View Full Version : More Melbourne Trades???
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 18:56
Okay, so we have scored another first round draft pick and a ruckman with serious potential.
Is there anything else we may try and offload?
I heard Saints are intersted in Chris Johnson.
but cant see it happening if they secure Sydneys Schneider.
Carroll is also on the chopping block, i actually saw him today getting into his car heading off somewhere and i thought that was an omen.:)
But honestly i cant see us making any more moves, full steam ahead for Novembers draft.
Thoughts?
TURKEY92
11 Oct 2007, 19:01
Okay, so we have scored another first round draft pick and a ruckman with serious potential.
sorry if ive missed somethig but...what is our other first round pick? who did we trade?
anyway yes id love to see TJ to brissy for someone like Brennan or maybe an notting or adcock??
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 19:02
TJ went to Brisbane for #14. Official.
belly21
11 Oct 2007, 19:04
sad to see TJ go, im a young bloke that knows a fair few of the u/18s up for consideration for the draft and having played against a few.. its not a majorly strong draft i tell you.
call me crazy , dunno what everyone else thinks but id love to see 14 or our next pick (sorry cant remember what it is , not 4) to geelong for pris, they rate him... but if we put up 14... i just think its worth a try.
I'm still currently gathering my thoughts after the loss of TJ to Brisbane ,but I'm gonna give Chris Connelly and Dean Bailey the BOD if they can get a player along with pick 14, Chris Johnson seems 70% in the door at St Kilda by reports so that will give us pick 9 ,surely between now and tommorrow we can get a established player in they're early to mid 20's ,hopefully Prismall is a realistic target for us now ,he notified Thompson this morning that he would like to be traded.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:07
Think your dreaming with Chris Johnston for pick 9.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:11
Just to let you knows guys that Craig Cameron is about to come on SEN to talk about our trading.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:13
sad to see TJ go, im a young bloke that knows a fair few of the u/18s up for consideration for the draft and having played against a few.. its not a majorly strong draft i tell you.
I have heard the same thing, but with 3 picks in the top 21 is a good position to be in.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 19:15
How long until CC is on? I'm turning it on now.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 19:15
On now.
Think your dreaming with Chris Johnston for pick 9.
whoops correction ,I was meant to say pick 42 sorry my mistake.
Recap of Cameron's interview:
- Dees wanted more picks, so TJ was the one that could get us a high one. Denied getting rid of him because of off-field problems.
- Hasn't spoken to TJ
- Didn't think Bruce or Green would get a first rounder
- Deano wants a refreshed list
- Admits TJ has been a 'challenge'. Mark Robinson kept pushing him to see if there were any other reasons why he was traded (problems off-field etc) but was denied about 4 times.
- Denies we're rebuilding
- Happy with Meesen.
- At the moment, no more trades are set to happen. He said that if anything happens, it's unknown to him at the moment.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:23
whoops correction ,I was meant to say pick 42 sorry my mistake.
No worries mate. I think its not worth trading huim for pick 42, due to it being a weak draft. If we get late 20's i'll be happy but i think we should persist with him.
Craig Cameron was just on saying in relation to other trades that "theres nothing on the table on at the moment, but you know what trade week is like."
So thats looks about it for trading in 2007!
Go Dees!
I still think Prismall is a possiblity ,we have to look to at him ,he's 21,going by what Graig Cameron said, the club is looking for an established player under 23 surely someone in the football department can see the sense.
TURKEY92
11 Oct 2007, 19:37
not sure if it would be accepted but...if st kilda rate chris johnson. y not trade CJ and pick 14 for pick 9...any chance of that?
TURKEY92
11 Oct 2007, 19:38
id also like to see what would be offered for bruce or maybe green.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:42
not sure if it would be accepted but...if st kilda rate chris johnson. y not trade CJ and pick 14 for pick 9...any chance of that?
I like it Turkey.. I lot it a lot!!!
Unleash Hell
11 Oct 2007, 19:44
Nothing, thats why they weren't offered.
Unleash Hell
11 Oct 2007, 19:56
Johnstone travelling north
5:16 PM Thu 11 October, 2007 | Back
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
News
THE Brisbane Lions have secured classy Melbourne midfielder Travis Johnstone in a deal which will see the Demons gain selection No.14 in the 2007 NAB AFL Draft.
The Demons received pick No.14, after the Lions gained that pick when they traded ruckman Cameron Wood to Collingwood.
Effectively, this is what the trade means for each club:
Brisbane Lions – Travis Johnstone.
Collingwood – Cameron Wood.
Melbourne – No.14 (player yet to be known).
Melbourne general manager of recruiting and list management Craig Cameron praised Johnstone's services to the club, but was excited by the prospect of another selection inside the top 15.
"We would like to thank Travis for his services to the Melbourne Football Club over the past decade and we wish him all the very best with his new opportunity at the Brisbane Lions," Cameron told melbournefc.com.au.
Interesting
and here here, thanks Jonno!
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 20:02
CC said that Melbourne will still be interested in trade week but don't have any thing planned so far. Meesen and Johnstone seems to be it but there is a growing rumour of CJ to St.Kilda.
Is there anything else we may try and offload?
I heard Saints are intersted in Chris Johnson.
but cant see it happening if they secure Sydneys Schneider.
Carroll is also on the chopping block, i actually saw him today getting into his car heading off somewhere and i thought that was an omen.:)
But honestly i cant see us making any more moves, full steam ahead for Novembers draft.
Thoughts?
Greetings to MFC supporters,
Few points & questions:
1) C Johnson for Pick 43 = not worth it. Instead, would this work by trading C Johnson and Pick 53 for Fremantle's Ryan Murphy and Pick 56? Heard some pros and cons on Murphy and if this deal is not worth it or if Murphy is a dud, then I would prefer to give C Johnson some opportunity to develop under the new coach.
If St Kilda is interested, maybe C Johnson for Pick 26 or C Johnson and Pick 14 for Pick 9? Pick 43 is a big no.
2) Mark Jamar. Since Meeson's deal is confirmed, is it worth trading Jamar? If so, a trade for St Kilda's Pick 43 could be possible. St Kilda wanting a young ruckman and would be nice to gain Pick 43 as a replacement for Pick 37.
3) Sydney's Pick 11. I'm sure we all aiming at this pick. Having the chance to get this pick would be Miller because Swans are interested. For MFC to get this pick, it's not enough. How do we get this pick? Let's say chuck Nathan Carroll in as a package deal? or something else? Otherwise , I cant see we can get Pick 11 while Cameron said Miller is required.
4) Nathan Carroll. Who would be interested? Maybe Kangaroos, Carlton, Hawks and Richmond, all these 4 clubs need backman or lack defensive strength. If those clubs are interested, then the next question is at what price?
5) Prismal. I agree that this player should be look at. I'm not too sure what Geelong wants or what MFC can offer, but Pick 4, 14 or 21 is too high. Our next pick, if we are lucky will be 43. Hope Pick 43 will be enough, but doubt Pick 43 will satisfy Geelong because Prismal is still on a contract. If he is not on contract, then there might be a chance.
6) Craig Cameron has mentioned he would like to have more picks, the more the better. Trading Fergusson especially Hawks (if interested) and Warnock for 4th or 5th rounder might work.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 20:36
Prismall will require a fair bit more than 43. Trade 1 wouldn't accepted. I'd do CJ + 53 for Murphy but I doubt the Dockers would. I wouldn't trade Carroll unless we get something amazing for him because we don't have any full back options at the moment.
master bate
11 Oct 2007, 21:08
I think I no why Craig Cameron wants more picks, Meesen comes in for TJ, Bode gets promoted but that leaves us with a minimum of 5 picks. That means we have to use 4, 14, 21, 53 and 69. Somehow we have to get players traded in a way to improve picks, like Jamar and 69 for 40 and 41 (pure example by the way). Otherwise if we delist more players such as Ferguson we will have to use pick 75 which might not work very well. Another option is promoting Daniel Hughes (hasn't been cut yet but not sure if he will be promoted, also not sure on Bode, anyone know about that) or recycling players.
TURKEY92
11 Oct 2007, 21:33
I like it Turkey.. I lot it a lot!!!
hahaha thanks..
if we do get pick 9 off saints is there any chance rance would slip to 9 or not. maybe we could aim for freos pick 7? CJ, pick 14 and maybe a fourth or fifth round for pick 7.. 7 would definately get us rance i would think.
huzy oner
11 Oct 2007, 21:39
i think we could have done alot better with JT we could have taken more time to see what other clubs will offer.... and we should of got more then just pick 14 for him hes a legend.
love u jonno;)
huzy oner
11 Oct 2007, 21:42
Turkey you sound like you know your footy that would be good to see what clubs offer but they still both have alot more in them..:thumbsu:
Deenamite
11 Oct 2007, 21:46
I reckon we trade CJ but for a pick in the 30's or a collaboration for Murphy. If not that we might as well keep him but the problem is that there are quite a few guys ahead of him...Bell, Petterd, Bartram
davey_magik
11 Oct 2007, 22:03
We don't want Prismall.
In terms of the way he plays, he's very similar to Brock, just obviously nowhere near as good.
Don't need him.
Deenamite
11 Oct 2007, 22:40
We don't want Prismall.
In terms of the way he plays, he's very similar to Brock, just obviously nowhere near as good.
Don't need him.
I thought he was more of an outside player whearas Brock is obviously inside?
goodie23
12 Oct 2007, 01:50
Long answer: Nope
Short answer: No
Sorry to disappoint. With the Johnstone trade going through there's really not much point trading Johnson to us, you won't get our first round pick, our second round pick's gone and why would you want anything beyond that?
It's a weak draft and you've got your compulsory picks all in the top 21.
dee-molishon
12 Oct 2007, 08:19
I'm still currently gathering my thoughts after the loss of TJ to Brisbane ,but I'm gonna give Chris Connelly and Dean Bailey the BOD if they can get a player along with pick 14, Chris Johnson seems 70% in the door at St Kilda by reports so that will give us pick 9 ,surely between now and tommorrow we can get a established player in they're early to mid 20's ,hopefully Prismall is a realistic target for us now ,he notified Thompson this morning that he would like to be traded.
pick 9 for chris johnson ur dreaming...........2nd round pick for chris johnson no way in hell.............i think id rather straight swap fergus watts to chris johnson than take a late pick in a shallow draft
bringbackschwarter5
12 Oct 2007, 08:37
pick 9 for chris johnson ur dreaming...........2nd round pick for chris johnson no way in hell.............i think id rather straight swap fergus watts to chris johnson than take a late pick in a shallow draft
Saints gave up a first rounder for Watts, and are expecting him to do big things this year
dee-molishon
12 Oct 2007, 08:46
Saints gave up a first rounder for Watts, and are expecting him to do big things this year
i know they gave up a 1st rounder to get him, but he hasnt had a look in at all at st kilda............playing for the casey scorpions is hardly going to elevate or steady ur trade value......but yes u may be right, with the g-train retiring he may have more opportunities this year.............in which case send johnson and a 4th rounder back home to west coast for mckinley
Deenamite
12 Oct 2007, 08:56
I think St Kilda have quietened down on CJ and he's likely to remain a Dee. The Age this morning.
Can't find anything on "The Age" this morning.
I'd jump at that but I doubt St.Kilda will. By the way getting Dempster and Schnieder for pick 23, St.Kilda are massive winners this trade week. Considering Richmond gave up 19 for McMahon. Maybe they are feeling generous and will give us 9?