View Full Version : We will not be active. Unless we get an absolute corker
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 14:42
No trades unless they are beyond belief.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 14:44
Yeah pretty much summed up here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=384399
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 14:52
Yeah pretty much summed up here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=384399
But Murph will be at West Coast should they get what they are after.
Dont ask me how I know, because I wont tell you.
He has been offered a contract on the premise of all the cards falling West Coast's way with the Judd trade.
More cash, and a starting position.
NiGHTFuRY
10 Oct 2007, 14:57
He has been offered a contract on the premise of all the cards falling West Coast's way with the Judd trade.
Sause, Source, Origin Of Info?
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 15:00
Sause, Source, Origin Of Info?
Love.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 15:31
For what in return? You yourself just said "no trades unless they are beyond belief."
Is Murphy for Kerr beyond belief? I say it is. So anything less than that and they can stick it up their clackers (no more room up their noses... ;)). :thumbsu:
I thought Murph was in the "players that hate the weagles with a passion" boat. I am still firmly of the belief that we should never trade with our closest neighbours... it's just not right seeing our guys in their colours or vice versa. Seeing our blokes in the colours of teams from elsewhere, while taking a bit of getting used to at times, is no biggie... cos they "have moved away for more opportunity" or whatever spin gets put on it. But sending them up the road is too weird.
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 15:33
For what in return? You yourself just said "no trades unless they are beyond belief."
Is Murphy for Kerr beyond belief? I say it is. So anything less than that and they can stick it up their clackers (no more room up their noses... ;)). :thumbsu:
Picks.
See now you're making shit up again.
Are they going to give us pick 10 or whatever is their forst pick for Murphy?
I don't think so. Pick 3? Uh uh.
So if they get pick 20 and offer it I hope we say no too
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 15:37
Picks.
C'mon... more info required. How many picks? How high? Better be something better than the pick 20 they get from Carlton. Pick 13??
If they get Kennedy, why would they want Murphy as well... or is it a case of if they don't get Kennedy?
Murph as a swan, dee, dog, crow.. :thumbsu:
Murph as a weag... :thumbsd:
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 15:39
See now you're making shit up again.
Are they going to give us pick 10 or whatever is their forst pick for Murphy?
I don't think so. Pick 3? Uh uh.
So if they get pick 20 and offer it I hope we say no too
How exactly am I making up shit?
West Coast dont even know what picks they are getting.
Murphy has spoken to West Coast who have offered him more cash, and a starting position with a healthy pre-season.
Cant tell you what picks if they dont know what they have either.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 15:41
But you said he will be at West Coast if they get what they are after.
Murphy is contracted - how about we get what we are after? Which has to be better than pick 20.
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 15:44
But you said he will be at West Coast if they get what they are after.
Murphy is contracted - how about we get what we are after? Which has to be better than pick 20.
Does anyone even know what West Coast will get. So much water to go under the bridge, I am simply reporting what Murph has been told.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 15:47
Fair enough. However, if we are not trading unless it's "beyond belief", then they had better be prepared to part with their pick 13, or it doesn't qualify as "beyond belief"... even that is dodgy when putting that definition on it.
Roundhouse
10 Oct 2007, 15:50
How exactly am I making up shit?
West Coast dont even know what picks they are getting.
Murphy has spoken to West Coast who have offered him more cash, and a starting position with a healthy pre-season.
Cant tell you what picks if they dont know what they have either.
I know that their is a lack quality forwards at W.C. but I can't imagine them promising a starting spot to a guy whose form kept him out of our 22 for most of the year.
Pav for AA
10 Oct 2007, 15:50
Fair enough. However, if we are not trading unless it's "beyond belief", then they had better be prepared to part with their pick 13, or it doesn't qualify as "beyond belief"... even that is dodgy when putting that definition on it.
No offence, but you really think he's worth a first rounder.
Given he cant crack a regular AFL birth and had a very good, not outstanding year at Souths.
I think the best we could get is a 2nd round pick and an upgrade in the third round.
peppy la pew
10 Oct 2007, 15:52
It was rumoured earlier that Spud and Duffield were in talks with the cokers, i would not be the least surprised to see him in the blueanyella next year.
Until the Judd trade is finalised, we are left second guessing.
dockertor
10 Oct 2007, 15:54
A top 10 pick for Murph is not unbelievable. Say it got us one of the midfielders in the draft it would be a straight swap Murph for Palmer/Masten/whoever,
A promising but untried kid at this level for a forward who can cut it and has a great boot. Not a massively unbalanced trade at all. People overate draft picks.
Murph & Duffman for Eagles 2nd round pick & Sampi/Armstrong
?
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 16:55
Given he cant crack a regular AFL birth and had a very good, not outstanding year at Souths.
I think the best we could get is a 2nd round pick and an upgrade in the third round.
Is it "beyond belief"?
Do they want him in their starting 22? If they think he is worth that to them - then he is worth a first round draft pick to us. You have said they have promised him a place in their starting 22 - and now you're saying that he's only worth a second rounder cos he can't crack a regular AFL berth. But they've promised him a regular berth in their starting 22.
Sorry - not meaning to be difficult but you are contradicting yourself left, right and centre at the moment.
freocuz
10 Oct 2007, 19:42
What they want for Judd is 1 & 3, so if they get that I'd be quite happy to take one of those off their hands for Murphy. Either one, I don't care. If they get what they look like getting, 3 & 20, then if they think they can get Murphy for 20 I hope they are wrong. Might consider their existing pick 13 at a pinch. Otherwise, he's contracted to us and he can stay with us.
No deal.
Surely we wouldnt get Murphy if we get Kennedy.
If we were to try, pick 19 is about right for him IMO. You can probably have our third rounder aswell as we'd be passing on it anyway.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 19:54
Surely we wouldnt get Murphy if we get Kennedy.
If we were to try, pick 19 is about right for him IMO. You can probably have our third rounder aswell as we'd be passing on it anyway.
I agree on the Kennedy part - surely you wouldn't need both of these guys.
I would hope that if the offer is #19, Freo would say #13 or forget it. We don't need to trade him.
Either that, or if you get #1 and #3 - I'd happily package Murph and #7 for #3 and your 3rd rounder. :thumbsu: ;)
Maybe Kennedy (Doesn't want to go to WC) could come to us for Murphy?
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 19:56
That's a thought Rip - but I reckon we'd want a pick in there as well from somewhere. Maybe early 3rd rounder... what do Carlton have left?? ;)
Of course , or a pick upgrade.
We wouldn't want Kennedy...Campbell is better!
We need pace & long kicking & height in midfield....
Not sure if you've heard but theres some bloke named Chris Judd who might come on the market at some stage. Might be worth a gander :p:D
Memories
10 Oct 2007, 20:22
We wouldn't want Kennedy...Campbell is better!
I rate Campbell better than Kennedy also. I'm not sure why everyone keeps mentioning these tall KPP types we should look at getting when we have murphy and campbell (and even webster) unable to make our 22 already!
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 21:37
Not sure if you've heard but theres some bloke named Chris Judd who might come on the market at some stage. Might be worth a gander :p:D
I heard he's fixated on some botton dweller Melbourne club. :thumbsd: He mustn't be too good. Loser. :rolleyes:
chook2734
10 Oct 2007, 21:50
I rate Campbell better than Kennedy also. I'm not sure why everyone keeps mentioning these tall KPP types we should look at getting when we have murphy and campbell (and even webster) unable to make our 22 already!
Agreed Memories. Everyone wants us to focus on development of our young players but then just wants to trade them away? If we MUST trade Murphy, surely it will be for either a very, very good pick to help us get a midfielder, or a very talented, young midfielder. Nothing else makes any sense.
wehavethepassion
10 Oct 2007, 22:23
The Soufs - Slime connection is very strong. Slappo would be feeding info re Tatter back to his mate woosha. Obviously if this rumour is more of a trumour then they(the slime) think Tatter could be of value in front of the sticks. lets face it, Hansen is injury prone and the Q can't do it all be himself.
We don't need to trade tatter I think he should he groomed for Fullback unless they cough up at least #13 and Mcnamara
thebaxters
10 Oct 2007, 23:44
I think he's worth a first rounder if the team that wants him thinks he is. Fitting into their 22 would suggest they think he is. Trade smart, trade high. If we don't need to get rid of him, and what we would get in return doesn't benefit us immediately (FWIW, I think a Murphy for Kennedy swap would be good for us, but you can't ontrade...), then can't see why we'd want to do it. Particularly in an allegedly thin draft by late 2nd/3rd round. I would be asking for late first round, or "no thanks".
I hope we're not just trading him to keep our name in lights at the trade table now WCE will go down as the "team that gave up the most for a trade ever". They are getting monstered by the whole Judd scenario.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:21
West Coast could offer him a 51% share of microsoft and the captaincy and it wouldn't matter unless they have a suitable deal lined up for Fremantle.
They won't be trading mids after losing Judd and Morton and they won't be getting Murphy for a second round pick. No deal.
DCFCFAN84
11 Oct 2007, 13:56
Yeah he is worth pick 13 IMO especially with West Coasts horrible forward line.
estibador
11 Oct 2007, 14:13
If they want him they can pay through the nose for him, otherwise they can't have him. It's as simple as that. I'd rather send him over east for a third rounder than to the eagles for a second rounder.
I'd prefer it if we never ever do another trade with the eagles. Ever.
Yeah he is worth pick 13 IMO especially with West Coasts horrible forward line.
I don't think he is worth 13.
I also agree never trade with the Eagles.
dont bowl there
11 Oct 2007, 19:56
I don't think he is worth 13.
I also agree never trade with the Eagles.
He is worth 13 to a team that needs a key forward, ffs Collingwood gave up pick 14 for a nuffy ruckman.
weagles_fan
11 Oct 2007, 20:00
Am I correct in saying Murphy is under contract still? Am I also correct in saying he wants out now? These things being as they are why would Freo want to keep him? He is not in their best 22 and he is not happy. The market should determine his worth ala Judd. If pick 20 is the best Freo can get then they should accept it, not reject it just because it came from your rivals.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 20:04
Am I correct in saying Murphy is under contract still? Am I also correct in saying he wants out now? These things being as they are why would Freo want to keep him? He is not in their best 22 and he is not happy. The market should determine his worth ala Judd. If pick 20 is the best Freo can get then they should accept it, not reject it just because it came from your rivals.
He is contracted, so we are under no obligation to trade him. He can either sulk about it, or pull his finger out and play the best season of his career so far.
To trade him would mean accepting an offer that is "beyond belief" or an "absolute corker". ie. give us your pick 13 and we'll deal. Pick 20 doesn't cut it when we don't have to trade him.
weagles_fan
11 Oct 2007, 20:06
He is contracted, so we are under no obligation to trade him. He can either sulk about it, or pull his finger out and play the best season of his career so far.
To trade him would mean accepting an offer that is "beyond belief" or an "absolute corker". ie. give us your pick 13 and we'll deal. Pick 20 doesn't cut it when we don't have to trade him.Yes but if you don't trade him he may create a bad dressing room atmosphere, and then when he actually decides to leave after his contract his over he might say screw you I'm going in the PSD and Freo won't get anything.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 20:09
Yes but if you don't trade him he may create a bad dressing room atmosphere, and then when he actually decides to leave after his contract his over he might say screw you I'm going in the PSD and Freo won't get anything.
If he wants to skunk it, then he'll only be hurting himself. If he wants to play AFL footy and establish himself in a decent career then he should pull his finger out and get angry. But I don't think we should trade someone now for "whatever we can get" in fear of what he might do next year.
He is worth 13 to a team that needs a key forward, ffs Collingwood gave up pick 14 for a nuffy ruckman.
Why do WC need a forward? ...they may not have a Pav type but they do have Lynch, Hansen, Staker and now Kennedy - unlike the Bulldogs it just does not seem to be an obvious defieciency to me.
Wood is more than a nuffy ruckman too.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 20:18
Why do WC need a forward? ...they may not have a Pav type but they do have Lynch, Hansen, Staker and now Kennedy - unlike the Bulldogs it just does not seem to be an obvious defieciency to me.
Wood is more than a nuffy ruckman too.
I would have thought that their interest in Murph has waned now that they have Kennedy. Maybe he was on their radar before Kennedy decided to move.
Yes but if you don't trade him he may create a bad dressing room atmosphere, and then when he actually decides to leave after his contract his over he might say screw you I'm going in the PSD and Freo won't get anything.
Can't say I am too worried what the atmosphere is like in the South Fremantle dressing room.
If he walks next year he walks. Big deal. I would rather see him walk to the worst team in the competition next year than boost up a rivals forward line this year for a junk draft pick.
weagles_fan
11 Oct 2007, 20:20
Can't say I am too worried what the atmosphere is like in the South Fremantle dressing room.
If he walks next year he walks. Big deal. I would rather see him walk to the worst team in the competition next year than boost up a rivals forward line this year for a junk draft pick.20 is not junk it's one of the first 2nd round picks...
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 20:22
20 is not junk it's one of the first 2nd round picks...
But 13 is better. ;)
20 is not junk it's one of the first 2nd round picks...
Keep telling yourself that. Sure you might jag something good, you might jag some thing good with pick 46, but in a supposedly week draft anything outside the first round is junk.
weagles_fan
11 Oct 2007, 20:26
Well happy hunting WC wont be trading 3 or 13.
Roundhouse
11 Oct 2007, 20:29
You are wrong in saying he wants out now.
That's great for you.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 20:30
Hey Numnuts - your lot are the ones who want him... we're not trying to fob him on to you... :rolleyes:
If you want him, but you're happy to miss out... well good for you. :thumbsu:
weagles_fan
11 Oct 2007, 20:32
You are wrong in saying he wants out now.Hello Ryan Murphy. :)
Go and take your meds.