvertently overstep the line.

As is mentioned on the Zero Tolerance for Trolls thread, ‘keep the debate on this board constructive and don’t resort to personal abuse when discussing a particular matter. If you don’t agree with the views of someone on this board, try and resolve the matter in a fair and sensible manner. ?

Everyone is entitled to their opinion

There will always be times when people present points that you disagree with both on principle and in fact. If you disagree with them, sort out the matter peacefully and preferably without making snide/sarcastic/belittling remarks. That said, if you make a completely stupid remark, you can’t expect to hide behind the rule afterwards when people rib into you!’

In the past, certain information that was intended exclusively for the eyes of Hawthorn fans found itself in the public domain. Whilst this was probably a mistake, in this day and age, these little mistakes have a habit of blowing up in peoples faces (and getting them in trouble), as the media or even unwanted eyes can be very quick to use this information for the wrong reasons.

It is for this reason that the Moderators have decided that all information posted on Hawk-Talk should not be posted or repeated elsewhere on BigFooty (by risk of expulsion from the sub-forum if you don’t comply). Whilst we can’t prevent you from using it elsewhere in your day-to-day life, by granting you permission to view this forum, we can only hope that you wouldn’t abuse the trust placed in you

Eligibility of the Hawk-Talk sub-forum:

Firstly, it should be said, this isn’t a matter of being ‘clique’ – but rather, as touched upon earlier, ensuring that the knowledge gained from viewing the information within this forum doesn’t fall into the wrong hands.

In order to ensure that Hawk fans and Hawk fans alone are able to view this new sub-forum, after much discussion amongst YOU, the posters, the Moderators have come up with the following ‘eligibility guidelines’.

1. Posters must be a member of BigFooty, for at least 4 months with at least 250 posts., obviously being listed as a Hawthorn fan.

Whilst I understand that for some posters who prefer to ‘lurk’ and rarely post this may be a problem, the Moderators will take each invitation on on a ‘case-by-case basis’.

Example 1 – Poster A signed up to BigFooty in June 2007, but only has 150 posts to his/her name. Don’t be afraid to ask for permission, because the fact that you HAVE been signed up to BigFooty for a little while means that you have more leverage over those who have been BigFooty members for a shorter period of time. The Mods will still have a look over your posting history – but the fact that you have been a member for longer counts towards you.

Example 2 – Poster B has been a member of BigFooty for a month and has 30 posts to his name. Whilst the Moderators obviously don’t want to deprive a genuine Hawk fan the opportunity to view the new sub-forum, you need to appreciate the situation that we are in. As long as the poster remains posting for at least another month – and after one of the moderators checking his post history to see if he is a genuine Hawk fan, he’ll be happily admitted to the new forum then and there.

Whilst this sub-forum will pretty much exclusively be for things such as Rusty’s training reports, ‘secret’ Draft info, etc – feel free to add other topic points that you feel other Hawk fans will be interested in.

If you have any queries at all, feel free to ask any one of the Moderators in Gary (Gary Shadforth), Rusty or myself.

At this stage, these are the guidelines (+ eligibility) that we are looking at.

Nothing is confirmed at this stage.

Thoughts?

Roughie
13 Oct 2007, 02:08
Phil it looks very good, and a very good write up explaining everything. You moderators do a good job

RustyHawk
13 Oct 2007, 02:52
Sounds awesome guys.
We are all up for it. :thumbsu:

Please Suzi..... :o

RustyHawk
13 Oct 2007, 02:52
Yeah I am all for it. What you could do is get everyone a group membership and we will be on there like a flash.
:thumbsu:
I am checking with the guys now to see if they think it is worth taking part, since my username is used by other people.
Count us in.

another good post

RustyHawk
13 Oct 2007, 02:53
you don't need a membership card. In your usercp, you will find that you will have a group membership tag. Click that and you will find that it will come up just like that. :thumbsu:

Reply to Crannypete

thommo16
13 Oct 2007, 06:36
Thanks for replaying those messages for me Rusty.

It seems I have that user on the Ignore function....I dont know why?

(Your not alone. W.I.T.F. only becomes visable on Tuesdays due to prior ---lets just say issues [before my time as mod])

vanders
13 Oct 2007, 11:47
At this stage, these are the guidelines (+ eligibility) that we are looking at.

Nothing is confirmed at this stage.

Thoughts?
Sounds good to me! :thumbsu:

Jonathan
13 Oct 2007, 12:22
Well it sounds great, except I don't meet the posting requirements.
I've been here since March though and if you check my posting history you'll see I'm all Hawthorn. I'd like to get in for Rusty's training reports and the other inside info. If I'm not eligible though that's cool. I guess I should post more instead of just reading what you all have to say haha.

chaddles
13 Oct 2007, 12:37
Sounds pretty good. I'm in the All Posters team, so do I qualify or do I have to abuse a few more Roos and Bombers supporters?

thatswhatimtalkinabout
13 Oct 2007, 12:51
Sounds pretty good. I'm in the All Posters team, so do I qualify or do I have to abuse a few more Roos and Bombers supporters?

A veteran such as yourself should know by now that Roos and Bombers supporters abuse themselves Chaddles. It's our job just to give the the prompting they need.

RustyHawk
13 Oct 2007, 12:59

You have over a 1000 posts you'll be right.

Buddy Hero
13 Oct 2007, 13:03
Guess i will just have to spam the Richmond board with Tambling sucks threads to get to 500 posts :o

RustyHawk
13 Oct 2007, 13:05
Guess i will just have to spam the Richmond board with Tambling sucks threads to get to 500 posts :o

I thought the entry 250 posts which you already have.