View Full Version : Duffield Trade Bait
inferno66
11 Oct 2007, 23:18
Heard on 6pr that Duffield's Manager was over in Melbourne trying to get Duffield traded to another club. What do you guys reckon we could expect to get for Duffield?. I reckon the best we could do would be a third round pick.
freocuz
11 Oct 2007, 23:25
Heard on 6pr that Duffield's Manager was over in Melbourne trying to get Duffield traded to another club. What do you guys reckon we could expect to get for Duffield?. I reckon the best we could do would be a third round pick.
Must be true then.:rolleyes:
Actually, I reckon if we package him up with Murphy we could get a decent pick. Doesn't look like anyone is offering up a first round pick for Murph, so maybe if we add a sweetener??
We really need one more good pick, can't see us getting it any other way.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 23:35
3rd rounder at best. Probably a late 3rd rounder, or even a 4th round pick. IMO.
inferno66
11 Oct 2007, 23:38
Don't shoot the messenger ;)... I am just reporting what I heard
Maybe straight swap for Moody/Hadley.
ImperialPurple
11 Oct 2007, 23:44
Maybe straight swap for Moody/Hadley.
Make it Moody. If Souths are going to lose a good player, then we need to be able to replace him. ;)
Actually - how about Ash McGrath for Duffield and our 3rd round pick? :thumbsu:
dont bowl there
11 Oct 2007, 23:47
Murphy and Duffield for a top 12 pick would be pretty good.
Cheetah
11 Oct 2007, 23:47
I really rate Duff and would hate to lose him.
We haven't seen the best of him yet and he can certainly play in any number of positions.
dont bowl there
11 Oct 2007, 23:48
how about kepler???
If I was in charge I would probably do a straight Kepler for Duffield swap. Duffield will never be a regular 22 with us but Kepler has the makings of one.
freocuz
12 Oct 2007, 00:03
Don't shoot the messenger ;)... I am just reporting what I heard
Not a crack at you, towering one. If it's reported in the West tomorrow, then we'll all know it's carp.:)
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 00:05
Not a crack at you, towering one. If it's reported in the West tomorrow, then we'll all know it's carp.:)
Oh yeah all know the high journalistic standards of the West :)
bigkev bleeds purple
12 Oct 2007, 00:09
how about kepler???
Can you spell useless hack?
raffrox
12 Oct 2007, 00:16
Actually, I reckon if we package him up with Murphy we could get a decent pick. Doesn't look like anyone is offering up a first round pick for Murph, so maybe if we add a sweetener??
We really need one more good pick, can't see us getting it any other way.
We really need not to make any desperate trades and keep our head.
I reckon Harvey is doing a great job this trade period.
dominguez
12 Oct 2007, 00:40
3rd rounder at best. Probably a late 3rd rounder, or even a 4th round pick. IMO.
I reckon if gets traded it will be for a player. Why would we want a 4th round pick, we probably won't use our own 4th rounder.
If we get a player this trade week expect to lose one. Space on the list is very tight.
TheLoris
12 Oct 2007, 00:49
After seeing him in last season's Wizard Cup I thought he was going to be a gun for us but he has struggled to cement a spot in our 22 and seems to turn it over a bit. Always one of the first to pay the price and be dropped when we lose.
Maybe we could get an upgrade of pick 40 (Richmonds pick 19 would be nice)? Hope he stays though, maybe Harvs can get a bit more out of him.
Avid_Avenger
12 Oct 2007, 00:51
I really liked the look of Duffman during his few games in 2006 before he was dropped. This year, like so many of our fringe or younger players, he went backwards and didnt offer much whenever he played. Got better as the year wore on though.
He still needs to work extremely hard to claim a permanent spot in the 22 and we're all unsure whether he can make it, though he's a decent depth player.
Conclusion? Not averse to a trade if it works in our favour. If it lands us a high pick in a deal with Murph - if we were already going to do one - then im up for it.
Also a straight swap for Kepler Bradley or a late pick to trade for Kepler would add more depth to our list than keeping him does and also go a fair way to replacing Murph if he goes. Otherwise a swap for Hadley would hopefully land us a better player if his injuries are sorted out.
Hopefully whoever we draft i.e. Palmer, Masten or Rioli would be a better player than Duff anyway in a matter of time. Plus sounds like Moody's an option in the PSD too and we need to make room for all these guys!!
Memories
12 Oct 2007, 00:57
Agree with Avid_Avenger's points. I wouldn't like to see Duffield go as from 2006 you would say he has quite a bit of potential/talent.
He just needs regular game time AND a big personal commitment from himself. Though him and Browne may be fighting for the same spot at this time.
I don't know what happened to Duff this year. I saw him in a pre-season game against Port and in the NAB cup games at the start of 2006 and he can really play. If he gets back to that kind of form he'll be a great player for us.
Hope we keep him. And Murph for that matter.
Duffield had a huge preseason this year, his fitness was tops, but his footy went backwards.
Would be interesting to see if he's traded whether he goes backwards or forwards.
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 10:18
Would be interesting to see if he's traded whether he goes backwards or forwards.
Duffield can play in the Midfield as well
Duffield for Moody or Ash McGrath :thumbsu:
Has anyone actually seen Kepler Bradley play? :eek:
The Duffman, even at his turnover-king worst, is ahead of him. Why would we want to trade players who MAY turn out to be good senior players, when they have virtually no trade value? :confused:
pistol17
12 Oct 2007, 11:33
The Duffman, even at his turnover-king worst, is ahead of him. Why would we want to trade players who MAY turn out to be good senior players, when they have virtually no trade value? :confused:
How did Duffield go in South Freo best and fairest?(i honestly dont know)... Kepler won Bendigo's so has some talent there...
I don't know how Duffield went (perhaps someone can shed some light on this) but in regards to Bradley, can I just say that some players dominate at lower levels and do nothing at senior level. For instance, Anthony Jones won the Sandover this year and he would certainly not be up to AFL level anymore. Perhaps my opinion of Bradley is based on one game in particular from 2007 but he was truly awful in that game. Dropping marks, overrunning the ball and general appearing to have NFI.
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 11:43
I saw Bradley play against Eagles in the last round. He had a good game. He got 22 possesions and 6 marks.
Duffman wants to be traded. He is looking for more oppurtunites at another club.
chook2734
12 Oct 2007, 11:48
I saw Bradley play against Eagles in the last round. He had a good game. He got 22 possesions and 6 marks.
Duffman wants to be traded. He is looking for more oppurtunites at another club.
I'd take whatever is on offer for him - preferably a draft pick (unless we can send him to Essendon given that we seem hell bent on getting Dyson and Bradley).
TheLoris
12 Oct 2007, 11:51
Remember the Anzac day game, where he gifted Collingwood a goal after taking a nice mark in defence. You can't crucify someone for making a mistake but I'm not sure my heart could handle watching him in a Freo jumper.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq8vE4S3kV4
If the link doesn't work just search for Kepler Bradley on youtube.
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 11:57
Yes he stuffed up in that bit of play in the Azac game. But Bradley is more likely to play in the foward line than defence if he came to Freo. We are not going to be trading much to get Bradley. If Bradley doesnt work out for us its not really going to be that costly for us.
chook2734
12 Oct 2007, 12:00
Yes he stuffed up in that bit of play in the Azac game. But Bradley is more likely to play in the foward line than defence if he came to Freo. We are not going to be trading much to get Bradley. If Bradley doesnt work out for us its not really going to be that costly for us.
We've already got Murphy and Campbell for tall forward roles. I'd rather either of those players than Bradley. If getting him means one of them goes, it does work out to be very costly when he fails and they are playing good footy at another club.
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 12:05
We've already got Murphy and Campbell for tall forward roles. I'd rather either of those players than Bradley. If getting him means one of them goes, it does work out to be very costly when he fails and they are playing good footy at another club.
Bradley will be a backup ruckman/HFF player. Players should be picked on form. If Bradley shows better form than Murphy or Cambell then he will start in our starting 22. If Bradley doesnt play well he will just play in the WAFL and Murphy or Cambell will get their chance in the starting 22. Depth is quite important at the AFL level.
How would he be more likely to play up forward for us.
Tarrant/Campbell/Murphy/Pavlich/Farmer/Headland/a resting Haselby/an inanimate carbon rod>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kepler.
He is shit
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 12:13
How would he be more likely to play up forward for us.
Tarrant/Campbell/Murphy/Pavlich/Farmer/Headland/a resting Haselby/an inanimate carbon rod>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kepler.
He is shit
If he is so shit...why are we after him?
Indeed
PintofPale
12 Oct 2007, 12:20
To date, Kepler hasn't performed in defence for Essendon. But he could work for us - tall forward, running forward, relief in the ruck (which we desperately need). Remember that in 2001 J. Clement was a backman that couldn't make it in a side that won two games for the year.
Kepler may or may not come to us, and may or may not work out. For pick 40, I'd say go for it. He offers more potential upside (given our list, & where we're at) that Duff.
TheLoris
12 Oct 2007, 12:21
If he's worth having, why would Knights (his coach at Bendigo) be willing to let him go for peanuts/nothing?
It's not as though we are short of forward options.
inferno66
12 Oct 2007, 12:28
If he's worth having, why would Knights (his coach at Bendigo) be willing to let him go for peanuts/nothing?
Bradley is out of contract. So Knights cant stop Bradley going into the PSD and coming to us for free.
chook2734
12 Oct 2007, 12:31
To date, Kepler hasn't performed in defence for Essendon. But he could work for us - tall forward, running forward, relief in the ruck (which we desperately need). Remember that in 2001 J. Clement was a backman that couldn't make it in a side that won two games for the year.
Kepler may or may not come to us, and may or may not work out. For pick 40, I'd say go for it. He offers more potential upside (given our list, & where we're at) that Duff.
If we can get him for Duff it's probably a no loss trade - players like Duff are easy enough to pick up (he only came to us via the rookie list). If Harvs and co can get Bradley to develop into something (or anything) it could be a win.