View Full Version : Travis Johnstone Tributes and Memories thread.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 19:13
Title speaks for itself. I'll start it off with the video I posted in the other thread.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=r4prxr0OaEU
Other great TJ memories:
-Ripping it up vs Adelaide in the 2002 semi final
-Winning the B&F in 2005 and nearly making the All-Australian team
-Watching him run down the MCG wing and think "this will be something special"
-42 possessions vs Carlton in what turned out to be his final game
-Coming straight off the bench against Collingwood and kicking a tighish goal which ignited the crowd.
BUT, the best of all:
Kicking a goal vs Essendon in round 1 of 2005 and pointing to the Broadbridge tattoo on his arm.
CaptainDavey
11 Oct 2007, 19:24
His brilliant game against West Coast at Subiaco when we were the last Victorian team to beat them over in Perth
bringbackschwarter5
11 Oct 2007, 19:29
This is worse then when those idiots traded Woey, imo
HiHoEverybody
11 Oct 2007, 19:32
Title speaks for itself. I'll start it off with the video I posted in the other thread.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=r4prxr0OaEU
Other great TJ memories:
-Winning the B&F in 2005 and nearly making the All-Australian team
-Watching him run down the MCG wing and think "this will be something special"
-42 possessions vs Carlton in what turned out to be his final game
-Coming straight off the bench against Collingwood and kicking a tighish goal which ignited the crowd.
BUT, the best of all:
Kicking a goal vs Essendon in round 1 of 2005 and pointing to the Broadbridge tattoo on his arm.
I feel a bit sad watching that video. I'm really going to miss him now I think about it. So many great memories but I would put the Adelaide game as my fav.
We'll miss you Trapper! All the best mate.
eliasd82
11 Oct 2007, 19:39
The Best Travis Johnstone Memory invovles my Wheels in the Elimination Final against Essendon.
A looping handball to Hird he has to strech to get it..
"BANG!" Whelan the wrecker smashes Hird to the turf, gathers and feeds a lovely handball to TJ along the boundary line...
he looks for an option in the forward 50, bounce... nothing!
hard up on the boundary from 55meters out he launches for goal... staright over the goal umpires hat!!!
You Rippa TJ, you little Ripper!
Unleash Hell
11 Oct 2007, 19:39
I want to wish Trapper all the best. Loved the guy and still do, hope he rips it up for the Lions. And i am glad he has gone to a top club like the lions, one other side I can stand.
Now c'mon kids harden the f*$@ up. He was a good player never a great player. He peaked in 2002 and never lived upto the hype.
Players come and go, but I love the jumper not the players.
We need a change at this club, anyone who thinks we could challenge for the flag in the next few years are delision and as bad as Ess and Rich supporters.
Pick 14 could be a gun, look at Dunn, Jones, Frawley, all high 1st round picks, and look like they could be very handy players.
Get over it people Trapper is gone,
Embrace and Unleash a new DEMON era!!!!!!!!!!!
gregdemons
11 Oct 2007, 19:40
Mine is Queen's Birthday 2005 when we had a bit of a lead and the ball was kicked into the forward line to Travis and he took the mark literally stationary with no Collingwood player near him. The Magpie Army was as quiet as they'll ever be.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 19:51
I just watched on the AFL make your own highlights thing which is quite good all of the goals from the Melbourne vs Essendon round 1 game in 2005...mainly so I could see Travis's! I also forgot just how good Moloney was when full fit. He had a lot of pace and his kick was exception. His pickup for his first goal was just wow. I can't wait til we can (hopefully) see him reach that level again and beyond.
mark my words that man will be something big, he was one of my favourite players outside of Carlton. Had a shocker this year but was honestly something on the field in previous years. he will be something big at Brisbane, you guys must be shattered
whelan=legend
11 Oct 2007, 20:36
mark my words that man will be something big, he was one of my favourite players outside of Carlton. Had a shocker this year but was honestly something on the field in previous years. he will be something big at Brisbane, you guys must be shattered
He will be something? He is 28... doubt how much better he can be
demonfan9
11 Oct 2007, 20:48
We got Daniel Bell out of that trade. :rolleyes:
Now who would you rather right now; Bell or Woewodin?
Co-incidentally, we traded Woewodin and Johnstone for Pick 14.
demonfan9
11 Oct 2007, 20:51
I just watched on the AFL make your own highlights thing which is quite good all of the goals from the Melbourne vs Essendon round 1 game in 2005...mainly so I could see Travis's! I also forgot just how good Moloney was when full fit. He had a lot of pace and his kick was exception. His pickup for his first goal was just wow. I can't wait til we can (hopefully) see him reach that level again and beyond.
How can you make your own highlights?
RE: Johnstone,
When he kicked that goal against Essendon in 2004, didn't he kick one from an identical spot about 2 minutes earlier/later?
He revolutionised Brownlow night last year.
CaptainDavey
11 Oct 2007, 21:02
He revolutionised Brownlow night last year.
Just wait till he starts licking and kissing Jonathan Brown
goal sneak
11 Oct 2007, 21:08
The best individual performance i have ever seen from a melbourne player and it came in a loosing side.
Deenamite
11 Oct 2007, 21:34
Just wait til TJ is GOD gets hold of this thread.
Well, I don't have a particular highlight but the amount of times he created oppportunities through his kicking and footballing abilities was always a sight to behold.
Supermercado
11 Oct 2007, 21:35
Yeah, because that really came back to bite us in the arse didn't it? :rolleyes:
CowboyFromHell
11 Oct 2007, 21:40
Yeah, because that really came back to bite us in the arse didn't it? :rolleyes:
Don't you just love it how people crack the shits and start pulling out rubbish SM? Happens every time. History shows we won the Woewodin deal - he only lasted a few years and we landed Daniel Bell. It's a huge win.
Couple with the fact that, from picks #12 to #15 over the last few years, we have landed Bate, Dunn, Jones, Frawley and Bell and you are looking at super strike rate. I'll back Craig Cameron all the way.
Having said that my fave TJ memory has to be the Adelaide game from 02. Easily.
Supermercado
11 Oct 2007, 22:26
See, I'm not against TJ (though I was never as enamoured with him as some on here), but players come and go. The club is forever!
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 22:31
How can you make your own highlights?
RE: Johnstone,
When he kicked that goal against Essendon in 2004, didn't he kick one from an identical spot about 2 minutes earlier/later?
In the audio/video section of the AFL site there is a make your own highlights thing where you select a game and teams and then tick the goals you want to watch and it compiles a video of them. It's quite nifty...when it works.
Bartram_Class
11 Oct 2007, 22:31
Couldn't agree more.
Fantastic way to sign off an emotion-fuelled clash.
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 22:32
I'm definitely for the trade as I feel we'll benefit from it a lot but that doesn't mean I don't feel hollow now that one of my favourites has gone :(
Guess I have a reason to watch the Brissy games now.
Good luck TJ.
Can-play
11 Oct 2007, 23:41
Y DO MELBOURNE DO THIS CRAP!
pick 14...means nothing. tj yeh had a poor year, but so did the team. dunno how u can get rid of some1 of his class. they've done the same with other quality midfielders = woey, scotty thompson.
melbourne need his skill n poise this yr, not another young bloke from the draft to develop for the future, melbourne should be expecting they can win a flag in the next 2-3 years therefore requiring him in the middle. shit decision
all the best tj
melbournemartin
11 Oct 2007, 23:44
I think that we'd be more than happy with another Jones, Frawley, Dunn or Bate. They've all shown that they can have a big impact on a game or at least have the potential to. In the next 3 years, some if not all of them will have just as much influence on us winning a flag or not as TJ. If we get another of them we're on the way and we'll have another 10 years out of them compared to TJ.
Theseventhhamster
11 Oct 2007, 23:47
I'll miss the sublime talent but not the coasting around the park. Winning teams can carry guys like TJ, looks like the new coach decided we can't. I didn't want to get any younger but I have faith in our recruiting to pick up a quality player.
I hope you all enjoyed his game against Carlton as much as I did (Those who were there anyway ;)) We won't be seeing him play ever again unless you're willing to head on down and watch the Lions play the Hawks.
Almost disheartening to know I'll probably never see him play live again.
He alway seemed to have about 2 seconds longer with the ball than any other player in the league, thats what made him special. He was able to stop, sum up his options and pin point his pass wherever he wanted. God I'll miss that.
Just a thought, do you think its possible that we overrated his kicking because for a while our other midfield options include Junior and Godfrey? Godders would make anyone looks awesome.:p
bringbackschwarter5
12 Oct 2007, 08:36
Well at the time i was a bit annoyed, as you would be when you have your favourite player traded, now i realise that it was for the best
Supermercado
12 Oct 2007, 08:45
My favourite player got delisted last year :(
I think TJ Is God has jumped off the Westgate.
dee-molishon
12 Oct 2007, 08:51
2 top ten b and f finshes in 10 years sums up johnstones carrer.........so much potential but seldomley delivered enough...........good move by cameron trading him now while he still had trade value.............lets face it guys if we werent in re-build mode half way through this year we sure as hell are now..............be looking around at least 2012 before we have a premiership team
feelyngood
12 Oct 2007, 09:05
:mad:
Hope he wins a brownlow at the Lions, guess I have a second team now.
Strange year with Daniher and now TJ dumped.
We should have got more than pick 14..... oh well, its done. Rip it up TJ
2002 finals series was awesome.
HighRoller
12 Oct 2007, 10:13
yup Adelaide SF 2002 just a wonderful performance
Essendon 04 EF he turned the game himself.
Richmond 05 in that game where Brown broke his leg, TJ dominated.
Brisbane classic win in 02 up there TJ again.
I always pictured him as our equivalent of Steve Johnson and thought we would sort him out this year i guess its not to be
TJ is GOD
12 Oct 2007, 10:21
I think it only fitting that I, TJ is GOD declare today Friday the 12th of October a national day of mourning.
For we at the Melbourne Football Club have lost a god amongst hacks. We we remeber you now and forever TJ and we wish you the best of success and hope that pick 14 is the next Lawernce Angwin.
Farwell TJ you will be sorely missed
Spirit of 26
12 Oct 2007, 11:54
His first game. Absolutely no doubt he was going to be one of the most talented players ever to pull on the red & blue.
But then things went haywire when the coach said' "Now Travis , pay
attention. What I want you to do is to man up on your player, be more accountable, .....
(Insert picture of Travis having a Homer moment and daydreaming about a fabulous world made out of chocolate).
.....and finally, don't forget your defensive game. You got all of that Travis?"
"Yes coach, everything. Execpt the bit that came after, pay attention".
Fav memory would be in his first season when he booted 4 goals to win the match against Collingwood
Hope he wins a brownlow at Brisbane
Bailey better hope we get a gun with pick 14
Come Get Some
12 Oct 2007, 15:31
My favourite ever player. I have never liked any player more in my life. I'm absolutely shattered, in tears. Hope he tears at brisbane and wins a brownlow and their b & f. His whole 05 season was a delight. Even when we lost 7 on the trot he was consitantly getting 25 touches a game. That 04 ess game and 02 crows final. There was a time when he would run into goal and actually wouldn't miss. Thanks TJ. Luv Ya.
Now we are going to have to find someone else to kick in from full back and turn the ball over like TJ did every second time!:thumbsd:
He is a Good player, but lets be honest, the pay packet he was on $$$$$$$ never really lived up to it. Great players are consistant.
Harsh but fair.
melbournemartin
12 Oct 2007, 17:20
His first game. Absolutely no doubt he was going to be one of the most talented players ever to pull on the red & blue.
But then things went haywire when the coach said' "Now Travis , pay
attention. What I want you to do is to man up on your player, be more accountable, .....
(Insert picture of Travis having a Homer moment and daydreaming about a fabulous world made out of chocolate).
.....and finally, don't forget your defensive game. You got all of that Travis?"
"Yes coach, everything. Execpt the bit that came after, pay attention".
It's like Mr Burns teaching Homer how to bat just before he comes on as a pinch hitter.
Supermercado
12 Oct 2007, 17:47
we wish you the best of success and hope that pick 14 is the next Lawernce Angwin.
With all due respect (of which there is none) you're a ****wit. Anyone who wants the pick to be a dud so they can claim that they were 'right' can piss right off out of this club in my book. The decision has been made - fit in or **** off.
Deenamite
12 Oct 2007, 17:55
This thread is making some Melbourne supporters delusional. I will pull this thread back out when we have a great player at 14 and Travis is well into retirement. He won't win a brownlow ffs.
TJ is GOD
12 Oct 2007, 18:39
With all due respect (of which there is none) you're a ****wit. Anyone who wants the pick to be a dud so they can claim that they were 'right' can piss right off out of this club in my book. The decision has been made - fit in or **** off.
I believe that i have the right to mourn in peace. Some things said in the spur of the moment are obviously being misinterpreted. I love the MFC as much as anyone on this board and have the right to feel aggrieved when we lose a quality player.
I am mainly disappionted with the fact that we so happily settled for pick 14 for a bloke who should get a top 10 pick is a weak draft like the upcoming one.
Go Dees
demonglory
12 Oct 2007, 21:50
I believe that i have the right to mourn in peace. Some things said in the spur of the moment are obviously being misinterpreted. I love the MFC as much as anyone on this board and have the right to feel aggrieved when we lose a quality player.
I am mainly disappionted with the fact that we so happily settled for pick 14 for a bloke who should get a top 10 pick is a weak draft like the upcoming one.
Go Dees
Carlton received pick 3 for Judd - pick 14 for Travis is more than adequate. The first 25 in the draft are quality in which we now have three picks. I for one am happy
melbournemartin
13 Oct 2007, 00:38
I think that Kennedy and #20 is a bit too much to forget in the Judd deal but yeah, 14 was about fair.
TheBrownDog
13 Oct 2007, 15:22
Nice article about TJ here, talks about how sad it was to clean out his locker. (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22577067-11088,00.html)
Sounds like your club will always mean a lot to him.
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5699856,00.gif
bringbackschwarter5
13 Oct 2007, 15:37
Nice article about TJ here, talks about how sad it was to clean out his locker. (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22577067-11088,00.html)
Sounds like your club will always mean a lot to him.
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5699856,00.gif
Sickening
CaptainDavey
13 Oct 2007, 15:41
Sickening
Check out that right arm. Damaged goods!
Flashhh
13 Oct 2007, 17:57
Yep thats the one I remember.... running into the open goal and pointing the number 20 on the black armband.
And whoever said it was like Woewodin is is very different.... Woey had won a Brownlow 2 years earlier and we wern't going to rebuilt and though we were a chance at a flag...... it was just a retard decision.
But good luck to Trav, hope he kills it at Brisbane but he had to go.
CaptainDavey
13 Oct 2007, 18:49
For what it's worth, if he has any kids we get first dibs on them don't we? Ah yes...Excellent. Talent is inherited yeah?
master bate
13 Oct 2007, 19:03
For what it's worth, if he has any kids we get first dibs on them don't we? Ah yes...Excellent. Talent is inherited yeah?Unless he plays 100 games for Brisbane, and considering he had 10 years at Melbourne and played 160 odd it would probably take him 5-6 years to do that, so I would give him about a 50% chance of doing it.
melbournemartin
13 Oct 2007, 20:31
I honestly hope he is a gun up at Brisbane and wins their Best and Fairest at some point. Someone has to so why not him? On the other hand, I equally hope that #14 turns out to be a solid player because questions are going be asked if he isn't and TJ really fires up at Brisbane (even though it's very easy to critisize in hindsight).
master bate
13 Oct 2007, 20:39
I hate fall out boy as much as anyone but the lyrics fit well here:
One night and one more time
Thanks for the memories,
even though they weren't so great
He tastes like you only sweeter
The last line is a clear reference to Ben Holland at the brownlow.
Hope you guys pick up a terrific player with #14.
Very, very sad to lose one of your favourites, but emotion aside, it looks like a good result for both of us.
Flashhh
14 Oct 2007, 15:33
For what it's worth, if he has any kids we get first dibs on them don't we? Ah yes...Excellent. Talent is inherited yeah?
well his grandfather is in the Fitzroy team of the century
Beard of Nicko
14 Oct 2007, 18:31
2007's Pick 14 is probably not going to be as good, at football, as Travis Johnstone.
A new coach, ie. Bailey, should not let the highly skilled players go. I thought the decision to let Godfrey go was a good one. Godders, for all his trying, could not deliver the ball to our forwards efficiently.
TJ is an effective ball winner and lethally effective kick (aside from his clangers due to his being a bit too eager to break the lines).
We have lost a player with 5 years left in him who can be really damaging on the scoreboard.
Not good at all.
master bate
14 Oct 2007, 19:08
2007's Pick 14 is probably not going to be as good, at football, as Travis Johnstone.
A new coach, ie. Bailey, should not let the highly skilled players go. I thought the decision to let Godfrey go was a good one. Godders, for all his trying, could not deliver the ball to our forwards efficiently.
TJ is an effective ball winner and lethally effective kick (aside from his clangers due to his being a bit too eager to break the lines).
We have lost a player with 5 years left in him who can be really damaging on the scoreboard.
Not good at all.Poor first post, this is for tributes and memories. Good username though.
diablo14
14 Oct 2007, 19:17
Apparently he's dynamite in the sack!
CaptainDavey
14 Oct 2007, 19:47
Apparently he's dynamite in the sack!
TJ IS GOD will know...
C'mon guys lets just retire the number 16 and be done with it
TheBrownDog
4 Apr 2008, 16:25
Sorry to bump an old thread, but just had a small tidbit of gossip.
When Hutchy the Rat was in Brisbane earlier in the week interviewing Brown, he also interviewed Travis, desperate to get some dirt on the Demons.
Apparently Travis didn't give Hutchy what he was after, instead he spoke in glowing terms of the club, his ex-teammates and the people behind the scenes.
Looks like your club was Hutchy's designated topic for last nights Footy Show, but he had nothing to go with, forcing him to go with the "Brown thinking of leaving Brisbane" angle instead.
CaptainDavey
4 Apr 2008, 16:44
Sorry to bump an old thread, bit just had a small tidbit of gossip.
When Hutchy the Rat was in Brisbane earlier in the week interviewing Brown, he also interviewed Travis, desperate to get some dirt on the Demons.
Apparently Travis didn't give Hutchy what he was after, instead he spoke in glowing terms of the club, his ex-teammates and the people behind the scenes.
Looks like your club was Hutchy's designated topic for last nights Footy Show, but he had nothing to go with, forcing him to go with the "Brown thinking of leaving Brisbane" angle instead.
Cheers BD. Really good to hear that sort of thing, amongst all the typical backstabbing that you hear these days. Not looking at Libba or anything...
For mine, TJ always came across as being one sandwich short of a picnic, but still if the above is true then it's very pleasing to hear:thumbsu:
Bring-Back-Powell
4 Apr 2008, 17:16
Watching TJ rip it up in Brisbane is just making 2008 that much more enjoyable :rolleyes:
I agree with the merits of the trade, but doesn't mean every Melbourne fan has to embrace it.
eliasd82
5 Apr 2008, 14:52
definitely... and hopefully TJ wins the brownlow and secures me $3,600... got on him each way in December at 501-1.. go little TJ wins me some cash!!!
Supermercado
5 Apr 2008, 16:04
And I hope we go 20-2 and win the flag, but that's not going to happen either.