View Full Version : Will the Tigers ever be a top side again?

Pages : [1] 2

GUN-BARREL STRAIGHT
19 Oct 2007, 17:19
Seriously. A Tiger fan posted this as their best 22 going into next year:

FB:Newman, Thursfield, King
HB:Bowden, Polak, McMahon
C:Edwards, Deledio, Polo
HF:Pettifer, Riewoldt, Tambling
FF:Schulz, Richo, Brown
Rucks:Simmonds, Coughlan, Foley
INT:Pattison, Raines, Tuck, Johnson

I've gone through and marked the players in bold who are any good - note that apart from Foley and Deledio, they're all old guys! The rest are average at best or are never gonna make it.

Seriously, it's hard to see the Tigers getting anywhere. In fact, they might bounce back up a bit next year (probably ninth again LOL) but once Richo, Brown and co have gone, it's back to the bottom once again.

I just can't see Richmond ever being a force for a long, long, long time. Sad but true.

Palmer Stoat
19 Oct 2007, 17:20
After careful consideration, no.

MadDawg
19 Oct 2007, 17:22
not on Wallace and Millers watch

PumpyChowdown
19 Oct 2007, 17:27
Eventually they will, but not for a long time.

I'm the Juggernaut
19 Oct 2007, 17:55
Troll. Please post up Carltons best 22 and we can compare.

DBAH0
19 Oct 2007, 17:57
Not until they can prove they can develop multiple quality players.

SOT4
Stupid thread, of course they can be a top side again, just not next year.

By the way, Richmonds defence >>>>>>>>>>>>> Calrton's defence, and as they say defences win premierships.

Hawkas_01

mate its not a troll if u look at the list there just isn't much quality there

Cruiser23
19 Oct 2007, 18:08
Stupid thread, of course they can be a top side again, just not next year.

By the way, Richmonds defence >>>>>>>>>>>>> Calrton's defence, and as they say defences win premierships.

They haven't been a top side for twenty years, it ain't changing anytime soon.
Defenses may win premierships but if you don't have a midfield and a forward line, doesn't matter how good the defense is you ain't winning shit

LVAK
19 Oct 2007, 18:09
mate its not a troll if u look at the list there just isn't much quality there

We have a very young list and I doubt that you know enough of them to predict how that will turn out. The jury is still out on most.

As a consequence I don't think we will be a top 4 side for at least 3-4 years if that's what is meant by a long time.

Just because you don't know who they are doesn't mean that they will come to no good

TheWiseOne
19 Oct 2007, 18:11
not on Wallace and Millers watch

Yep I agree... Coaching for his life this year.. He might turn it around...

tigers71
19 Oct 2007, 18:11
They haven't been a top side for twenty years, it ain't changing anytime soon.
Defenses may win premierships but if you don't have a midfield and a forward line, doesn't matter how good the defense is you ain't winning shit

Well well a Carltank fan saying we are crap what about the 13 years that you have not done anything. The only think Cartank has done has been tanking.

nineteen eighty
19 Oct 2007, 18:16
This is all a bit rich coming from Blues supporters. This is the team where their most recent success can be attributed to cheating. Thanks for your concern but stick to asking questions about your own team.

TigerGlory
19 Oct 2007, 18:19

I've gone through and marked the players in bold who are any good - note that apart from Foley and Deledio, they're all old guys! The rest are average at best or are never gonna make it.

Seriously, it's hard to see the Tigers getting anywhere. In fact, they might bounce back up a bit next year (probably ninth again LOL) but once Richo, Brown and co have gone, it's back to the bottom once again.

I just can't see Richmond ever being a force for a long, long, long time. Sad but true.

Your markings are all wrong, and you have left out quite a few good players.

Newman, Polak, Pettifer, Raines, Edwards, King are all good players.

Riewoldt has plenty of improvement in him.

And Pattison would be your club's number 1 ruckmen for sure, with a lineup consisting of Hackland and Cloke :thumbsu:

Carlton's only good player is Judd.

Cruiser23
19 Oct 2007, 18:25
Well well a Carltank fan saying we are crap what about the 13 years that you have not done anything. The only think Cartank has done has been tanking.

I'll let you slide on this one because you obviously have no idea. Just in case you don't get the news under your rock i'll bring you up to speed.

1995 Premiership, 1999 GF, 2000 PF after finishing second on the ladder, 2001 SF after finishing fifth.

The draft system works so team have some decent years and then some shockers. We have had our shockers (a little to many) but our list have a lot of upside and we will peak in 2-3 years.

Richmond have made the finals three times in 20 years making it to the PF in 2001. Other than that, your have done NOTHING. When was Richmonds last good couple years?

Get your facts straight before insolting me and my team

Electric Blue
19 Oct 2007, 18:28
never...

Mind you they are in the box seat for.....

The wooden spoon!!:D

Norfolk Nadia
19 Oct 2007, 18:35
Think about Geelong's side of 12 months ago and your thoughts of them at that time...

Doesn't take much to "suddenly" become a better side ...

Melbourne and Freo are both sides that are World beaters one year and ordinary the next ...

Smash`N`Grab
19 Oct 2007, 19:08

Edwards,Polo,Thursfield,King,Newman should be bold and a few more

Nice try but ultimatley a pathetic post :thumbsd:

bluesforever
19 Oct 2007, 19:15
Richmond are a joke, what a laughable best 22 they have!:D

JSFish
19 Oct 2007, 19:22

What about Newman - very solid and consistant
Thursfield - hasn't played much and not much meat on him, but has an amazing ability to get a fist in
King - he was pretty handy this year
Polak - ????????Why isnt he in bold?
Pettifer - did you watch him play in the second half of the season
Tambling - if he was picked up at pick 80 instead of pick 4, one ahead of Franklin, people wouldn't say he was such a dud.
And they are all 23 or under except for pettifer and polak might be 24.
And about all your bolded players being old except for foley and lids, and since when is cogs old at 25?:confused:

GoHawkers
19 Oct 2007, 19:22
Hey, Richmond supporters. What about Tuck?

I was really upset when Hawthorn let him go. He got really good at Richmond for a season or two but haven't seen him mentioned much for awhile.

Best Buddy
19 Oct 2007, 19:29
Hey, Richmond supporters. What about Tuck?

I was really upset when Hawthorn let him go. He got really good at Richmond for a season or two but haven't seen him mentioned much for awhile.

Agree, sad to see the back of him but glad to see his solid performances at Richmond. Or, at least I thought they were solid.

Anyway, in answer to the thread - Yes, of course they will. Not immediately, but perhaps sooner than one thinks. Some seem to think that it takes 8-10 years to build a team. Wrong.

pazza
19 Oct 2007, 19:31
It will once Wallace leaves as coach.

The squad itself is good and quite young.

The Chad
19 Oct 2007, 19:41
richmond will be 4-14 after round 18, and instead of tanking will win their last 4 of the season and "just" miss the eight (by three games) but guys like KB in the media will beat their finish to the season up as real promise for the future.

wallace will then get them 10 wins and either 9th or 10th spot in 2009, earning himself another 2 year contract

so in short, they won't win anything any time soon

Cuzz09
19 Oct 2007, 19:44
Obviously they will be up near the top again one day - its just law of averages.

Who knows when but Id say in the next 1,000 years even Freo could win a flag :eek:

rokket80
19 Oct 2007, 19:45

Top of the bottom half of the 8 maybe (9th for you collingwood supporters who can't count). Terry still has another 10 years of his plan though doesn't he? Lets give him a chance.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
19 Oct 2007, 19:48
There not too bad; with abit of luck in the next couple of drafts they could move back up to 9th.

The GOAT
19 Oct 2007, 19:57
no, they will never ever win another flag:rolleyes:

Darth_Tiger
19 Oct 2007, 20:08
Top of the bottom half of the 8 maybe (9th for you collingwood supporters who can't count). Terry still has another 10 years of his plan though doesn't he? Lets give him a chance.

your the one who cant count my friend. top of the bottom half of the eight would be fifth.

Truetiger
19 Oct 2007, 20:33

Newman, Thursfield and King I would say are good players.
I would also say Riewoldt will be as well. How about in place of you saying what we will do in the years to come. You worry about your own crap side in Carlton.

PROUD LION
19 Oct 2007, 20:38
NEVER WRITE ANOTHER POST ABOUT HOW CRAP RICHMONDS' LIST IS; I COPPED A MID-RANGE INFRACTION FROM THEIR MOD AND BAN FOR THIS :rolleyes:

Originally Posted by froars http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9189153#post9189153)
No 3 years :rolleyes:
Gone since WALLACE took over replaced mostly with YOUTH and UNKNOWNS hence why this idiot doesn't know any of them.

GONE

Gasper
Hall
Knobel
Kingsley
Archibald
Blumfield
Campbell
Chaffey
Dragacevic
Fiora
Fleming
Fletcher
Gilmour
Hilton
Houlihan
A Kellaway
D Kellaway
Marsh
Morrison
Nicholls
Ottens
Roach
Rodan
Rogers
Stafford
Weller
Zantuck

Wallace has done a fantastic job clearing out that illustrious list. Not many gone on to stellar careers :rolleyes:
Think you better be prepared to add Tambling, Oakley Nicholls, Schulz, Pattison, Meyer and Hughes to that list :D All will be nothing more than trade bait in the coming years.

Wallace is an overated coach and has picked up the aforementioned players in his time at Richmond and should be sacked because of it.

Richmond supporters are delusional if they think they have a great young list, all they have is a young list.

For those who disagree, save this post and if I am wrong about this, you all have the right to feed it to me in a couple of years time :thumbsu: All the best,
BigFooty

And now he only eats guitars.......

latrell
19 Oct 2007, 20:39
At least richmond have had a few seasons put into their young kpp's. These guys take longer to develop. This is why carlton are 4-5 years off.

Coughlan
19 Oct 2007, 20:44
Funny how Carlton fgans seem to think they are the greatest team in the commp since they have Judd.
They are in for a very rude shock next year

beaver fever
19 Oct 2007, 20:46
The draft system works so team have some decent years and then some shockers. We have had our shockers (a little to many) but our list have a lot of upside and we will peak in 2-3 years.

Richmond have made the finals three times in 20 years making it to the PF in 2001. Other than that, your have done NOTHING. When was Richmonds last good couple years?

You dead shit. Since when does making the finals count as success? Neither Richmond or Carlton have done anything in the last 10 years as only premierships count. You can sugar coat your team all you want but Carlton is as shit as Richmond.

rokket80
19 Oct 2007, 20:52
Funny how Carlton fgans seem to think they are the greatest team in the commp since they have Judd.
They are in for a very rude shock next year

No.. I for 1 actually knew we were the greatest team well before Judd decided to grace us with her signature.. And Judd obviously knew that himself based on his decision

lopezz
19 Oct 2007, 20:54

Jamison - S.O'hAilpin - Hadley

Scotland - Thornton - Carrazzo

Walker - Stevens - Simpson

Gibbs - Waite - Fisher

Betts - Fevola - Kruezer/Cotchin

Cloke - Judd - Murphy

Hampson - Russel - Bentick A.O'hAilpin

In my mind:)

Coughlan
19 Oct 2007, 21:03

Gibbs - Waite - Fisher

Cloke - Judd - Murphy

shit team:thumbsu:

harmesy 37
19 Oct 2007, 21:05
Richmond are Carlton's traditional rival and I would like to see both teams up there battling it out again.

It is hard to forgive the hit on Geoff Southby and the 1973 grand final.

Go Tiges ! but more importantly Go Blues!!! may we fight it out in the finals again...but with the Blues victorious.

beaver's army
19 Oct 2007, 21:05

Gibbs - Waite - Fisher

Cloke - Judd - Murphy

you have about 6 players other teams would want.

rocker_oz33
19 Oct 2007, 21:57
every team will have its time at the top even if it's only a short time

The Rugolo Bros
19 Oct 2007, 22:03
chris judd is a money grubbing whore ..dont fool yourself that it was for any other reason

Blasé
19 Oct 2007, 22:21
I think that the more appropriate question is:

Will Richmond be able to survive, remain in the competition, if they continue to be pathetic in the future?

I think sooner or later they will get their act together, but can they continue being so piss poor year in and out until then?

This year has provided evidence that they can still flourish financially despite a pathetic on-field performance, but it would appear to defy logic to continually being a rabble and still survive.

But then again, it defies logic to be a Richmond supporter.

JSFish
19 Oct 2007, 22:31

Will Richmond be able to survive, remain in the competition, if they continue to be pathetic in the future?

I think sooner or later they will get their act together, but can they continue being so piss poor year in and out until then?

This year has provided evidence that they can still flourish financially despite a pathetic on-field performance, but it would appear to defy logic to continually being a rabble and still survive.

Umm, the saints have one premiership in 110 years, are they still a team. And i can think of lots of other things that defy logic buddy;)

beaver fever
19 Oct 2007, 22:34
you have about 6 players other teams would want.
That's a bit harsh I reckon, more like 10-11.

GhostofJimJess
19 Oct 2007, 22:36

Attack the ball and not the man please. Why is it when someone puts up an opening post like on this thread we all need to get so defensive.

I don't care about Carlton's list here - this one is about our list. If you have a problem with the bloke having a go at the Tigers, prove him wrong. But just trying to deflect back on his club just ends up becoming a useless troll fest, and achieves SFA.

I really dunno, GBS. Sometimes you think your club might be heading in the wrong direction, but when each season rolls around we all start on zero wins again. At the moment we're equal on wins with Geelong for 2008.

Investing in youth as Wallace has done is always a risky proposition, but there seems to be little alternative nowadays. Brisbane did it in the mid-90's and profited in the early 00's. Geelong did it in the early 00's, and have profited now in the late 00's. But so did Melbourne, St Kilda and Fremantle during those periods, and none of them have really threatened over the last five years.

Each year there's probably three or four times the number of clubs who are not content with their season as there are clubs who are content. With 16 AFL clubs involved in what is essentially an experiment in sporting socialism, chances are that each club will average just over six Flags per century. The odds appear to slightly lean towards non-Vic clubs in the current climate, but that could turn around over the next few decades.

Like about five or six other Vic clubs, at the moment Richmond are about a 50% chance of winning a Premiership in the next 16 years. If the kids they've invested during this current rebuilding phase in turn out to be gems, the probability will likely increase. And vice versa.

There was nothing to suggest that the kids that Geelong drafted/father-sonned from around 1998-2003 that played such a big part in their Flag in 2007 (Scarlett, Corey, Chapman, Ling, Kelly, Johnson, Ablett, Egan, Enright etc) were any more likely at that stage to be Premiership players than the young blokes the Saints and Freo brought in over the same period. But these clubs seem poles apart at present, which can only be put down to other factors in addition to playing lists.

If the Tigers can get all of these extraneous factors sorted, and have some good fortune with this current large batch of 18-21 year-olds (Deledio, Polo, Tambling, Pattison, Edwards, Connors, Riewoldt, Hughes, Foley, Raines etc) in a season where they are all in the 23-26 year-old demographic (like Geelong have done in 2007), then they have as much chance as Geelong and any other club of winning a Premiership or two within five to ten years.

Geez, I'd like at least one more while I'm alive, though.

Warwick
19 Oct 2007, 22:50
This Richmond vs Carlton rivalry on here is becoming very petty and annoying.

It's like Adelaide and Beirut fighting over which city is the more ideal holiday destination.

Blasé
19 Oct 2007, 23:14
Umm, the saints have one premiership in 110 years, are they still a team. And i can think of lots of other things that defy logic buddy;)

Good point!:thumbsu:

Frankly, I'd much rather the tiges get themselves together, rather than the saints.

I think my point is, that we're seeing the Kanagaroos move interstate (which appears to defy the logic of on-field success dictating immunity to actually be extinction!) bascially because there's not enough room for so many Victorian teams, which to me means that more Victorians are likely to be moved.

Don't forgot currently we have 10 of 16 teams. It just appears to be logical that the national comp can only sustain half - 8. But I'm also aware that clubs these days are branding themselves nationally as an identity rather than marekting themselves to their local region. Still, there's only so much you can rake in that way, due to a lot of Victorian competition, meaning there's still a few vulnerable.

At this point in time, next in line are WB and the Saints, giving Richmond room to breath for now. But, I'm by no means saying my Hawks aren't in danger either.

Now Kangaroos will move interstate, so another won't be relocated for another few years, so it's actually going to more important to be in a strong position say 3+yrs gown the track.

So there is some pressure on Richmond to get their act together soon.

Lastly, GhostofJimJess, keep up the good work. :thumbsu:
I know I may've tangled with you a few times but reckon for a tige supporter, you're on the money quite often.

81 Points
19 Oct 2007, 23:26

I think the real question is: Will you still follow the Launceston Hawks?

Magnificence
19 Oct 2007, 23:30
Simply put they are pathetic and will lose most of their best players in the next 2 to 3 years so. I think the tigers new membership says it all.

Tigers rise in 2025

RichosGuns
19 Oct 2007, 23:55
Richmond Top Tier players: Nathan Brown, Mathew Richardson, Nathan Foley

Potential young Richmond superstars: Brett Deledio, Daniel Conners

Potential young Richmond very good players: Tambling, Riewoldt, Thurstfield, Polak, Edwards, King, Polo, Hughes

Current underated Richmond players: Newman, King, Simmonds, Coughlan

I think Richmond will have a premiership when blokes like Deledio, Foley, Conners, Reiwoldt are 25-30

RichosGuns
19 Oct 2007, 23:59
Simply put they are pathetic and will lose most of their best players in the next 2 to 3 years so. I think the tigers new membership says it all.

Tigers rise in 2025

Carlton....good one:D

Carlton. 2008. buying ourselves a premiership for the cost of dignity

beaver fever
20 Oct 2007, 00:00

Like posting consecutive million dollar profits? Surely Hawthorn are in greater danger of relocated/merger than Richmond considering they need to play 4 games in Tassie to keep afloat.

RichosGuns
20 Oct 2007, 00:03
Richmond fans are the greatest fans in the world. Who can serioulsy deny this?

Our club has been turning it shit performance for the last 20 year and yet we still have the 3rd highest attendance in 2007 after winning less then 5 games. While teams like Melbourne and Carlton have these bandwagon supporters who jump on and off every year. Don't force me to mention hawk supporters...

GoHawkers
20 Oct 2007, 00:08
I'll ask my question again since no Richmond supporter has answered it.

What about Tuck? Doesn't anyone at Richmond rate him anymore?

mulhollanddrive
20 Oct 2007, 00:11
Not while the Miller and Wallace are singing 2 princes by the Spin Doctors.

RichosGuns
20 Oct 2007, 00:26

He is a decent player. He played the year with an injured ankle and despite having a poor start to the year, he really pulled his finger out and had an excellent finish.

I would say that the Hawks made a big mistake in dropping him, but its true that players develop at different times

GoHawkers
20 Oct 2007, 00:29
He is a decent player. He played the year with an injured ankle and despite having a poor start to the year, he really pulled his finger out and had an excellent finish.

I would say that the Hawks made a big mistake in dropping him, but its true that players develop at different times

Thanks for that. Yep, I was upset when Hawthorn let him go. Just hope Travis Tuck is good for us and we keep him.

Raveneyes
20 Oct 2007, 00:48
This Richmond vs Carlton rivalry on here is becoming very petty and annoying.

It's like Adelaide and Beirut fighting over which city is the more ideal holiday destination.

Brilliant!! :thumbsu:

That one made me blow Jim Beam and coke out of my nose!

To the OP, you might be right but I don't seriously think so. King, Raines, Pattison and Thursfield are just 4 players you failed to highlight that I believe could be big improvers.

Look for Richmond to give the 8 a shake in '09 or'10

GhostofJimJess
20 Oct 2007, 08:56
Good point!:thumbsu:

Frankly, I'd much rather the tiges get themselves together, rather than the saints.

I think my point is, that we're seeing the Kanagaroos move interstate (which appears to defy the logic of on-field success dictating immunity to actually be extinction!) bascially because there's not enough room for so many Victorian teams, which to me means that more Victorians are likely to be moved.

Don't forgot currently we have 10 of 16 teams. It just appears to be logical that the national comp can only sustain half - 8. But I'm also aware that clubs these days are branding themselves nationally as an identity rather than marekting themselves to their local region. Still, there's only so much you can rake in that way, due to a lot of Victorian competition, meaning there's still a few vulnerable.

At this point in time, next in line are WB and the Saints, giving Richmond room to breath for now. But, I'm by no means saying my Hawks aren't in danger either.

Now Kangaroos will move interstate, so another won't be relocated for another few years, so it's actually going to more important to be in a strong position say 3+yrs gown the track.

All fair points, no doubt about it.

The other thing is, at Richmond we have tried most of the other solutions. Over the last 15-20 years of rubbish performances we've tried

* Repeatedly sacking the coach in the same decade - Bartlett, Northey, Jeans, Walls, Geischen
* Electing a club legend as coach - KB
* Digging up the legendary coach beyond his use-by - Jeansy
* Topping up - Spud's classic drafting/trading for Hudson, Fleming, Fletcher, Nicholls etc.

... and many, many more flawed strategies.

At last we have bitten the bullet and at least attempted the rebuild from the ground up. Dunno if it'll work out, but at least it generates hope and excitement into the game. If this group of kids/coaching staff doesn't get a Flag, then I guess we'll have to go through it all again next decade years time? Or maybe we'll have put ourselves into a strong enough position where we can do a Port Power or Collingwood trick and suddenly turn up again at the business end less than a handful of years later?

Best thing is, at least we're not reactionary now.

Lastly, GhostofJimJess, keep up the good work. :thumbsu:
I know I may've tangled with you a few times but reckon for a tige supporter, you're on the money quite often.

And mate, we'll continue to tangle, cause we're opposition supporters and we bloody well can't even agree on whether it was 'holding the ball' to us or 'holding the man' to you most of the time. :D

But I refuse to pander to other Tigers supporters just because they're Tiger supporters. Like I said, if someone slags off Richmond unfairly, then they should be proven wrong - you never usually hear from them again after that anyway. But if an opposition poster raises a fair point in criticism of the Tigers, then I'll try and do my best to give it a worthwhile response. All of that Duddy Franklin, Terry Wallet rubbish is just pathetic. Don't have any time for it at all.

If you were born in the 70's then you're probably not unlike myself who was born in the 60's and in my childhood never had any conception of my team not being successful. As Tigers and Hawks supporters we were spoilt through the 60's/70's and 70's/80's respectively, and Finals appearances were something of a birthright for us both. But by hell, we've both been forced to pay the price since then. It's been doubly painful when you've known nothing but success and had it taken away ... and for so long.

It's time we got our shit together again.

Didn't see your question at all GH.

Really rate him, and apparently so do the match committee. IIR he came 3rd in the B&F this year, which is always a pretty accurate demonstration of his worth. He hasn't seemed to have had the same impact as 2005 when his name was on the shortlist for All-Australian - might be because he hasn't kicked as many goals. But he's been very effective as a hard midfielder and hopefully he'll step back into that top echelon again in 2008. Wouldn't surprise me if he did. I reckon he'll benefit from having Coughlan, Simmonds and Polo back in there with him.

Richmond Top Tier players: Nathan Brown, Mathew Richardson, Nathan Foley

Potential young Richmond superstars: Brett Deledio, Daniel Conners

Potential young Richmond very good players: Tambling, Riewoldt, Thurstfield, Polak, Edwards, King, Polo, Hughes

Current underated Richmond players: Newman, King, Simmonds, Coughlan

I think Richmond will have a premiership when blokes like Deledio, Foley, Conners, Reiwoldt are 25-30

To be able to distinguish between "Potential young Richmond superstars" and "Potential young Richmond very good players" is pretty tough. All of those eight you had in the latter category could just as easily fit into the former - who seriously had Foley as a potential All-Australian this time two years ago? Personally, and although I didn't ever say it, I suspected he might have been a "Potential Craig Ednie". Bloody glad he isn't, though.

chrisjie
20 Oct 2007, 09:38
Yes.

Look at what Geelong did. Went with all kids, and brought them through together. They went through alot of criticism for a long time and look at them now.

I think that's the key. You just need a great young group of kids to come through together and you can be on top.

In the past we've tried to import old players and tie the side together with a shoe string.

Stripes666
20 Oct 2007, 09:43
post this in bay 13 please. it is a non-constructive troll

tigers71
20 Oct 2007, 10:41
I'll let you slide on this one because you obviously have no idea. Just in case you don't get the news under your rock i'll bring you up to speed.

1995 Premiership, 1999 GF, 2000 PF after finishing second on the ladder, 2001 SF after finishing fifth.

I have to say if you are going to post something learn to spell. I thought insolting is spelt insulting. So there you go you are a goose and I could not care less what you have done in the '90's which is along time ago. The last five years has been nothing but a joke. So check your facts when you talk dribble :rolleyes:

Blasé
20 Oct 2007, 18:13
All fair points, no doubt about it.
The other thing is, at Richmond we have tried most of the other solutions. Over the last 15-20 years of rubbish performances we've tried

* Repeatedly sacking the coach in the same decade - Bartlett, Northey, Jeans, Walls, Geischen
* Electing a club legend as coach - KB
* Digging up the legendary coach beyond his use-by - Jeansy
* Topping up - Spud's classic drafting/trading for Hudson, Fleming, Fletcher, Nicholls etc.

... and many, many more flawed strategies.

At last we have bitten the bullet and at least attempted the rebuild from the ground up. Dunno if it'll work out, but at least it generates hope and excitement into the game. If this group of kids/coaching staff doesn't get a Flag, then I guess we'll have to go through it all again next decade years time? Or maybe we'll have put ourselves into a strong enough position where we can do a Port Power or Collingwood trick and suddenly turn up again at the business end less than a handful of years later?

Best thing is, at least we're not reactionary now.

And mate, we'll continue to tangle, cause we're opposition supporters and we bloody well can't even agree on whether it was 'holding the ball' to us or 'holding the man' to you most of the time. :D

But I refuse to pander to other Tigers supporters just because they're Tiger supporters. Like I said, if someone slags off Richmond unfairly, then they should be proven wrong - you never usually hear from them again after that anyway. But if an opposition poster raises a fair point in criticism of the Tigers, then I'll try and do my best to give it a worthwhile response. All of that Duddy Franklin, Terry Wallet rubbish is just pathetic. Don't have any time for it at all.

If you were born in the 70's then you're probably not unlike myself who was born in the 60's and in my childhood never had any conception of my team not being successful. As Tigers and Hawks supporters we were spoilt through the 60's/70's and 70's/80's respectively, and Finals appearances were something of a birthright for us both. But by hell, we've both been forced to pay the price since then. It's been doubly painful when you've known nothing but success and had it taken away ... and for so long.

It's time we got our shit together again.

No offence, but when you use the term 'we', I'm hoping it's your club and not mine.

I saw a lot of mistakes in the Schwab era by the end of 2001. It was no surprise to see us becoming a laughing stock soon after.

In our current regime, I see a few irregularities, but generally I think some good bold decisions have been made, and some of the rewards are coming. We must continue on this path, and not deter on some whimer of supporter's or media's opinion.

I actually think we may come back to the field next year, alike to Geelong, out of the finals. So that point in time will be crucial to keep to the plan.

In the current climate of AFL, you can't expect another successful era, but if you can snatch a flag, then it's a bloody fine thing worthy of savouring for a long time.

The problem for Richmond, is that yes, they're on the right path, yet Wallace's role is uncertain. He has learnt a few lessons the hard way which is somewhat beneficial, but he's brought thru some young players like Schulz with his previous ideals. Consequently some of those players are almost lost, and will be difficult to mould into the new ideals.

So at the end of the day, for a bold new direction, you need a bold new leader / coach.

Lastly for the guy who inferred we'll be the Launceston Hawks, I think we'll be the Hobart Hawks; sounds much better. But in reality, I don't think the AFL have Tasmania having their local team on the radar. They can't barely field a VFL team, and I think the reason Jeff's gone there is purely opportunity, no way relocation.

whytee
20 Oct 2007, 18:18
I guess that really depends on who leaves the league. If 14 sides left i'd guarentee Richmond for a final 4 spot. Otherwise, i dunno, maybe they'll grab KB again.

Mr.X
20 Oct 2007, 20:50
I'm struggling to remember when the Tigers were a true top side.
It's amazing to think how bad they've been over the last 25 years.

Who knows what they need to come good again?

Problem is, how many young kids growing up today would want to barrack for the Tigers?
Sides that struggle to get youngsters following them will always battle

JKCeagle
20 Oct 2007, 21:16
Of course they will be...

Just not any time soon.

hotdogandsauce
20 Oct 2007, 21:37

Who knows what they need to come good again?

Problem is, how many young kids growing up today would want to barrack for the Tigers?
Sides that struggle to get youngsters following them will always battle

perhaps you struggle because you are only reaching puberty....tell you something son...have seen 5 glorious flags and a club that was feared....

was 4 when taken to my first grandfinal in 69 and have been a member since...

if you are gonna bash us around the ears go have a look at some other teams that havent won jack since the 50's and 60's....

30,000 members doesnt seem to me we are struggling for support and thats when we have been crap....:rolleyes:

GhostofJimJess
20 Oct 2007, 22:07

Well, in terms of ladder position, we finished third in 2001. But I would much rather be in the position of, say, Hawthorn in 2007 finishing 6th with an exciting young list than where the Tigers were in 2001 with an aging list and a coach dedicated to topping up with mediocrity.

To be honest, I'm more excited now going into 2008 than I was going into 2002, despite the obvious ladder disparity.

Mr.X
21 Oct 2007, 00:07
Well, in terms of ladder position, we finished third in 2001. But I would much rather be in the position of, say, Hawthorn in 2007 finishing 6th with an exciting young list than where the Tigers were in 2001 with an aging list and a coach dedicated to topping up with mediocrity.

To be honest, I'm more excited now going into 2008 than I was going into 2002, despite the obvious ladder disparity.

well, you are kidding yourself

The 82-85 recruiting war with collingwood wrecked the tigers.. you guys have never recovered from it

you guys have been a laughing stock since 1986

whytee
21 Oct 2007, 00:09
Carlton fgans seem to think they are the greatest team in the commp
believe is the correct word

Mr.X
21 Oct 2007, 00:12
believe is the correct word

Believe and KNOW are the correct words.

tiger fans hope

macca231
21 Oct 2007, 10:46
You can't simply claim that Richmonds youngsters are garbage, people probably said similar things about Geelongs a few years back. Obviously they have made a few blunders with early picks, but St Kilda proved that exploiting the priority system doesn't win you a premiership. Only time will tell with the Tigers, likewise with Carlton too. But for the sake of this argument, yes they will struggle in 08, but no you can't predict how they will be in 2012.

Melbourne clubs need to adopt a similar approach to teams like BL and PA who have fast tracked their young players development and are already close to the top again. Melbourne clubs seem to spend 8 years building for a three year window. Maybe this has something to do with the coaching.

macca231
21 Oct 2007, 10:47
Believe and KNOW are the correct words.

tiger fans hope

I don't think you would know much about either of those words. Aren't you the bloke who claimed Cotchin refused to go to Richmond, and that you were in the board meeting where the Judd deal was cancelled. How did you escape a Red Card mate?

Jeremias
21 Oct 2007, 11:00
shit team:thumbsu:

Yet, an inferior Carlton team than that still managed to beat Richmond AND finish above them in 2007.

Richmond FC: Embracing mediocrity for over 20 years.

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 11:03
Richmond are not AFL standard. They as a club do not deserve to be in the AFL. What keeps them in the AFL are there members. Members equal cash and Market share. The AFL are to scared to do anything, ie merge or relaocate as losing Richmond members supporters means losing market share. Look at the hit the AFL took in losing Fitzroy. THe AFL are too scared of being burnt again. ANd Richmond are bigger than Fitzroy ever where.

However The offfield staff, from the Coach up, do not know how to put an AFL team together to be competitive. They get players by virtue of the Draft. But there is where it stops. After that they are basically a VFL standard side that plays in the AFL. Since 1980 they have only been in the finals three times. No other club has a record that compares with this. They do not deserve to be in the ELITE football league.

Richmond will never be a force again. Thet are happy to compete, but are not competitve. At Punt Road Finals and success are four letter words.

Adelaide Hawk
21 Oct 2007, 11:22
Richmond are not AFL standard. They as a club do not deserve to be in the AFL. What keeps them in the AFL are there members. Members equal cash and Market share. The AFL are to scared to do anything, ie merge or relaocate as losing Richmond members supporters means losing market share. Look at the hit the AFL took in losing Fitzroy. THe AFL are too scared of being burnt again. ANd Richmond are bigger than Fitzroy ever where.

However The offfield staff, from the Coach up, do not know how to put an AFL team together to be competitive. They get players by virtue of the Draft. But there is where it stops. After that they are basically a VFL standard side that plays in the AFL. Since 1980 they have only been in the finals three times. No other club has a record that compares with this. They do not deserve to be in the ELITE football league.

Richmond will never be a force again. Thet are happy to compete, but are not competitve. At Punt Road Finals and success are four letter words.

That's just ridiculous.

JSFish
21 Oct 2007, 11:25

Here you go again, ya fag. P1ss off back to your gay little thread called 'richmond'. How many people agreed with you again. I think it was one, post number 65.

col44
21 Oct 2007, 12:11

Don't know if you watch many Richmond games mate.
You need to added Tuck, Raines, Newman, McMahon and Pettifer to your list of good players. Tambling will be better again this year.

Richmond will rise. I just hope Wallace has learned from mistakes initially made.

Sorry if anyone else has posted similar but first post seemed so stupid I couldnt read on.

gwono
21 Oct 2007, 12:16

That team looks quite decent tbh. Thursfield is way underrated.

Tigers to finish ahead of Carlton in 08.

Truetiger
21 Oct 2007, 12:20

You really are an idiot as simple as that. You say we are not afl standard so how does it feel to only beat a side that is not up to afl level by only a goal or what ever you beat us by. Get a life really you have no idea about our game.

bluesforever
21 Oct 2007, 12:23
Richmond are shit. For anyone to say that they have a better list than Carlton's is a joke and they would be only saying it because of the hatred of Carlton.

bluesforever
21 Oct 2007, 12:24
You really are an idiot as simple as that. You say we are not afl standard so how does it feel to only beat a side that is not up to afl level by only a goal or what ever you beat us by. Get a life really you have no idea about our game.

17 POINTS in round one. Geelong beat you guys by around 150 points I think? Fantastic effort.

richmond fanatic
21 Oct 2007, 13:25

Thats not even our best team you twit.

FB: King Thursfield McGuane
HB: Bowden Polak McMahon
C: Connors Foley Polo
HF: Pettifer Richardson Tambling
FF: Brown Deledio Edwards
R: Simmonds Newman Coughlan
INT: Pattison Tuck Raines Johnson

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 13:49
Richmond...Good Players, Adequete Coach. Poor Administration. Thats why not AFL standard

ShinSplints
21 Oct 2007, 14:18

agree richmond suk always have in my lifetime of 25 years, and always will in the foreseeable future. Surely fans should be pissed off but surprisingly arent. they are ferals and turn on players/coaches but they are by far the bravest and best in some ways supporters, the richmond folk.

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 14:21
agree richmond suk always have in my lifetime of 25 years, and always will in the foreseeable future. Surely fans should be pissed off but surprisingly arent. they are ferals and turn on players/coaches but they are by far the bravest and best in some ways supporters, the richmond folk.
Most are mindless drones, who dont even know why they support the club, but do. And are scared of change so are content in being perpetual losers.

ShinSplints
21 Oct 2007, 14:24
Thats not even our best team you twit.

FB: King Thursfield McGuane
HB: Bowden Polak McMahon
C: Connors Foley Polo
HF: Pettifer Richardson Tambling
FF: Brown Deledio Edwards
R: Simmonds Newman Coughlan
INT: Pattison Tuck Raines Johnson

b-grade. simple as that. Good VFL team but. :thumbsu:

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 14:25
b-grade. simple as that. Good VFL team but. :thumbsu:
That would be Richmonds standard. Club, Players and board.

ShinSplints
21 Oct 2007, 14:25
Most are mindless drones, who dont even know why they support the club, but do. And are scared of change so are content in being perpetual losers.

no most support the club because there grandad or great grandad did. They and there family have live in the area at some point in the long LONG history of the club. I dont expect you as a newbie crow supporter to understand... thats cool. :thumbsu:

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 14:28
LOL my dad is a Richmond Supporter, I understand. He was born there. We ahve these arguments all the time. He tried to brainwash me as a kid.

Thank Christ for the Crows.

ShanBoi
21 Oct 2007, 14:37
Your markings are all wrong, and you have left out quite a few good players.

Newman, Polak, Pettifer, Raines, Edwards, King are all good players.

Riewoldt has plenty of improvement in him.

And Pattison would be your club's number 1 ruckmen for sure, with a lineup consisting of Hackland and Cloke :thumbsu:

Carlton's only good player is Judd.

Idiot

rusdid24
21 Oct 2007, 14:45
People are being a bit harsh. Yes some of Richmond's best players are older, but have a look at Essendon (Lloyd, Lucas) and Melbourne and Richmond are no worse, and probably better off, than those two clubs are.
Jake King will be a good player as well.

They've made some horrible drafting mistakes but so have my club and your club and everyone else's club.
And the fact that it is Carlton supporters starting all these threads is a joke, they have been the laughing stock of the AFL for the past 5 years.

Coughlan
21 Oct 2007, 14:47
LOL my dad is a Richmond Supporter, I understand. He was born there. We ahve these arguments all the time. He tried to brainwash me as a kid.

Thank Christ for the Crows.
Bandwagoner:thumbsu:

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 14:50
Bandwagoner:thumbsu:
Couldnt support the Crows before 1991 buddy...

Better a new club than one that has traditions and history of beign a perpetual loser

Coughlan
21 Oct 2007, 14:55
Couldnt support the Crows before 1991 buddy...

Better a new club than one that has traditions and history of beign a perpetual loser
Yeah you're a bandwgaoner.
Didn't follow the league then you jumped on board the Crows bandwagon.:thumbsu:

Im sorry that you will never understand loyalty and passion

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 15:01
Yeah you're a bandwgaoner.
Didn't follow the league then you jumped on board the Crows bandwagon.:thumbsu:

Im sorry that you will never understand loyalty and passion
Example of a Richmond Idiocy

TigerGlory
21 Oct 2007, 15:08

Example of Adelaide stupidity :thumbsu:

FlyingCrow
21 Oct 2007, 15:13
I ahve stated nothiing but facts..

Fact 3 Finals appearance in 27 years

Fact Large supporter base keeps them alive

Fact teh board have no idea how to run a successfull on field club.

Coughlan
21 Oct 2007, 15:13
You're suck a flog.
You're the reason everybody backs South Australians:)

TigerGlory
21 Oct 2007, 15:17
Fact 3 Finals appearance in 27 years

Your club hasnt even been around for 27 years

Fact Large supporter base keeps them alive

Something your franchise club dosent have

Fact teh board have no idea how to run a successfull on field club.
And yours does? Over the last few years your club has turned itself into Australia's Number 1 Chokers, while your playing list is full of players that were probably around to fight in the Second World War.