View Full Version : What's happening with Larnce?
legendtofski
11 Oct 2007, 22:32
All the Judd and Pratt hype seems to have swept the issue with Larnce back to Lalor RSL for a Parmajana and a few pots and bet on the Pokies?
So will Lance be at Carlton next year?
Mentallo
11 Oct 2007, 22:40
All the Judd and Pratt hype seems to have swept the issue with Larnce back to Lalor RSL for a Parmajana and a few pots and bet on the Pokies?
So will Lance be at Carlton next year?
Kennedy going might have saved his spot for 2008.
Maybe........?
kreuzer-to-judd
11 Oct 2007, 22:54
I think its about time Lance retired and did what he has always wanted to do; weigh 300kg's.
thylacine60
11 Oct 2007, 22:56
I think its about time Lance retired and did what he has always wanted to do; weigh 300kg's.
Now that....................is hilarious:D.
Heartless bastard.
lol. It's almost like a dam waiting to burst. :)
blue gunslinger
11 Oct 2007, 23:12
GOLD!
setanta17
11 Oct 2007, 23:14
whitnalls not fat
hes just horizontally challenged
TheHeatleyStand
11 Oct 2007, 23:23
Gone!
whippersnipper
11 Oct 2007, 23:26
What I dotn get is how a family with such obvious genetic deficiencies can produce two VFL/AFL footballers. Go figure.
DonFletch
11 Oct 2007, 23:36
i suspect he will have another year. However, i hope preference is given to hartlett/edwards and the future players to prove themselves, and lance can be a top up player
TheHeatleyStand
11 Oct 2007, 23:38
i suspect he will have another year. However, i hope preference is given to hartlett/edwards and the future players to prove themselves, and lance can be a top up player
Gone!!!
Homer Simpson for Lance
11 Oct 2007, 23:47
He has bought some mirrors and is going in search of his penis.......with that wife he has not sure they can breed anything fast enough to be a chance for F/S down the track
windows
11 Oct 2007, 23:48
I'd be surprised if we kept him. He is in a really tough position now. Blues going after other players. He will want 250 a year. We will want to offer him.....nothing. I guess if he took min wage we'd keep him?
Heatleystand you operating off knowledge or supposition on this one?
blue gunslinger
11 Oct 2007, 23:51
He has bought some mirrors and is going in search of his penis.......with that wife he has not sure they can breed anything fast enough to be a chance for F/S down the track
Harsh and unnecessary!
Lance was a good player and Carlton people respect what he has done.
He has a weight problem sure but steady on.
He is not what he was, but he still puts on the Carlton jumper and deserves better than that!Until you do the same don't expect to gain respect yourself with comments like that
Long days and happy nights
Mayesy_23
12 Oct 2007, 00:00
1 more year and then see ya Lance. Great player at his prime though. Deserves a bit more respect.
Homer Simpson for Lance
12 Oct 2007, 00:00
Harsh and unnecessary!
He is not what he was, but he still puts on the Carlton jumper and deserves better than that!Until you do the same don't expect to gain respect yourself with comments like that
Sorry mate but I have lost all respect as an AFL footballer.
He has spent far too much of his career overweight, it has not been an occasional problem.
Then in his first year of captaincy to be unofficially suspended and told to lose weight once again is just noy good enough for a professional footballer.
Given that he could lose 6kg in 6-7 weeks what was he doing so overweight in the first place ?
He did not make the effort as captain to even get his weight right for the year, that is a terrible example to set for the club.
Lance should be shown the door even if we play with 1 short on our list......he has had enough chances !!
Every player needs to know that it is their responsability to present themselves in the best physical condition possible
Whitnall is no exception and has become a joke of the club and the league
DonFletch
12 Oct 2007, 00:16
from a 2005 article;
The old tyre was attached to a rope. Lance would plough the field like an ox
Whitnall, virtually immobile last season, has been running back and forth between the arcs in the manner of an endurance midfielder and his downsized frame has even become airborne during the Wizard Cup.
Whitnall's skinfolds were more than 120
Carlton first sent him to the so-called "fat farm" some years ago
Were injuries the cause of the ballooning girth, or vice versa? "It's the chicken or the egg, isn't it?"
THE ROAD TO A LEANER LANCE
■ Dragging an old tyre on a rope around his local footy ground regularly since October.
■ Extra weight sessions - up to five a week over summer, followed by a low-fat lunch of chicken breast and steamed vegetables.
■ No major injuries.
■ Occasional healthy meals, even delivered to his home.
seems he hasnt improved. Come on Lance, finish off with a good season, restore your respect.
AlecDuncan
12 Oct 2007, 00:23
He's safe unless the doctor says his knee is stuffed. Or at least too stuffed to play.
Stuffed with what? Lemon and rosemary?
AlecDuncan
12 Oct 2007, 00:46
Stuffed with what? Lemon and rosemary?
That's a good point. I'm sure a fried dim-sim is a workable substitute for knee cartilage. On the other hand, if someone spilt some soy sauce on Judd's head, he'd probably eat it.
I don't know where I'm going with this.
Someone stop me.
This game isn't about respesting elders or carrying someone who was once great. Truth is he's not that useful anymore. His mind is clever but his body is stuffed. Send him to the coaching staff, aren't carlton looking for another assistant?
blues4flag
12 Oct 2007, 01:13
Unfortunately, I think he'll be retained (depending on his knee). Kennedy being traded probably gave him a life line - but I've had it with Lance. Been on our list for ages and has not been able to get himself into the required shape - pathetic and it'll be a waste playing him at CHF in 08 b/c he won't be there in two years time. Hopefully Hartlett is given a chance (I prefer Waite as more a HFF who works up the ground) up forward, his attack on the ball was impressive when he was given the chance (if he can stay fit that is) and Whitnall is only there for insurance.
Bentick's My Man.
12 Oct 2007, 01:17
Harsh and unnecessary!
Exactly,
Respect the man for what he did for our club!
Not happy with some of these posts.
out of harmes' way
12 Oct 2007, 10:39
Gawn
LennyLeonard
12 Oct 2007, 10:43
The mail I have heard is that he will retire.
Fevalinko25
12 Oct 2007, 10:53
is it just me or is winning the calrton B&F a curse.. all the players that have won it in recent times (carrots excluded) are gone!!!
thylacine60
12 Oct 2007, 11:10
Going on Ratts' tone on SEN this morning he is dead and buried.
give us the goss son
what did ratts say?
I think it's a given that Lance would have won a brownlow if he'd played in the 80's... Footy is now a sport of elite athletes and when God was dishing that out lance was in the Bangers & Mash line.
Still happy he was a Blue Bagger!!!:thumbsu:
thylacine60
12 Oct 2007, 12:06
give us the goss son
what did ratts say?
More like what he didn't say and the cautious tone in his voice. He started speaking about him (Ratts) and some other club officials heading OS soon to check out the facilities and structures in place at some of the big soccer clubs in Europe - think he mentioned one of the big UK clubs and one in Italy. he seemed more interested in that than Lance but did say he would be talking to him (I think today) so everyone would know the situation soon. Just came across as a bit gloomy as though he wasn't happy about what he was going to be telling his old team-mate. I'd be ****ed off if he doesn't get a 12 month deal and one more chance. The big fella has stuck fat (yeah, haha) through all this shit remember.
Very much hope he stays and proves many of you wrong. I wonder how many of you were pumping him up half way through 2006?
BlueWorld
12 Oct 2007, 13:37
Very much hope he stays and proves many of you wrong. I wonder how many of you were pumping him up half way through 2006?Absolutely. This time last year everyone said he should become captain. I did warn everyone he wouldn't be a good choice!
legendtofski
12 Oct 2007, 21:28
from a 2005 article;
The old tyre was attached to a rope. Lance would plough the field like an ox
Whitnall, virtually immobile last season, has been running back and forth between the arcs in the manner of an endurance midfielder and his downsized frame has even become airborne during the Wizard Cup.
Whitnall's skinfolds were more than 120
Carlton first sent him to the so-called "fat farm" some years ago
Were injuries the cause of the ballooning girth, or vice versa? "It's the chicken or the egg, isn't it?"
THE ROAD TO A LEANER LANCE
■ Dragging an old tyre on a rope around his local footy ground regularly since October.
■ Extra weight sessions - up to five a week over summer, followed by a low-fat lunch of chicken breast and steamed vegetables.
■ No major injuries.
■ Occasional healthy meals, even delivered to his home.
seems he hasnt improved. Come on Lance, finish off with a good season, restore your respect.
I remember this quite clearly. Larnce's dad had to kick his fat arse in gear, but it doesn't help having a first-class-BOGEN as a brother with his chip on his shoulder.
Larnce should take a 1 year contract and play in the backline. There will be alot of run and carry type dudes down there, but Larnce's bulk can still be useful as a negating force, and his 'footy wits' will still be helpful. Give him half a season to prove himself before crucifying his overweight arse!
I'd prefer Larnce in the side than bloomin' Hoola!