View Full Version : Top 5 Memories since you have been a supporter?

Bubbles DeVere
11 Oct 2007, 14:05
Just wondering what everyones favourite moments in there living memory are? Obvious what no. 1 will be but it will be interesting to see how they differ based on age.

I am 30 so mine are

5. 1st semi final 1989 v Melbourne. We got flogged by Essendon the week before so the pressure was on. My first ever final I saw live involving the Cats, we won by 63 points and Gazza was brilliant.

4. The day Ablett anounced he was coming back in 1991. I was at the footy up in Deniliquin and the news was filtering in on the the radio. went home and it was the first story on the news that night. I cried tears of joy.

3. 1989 preliminary final v Essendon. 94 points victory into our 1st Gf in 22 years. Possibly Abletts greatest game ever.

2. 1994 preliminary final v North. The best game I have ever been too. Buddha was outstanding and of course Garys hand of God at the end. Amazing

1. Obvious, the 2007 GF. Nothing more needs to be said!!!

Cheshire Cat
11 Oct 2007, 14:13
I'm 23, been a Cat fan since 1989

1. 2007 Premiership.

2. 2007 PF v Collingwood - pretty much the premiership decider. So tense, I've never been so relieved after the siren in my life.

3. 1994 PF v North Melbourne - the Hand of God :D Gary took a mark with about 6 secs to go and kicked it to put us into the Grandy. Best game ever

4. 1994 QF v Footscray - "BILLY, YOU ARE KING OF GEELONG!" Still gives me goosebumps.

5. 1989 PF v Essendon - My first final. Smashed 'em. Gaz on fire, great times. :thumbsu:

rizzo
11 Oct 2007, 14:14
5- Ablett to Ablett goal (Nathans first match)
4- Billys goal after the siren 94 SF (?)
3- Abletts 10 in 89 ( i was 1, but have seen the dvd many times)
2- Ablett in 1994 PF
1- 2007 Grand Final

Dawn2Dark
11 Oct 2007, 14:17
Here are my favourite moments. I'm 21 so don't really have any recollection until the 90's.

5. G. Ablett 'Hand of God'

4. Billy Brownless goal in the final v Footscray

3. 2007 Rnd 21 G. Ablett JNR goal in the dying seconds v Port Adelaide

2. 2007 PF v Collingwood

1. 2007 GF

Apart from the 2007 GF, PF & Rnd 21 which i witnessed, the other moments i remember watching as a kid on tele :o usually followed by Hey hey it's saturday haha brings back good feelings

Cheshire Cat
11 Oct 2007, 14:41
Here are my favourite moments. I'm 21 so don't really have any recollection until the 90's.

5. G. Ablett 'Hand of God'

4. Billy Brownless goal in the final v Footscray

3. 2007 Rnd 21 G. Ablett JNR goal in the dying seconds v Port Adelaide

2. 2007 PF v Collingwood

1. 2007 GF

Apart from the 2007 GF, PF & Rnd 21 which i witnessed, the other moments i remember watching as a kid on tele :o usually followed by Hey hey it's saturday haha brings back good feelings

Should have been goal of the year.

Dawn2Dark
11 Oct 2007, 14:49

I know!!! so much pressure!! I've never been so excited at the footy even though it was short lived. I was able to enjoy watching a geelong losing replay for the first time..well the last quarter, because of that goal :thumbsu:

Jim Boy
11 Oct 2007, 14:50
Hard to limit them but a few choice ones

5 1987 v Sydney at SCG. Sydney was in awsome form having kicked 30 goals or more at their last 3 SCG matches, including a 27 goal thrashing of Essendon. At 3/4 time, we were down by five goals. At the 20 minutes mark we were still down by around 26 points, but then Lindner went ballistic and starting kicking goals from the centre of the ground and we won by 9 points

4 1980 v North at KP. Good crowd turned up but then the heavens opened and their wouldn't have been more than 1000 people on the windsock wing by half time. Close match until half time, unfortunately for North their half time score was also their full time score. I got soaked but loved every second of it.

3 1992 v WCE at Subiaco. My first and only trip to Subi, Geelong had never won there and looked unlikely after Buddha rolled his ankle a couple of days before the match whilst playing kick to kick with some kids during his garbo run. Ablett was superb and just to stand in the midst of the eagles supporters with no Geelong supporters nearby made it very special.

2 1994 Qualification final v Bulldogs. Enough said about this match, but I was sitting right behind the goals up in the top deck. When Billy was lining up, I wanted to kick straight in my direction. He didn't let me down.

BigKegs
11 Oct 2007, 16:11
Let me see, 2002 Vs Carlton - Peter Riccardi goal after the siren.

maculosus
11 Oct 2007, 16:20
While a supporter for decades I've only been to one game so my favourite or most exciting moments aren't from games necessarily.

5. Gary Ablett in the 89 GF
4. When Gary Ablett Jr was drafted
3. When Nathan Ablett confirmed he would come to Geelong
2. Gary Ablett's goal v Port in the final quarter this year (cause I was there)
1. The premiership

Scorpio
11 Oct 2007, 16:28
5. 2007 v Richmond at Telstra Dome - Yeah the Tigers were bad but 153 points is nothing to sneeze at. We were all pretty down having lost to the Kangaroos the week before and the knives were being sharpened for Bomber. Then we all came together and laughed ourselves silly at Richmond. They let us dominate and we never looked back for the remainder of the year.

4. 1994 PF v North Melbourne - Being about 7 I wasn't there and was listening on the radio at home. I kept running out of the room during the last quarter but came back just in time to hear the great man take that wonderful mark.

3. 2007 PF v Collingwood - I was more nervous about this then I was for the GF. All the good work from the previous 18 weeks would've been erased and we would have been a laughing stock. And of course it would have been Collingwood that would have done it to us. Honestly we all have put up with alot as Cats supporters, but that would've taken the cake.I will be forever greatful that we avoided that sort of brutal pain.

2. 1997 v North Melbourne - Not the final obviously, but earlier in the year. Mainly just because it was the one and only time I got to represent the Cats in the Little League. We also won by less than a goal after being behind for most of the game. I remember somebody pulled off the tackle of the season to deny North the winning goal.

1. 2007 GF v Port. Was there. Was good.

Dawn2Dark
11 Oct 2007, 16:29
While a supporter for decades I've only been to one game so my favourite or most exciting moments aren't from games necessarily.

5. Gary Ablett in the 89 GF
4. When Gary Ablett Jr was drafted
3. When Nathan Ablett confirmed he would come to Geelong
2. Gary Ablett's goal v Port in the final quarter this year (cause I was there)
1. The premiership

You picked an awesome 1st cats game to go to, shame it was also the game to end 15 in a row!

eliiiiza
11 Oct 2007, 16:34
I'm 18, but have only seen four seasons - been a member for two though.

5. When we played Richmond at Skilled Stadium in... 2005. My first footy match. Sat on the wing in the new stand, about two rows back. It wasn't a very interesting game, but I was so excited. Think we won by a point or something.

4. NAB Cup GF. Was at a 21st in Lambys, but I made sure I caught as much of the game as I could.

3. Gary's goal against Port this year. Never felt such euphoria... Til the Prelim Final, that is.

2. Prelim final win against Collingwood. Nervous all week about the game to the point of nausea, and when the siren went, we all screamed and jumped around hugging each other. Good to rub it in my boyfriend's face too. :D

1. The big one of course (Shannon's goal being a big part of it ;))! Being there was awesome and so surreal.

Solstice Raver
11 Oct 2007, 16:43
OK. I've been a tragic Cats man for 27 years. Here are my top moments:

#5 Mark Blakes first (and second goal). I was so happy I almost teared up. Been wanting & wishing it all season. Was absolute gold.

#4 Geelong v Essendon 1993 (I think). I was at the game and saw Gaz kick 14 (and Salmon kick 10) and we lost but it was still one of the best games I've been to.

#3 Billy, you are the king of Geelong!!!

#2 Geelong v North Melb, Prelim 1994. Nuf said. Still tear up when I watch it.

#1 2007 Premiership.

D0nk
11 Oct 2007, 17:01
#5 Johnno winning the Norm Smith in the 2007 GF
#4 Otto's run down the wing in the 2007 GF.
#3 Chappys SCREAMER in the 2007 GF!
#2 Otto's chase on Pettigrew in the 2007 GF.
#1 2007 Premiership

Sorry, I can't think about much else atm.

Moonos21
11 Oct 2007, 17:13
5. Austin McCrabb having a shot for goal from the pocket in a Ressies game circa 91. Decided to centre the ball so passed it to Gavin Excell about 4 metres away!
4. Pumping Essendon in the 89 Prelim Final sitting with my brother and all his mates who all follow Essendon
3. Watching us play under Blight. Even though the opposition would kick 20 goals, we'd still win by 100 points!
2. Pumping Richmond in (insert year)
1. Watching G Ablett Snr play every week.

Not including the granny cause that's obvious.

Skeppersap
11 Oct 2007, 17:29
These arent necessarily the best memories, just the 7 that stick in my mind the most:

7. Optus oval, Rnd 2 2004. Geelong got SMASHED by Carlton, after such high hopes (nearly winning the wizard cup), this match was demoralizing.
6. Being at the final Vs Brisbane in 2005 when Geelong got SO close to winning. Felt shattered!
5. Being there When Gaz Sr kicked his 1000th goal against Fremantle.
4. Being at the 1994 final when Billy kicked the goal after the siren
3. Being knocked out by Sydney in 2005 due to Nick Davis. Watched this in my hotel room in Vietnam, punched the walls and hurt my hand. Went for a walk afterwards and got REALLY angry at all the people asking me if i wanted to ride on their Cyclos.
2. Gary Ablett Snrs Hand Of God mark to get us into the 94 GF
1. Being at the 2007 GF!!!!!!!!!!

G.F.C
11 Oct 2007, 17:34
5 - Abletts hanger on Pert at the MCG. I jumped out of my seat and was jumping up and down for about 2 mins afterwards. Best mark i've ever seen live.

4 - Billy, you are the King Of Geelong

3 - Ablett to Ablett. The place went bannanas. A real special "Geelong" moment.

2 - Tudor over the top to Gaz.

1 - The whole 2007 season. Just an amazing journey.

bingle
11 Oct 2007, 17:45
26 years old

5. The day i went to my first Geelong match and saw us beat StKilda by 3 points in the first round of the Fosters Cup on a Wednesday night at Waverley. One G Ablett took one of the best speckies if seen to this day

4. Ricco's run along the wing in the 94 PF to be followed by the already mentioned "Hand of God"

3. Our five game winning streak at the end of the 93 season. i swear to this day we were a red hot premiership chance had we have made the 6.

2. 2007 Premiership, was fortunate enough to witness it in person, feel very blessed to be apart of history. what a fantastic day.

1. Sitting in the pocket at the MCG watching Gary snr in his twilight snap the winner right in front of me against the all concuring blues in 96. Magical moment. Didn't see much of Gary snr live but this moment got to me.

vc_viking
11 Oct 2007, 19:05
5. Riccardi's goal on the siren against Carlton at Telstra Dome.
4. Milburn's ripper bump on that fag boy SOS
3. When Geelong smashed Carlton this year
2. When Carlton were smashed in 2005
1. Premiership

Carlton are tankers not to mention wankers.

vc_viking
11 Oct 2007, 19:06
1. Sitting in the pocket at the MCG watching Gary snr in his twilight snap the winner right in front of me against the all concuring blues in 96. Magical moment. Didn't see much of Gary snr live but this moment got to me.

That beats the premiership ?!?!? :confused:

Rockford
11 Oct 2007, 19:35
Wow, hard to pick just 5 once you get started...

5. Corey running down Akermanis in the 2004 Prelim final while Aker was walking down the wing. Absolutely brilliant.

4. 2005 Round 7 against St Kilda. We were getting beaten for the first half, fought back a bit in the third, atmosphere was electric.. I remember the Cats kicked 7 goals in the 4th quarter to win by 18 points, I think Gazza kicked a great snap to give us the lead. 3rd tier at the Telstra Dome was on their feet and it felt like every Cats supporter was chanting 'GEELONG *clap* *clap *clap* GEELONG! *clap* *clap *clap*', best atmosphere I can remember at a game.

3. Ablett to Ablett and Nathan's debut against West Coast.

2. Corey's smother in the Prelim against Collingwood.

1. So many highlights from the 2007 GF. Ablett poaching the kick in to goal early in the game was special IMO. Chappy's ride over Tredrea, King taking contested marks, ah, good times :D

Rockford
11 Oct 2007, 19:39
Just thought of one that will really stand out down the track....

"Jimmy... Jimmy... You've won Jimmy"

winty
11 Oct 2007, 20:46
1. Winning the flag (duh!)

2. vs Sydney at the SCG in 2002, the week after Ricco kicked the winning goal against Carlton. Were 26 points down halfway through the last quarter after Paul Williams kicked 2 goals in a minute before King snapped a goal from a boundary throw in. Got on a roll and won by 4 points. Think that was when Rocket got his marching orders from the Swans too. :p

3. vs St.Kilda in 1989. Was the only time I got to sit in the Brownlow stand, and was pretty much front and centre as Ablett senior gave Nicky Winmar such a strong hip and shoulder Winmar actually somersaulted over Gazza's back. Best bump I've ever seen. Had a huge 100 point plus win that day too.

4. Prelim final vs Kangaroos. The last 3 or so minutes were so intense.

5. The Carlton game in 2002. Went with a couple of Carlton supporters. Was giving them heaps for three quarters, they gave it back in spades in the last quarter as Carlton made that huge comeback, only for Ricco to kick the winning goal after the siren. :D

ADA23
11 Oct 2007, 20:56
5. Tudor to Ablett goal in the '94 prelim
4. The "Mark of the Century" over Gary Pert
3. The Sandy Roberts *What more can I say" goal
2. The final against Carlton when Budha, Couchy and Bairstow were out
and we beat em
1. Prem

Dawn2Dark
11 Oct 2007, 21:17
Just thought of one that will really stand out down the track....

"Jimmy... Jimmy... You've won Jimmy"

hahaha Brucey. What about Jimmy's massive goal v the kangaroos in the QF
"Bartel...Bartel.....JJJJJJJJJIIIIIIIIIMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY YYYYYYY"

tin can sam
11 Oct 2007, 21:20
1. The Premiership

2. The Pre-lim Final vs North in 94

3. "Down and Out and back he comes, can he finish it off with a goal?"

4. When Billy went balistic and kicked 5 in the first quarter against the Bulldogs in the 1995 QF.

5. In a very low year, when Benny Grahame kicked that 60m goal to bury Port. 2003 I think.

6. When GAJ kicked that goal to bury the pies in the Pre-lim final.

7. 2004 pre-lim final, after the game I wasn't upset, I just remember thinking, "we've just started something here."

catpounce
11 Oct 2007, 21:34
Had to be more than 5 :cool:

1. PREMIERS!!!!!
2. Family day after the premiership. Not much happened but just the feeling of being surrounded by this mass of people all the happiest they had been in their lives. Hard to comprehend.
3. Gary Ablett Norm Smith in 1989. To watch him play that way and still lose was a feeling unlike no other for me. It was as if someone told me the sky was green. How could Ablett play like that and we lose. Amazing sense of pride but bitter bitter sweet.
4. Billy Brownless King of Geelong. Typical Geelong we gave them a chance and the doggies got a sniff and were back in it. Finally Billys chance to step into the limelight away from Ablett.
5. Collingwood 07 Prelim win. Brilliant game of football i could have got a refund as I don't think i even used my seat i was standing up so much. THis includes Gary's goal, Stokesy and Steve Johnson. Johnno was particularly sweet as I personally know Collingwood's National recruiter and was able to shake his hand and thank him for rejecting Stevie.
6- Gary Hocking's last game. He was sensational so sad to see him go.
7-Ablett's 100th goal 1993. God i hate Mick Martyn. Ablett thrashed him that day without seemingly breaking a sweat.
8- The 2007 emergence of Gary out into his own player. The comparisons have stopped, the fitness improved and I noticed he has stopped signing as Gary Ablett jnr and is now simply Gary Ablett. Considering age, experience and pedigree very very exciting times.

Big Bald Cat
11 Oct 2007, 21:46
6. G Ablett snr

5. Geelong v Hawthorn 1987 Round 22. Cats needed to win to make the finals and were leading going into time on. The Hawks came from no where and we lost. Shattered!!!! (Meanwhile Garry Lyon was having a sook on a strecther at the Western Oval as his team pinched our spot)

4. Geelong v Carlton 1994 semi. No Hocking, Couch or Bairstow, plus we sent Carlton who were pretty good flag favourites out in straight sets.

3. 1994 prelim v North. Great finish, but one of the best battles between two teams I have ever seen.

2. 1989 Grand Final. Gary Ablett- enough said

1. 2007 Grand Final. Only can you truly value the good times, after you have experienced the lows.

Just do something
11 Oct 2007, 22:32
36 years old

In no order
5: Abletts 9 goals or 10 Goals against Richmond at the G plaiyng off the wing even the Richmond suppiters were applauding.
4: One game when Bruce Linder domimated against Melbourne kicked 7 goals and missed shit loads
3: 89 Gf sad day in the end but watching Gaz was amazing i dont think i have ever been so pumped up when Shane Hamilton kicked that bouncing goal on the 3qtr time siren.
2: All of 89 Finals series first one for me as a cats man.
1: 2007 what more can you say.:thumbsu:

Jan44
11 Oct 2007, 23:09
I exceed a lot of your ages on here so thats my secret.
So I have many memories.

top 5
1. 2007 Premiership
2. The year leading up to the 2007 premiership
3. My ten wonderful years of membership and new friends I've made
4. My 25 foot hanging poster of Brad Sholl ( what a person)
5. The other forty odd years I have supported Geelong and watched and enjoyed some wonderful footy.

Lunchlady Doris
12 Oct 2007, 09:34

If we had have won that game it would have gone close.

stevothedevo
12 Oct 2007, 09:43
Most of my top 5 games have already been said so I'll go with top 5 crowd memories. Maybe one of you seen these as well?? Long shot I know.

5..1988 v's Carlton, Waverley Park. One of my earliest Waverley games. Down by a goal at 3/4 time but got up by a couple of goals. The Geelong crowd in the last quarter seemed to come out of the woodwork. As a kid it was great to be in foreign territory and still have the support behind my team.

4..1989 semi final v's Melbourne. (Can't be 100% certain it was this game but am positive it was 89 and was at the 'G'.) Was raining at stages and sometimes couldn't see through all the umbrellas. Someone yelled out "Carn the umbrellas" and then from no where an egg came from a few rows back and hit an umbrella a few rows in front. The crowd cheered.

3. 1995 prelim v's Richmond. During the Kevin Sheedy jacket waving era everyone else seemed to jump on board. Richmond were getting pumped but it didn't stop their supporters from singing their theme song during the game. So Geelong supporters started singing theirs. Then Richmond started waving scraves and jackets so Geelong did the same. Was a great sight to see a sea of jackets and scarves from both teams being tossed around Waverly Park.

2.. 1994 semi final v's Carlton. During the celebrations of singing the song after the siren there was this guy walking around the ground with a Moorabool St sign. And I mean an actual street sing. He was just waving it about the place at the crowd. Every section of crowd that seen him just erupted with more celebrations "YEEEAAHH GO GEELONG"

1.. 2007 GF v's Port. After one of the longest victory laps in history the Geelong boys finally settled down at the cheer squad end. I managed to scramble down there from the southern stand. The players seemed to be just taking it all in. Looking into the crowd. Looking around at each other. Then they gatherd in a circle and sung the song on the ground. We all joined in....... Magic

The Cork Soaker
12 Oct 2007, 10:51
My top 5 Geelong moments. 40 years a supporter.

5. 1st Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

4. 2nd Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

3. 3rd Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

2. 4th Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

1. Final Siren - 2007 Grand Final ...... You can't top "that moment".....

CatmanForever
12 Oct 2007, 11:11
5. 2000 H&A Game Versus Collingwood. Wet and cold Day and the cats were 6 goals down at half time. Sam Newman told everyone on the radio to tear up their memberships in disgust. The Cats came out and clawed their way back with great work by King, Buddha, and Linga and won the game.

4. 2EF versus the Saints (1991) we won 104 to 97. Back when plugga was a saint and Barry Stoneham had the game of his life. A real ripper of a match

3. 1994 QF versus Footscray with the amazing Billy Brownless

2. 2007 PF versus Collingwood

1. 2007 GF obviously

Shell
12 Oct 2007, 11:20
My top 5 Geelong moments. 40 years a supporter.

5. 1st Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

4. 2nd Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

3. 3rd Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

2. 4th Qtr - 2007 Grand Final

1. Final Siren - 2007 Grand Final ...... You can't top "that moment".....

Hahaha, good one CS :D

Mine (excluding the GF would be)

1. The whole 94 FInals series. (excluding the last game of course). How good were those 3 matches?? My first ever final was the Dogs one at the MCG and you cant really ask for anything more than that. Pure excitement. The semi I missed out on. ( that was back in the day my mum had banned going to Waverly :rolleyes:). I cried when I heard Hocking, Couch AND Bairstow was out. Listened to it on the radio and could not believe what I was hearing. An epic underdog victory.. Prelim. BRILLIANT. North probably should have won thru to the Granny, but hey this is football and sometimes football sucks!!

2. Gary Ablett mark over Gary Pert, 94.

3. Buddah Hockings last game at KP. Just got back from overseas so I was so happy to see my favourite player get the send off he deserved. (Too bad we got smashed by Brisbane :()

4. Geelong v Saints 2004 match at KP. Sunny day, Footy Show filmed outside the ground. A true match of 'suburban' football. Loved Matty Scarletts goal too. :)

5. End to the 93 season. I know it ended in disappointment (DAMN YOU COLLINGWOOD), but still beating 4 of the 6 eventual finalists was a pretty good effort. Also included Gary Abletts first bag of 100 goals.. and Malcolm Blight standing on a table in Perth, coaching his boys to a big victory over the Weagles.

Shell
12 Oct 2007, 12:25
3. 1995 prelim v's Richmond. During the Kevin Sheedy jacket waving era everyone else seemed to jump on board. Richmond were getting pumped but it didn't stop their supporters from singing their theme song during the game. So Geelong supporters started singing theirs. Then Richmond started waving scraves and jackets so Geelong did the same. Was a great sight to see a sea of jackets and scarves from both teams being tossed around Waverly Park.

Wasn't that the game a Gale... possibly Brendon kicked the ball in the TOTALLY opposite direction.. we're talking like 50 metres here. Classic :D

And luckily I got to see it too. Mum lifted her ban on Waverly in 1995.

Partridge
12 Oct 2007, 13:32
This is actually tougher than I thought...

5. 1991 Elimination Final vs St.Kilda, Waverley
Great game. Beautiful day, Lockett kicked a lazy 9 and Brownless almost matched him kicking 8. Hocking was awesome as well.

4. 1989 First Semi-Final vs Melbourne, MCG
One of my favourites. We'd been smashed the week before by Essendon so had to prove we belonged in finals. Very close and physical for 3 quarters, then Geelong motored away with a mere 10.10 in the final quarter. Plus Ablett kicked 7.7 and murdered about 4 opponents. Still remember Jim Stynes shaking his head in wonder after one of Ablett's marks. And it was my Dad's birthday. Brilliant.

3. 2007 Qualifying Final vs Kangaroos, MCG
Very physical and tight early, then from early in the second quarter they started rolling. Just unbelievably hard, relentless aggressive football. Funny before the game I was just a little wary of us missing Egan - WRONG! Didn't make any difference whatsoever. 41 scoring shots to 10, me quite drunk, pretty good day out really. Then once Harley called them into a huddle AFTER the game to tell them the job wasn't done, well I was quite happy there.

2. 1989 Preliminary Final vs Essendon, Waverley
Still one of my alltime favourites. In my opinion the best game Gary Ablett ever played, plus we turned around a heavy defeat a fortnight earlier, just made this a glorious afternoon. Perfect weather too. Watching Ablett perform tricks I'd never seen before was something else.

1. 2007 Grand Final vs Port Adelaide, MCG
Pretty much everything about this very long and very wonderful day. Getting semi-pissed at Young and Jackson's before the game with fellow BFers (and non-BFers), throwing down 2 UDLs walking to the ground, getting into the ground via dodgy methods thanks to a great Cats fan, and so on.

Oh yes, nearly forgot the small matter of Geelong tearing Port Adelaide apart on the biggest stage. One pretty euphoric day standing in the outer.

To top it off, going to Fed square after the game was brilliant, having far too much alcohol, getting congratulatory messages from everyone, then having a few more drinks at the Charles Dickens until midnight. Nice.

Bubbles DeVere
12 Oct 2007, 14:28
I sat near this guy the next week against north. He held up the sign after every goal. we were up the ponsford stand end where ablett kicked the goal after the siren. I remeber we gave each other a high five, I will never forget it!

Most of my top 5 games have already been said so I'll go with top 5 crowd memories. Maybe one of you seen these as well?? Long shot I know.

5..1988 v's Carlton, Waverley Park. One of my earliest Waverley games. Down by a goal at 3/4 time but got up by a couple of goals. The Geelong crowd in the last quarter seemed to come out of the woodwork. As a kid it was great to be in foreign territory and still have the support behind my team.

4..1989 semi final v's Melbourne. (Can't be 100% certain it was this game but am positive it was 89 and was at the 'G'.) Was raining at stages and sometimes couldn't see through all the umbrellas. Someone yelled out "Carn the umbrellas" and then from no where an egg came from a few rows back and hit an umbrella a few rows in front. The crowd cheered.

2.. 1994 semi final v's Carlton. During the celebrations of singing the song after the siren there was this guy walking around the ground with a Moorable St sign. And I mean an actual street sing. He was just waving it about the place at the crowd. Every section of crowd that seen him just erupted with more celebrations "YEEEAAHH GO GEELONG"

1.. 2007 GF v's Port. After one of the longest victory laps in history the Geelong boys finally settled down at the cheer squad end. I managed to scramble down there from the southern stand. The players seemed to be just taking it all in. Looking into the crowd. Looking around at each other. Then they gatherd in a circle and sung the song on the ground. We all joined in....... Magic

Pal22
12 Oct 2007, 15:05
I have been a member for 14 years, here are my top 5 moments in that time:

5. Ricco's goal after the siren to win the game vs Carlton in 2002
Even though we never should have been in this situation after leading by 40+ pts early in the last quarter, I can still remember this goal going through like it was yesterday.

4. Round 4, 2004 vs Richmond at Telstra Dome
For me this was the game that put us on the path to winning a flag. We desperately needed a win after starting the season at 0-3 and Benny Graham came out and kicked a bag of goals in the first quarter. I can remember walking out of the ground after that game and thinking to myself, this may be the start of something special.

3. Round 18, 2004 vs St Kilda at Skilled Stadium
perfect weather, sell out crowd and a carnival like atmosphere greated the people arriving at the ground and then we saw one of the best games of football you could see between two up and coming teams. Can still remember Scarlo's goal and standing ovation he received, then as the final siren sounded, I have never seen a Geelong crowd rise as one like they did that day.

2. 1994 Prelim vs Kangaroos
This was one of the first games I went to, was 9 years old at the time and can remember the crowd rising when Gazza took that mark. The second that goal went through the celebrations from the Cats fans was crazy.

1. 2007 Grand Final
Need I say more, even though it was a very one sided game, it will be one of the best team games you will ever see. No one would have expected the game to pan out the way it did ,but it capped off the best year of football a Geelong supporter will ever see!

allrighty
12 Oct 2007, 15:13
5. 1967 Semi standing in the MCG outer by myself. Richmond 25.17 Geelong 7.7. Upside was Wade kicked 5 to go to 127 for the year and break the (then) post war goalkicking record.

4. Tom Hawkins debut this year. Just fantastic to see this kid with all the hype turn it on.

3. Second bulldogs game last year at TD where we won by one point and scores were level from 16 min mark to 28 min mark in last 1/4. Nearly died from heart failure.

2. GAblett senior a million times but specifically a one handed grab with hand straight out in front of him in muddy conditions at St Kilda (moorabbin - always muddy!) late in last 1/4 late 80's. He of course won the game for us, but also could not lift his other arm as he had damaged his shoulder. Unbeleivable.

1. Though I still can't beleive it this year's GF of course when the boys played tough but fantastically skilled football. I think I saw a tear in Dasher's eyes as he ran to the podium to get his medal.

These are just 5 of many over 40+ years of supporting the Cats. Working briefly with boyhood hero Doug Wade about 5 years ago was also pretty special. Lovely guy.

amme
13 Oct 2007, 13:39
1. 2007 Grand Final win.
2. Gary Ablett goal at Princess Park against Fitzroy from the centre.
3. Gary Abletts goal against Coll@ MCG 1989? Number of bounces the bang from about 60m
4. Gary Abletts goal for Vic against SA at AAMI on line between goal and point post facing the wrong way and kicked over his head.
5. Gary Abletts goal against Ess @ MCG. Gathered loose ball, sold the dummy and Bang from 50m.

goatsby
14 Oct 2007, 11:24
1972 Geelong Collingwood Kardinia Park
WE were 8 goals down at halftime then came home Ken Newland marked just before the siren and put the ball through for a point, What is better then beating Collingwood by a point after the siren? NOTHING, In 1973 mum bought me a Ken Newland Football jumper NO3 it has resurfaced again this year I got Aunty Phyllis to convert it into a dog jacket for my dog Preston the plastic number is a bit worse for wear. This was the first Geelong match I saw I was surprised by the people in trees around the ground LOL.

1977 Geelong V Collingwood VFL park
After a good year in 1976 we were rubbish again. AAfter losing by 100 pts the previous week no one gave us a chance we won 16. 6 to 12.25 all the Collingwood supporters at school said they would have won if they kicked straight, I just used constant Jack Dyer Euphanisms at them back, "bad kicking is bad football" Paul Jeffreys played a great game for his first game.
also add 2007 beating Collingwood by 5pts in a prelim Final.

Gary Ablett SNR
Just watching Gary Ablett play my favorite was the loss to Essendon in 1993 when he got 14 goals just watching his marking, kicking evasive skills was a delight we werre at the City end of the MCG and even Essendon supporters gave him a standing ovation after some of his goals.

Riccardi's Goal against Carlton Docklands 2002
What is almost as good as beating Collingwood after the siren? beating Carlton and helping them cement the wooden spoon . IMHO Ricco shoul have won the best AFL first year player in 1992!!

2007 Grand Final
What can you say , what a TEAM performance. I still cant believe it I watched it again yesterday , I only got closure when I got my WEG POSTER. One of friends in Warracknabeal has their house in a time warp of 1990 when the pies won, Darren Millane garden Gnomes , WEg posters as soon as you enter, WELL I AM going to better this I am making Gary Ablett SNR and JNR Garden gnomes for the patio, I like to do a arts course so I can make a sculpure of Chappies mark for the birdbath in the front yard I am renaming the shed "The Mathew Scarlett Workshop"

goatsby
14 Oct 2007, 11:28
1. 2007 Grand Final win.
2. Gary Ablett goal at Princess Park against Fitzroy from the centre.
3. Gary Abletts goal against Coll@ MCG 1989? Number of bounces the bang from about 60m
4. Gary Abletts goal for Vic against SA at AAMI on line between goal and point post facing the wrong way and kicked over his head.
5. Gary Abletts goal against Ess @ MCG. Gathered loose ball, sold the dummy and Bang from 50m.

2 Saw that goal from the centre square brilliant!
3. Yes 1989 MCG BRILLIANT
5. A standing ovation goal even from opposition supporters!

Cats Pyjamas
14 Oct 2007, 14:36
I'm 150 years old and the dementia is starting to take hold but I think my best memories were Geelong's VFA premierships in 1878, 1879, 1880, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1886 - 7 flags in 9 years, now that's a dynasty!! And that was back when men were men and footy was a tough game. Not to mention young James Wilson winning the 'champion of the colony' three years in a row (1880-82). Makes the 2007 cats and Jimmy Bartel look like wimps!!!

P.S. I'm still a bit dirty that South Melbourne knocked us off in 1881 & 1885 though - we really should have won nine in a row.

stevothedevo
14 Oct 2007, 16:56
Wasn't that the game a Gale... possibly Brendon kicked the ball in the TOTALLY opposite direction.. we're talking like 50 metres here. Classic :D

Ha ha. Quite possibly. They weren't traveling to well that day.

And luckily I got to see it too. Mum lifted her ban on Waverly in 1995.

To cold?
To wet?
To far?
All of the above?

I sat near this guy the next week against north. He held up the sign after every goal. we were up the ponsford stand end where ablett kicked the goal after the siren. I remeber we gave each other a high five, I will never forget it!

Nice one. I was up the other end for that game also high fiven and hugging complete strangers. Much like the Collingwood prelim of this year. Mass celebrations.

chapmanmagic35
14 Oct 2007, 19:03
5. 2007 v Richmond at Telstra Dome - Yeah the Tigers were bad but 153 points is nothing to sneeze at. We were all pretty down having lost to the Kangaroos the week before and the knives were being sharpened for Bomber. Then we all came together and laughed ourselves silly at Richmond. They let us dominate and we never looked back for the remainder of the year.

4. 1994 PF v North Melbourne - Being about 7 I wasn't there and was listening on the radio at home. I kept running out of the room during the last quarter but came back just in time to hear the great man take that wonderful mark.

3. 2007 PF v Collingwood - I was more nervous about this then I was for the GF. All the good work from the previous 18 weeks would've been erased and we would have been a laughing stock. And of course it would have been Collingwood that would have done it to us. Honestly we all have put up with alot as Cats supporters, but that would've taken the cake.I will be forever greatful that we avoided that sort of brutal pain.

2. 1997 v North Melbourne - Not the final obviously, but earlier in the year. Mainly just because it was the one and only time I got to represent the Cats in the Little League. We also won by less than a goal after being behind for most of the game. I remember somebody pulled off the tackle of the season to deny North the winning goal.

1. 2007 GF v Port. Was there. Was good.

Bluey McGrath :thumbsu:

Shell
14 Oct 2007, 21:15
Ha ha. Quite possibly. They weren't traveling to well that day..

Actually, come to think of it I think it was Michael. The blonde one anyway. I remember a big sigh coming from the ground when he did that. Poor Richmond.

To cold?
To wet?
To far?
All of the above?

"Too far". Mum didn't want to drive and you had to catch a train, another train and then a bus to get to Waverly back then.

Shell
14 Oct 2007, 21:17
Bluey McGrath :thumbsu:

And what a tackle that was. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

And Paul Lynch kicking the winning goals. :)

caMoGFC
14 Oct 2007, 21:48
i'm 21...and been a fan since i can remember. (i don't remember much about 1989 but pretty much everything after)

i'm not going to include the 2007 grand final because that would have to be everyone's #1 or equal #1

5. Blakes goals.....really should have no right being on here...wasn't a match winner or anything..but the crowd erupting like it did was absolutely spine tingling....

4. Gary Ablett mark of the year over gary pert....what a leap! (wish he fully held onto it for longer though....then surely that would've been named best mark of all time)

3. Billy Brownless goal against footscray....1994....WOW....first truly incredible football winning moment...exactly what we needed...when we needed it....teared up and had goosebumps right on the edge of my seat.

2. Gary Ablett goal after the siren to get into the grand final.....this and number 3 are pretty much identical for me...both made me tear up and was the most tense moments i've ever experienced watching football.

1. Being able to say that i've seen Gary Ablett Senior play...he is for me the greatest player i have ever seen play the game and i am sure that at least 50% of us support geelong because of this man. Unbelievable.

CatmanForever
15 Oct 2007, 00:37
And what a tackle that was. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

And Paul Lynch kicking the winning goals. :)
Yes Blueys tackle was on Carey I think. It was absolutely awesome

Shell
15 Oct 2007, 00:43

I'm not at all meaning to be a big "know it all" here but it was that guy nicknamed the Fridge.

Was his surname Roberts?
:confused:

Cats Pyjamas
15 Oct 2007, 00:59

McGrath's tackle was actually on Darren Crocker. He also smothered a kick in the goal square, that may have been on Roberts but not 100% sure.

Shell
15 Oct 2007, 01:04
In my mind it's The Fridge.. but my mind might be playing tricks on me.

Anyone else got an opinion??

Cats Pyjamas
15 Oct 2007, 01:09
McGrath's tackle was actually on Darren Crocker. He also smothered a kick in the goal square, that may have been on Roberts but not 100% sure.

Aha! I knew I'd find the answer somewhere on the net if I looked hard enough :)

This is from a detailed match summary I found (see link below):

"Still North strove, McGrath smothered Sholl's shot in the goalsquare, then Crocker bore down on goal only to be caught in a superb tackle by McGrath again. From the free the ball ended with Lynch, he marked strongly and kicked the sealer for the Cats."

http://www.footy.com.au/dags/97/wrapup/wrapup_r15.html

Shell
15 Oct 2007, 01:13
Great work mate. :thumbsu:

Lol, I am NOT a know it all after all. My apologies! I swear I thought it was him!!

But yeah, I sure remember Lynch. Colbert jumped on him I think after he kicked the goal. Awesome game that one. :)

Cats Pyjamas
15 Oct 2007, 01:25
Yeah I've been having a bit more of a look at that site and realised it hasn't been updated since 2004 which is a pity because it had really good detailed match reports.

There is another site (see link) which has reports of all Geelong matches from 1997 to 2007. It's not quite as detailed as the other site but still good (it also confirms Crocker as the player who was tackled). :)

http://members.optusnet.com.au/%7Ecmchris/past.htm

Partridge
15 Oct 2007, 09:51
I'm not at all meaning to be a big "know it all" here but it was that guy nicknamed the Fridge.

Was his surname Roberts?
:confused:

You're spot on Shell.

Mark Roberts, nicknamed "the Fridge". Also delisted by Sydney and Brisbane before going to North. Was Ok, but personally I thought he was ordinary.

Partridge
15 Oct 2007, 09:53
"Too far". Mum didn't want to drive and you had to catch a train, another train and then a bus to get to Waverly back then.

Ah, these poor inner city types that had to make the great odyssey to the south-east!

I didn't mind Waverley. Was only 20 minutes from home so went there a lot. :thumbsu:

hotdog_hotdog
15 Oct 2007, 11:52
In no order....

1. Losing to the Eagles last year when we were 54 points up. I have never been confident about winning a game since (except the GF!)

2. Ben Graham's long bomb goal a couple years back against Port at KP.

3. "I see it!! But i don't believe it!!" I was there and to see my dad after the game sitting in his seat, head between his legs was shattering, we couldn't believe we got done. As much as the heartbreak stayed with me, the led up to the match and the match itself was sensational, had a chat to Huddo at the airport (In Melb), spent the afternoon in a Pub drink JB Long Blacks and chatting about previous trips to sydney. And then to be up the whole match and enjoy sticking it up the swannies fans was great, but then.... Nick #$%!#@ Davis!!

4. 1994 PF v North Melbourne, my first final!!

5. The 07 GF

Shell
15 Oct 2007, 11:53
Ah, these poor inner city types that had to make the great odyssey to the south-east!

I didn't mind Waverley. Was only 20 minutes from home so went there a lot. :thumbsu:

Well of course you didn't mind Waverly since you only lived 20 minutes away from it!!! :rolleyes::p

While that ground had the best surface in the league apparently, the stands left alot to be desired. The evil sideways rain would get you no matter where you'd sit and remember the orange and black screen?? LOL. :D

So have they torn down that place yet or what?? Built something good??

Shell
15 Oct 2007, 11:55
In no order....

1. Losing to the Eagles last year when we were 54 points up. I have never been confident about winning a game since (except the GF!)

3. "I see it!! But i don't believe it!!" I was there and to see my dad after the game sitting in his seat, head between his legs was shattering, we couldn't believe we got done. As much as the heartbreak stayed with me, the led up to the match and the match itself was sensational, had a chat to Huddo at the airport (In Melb), spent the afternoon in a Pub drink JB Long Blacks and chatting about previous trips to sydney. And then to be up the whole match and enjoy sticking it up the swannies fans was great, but then.... Nick #$%!#@ Davis!!

Dude.. WTF?? These are meant to be nice memories. Not horrible nightmare memories. :confused:

hotdog_hotdog
15 Oct 2007, 12:02
Dude.. WTF?? These are meant to be nice memories. Not horrible nightmare memories. :confused:

These are the top 5 that have stuck with me, We are Geelong supporters, it's not surprising there's some bad ones in there!

Partridge
15 Oct 2007, 12:08
Well of course you didn't mind Waverly since you only lived 20 minutes away from it!!! :rolleyes::p

While that ground had the best surface in the league apparently, the stands left alot to be desired. The evil sideways rain would get you no matter where you'd sit and remember the orange and black screen?? LOL. :D

So have they torn down that place yet or what?? Built something good??

Fair call about the rain. No grounds are especially pleasant when you have torrential rain and freezing temperatures, but Waverley seemed to generate its own especially nasty precipitation! And absolutely zero shelter anywhere.

Ah yes the sepia scoreboard. Only the VFL/AFL would think that was state of the art.

bingle
15 Oct 2007, 12:41
That beats the premiership ?!?!? :confused:

from the thrill with a single moment perspective yes. i got much more enjoyment over a longer period of time with the premiership though.

stevothedevo
15 Oct 2007, 18:29
Ah yes the sepia scoreboard. Only the VFL/AFL would think that was state of the art.

And only the AFL would decide to discontinue a stadium the same year that all the freeways leading to the ground finally linked up (Westgate-South eastern-Mulgrave) Weird how it worked out that way.

clarke_rubber
15 Oct 2007, 18:59
Gary Ablett Junior's first game against Essendon. Almost kicked a goal but didn't kick one until a week later against the Kangaroos. It was great to see him take to the field with all the pressure and expectation of being a son of a legend. Thankfully the nickname jesus didn't stick. It wouldve been very anti-religious.

cellis84
16 Oct 2007, 15:33
im only 23 so dont really remember much of the 80's.

5. geelong v collingwood at kp 1999. we were terrible and about to lose 10 in a row, but got up by a kick or so. eddy having a cry on the boundary.....it was great!

4. geelong v west coast at kp 2006
by that stage of the year it was laughable how bad we were and how we could always come up with new ways of how to lose games! i had a bet with my mate at half time that we would lose so i was pretty happy when we did lose actually! (the only time i have been happy after a loss!)

geelong v brisbane prelim mcg 2004
we should have won it, just not good enough, was an awesome game though, just going there with no expectation because we had come out of nowhere.

geelong v st.kilda kp 2004
a great game with an awesome atmosphere. was good 2 just shut those cocky bastards up.

1. obviously the granny, but the relief after the prelim in 07 was crazy, i actually welled up because i was sure we were going 2 lose 4 most of the night.....and those last few mins....aw god. it was torture!

gaz29
16 Oct 2007, 16:57
In terms of things I best remember and cherish:

5. The "Billy" finals game vs the Doggies
4. The VFL Premiership in - I think - 2002
3. The 2004 season (except the end)
2. The whole 2007 season! - Home & away, Finals, Brownlow, and of course - the Grand Final!
1. Watching the career of "The Great Gary Ablett" before he was known as Snr !
Nothing can top my childhood memories of the Great Man (even a 3-peat!) ... a superstar if even there was one.

clarke_rubber
16 Oct 2007, 22:13
In terms of things I best remember and cherish:

5. The "Billy" finals game vs the Doggies
4. The VFL Premiership in - I think - 2002
3. The 2004 season (except the end)
2. The whole 2007 season! - Home & away, Finals, Brownlow, and of course - the Grand Final!
1. Watching the career of "The Great Gary Ablett" before he was known as Snr !
Nothing can top my childhood memories of the Great Man (even a 3-peat!) ... a superstar if even there was one.

Yeah, can't top that. Lucky you! I'm only 18 but have got to see his son at least. Consellation prize isn't too bad though.

Partridge
16 Oct 2007, 22:27
Yeah, can't top that. Lucky you! I'm only 18 but have got to see his son at least. Consellation prize isn't too bad though.

Yes I'm very thankful I saw most of the great man's career. Actually saw him kick 14 goals in a game live.

3 times. :D

re cat
16 Oct 2007, 23:34
Oh dear I remember Doug Wade, vaguely.

Budda 230
17 Oct 2007, 17:54
5. Riccardi's goal after the siren. - I was there that day. Geelong were 40 pts up about 5 min into the last quarter. Carlton hit the lead with about a minute to play. Then David Clarke hits Riccardi on the *** (amazing on event itself). Siren goes. Ricco floats the ball 50 min through the big sticks. Crowd went nuts, awesome atmosphere.

4. 2 after the siren goals 1994 finals. - Billy, you are king of Geelong. Will never forget that. Was watching on the TV. I don't remember much about the match itself, but Barnsey kissin' Billy is a scene that sticks in my head.

I had to listen to the "Hand of God" moment on the radio. All you could hear was "Tudor".... Then a massive noise!! You couldn't understand what the commentators were saying cos they were going nuts!!!! Then you heard the siren go in the back ground and they went nuts again!!!! Finally, they told us what was going on. Then Mum and I went nuts!

3. 2007 Prelim Final. - That is the most physically and mentally draining match I have ever been too. I've never been so emotional and vocal at a game ever! Thank christ that siren went when it did because my heart wouldn't have been able to take much more punishment. Torture during the game but an amazing feeling all the same.

2. Gary Ablett Snr. - So many moments to go through. Loved the Pert mark. Loved the huge bags of goals. Loved everything he did on the field.

The match I remember the most (that I was at), was in 1995 against Essendon. Cats down at 3QT by a couple of goals and the Dons had plenty of momentum. Enter Gazza. He kicks 4 goals in the last quarter and the Cats get up. My Dad is an Essendon supporter which made it sweeter.

The goal I'll always remember was up the Punt Rd end in the right hand FP. Gazza gathered the ball running the opposite direction to the goals and snapped it over his right shoulder. (The one with Dustin Flether jumping all over Brownless trying to smother). Awesome stuff.

1. 2007 Grand Final. - It was just the perfect day. I won the last Grand Final tickets at Federation Square on the Saturday morning in a trivia which gave me the chance to watch the 1st flag in 44 years, at the ground, live! It was meant to be. From Otto's run down to Gaz's steal and goal to Chappy's screamer over Tredrea to the 119 point margin. Everything went perfectly. Absolute magic day. It was such a privilege to be there.

Partridge
18 Oct 2007, 10:22
I had to listen to the "Hand of God" moment on the radio. All you could hear was "Tudor".... Then a massive noise!! You couldn't understand what the commentators were saying cos they were going nuts!!!! Then you heard the siren go in the back ground and they went nuts again!!!! Finally, they told us what was going on. Then Mum and I went nuts!

Almost identical to me Budda. I was working that day in a TAB and sticking my head under the counter every few minutes to get a score. The last 5 minutes I stayed under the counter. Anyway, like you said, when they said "Tudor" then just a massive roar, finally I worked out Ablett had marked the siren had gone - I jumped up and smashed my head under the counter. Was bleeding and everything.

I guess you call it the scars of battle.

Budda 230
18 Oct 2007, 15:24
Almost identical to me Budda. I was working that day in a TAB and sticking my head under the counter every few minutes to get a score. The last 5 minutes I stayed under the counter. Anyway, like you said, when they said "Tudor" then just a massive roar, finally I worked out Ablett had marked the siren had gone - I jumped up and smashed my head under the counter. Was bleeding and everything.

I guess you call it the scars of battle.

Ha ha! That's awesome. I was only 9 at the time and I remember it so clearly!

Although did you think at first that Tudor had kicked the goal? That's what I thought all the noise was about.

I came out of it battle scar free though.

Partridge
18 Oct 2007, 15:42
Ha ha! That's awesome. I was only 9 at the time and I remember it so clearly!

Although did you think at first that Tudor had kicked the goal? That's what I thought all the noise was about.

I came out of it battle scar free though.

I had a tranny stuck to one ear, my finger in the other to attempt to block out noise, with my head stuck under a counter. Then finally they said something like "siren's gone, Ablett will kick the goal" and I jumped.

So I was simultaneously screaming with delight and screaming in very real pain holding my bleeding head. A great moment.

clarke_rubber
18 Oct 2007, 22:56
5. Riccardi's goal after the siren. - I was there that day. Geelong were 40 pts up about 5 min into the last quarter. Carlton hit the lead with about a minute to play. Then David Clarke hits Riccardi on the *** (amazing on event itself). Siren goes. Ricco floats the ball 50 min through the big sticks. Crowd went nuts, awesome atmosphere.

4. 2 after the siren goals 1994 finals. - Billy, you are king of Geelong. Will never forget that. Was watching on the TV. I don't remember much about the match itself, but Barnsey kissin' Billy is a scene that sticks in my head.

3. 2007 Prelim Final. - That is the most physically and mentally draining match I have ever been too. I've never been so emotional and vocal at a game ever! Thank christ that siren went when it did because my heart wouldn't have been able to take much more punishment. Torture during the game but an amazing feeling all the same.

2. Gary Ablett Snr. - So many moments to go through. Loved the Pert mark. Loved the huge bags of goals. Loved everything he did on the field.

The match I remember the most (that I was at), was in 1995 against Essendon. Cats down at 3QT by a couple of goals and the Dons had plenty of momentum. Enter Gazza. He kicks 4 goals in the last quarter and the Cats get up. My Dad is an Essendon supporter which made it sweeter.

The goal I'll always remember was up the Punt Rd end in the right hand FP. Gazza gathered the ball running the opposite direction to the goals and snapped it over his right shoulder. (The one with Dustin Flether jumping all over Brownless trying to smother). Awesome stuff.

1. 2007 Grand Final. - It was just the perfect day. I won the last Grand Final tickets at Federation Square on the Saturday morning in a trivia which gave me the chance to watch the 1st flag in 44 years, at the ground, live! It was meant to be. From Otto's run down to Gaz's steal and goal to Chappy's screamer over Tredrea to the 119 point margin. Everything went perfectly. Absolute magic day. It was such a privilege to be there.
Sorry but I don't know how you can put 2007 GF above Gary Ablett as yes it was a remarkable game and the whole 2007 season was unbelieveable but surely does not come in front of the greatest player ever for our club who produced magic time and time again.

trentmac21
19 Oct 2007, 00:03
TOP 4.

Im 22 yrs old.

4. Vs Footscray 1994
I was 9 yrs old and it was the first final i had ever been to. Remember being shattered when Richard Osbourne kicked the goal to put the Bulldogs up with not long to go. Then watching Billy kick the goal after the siren, Magic

3. 2006 NAB Grand Final
Was the night of my 21st. Noone at the party was really interested in anything but the footy. Was the best feeling ever after they won at that stage of my life. Dont really remember much of the night after that. :D

2. Vs Collingwood PF 2007
Ottens played the game of his life. Was sitting above the Collingwood cheer squad and it was the greatest feeling to hurl abuse at them after the final siren.

1. vs Port Adelaide GF 2007
Easily no.1 for so many reasons. Watching the game live with my old man. Hearing the final siren. Thumping the filth from S.A by a record margin. The presentation of the cup. Hearing 'We are the Champions' by Queen played during the lap of honour. Federation Square after the game. The place was packed and goung nuts for Geelong. The list goes on and on. It was the greatest day of my life. (Havent gotten married and had kids yet so cant compare)

Budda 230
19 Oct 2007, 12:50
Sorry but I don't know how you can put 2007 GF above Gary Ablett as yes it was a remarkable game and the whole 2007 season was unbelieveable but surely does not come in front of the greatest player ever for our club who produced magic time and time again.

Gees, I wonder....:confused::rolleyes:

Partridge
19 Oct 2007, 12:54

As much as watching Ablett was one very long and very glorious 13 year highlights package, it still doesn't compare to winning the flag. That's what it's all about remember.

I'm lucky in that I saw virtually all of Ablett's career with Geelong and saw so many incredible displays. But nothing can ever equate to winning a Grand Final. Especially being there. Especially as it broke a 44 year drought. And everything else that went with it.

Just my opinion of course.

Bubbles DeVere
19 Oct 2007, 15:03
gotta agree with you mate. No one loves Ablett more than me, I saw nearly all his career. My bedroom was a shrine and going to games has never been the same since he retired but opposition supporters have hung it on me for so long because we hadnt won a flag. Now no one hangs it on me. I like all other cat fans are walking taller than all others, and for that reason the premiership must be no. 1

As much as watching Ablett was one very long and very glorious 13 year highlights package, it still doesn't compare to winning the flag. That's what it's all about remember.

I'm lucky in that I saw virtually all of Ablett's career with Geelong and saw so many incredible displays. But nothing can ever equate to winning a Grand Final. Especially being there. Especially as it broke a 44 year drought. And everything else that went with it.

Just my opinion of course.

rogernumber10
19 Oct 2007, 17:34
1. Tom Harley saying 'We are Geelong" at the end of his GF speech. That was just a 'moment' that summed up all the waiting through a lifetime.

2. Visiting KP for the first time as a kid coming over from holidays in SA in 1980. First ever VFL game about round 20 against Pies (we won by a couple of goals and a massive crowd of 40,000 or so) and it was just enormous to be standing at the fence.

3. Gary Ablett's entire preliminary final in 1989. That was a complete highlights reel that day. About three of those goals would win Goal of the Year in any separate year.

4. Gary junior's debut v Essendon. He didn't do much but my six year old son just loved him from the moment he first got tackled in the goal square trying to dodge another Bomber, confirming him as a Cat fan for life.

5. Tom Hawkins v Melbourne this year. Just saw a myriad of possibilities for the future, which will hopefully unfold. Again, the now 12-year, after some tough years with no reward, just couldn't believe how big and exciting this kid was, and only a few years older than him.

clarke_rubber
19 Oct 2007, 18:04
I see. So I got rolled... what can a man do?

Ashb23
21 Oct 2007, 15:25
This is hard, so I've gone for 2 categories, best and worst:

Best:
5: Vs Richmond 1989. Was my first ever game. Don't remember much, except Ablett outscoring Richmond 14 goals to 11;
4: Vs Dogs, 1994 QF. Billy, you are King of Geelong!;
3: Vs Kangaroos '93: MCG, we were starting to come good - Gazza's first ton;
2: Vs Kangaroos '94 PF: What can I say?;
1: Obvious - Premiership.

Worst:

5: Vs Hawthorn '91 2nd Semi: My first final and a 2 point loss to those bastards;
4: '95 Grand Final: Only one I went too, so hurt;
3: '92 Grand Final: Was around the time I really started to get into the footy, so hurt badly.
2: Not a game, but Colbert leaving, then Ayres walked and I remember there was rumours Graham or King (can't remember which one) might walk as well);
1: Vs Sydney, 2005: Nick F*ckin Davis.

Didn't put '89 coz I only just started to get into footy, and didn't really know how bad it was to lose like that until later. And '94 was used to getting beaten by WC by then.

Shmoses
22 Oct 2007, 01:02
I would have said 95 was the loss that hurt the least. I didn't expect us to even put up a fight that day. Carlton's opposition was inconsequential; we were always going to get belted.

catfan29
23 Oct 2007, 16:58
TOP 4.

Im 22 yrs old.

43. 2006 NAB Grand Final
Was the night of my 21st. Noone at the party was really interested in anything but the footy. Was the best feeling ever after they won at that stage of my life. Dont really remember much of the night after that. :D

We have the same Birthday then

Premiership and a Brithday all on the same day. That makes two of us

Shell
23 Oct 2007, 17:00
We have the same Birthday then

Premiership and a Brithday all on the same day. That makes two of us

And three!! :):thumbsu:

catfan29
23 Oct 2007, 17:01
1. 2007 GF
2. 1994 PF
3. 1994 QF
4. 2007 PF
5. 2002 V Carlton (Riccardi Goal)

Was at all of these games and the atmosphere at those games goes a long way to ranking them in that order

pocketROCKET
23 Oct 2007, 19:16
Wow, hard to pick just 5 once you get started...

5. Corey running down Akermanis in the 2004 Prelim final while Aker was walking down the wing. Absolutely brilliant.

3. Ablett to Ablett and Nathan's debut against West Coast.

2. Corey's smother in the Prelim against Collingwood.

Remember #5 was there and thought it was fantastic. Everyone knew what was going on except him.

Nathan Ablett's debut was actually against Melbourne at Skilled, remember that well the crowd went crazy!!! He did however kick 4 against WCE a couple of weeks later also at skilled.

#2 This moment probably won us a flag.... say no more

clarke_rubber
30 Oct 2007, 14:55
Billy brownless and the wheel in ararat when it got the car. That was sensational!

Shell
30 Oct 2007, 15:08
And here we go again..

Where is BDP when you need him?? :D

clarke_rubber
30 Oct 2007, 15:30
And here we go again..

Where is BDP when you need him?? :D
Who is BDP?

Shell
30 Oct 2007, 15:38
Who is BDP?

Wow, out of all the posters here I'd thought you'd know.

Bigdroppunt.

Remember him suga?

diablo14
30 Oct 2007, 16:01
Hard to limit them but a few choice ones

5 1987 v Sydney at SCG. Sydney was in awsome form having kicked 30 goals or more at their last 3 SCG matches, including a 27 goal thrashing of Essendon. At 3/4 time, we were down by five goals. At the 20 minutes mark we were still down by around 26 points, but then Lindner went ballistic and starting kicking goals from the centre of the ground and we won by 9 points.

That goal by the 'Pres' from behind the centre circle at the SCG never gets the recognition it deserves. One of the biggest goals i've ever seen, and it was in crunch time too.

Worst:

5: Vs Hawthorn '91 2nd Semi: My first final and a 2 point loss to those bastards;

The round 1 1990 thumping was worse I can tell you.

My favorite 5

5. v Carl at KP 1980. After a close game all day, a Terry Bright snap bounces thru for a goal after being aided by a shepherd (some would say a hold) from Glenn Middlemiss on Geoff Southby, giving the Cats a 5 point win.

4. v Ess, PF 1989. We had been badly flogged by them two weeks earlier, so it was with revenge in mind that we chopped them to pieces this day. All this inspired by one Gary Ablett, who I reckon played his best all round game for the club that day.

3. v Foots at WO 1995. There's something extra sweet about watching your superstar put on a clinic, and your team pumping the opposition by 15 goals on their home patch.

2. v Coll PF 2007. I'm sure all at the game can relate when I say I have never been so relieved after a game of football in my life. The atmosphere at this match was phenomenal.

1. There can only be one game here and I don't need to say what that is :D

The worst 5 for me...

5. v Haw at wav 1990. The game before this was the 89 GF. In that game, they won by 6 points, in this one by 115. And there is no worse team to be getting creamed by than Hawthorn, because their fans, more than any, let you know allllllll about it.

4 v NthM QF 1997. There have been plenty of games where I wanted to run onto the field and put Wayne Carey out of business coz he was killing us. This game is heading that list.

3 v WCE GF 1992. This was the only one of the four GF's we played in that period that I thought we were a good chance to win. It was there for the taking, but alas it was all too much.

2 v SYD SF 2005. 'Bloody' Nick Davis.

1 v Carl GF 1995. I didn't expect us to win this one, however the pain of four losing Grand Finals lead me to cry for the enitre duration of the last quarter.

Partridge
30 Oct 2007, 16:28
The worst 5 for me...

5. v Haw at wav 1990. The game before this was the 89 GF. In that game, they won by 6 points, in this one by 115. And there is no worse team to be getting creamed by than Hawthorn, because their fans, more than any, let you know allllllll about it.

Yep. Absolutely. That was when Malcolm Blight had a brilliant idea of doing a reduced preseason as a reward for making the Grand Final. As a result, we were nowhere near fit enough.

4 v NthM QF 1997. There have been plenty of games where I wanted to run onto the field and put Wayne Carey out of business coz he was killing us. This game is heading that list.

3 v WCE GF 1992. This was the only one of the four GF's we played in that period that I thought we were a good chance to win. It was there for the taking, but alas it was all too much.

Blight again - Bairstow on a wing as a tagger. WTF??? That's probably number 1 or 2 for me.

2 v SYD SF 2005. 'Bloody' Nick Davis.

1 v Carl GF 1995. I didn't expect us to win this one, however the pain of four losing Grand Finals lead me to cry for the enitre duration of the last quarter.

bigdroppunt
30 Oct 2007, 20:55
And here we go again..

Where is BDP when you need him?? :D Here i am.

Who is BDP? Dont you know who your ****ing with, Dog

Wow, out of all the posters here I'd thought you'd know.

Bigdroppunt.

Remember him suga? Word biatch , You better rekonize !:)

ZosoCat
3 Nov 2007, 00:57
1. 2007.
2. Billy Brownless goal to get us through against the bullies in 1994
3. Gary Ablett's goal to seal our place in the GF 1994
4. The arrival of Gary Ablett Jnr
5. Jimmy Bartel's Brownlow 2007

GFCats07
9 Nov 2007, 22:56
1. 2007 GRAND FINAL THRASHING OF PORT ADELAIDE.
2. Paul Chapman when he saved the goal on the line.
3. Kingy over the goal umpire.
4. Enright dacking. hahaa.
5. Geelong vs Collingwood PF 07.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

clarke_rubber
11 Nov 2007, 13:50
Here i am.

Dont you know who your ****ing with, Dog
Yes. I am screwing around with a bloke with the initials 'BDP'. really scared!!!!