View Full Version : Is our list that good?
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2007, 23:50
That we don't need to make any adjustments during this trade period?
There are a number of fairly big names / decent players on the table... and we seem to be quite happy to stay out of it all.
I'm not necessarily saying we need to make huge changes - and I absolutely agree 100% with not trading our 1st and 2nd round picks... but I'm just wondering whether a bit of tweaking of the list might not be a good idea. Amon Buchanon, Travis Johnstone even, might be worth a look - then there's Hadley and Moody from Brisbane. Murphy seems to be the player with the most currency that we (as supporters) would consider trading.
Again, I'm not necesarily advocating change - I think with a fit Schammer and Peake, and a full pre-season in Crowley, Hase and Blackie; and the availability of Jeffrey, and a few more games into Foster, Ibbotson, Brock - and hopefully an injury-free Dunn... we just need a bit more Luck than we had last season and we will certainly be better off than an 11th placed finish. :mad: :thumbsd: :(
... but is our list that good that we can sit out of trade week altogether?
If not a player, then I'd like to see us score another pick somewhere in the 1st or early second round... by all accounts it's going to be slim pickings by the time our pick 40 rolls around - and 4-5 rookie picks will likely only nett us a couple of long-term players if we are honest with ourselves...
Anyway - these are just some ramblings... just to generate a bit of discussion in a trade week dominated by the deserting captain of the bluenyella peril... ;)
Reasonable if mostly everyone stays fit , and a couple of the young blokes step up a bit I would have thought.
Interesting to check out the Doig thread it give a bit of an insight there how the players are actually rated by the match committee , who in all fairness are better at that sort of thing than We supporters.
One thing that has hit me in the eye is just how ordinary a lot of our players are (not skillwise) in comparison to Solly.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:05
The problem IP is that talented midfielders in their early 20's cost an arm and a leg. Even older midfielders with obvious flaws would cost more than we want to give up. Melbourne would probably want Murphy and our 2nd round pick for Johnstone.
If Harvey has decided that Murphy, Schammer, Warnock and our first two picks won't be traded what do we have to trade with?
NiGHTFuRY
11 Oct 2007, 00:05
Amon Buchanon would be a interesting addition...
I think the only tradeable commodity on our list is Murphy...if that gets us a Top 20 pick or a Bolton or Schneider...do it.
Otherwise, I think Harv's is hoping he can mould the list & get players that perhpas didn't improve this year....to improve dramatically in 2008, a-la Geelong.
Browne - not trade material
Campbell - worth persisting & given more opportunity
MCarr - not trade material
Crowley - would be worth only a 2nd rounder & not worth it in this draft, is 1 player who Harvey will be pinning hopes on a 25-40% improvement for 2008
Drum - See Crowley
Duffield - little trade worth
Dunn - not trade material
Haddrill - not trade material
Mundy - Key backman, Harvey will be hoping for a 25% improvement 2008
Murphy - tradeable but for right price, late 1st rounder or player of quality
Schammer - Will be pencilled in for key midfield role with full pre-season, 40% improvement required for 2008
Walker - not trade material
webster - not trade material
Warnock - untouchable
So yes, I guess we do think our list of core players are good as the rest are untouchables & the ones listed are either untouchable, not trade worthy or can improve a significant amount.
Only 3rd/4th round picks would be available for trades so that lowers our chances significantly of snatching so-called top liners.
Saying that...if it's true that the Saints are getting Schneider for Pick 28 or similar....what were we doing? I'd trade our 2nd pick for Schneider Man in a 2nd...Murphy even for that matter!
Cheetah
11 Oct 2007, 00:08
Reasonable if mostly everyone stays fit , and a couple of the young blokes step up a bit I would have thought.
Interesting to check out the Doig thread it give a bit of an insight there how the players are actually rated by the match committee , who in all fairness are better at that sort of thing than We supporters.
One thing that has hit me in the eye is just how ordinary a lot of our players are (not skillwise) in comparison to Solly.
Yeah gotta love Solly, he's been a great pickup.
sabre_ac
11 Oct 2007, 00:19
Amazing isn't it.
Two super draft's when people are hanging onto to their pick's we are the biggest traders....Suddenly a weak shallow draft and we are sitting back.
I would like to see at the very least we attempt a pick upgrade.
wehavethepassion
11 Oct 2007, 00:22
Sheer madness when I read on other threads where suporters would contemplate trading Nockers in 2008. Mobile big men who can bend down and pick up the ball and deliver it with skill are priceless(not to mention their rucking ability)Also why o why are we contemplating wanting a 29 yr in mark Johnson??We need with #7 & #24 midfielderrs with paceand/or stamina
Yes IP Tatter is the only player with currency but then again why not keep him and let Wallis, Bond & harvey lose on him during preseason either he's going to accept the challenge or sook it and spend a lot of time with Soufs.
He worth a first rounder at least.
I agree harvey is expecting the improvement shown by the likes of Crowley, Schammer, Barru, peake, johnno, mundy in the surge of 2006 (but sagnated in 2007)to reoccur in 2008. Throw in the enthusiasim of newbies in Fossie, Ibbo and O'brien and the possibility of a fit Dunn(wildcard)a climb up the ladder is a distinct probability.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:26
Amazing isn't it.
Two super draft's when people are hanging onto to their pick's we are the biggest traders....Suddenly a weak shallow draft and we are sitting back.
Pick upgrades are crap unless you are going to go from say 15 to 5. If we trade Murphy and 7 for pick 4 the player that we take at 4 could slide to 7 anyway. Murphy's a great example, those in the know had him 2nd or even 3rd round and we took him at 12. Swallow was expected to go first round and fell to 43.
I'd rather have picks 7 and 17 than pick 4.
sumavich
11 Oct 2007, 00:26
Sheer madness when I read on other threads where suporters would contemplate trading Nockers in 2008. Mobile big men who can bend down and pick up the ball and deliver it with skill are priceless(not to mention their rucking ability)Also why o why are we contemplating wanting a 29 yr in mark Johnson??We need with #7 & #24 midfielderrs with paceand/or stamina
Yes IP Tatter is the only player with currency but then again why not keep him and let Wallis, Bond & harvey lose on him during preseason either he's going to accept the challenge or sook it and spend a lot of time with Soufs.
I agree harvey is expecting the improvement shown by the likes of Crowley, Schammer, Barru, peake, johnno, mundy in the surge of 2006 (but sagnated in 2007)to reoccur in 2008. Throw in the enthusiasim of newbies in Fossie, Ibbo and O'brien and the possibility of a fit Dunn(wildcard)a climb up the ladder is a distinct probability.
List is good enough. Its just that our playing group needs to be scared that the coaching staff will react to bad games. And now they will !!
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:29
Sheer madness when I read on other threads where suporters would contemplate trading Nockers in 2008.
I'm sure the eagles weren't contemplating trading Judd twelve months ago, but shit happens. We'd all love to see Warnie play 200 games for Fremantle.
No need to think negatively worrying about Warnock leaving, if I was 20 living away from home I'd be homesick too, but give another year to settle in . .
If he still wants to go next year then so be it.
8/10 players stay despite the rumours.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 00:35
I was going to post that earlier today actually. What I would really like to see with Murph is for him to have the challenge thrown down to him.
Work your arse off and entrench yourself in the 22 - or be a wuss and play WAFL all year. If he chooses WAFL - then trade him for a 3rd rounder at the end of 2008. At least the coaches won't die wondering whether or not they gave him every opportunity to make it at Freo.
Unless someone offered us a top 15 pick before Friday 2pm... then I'd pack him off. ;)
Tundrawolf
11 Oct 2007, 00:38
Amazing isn't it.
I'd be very disappointed if we didn't try to get an earlier pick or two. There are a half a dozen or so good midfielders in the draft, I think we should be looking at getting at least two of them. Picks 7 and 24 wont cut it!!
I think our list is a couple or so players shy of being a real threat.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:39
I was going to post that earlier today actually. What I would really like to see with Murph is for him to have the challenge thrown down to him.
Work your arse off and entrench yourself in the 22 - or be a wuss and play WAFL all year. If he chooses WAFL - then trade him for a 3rd rounder at the end of 2008. At least the coaches won't die wondering whether or not they gave him every opportunity to make it at Freo.
Unless someone offered us a top 15 pick before Friday 2pm... then I'd pack him off. ;)
Surely though if you work with someone every day you know if they are driven and determined or soft and full of shit? If Harvey thinks that Murphy will rise to the challenge, retain him. If he looks for excuses and blames others then ship him off.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:43
I'd be very disappointed if we didn't try to get an earlier pick or two. There are a half a dozen or so good midfielders in the draft, I think we should be looking at getting at least two of them. Picks 7 and 24 wont cut it!!
I think our list is a couple or so players shy of being a real threat.\
Clubs don't give away top ten picks. Who you trading to get it? McPharlin? Sandilands?
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 00:44
Surely though if you work with someone every day you know if they are driven and determined or soft and full of shit? If Harvey thinks that Murphy will rise to the challenge, retain him. If he looks for excuses and blames others then ship him off.
Well I guess the next 12 months will tell either way.
I was keen to offload him for a while but have changed my mind. He really has never been given a chance to settle, still young and despite a couple of brain fades/attitude worries he still looks as though he has potential. A new coach may prove the difference. Unless as you suggest something tempting say a <20 pick was offered, may as well keep him and if worst he is average we'll get a later pick next year.
dominguez
11 Oct 2007, 00:56
Well I guess the next 12 months will tell either way.
That's sitting on the fence, you've got to take a gamble. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNnrTNFWcsg&mode=related&search=)
Either he has a big future and we retain him or take the best offer now. Another season like this year would see him worth pick 40+. We hung onto Polak for a year too long, Harvey has to either back himself to get the most out of him or send him home now.
I hear where you are coming from Dom, but I don't think there is much point in offloading him for the sake of it (Abraham for Anderson?), if a good pick or a type of player we need is offered then yes, think about it.
Bradesmaen
11 Oct 2007, 01:03
I want to see him play next year, all year as a FF, 3 talls can fit on most grounds. I want Drum at CHB too... or wingman, whichever.
chook2734
11 Oct 2007, 01:47
Every year we complain about trading too much, now we are complaining because we aren't trading? Damned if you do and damned if you don't! What would it take for us to part with pick 7? You have to remember that that is what other clubs will want in exchange before they are willing to part with their first rounders too.
I'm a Murph fan, but I do believe he has mostly himself to blame for this year. However, I also think he deserves the chance to have another go next year - he's only young, let's see if he learns from his mistakes. Too many young guys have been moved on or taken the easy option of moving on from Freo only to take a new attitude into a new club - why not give Murphy the opportunity of a fresh start at Freo under the new coaching regime? The club has put 4 years of development into him and if he gets his head right, he will be a very good forward for at least 6-8 years - I reckon Grover and McPharlin would rather he was on their team, than having to line up against him.
Keyser Soze
11 Oct 2007, 03:01
I'm sick of reading threads on Judd so I'll impart my stupidity on you lot for a moment.
Players being traded are seemingly getting second round draft picks (Mattner for 28 for example) or late first rounders (Johnstone). Someone like Murphy would probably get you early 20's, late teens at best so unless another club is seriously chasing one of your players I think it would be better for you to keep them.
On the other side, whilst there are some handy names being bandied about for trade, you've been to that well often in the past. No way should you trade pick 7 or 24 they should be reserved for young midfielders (one of Masten or Palmer will still be around at 7). Pick 40 might be useful as a trade in the same way Solomon was picked up cheaply last year.
My 2 cents.
I'm sick of reading threads on Judd so I'll impart my stupidity on you lot for a moment.
Players being traded are seemingly getting second round draft picks (Mattner for 28 for example) or late first rounders (Johnstone). Someone like Murphy would probably get you early 20's, late teens at best so unless another club is seriously chasing one of your players I think it would be better for you to keep them.
On the other side, whilst there are some handy names being bandied about for trade, you've been to that well often in the past. No way should you trade pick 7 or 24 they should be reserved for young midfielders (one of Masten or Palmer will still be around at 7). Pick 40 might be useful as a trade in the same way Solomon was picked up cheaply last year.
My 2 cents.
Well said KS, totally agree with that analysis. As for you being sick of Judd talk for once in 12 years I totally feel sorry for you lot:eek:. Those scabby pricks at Carlton trying to rip the Eagles for arguably the comps best player :thumbsd:, they don't even wont to give up the no 1 pick they recieved by milking the system :thumbsd: