View Full Version : Ben cousins

MOONEY 21
16 Oct 2007, 19:09
arrested again.

Seeya mate. Nice knowing you!!

Tell your story walking, your a disgrace.

thehoff
16 Oct 2007, 19:20
You know nothing about what he was arrested for.... Reserve judgement until you know.

It does not sound good though.

seniorspanner47
16 Oct 2007, 19:36
Another one for the PSD.There's space at Kardinya

FTW_
16 Oct 2007, 19:41
If he does go into the PSD and Cousins ends up at Geelong I will not be happy.
We don't need someone with that attitude around our club.

eliiiiza
16 Oct 2007, 19:48
Seconded.

betchsta
16 Oct 2007, 20:02
Seconded.

Thirded......:D

thehoff
16 Oct 2007, 20:07
Fourthered

Our club is a class act. Don't need a player like this there disrupting current setups.

Herbs
16 Oct 2007, 20:14
Wait and see what he's done, but still, it's ultimately his fault that he's in this situation.

BIGANT
16 Oct 2007, 20:18
You can't change the past and how much the eagles have done for Cousins for him to be where he is footballwise.....but his father Bryan Cousins must be thinking oh i wish i had chose the cats all those yrs ago for my son !!

Until we really know the full details of this latest arrest & yes he has'nt been charged with anything yet BUT....when the major crime squad are involved it's pretty serious stuff.
How many bites of the cherry is he going to have before he really hurts himself and more importantly his family.

rooie
16 Oct 2007, 20:34
will be interesting to read Juddys biography when he retires...might find the real reason he left the eagles... :p

Ammo Man
16 Oct 2007, 21:41

No way. At thirty I think it's the end for Ben. What a waste. Really feel for Bryan.

MmkMrMackie
16 Oct 2007, 21:43
You're dreaming if you think that none of the guys at Geelong are into it. I'd take Cousins in a heart beat.

Geelong2k9
16 Oct 2007, 21:44
No way. At thirty I think it's the end for Ben. What a waste. Really feel for Bryan.

Just reported on Ch7, Cuz has been charged with poss of prohibited substance and failure to provide a suitable sample.....

uh-oh.......

cats2rise
16 Oct 2007, 21:46
Wouldn't fit in the cap.

Don't want him/need him anyway.

Ammo Man
16 Oct 2007, 22:17
You're dreaming if you think that none of the guys at Geelong are into it. I'd take Cousins in a heart beat.

Just when I think you can't post anything more foolish you surpass yourself. You've just effectively cast aspersions on every Geelong player.

thegerman
16 Oct 2007, 22:19
Wouldn't fit in the cap.

I'm sure he would be worth a limited salary now. No way anyone would accept his 800k ish price tag, especially now.

I wouldn't take him on at Geelong, we cannot afford to take on the reputation that comes with a player like this. Our playing list is now together and bringing in a guy like this might fracture that.

Say no to Cuz.

GoCatters07
16 Oct 2007, 22:28
Makes David Johnsons little indescretion look tame! How come Daniel Chick seems to be getting off scott free though - if you ask me, he was the beginning of the end for Cousins and crew...

Catters21
16 Oct 2007, 22:33

not that it will ever happen......but u r truly an idiot. ben cousins is a superstar, and would walk into any AFL team in the comp, and more then likely dominate. clearly WCE dont know how to help their players off the field, cats and steve johnson, turn around of the century

D0nk
16 Oct 2007, 22:34
Wouldn't fit in the cap.

You're right, he does have a bloody big head.

FTW_
16 Oct 2007, 22:41
not that it will ever happen......but u r truly an idiot. ben cousins is a superstar, and would walk into any AFL team in the comp, and more then likely dominate. clearly WCE dont know how to help their players off the field, cats and steve johnson, turn around of the century
Right, I'm an idiot just because you disagree with what I said...

So you're saying we should just accept his attitude and drug problems just because he has talent? Because there's no way even Geelong could change his problems, seriously what would we do? Suspend him for 6 weeks like Dog? I doubt that would help, c'mon he's been to rehab and that didn't help. What sort of punishment could a club inflict that would actually make a difference to such a problem, both attitude and substance?
I honestly don't think we need druggies and controversy bringing down a perfectly good club.

thegerman
16 Oct 2007, 23:08

That is a big "if" there though. I know he is a superstar, a great player sure. However I doubt he will survive through this with any form of AFL career.

No club in their right mind would take him on. They would be risking a lot. It gives to the quote, is all media coverage good even when it is this bad?

Nope. The Eagles will suffer also. Why would we want that at the club, we've just got our leadership group to focus as one. The Eagles went from a winning team to nothing in 1 year.

Sure they made the finals, but looked gone otherwise. Judd left, join the dots on that. Cox is asking for more cash to put up with the crap, so is Embley.

I know Cuz is great, but come on, no way he could fit in with Geelong. SJ was a totally different kettle of fish.

Copernicus
16 Oct 2007, 23:16
Bloke's not too bright if he's been busted for drugs again. No confirmation on what the substance is yet but you wouldn't think it looks good for him.

Couldn't happen to a better club, really ;)

sarah.13
16 Oct 2007, 23:21
Benny's career is over.West Coast will sack him and AFL will de-register him.
Sad end to a brilliant career!

Jim Boy
16 Oct 2007, 23:23
How come Daniel Chick seems to be getting off scott free though - if you ask me, he was the beginning of the end for Cousins and crew...
Not much they can do - he has been delisted already

As for Cousins, the guy is a great footballer, but he is trouble. Trouble follows him around and permeates everything and everyone around him.

I'll pass on having a great player and stick with having a great football club.

GoCatters07
16 Oct 2007, 23:27
I was meaning more in the media re. D.Chick

WE ARE GLASS 87
16 Oct 2007, 23:42
Bet the Cats fans are happy he never went to the Cats under the father son 10 years back (whenever it was) although he would've been away from the media hype of Perth if he was in Geelong.

Jim Boy
16 Oct 2007, 23:45
Its hard to say what would have happened, maybe he would not have had the wrong friends

MmkMrMackie
17 Oct 2007, 00:24
Just when I think you can't post anything more foolish you surpass yourself. You've just effectively cast aspersions on every Geelong player.

I'm not saying there are Geelong players as deeply involved in drugs and hte underworld as Ben Cousins, but only a fool would believe that no players at their club have done drugs at a nightclub.

Rockford
17 Oct 2007, 01:21
That's addiction for you, it is the only thing that could explain him getting busted for possession a week and a day after he has buried one of his friends who died from a suspected drug overdose :( I hope he gets the help he needs.

Western Cat
17 Oct 2007, 04:17
I definitely don't want him at Geelong.
He's dumb. He's arrogant. He's a drug user.
He's 29. He's blown it big time.

Brilliant player but that's not enough, nowhere near.

The Cats proved this year what can be done in creating a team culture where no-one was more important than the team, Not Gazza, Not Moons, Not Steve J, no-one.

Cousins has shown that he is a law unto himself. He would undermine all of the positive culture at Geelong.
No other club should touch him either but if I was a betting man I'd say he'll end up at the Bulldogs if anywhere, they showed they were willing to take a risk on flawed geniuses when they signed Akermanis.

But I honestly think BC"s AFL career is over.

Worsfold must be SPEWING MAD!

Judd got out just in time!

bigdroppunt
17 Oct 2007, 09:09
http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc243/bigdroppunt/Benny.jpg

rizzo
17 Oct 2007, 09:55
Right, I'm an idiot just because you disagree with what I said...

So you're saying we should just accept his attitude and drug problems just because he has talent? Because there's no way even Geelong could change his problems, seriously what would we do? Suspend him for 6 weeks like Dog? I doubt that would help, c'mon he's been to rehab and that didn't help. What sort of punishment could a club inflict that would actually make a difference to such a problem, both attitude and substance?
I honestly don't think we need druggies and controversy bringing down a perfectly good club.

Suspending him or punishsing him would do nothing. He has serious substance abuse issues. THe last thing the club would want to do is send him back to train with the VFL like dog.

Mooney_d'King
17 Oct 2007, 12:03
Makes David Johnsons little indescretion look tame! How come Daniel Chick seems to be getting off scott free though - if you ask me, he was the beginning of the end for Cousins and crew...

Chick and Cuz - the chemical brothers!

Stoney
17 Oct 2007, 15:25

As stupid as this sounds... I'm not going to justify it by agreeing, but this is a valid point that we would be niaeve (spelling) to overlook.

I know of 3-4 very high profile footballers who have used illicit drugs from others clubs that u wouldnt suspect - and no to all the idiots who ask - im not going to name names so dont ask for a source.

Sure we like to think that our entire club is faultless (and I agree - on the surface it appears so), but I think drug use is widespread and by no means confined to the WCE.

I agree why Geelong wouldnt take Cousins, but I personally would take him as from my personal experiences in life - i do not play better or worse bcoz my teammates have alcohol or drug problems, nor do i fall for the excuse that its a bad influence on younger guys - younger guys are 18 at least - which means they are accountable for there own actions.

I didnt bcom a drug addict bcoz there was an opportunity (who at 18-21 doesnt know ppl who regularly use???) and to all those in my situation who have taken the different path - its an absolute discrace by saying it was someone else's fault u got hooked on the sh!te.

Based on his profession and his willingness to apply himself to preparing himself for his occupation - Cousins is second to none. He is arguably the best endurance runner in the AFL - so dont go saying he isnt committed bcoz thats absolute bullsh!t.

Hopefully a club gives Benny a break, but unless he removes himself from WA i cant see him radically changing his lifestyle.

GoCatters07
17 Oct 2007, 15:41
I don't think he deserves a break - he was given one and failed miserably - he can suffer for his mistakes - it's not like he wasn't told what would happen. He had choices and he made his - pity he took the stupid one, but now has to live and deal with it...stupid idiot....

Ling Sting
17 Oct 2007, 15:59
I would take Laurence Angwin before Cousins......his AFL career is done and dusted my friend.

If he was to come to Geelong (will never happen) it would have to be for peanuts and the first sign of trouble he'd be out the door.

CatmanForever
17 Oct 2007, 19:39
sack him, everyone has bent over backwards to try and help him and this is how he repays them.

MmkMrMackie
17 Oct 2007, 20:08
As stupid as this sounds... I'm not going to justify it by agreeing, but this is a valid point that we would be niaeve (spelling) to overlook.

I know of 3-4 very high profile footballers who have used illicit drugs from others clubs that u wouldnt suspect - and no to all the idiots who ask - im not going to name names so dont ask for a source.

Sure we like to think that our entire club is faultless (and I agree - on the surface it appears so), but I think drug use is widespread and by no means confined to the WCE.

I agree why Geelong wouldnt take Cousins, but I personally would take him as from my personal experiences in life - i do not play better or worse bcoz my teammates have alcohol or drug problems, nor do i fall for the excuse that its a bad influence on younger guys - younger guys are 18 at least - which means they are accountable for there own actions.

I didnt bcom a drug addict bcoz there was an opportunity (who at 18-21 doesnt know ppl who regularly use???) and to all those in my situation who have taken the different path - its an absolute discrace by saying it was someone else's fault u got hooked on the sh!te.

Based on his profession and his willingness to apply himself to preparing himself for his occupation - Cousins is second to none. He is arguably the best endurance runner in the AFL - so dont go saying he isnt committed bcoz thats absolute bullsh!t.

Hopefully a club gives Benny a break, but unless he removes himself from WA i cant see him radically changing his lifestyle.

Who would have suspected Joey Johns?

lachlan24
17 Oct 2007, 20:11
News just in, he's been sacked. It was on ch 10

MOONEY 21
17 Oct 2007, 20:54
News just in, he's been sacked. It was on ch 10

Thank god.

If the eagles/afl didnt kick him out id lose total faith in this football league.

On your bike ben cousins. now you can take as many drugs as you want.

LifeSpan-Void
18 Oct 2007, 03:52
for anyone who wants to see Cousins get picked up by us (not that it's likely), I got three words for you: David Haynes, culture.

d_henderson1810
18 Oct 2007, 09:27

I agree. We have things going right at the moment, and don't need these elements here.

I didn't want Chris Judd either, but for different reasons, that being that WCE would have wanted someone akin to Bartel or Gary Ablett in exchange, and we should try to keep our premiership team together as much as we can.

I'm now glad that Geelong didn't get Ben Cousins under the father-son rule. His father, John Cousins, played enough games for Geelong, but AFL manipulated the rules so that West Coast coud get him first. This used to annoy me, but I'm glad now. His indiscretions this year would have derailed our season, and we wouldn't have won the flag.

The funny thing is, maybe West Coast should have punished Cousins by having his teammates impose the penalty. Geelong did this with Steve Johnson, and you know the rest. WCE failed to punish Cousins earlier, Collingwood didn't suspend Didak for associating with that gunman, and yet Geelong's discipline measure worked. So much for Geelong not having "leadership".

rainmaker
18 Oct 2007, 10:35
Cousins stood no cance with all that is going on over there
the media have not reported half the stuff

he is a regular with the bikkie gangs, strippers (with kevin), and has substance issues
look at the eagles and everywhere he turned he was in trouble
embey should be named captain and kerr traded as well

MmkMrMackie
18 Oct 2007, 10:50
I know a lot of you love to hate the bloke, but have a look at this photo and see if you still feel the same way.

http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/4473/cousinskidqv5.png

It's sad, and you've got to feel for the bloke and his family. Had it all, but got caught up with the wrong crowd and ****ed things up.

Mooney_d'King
18 Oct 2007, 10:52
I don't love to hate him. In fact, if any club could, I reckon Geelong could help him turn his life around with a good atmosphere. Tom Harley I think could really help straighten him out.

MmkMrMackie
18 Oct 2007, 10:54
I don't love to hate him. In fact, if any club could, I reckon Geelong could help him turn his life around with a good atmosphere. Tom Harley I think could really help straighten him out.

Exactly. If Cousins' dad made a plea to the club to give his son a chance and help him get his life back on track, I'd be more than happy to have Cousins at Geelong.

Fairley
18 Oct 2007, 10:57
You can't just keep giving him another chance... he is obviously a bit screwed up... I would want to put Cousin's on suicide watch in the next few weeks haha.

flukeyluke
18 Oct 2007, 11:01
I dont know of any BF fans who hate Cousins.

I think everyone is just a bit over him and his antics and probably feel that his sacking was warranted.

The Final Word
18 Oct 2007, 11:03
You can't just keep giving him another chance... he is obviously a bit screwed up... I would want to put Cousin's on suicide watch in the next few weeks haha.

He's been caught with Valium for christ's sake!

What's the Lions and Saint's boys did to that bloke outside the Prince of Wales was 100 times more serious.

Mooney_d'King
18 Oct 2007, 11:05
I agree. We have things going right at the moment, and don't need these elements here.

I didn't want Chris Judd either, but for different reasons, that being that WCE would have wanted someone akin to Bartel or Gary Ablett in exchange, and we should try to keep our premiership team together as much as we can.

I'm now glad that Geelong didn't get Ben Cousins under the father-son rule. His father, John Cousins, played enough games for Geelong, but AFL manipulated the rules so that West Coast coud get him first. This used to annoy me, but I'm glad now. His indiscretions this year would have derailed our season, and we wouldn't have won the flag.

The funny thing is, maybe West Coast should have punished Cousins by having his teammates impose the penalty. Geelong did this with Steve Johnson, and you know the rest. WCE failed to punish Cousins earlier, Collingwood didn't suspend Didak for associating with that gunman, and yet Geelong's discipline measure worked. So much for Geelong not having "leadership".

It is just impossible to know if Cousins, as a Geelong player, would have gone down the same path. Who you hang around with, especially as you're developing, can have a huge impact on what you get up to. As rainmaker said, Cousins stood no chance with all that is going on over there.

Mooney_d'King
18 Oct 2007, 11:07
He's been caught with Valium for christ's sake!

What's the Lions and Saint's boys did to that bloke outside the Prince of Wales was 100 times more serious.

If that's true then it's easy to speculate that the valium was for the come-down. The telling point is that he refused drug testing.

MmkMrMackie
18 Oct 2007, 11:08
Judging by our trades involving Gardiner and King, we're in the business of doing favours... What bigger favour could we do for Cousins' dad than to take Ben in. We'd get him cheap, and he is after all a brownlow medallist.

Ricardo
18 Oct 2007, 11:16
Judging by our trades involving Gardiner and King, we're in the business of doing favours... What bigger favour could we do for Cousins' dad than to take Ben in. We'd get him cheap, and he is after all a brownlow medallist.

The thing is if he isn't de-registered by the AFL and he goes into the PSD then he'll be snapped up by another club. + the timing is all out, we have too many midfielders, we're too close to the salary cap and although i'd love the club to try and turn this guys life around, the club really don't need it to be honest.

CatmanForever
18 Oct 2007, 11:57
Cousins is gone. He will never play at Geelong or anywhere else IMO.

thylacine60
18 Oct 2007, 12:00

And you think that possibility is funny?

Stoney
18 Oct 2007, 12:06
Thank god.

If the eagles/afl didnt kick him out id lose total faith in this football league.

On your bike ben cousins. now you can take as many drugs as you want.

Yeah good call :thumbsd: hopefully someone close to u at some stage in ur ignorant life has a drug problem... maybe then u'd show a little compassion instead of making out that ben wanted all this sh!te to go wrong.

If he could the last 24 months of his life he would, once ur in over ur head - its hard to get out... and losers like u dont make the process any easier.

Rockford
18 Oct 2007, 12:09
The club probably doesn't have any responsibility to see that he gets well now that he is off the list. I just hope his family and friends make sure he gets the help he needs. Time to find out who your real friends are Ben.

Stoney
18 Oct 2007, 12:13
The club probably doesn't have any responsibility to see that he gets well now that he is off the list. I just hope his family and friends make sure he gets the help he needs. Time to find out who your real friends are Ben.

Good call... he's got a great family, im sure they'll get him through this.

Mooney_d'King
18 Oct 2007, 12:31
Good call... he's got a great family, im sure they'll get him through this.

He's certainly got some hard times ahead though. It's weird how all this stuff can kind of creep up on you over time and all of a sudden (ironically) you're in over your head.

pistol17
18 Oct 2007, 12:35
Got delisted from West Coast... Apparently that decision was made earlier this year after he had an altercation with Andrew Embley. Chick also was arrested and had his home searched however no charges have been laid against him tho.

If i remember correctly i think Daniel Chicks brother died of an overdose... not 100% sure tho

MmkMrMackie
18 Oct 2007, 12:38
Not even close. Try again.

dan kerr
18 Oct 2007, 13:09
Fourthered

Our club is a class act. Don't need a player like this there disrupting current setups.

yer steve johnson is a real class act off the field :rolleyes:

MmkMrMackie
18 Oct 2007, 13:13

Compared to Cousins, Chick and Kerr, SJohnson was always an angel.

thehoff
18 Oct 2007, 13:17

Back in your box dopey.... stupid comment!

The Final Word
18 Oct 2007, 13:19
Cousins is gone. He will never play at Geelong or anywhere else IMO.

I wish a few more people would accept this reality and move on

Asty
18 Oct 2007, 15:36

The difference being that steve johnson in the past was associated with alcohol ... a legal substance. He has also never been associated with crime figures like kirzon (cant be bothered looking up spellin) just with drunken stupidity. Even then geelong looked to trade him last year and suspended him this year for his drinking. Oh and he has never refused to cooperate with the police either - never refused blood test and never refused to give evidence for an investigation.

buffalopride
18 Oct 2007, 15:44
Wouldn't fit in the cap.

fit in the cap..... he'd be lucky to get paid!!! IF ..THATS A BIG IF he does return he will be on a basic wage with previsions that if he stuffs up or gets caught going out they dock his pay and drop him...... He is going to live his life in a straight jacket with big brother watching his every move.

LifeSpan-Void
18 Oct 2007, 16:55

Steve Johnson was pulled up in a BIG way by the Geelong playing group. West Coast didn't have the balls to employ anything comparable when it mattered, and now it has come to this. I don't hate Cousins, I sympathise with his situation, having seen it several times firsthand. The most important thing for Cousins now is to take away his pedestal - for him to make any steps towards recovery he needs to be shown that his situation is no different to any standard gutter-dweller's state of addiction.
The whole "who cares what he does as long as he's playing well" ideal is all well and good for keeping a lid on a problem, but when that problem goes far beyond merely affecting a star's illustrious career and transcends a person's day-to-day existence, then that is when drastic measures need to be taken. Cousins, for his own sake, must not be allowed to play AFL anymore.

Pussys
18 Oct 2007, 17:41
Just remember how good of a player he was on the field:thumbsu:

Rubberducky
18 Oct 2007, 18:15
Great player, a great shame.

I'd like to see him given an opportunity to make something positive of this (other than a test- sorry, couldn't not do it).

Seriously though, it's a big comunity problem, he's been a hero to many already and we can only hope he sets on the correct path. Best of luck to a man that on the field is one of the best I've seen.

sarah.13
18 Oct 2007, 19:00
"If only he had used his talents for goodness instead of Rotteness "
Agent 86.

Darc21
18 Oct 2007, 19:31
Agent 86.

"Oh Max!"

rizzo
18 Oct 2007, 19:34
Ben Cousins, minimum wage, one year deal with a heap of clauses. I'd take the risk on that. He ****s up once, sack him.

CatmanForever
18 Oct 2007, 19:49
Ben Cousins, minimum wage, one year deal with a heap of clauses. I'd take the risk on that. He ****s up once, sack him.

Demetriou has practically said Cousins wont get AFL approval to get into the PSD. So give it up.

WE Are Geelong
18 Oct 2007, 19:56
Cousins wont play footy next year in the AFL...It doesnt get any simpler.

When draft time comes around he will most likely still be in rehab...enforced therapy to avoid impending court proceedings.

This thread has been the biggest waste of space yet all season.

Rockford
18 Oct 2007, 20:26
Cousins wont play footy next year in the AFL...It doesnt get any simpler.

When draft time comes around he will most likely still be in rehab...enforced therapy to avoid impending court proceedings.

This thread has been the biggest waste of space yet all season.

Nah,

Agent 86.

"Oh Max!"

:D

bigdroppunt
18 Oct 2007, 21:51
If that's true then it's easy to speculate that the valium was for the come-down. The telling point is that he refused drug testing.This is so true i dont think alot of people know about come-down drugs, after taking drugs like ICE or SMACK you have a massive come down and you feel low as shit so alot of users take drugs like Valium to help ease there way into it. Hope that halps anyone :thumbsu:

catpounce
18 Oct 2007, 22:10
He is a drug addict what sort of employer would willfully employ a drug addict? Add to the fact that Geelong has no major need for him. Why would a successful club want to take on such a liability.

Ben must first cure his addiction before h can begin to organise any other aspects of his life.

bigdroppunt
18 Oct 2007, 22:17
He is a drug addict what sort of employer would willfully employ a drug addict? Add to the fact that Geelong has no major need for him. Why would a successful club want to take on such a liability.

Ben must first cure his addiction before h can begin to organise any other aspects of his life.
Um 30+ possesion player,everyone would have to agree he is a gun onfield prob in the best 5 in the AFL when hes up and going, we dont need him but some other clubs could do wonders with him, Imagine him at the Dogs or tiges.

clarke_rubber
18 Oct 2007, 23:16
Um 30+ possesion player,everyone would have to agree he is a gun onfield prob in the best 5 in the AFL when hes up and going, we dont need him but some other clubs could do wonders with him, Imagine him at the Dogs or tiges.
does the risk outweigh the benefits of getting 2 or 3 years at most out of him? perhaps, but i think health in this instance will prevail and force him into retirement. (that's if he can now retire after being sacked)

SriLankanCat
18 Oct 2007, 23:19
We dont need him. Why in gods name would be want to bring truble to a club taht is going extremley well at the moment, it just wont happen.

I wish him al lthe best in his recovery

clarke_rubber
18 Oct 2007, 23:21
I wish him al lthe best in his recovery
Likewise, I wish West Coast all the best post Judd and Cousins in rebuilding a club that has had probably the most hurtful season ever expereinced in afl history.

Mooney_d'King
19 Oct 2007, 11:35
Likewise, I wish West Coast all the best post Judd and Cousins in rebuilding a club that has had probably the most hurtful season ever expereinced in afl history.

Good point!

re cat
19 Oct 2007, 14:23
They are dropping the drug charge against him on Monday.

MmkMrMackie
19 Oct 2007, 15:18
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22613347-29277,00.html

Cat_Lady19
19 Oct 2007, 15:22

Ok his 28 and his still here. As a footy player he has achieved alot for himself but as a person he has made many mistakes. I don't like the bloke at all but bagging him for making mistakes in his life is just not right. I think that he gets that he needs help and that he has problems. I don't even know why the need for this thread was done? Why does this concern Geelong? And i think that anyone who thinks that every cats player is a golden boy should get ur head out of the clouds. May i remind you of Mackie and Stevie J!!! Anyway i know i may be bagged for my opinion but i don't care, look at it as person not as a footy supporter! Best wishes for Ben to get his life back.

eliiiiza
19 Oct 2007, 15:41
I don't even know why the need for this thread was done?
Because it's a football discussion board, and this is a huge discussion at the moment.

Cat_Lady19
19 Oct 2007, 15:55
Because it's a football discussion board, and this is a huge discussion at the moment.

As of now he is not an AFL player and its not really about footy its his life and i don't see the need to post something just to bag someone who has a drug addiction footy player or not.

bigdroppunt
19 Oct 2007, 16:16
As of now he is not an AFL player and its not really about footy its his life and i don't see the need to post something just to bag someone who has a drug addiction footy player or not.
i think it was more aimed at if we would try and get him.

darren forssman
19 Oct 2007, 17:31
They are dropping the drug charge against him on Monday.

so, can he now sue for wrongful dismissal?

this is what happens when you let the media run free!!!

i dont like him but was sceptical on this whole bullshit story.

Mooney_d'King
19 Oct 2007, 17:46
From The Age (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/police-drop-cousins-drug-charge/2007/10/19/1192301010101.html):

Meanwhile, prescription drugs including diazepam, oxycontin and Viagra were found in the car that Cousins was driving when he was arrested, West Australian police said today.

WA Assistant Commissioner for Special Crimes, Wayne Gregson, said police had dropped the one drug possession charge against Cousins on advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Mr Gregson said a diazepam, or Valium, pill was found on Cousins, but the DPP said that it was only a prohibited drug in a liquid, injectable form.

However he said several other drugs were also found in the car, in which there were also two passengers.

"The following drugs were seized from the vehicle: oxycontin, which is a prohibited drug, diazepam, Viagra ... and a $20 note which preliminary indications and analysis show traces of MDMA, which is ecstasy and cocaine," Mr Gregson said.

Cousins now faces one charge of refusing a test for narcotics whilst driving.

peter_ford
19 Oct 2007, 23:24
if only sheedy was still at the dons, he would have taken cousins and turn him into an angel

Pussys
19 Oct 2007, 23:41
benny is a champ

bigdroppunt
19 Oct 2007, 23:46
benny is a champ there is somthing so suss about this shit, My old man rekons benny refused a club drug test all so, and they club dumped him so he may of had a chance at another club. the more i think about it,It dosnt sound too far off beliveable.

Pussys
19 Oct 2007, 23:55
there is somthing so suss about this shit, My old man rekons benny refused a club drug test all so, and they club dumped him so he may of had a chance at another club. the more i think about it,It dosnt sound too far off beliveable.
yer ive also heard this

MOONEY 21
20 Oct 2007, 16:46
Yeah good call :thumbsd: hopefully someone close to u at some stage in ur ignorant life has a drug problem... maybe then u'd show a little compassion instead of making out that ben wanted all this sh!te to go wrong.

If he could the last 24 months of his life he would, once ur in over ur head - its hard to get out... and losers like u dont make the process any easier.

what are you on about? ben cousins is a winner off the field but he is a loser off it.

he had a chance and he blew it. end of story.

and for the record i have lost a family member to addiction so dont be so quick to jump to conclusions you parrot.

Brasil2007
23 Oct 2007, 20:08

The only way - absolute only way - I'd take him would be some sort of arrangement where he would play VFL for a year basically for subsistence wages. No f*** ups and he gets the chance to compete for a senior position, which wouldn't be at market rates but would be at a reasonable price. Screw up at any time and he's delisted for life with no chance of ever playing any role in football ever again. Contact with any of his old mates - gone. ANy instance of non-cooperation with police - gone. If he can't compete for a position, he doesn't get one. And I'd expect him to go to the ACC and explain in one of their hearings everything he knows about those he's been hanging around with.

Of course you've got to look at whether that would be viable given his age and how many years he's got left. Personally, if it came off, I think it would be good for everyone - he gets a chance away from the environment over there, we get a chance to pick up a handy player, and the AFL gets the chance to turn what is at the moment a disaster on every level into something that could be a positive story. Frankly even if he never played a senior game but was just straightened outand contributed to the VFL team it would be worth while.

I don't like Ben Cousins in any way. I don't think he deserves another chance. I don't see him as a victim of anything but his own stupidity (and that of the Eagles and the AFL, who seem to think that a couple of weeks at a health spa is the cure for an addiction). But if you can turn something into a positive then I think it's worth considering. Our premiership was built on hard work, discipline and persistence, and he has to realise that's what he needs.

burto
23 Oct 2007, 22:42
The only way - absolute only way - I'd take him would be some sort of arrangement where he would play VFL for a year basically for subsistence wages. No f*** ups and he gets the chance to compete for a senior position, which wouldn't be at market rates but would be at a reasonable price. Screw up at any time and he's delisted for life with no chance of ever playing any role in football ever again. Contact with any of his old mates - gone. ANy instance of non-cooperation with police - gone. If he can't compete for a position, he doesn't get one. And I'd expect him to go to the ACC and explain in one of their hearings everything he knows about those he's been hanging around with.

Of course you've got to look at whether that would be viable given his age and how many years he's got left. Personally, if it came off, I think it would be good for everyone - he gets a chance away from the environment over there, we get a chance to pick up a handy player, and the AFL gets the chance to turn what is at the moment a disaster on every level into something that could be a positive story. Frankly even if he never played a senior game but was just straightened outand contributed to the VFL team it would be worth while.

I don't like Ben Cousins in any way. I don't think he deserves another chance. I don't see him as a victim of anything but his own stupidity (and that of the Eagles and the AFL, who seem to think that a couple of weeks at a health spa is the cure for an addiction). But if you can turn something into a positive then I think it's worth considering. Our premiership was built on hard work, discipline and persistence, and he has to realise that's what he needs.

The bolded part would be a good way to get himself killed.

But agree with the rest