View Full Version : Best Soundtrack . . .

Stocka
14 Jun 2002, 19:34
What movie soundtracks do people like?

I reckon there's some pretty good stuff on the Guy Ritchie movies "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" and "Snatch".

Likewise, the soundtrack that came out of the "Singles" movie contained some classic songs.

Macca19
14 Jun 2002, 21:32
Strangeland:

1. Dee Snider - Inconclusion
2. Sevendust - Breathe
3. Megadeth - A Secret Place
4. Pantera - Where You Come From
5. Anthrax - P & V
6. Snot - Absent
7. Dayinthelife... - Street Justice
8. Coal Chamber - Not Lving
9. Bile - In League
10. Marilyn Manson - Sweet Tooth
11. Soulfly - Eye For An Eye
12. (HED) PE - Serpent Boy
13. Kid Rock - F**K Off
14. Clay People - Awake
15. System of a Down - Marmalade
16. Nashville Pussy - Im The Man
17. Crisis - Captain Howdy
18. Twisted Sister - Heroes Are Hard To Find

Stocka
14 Jun 2002, 22:45
Does anyone have "The Lost Highway" soundtrack? Some of the songs of it are quite good . . . just wondering what it is like overall.

skilts
15 Jun 2002, 14:51
Romper Stomper and The Blues Brothers.

Shinboners
15 Jun 2002, 16:40
The soundtrack to "Trainspotting" is one of my favourites. "Lust For Life" by Iggy Pop, "Temptation" by New Order, "Perfect Day" by Lou Reed, "Born Slippy" by Underword...what's there not to like? Oh, hang on...there's that note for note cover of Blondie's "Atomic" by Sleeper....they may as well have used the original version.

There's also the soundtrack to the movie about Factory Records titled "24 Hour Party People" - that's bound to be good.

oh_my_hat
15 Jun 2002, 18:12
Yeah I will go for 2 already mentioned here:

Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrells (love the James Brown songs) &
Trainspotting

coxon
15 Jun 2002, 19:27
Originally posted by Stocka
Does anyone have "The Lost Highway" soundtrack? Some of the songs of it are quite good . . . just wondering what it is like overall.

nope.. dont have it..
only have the pumpkins' 'eye' .. which is a great song..

i'll vote for trainspotting, and pulp fiction

Mcchawk
16 Jun 2002, 08:29
Would have to say "I am Sam" though if the songs were played by the Beatles then a country mile ahead of anything.

Danny Chook Fan Club
16 Jun 2002, 11:09
Ghostbusters II

Bobby Brown at his finest.

pedrothelioness
16 Jun 2002, 12:58
my fav is the pretty in pink soundtrack, as its the only one i have, im not a fan of compilations.

Dee
16 Jun 2002, 22:01
Forrest Gump is a goodie.......also Two hands and 10 things i hate about you.

happy_in_hell
16 Jun 2002, 22:10
The Blues Brothers are by far the best with Men In Black coming second

CarterS
16 Jun 2002, 22:18
Forrest Gump hands down for me.

Also, I know it doesn't technically count as a soundtrack but close enough -> Jeff Wayne's musical version of 'The War Of The Worlds'.

Harry
16 Jun 2002, 23:09
The Blues Brothers
The Commitments
Eddie & The Cruisers
The Big Chill
Shrek
The Lion King

Desredandwhite
16 Jun 2002, 23:15
For me:

Josie & the Pussycats
The Usual Suspects
Trainspotting
Pulp Fiction
Reservoir Dogs
Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV soundtrack

I must say though... soundtracks are getting to the stage where they are just glorified compilations of songs that may have had 5 seconds played on the movie in question. There are some great scored soundtracks out there, but getting fewer..

The Hippie
16 Jun 2002, 23:29
Originally posted by Harry
The Blues Brothers
The Commitments
Eddie & The Cruisers

Some of my favourites there, too. I'll add Trick Or Treat, Dazed And Confused, The Lost Boys, and if anyone's a Neil Diamond fan, The Jazz Singer.

And I agree with Carter's view of War Of The Worlds, damn good album (well, double album) :cool:

Porthos
17 Jun 2002, 00:32
O Brother, Where Art Thou?
Romeo + Juliet

daicos4ever
17 Jun 2002, 00:38
Forest Gump
Two Hands
Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

Stocka
17 Jun 2002, 09:32
Originally posted by Shinboners
The soundtrack to "Trainspotting" is one of my favourites. "Lust For Life" by Iggy Pop, "Temptation" by New Order, "Perfect Day" by Lou Reed, "Born Slippy" by Underword...what's there not to like?

Yeah, a great collection of songs, that one!

Although, the second Trainspotting "soundtrack" had a greater sense of money grabbing than anything that went on in the film! :D

Rusty Brookes
17 Jun 2002, 09:57
Deliverance. I play it while sitting in my rockin' chair, cleaning my gun. Anyone know how to squeal like a pig?

Shinboners
17 Jun 2002, 10:15
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
Anyone know how to squeal like a pig?

Carlton fans after losing a game to a dodgy free kick?

Sly77
17 Jun 2002, 13:21
Favorite? Awwwwwww Mannnn too many to choice from:

- Cruel Intentions (Counting Crows, Placebo, Fatboy and the list goes on)
- Romeo & Juliet 1 and 2
- Moulin Rouge (Josh Abrahams did a fantastic job)
- Pulp Fiction
- West Side Story - Leonard Bernstein at his best

Ummmmmmmm what else?????

FIGJAM
17 Jun 2002, 14:14
I agree with most people's thoughts on here.

I love the Dazed and Confused soundtrack and Romeo & Juliet was good (but made great by Radiohead's Talkshow Host ;) ).

I thought Judgment Night was pretty cool, with the rap-metal collaborations.

Winston Wolf
18 Jun 2002, 19:04
try the soundtracks to "Reservoir Dogs" and "Pulp Fiction"
Classics !!!!

Mooster7
18 Jun 2002, 19:18
Originally posted by Winston Wolf
try the soundtracks to "Reservoir Dogs" and "Pulp Fiction"
Classics !!!!

Quentin - great flicks, great music picks. I doubt seriously if **** Dale intended it, but everytime I hear 'Miserlou' I feel like we should have shotguns for this sh**. :D

Also agree completely with Daicos' choice of 'Forest Gump.' It has so many great singles from great bands, that it should have already been a comp before the movie was even made.

PeteLX
20 Jun 2002, 11:20
Trainspotting, Goldfinger, Thunderball, Batman (score) by Danny Elfman, Apocalypse Now, Lock Stock, Blues Brothers, Rocky Horror, too many to mention!

-PC28-
20 Jun 2002, 12:30
Originally posted by happy_in_hell
The Blues Brothers are by far the best

You never cease to impress me HIH

Good work at the Bar, great taste in music...

thommo16
20 Jun 2002, 13:17
Has to be Moulin Rouge, Romeo & Juliet, Centre Stage, Coyote Ugly, Bridget Jones Diary and..........The Bodyguard

thommo16
20 Jun 2002, 13:18
Oh and forgot.........Dirty Dancing

vanders
20 Jun 2002, 14:44
has got to be save the last dance.

thommo16
20 Jun 2002, 16:10
Yeah I love that one too!!!!!!

And the Pretty Woman was good too

I love that song "King of Wishful Thinking"

PrincessPark
26 Jun 2002, 22:38
The Blues Brothers
The Commitments
The Rocky Horror Picture Show
A Knight's Tale
The Wedding Singer

The Empire Records soundtrack is the most disappointing ever. There are so many good songs in the film but it's filled with cerrrrrap you only hear vaguely in the background, none that they actually sing along with/dance to.

dreamkillers
26 Jun 2002, 23:09
Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction..........Tarantino always ensured the music matched the film.......

and of course Pink Floyd's The Wall.........

GhostofJimJess
26 Jun 2002, 23:19
Repo Man
Dogs In Space
Beuna Vista Social Club
Idiot Box
Pulp Fiction
Morning Of The Earth
Crystal Voyager
Paris, Texas

Beausgirl43
27 Jun 2002, 18:27
I like Eddie and the Cruisers, Grease, The Commitments and Cocktail.

Mr. Ripper reckons you can't go past ABBA; The Movie. :eek: :confused: :p

cheers ... Kaz :D

Mr Ripper
27 Jun 2002, 18:43
Bugsy Malone too!

TheSheik
28 Jun 2002, 23:04
The Warriors
Morning of the Earth
Midnight Express

PrincessPark
28 Jun 2002, 23:17
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Bugsy Malone too!

I loved Bugsy Malone!! Dexter Fletcher of Press Gang/Lock Stock fame aged 5 and a very very young Jodie Foster just after Taxi Driver. Great concept.

Mr Ripper
29 Jun 2002, 12:07
And Andrew Paul (The Bill's PC Quinnan) playing ... a cop!

Marissa16
29 Jun 2002, 16:24
I like American Pie 2 sound track, it rocks!!

carneagles
29 Jun 2002, 21:47
Originally posted by Desredandwhite
For me:

Reservoir DogsBrilliant. 70's cheese with Steven Wright's deadpan delivery.

"As K-BILLY's Super Sounds of the 70's just keeps on ... truckin."

M29
29 Jun 2002, 22:07
Waynes World. Greatest ever. :D

Slax
30 Jun 2002, 00:04
1. The Blues Brothers
2. The Lost Boys
3. The Commitments
4. Romeo + Juliet
5. Reservoir Dogs
6. Pulp Fiction
7. Grease
8. Muriel's Wedding
9. The Wall
10. Romper Stomper

Favourite song from a movie:
Rain drops keep falling on my head - Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid

GhostofJimJess
30 Jun 2002, 00:10
Nice call on "The Warriors" Sheik. As one of my favorite films of all time, would I be right in guessing that the soundtrack would have that really cool black DJ chick intro'ing each of the tracks on the soundtrack, just like in the film?

As for Midnight Express, you've got me really curious ... I only remember the main theme to that one. I'll chase it up for sure.

Can I finally congratulate you on your choice of photo ... love your work.

Woodson
30 Jun 2002, 16:52
Originally posted by Macca19
Strangeland:

1. Dee Snider - Inconclusion
2. Sevendust - Breathe
3. Megadeth - A Secret Place
4. Pantera - Where You Come From
5. Anthrax - P & V
6. Snot - Absent
7. Dayinthelife... - Street Justice
8. Coal Chamber - Not Lving
9. Bile - In League
10. Marilyn Manson - Sweet Tooth
11. Soulfly - Eye For An Eye
12. (HED) PE - Serpent Boy
13. Kid Rock - F**K Off
14. Clay People - Awake
15. System of a Down - Marmalade
16. Nashville Pussy - Im The Man
17. Crisis - Captain Howdy
18. Twisted Sister - Heroes Are Hard To Find

Can't seem to find the Strangeland movie anywhere....as I'm a Huge Dee Snider fan.....I believe Dee directed/scripted Strangeland ???? What does the video cover look like???

Mattster
30 Jun 2002, 18:20
i want to find Rock Star soundtrack

"Stand up and shoooooouuuuuttttttt!"

bragg
1 Jul 2002, 00:02
Dead Man Walking and Dead Man (Neil Young)