View Full Version : Ryan Murphy
Drummond
10 Oct 2007, 01:45
Tell me guys, what will it take for this gun to be at the AFC next year?
I rate him quite highly and would be prepared to give up a fair bit to get him. Chances are we'll have picks 10, 21, 27 and 28, so without trying to cripple us, what would you want for him?
Cheers. :thumbsu:
Bradesmaen
10 Oct 2007, 02:53
Pick 10 ;)
Avid_Avenger
10 Oct 2007, 03:14
Yep. Pick 10 and throw in Ricky Dyson with a three way deal with the Bummers and we might well sign on.
As much as I think Murph will come good in purple and is a long term proposition, Pick 10 and Dyson would solve a few of our midfield problems immediately, as well as over the next couple of years by allowing us to net Palmer or Masten as well as perhaps Rioli or someone like Myers.
Plus we still have Kiwi Campbell as a third tall forward proposition to soften the blow of losing a talent like Murph.
DCFCFAN84
10 Oct 2007, 03:14
Pick 10 ;)
Agreed!
NiGHTFuRY
10 Oct 2007, 04:37
why can't the fans agree on deals...
DCFCFAN84
10 Oct 2007, 04:58
LOL that would be sweet.
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 12:46
Tell me about it, I succesfully traded Longmuir for someone, don't know who but whoever it was didn't cost us $400,000 a year for 2 years.
freocuz
10 Oct 2007, 12:59
Tell me about it, I succesfully traded Longmuir for someone, don't know who but whoever it was didn't cost us $400,000 a year for 2 years.
I think you got a ham sandwich with honey mustard mayo and a bag of Darryl Lea Licorice.
Scotland
10 Oct 2007, 13:04
Murphy will most likely stay at Freo.
Freo will want offers that reflect his potential and where he was selected as a draft pick.
Other clubs will make offers that reflect the runs he has on the board to date.
legitimatic
10 Oct 2007, 13:05
Freo will want offers that reflect his potential and where he was selected as a draft pick.
Exactly right, couldn't put it better than that.
Which is why we will never get the right offer for him.
Topdock65
10 Oct 2007, 13:06
Hope we keep Murphy (or he decides to stay)
I rate him highly....
DockerDuke
10 Oct 2007, 13:13
As much as i like him he may be our best chance to draw another first round pick.Or David Mundy. Mundy is creative, but not quick. The way the games going you need a super quick half back line, and he may draw some trade value.
They both may or may not fit into our side next year, depneding on Harvs wants to structure things. If tarrant can kick goals, you would say Murphys oppurtunities may be limited. Mundy may play but like i said could draw trade value.
Muphy or Mundy + our 2nd rounder for a pick bewteen 9 and 15 would be a fair trade IMO. This would alolow us to draft the likes of Rioli or possibly Rance (future star) who will more than likely slip down the draft order now with some VIC kpp likely to be drafted ahead of him.
Realistically Campbell will get the nod ahead of Murphy next year as he seems to have more hunger and Mundy although very handy, we have a number of players ie Dufflied who could fill his spot.
dockertor
10 Oct 2007, 13:14
Murph was putting runs on the board consistently during our 9 game streak last year. To say he hasn’t is just wrong. He didn’t follow it up this year. I suspect more to do with his nose being put out of joint because Taz was recruited and put in the pecking order ahead of him. IMO he has what it takes and it would be a mistake to trade him
Consistently is a bit strong.
2 4 2 1 5 1 1 inj inj inj
Not bad, but not setting the world on fire.
Happy to see him go, also happy for Mark Harvey and Wallis to spend the summer making him into a fullback. Thats what he was when we drafted him, just need to make sure he is hungry and desperate. Take away his xbox or something.
Campbell offers more as a key forward. He crashes packs, is a better contested mark, has the fury, and is as good a kick as Murphy and better from outside 50m.
malpaso
10 Oct 2007, 13:35
As much as i like him he may be our best chance to draw another first round pick.Or David Mundy. Mundy is creative, but not quick. The way the games going you need a super quick half back line, and he may draw some trade value.
They both may or may not fit into our side next year, depneding on Harvs wants to structure things. If tarrant can kick goals, you would say Murphys oppurtunities may be limited. Mundy may play but like i said could draw trade value.
Muphy or Mundy + our 2nd rounder for a pick bewteen 9 and 15 would be a fair trade IMO. This would alolow us to draft the likes of Rioli or possibly Rance (future star) who will more than likely slip down the draft order now with some VIC kpp likely to be drafted ahead of him.
Realistically Campbell will get the nod ahead of Murphy next year as he seems to have more hunger and Mundy although very handy, we have a number of players ie Dufflied who could fill his spot.
I would NOT trade Mundy, players with his class and calm under pressure are VERY hard to come by. He makes up for any lack of quickness with those skills alone.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 13:42
Tell me guys, what will it take for this gun to be at the AFC next year?
I rate him quite highly and would be prepared to give up a fair bit to get him. Chances are we'll have picks 10, 21, 27 and 28, so without trying to cripple us, what would you want for him?
Cheers. :thumbsu:
Murphy and pick 40 for pick 10.
or
Murphy and pick 24 for picks 10 and one of 27 or 28
Sorry, but Duffield is not even close to being as talented as Mundy and would not fill his spot well.
This obsession with speed will dissipate soon enough, especially if the AFL decide to limit interchanges etc. Then the clubs with the pure footballers will be laughing. Especially which ever club gets Mundy if we trade him.
Drummond
10 Oct 2007, 13:43
Murphy and pick 24 for pick 10. :thumbsu:
I suggested that on the Crows board. I think it's a good deal. Gives you two top 10 picks and we get a tremendous talent in Murphy who could be a gun forward for many years. And yeah, pick 24. :p
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 13:46
I suggested that on the Crows board. I think it's a good deal. Gives you two top 10 picks and we get a tremendous talent in Murphy who could be a gun forward for many years. And yeah, pick 24. :p
Bugger you got me before I reconsidered and edited... ;)
Dr Ralph Dagg
10 Oct 2007, 13:46
Sorry but as much as I think Mundy is the softest player player ever at FFC, he did come third in the 2006 Rising Star year, and is an exceptional talent.
You want to trade him and a 2nd round pick for an unproven skinny little 18 year old. Risky.
Murphy for 9-15 is a fair deal. He has 4 years development into him and can play now.
Murphy and pick 40 for pick 10. :thumbsu:
I would probably do that, but it is unlikely Murphy would get a 1st rounder (even with a junk pick thrown in). Unless it is Sydneys pick (12 or something close)
I have a strange feeling he could be heading to Sydney in either a straight swap or a multi-club trade. He fits the pattern of Sydneys trade strategy over the past 5 years i.e. talented but fringe player such as Mattner, Jolly, Richards.
Bradesmaen
10 Oct 2007, 13:56
Why don't we just trade Pav to the Cats for pick 82? Most ridiculous trade idea ever. Mundy is about 8 duffields, maybe more. His skill is one of the best in the competition. He may look slow, but when at full throttle he can be quick and he is the wingman this club needs.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 14:01
I would probably do that, but it is unlikely Murphy would get a 1st rounder (even with a junk pick thrown in). Unless it is Sydneys pick (12 or something close)
I have a strange feeling he could be heading to Sydney in either a straight swap or a multi-club trade. He fits the pattern of Sydneys trade strategy over the past 5 years i.e. talented but fringe player such as Mattner, Jolly, Richards.
straight swap for what? pick 11 or player?
Would love Jude or pick 11. But I cant see that happening. Amon and Schneider-man are apparently up for trade....smeh.
I think a 3-way is more likely, e.g. Jude to Coll, pick 15 to us and Murphy to sydney. We would probably have to through in a 3rd rounder somewhere.
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 14:10
When do you say enough is enough? He's 23 next year with only 31 games under his belt. I'd take what you can get for him while there is still some value on his head.
Essendon picked up Kepler Bradley at no. 6... we're clearly not going to get that in return!
P.S. Apart from the fact that we actually have pick 6!!! Hahahaha
When do you say enough is enough? He's 23 next year with only 31 games under his belt. I'd take what you can get for him while there is still some value on his head.
He is contracted.
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 14:14
Would love Jude or pick 11. But I cant see that happening. Amon and Schneider-man are apparently up for trade....smeh.
I think a 3-way is more likely, e.g. Jude to Coll, pick 15 to us and Murphy to sydney. We would probably have to through in a 3rd rounder somewhere.
I would be pretty happy getting Schneider-man at the club. Probably not in a straight swap for Murphy though.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 14:16
I think Collingwood have pick 14, but yeah I could see something like this:
Freo:
lose Murphy and Pick 40
gain pick 14
Sydney:
lose Bolton
gain Murphy and pick 47
Collingwood:
lose pick 14 and 47
gain Bolton and pick 40
I would then love to see us do this at the draft:
pick 7: Masten
pick 14: Selwood
pick 24: McGinnity
pistol17
10 Oct 2007, 14:20
Murphy + Pick 39 (third round)
for
Pick 11
Giving us Picks 7, 11, 24, 56 and 72
I think Collingwood have pick 14, but yeah I could see something like this:
Freo:
lose Murphy and Pick 40
gain pick 14
Sydney:
lose Bolton
gain Murphy and pick 47
Collingwood:
lose pick 14 and 47
gain Bolton and pick 40
I would then love to see us do this at the draft:
pick 7: Masten
pick 14: Selwood
pick 24: McGinnity
I like the trade.
I would love a Selwood, but would he be poisened against us by the DJ/Adam thing? Probably.
And Masten is a massive eagles fan. I know this shouldn't matter but he is of the Eagles generation that will hate Freo with a passion.
They would both be great, but potential to be more trouble than they are worth.
I would be happy with Rance at 14 if he lasted.
Bradesmaen
10 Oct 2007, 14:21
How about we do this drafting
Pick 7: Greatest player ever
Pick 14: Second greatest player ever
Pick 24: Dud
:p
I would be pretty happy getting Schneider-man at the club. Probably not in a straight swap for Murphy though.
Yeah I rate him, but not as highly as Murph. Maybe we could trick them into taking Duff-man for Schneider-man. Would have to get them drunk though.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 14:28
I like the trade.
I would love a Selwood, but would he be poisened against us by the DJ/Adam thing? Probably.
And Masten is a massive eagles fan. I know this shouldn't matter but he is of the Eagles generation that will hate Freo with a passion.
They would both be great, but potential to be more trouble than they are worth.
I would be happy with Rance at 14 if he lasted.
Selwood would have to get over it pretty quickly - does he want to play AFL footy or be peed off at Des?? I am sure the hatchet would be buried vert early on in the piece.
And Masten would be instantly cured of his weagleness if he was drafted to Freo. Hase was a weagles fans, as was Foster... Priddis was a huge Dockers fan. They get over their prior loyalties as soon as their names are called and they realise they aren't going to the team they barracked for - and if not then, as soon as they arive at their club and meet their new team-mates.
Scotland
10 Oct 2007, 14:33
Ignoring the fact that I didn't actually say he has no runs on the board, putting together a few good games last year won't have a profound effect on his trade value.
Murphy was taken as a first round pick, and Freo will be reluctant to trade him for less than that. I would be surprised to see clubs offering first round picks for a player whose only real runs on the board are 5-10 solid games in 2006 when his club was absolutely flying.
Murphy kicked 19 goals and averaged 10 touches and 5.5 marks a game in his 9 game purple patch (his selling point) from Rd 13 onwards in 2006.
By comparison, Brent Staker kicked 18 goals and averaged 12 touches and 5 marks a game in the 12 games he played from Rd 8-22 this year.
I can't see too many clubs offering first round picks for Staker, so I can't see too many doing the same for Murphy.
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 14:35
They get over their prior loyalties as soon as their names are called and they realise they aren't going to the team they barracked for - and if not then, as soon as they arive at their club and meet their new team-mates.
I remember when at primary school (this was when I lived in Melbourne) we used to have AFL players come down to do a clinic every so often. It always used to amaze me how the day they arrived everyones alligences just went out the window, so when a young Shane Crawford came down and made everyone laugh for the rest of the week everyone was a Hawthorn Supporter. 3 months later we had Garry Hocking come down and showed everyone how to handball somehow now everyones a Geelong Supporter for a few weeks. People are fickle really, it all comes down to whats staring you in the face at the end of the day, in the case of footballers they change their tune as soon as they recieve their first pay check and all the footy apparel that goes with playing for a proffessional team
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 14:36
He is contracted.
Which is the whole point of trade week :rolleyes:
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 14:40
I remember when at primary school (this was when I lived in Melbourne) we used to have AFL players come down to do a clinic every so often. It always used to amaze me how the day they arrived everyones alligences just went out the window, so when a young Shane Crawford came down and made everyone laugh for the rest of the week everyone was a Hawthorn Supporter. 3 months later we had Garry Hocking come down and showed everyone how to handball somehow now everyones a Geelong Supporter for a few weeks. People are fickle really, it all comes down to whats staring you in the face at the end of the day, in the case of footballers they change their tune as soon as they recieve their first pay check and all the footy apparel that goes with playing for a proffessional team
Thanks for the trip down memory lane :)
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 14:48
Thanks for the trip down memory lane :)
i'm sorry I forgot you were senile and have trouble remembering how to go to the bathroom. How insensitive of me.
inferno66
10 Oct 2007, 14:49
Which is the whole point of trade week :rolleyes:
What he was trying to say was.... because Murphy is contracted he can not go to the PSD and be picked up by a team this year. So if another team wants Murphy we have the upperhand in the trade.
peppy la pew
10 Oct 2007, 15:06
For one reason or another, I was expecting the Doggies to have a serious crack at Spud
Maybe they are still traumatised from the McDougal deal :D
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 15:09
i'm sorry I forgot you were senile and have trouble remembering how to go to the bathroom. How insensitive of me.
Gees, calm down it was a smily face :) not :thumbsd: or a :( or a :rolleyes:
For once in this thread I was hoping for a little less serious!
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 15:21
What he was trying to say was.... because Murphy is contracted he can not go to the PSD and be picked up by a team this year. So if another team wants Murphy we have the upperhand in the trade.
I don't recall mentioning PSD.
What I was saying was that for Fremantle to get the most out of a deal from Murphy... trade now, he's virtually done very little in 4 years to warrant a 1st round draft pick.
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 15:27
Gees, calm down it was a smily face :) not :thumbsd: or a :( or a :rolleyes:
For once in this thread I was hoping for a little less serious!
Yeah fair call, sorry, shouldn't have taken it out on you that my uni just told me that they lost my assignment and unless I can proove I handed it in I get a fail mark (it was worth 30% of the year).
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 15:34
Yeah fair call, sorry, shouldn't have taken it out on you that my uni just told me that they lost my assignment and unless I can proove I handed it in I get a fail mark (it was worth 30% of the year).
You would have it on the computer still wouldnt you?
inferno66
10 Oct 2007, 15:41
I dont reckon the Uni should be able fail you if they end up loosing your Assignment. If they try and fail you like that have a talk with your Guild. They will provide you with support and take a stand against the Uni.
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 15:43
I feel your pain! Although I work full-time... I also study full-time... can be very stressful (hence I'm home sick)!
Best of luck!
NiGHTFuRY
10 Oct 2007, 15:52
That just dosent seem fair.....
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 16:08
That just dosent seem fair.....
It's the most dissorganised uni I have ever been or head of. They are constantly loosing papers, barring students from accesing their server due to internal faults in their admin, without fail I will have clashes with units when enrolling in tutorials, and this isn;t a big uni compared to say Curtin where 35000 students attend and not once did I have a clash, yet here where there is 7500 or so students I get 2 or 3 clashes A SEMESTER!!!
Thats why after this semester i'm leaving this shithole of a uni and gonig back to curtin or U.W.A (my preffered as it's just down the road from me)
Even though the course hee is better I just can't put up with it anymore
DockerDuke
10 Oct 2007, 16:10
Sorry but as much as I think Mundy is the softest player player ever at FFC, he did come third in the 2006 Rising Star year, and is an exceptional talent.
You want to trade him and a 2nd round pick for an unproven skinny little 18 year old. Risky.
Murphy for 9-15 is a fair deal. He has 4 years development into him and can play now.
Im not saying that Mundy is not a very good player, and okay the example of Duffield may not be the best, but i do think we could cover his loss. With the likes of Foster and Obrien likely to get more games next season he may attarct attetnion to get a high pick. I mean whats to say next year he won't turn around and say "i want to go home to VIC". Im not saying trade the kid by just thowing his name out there, but if he is keen to go home then why not?
A team without Mundy could look like this.
FF: Farmer Tarrarnt Campbell
HF: Headland Pavlich Solomon
C: Peake Hasleby Black
HB: Dodd McPharlin Johnson
FB: Hayden Grover Thornton
R: Sandliands Bell JCarr
INT (from) MCarr Warnock Schammer Crowley Foster Ibboston McManus Duffield Ibbo Browne
To trade Murphy + 3rd pick may get us a late 1st rounder (12-17)
Mundy + 2nd rounder may get us a pick between (6-12)
that would be 3 first rounders. would guarantee 2 quallity mids + Rance
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 16:28
Im not saying that Mundy is not a very good player, and okay the example of Duffield may not be the best, but i do think we could cover his loss. With the likes of Foster and Obrien likely to get more games next season he may attarct attetnion to get a high pick. I mean whats to say next year he won't turn around and say "i want to go home to VIC". Im not saying trade the kid by just thowing his name out there, but if he is keen to go home then why not?
A team without Mundy could look like this.
FF: Farmer Tarrarnt Campbell
HF: Headland Pavlich Solomon
C: Peake Hasleby Black
HB: Dodd McPharlin Johnson
FB: Hayden Grover Thornton
R: Sandliands Bell JCarr
INT (from) MCarr Warnock Schammer Crowley Foster Ibboston McManus Duffield Ibbo Browne
To trade Murphy + 3rd pick may get us a late 1st rounder (12-17)
Mundy + 2nd rounder may get us a pick between (6-12)
that would be 3 first rounders. would guarantee 2 quallity mids + Rance
Your backline is as dodgey as our midfield! You should trade Schammer for Bradley!
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 16:31
Your backline is as dodgey as our midfield! You should trade Schammer for Bradley!
Not true at all, our backline does a great job, just lacking a full time full back then we'd pretty much be set
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 16:37
Not true at all, our backline does a great job, just lacking a full time full back then we'd pretty much be set
Come on mate I'm not having a dig but your side finished outside the 8 for a reason. So did ours, I'm not comparing the two teams, I wish Fremantle well, they have a strong Essendon connection.
Do something with the backline and you'll find yourselves climb the ladder.
Great forward line, very competitive midfield (perhaps a tiny bit on the slow side) and with Sandilands back a better chance of first hands on the ball... backline... rough as guts IMO.
Bradley would get shat on in defence, he is not a defender.
As Emo said all we really need is a big bodied full back to take on the strong FFs. Gerhig had a field day aginst us this year.
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 16:46
Come on mate I'm not having a dig but your side finished outside the 8 for a reason. So did ours, I'm not comparing the two teams, I wish Fremantle well, they have a strong Essendon connection.
Do something with the backline and you'll find yourselves climb the ladder.
Great forward line, very competitive midfield (perhaps a tiny bit on the slow side) and with Sandilands back a better chance of first hands on the ball... backline... rough as guts IMO.
Of ocurse it could always improve, but our main problem is our mid feild, with sandi winning over 75% of the hitouts we still get slaughtered in the clearences. We don't seem to have trouble getting the ball out of defence but it always manages to get lost in the mid feild yet we allow the opposistion to glide through with ease. Our priority is fixing the mid field right now, backline can stay as it is but thern again if we can improve both without them affecting each other then sure.
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 16:51
Of ocurse it could always improve, but our main problem is our mid feild, with sandi winning over 75% of the hitouts we still get slaughtered in the clearences. We don't seem to have trouble getting the ball out of defence but it always manages to get lost in the mid feild yet we allow the opposistion to glide through with ease. Our priority is fixing the mid field right now, backline can stay as it is but thern again if we can improve both without them affecting each other then sure.
All I can say is how boring is trade week!!!
You want a midfielder, Essendon wants a midfielder... we're 3 days and neither team have anything! BORING zzzzzzzzzzzz
Fremantle and Essendon have the slowest midfields in the comp IMO.
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 17:09
Fremantle and Essendon have the slowest midfields in the comp IMO.
Pace isnt everything, the fact that both teams have very poor foot skills is more important than pace.
docker_azza
10 Oct 2007, 17:16
Pace isnt everything, the fact that both teams have very poor foot skills is more important than pace.
Agree. It's not all about foot speed. As well as skills being important I also think it's in the head (i.e. our midfielders aren't very smart in the way they position themselves and use the ball).
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 17:18
Agree. It's not all about foot speed. As well as skills being important I also think it's in the head (i.e. our midfielders aren't very smart in the way they position themselves and use the ball).
True we should be studying Geelongs midfield structue for hours on end. They dont have a hell of a lot of foot speed but they get into positions that encourages fast football.
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 17:21
I think it's more about pace in the middle than foot skills in this age of football. I get sick to death of watching so called elite midfielders missing targets on the chest... so they go the easy option and kick to a guy on his own 15 metres away.
I agree, Fremantle and Essendon have the slowest midfields by a mile!
Hopefully we'll put Jetta, Dempsey, Monfries and Lovett in there next year. Apparently Knights is going to go "young" so that's who I would have there, I think Watson is too slow, similar to Headland and Haselby.
Do Freo have an up-and-coming middy that we haven't seen yet?
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 17:23
I think it's more about pace in the middle than foot skills in this age of football. I get sick to death of watching so called elite midfielders missing targets on the chest... so they go the easy option and kick to a guy on his own 15 metres away.
I agree, Fremantle and Essendon have the slowest midfields by a mile!
Hopefully we'll put Jetta, Dempsey, Monfries and Lovett in there next year. Apparently Knights is going to go "young" so that's who I would have there, I think Watson is too slow, similar to Headland and Haselby.
Do Freo have an up-and-coming middy that we haven't seen yet?
Do you really think pace is more important than foot skills?
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 17:26
Kane Tenace has pace to burn - but he can't crack a game in Geelong's team cos he can't kick.
True, but you do need a mix, when too many players are slow I think you get exposed. Mind you when a team is losing they always tend to look slow.
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 17:35
True, but you do need a mix, when too many players are slow I think you get exposed. Mind you when a team is losing they always tend to look slow.
Exactly, Geelong looked very quick this year but the players themselves arent overly fast. Last year in our streak we looked pacy, but its the way you move the ball and position the next player that creates speed. Leg speed is handy but not overly important in my opinion.
Exactly, Geelong looked very quick this year but the players themselves arent overly fast.
Interesting that you mention that as I was thinking the exact same thing about that game, one of the few I could attend this year. Seem to recall our players constantly a few steps behind opponents through the middle ground, yet Geelong aren't noted as being overly fast.
I'm not saying that slow, skilled, intelligent mids like Haselby aren't valuable, just the team is need of couple of speedy players to complement them.
Incidentally, did anyone at the Geelong game notice a Cat's player slap an ump on the backside after he gave them a 'hands in the back' free?
I thought it was a bit odd at the time . .
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 17:51
Incidentally, did anyone at the Geelong game notice a Cat's player slap an ump on the backside after he gave them a 'hands in the back' free?
I thought it was a bit odd at the time . .
Yup good ol Cam Mooney.
Exactly, Geelong looked very quick this year but the players themselves arent overly fast. Last year in our streak we looked pacy, but its the way you move the ball and position the next player that creates speed. Leg speed is handy but not overly important in my opinion.
That is exactly right.
You show me a player that can outrun a kicked football, then I will agree pace is more important than football skills.
Dyslexic Emo
10 Oct 2007, 18:11
That is exactly right.
You show me a player that can outrun a kicked football, then I will agree pace is more important than football skills.
Brock Obrien as the ball just gravitates towards him even when stationary
wizard_9
10 Oct 2007, 18:23
I think Watson is too slow, similar to Headland and Haselby.
Headland slow and like Hasleby??? Now i have heard it all, not slow and plays the complete opposite style game as Hase.
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 18:25
Do you really think pace is more important than foot skills?
I wish it wasn't, but I think it is a little. I think we have a league full of athletes, the Hirds, Buckleys, Ricciutos and so on have all just left our game!
You could argue that they're both as important as each other. But IMO too often "premier" midfielders gather 30+ disposals and only hit the target 65%... now this isn't taken from any expert statistician this is purely from watching games. I don't call kicking the ball 1 metre in front of a full-forward an effective kick, but statisticians do!
The Donners
10 Oct 2007, 18:27
Headland slow and like Hasleby??? Now i have heard it all, not slow and plays the complete opposite style game as Hase.
Here I was thinking that I was conversing with realistic Freo supporters. I'm an Essendon supporter, I'm telling you what Freo lack from an outside supporter... one without blinkers.
inferno66
10 Oct 2007, 18:33
Donners you are right when you say that our Midfield is slow. But Headland is not slow at all.
Roundhouse
10 Oct 2007, 18:38
Here I was thinking that I was conversing with realistic Freo supporters. I'm an Essendon supporter, I'm telling you what Freo lack from an outside supporter... one without insight.
Edited for accuracy.
Seriously, why don't you go help some other teams with their shortcomings. Freo have taken what we need from Essendon, you go now.
wizard_9
10 Oct 2007, 18:39
Here I was thinking that I was conversing with realistic Freo supporters. I'm an Essendon supporter, I'm telling you what Freo lack from an outside supporter... one without blinkers.
Try watching Des play footy sometime mate you might learn a thing or two.
peppy la pew
10 Oct 2007, 18:51
That is exactly right.
Take a bow, excellent point
When a team is chasing the ball, they always look slow :thumbsu:
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 19:03
I wish it wasn't, but I think it is a little. I think we have a league full of athletes, the Hirds, Buckleys, Ricciutos and so on have all just left our game!
You could argue that they're both as important as each other. But IMO too often "premier" midfielders gather 30+ disposals and only hit the target 65%... now this isn't taken from any expert statistician this is purely from watching games. I don't call kicking the ball 1 metre in front of a full-forward an effective kick, but statisticians do!
Well I know the brownlow isnt everything but here are this years top 10.
Bartel - Average speed
Black - Average speed
Harvey - Quicker than most
Kerr - Stamina rather than speed
Mitchell - Pretty slow
Swan - Pretty slow
Ablett - Quick
Goodes - long strides
Thompson - average speed
Brown - Forward.
Speed is not what makes a good player at all.
Take a bow, excellent point
When a team is chasing the ball, they always look slow :thumbsu:
Cheers mate.
Bartel - Average speed
Black - Average speed
Mitchell - Pretty slow
Swan - Pretty slow
Ablett - Quick
Goodes - long strides
Thompson - average speed
Brown - Forward.
That tells a pretty compelling story. Nice work.
Bartel - Average speed
Black - Average speed
Mitchell - Pretty slow
Swan - Pretty slow
Ablett - Quick
Goodes - long strides
Thompson - average speed
Brown - Forward.
Good post , but you are a bit tough of Dane Swan , He is faster (maybe because he just runs so hard) than you think.
sabre_ac
11 Oct 2007, 00:17
At the very least I would hope his name has been mentioned to see what other club's are willing to give up for him this week.
dont bowl there
11 Oct 2007, 02:18
Good post , but you are a bit tough of Dane Swan , He is faster (maybe because he just runs so hard) than you think.
Fair call, was probably a bit harsh on Swan but he is not even close to being a "speedster" like everyone is after. Speed is one of the most over-rated attributes in the AFL, handy to have but means nothing if you cant use the ball well.
Brett Peake would do well to remember that. I love the guy for carrying the ball so much, but you gotta make it count when you finally put it on the boot.
SupersonicDocker
11 Oct 2007, 04:26
I think murph will stay unless a very tempting offer is thrown up...
His value is indeed there, just had one of those years that many of our guys have had in past times... having tarrant join made a huge difference, he had to find a way to lead around Pav and Taz... you try it! more importantly when the players are kicking who do you think they will try and get it to first?
Rance and Palmer would indeed be a perfect result, whoever mentioned it was right, rance would have gone top ten two years ago or last years draft but the way it has worked out he will probably be 10-20...
Its good to have critical discussion but we cant be brutal toward a guy who kicked many a important goal for us in the past... plus he had corrective groin surgery last week for a problem he has carried since pre-season this year...
Id like to see us stick with the same 22 for a long period of time for once...
Dyslexic Emo
11 Oct 2007, 13:06
I think murph will stay unless a very tempting offer is thrown up...
His value is indeed there, just had one of those years that many of our guys have had in past times... having tarrant join made a huge difference, he had to find a way to lead around Pav and Taz... you try it! more importantly when the players are kicking who do you think they will try and get it to first?
Rance and Palmer would indeed be a perfect result, whoever mentioned it was right, rance would have gone top ten two years ago or last years draft but the way it has worked out he will probably be 10-20...
Its good to have critical discussion but we cant be brutal toward a guy who kicked many a important goal for us in the past... plus he had corrective groin surgery last week for a problem he has carried since pre-season this year...
Id like to see us stick with the same 22 for a long period of time for once...
Welcome to BigFooty Supersonic, with posts like this you'll have no trouble fitting in. Keep up the good work:thumbsu:
dockertor
11 Oct 2007, 13:18
Bartel - Average speed
Black - Average speed
Mitchell - Pretty slow
Swan - Pretty slow
Ablett - Quick
Goodes - long strides
Thompson - average speed
Brown - Forward.
Good point, However the problem with the Freo midfield this year is that we have not got the balance right, Too many slow small guys, They each are good players in their own right but we need the speedy guys to compliment them. We missed Brett Peake more than some people realise. Another couple of constant runners will make a big difference.
wehavethepassion
11 Oct 2007, 14:04
Good point, However the problem with the Freo midfield this year is that we have not got the balance right, Too many slow small guys, They each are good players in their own right but we need the speedy guys to compliment them. We missed Brett Peake more than some people realise. Another couple of constant runners will make a big difference.
Yes that is the key Constant/hard running midfielders