View Full Version : Chris Johnson to St Kilda

Oh When the Saints
10 Oct 2007, 21:22
Just reported on SEN that Chris Johnson is likely to be traded to St Kilda, most probably for pick #43.

Thoughts? What is he like as a player? Upside?

dazzledavey36
10 Oct 2007, 21:24
god i hope not!

Yze13
10 Oct 2007, 21:28
Yeah ,he struggled to play in our side this year played only a handfull of games (8, i think).He could be a very good player if given the oppotunity,can play any where from the HBF , to the middle of the ground haven't seen him play much footy up forward .There's an article on him on the offical website.

master bate
10 Oct 2007, 21:33
Good left footed wingman (my preference)/half back. Had extremely limited opportunities in the last two years but it is often because he doesn't deserve them, goes back to the 2's and doesn't produce before dominating a game and getting back in the team. Solid pace, queries over hardness, probably mental as well as physical. Perfect player to be traded and 43 is what he is worth (for pick 50 I'd say no, for pick 30 I'd let him be yours in a flash). Type of player that if he ends up playing good footy at the saints (which he may or may not do) it doesn't mean he would have done the same at the dees.

Oh When the Saints
10 Oct 2007, 21:35
Thanks for the honest appraisal.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/tabId/7415/default.aspx?newsId=26475

^^ Interesting read.

TheBrownDog
10 Oct 2007, 21:40
Whew!

I forgot there was another one.

I thought for a second that the last Royboy was doing a Mal on us! :eek:

dutchy12
10 Oct 2007, 21:51
I don't know if Im so happy about this one.True he hasn't shown anything but he's still a young un. Oh well club knows what their doing

Marns
10 Oct 2007, 22:01
Initial reaction is that I'm not sure if I'm happy with #43 as compensation. CJ hasn't done a lot, but I wouldn't mind working on him rather than starting over with another kid.

Mind you, we can draft. If we can pull another Bartram out of the bag I'd be happy with it.

CaptainDavey
10 Oct 2007, 22:04
What are his footskills like? Say if TJ leaves...Maybe that could open up a spot for him?

melbournemartin
10 Oct 2007, 23:02
Sounds like a waste. I'd rather send him to Collingwood as part of a Johnstone trade so we can get something a bit more than #14 out of them.

Big Aus
10 Oct 2007, 23:23
What are his footskills like? Say if TJ leaves...Maybe that could open up a spot for him?

I rate his foot skills...best part of his game...with a bit of time he will be ok whoever he plays for. Simon Buckley looks to have a bit more going for him at this stage

melbournemartin
10 Oct 2007, 23:36
Buckley at least gets a bit of the ball which is good. CJ just never seems to be able to unleash his beautiful kick.

Getting Shaw and losing CJ doesn't seems like a bit of a loss. Both do as much atm (nearly nothing) yet one is a lot younger and has more potential.

Deenamite
11 Oct 2007, 08:24
Buckley at least gets a bit of the ball which is good. CJ just never seems to be able to unleash his beautiful kick.

Getting Shaw and losing CJ doesn't seems like a bit of a loss. Both do as much atm (nearly nothing) yet one is a lot younger and has more potential.

Rhyce Shaw is actually quite a useful player. CJ has great disposal but finds it very hard to win his own ball at AFL level. In saying this, I'd want more than 43 for him. Yes I'm picky.

TJ is GOD
11 Oct 2007, 08:57
I think given a decent stint in the team CJ could be a really valuale contributor..... great left foot kick and he's only 21. Bailey should try to develop him and give him some real responsibility.

As for Rhys Shaw, mate if you cant get a game at Collingwood then you're no good to us. I dont rate him and the las thing we need is another clubs offcuts.

eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 10:00
Dont wanna let CJ for pick 43.
If it was a deal to good to be true like a pick 20 i would take it, but his young and just need a little more time to develop. hopefully he gets a decent go with Bails as coach.

Flashhh
11 Oct 2007, 15:52
pick 43... no thanks. he is young, relatively quick and he would go higher than 43 in this years draft.... early 30's maybe. There is no point trading a young guy who has the potential to be a good player for a late pick just because heis yet to do anything.

KTLK
11 Oct 2007, 16:09
pick 43... no thanks. he is young, relatively quick and he would go higher than 43 in this years draft.... early 30's maybe. There is no point trading a young guy who has the potential to be a good player for a late pick just because heis yet to do anything.

If it was Jamar for Pick 43 to St Kilda, I will take it. This is to make up for the lost of Pick 37.

dalethomas13
11 Oct 2007, 21:51
What is CJ like? Ch 7 reported Rhyce Shaw's future is still uncertain and i think Melb are in the picture somehow. I'm not expecting draft picks in return if a trade goes through but i don't know why- i'm just starting to think that a straight swap could be on the cards. Anyway it wouldn't bother me if this didn't go through but just wanted to know your thoughts on CJ and whether or not he will be traded.

Cheers.

Oh and please don't give me crap like- only if we get a first rounder for him etc like Freo fans said about Byron Schammer. They even demanded a top 5 or top 10 pick because "that's his worth to them"- lol.

TelkoTheGreat
11 Oct 2007, 21:53
Yer only if we get a 1st rounder for him

dalethomas13
11 Oct 2007, 21:54
Yer only if we get a 1st rounder for him
lol very original.

master bate
11 Oct 2007, 22:03
What is CJ like? Ch 7 reported Rhyce Shaw's future is still uncertain and i think Melb are in the picture somehow. I'm not expecting draft picks in return if a trade goes through but i don't know why- i'm just starting to think that a straight swap could be on the cards. Anyway it wouldn't bother me if this didn't go through but just wanted to know your thoughts on CJ and whether or not he will be traded.

Cheers.

Oh and please don't give me crap like- only if we get a first rounder for him etc like Freo fans said about Byron Schammer. They even demanded a top 5 or top 10 pick because "that's his worth to them"- lol.Most of us aren't stupid and realise that a bloke who can't get a regular game isn't worth a first rounder. For pick 25 he's yours, for pick 50 he's not, for something in the middle then we can negotiate. See above for my thoughts on him.
Due to delistings we need to take 5 picks in this draft, trading Chris Johnson would make it 6, and after 4, 14, and 21 we have 53 and 69. So for the actual trade. 47 + 63 for CJ and 69 might do it for me (cause you wont give up 31). Similarly for the saints it would be 42 and 58 for CJ and 69.

Deenamite
12 Oct 2007, 19:44
Well this deal fell through...

clarke_rubber
15 Oct 2007, 23:47
Ahh yes he's one of those hacks with the same initials as Juddy. Poor fella having to live up to all that expectation.

mad-saint-guy
16 Oct 2007, 00:01
I'm guessing that one of Johnstone or Johnson was to be traded. With Johnstone gone Johnson might get a regular gig as an outside midfielder.

dee-molishon
16 Oct 2007, 07:38
chris johnson = aaron fiora...............at least we didnt take c.j at a pick ahead of pavlich though

theJUICE
16 Oct 2007, 21:17
i dont think it was a wise decision to trade both johnstone and johnson as CJ is a very nice kick of the footy and could have filled the hole which TJ has left in years to come. should have persisted with him for a few more i reckon.

only upside i can see for trading both - commentators will no longer arouse confusion when calling melbourne games.