View Full Version : Little and Thurgood de-listed

Baroclinic instability
16 Oct 2007, 15:11
Little was highly rated and was high up in Box Hill's goalkicking? Why'd he get the flick?:thumbsd:

Hawkers Hero
16 Oct 2007, 16:30
Unfortunately for Little he is the most expendable on the list. He was behind Franklin, Roughead, Boyle, Thorp, Williams, Dowler and Morton and we needed to make some room for the draft.

He was very unlucky and I wish him all the best in being picked up by another club without as many forwards like the dogs, tiges and adelaide.

Rex - Crow
16 Oct 2007, 16:59
Zac Dawson should go if he hasn't all ready!!!!

markr
16 Oct 2007, 17:28
Zac actually had a pretty good year in the VFL, and put on some size, but really he's on the list for potential, he was up to 197cm and 95kg at the start of the season and has put on more since then, he's quick and has long arms for spoiling. Still only 21 too. Not saying he'll make it, but basically he's worth a punt.

Meanwhile, we had to delist two players. Thurgood just hasn't been able to build an AFL-capable body, and we have Little's position covered better than any other position at the club. They've done nothing wrong, just unlucky.

Dixie Flatline
17 Oct 2007, 12:23

Zac was signed to a new contract part way through 2007.

Tas
17 Oct 2007, 13:40
Little was highly rated and was high up in Box Hill's goalkicking? Why'd he get the flick?:thumbsd:

I think he was only highly rated by Hawthorn supporters. Just another kid that could play footy but couldn't bring it to AFL level. Every club has them.

TylerDurden
17 Oct 2007, 14:30
I think he was only highly rated by Hawthorn supporters. Just another kid that could play footy but couldn't bring it to AFL level. Every club has them.

Agreed, was the leading goalkicker in the TAC that year (which included blokes like Roughead, Deledio etc), but simply couldn't put on the bulk and apply his skills at AFL level.

The word at BH was that he was a one-trick pony - a leading fwd who couldn't do much else. Didn't help that he was only 187cm and was never going to hold down a KP position. Had a lot of talent nonetheless...

Goosen
18 Oct 2007, 03:13
Thurgood unlucky, his career was ended by a dirty Matthew Lloyd forearm with the plaster cast on.

BEEG
18 Oct 2007, 11:35
Thurgood unlucky, his career was ended by a dirty Matthew Lloyd forearm with the plaster cast on.

Agreed

delirious1
18 Oct 2007, 13:31
Bit rough on little, i think he still has potential, probably go elsewhere via PSD or rookie
I dont think anyone will take a gamble on thurgood

CharlieMitchell
18 Oct 2007, 14:57

Coming from someone who i highly doubt has seen him play for well over a year. Because we all know Rutten was holding down a KPP spot in a top 8 team at age 21. Dont throw around baseless comments, you just make yourself look like a fool.

mick
18 Oct 2007, 17:58
A lot of clubs could do a lot worse than have a nibble at Little in the PSD.

Positives:
Very good hands and a lovely kick at goal. He is clever at making position and has topped BHH goal kicking for two years running. Always sems to kick at least a couple of goals each game. Even on his off days you cn mark him down for a goal, Good genes.

Negatives:
Not that quick, in between size, Plays like a FF but built like a flanker. Even though he is a regular goal kicker he goes missing for quarters at a time, Reddish hair.

There are a lot less talented players on the Hawthorn list, but none of them are forwards. Wrong place at the wrong time for Matt, he would do well on just about any other teams list.

Splodge15
18 Oct 2007, 20:26
Problem with Litts was that he didn't develop his windtank enough to be able to have an influence further up the field and was essentially restricted to being in the forward 50.

windsock
18 Oct 2007, 21:15
One of the esteemed Hawk fans who was a regular visitor to the Roos board described him as the next Jason Dunstall.

SweetLeftFoot
18 Oct 2007, 21:19
One of the esteemed Hawk fans who was a regular visitor to the Roos board described him as the next Jason Dunstall.

He also has humourously receding hair?

mick
18 Oct 2007, 21:20

He almost got there. Only 1254 more goals to go.

Splodge15
18 Oct 2007, 22:08
Any chance he was tongue in cheek from Day 1?

Messenger
18 Oct 2007, 22:15

Hmmm. No.

As previously noted, bit of a "tweener"; not tall enough for KP, not quick enough to play up the ground. Good goalkicker at VFL level. Often collect 3 or 4 goals from a handful of touches. And that's the problem.

I don't think he is going to see another AFL list. A good chance for a rookie spot somewhere, even back at Hawthorn.

More likely to go to a VFL list in '08 or try his luck in the SANFL.

windsock
18 Oct 2007, 22:55
Any chance he was tongue in cheek from Day 1?

He was a shattered fan who just hated seeing Nathan Thompson do so well with us so he tried to convince himself that they'd win out in the trade regardless of how well Thommo played. Seeing that pick 10 ended up netting Chris Egan, I'm not too fussed about what we surrendered in that trade.

TylerDurden
18 Oct 2007, 23:56
He was a shattered fan who just hated seeing Nathan Thompson do so well with us so he tried to convince himself that they'd win out in the trade regardless of how well Thommo played. Seeing that pick 10 ended up netting Chris Egan, I'm not too fussed about what we surrendered in that trade.

And we upgraded that pick to pick 7 which we took J Lewis with.

I think the Pies lost out in that one...

Tas
19 Oct 2007, 03:02
Agreed, was the leading goalkicker in the TAC that year (which included blokes like Roughead, Deledio etc), but simply couldn't put on the bulk and apply his skills at AFL level.

The word at BH was that he was a one-trick pony - a leading fwd who couldn't do much else. Didn't help that he was only 187cm and was never going to hold down a KP position. Had a lot of talent nonetheless...

Our "Little" is David Trotter, looks like a million dollars until he runs out in an AFL game. :p

Splodge15
19 Oct 2007, 04:11
I reckon he was more satirical than shattered, but you have obviously believed it.

OldMav
19 Oct 2007, 05:35
Ia Brett Collins still on the hawks list?

windsock
19 Oct 2007, 10:11
I reckon he was more satirical than shattered, but you have obviously believed it.

Mate, you... um, the bloke was on our board knocking Thommo at every chance.

Roughie
19 Oct 2007, 11:47
Ia Brett Collins still on the hawks list?

At the moment he is, we havent culled any rookies yet but an announcement is set to be made soon. I hope we persist with Collo had a bad run with injuries this year, but I like the kid.

foj1
19 Oct 2007, 15:28
What are the odds of Little being at essendon with the cousin of Hird connection?
If Sheedy was there it would be a real chance.

Messenger
21 Oct 2007, 21:01
What are the odds of Little being at essendon with the cousin of Hird connection?
If Sheedy was there it would be a real chance.

I don't think Knights is blessed with such a sentimental streak.

Little is a niche player; a leading forward. If he was playing twenty years ago, he would be the sort of guy who'd play 120 reserves games "just in case" he became something. Modern lists don't have that luxury.

He doesn't fall into the "not AFL standard" basket as I think Thurgood now has; it's just difficult to work out how to play him.