View Full Version : Travis Johnstone a lion!
mightymightyblues
11 Oct 2007, 18:01
Just announced on SEN Johnson will be playing with the lions in 08 after the lions agreed on trading pick 14 to melbourne.
Welcome to Brisbane Johnstone!, so happy.
Bring-Back-Powell
11 Oct 2007, 18:06
Hope he shows better committment than he did at Melbourne.
A very high risk recruit.
LuckyLuke
11 Oct 2007, 18:08
Johnstonelles.
Na, doesn't work.
Tommyneu
11 Oct 2007, 18:09
Why would you hope that? Then we would be feeling shit that we don't have him anymore. I hope we get an awesome player with Pick 14.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 18:09
Good luck, TJ!
Johnstone...what a pick up =)
Pick 14 would be nice, but not essential. XD
You undid your great work in ripping Collingwood off (they are so totally inept at trading) and piss pick 14 against the wall on Johnstone.
But you'll get more decent footy out of TJ than the Pies will out of Wood. So I suppose you still come out ahead.
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:11
yea, patchy and lazy. he will be whipped into shape up here.
Has he still got those off field probs he had?
Cousin Jed
11 Oct 2007, 18:11
Man and to think of how many players I thought we might get in the 3 minutes we had pick 14.......
Johnstone for Wood Essentially.
Melbourne better be paying having his contract though!
Frank Drebin
11 Oct 2007, 18:13
I could have sworn that they just said on SEN that Shaw IS involved in the trade?
You undid your great work in ripping Collingwood off (they are so totally inept at trading)
lol coming from a North supporter.
Still got Hay on your list or what?
possum8
11 Oct 2007, 18:15
This move tells me one thing, we are going for glory sooner rather then later!
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:17
I could have sworn that they just said on SEN that Shaw IS involved in the trade?
He better not be.
Warwick
11 Oct 2007, 18:17
You beauty!
Good trade on paper.
Trading pick 14 for someone of Johnstone's age may not be the best move in the world, but I would have taken TJ for Wood at the start of the week.
lionbear
11 Oct 2007, 18:19
Welcome aboard Travis Johnstone.
Hope to get a good 5 or 6 years of good footy out of him.
Brahma Bull
11 Oct 2007, 18:25
Congratulations for getting T Johnstone. I hope you are as happy as Collingwood in getting Cam Wood.
Good trading.:thumbsu:
Trapper is highly skilled when on. His problem when he was with us was he was hardly ever on.
If Matthews can get some consistency from him you've got a very good player.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 18:27
Welcome aboard Travis Johnstone.
Hope to get a good 5 or 6 years of good footy out of him.
Hope so, too. I seriously think Campbell just hates TJ. Lazy? Hardly, he had 42 tackles as an outside player this season. Was kept to under 15 touches on only 3 occasions. Grabbed 42 touches vs Carlton.
His sublime footskills will be something I am getting excited about!
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:29
Hope so, too. I seriously think Campbell just hates TJ. Lazy? Hardly, he had 42 tackles as an outside player this season. Was kept to under 15 touches on only 3 occasions. Grabbed 42 touches vs Carlton.
His sublime footskills will be something I am getting excited about!
I dont hate him. If you have watched him over hs career, you will see he is inconsistent. Excellent skills, but goes missing a lot.
Lets hope he switches on, has had that jolt and we get the best out of him.
Fairley
11 Oct 2007, 18:31
My favourite player outside of Brisbane becomes a Lion! Is this a dream?
I could have sworn that they just said on SEN that Shaw IS involved in the trade?Yes, they did....Reece Shaw!! WHY HIM??.... Ox just said he hoped Travis will put his head down and try to show everyone down here that he is better than thought to be by Melb..and get his life in order....great! just what we need....trouble......hope to be proved wrong, but just cant get enthused by these two...
Frank Drebin
11 Oct 2007, 18:33
A change is as good as a holiday!!
He'll turn it around up north.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 18:34
So have we got Shaw, too?
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:35
Yes, they did....Reece Shaw!! WHY HIM??.... Ox just said he hoped Travis will put his head down and try to show everyone down here that he is better than thought to be by Melb..and get his life in order....great! just what we need....trouble......hope to be proved wrong, but just cant get enthused by these two...
So you are saying we got Rhyce Shaw as well. OMG.
Warwick
11 Oct 2007, 18:35
So have we got Shaw, too?
I hope not.
The tackle bags are in good order.
Fairley
11 Oct 2007, 18:36
no way Rhyce Shaw will put a lions jersey on, i will personally stop him, nooooo. Surely not?
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:36
Yes, they did....Reece Shaw!! WHY HIM??.... Ox just said he hoped Travis will put his head down and try to show everyone down here that he is better than thought to be by Melb..and get his life in order....great! just what we need....trouble......hope to be proved wrong, but just cant get enthused by these two...
let hope he does pull his life in order with the move. Interesting that Ox would say that.
campbell
11 Oct 2007, 18:37
no way Rhyce Shaw will put a lions jersey on, i will personally stop him, nooooo. Surely not?
me thinks it would be a huge line behind you as well.
Surely we didnt do that.
Lets Roar like '44
11 Oct 2007, 18:38
We dont have Shaw, Schwarze got it mixed up, thankfully!
possum8
11 Oct 2007, 18:41
My favourite player outside of Brisbane becomes a Lion! Is this a dream?
He is one of my favourites too, will feel wierd to watch him in a lions jersey for the first few games.
Guys (& girls), a very positive move for us:
1) we have a stack of young talent already coming through. In three or four years time we'll hopefully have a selection dilemna every week. No need to draft youngsters at this point in time, we've done that.
2) On the above, we're rebuilding and the fact that we're trading for a player 27 years old means our structure at the other end of the scale (ie age) is progressing well.
3) Lappin only has maybe 2008 left - Johnstone is a great pick up - after Lappin goes he'll fill that void.
Cant wait for next year - midfield of Johnstone, Black, Power, Lappin, Adcock, Rischa. Look out!
We dont have Shaw, Schwarze got it mixed up, thankfully!
Thank goodness for that!! Damn Ox!..
Dylan12
11 Oct 2007, 18:53
Ok, I am on-board the TJ appreciation thread, especially considering Leigh's track record with turning around these types (Pike etc).
What a midfield: Charman, Black, Power, Johnstone, Lappin, Adcock, Selwood (as the tagger), it looks good on paper, hope he realises this is his last opportunity, because he is a gun when on, just dont see it enough.
Welcome TJ and good to see another Fitzroy relative (His grandapa was Fitzroy's legendary Normie Johnstone - he may have barracked for the roys as a kid too) knuckle down and live up to that potential on a consistent base we know you have.:)
Sherminator.
me thinks it would be a huge line behind you as well.
Surely we didnt do that.
Hope not, who remembers when he shit himself in the GF, lol!
Mcleod_Nine
i reckon thats a pretty damn good result for the lions
hes a great player
Fairley
11 Oct 2007, 18:55
Haha i will never forget when he took on Lynch and failed miserably by fumbling the ball and Lynch at 35 years of age picks it up and snaps truly from 40 out... priceless...
CaptainDavey
11 Oct 2007, 18:58
You've pinched one of the fans favourites in Demonland. Congrats, really sad to see him go. Wish him and you guys all the best in 08:thumbsu:
PS Johnstone for #3:p
Once again, very positive move the TJ deal, given our wealth of youngsters coming through and Lappin (potentially) retiring after 2008. I think it's a beaut deal. Its one of the reasons why Wood is moving on too.. we've got too much coming through..
Oh, and speaking of Rhyce Shaw, at first I was aching thinking of him in a Lions jumper but the more I think of it the more I dont mind it. Sure, the GF stands out but that was a few years ago and he's come on. If it was true, which it doesnt seem to be now, I'm warming to it.
Whats with Carlton offering Drummond 1 mil over 3yrs. Where the hell is their money coming from??
How far do you think you can go next year?
Charman and Leuenberger as your starting rucks I presume?
Solid defence.
Awesome midfield, with a great mix of inside/outside players. TJ should thrive.
Any team with Brown up forward won't struggle to put a score on the board. Is Brennan staying and will Bradshaw be back?
Thats a really flash looking team. Next year looks like it should be a ripper for you guys. :thumbsu:
wobblypunt
11 Oct 2007, 19:06
Heard he is one of the most accurate kicks in the league? This true? If so, our chances of making the finals are 90 - 100%, seeing as bradshaw will be back also.
Mate, Browney would be licking his chops knowing he's got TJ delivering the ball. As I have eluded to already in previous threads, I feel our delivery to Brown was rather ordinary at times last year (albeit the fact that he had 17 players on him). Johnstone is a ripper kick, Brown would be rapt to have him I reckon.
Things are looking up people, our midfield will be awesome, with DB back and a fit Clark and a backline that is gathering momentum we're in for a great ride - if not next year definately in 09.
MSB ROYS
11 Oct 2007, 19:15
Welcome to the Lions Travis!
Grimreepah
11 Oct 2007, 19:33
Mate, Browney would be licking his chops knowing he's got TJ delivering the ball.
Yep. Expecting the commentators to call 'Johnstone hits Brown on the chest' a fair bit next year.
Let's just hope Johnstone can bring his 'A' game up to Brisbane.
LuckyLuke
11 Oct 2007, 19:34
Mate, Browney would be licking his chops knowing he's got TJ delivering the ball. As I have eluded to already in previous threads, I feel our delivery to Brown was rather ordinary at times last year (albeit the fact that he had 17 players on him). Johnstone is a ripper kick, Brown would be rapt to have him I reckon.
Things are looking up people, our midfield will be awesome, with DB back and a fit Clark and a backline that is gathering momentum we're in for a great ride - if not next year definately in 09.
So will Black, Power and the rest of the mids.
I'm a little uneasy with the club effectively trading Wood for Johnstone. Surely we could have gotten a little more from the deal. Travis will be excellent for us though, i'm sure of it.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 19:40
So will Black, Power and the rest of the mids.
Travis will directly contribute 20 goals to Browny's tally. :thumbsu:
If only Big Kev was still around, we could have had another sponsor. I dont think I need to elaborate on that..
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 19:46
If only Big Kev was still around, we could have had another sponsor. I dont think I need to elaborate on that..
I'M EXCITED!
Warwick
11 Oct 2007, 19:47
I'm a little uneasy with the club effectively trading Wood for Johnstone. Surely we could have gotten a little more from the deal. Travis will be excellent for us though, i'm sure of it.
You reckon??
I'm astounded we got Johnstone for Wood.
You reckon??
as a lions supporter very happy we got johnstone... good runner who breaks the lines.. will fit in well on the back flank or wing
I marked Johnstone as someone i hoped we would get, we got him. I am over the moon. I have followed Johnstone closely throughout his career. I think at Brisbane away from the limelight and with a successful culture being bred into the team, he will prosper. Johnstone will have to work hard and start from scratch. His ability to read the play, evasive skills, sublime foot skills will only enhance our club. Leigh has picked him up because i believe he realistically thinks we are a shot at the premiership next season.
TheBrownDog
11 Oct 2007, 20:23
You reckon??
Especially considering that the Demons are reportedly paying a chunk of his salary for the first year.
Happy days.
Bradshaw back.
Rumors are that Rhan has re-signed.
Now all we need to do is get Brennan inked up.
Very solid mix of youth and experience with no real oldies bar nigel who is only what 30.
Fairley
11 Oct 2007, 20:39
I have got faith in Nigel being a bit of a Robert Harvey... It seems most people think this year will be his last though?
Happy days.
Bradshaw back.
So bloody happy still. Spoke to him at the Club Champion dinner - he actually said BRADDLES himself :D so proud of my boy! He is right for round 1, and he may even kick 11 goals to get his record back!
Cara_Cougar #16
11 Oct 2007, 20:51
how old is he again? i know he has played something like 160 games.
breanan might leave plz don't!!
i hope we pick up mark williams he kicked 63 goals in 05 and in 06 he kicked 60. good player hawks show no interest in him
good pick hope he can help us to glory:)
Stevie_Crow
11 Oct 2007, 20:55
Terrible move in the long run i think, sorry.
TheBrownDog
11 Oct 2007, 20:57
If you are just going to offer your opinion without justifying it, what is the point?
Similar things were said when we picked up one Martin Pike- off field issues, attitude problem etc.
If you are just going to offer your opinion without justifying it, what is the point?
I would like to know what your position was on the Johnstone moving to Brisbane discussion prior to trade week. Were you one of the people who bagged such a thought or did you support it?
ridethewind
11 Oct 2007, 21:00
You undid your great work in ripping Collingwood off (they are so totally inept at trading) and piss pick 14 against the wall on Johnstone.
But you'll get more decent footy out of TJ than the Pies will out of Wood. So I suppose you still come out ahead.Not a deep draft so we are happy to take the kid, I would however question the thinking behind adding Johnstone to that list?
Cousin Jed
11 Oct 2007, 21:03
Not a deep draft so we are happy to take the kid, I would however question the thinking behind adding Johnstone to that list?
Too many times this year our Midfield got really hammered, and often poor use of the footy was to blame, which is his strongest point.
Anyway I saw 92 users on here...most I have ever seen on our board!. Must be trade week!
considering he was in an ordinary midfield at melbourne he would have been the main focus to shutdown, now you put him behind black power lappin and it makes the lions midfield pretty dangerous. add in selwood and riscachelli
looks pretty top class lol
gl next year! dont give us another hiding at the G though
nigelicious
11 Oct 2007, 21:07
Great pickup... just need to make him go hard at the ball like a true Lion and he will be great support for the boys.
Our midfield is gonna rip this season
Impossible to say how it will work out, could potentially be a great pickup and the loss of pick 14 for one year is not a huge one IMO. Age not a factor really. We look like a good team (and the interest in our players from other teams in trade week seems to back this up) and if anything I think we've underachieved in 2007. it was never going to come together quickly with such a big turnaround but out midfield has some great players in it but has underperformed. Hate to cliche it up, but could be the X-factor, don't really have that goal kicking, forward running midfielder that we used to.
Whether you think it's a good or bad move, it is bloody exciting. Trade week usually such a dull thing (even when you get draft picks and have to wait 3 years to see it come to fruition) but to pickup something so tangible in a player of Johnstone's ilk just gives the supporters something to look forward to.
TheBrownDog
11 Oct 2007, 21:22
I would like to know what your position was on the Johnstone moving to Brisbane discussion prior to trade week. Were you one of the people who bagged such a thought or did you support it?
Was it even floated as a possibility before trade week?
lion_gooner
11 Oct 2007, 21:33
wow certainly didnt expect johnstone at brisbane :O really hope he is another martin pike :D
not happy at all wood going to collingwood :(
pick 14 even though this isnt supposed to be a deep draft like last season is still alot to pay for a 27 yr old
lets hope that johnstone will be worth pick 14 and more :D
wonder what number he will be? seeing clark is number 1
TheBrownDog
11 Oct 2007, 21:33
really hope he is another martin pike :D
I bet Bowers doesn't. :eek:
Warwick
11 Oct 2007, 21:35
wow certainly didnt expect johnstone at brisbane :O really hope he is another martin pike :D
pick 14 even though this isnt supposed to be a deep draft like last season is still alot to pay for a 27 yr old
Didn't he wear 16?
He could take that number. Replace the hack wearing it at the moment.
Blue_Blood
11 Oct 2007, 21:36
Glad to see TJ at the Den now, will be an asset to the club (on the field). Top 6 should be in the Lions sights now, specially with Braddy back as well. Hope Brennan stays, he's one of my boyz lol.
How far do you think you can go next year?
Charman and Leuenberger as your starting rucks I presume?
Solid defence.
Awesome midfield, with a great mix of inside/outside players. TJ should thrive.
Any team with Brown up forward won't struggle to put a score on the board. Is Brennan staying and will Bradshaw be back?
Thats a really flash looking team. Next year looks like it should be a ripper for you guys. :thumbsu:Yeah, yeah, yeah, if we can hold on to everyone tomorrow I think next year is starting to look pretty interesting. That midfield is going to create some havoc.
If Mitch turns it on and allows Bradshaw to play CHB we are going to be a serious little team.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 21:51
PIck 14 isn't anything special, we'll probaly end up with pick 14 at the end of next season.
The Flying Belgian
11 Oct 2007, 21:54
I wasn't aware of the Fitzroy connection with Johnstone. Apparently barracked for the Roys as a kid and his grandad Norm was in the Team of the Century.
Sherminator.
11 Oct 2007, 21:56
Didn't he wear 16?
He could take that number. Replace the hack wearing it at the moment.
Number 4, IMO.
possum8
11 Oct 2007, 22:07
Robert Walls is going to cream himself next year. This is like his fantasy, Black to Johnstone to Brown.
Mcleod_Nine
11 Oct 2007, 22:08
haha
yeh i reckon he would love that
ExTasDeeMan
11 Oct 2007, 22:15
Best of luck with the boy - after nearly 10 years with the club, he will welcome a new bit of land to run off.
He will add some good extra experience, but hope he can put in a consistent effort like a few years back.
Kochie 16
11 Oct 2007, 23:27
Sounds like our best trade since Pikey!
PROUD LION
11 Oct 2007, 23:32
An astute pick up IMO....probably planning for a tilt at the premiership in 2009/10 where our team will be choc full of 100 gamers and only losing Lappin to "age issues" :thumbsu:
As good as anyone in the AFL over 50m and can break games open with his precise kicking. Midfields win games of footy these days; ours is coming along quite nicely:
Black
Power
Lappin
Adcock
Johnstone
Selwood
........and a host of players who can rotate through ;)
Terrific trade IMO.
Wood was No.3 ruckman (or even no.4) at the Lions so to that extent, was expendable.
Johnstone is a class halfback /midfielder with great kicking skills....just what we need.
Back leigh to get the best out of him:thumbsu:
roostersgal4eva
11 Oct 2007, 23:53
Very happy with that :D:thumbsu:
Travis will be a welcome aquisition - and besides a change is a good as a holiday so I think he will tidy up on his weaknesses
I don't reckon he'll be able to keep his number 16
Dylan12
12 Oct 2007, 01:30
Great article about him - i am really looking forward to his arrival - i mean Wood for Johnstone short term looks fantastic - hope it works for both parties:
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/johnstone-heads-to-lions/2007/10/11/1191696082798.html
dutchy12
12 Oct 2007, 01:41
Good luck with him you guys. He was always the type of player who you'd think if he went to another club he'd dominate. I seriosly think he is going to be more than capable of getting a couple of all aus jumpers with you. Its sad for us but probably better in the long run. Good luck your my 2nd fav team with Borwny
TheBrownDog
12 Oct 2007, 01:43
Good luck with him you guys. He was always the type of player who you'd think if he went to another club he'd dominate. I seriosly think he is going to be more than capable of getting a couple of all aus jumpers with you. Its sad for us but probably better in the long run. Good luck your my 2nd fav team with Borwny
Thanks mate, we'll take care of him. :thumbsu:
good luck with TJ, I hate to say it but I think he'll do more in the Lions team than if he'd stayed with us. He needs a change and a hard arse coach.
He is awesome, and you'll all know why next year. Great pick up for the lions, you'll all understand why he was a fav at the Dees even though he never consistantly performed the way we know he can.
Those that go on about his off-field problems really have no idea about the bloke. Please tell us about his problems?
Although I hate to see him go, all the best jonno, show 'em what you've got!
good luck with TJ, I hate to say it but I think he'll do more in the Lions team than if he'd stayed with us. He needs a change and a hard arse coach.
He is awesome, and you'll all know why next year. Great pick up for the lions, you'll all understand why he was a fav at the Dees even though he never consistantly performed the way we know he can.
Those that go on about his off-field problems really have no idea about the bloke. Please tell us about his problems?
Although I hate to see him go, all the best jonno, show 'em what you've got!
Wasn't he down to play a Andrew MacLeod type roll this year? If so does that mean he's lost a step or so?
TURKEY92
12 Oct 2007, 10:30
heyy guys.
good luck with TJ, hes a great player and if leigh can really get him in to line and increase his work ethic you will have one of the best middies in the league.
i just dont know why we didnt get pick 11 off sydney for him?? apparently it was offered and we took 14 instead?? anyway im happy he's a lion..
good luck TJ!
I can only reiterate what other MFC supporters have said. Good pick up for you guys. I'm sure Leigh will get the most out of TJ.
Tim the Toolman
12 Oct 2007, 12:52
Hopefully with Normy's silky kicking skills he can do some work with Mitch to show him how it's done!
Imagine Browny's receives with Normy coming down the wing and centre? :thumbsu:
FatBoy's Wombats
12 Oct 2007, 13:00
I reckon a good pickup for you guys at a bargain price. Hope he does well, much maligned player but still a gifted footballer :thumbsu:
Yep. Expecting the commentators to call 'Johnstone hits Brown on the chest' a fair bit next year.
Let's just hope Johnstone can bring his 'A' game up to Brisbane.
I was thinking about this. I reckon we've already got about 38 blokes who know how to deliver the ball the Browny. The big advantage of a player like Johnstone is that we now have someone who'll actually be able to ignore the Brown lead and spot up the other targets.
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 13:23
By the way, I wonder how big a factor Johnstone's Fitzroy connection was? Was that a reason why the Lions were interested in him or is it just a coincidence?
roostersgal4eva
12 Oct 2007, 13:29
his grandfather was a fitzroy player wasnt he?
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 13:37
his grandfather was a fitzroy player wasnt he?
Yep. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9156199&postcount=18)
Warwick
12 Oct 2007, 13:45
Melbourne supporters >>>> all other supporters >>>> ear wax >>>> Collingwood supporters.
Dylan12
12 Oct 2007, 14:29
Yes - Fitzroy supporter as a kid
Yes - His Grandpa was the Fitzroy TOC legend - Normie Johnstone - i think played 244 games or something.
Jumper Number Prediction - Like someone else said, i am going 4 as my tip.
maditaliano
12 Oct 2007, 14:40
TJ is a legend and I think Brisbane is lucky to get him for only pick 14. Great trade for Brisbane, not so great for Melbourne.
tigertiger
12 Oct 2007, 15:11
the rumour doing the rounds on the richmond board is that Brennan is being unloaded, any truth to this?