View Full Version : 2008 - Best 22 and List changes
brown_2000au
12 Oct 2007, 15:15
This is how i think it will work out next year.
Best 22 next year
FB:Newman, Thursfield, King
HB:Bowden, Polak, McMahon
C:Edwards, Deledio, Polo
HF:Pettifer, Riewoldt, Tambling
FF:Schulz, Richo, Brown
Rucks:Simmonds, Coughlan, Foley
INT:Pattison, Raines, Tuck, Johnson
EMG:Morton, Conners, McGuane, Hyde
- We have lost 3 players to retirement plus Gas off the vets list. Bowden will be added to the vets list therefore 4 players from the primary list have been removed.
- King, McMahon and Morton are added leaving 1 pick to fill. We need at least three picks in the draft plus a PSD pick,therefore need to delist at least 3 further players.
- It looks like Hartigan and Kraqouer are gone and one of P.Bowden, Meyer, Tivendale or Moore.
- We have 2 listed ruckman, so maybe Graham gets elevated and two of the list above go. (My choice is Tivendale and Bowden)
- Howat is not given a spot on the list and therefore we need 2 or 3 rookies.
- We will be left with Picks 2,18 and 51 in the draft and one PSD pick and will need to take 2-3 rookies.
RichosGuns
12 Oct 2007, 15:19
Best 22 next year
- We have lost 3 players to retirement plus Gas off the vets list. Bowden will be added to the vets list therefore 4 players from the primary list have been removed.
- King, McMahon and Morton are added leaving 1 pick to fill. We need at least three picks in the draft plus a PSD pick,therefore need to delist at least 3 further players.
- It looks like Hartigan and Kraqouer are gone and one of P.Bowden, Meyer, Tivendale or Moore.
- We have 2 listed ruckman, so maybe Graham gets elevated and two of the list above go. (My choice is Tivendale and Bowden)
- We will be left with Picks 2,18 and 51 in the draft and one PSD pick and will need to take 2-3 rookies.
About right, but I don't think schultz is a certain starter while McGuane might just sneak in there allowing Bowden to be free
Ize Of The World
12 Oct 2007, 15:31
C:Raines, Deledio, Tuck
HF:Pettifer, Richo, Tambling
FF:Riewoldt, Schulz, Brown
INT:Pattison, Jackson, Morton, Johnson
EMG:Polo, Conners, McGuane
Delist Krakouer, Hartigan and definitely, got a feeling Moore might turn out ok. Meyer is iffy. P. Bowden will be very lucky to be retained. Tivendale and Hyde might stay but IMO there is not room for Jackson, Tivs and Hyde on the list, let alone team, and Jackson is in favour.
If we get Brennan, which we should try very hard to, he can play either end like Polak, which will be great having the two of them. He'd probably start at FF. What a forward line!
Richo88
12 Oct 2007, 15:39
My opinion is Schulz is not guarantee to walk into the starting 22. Deledio although we want him to be a midfielder in the future i think starting him in the forward line seems the way to go. Also I'd like to see tambling play predominantly midfield, hopefully with a bigger body and we see some more of what he showed towards the end of the year.
benny_furs
12 Oct 2007, 15:43
Kingy will be a tagger next year, I don't expect him to play BP as much.
Coughlan and Foley in the middle could make a lot of our flankers have great seasons in 2008! Fantastic ball-winners in the middle.
Ize Of The World
12 Oct 2007, 15:46
Taggers are often named in the BP though, like Baker for example.
Best 22 next year
mate i think it will be shocking for you guys, you will finnish bottom 4 and will continue to do so for the next 20-30 years.
tigers premiers in 3016.:cool::cool::cool:
Ize Of The World
12 Oct 2007, 15:56
Actually I think you'll find we have a 40 year plan. Looking towards a 2048 premiership.
Actually I think you'll find we have a 40 year plan. Looking towards a 2048:confused::confused: premiership.
you guys are lost, get on a boat and sail off the edge of the earth.
give up mate:confused::confused::confused:
Ize Of The World
12 Oct 2007, 16:07
Cool. Why are you here? Why did you come on and make really irrelevant comments?
SnakeMan86
12 Oct 2007, 16:09
No pick 18 tho its gone
Ize Of The World
12 Oct 2007, 16:11
I was saying this on another thread too. WE STILL HAVE 18. Lost 19 for McMahon.
SnakeMan86
12 Oct 2007, 16:14
ok my bad. some other idiot told me we only had one pick in the first 30 (2) Apologies
Realistic Tiger
12 Oct 2007, 16:22
B: King Thursfield McGuane
Should be close to our starting FB line. Although some see King as a tagger I think he will take Raines' role in the backline allowing him to push up into the midfield. Thursfield at FB seems a cert and would have McGuane as the 3rd tall so for the sake of naming a team have put him in the other pocket.
HB: McMahon Polak J.Bowden
While probably being 2 of the least accountable HBF's in the league McMahon and JB will provide fantastic drive and be the launching pad for our thrusts forward. Both very good ball users who will hit targets more often than not while coming out of defence. Polak hopefully will be able to actually play man on man at CHB against the likes of Hall & Brown, very good pair of hands and if he can do that job would give a fair bit of confidence to the other 5 backmen.
C: Polo Coughlan Newman
Surprising centreline but these players would be the grunters of the team. Doing the hard work and feeding it out to the likes of McMahon, JB, Deledio, Tambling, Foley, Pettifer & M.Morton to deliver into the F50. Polo I see as a run with player but one that also can get his own footy and use it, Coughlan will be a welcome return to the middle of the ground and Newman showed in the Saints game he could be very dangerous when moved up the ground and given some freedom.
HF: Pettifer Richo M.Morton
IMO this would be our best HF line. Pettifer and Richo both working as lead up types who would run their opponents ragged. Morton is a very smart footballer and I think we could use him in a similar role to O'Keefe at Sydney. Give him freedom to roam between the 50's and use his foot skills to deliver the ball inside 50.
F: Brown Schulz Deledio
Some might be surprised at this line but I think it would be a very hard matchup for opposition sides. Brown is one of the smartest smallish forwards in the AFL and Deledio showed against the Pies how dangerous he can be as a leading forward would not spend all his time here with regular rotations through the guts. Now that we have stated that Schulz is a required player we should show some faith in him and give him the goal square and let him do what he does best, lead out take a strong grab and kick accurately for goal. Get his confidence up and I think we'll see him breakthrough.
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
Simmonds hopefully back at full fitness should see Foley, Tuck and Coughlan get a fair crack at winning the ball. As I mentioned with Coughlan he will be welcomed back with open arms by Foley and Tuck to give them help getting the ball out of the centre. Along with Polo and Newman on the wings I think it is a fairly formidable onball group.
I: Pattison Raines Tambling Johnson
Basically rotation players. Pattison as second ruck, Raines, Tambling & Johnson used through the middle forward or back as the need arises. Also there are other options available to put on the bench but picked these 4 for now.
*This is solely based on players on our list at this time. Does not include any potential draftees National or Pre Season and solely my opinion. Happy to discuss it with anyone but not if it is through abusive remarks.
polakthetiger
12 Oct 2007, 16:32
Excellent post RT! 100% agree with all of it..Raines and Newman on the wings:thumbsu:
Even agree with the Schulz thinking. And then Edwards, Jack and Conners to push for selection.
LuKe2428
12 Oct 2007, 16:34
Best 22 next year
edwars starting u must hav rocks in ya head conners is better than him
DELEDIO 1 OUT IN THE SQUAD LEAD OUT STRONG MARK CAN KICKS GOALS HAS VERY ONE FORGOTTEN ABOUT HIS PACE NO DEFENDER WILL CATCH HIM DID ANYONE WATCH THE GAME AGAINST COLLINGWOOD 5 GOALS FROM DOING WHAT I JUST SAID
RECORDS!
12 Oct 2007, 16:36
Should be close to our starting FB line. Although some see King as a tagger I think he will take Raines' role in the backline allowing him to push up into the midfield. Thursfield at FB seems a cert and would have McGuane as the 3rd tall so for the sake of naming a team have put him in the other pocket.
While probably being 2 of the least accountable HBF's in the league McMahon and JB will provide fantastic drive and be the launching pad for our thrusts forward. Both very good ball users who will hit targets more often than not while coming out of defence. Polak hopefully will be able to actually play man on man at CHB against the likes of Hall & Brown, very good pair of hands and if he can do that job would give a fair bit of confidence to the other 5 backmen.
C: Raines Coughlan Newman
Surprising centreline but these players would be the grunters of the team. Doing the hard work and feeding it out to the likes of McMahon, JB, Deledio, Tambling, Foley, Pettifer & M.Morton to deliver into the F50. Polo I see as a run with player but one that also can get his own footy and use it, Coughlan will be a welcome return to the middle of the ground and Newman showed in the Saints game he could be very dangerous when moved up the ground and given some freedom.
IMO this would be our best HF line. Pettifer and Richo both working as lead up types who would run their opponents ragged. Morton is a very smart footballer and I think we could use him in a similar role to O'Keefe at Sydney. Give him freedom to roam between the 50's and use his foot skills to deliver the ball inside 50.
Some might be surprised at this line but I think it would be a very hard matchup for opposition sides. Brown is one of the smartest smallish forwards in the AFL and Deledio showed against the Pies how dangerous he can be as a leading forward would not spend all his time here with regular rotations through the guts. Now that we have stated that Schulz is a required player we should show some faith in him and give him the goal square and let him do what he does best, lead out take a strong grab and kick accurately for goal. Get his confidence up and I think we'll see him breakthrough.
Simmonds hopefully back at full fitness should see Foley, Tuck and Coughlan get a fair crack at winning the ball. As I mentioned with Coughlan he will be welcomed back with open arms by Foley and Tuck to give them help getting the ball out of the centre. Along with Polo and Newman on the wings I think it is a fairly formidable onball group.
Basically rotation players. Pattison as second ruck, Raines, Tambling & Johnson used through the middle forward or back as the need arises. Also there are other options available to put on the bench but picked these 4 for now.
*This is solely based on players on our list at this time. Does not include any potential draftees National or Pre Season and solely my opinion. Happy to discuss it with anyone but not if it is through abusive remarks.
Nice work, just give us an extra bench player cause you have rainsy in twice:thumbsu:
LuKe2428
12 Oct 2007, 16:42
C: Raines Coughlan Newman
i agree totaly accept rainsy's kicking can be a bit shocking sometimes i rekon swap McMahon GET RID OF JOHNSON OR USE HIM AS A TAGGER p.s jackson might get a round 1 spot showing some great form in the vfl last year TIGER ARMY 4 LYF
Madtiger2006
12 Oct 2007, 16:45
This is our best list in 25 years
Realistic Tiger
12 Oct 2007, 16:52
Nice work, just give us an extra bench player cause you have rainsy in twice:thumbsu:
:o Fixed it up was supposed to have Polo on the wing. At least now it seems there might be a bit of competition for spots. Which has the added benefit of players pushing themselves to get better instead of just ambling along. The list of players that misses out is pretty good as well IMO:
P. Bowden, Casserly, Clingan* Collins, Connors, Edwards, Graham*, Hartigan, Howat*, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Krakouer, Meyer, Moore, JON, Peterson, Riewoldt, Tivendale, White, Draft pick 2, DP 18, DP 51, PSD 1.
(* rookies)
Note I believe that at least 5 from: P.Bowden, Coughlan, Hartigan, Jackson, Johnson, Krakouer, Meyer, Moore & Tivendale will be delisted with my choices being - P.Bowden, Hartigan, Krakouer, Moore & Tivendale.
This is because we need to have a minimum 3 picks in the National draft and if we are going to target a player like Brennan in the PSD we need the room. Plus there is also the likely addition of King and Howat to the Senior list
TigerGlory
12 Oct 2007, 16:55
B: Jake King, Will Thursfield, Luke McGuane
HB: Jordan McMahon, Joel Bowden, Andrew Raines
C: Mitch Morton, Mark Coughlan, Chris Newman
HF: Kayne Pettifer, Graham Polak, Brett Deledio
F: Nathan Brown, Matthew Richardson, Jack Riewoldt
R: Troy Simmonds, Nathan Foley, Shane Tuck
INT: Kane Johnson, Richard Tambling, Shane Edwards, Adam Pattison
boris danes
12 Oct 2007, 17:58
Using TG's as a basis:
B: Jake King, Will Thursfield, Luke McGuane
HB: Jordan McMahon, Graham Polak, Joel Bowden
C: Richard Tambling, Mark Coughlan, Chris Newman
HF: Kayne Pettifer, Matthew Richardson, Mitch Morton
F: Nathan Brown, Brett Deledio, Jack Riewoldt
R: Troy Simmonds, Nathan Foley, Shane Tuck
INT: Kane Johnson, Andrew Raines, Shane Edwards, Adam Pattison
Daniel Jackson ideally for Johnson. I think Cotchin would play round one, not sure about Cale.
Richmond FC
12 Oct 2007, 17:59
Meyer may Walk out to go to Hawthorn in PSD which may free up a spot. Tambling is in starting 18 no probs there. I like our future but dont think as soon as next year.
bigrayohall20
12 Oct 2007, 18:27
I would start Morton before Schulz. Still atleast 1 player to come in from the draft (hopefully Cotchin). And hopefully we pick up Jared Brennan in the PSD. He will slot into that team no worries.
buffalopride
12 Oct 2007, 18:33
king thursty newman
mcmahon polak bowden
bling foley jacko
petifer richo morten
brown lids reiwoldt
simo tuck sugar
int: raines edwards patto mcguanne
close behind - - coggers when ready, hughes more developed
tiger trooper
12 Oct 2007, 18:45
king thursty newman
mcmahon polak bowden
bling foley jacko
petifer richo morten
brown lids reiwoldt
simo tuck sugar
int: raines edwards patto mcguanne
close behind - - coggers when ready, hughes more developed
B: connors thursty mguane
HB: mchman polak bowden
C: king coughlan newman
HF: bling richo morton
F: brown deledio pettifer
R: simmo foley tuck
I: jonson, edwards, rewolt, patto...
thoughts?????
bigrayohall20
12 Oct 2007, 18:51
B: connors thursty mguane
HB: mchman polak bowden
C: king coughlan newman
HF: bling richo morton
F: brown deledio pettifer
I: jonson, edwards, rewolt, patto...
thoughts?????
Looks good. I think you have missed Polo though.
And maybe a spelling lesson wouldnt go astray. :D
Independent Observer
12 Oct 2007, 18:52
Kingy will be a tagger next year, I don't expect him to play BP as much.
Coughlan and Foley in the middle could make a lot of our flankers have great seasons in 2008! Fantastic ball-winners in the middle.
You couldnt play King as a tagger, too small, would give away too many free kicks.
Independent Observer
12 Oct 2007, 18:53
This is our best list in 25 years
I see nothing that suggests finals football.
polakthetiger
12 Oct 2007, 19:55
I see nothing that suggests finals football.
Idiot!
We finished bottom with 3 wins...I don't think too many on here expect this time next year to have just watched us in the finals. If you are saying the kids in that team, and there are a lot of them, don't have enough potential for improvement in the next 3 years and won't be playing finals, well I will strongly disagree!
But this thread is about 2008 fool, so stop trolling!
tiger trooper
12 Oct 2007, 19:59
Looks good. I think you have missed Polo though.
And maybe a spelling lesson wouldnt go astray. :D
hehe... lol i touch type... so i dont really check it ...
yeh missd polo.. and was wondering where cotchin/morton would fit in the team?
Coughlan
12 Oct 2007, 20:02
you guys are lost, get on a boat and sail off the edge of the earth.
give up mate:confused::confused::confused:
play in traffic ****wit.
enjoy losing franklin:thumbsu::)
TigerGlory
12 Oct 2007, 20:03
I really like the look of Polly at Centre Half Forward. I know we recruited him as a backmen, but what are people's thoughts on playing him as a permanent Centre Half Forward next year?
Our forward line looks superb, with Richo, Deledio, Browny AND Polak all there. That would be very difficult to stop.
I know the backline could suffer, but not neccesarily. Could we trial Luke McGuane at Centre Half Back this year? Or keep Joel Bowden there, with Jordan McMahon assuming his old duties?
Im getting excited now actually :D Chris Judd is not a neccesity, he would have been a nice treat but that is all. This is definatley one of our better lists in a few years.
bigrayohall20
12 Oct 2007, 20:10
hehe... lol i touch type... so i dont really check it ...
yeh missd polo.. and was wondering where cotchin/morton would fit in the team?
And possibly Brennan if we can grab him in the PSD.
Richo88
12 Oct 2007, 20:16
Polack may look good in our forward line strong overhead mark etc but our forwardline is arguably our strongest. Richo, Brown, Pettifer, Deledio should be able to get the job done we really need Polack to step up and be the Gorilla CHB who can hold down a froward.
Tigers41*
12 Oct 2007, 20:41
what about our first round pick (pick 2), surely he will start for us, usually the first round picks play a large majority of the season, i would assume if we got cale morton or cotchin they would start off the bench though.
what about our first round pick (pick 2), surely he will start for us, usually the first round picks play a large majority of the season,
Actually the polar opposite. Selwood and Gibbs played. Boak played 14. Edwards 16. None of the other players in the top 30 managed 10 games.
Yet another of the myths that gets bandied around. First year guys don't play.
play in traffic ****wit.
enjoy losing franklin:thumbsu::)
and where is buddy going.
richmond fanatic
13 Oct 2007, 11:31
Potential team if we get Brennan in PSD ;)
FB: King Thursfield McGuane
HB: Bowden Polak McMahon
C: Newman Foley Tambling
HF: Morton Richo Pettifer
FF: Brown Brennan Deledio
R: Simmonds Tuck Coughlan
INT: Pattison Polo Raines Cotchin/Morton
EMER: Edwards, Riewoldt, Connors, Jackson, Johnson
up your arse
SkiddyMcGhee
13 Oct 2007, 13:24
Yep, Id go with that. If they can pick up Brennan/Bolton, they would be a walk up start in the 22 as well...
delricho12
13 Oct 2007, 13:31
Yep, Id go with that. If they can pick up Brennan/Bolton, they would be a walk up start in the 22 as well...
whitnall/richards were would they start in our line up.
Coughlan
13 Oct 2007, 13:31
you know:)
richcogs
13 Oct 2007, 13:36
Cotchin will play in our 22 if draft him, that what I reckon anyway. I also believe Tambling will be play from out of the centre, maybe Cogs, Foley, Tambling with the likes of Johnson, Tuck and Newman rotating through there.
Madtiger2006
13 Oct 2007, 13:58
This is the best team :cool:
FB King Thursfield Newman
HB Mcguane Polak Mcmahon
C Tambling Polo Howat
HF Pettifer Hughes Bowden
FF Brown Richo Deledio
FOLL Simmonds Coughlan Foley
INT Jackson Schultz Pattison Edwards
EMER Tuck Tivendale Connors
I want to see players such as Johnson, Raines, Tuck, Hughes, Hyde, Moore, Reiwoldt and Tivendale earn their spots next year. I think Howat can take over Tivendale's spot in the team. I want to see Tuck get back to his best and cut out those occasional turnovers we saw this season. I also want to see Hyde improve his fitness because that is it only problem at the moment imo :cool:
TigerGlory
13 Oct 2007, 14:25
whitnall/richards were would they start in our line up.
Hopefully nowhere.
I cannot bear the shame if we drafted either of these hacks.
Foleys Footy
13 Oct 2007, 16:07
B: King Thursfield Newman
HB: McMahon McGuane JB
C: Raines Coughlan Polo
HF: Morton Richo Pettifer
FF: Brown Riewoldt Tambling
R: Simmonds Foley Deledio
I/c: King Johnson Edwards Pattison
RockJobster0312
13 Oct 2007, 16:33
B: King Thursfield Bowden
King will probably tag the oppositions main crummer, and getting the ball himself when it hits the ground in the back 50. Thursfield will continue to be the full back, and Bowden will once again be the quaterback, whilst racking up his 20+ possessions a game, and will look to off load the footy to the running back flankers and playing on the third tall.
HB: McMahon McGuane, Newman
McMahon will team up with Newman as the run from the rebound 50. Newman makes more sense as a flanker than as a pocket player as his footskills a fairly high, and likes to take the ball himself up the wing. Plus, his defensive capabilities will benefit from McMahon's lack of, and allow him to use his jets often. McGuane seemed to be Wallace's prefered choice at CHB, but depending on how much muscle he puts on between the end of 07, and the start of 08 will be a big factor of whether he keeps that role. Bowden and Polak will float through that position as well.
C: Raines Deledio Polo
The Tigers should keep Raines in their starting 22. His monster kick, and attack on loose footies is one of the best in the team - in my opinion. Plus, the Tigers can't do without his 'take them on' mentality. Deledio seems more and more like a wingman, with his pace, footskills and marking ability, he needs to be injected into the midfield to ensure the footy continues to flow forward - and quickly. Polo I think will play a similar role to that of Kane Cornes in Port Adelaide. Primarily a tagger, but will be free to get the footy himself.
HF: Tambling Richo Pettifer
Tambling make sense on the forward flank as opposed to the pocket as his pace and carry could once ensure the ball keeps moving fast. Richo at Centre-Half makes sense as opposed to Full Forward, and he like to get up the ground these days, take a mark with the dukes, and bomb it 50 metres (usually poorly), and Pettifer should be there for the same reasons, and Pettifer's ability to kick goals from set shots 50+ metres out comes in handy as well.
FF: Brown Polak Edwards
Brown's role will be the same as every years. Polak worked really well as the third forward option a few times last year (Collingwood I think it was, Foley to Polak twice in 5 seconds for two goals) and his marking ability is top notch. Edwards I think is very much like a Stephen Milne, minus the idiocy. He's got a sense for the goals, and is creative around them. No one better to have as your main crumming forward.
R: Simmonds Foley Tuck
Simmonds is by far the best ruckman we have. Foley is a possession winner and clearence player, and is the reason why everyone has put him here. Tuck is the Tigers' second best clearance player, and thus fits perfectly with Foley as a follower. We need every clearance we can get.
I/c: Johnson, Coughlan, Riewoldt, Graham.
I really wanted to put Patto and Conners' in, however I had to put the others before him. Johnson should still play, he's good enough to, and might even take Polo's position from him - its a toss up between the two for the main tagging position. Coughlan I'm not sold on. Two straight seasons missing after two serious knee injuries is enough to put him in the starting 18. But his ability and promise before he went down gives him the benefit of the doubt in the starting 22. Riewoldt is an interesting one, because I think that we would like to have a marking ruckman coming of the bench. However, Conners, Morton and Oakley-Nicholls are possibilities, as all have played as a forward player at some time in the ressies, and looked fairly effective. So its a toss up between those four as to whom should be the forward bench player. Lastly I had Angus Graham. For two reasons I had him in the team. Reason 1) Supposedly he competes with Foley for the player who works the hardest to improve. An ankle injury and a small time exposure to the world of AFL later in the season just gone should help him prepare for this season. Reason 2) We have Simmonds, who is a possession ruckman. What we now need is a tap ruckman. Patto's too small, though gutsy, and thus I think Graham with his height should get the nod.
This was all just at the top of my head, so if its fairly inaccurate to the majority, well so be it.
silence ofthe Robert
13 Oct 2007, 16:48
I really like the look of Polly at Centre Half Forward. I know we recruited him as a backmen, but what are people's thoughts on playing him as a permanent Centre Half Forward next year?
Our forward line looks superb, with Richo, Deledio, Browny AND Polak all there. That would be very difficult to stop.
I know the backline could suffer, but not neccesarily. Could we trial Luke McGuane at Centre Half Back this year? Or keep Joel Bowden there, with Jordan McMahon assuming his old duties?
Im getting excited now actually :D Chris Judd is not a neccesity, he would have been a nice treat but that is all. This is definatley one of our better lists in a few years.
Agree 100% He is a natural CHF. Not bad back bit still doesn't concentrate enough and gets beaten on a lead and still gets outbodied too easiliy at times.
As a roaming CHF who can take big mark and is good below his knees Polak fits the bill.
We desperately need a good big bodied key defender. Lukey needs some muscles. Moore came on late in the season and could become a Wellman type. Desperately need to find a Glass or Egan or Scarlett.
Maybe Schulz gets a chance to reinvent himself because like you I think our best 6 forwards are Brown, Richo, Riewoldt. Lids, Pettifer and Polak.
Lids in particular could prove to be a gun forward if they give him some space and some service.
guruisatiger
13 Oct 2007, 17:04
backs-- king--- thursfield--- mcguane
half
backs---- polo-----j.bowden--- moore
centers-- tambling--jackson---mcmahon
half
for------- brown---richo---pettifer
for--------polak----deledio---morton
rucks-----graham---newman---foley
int from-- patto --coughlan--simmo-- connors
reaines--edwards--reiwoldt
delricho12
13 Oct 2007, 21:33
backs-- king--- thursfield--- mcguane
half
backs---- polo-----j.bowden--- moore
centers-- tambling--jackson---mcmahon
half
for------- brown---richo---pettifer
for--------polak----deledio---morton
rucks-----graham---newman---foley
int from-- patto --coughlan--simmo-- connors
reaines--edwards--reiwoldt
B: Newman Thursfield McGuane
H/B Bowden Polak McMahon
C: King Tuck M.Morton
H/F Tambling Polo Pettifer
F: Deleido Richo Brown
R: Simmonds Coghlan Foley
Int:Patterson, Edwards, Reiwoldt, Johnson.
Emerg:Connors,Jackson,Raines,Cotchin/Morton
Brennan needs to go in to if we get him.
Question If Brennan was to Go PSD
Would we recruit him as a backman or forward
and where would it leaves schulz
Could schulz play as a 3rd tall defender and Brennan at FF
or the other way round maybe
King Thursfield Mcguane
Mcmahon Bowden Newman
Polo Cogs Tambling
Pettifer Richo Morton
Brown Polak Deledio
Simmo Tuck Foley
i like the look of
interesting to see it after the ND and PSD
add a cotchin morton or brennan in there might be interesting
delricho12
13 Oct 2007, 21:42
schultz will be lucky to play unless inj get him there especially if brennan comes i think start Brennan back depends on the situation we get a run on you could throw him up forward
brown_2000au
13 Oct 2007, 21:53
Brennan would be a perfect fit for us. He is the true utility, with the ability to play as a key position back and forward. I would like to see him play out of full forward with Richo at CHF, leaving Polak to play at CHB. Brennan could also be allowed to run loose on a wing, he would be a hard one to match up on. We could afford to play Richo, Brennan and rotate Schulz, Riewoldt and Hughes through the 2's, or even play 3 of the 4 as well as Brennan knowing that he could easily come off the bench to add spark to any region of the ground. With 3 key forwards and one resting on the bench, coupled with Brown, Pettifer, Edwards, Morton and Lids all having a run through the forward 50, we would have a lot of scoring potential and would always have the option of shifting one of the talls (Schulz, Riewoldt, Brennan) down back to fill up the hole.
Realistic Tiger
13 Oct 2007, 21:57
If we land Brennan then I would play him either back or forward swapping with Polak (depending on match ups). I would not play him as a KP forward though leave that to Richo and Schulz(not a defender IMO), play him off a HFF in the style of Franklin let him go where he pleases as long as he applies defensive pressure when needed:
HB: McMahon Polak JB
C: Polo Coughlan Newman
HF: Pettifer Richo Brennan
F: Brown Schulz M.Morton
R: Simmonds Deledio Foley
I: Pattison Johnson Tuck Tambling
Other points:
Play 4 permanent forwards in Petts Richo Schulz Brennan. By playing Petts and Brennan across half forward it takes quite a bit of heat away from Richo at CHF as both are quite capable of taking alot of marks. Leave Schulz as the leading FF. With Brown, Deledio and Morton (see below) at his feet or marking options themselves.
Deledio, Brown & M.Morton to rotate through the middle amongst themselves. That way you always have a very smart ball user onball while also keeping 2 dangerous floating options in the F50.
Tuck, Johnson, Tambling, Polo, Newman Foley & Coughlan would also rotate though the centre keeping in mind a desire to keep one of the above 3 onball at all times and can keep hardness with Tuck and Coughlan, stoppers in Polo, Johnson & Newman, good breakaway speed with Tambling and Foley. Remembering we would still have one of Brown Deledio or M.Morton as the class ball users in there as well.
schulz really worries me
he just needs to
not be lazy
learn how to apply pressure
learn how to make a contest when not in the box seat
become team orientated
chase
block
kick goals in general play
spoil when behind
mark in front of his face
add kick run and breathe to the list
Obviously he cant play on the big guys (miller kicked i think 7 in a vfl game on him last year) but would like to see him play on quick tall forwards
just too see how he handles himself
i cant see him being a great forward
ever
TigerGlory
13 Oct 2007, 23:52
I dont think Schulz is the answer.
We should spend all oppertunities developing Riewoldt and Hughes. Play Riewoldt for two or three weeks, then swap him with Hughes regardless.
Play them in a pocket, with Richo at Full Forward and Polak at Centre Half attracting the attention, this would leave them with a mediocre defender at best, and give them a good time to develop.
Realistic Tiger
14 Oct 2007, 00:27
schulz really worries me
he just needs to
not be lazy
learn how to apply pressure
learn how to make a contest when not in the box seat
become team orientated
chase
block
kick goals in general play
spoil when behind
mark in front of his face
add kick run and breathe to the list
Obviously he cant play on the big guys (miller kicked i think 7 in a vfl game on him last year) but would like to see him play on quick tall forwards
just too see how he handles himself
i cant see him being a great forward
ever
I dont think Schulz is the answer.
We should spend all oppertunities developing Riewoldt and Hughes. Play Riewoldt for two or three weeks, then swap him with Hughes regardless.
Play them in a pocket, with Richo at Full Forward and Polak at Centre Half attracting the attention, this would leave them with a mediocre defender at best, and give them a good time to develop.
I understand what both of you are saying regarding Schulz but the way I see it with Miller refusing to let him go for pick 28 they might be looking to give him a fair crack at it next year. The way I see it Schulz plays 1 position and 1 only and that is FF. That being the case I suggest that Richo be pushed up the ground more and give Schulz the room in the F50 to be a 1-1 player where I think he will be able to compete with any FB.
Hopefully he can prove myself and a few other doubters wrong and finally deliver a year of consistent footy if not Miller wont have to worry about knocking back pick 28 cause he will be begging for pick 68.
TigerGlory
14 Oct 2007, 00:52
I understand what both of you are saying regarding Schulz but the way I see it with Miller refusing to let him go for pick 28 they might be looking to give him a fair crack at it next year. The way I see it Schulz plays 1 position and 1 only and that is FF. That being the case I suggest that Richo be pushed up the ground more and give Schulz the room in the F50 to be a 1-1 player where I think he will be able to compete with any FB.
Hopefully he can prove myself and a few other doubters wrong and finally deliver a year of consistent footy if not Miller wont have to worry about knocking back pick 28 cause he will be begging for pick 68.
Im seriously having trouble with who is going to be in our Best 22 next year, which is something ive never had the luxary of having btw:D
I seriously cant find room for Schulz. If we are serious about developing either of Riewoldt or Hughes, there is simply no room for all of them.
jeff99_Au
14 Oct 2007, 01:08
B : King Thursfield McGuane
HB: Newman Polak Bowden
C : Tambling Foley Lids
HF: Pettifer Richo Reiwoldt
F : Brown Schulz Edwards
R : Simmo Tuck Johnson
Int: Cogs polo patto McMahon
Em: jackson,moore,connors,graham
we kept schulz so play him he has a great mark normally great kick could an should be a great forward.
moore i like his last few games should be kept around an given games
connors is going to be star of furture
morton i don't know much about so he will need to prove himslf first
cogs have been out for a few years now so start him on the bench
jackson proved he can be a great tagger.
i like reiwoldt on the half flank a quick tall but not a KP player i think he is to short but could be a great flanker. the forward pockets should be our smaller resting midfeilders rotationing throu.
all i know is i could have pick 30 starting players for next year it looks good for the furture.
i like schulz i really hope he comes good next year an show the stuff i saw from him in SA before he got drafted.
Rayzorwire
14 Oct 2007, 14:13
B: McGuane Thursfield Bowden
HB: McMahon Polak Polo
C: Tambling Johnson M. Morton
HF: Brown Deledio Pettifer
F: Connors Richardson Reiwoldt
Int: Pattison King Coughlan Jackson
Em: Newman C. Morton Edwards
I really can't find a place for Newman with McMahon and Morton in, Polo and Coughlan back. I'm sure we will play him, but he wouldn't be in my best-22. Bowden, Polo and McGuane are all better defenders who can scale up to play on a taller opponent if necessary, McMahon is a better ball carrier with better delivery and much better pace. Play him at Coburg on the ball and let's see him dominate there like Foley did before considering him for senior selection in a midfield role. He may be a 5-10% upgrade on a couple of the younger blokes, but they are our future and need all the experience they can get. If he's doing very well at Coburg, Newman can spell a couple later in the season if they're starting to wane.
Similar reasoning for the exclusion of Tivendale, Hyde and Raines, while I'd like to see Edwards put on a bit more bulk and do a midfield apprenticeship at Coburg before he became a regular senior - though IMO he's already shown he will make it in some capacity. Raines to also do a midfield apprenticeship with Coburg, Hyde to continue doing so, though I have grave doubts either will outshine their competitiors and become regular seniors again barring injuries to others. Tivendale to be put out to pasture ASAP if he's not delisted this year.
Connors would be the 7th defender if we decide to play a spare man in defense, a marking target and defensive forward to keep the opposition backline honest if we go man on man.
With McMahon, Tambling and M. Morton on wings and flanks we have three blokes who can run, carry, deliver long quickly and accurately, kick goals and can take a run on the ball to varying degrees. Polo gets a gig on a HBF for his competitiveness, stamina, plus he can also run and carry quite well and take a shift on the ball.
Brown, Deledio and Pettifer are all top quality lead-up players who can take a contested mark, deliver well and convert from outside-50. Deledio's not a classic CHF, but if he's going to be a forward he needs to take a leading role as a go-to man and get to all the contests he can.
Richardson needs to start playing inside-50 and become a contested mark full forward who can also sit and sprint on short sharp leads. Stick him in the gym for the full pre-season with only sprint work and weights, stack another 5kg on him and bring him out as the hulk of a man we saw post injury in the past. The big lug won't like not having a license to roam, but if we approach him with the concept that he'll extend his playing career, that winning a Coleman could come from him obeying instructions, and that we'll bench him or send him to Coburg if he gets beyond 55m out, it may sink in. ;)
Reiwoldt looms as a Russel Robertson type forward to me. Perfectly capable of playing as a FF in his own right, but extremely dangerous as a marking FP who can get the job done at ground level. He, Brown and Pettifer can rotate at being the HFF who hunts the ball further upfield and links defense with attack.
King and Jackson to be given more time in midfield as competitive ball winners and taggers changing with Johnson and our two young wingers. Coughlan to sub Tuck and Foley and ease the pressure on them in a year where he'll be just striving to regain form and touch.
Playing that forward line, we have six genuine marking targets, which is a major handful for any backline who wants a couple of good run and carry backmen in their mix.
Playing that backline, we have the best mix of stoppers, classy ball users and genuine pace that we've had in a long time. There's also a lot of improvement in it yet with all but Bowden and McMahon still (hopefully) on the way up and Casserley, Newman, Raines, Moore and others ready to step in.
Our midfield is a good blend of inside and out with pace, toughness, experience and an array of classy youngsters we can throw in as rotations.
2008 will be another learning year, but without another shocking year for injuries we can improve significantly. At full strength, our list is capable of surprising.
Edwardes > Raines on the wing. Better user of the football and has footy smarts. Raines is more of a battering ram and should play against the smaller forwards down back. Edwardes will be lethal as a winger.
Rancid_Beasties
14 Oct 2007, 14:56
B: Bowden Thursfield Newman
HB: McMahon Polak Brennan
C: King Tuck Raines
HF: Pettifer Richardson Riewoldt
F: Brown Deledio Tambling
R: Simmonds Foley Coughlan
Int: Johnson Polo Pattison Jackson
Em: M.Morton Edwards McGuane
I like the look of the backline this year vs last year if we can get brennan. 4 tall guys who can take a player but also play other roles.
tiger trooper
14 Oct 2007, 15:23
B: Bowden Thursfield Newman
HB: McMahon Polak Brennan
C: King Tuck Raines
HF: Pettifer Richardson Riewoldt
F: Brown Deledio Tambling
R: Simmonds Foley Coughlan
Int: Johnson Polo Pattison Jackson
Em: M.Morton Edwards McGuane
I like the look of the backline this year vs last year if we can get brennan. 4 tall guys who can take a player but also play other roles.
OUR BEST SQUAD IMO(incl brennan)
B: King THursfield mguane
HB: JB polak mchman
c: bling cogs foley
hf:L pettifer richo morton
f:brown deledio brennan
I: patto, connors, raines, jonson
NOW OUR YOUNG DEVELOPMENT SQUAD
B: king thursty connors
HB: bowden polak mguane
C: cotchin/morton bling polo
hf: morton richo hughes
f: bling delidio brown
R; patto, foley tuck
i: cogs, mchman, raines, jonson
Rancid_Beasties
14 Oct 2007, 15:28
I dont like brennan as a forward. If you make him accountable he tends to pull his head in a bit more and not go missing.
polakthetiger
14 Oct 2007, 18:04
B: McGuane Thursfield Bowden
HB: McMahon Polak Polo
C: Tambling Johnson M. Morton
HF: Brown Deledio Pettifer
F: Connors Richardson Reiwoldt
Int: Pattison King Coughlan Jackson
Em: Newman C. Morton Edwards
I really can't find a place for Newman with McMahon and Morton in, Polo and Coughlan back.
Good post Razor...although I can't agree with Jack getting a game in front of Newman. I know they aren't competing for positions so it throws your whole side out, but where is the justification of form for this selection.
Surely, if you have to have Jack in there since he simply ripped preseason apart, Newman keeps his HBF, Polo gets the job on the bench and Jacko slides.
In quite a few sides on this thread Lids is getting FF and now you have him as CHF. I think he is more a mid and keep working on busting the tags. FF like last year for stints.
And everyone, can we not put Brennan into sides, really, its laughable to be considering it at this stage.
Rayzorwire
14 Oct 2007, 19:46
Good post Razor...although I can't agree with Jack getting a game in front of Newman. I know they aren't competing for positions so it throws your whole side out, but where is the justification of form for this selection.
I think Jack's done enough in his first year to be in front of Hughes and Schulz PtT, though I realise that wasn't your point.
Surely, if you have to have Jack in there since he simply ripped preseason apart, Newman keeps his HBF, Polo gets the job on the bench and Jacko slides.
That may well be the way the selection committee goes, but I think both have more to offer long term than Newman. Jackson's a freak in terms of potential, he's done a long apprenticeship in the two's and it's time we stepped him up to full-time senior football where he can finish his learning curve at the level he needs to. Polo's more competitive as a defender than Newman and he's in the right age bracket to begin rotating through the centre.
As I said before, right now Jackson's not as good as Newman and arguably neither are a couple of others, but they all offer more long term.
As a defender, Newman's competing against Bowden, McMahon and Polo for a spot. I don't think he offers more in the key criteria than these three.
As for midfield, he's got almost no form on the board and he's 26 going into next season. As a slower more inside type, he's competing against Foley, Tuck and Coughlan, with Connors and Polo coming through and needing increasing time on the ball.
As a tagger, he's not going to replace Johnson, he lacks the athletic attributes of Jackson, and he's nowhere near as good man on man and as a scrapper as King is.
He lacks the explosive, line and pack breaking pace to play as an outside mid.
Where does that leave him? IMO it leaves him at Coburg trying to prove he can edge the others out of the senior side by absolutely dominating at the lower level as a midfielder.
In quite a few sides on this thread Lids is getting FF and now you have him as CHF. I think he is more a mid and keep working on busting the tags. FF like last year for stints.
I think he's big enough and good enough overhead to play CHF with the advantage that he's a very tough matchup seeing Brown, Pettifer and Reiwoldt are all capable of attracting a similar type defender. We have a number of other options for CHF, but I'd be giving him the first crack at it because IMO, he's potentially the most capable of dominating in the toughest and arguably most important position on the ground.
I think if we play him deeper in the forward line we lose his capacity to use his athleticism to our advantage.
But he's a very versatile player of the type I hope Cale Morton will become...you could make an equally good case for him to play in the guts, on the HBF or on a wing. I just think you've got to play your potentially best players in positions where they can be the most damaging.
polakthetiger
14 Oct 2007, 22:28
. I just think you've got to play your potentially best players in positions where they can be the most damaging.
Fair calls. But above is the problem I am having with Polo on the HBF. I see him as an onballer. Looking at your side again, if you insist on Jackson, which I agree with, then I would then say drop Conners to prove himself and play Polo in the mid rotation where I suggested as a bench rotation.
So Cogs goes to the pocket, Newman to the HBF, or Bpocket with Bowden to the HBF. Jack stays, Polo and Jacko on the bench. Conners and Raines looking to take Newmans position as you seem to feel is up for grabs. Conners would do well on the HBF as his apprenticeship should he push Newman elsewhere.
I see your point on Lids, interesting....CHF..would be a good experiment. No taggers to worry about there!
Rayzorwire
15 Oct 2007, 00:31
Fair calls. But above is the problem I am having with Polo on the HBF. I see him as an onballer. Looking at your side again, if you insist on Jackson, which I agree with, then I would then say drop Conners to prove himself and play Polo in the mid rotation where I suggested as a bench rotation.
With Polo on the HBF we can rotate him with King and Jackson through the midfield and doing tagging roles, with one of them resting on the bench at all times. Newman could and probably will be part of that mix - he will get picked - but as I've said, I think others have more to offer long term.
I really see Connors as the type who can play in the FP as a small forward pocket and defensive forward, then have short runs on the ball while he's still building stamina. As he's proved at Coburg, the kid can take a big contested mark and he'd keep the opposition backline honest.
Tuck's got probably the biggest engine of all our mids, let him play mostly on the ball with an occasional spell on the bench and changing with Connors in the pocket - then we always keep 5-6 forwards (depending on whether we're playing spare man in defense) who are solid overhead marks.
Newman's not going to be anything more than an occasional midfielder because there's others of his type ahead of him in Foley, Tuck and Coughlan...at 26, why keep him playing mostly as a defensive liability (with McMahon better at Newman's best role), or play him in the forward line changing on the ball ahead of an elite junior midfielder (Connors) who is one of the best marks in the side?
On paper, Connors seems the most expendable, but when was the last time Newman soared over a pack, took a screamer and converted? Connors gives us something up forward which Newman can't, plus the odds are he'll be a much better midfielder.
I know Newman will probably play 22 games next year, but I wouldn't pick him.
RichosGuns
15 Oct 2007, 01:02
With Polo on the HBF we can rotate him with King and Jackson through the midfield and doing tagging roles, with one of them resting on the bench at all times. Newman could and probably will be part of that mix - he will get picked - but as I've said, I think others have more to offer long term.
I really see Connors as the type who can play in the FP as a small forward pocket and defensive forward, then have short runs on the ball while he's still building stamina. As he's proved at Coburg, the kid can take a big contested mark and he'd keep the opposition backline honest.
Tuck's got probably the biggest engine of all our mids, let him play mostly on the ball with an occasional spell on the bench and changing with Connors in the pocket - then we always keep 5-6 forwards (depending on whether we're playing spare man in defense) who are solid overhead marks.
Newman's not going to be anything more than an occasional midfielder because there's others of his type ahead of him in Foley, Tuck and Coughlan...at 26, why keep him playing mostly as a defensive liability (with McMahon better at Newman's best role), or play him in the forward line changing on the ball ahead of an elite junior midfielder (Connors) who is one of the best marks in the side?
On paper, Connors seems the most expendable, but when was the last time Newman soared over a pack, took a screamer and converted? Connors gives us something up forward which Newman can't, plus the odds are he'll be a much better midfielder.
I know Newman will probably play 22 games next year, but I wouldn't pick him.
Newman is one of the first picked every week...why do you hate him so?
Rayzorwire
15 Oct 2007, 14:24
Newman is one of the first picked every week...why do you hate him so?
I don't hate Newman at all, I think he's a good fella and an ok footballer, but he has no outstanding footballing attributes which make him a 'must pick' over others who have more talent. That is the stage our list is getting to - at last.
A lot of people have been 'one of the first picked' for Richmond over the last few decades. Doesn't mean they were good enough to play in a side that was a genuine contender...as our record shows.
Newman's not a good stopper, he's a B grade ball carrier because he's not fast and direct, he doesn't have great endurance, he doesn't have genuine pace, he's not great overhead as a marking target, and he displays no great ball winning ability.
He's played 111 games in sides that have had the worst midfield in recent memory, yet every single midfielder we have bar Johnson started at the same time or well after Newman, and got a run in the centre ahead of him. Coughlan, Tuck and Foley are all similar types who went straight past Newman for a midfield role like he was standing still.
<20 possession (<15 possession until this year when he got fed a little more cheap ball), average small defenders are a dime a dozen...if we wanted to free up Newman to play midfield we could have 3-4 seasons ago. He's still in defense because it's the only place he's proven he can play to any reasonable AFL standard.
I don't hate him, I just don't massively overrate him.
Realistic Tiger
15 Oct 2007, 16:06
I don't hate Newman at all, I think he's a good fella and an ok footballer, but he has no outstanding footballing attributes which make him a 'must pick' over others who have more talent. That is the stage our list is getting to - at last.
A lot of people have been 'one of the first picked' for Richmond over the last few decades. Doesn't mean they were good enough to play in a side that was a genuine contender...as our record shows.
Newman's not a good stopper, he's a B grade ball carrier because he's not fast and direct, he doesn't have great endurance, he doesn't have genuine pace, he's not great overhead as a marking target, and he displays no great ball winning ability.
He's played 111 games in sides that have had the worst midfield in recent memory, yet every single midfielder we have bar Johnson started at the same time or well after Newman, and got a run in the centre ahead of him. Coughlan, Tuck and Foley are all similar types who went straight past Newman for a midfield role like he was standing still.
<20 possession (<15 possession until this year when he got fed a little more cheap ball), average small defenders are a dime a dozen...if we wanted to free up Newman to play midfield we could have 3-4 seasons ago. He's still in defense because it's the only place he's proven he can play to any reasonable AFL standard.
I don't hate him, I just don't massively overrate him.
You might have overlooked that before he broke his leg he was being touted as the next player to move into the midfield. Lets not forget that he played last season with the rod still in his leg and you can't blame a guy for having a few poor games, add to that he played a few games with a cracked rib.
I get the feeling that a few of our older players cop quite a bit of grief on here because they don't star like we expect them to week after week. Now that it appears like these older players are going to get the support from highly talented youngsters pushing through perhaps we can see how they go when they don't have to try and carry the load each week.
Newman will be a valuable player in the next few years because although he might have a few areas that are lacking he can always be relied upon to give 100%.
RichosGuns
15 Oct 2007, 16:16
Newman's pace is fine, and he is an excellent tackle. I agree with you that he needs to work on his defensive efforts more, but if he grew the tank to move up onto the wing it would be less concerning and his disposal would be used better
CoggaRules
15 Oct 2007, 16:41
B: McGuane Thursfield Newman
HB: McMahon Polak Connors
C: Lids Coughlan Edwards
HF: Bowden Brennan M. Morton
F: Brown Richardson Reiwoldt
R: Simmonds Polo Foley
Int: Pattison, Tambling, Pettifer, Johnson
Em: Graham C. Morton, Petersen, Casserley, King
;)
polakthetiger
15 Oct 2007, 19:05
;)
Raines didn't even make the emerg...ouch! Like this team except I think Pets starts and Morton goes to the bench (for r1 anyway). I guess Bowden is in the mid rotation? How about at CHF? Again, as I said in another post, not comfortable with Brennan being included (yet). And not sure he is up for CHF. Although I did read today about him relocating his kids to NT and neg. with the lions not proceeding well:thumbsu:
RichosGuns
15 Oct 2007, 19:15
Originally Posted by CoggaRules http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9207437#post9207437)
- I'm not sure why everyone thinks Mitch Morton will slip straight into our best 22, and if he did it would be on the bench IMO.
- I don't think Bowden has enough tank these days to play in the foward line either
- Raines is in there, before McGuane (Polak, Thurstfield and JB are enough against the smaller teams like the Dogs)
- King would be a starter before Conners, Edwards, Morton
- Brennan isn't a certainity
- Tuck would be a certainty for round 1 imo, this may mean guys like Edwards and Conners will miss
Rayzorwire
15 Oct 2007, 21:01
You might have overlooked that before he broke his leg he was being touted as the next player to move into the midfield.
Touted by who? People on BF?
2006 he played half a season and didn't get out of defense - for good reason. He averaged 13 possessions, was very average defensively and was leapfrogged straight away in importance and output by Bowden who couldn't get near a senior game at the Dogs.
Newman, Hyde and Coughlan are virtually the same age and began their career at virtually the same time. Coughlan got a midfield birth because he can win the footy and he can run. Hyde got one just because he could run. Newman didn't because he simply wasn't good enough in any area.
Tuck, Foley, Polo, Krakouer, Hyde, Tivendale, Deledio, Tambling, Jackson, even Raines...all considered ahead of him, most of them with far less experience.
Hyde, Krakouer and Tivendale...think about it.
Lets not forget that he played last season with the rod still in his leg and you can't blame a guy for having a few poor games, add to that he played a few games with a cracked rib.
2006 was by far his best season overall, but really nothing special beyond the fact that he was serviceable sometimes under injury duress.
Newman's pace is fine, and he is an excellent tackle. I agree with you that he needs to work on his defensive efforts more, but if he grew the tank to move up onto the wing it would be less concerning and his disposal would be used better
Magically "grew the tank" at 26? I can't think of a single player who began their midfield apprenticeship in their 8th year at a club.
He gets beaten defensively because he's not quick enough to go with good small forward's on the lead and they elude him at ground level - which is also why he only averaged 2 tackles last year.
How does any of that give him the pedigree to walk into a midfield that is much better than it was when he had his window of opportunity to become a midfielder?
RichosGuns
15 Oct 2007, 21:44
Newman has leadership, courage and skill - some of the biggest issues we have at the club. That is why he is so highely rated by his fellow players and supporters
Rayzorwire
15 Oct 2007, 22:38
Newman has leadership, courage and skill - some of the biggest issues we have at the club. That is why he is so highely rated by his fellow players and supporters
None of which makes a good case for playing him as a midfielder or anticipating that he'd succeed there.
silence ofthe Robert
15 Oct 2007, 22:45
2006 he played half a season and didn't get out of defense - for good reason. He averaged 13 possessions, was very average defensively and was leapfrogged straight away in importance and output by Bowden who couldn't get near a senior game at the Dogs.
Newman, Hyde and Coughlan are virtually the same age and began their career at virtually the same time. Coughlan got a midfield birth because he can win the footy and he can run. Hyde got one just because he could run. Newman didn't because he simply wasn't good enough in any area.
Tuck, Foley, Polo, Krakouer, Hyde, Tivendale, Deledio, Tambling, Jackson, even Raines...all considered ahead of him, most of them with far less experience.
2006 was by far his best season overall, but really nothing special beyond the fact that he was serviceable sometimes under injury duress.
Magically "grew the tank" at 26? I can't think of a single player who began their midfield apprenticeship in their 8th year at a club.
He gets beaten defensively because he's not quick enough to go with good small forward's on the lead and they elude him at ground level - which is also why he only averaged 2 tackles last year.
How does any of that give him the pedigree to walk into a midfield that is much better than it was when he had his window of opportunity to become a midfielder?
Wrong!
PS just like you were with Foley.
Rayzorwire
15 Oct 2007, 23:03
Wrong!
PS just like you were with Foley.
You're like a zero content broken record simpleton.
Four or five times now I've repeated what I said about Foley in response to your inane bullshit: that he wasn't ready in 2006 to spend massive periods on the ball (which is precisely why he didn't - while dozens of you idiots claimed Wallace was holding him back because he didn't like him and was a crap coach), that his kicking was very hit and miss, and that he can't be rested anywhere on the ground (as opposed to the bench) because he's too short and we have better options in positions like the FP.
What I said was true at that point and you can't quote to the contrary, so either prove me wrong, or live up to your user name and STFU.
Stripes666
15 Oct 2007, 23:14
B. King, Thursfield, Newman
HB. McMahon, Bowden, Raines
C. Polo, Coughlan, Tambling
HF. Pettifer, Richardson, Brown
F. Deledio, Polak, Edwards
R. Simmonds, Tuck, Foley
I. Pattison, Connors, McGuane, Reiwoldt
Em. JON, Morton, draft pick 2
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 11:01
Raines didn't even make the emerg...ouch! Like this team except I think Pets starts and Morton goes to the bench (for r1 anyway). I guess Bowden is in the mid rotation? How about at CHF? Again, as I said in another post, not comfortable with Brennan being included (yet). And not sure he is up for CHF. Although I did read today about him relocating his kids to NT and neg. with the lions not proceeding well:thumbsu:
just an oversight...Raines makes the squad...if he gets his act together. But i am getting that Tom Roach vibe about him, unfortunately.
Bowden, Brennan and Polak rotate wherever they are required. ;)
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 11:09
Originally Posted by CoggaRules http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9207437#post9207437)
- I'm not sure why everyone thinks Mitch Morton will slip straight into our best 22, and if he did it would be on the bench IMO.
- I don't think Bowden has enough tank these days to play in the foward line either
- Raines is in there, before McGuane (Polak, Thurstfield and JB are enough against the smaller teams like the Dogs)
- King would be a starter before Conners, Edwards, Morton
- Brennan isn't a certainity
- Tuck would be a certainty for round 1 imo, this may mean guys [B]like Edwards and Conners will miss
sorry dude...you have NFI..If what you suggest is what unfolds...we are treading water again. King is ok, Tuck is just average, if they are walk up starts in our side, then we are treading water again. Thats where I am coming from with the team.
Raines before McGuane? how about you explain to us why we got McMahon and why its so automatic for nuff nuffs like you to just say Raines is there.
Bowden needs to be a pinch hitter forward of the HB line, drifting forward and offering a very hard match up for the opposition in a marking contest. If Brennan is recruited, slab says he plays round one, barring injury.
M.Morton? only go with what is suggested here. If he was spewing that he didnt make the Collingwood final for the eagles, then me thinks he is a walk up start in a side at the other end of the spectrum, dont you think? ;)
silence ofthe Robert
16 Oct 2007, 11:34
You're like a zero content broken record simpleton.
Four or five times now I've repeated what I said about Foley in response to your inane bullshit: that he wasn't ready in 2006 to spend massive periods on the ball (which is precisely why he didn't - while dozens of you idiots claimed Wallace was holding him back because he didn't like him and was a crap coach), that his kicking was very hit and miss, and that he can't be rested anywhere on the ground (as opposed to the bench) because he's too short and we have better options in positions like the FP.
What I said was true at that point and you can't quote to the contrary, so either prove me wrong, or live up to your user name and STFU.
Foley adjusted for TOG was already top 10 in clearances and contested possessions last year - but you continually made the point he was a "second string" midfielder and was played only against the B midfielders of other sides.
You were behind the times and mispercieved what you think you saw and knew.
You were wrong - no big deal. But here's the tip - dissertations which are as long as PHD submissions and your expert use of the quotonator dont mean you actually know what you are talking about.
And to be kind to you and Ray, I wont even bother to revisit your "Ray Hall" manifesto.
Rayzorwire
16 Oct 2007, 11:35
sorry dude...you have NFI..If what you suggest is what unfolds...we are treading water again. King is ok, Tuck is just average, if they are walk up starts in our side, then we are treading water again.
Tuck would get a game anywhere Cogga...he had a huge year considering he played on one leg and kicked with his non-preferred.
King bettered anything Newman had done until this year in his first season.
Wit any luck we'll have players going past them in coming years, but Tuck is in the best-22 at all 16 clubs and King would get a game at most of them.
MilneyLoves2Snap
16 Oct 2007, 11:39
i have money on you guys 2 make the 8.. - look at your last few games.. see ya next september.. just remember this comment
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 11:46
Tuck would get a game anywhere Cogga...he had a huge year considering he played on one leg and kicked with his non-preferred.
Wit any luck we'll have players going past them in coming years, but Tuck is in the best-22 at all 16 clubs and King would get a game at most of them.
Bwahahaahaaa...;)
Realistic Tiger
16 Oct 2007, 11:54
I'm not going to get into an arguement with you about it instead I'll sit back and wait until the 08 season roles around and see just where Newman does spend most of his time. If he sits in the backline for the season then I'll conceed you were right, if he moves into the midfield will you do the same?
Realistic Tiger
16 Oct 2007, 11:56
Gee I hope this was sarcasm
Rayzorwire
16 Oct 2007, 12:07
...you continually made the point he was a "second string" midfielder and was played only against the B midfielders of other sides.
I said "most of the time" - not "only - and for most of the time he was in 2006. Coughlan played 12 games in 2006 - was our first rotation midfield Coughlan/Tivendale, Tuck and Johnson or not? Was it Tuck copping the hard tag every game after averaging 25 possessions a game in 2005, or Foley?
Foley was among our "2nd string" midfielders, with Krakouer, Hyde, Rodan, Brown etc - it's a fact - but I never once suggested he would stay that way forever. After Coughlan went down we threw him into the midfield more often and ocasionally he started on the ball, but still more often than not he replaced someone from the first rotation.
At no stage did I say he wouldn't be a good player - quite the opposite. I merely assessed where he was at in 2006 realistically...rather than make ridiculous assumptions like that if he got 12 possessions in a quarter coming off the bench untagged, it didn't translate into him having 40+ possession games if only Wallace would let him spend the entire match on the ball - instead of giving the game time he was capable of managing.
He had a massive pre-season, improved a huge amount in the areas he needed to like pace, stamina and precision passing, and will more than likely improve again for next year.
And to be kind to you and Ray, I wont even bother to revisit your "Ray Hall" manifesto.
Go right ahead, it's not like every Rosy sycophant idiot hasn't already tried and failed. If I wasn't willing to stand by what I've said in the past, then I sure as hell wouldn't have used the same user name here would I?
Rayzorwire
16 Oct 2007, 12:28
Bwahahaahaaa...;)
LMAO...on one thread you're talking up Lance Whitnall as a good get because he has a 'smart football brain' - inside a fat, terminally lazy, crippled body - while here you're apparently oblivious to the fact that David Rodan just played in a Grand Final. You're clearly clueless as to the quality, stats and outputs of players who form the midfield rotations at other clubs.
Tuck beat most of them for stats and output on one leg kicking with his non-preferred in 2007. His 2005 was exceptional and in 2006 he was a priority tag for every side we played because they were all well aware he was the prime mover in a side that almost made the finals.
Look at the quality of midfield types traded this year - Tuck is a country mile ahead of all of them.
He's no champion, but he'd get a game anywhere else no problem even on this year's restricted output.
I'm not going to get into an arguement with you about it instead I'll sit back and wait until the 08 season roles around and see just where Newman does spend most of his time. If he sits in the backline for the season then I'll conceed you were right, if he moves into the midfield will you do the same?
He'll almost certainly get a chance there because wither he or Raines have effectively got nowhere else to play now McMahon is part of the picture unless Bowden goes down.
But that doesn't mean he'll be the best option available - which is my sole point.
How exactly can I prove that a player who doesn't get the same opportunities there would have been a better option?
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 12:39
LMAO...on one thread you're talking up Lance Whitnall as a good get because he has a 'smart football brain' - inside a fat, terminally lazy, crippled body - while here you're apparently oblivious to the fact that David Rodan just played in a Grand Final. You're clearly clueless as to the quality, stats and outputs of players who form the midfield rotations at other clubs.
Tuck beat most of them for stats and output on one leg kicking with his non-preferred in 2007. His 2005 was exceptional and in 2006 he was a priority tag for every side we played because they were all well aware he was the prime mover in a side that almost made the finals.
Look at the quality of midfield types traded this year - Tuck is a country mile ahead of all of them.
He's no champion, but he'd get a game anywhere else no problem even on this year's restricted output.
1. I talk up the value of taking a Whitnall at #86 in the draft. He aint going to cost, he knows he is on his last chance. He will have the burden of the Blue scum supporters lifted off his back and he will have a TW as coach as opposed to the moronic Pagan, who could only ever coach a side that was handed to him on a platter, rather than build one.
2. On the tuck theme, all i can say it this. You cant be serious!!!!!!!!! So tuck beat all those players on stats and hence the the whole of the AFL acknowleged his stats by just handing him votes by the bucket load, correct?
But wait, Rayzowire is doing a Spud, seeing what no other mere mortal can and thinking outside the square.
Man, you really do have NFI dont you? Tuck would get a game anywhere else? You can stand by that dude, but hey, you like to be laughed at too i guess. ;)
Rayzorwire
16 Oct 2007, 12:58
Do you want to edit it yet again to add more ranting insults or are you done now?
1. I talk up the value of taking a Whitnall at #86 in the draft. He aint going to cost...
Whitnall will cost - every pick costs. At least Kingsley had some form from the year before and wasn't a burned out bung knee Jenny Craig reject with a consistent and long history of giving far more of a damn about 4 hamburger breakfasts than his football club.
he knows he is on his last chance.
He's already been through a number of 'last chances' at Carlton and blown them all sooner or later.
He will have the burden of the Blue scum supporters lifted off his back
Yeah right, he's going to have far less pressure on him from Richmond supporters than he did at the Blues. Smart comment, worked well for Knobel and Kingsley. :rolleyes:
2. On the tuck theme, all i can say it this. You cant be serious!!!!!!!!! So tuck beat all those players on stats and hence the the whole of the AFL acknowleged his stats by just handing him votes by the bucket load, correct?
Ask someone who knows far more than you how many players are rotated through midfield at each club, check the career vote average of the lesser lights against Tuck's, then get back to us.
You seriously need some anger management therapy California...even more than you need a few years of being sat in front of eight football games a week and taught to actually understand what you're looking at.
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 13:12
Ask someone who knows far more than you how many players are rotated through midfield at each club, check the career vote average of the lesser lights against Tuck's, then get back to us.
You seriously need some anger management therapy California...even more than you need a few years of being sat in front of eight football games a week and taught to actually understand what you're looking at.
LMAO....can you be a little lamer dude? lets have it again? check the career vote average? Naaa, lets take the career vote average, divide it by cosine, insert the logarythmic equivalent and then apply Einsteins law of relativity.
You are ridiculously immersed in lame stats that mean JS.
He is on the ball, he isnt tagged, he gets it and he ****s it up. That is what i see, and i would suggest a few more do to. Dont know what you are looking at dude. it might be that you are seeing what you hope to see, then get the paper and crack it for a smile because you see a few numbers that back up your forlorn opinion.
The end. ;)
wow another topic thats gone awol, oh its Sproggatool and his little knob.
Take your winkysmilies and your nonsense and get a brain, even a half a brain would be good.
you must be an experiment in artificial stupidity!!!
:thumbsd:
Realistic Tiger
16 Oct 2007, 13:34
Whitnall will cost - every pick costs. At least Kingsley had some form from the year before and wasn't a burned out bung knee Jenny Craig reject with a consistent and long history of giving far more of a damn about 4 hamburger breakfasts than his football club.
Seeing as you like the stats to back your point here is Kingsleys 06 stats that you suggest shows he had some form:
9 games 7.3 disposals 4 marks 1.1 goals per game.
Now here are burnt out Jenny Craig reject bung knee Whitnalls stats for 07:
15 games 13.5 disposals 5.7 marks 1.3 goals per game.
Now tell us again how Kent had some form the year before he signed on with Richmond. If you still believe that then I can't understand how you aren't on the get Whitnall bandwagon.
CoggaRules
16 Oct 2007, 13:41
wow another topic thats gone awol, oh its Sproggatool and his little knob.
Take your winkysmilies and your nonsense and get a brain, even a half a brain would be good :thumbsd:
LMAO....oh no, i have been found out by the intelligence police...;)
silence ofthe Robert
16 Oct 2007, 14:00
I said "most of the time" - not "only - and for most of the time he was in 2006. Coughlan played 12 games in 2006 - was our first rotation midfield Coughlan/Tivendale, Tuck and Johnson or not? Was it Tuck copping the hard tag every game after averaging 25 possessions a game in 2005, or Foley?
Foley was among our "2nd string" midfielders, with Krakouer, Hyde, Rodan, Brown etc - it's a fact - but I never once suggested he would stay that way forever. After Coughlan went down we threw him into the midfield more often and ocasionally he started on the ball, but still more often than not he replaced someone from the first rotation.
At no stage did I say he wouldn't be a good player - quite the opposite. I merely assessed where he was at in 2006 realistically...rather than make ridiculous assumptions like that if he got 12 possessions in a quarter coming off the bench untagged, it didn't translate into him having 40+ possession games if only Wallace would let him spend the entire match on the ball - instead of giving the game time he was capable of managing.
He had a massive pre-season, improved a huge amount in the areas he needed to like pace, stamina and precision passing, and will more than likely improve again for next year.
Go right ahead, it's not like every Rosy sycophant idiot hasn't already tried and failed. If I wasn't willing to stand by what I've said in the past, then I sure as hell wouldn't have used the same user name here would I?
When Chris Bond was asked why he had improved so much at Richmond after leaving Carlton he said something like " My form is actually much better when I get out onto the ground"
No doubt players improve as they gain experience and confidence playing but Foley had the Bruce Macavaney "special" about him as soon as he stepped out in the big time (and of course had demonstrated those traits, especially ball winning, in the lower ranks)
I never had any doubts about his delivery because it was technically sound and his decision making first rate. Kudos to young Nathan for adding the run and carry to his game, but in reality that was always going to happen with him being given more responsibility and his gaining confidence.
Despite your assertions that he cant play anywhere else he has very good goal sense as he has demonstrated on occassion and can rest up forward if need be.
Rayzor you must tell me how he 'improved' his pace last year which he mysteriously did not possess in his first 20 years. Your attempts to be reasoned and give an 'astute' analysis all the time trying to skew reality to suit your argument is quite ridiculous at times.