chelsworthgale
21 Oct 2007, 12:51
Pretty simple poll...
blues4flag
21 Oct 2007, 13:05
Stevo definitely.
marcmurphy3
21 Oct 2007, 13:15
Judd and Stevo are the only realistic candidates.
Stevo for me, as I don't think Judd would want to be captain in his 1st year.
Blue Dimension
21 Oct 2007, 13:18
As ive said in other threads, I'd like to see Stevo and Judd Co-Captains.
However if you had to split the two then Stevo for mine.
I think with the lack of leadership we have that we should take the punt on Fev. Outside of Judd he is our best and most inspirational player. Hopefully the captaincy will iron out his peridic onfield brain fades. When on his skills and passion are equal to anyone in the AFL imo.
If he doesn't fit the bill after a year or 2 then Murph or Judd or even Stevens if he puts in a solid 22 weeks of playing like he really wants the captaincy.
WorthTheWaite
21 Oct 2007, 13:31
I think with the lack of leadership we have that we should take the punt on Fev. Outside of Judd he is our best and most inspirational player. Hopefully the captaincy will iron out his peridic onfield brain fades. When on his skills and passion are equal to anyone in the AFL imo.
:eek:
Stevens, Simpson, Judd > Fev. In fact, I would have quite a few more players > Fev. So petulant and immature. Generally passionate and "true Blue", but not captaincy material.
stevo easy hes been witing for years and is a born leader
Judd hasn't even played a game for our club yet, and hasn't proven himself to us yet. Why should he be captain when a few of the others have been working their arses off for a long time to show why they are worthy? Simpson and Stevens comes to mind.
BlueDevil
21 Oct 2007, 13:54
Stevo for me. its not that i dont think judd would make a great captain as he has shown, with it being thrust upon him at WC, and then did a great job with it hanging over his head that cousins was still the "spiritual" leader he did a great job.
its just i dont like the idea of somone new to the club to come in and "take over" without playing a game in navy blue. let the man play footy.
stevo has shown the passion required to lead the club i mean who gives up his brothers wedding to play in a pre-season GF for starters? and to play with the injury he had while not telling a soul how bad it really was shows he has guts and determenation required to captain this great club.
stevo for captain.
Blue Through and Through
21 Oct 2007, 14:16
I would say stevens deserves his chance. I remember in round one, against richmond before he was injured, Stevens lead the boys from 22 points down in the third quarter to an inspiring victory. He has done the hard yards at the club. Stevo for Captain!!!:)
Judd hasn't even played a game for our club yet, and hasn't proven himself to us yet. Why should he be captain when a few of the others have been working their arses off for a long time to show why they are worthy? Simpson and Stevens comes to mind.
Hasn't proven himself:eek::eek::eek::eek:
Brownlow, captain of a premiership team.,etc, etc....
Just because he didn't do it in carlton colors??? What else do you want him to do?????
MyBloodIsBlue
21 Oct 2007, 15:15
Judd doesn't want it, let the fella play footy. Stevo hands down for me.
If anyone else mentions Fev and captaincy in the same sentence I may just burst a blood vessel. Or kill someone, depends on my mood.
kroitser
21 Oct 2007, 15:24
How many games did kernahan play before he was made captain?
Bluebear
21 Oct 2007, 15:38
Stevo ahead of Simmo........Judd can't do it......can't put an 'o' on the end of his name.
Bomba Sheldon
21 Oct 2007, 15:57
Let Judd find his feet at the Blues and give the captains role to Stevo with Simmo VC and Waite / Murph to share the DVC.
simpson6
21 Oct 2007, 17:20
I think Kernahan played a season before he captained carlton
Hasn't proven himself:eek::eek::eek::eek:
Brownlow, captain of a premiership team.,etc, etc....
Just because he didn't do it in carlton colors??? What else do you want him to do?????
Play a few games with us, first of all. He's proven himself as a player, but not as a captain of our club. Not with zero games. If he leads by example, shows leadership with us on the field in 2008 and commitment himself, then we can think about it. At the moment it is too early to tell - though it would be a slap to the face for Stevens or Simpson if he were to suddenly made captain on an impulse... that is, unless the majority of players agree.
Besides, it will create more pressure that he doesn't need - let the man play his footy.
How many games did kernahan play before he was made captain?
I don't remember the exact number, but he played a season before he was made captain. He had an immediate impact to the team, and his leadership qualities shone through - and it remains to be seen whether Judd can have that sort of influence. So far he's done zilch, zip, nada - but I have no doubts he'll have a major influence come 2008. To announce him captain ASAP though, I do not agree with. I don't care how good of a player he is, he has to do something first for the jumper (which I'm sure he will) before jumping on him as captain.
As good as Judd is, he doesn't compare to Kernahan in the leadership stakes. Not many players do.
Play a few games with us, first of all. He's proven himself as a player, but not as a captain of our club. Not with zero games. If he leads by example, shows leadership with us on the field in 2008 and commitment himself, then we can think about it. At the moment it is too early to tell - though it would be a slap to the face for Stevens or Simpson if he were to suddenly made captain on an impulse... that is, unless the majority of players agree.
Besides, it will create more pressure that he doesn't need - let the man play his footy.
My point is he has already led by example...he was the captain of a premiership team. John Worsfold didn't ask ask him to be captain beacause he was lazy, didn't like training and couldn't perform on game day!!!!
I am glad that you can think about having the best player in our team in the leadership group. I am not saying he should be captain now but he should be in the leadership group in my opinion, for previously stated resons. Can you find room for him in our leadership group?
Create more pressure, mate, if Judd couldn't handle it he wouldn't be the palyer that he is.
blueant
21 Oct 2007, 20:18
Yeh stevo yes aparently he was ment to get it this year but Pagen stept in n made Whitnall captin
chelsworthgale
21 Oct 2007, 21:45
Stevo out on a long lead...
wally funk
22 Oct 2007, 00:18
stevo definately, and lock in murphy for VC. groom him for the role he'll undoubtedly have in later years.
My point is he has already led by example...he was the captain of a premiership team. John Worsfold didn't ask ask him to be captain beacause he was lazy, didn't like training and couldn't perform on game day!!!!
Not for Carlton he hasn't, which is my whole point here.
Can you find room for him in our leadership group?
Yes, but not as captain... certainly not straight away.
Create more pressure, mate, if Judd couldn't handle it he wouldn't be the palyer that he is.
Oh he may handle it, but that's not the point. The less the pressure on his shoulders, the better.
Johnny Utah #9
22 Oct 2007, 10:36
I don't remember the exact number, but he played a season before he was made captain. He had an immediate impact to the team, and his leadership qualities shone through - and it remains to be seen whether Judd can have that sort of influence. So far he's done zilch, zip, nada - but I have no doubts he'll have a major influence come 2008. To announce him captain ASAP though, I do not agree with. I don't care how good of a player he is, he has to do something first for the jumper (which I'm sure he will) before jumping on him as captain.
As good as Judd is, he doesn't compare to Kernahan in the leadership stakes. Not many players do.
An understatement if i've ever heard one. Kernahan was arguably greatest captain and leader in AFL history whereas as Judd is a champion player but very much a reluctant captain.
Give the Captaincy to Stevo, with Simpson as VC. Put Juddy in a leadership group along with the likes of Waite and Murphy.
An understatement if i've ever heard one. Kernahan was arguably greatest captain and leader in AFL history whereas as Judd is a champion player but very much a reluctant captain.
My intention was to be factual.
TorresIsGod
22 Oct 2007, 21:08
Why isn't Bannister an option?
TorresIsGod
22 Oct 2007, 21:13
I get the feeling H-BOMB doesn't realise we all want Judd to actually perform for Carlton...
Sure he has a Brownlow, a Norm Smith, Captained Wet Toast to a Premiership (when he didn't want to).
But, we all want to see him string a few good games together for Carlton, make an impact within our club, show leadership on the field, sure he'll be a great rolemodel for the kids to look up to, and that's what we need right now, but, we he has stated he doesn't want the Captaincy, and we wont give it to him, we want him to get his groin right and let him play footy
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
22 Oct 2007, 21:18
Kade Simpson. Can't belive people saying Judd and Stevens are the only ones who can do it. Simpson PROVED time and time again this year he was a more than capable captain
And i cant believe how strongly people are voting for Nick Stevens. Remember him 2 years ago, a bloke playing liek that can't be captain. Our captain cant be someone unaccountable. what could be more demoralising than seeing a man who was free because he was matched up on stevens, kick a momentum-building goal for the opposition. i strongly disagree with people saying that Stevens "deserves" it.
FWIW, why are there people such as Thornton and Walker in the poll, ahead of options like Waite, who has been captain before, and done a pretty good job?
MyBloodIsBlue
22 Oct 2007, 21:28
Kade Simpson
Loved Simmo as acting captain this year he really lead by example,but for some reason I just feel Stevo has it in the bag. Unfortunately I don't think we'll ever see Simmo as full time captain, I reckon it will be Stevo and then followed by Murph.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
22 Oct 2007, 21:36
I think it would be breathtaking to see Steve-o take the field running along side Simmo as the Cartains of the Carlton Football Club. If Simmo get's voted in, it will be a bigger party than when John Howard finally get the ass from the public:thumbsu:
Bluebear
22 Oct 2007, 22:39
What I find interesting about this poll is not that Stevo ispantsing the others.....I expected that.
It's that Judd has twice the votes of Simmo, who did a great job while Lance was out.......and that 1 person thinks Gibbs should be the next captain...........interesting.:thumbsu:
serenityNow
23 Oct 2007, 00:33
Stevo will get it, But i too think that Simmo did a great job and should be rewarded in some way.....Vice at worst even though i think he should get it.
He was sensational in the 3rd quarter as captain vs port late in the year with his tackling,desire,and intensity,also another game where i think it was Fish (not sure) that was dropped just outside 50 and he was the first in out numbered and all but did the captain thing and looked out for his players.
He rose as cap and held his head up every week while doing it.
That to me shows that he wants it and will bleed for the honor.
Put Judd in a leadership group of 5.
Marc Shmurf 3
23 Oct 2007, 00:35
has to be Stevo. We want someone that enjoys the media spotlight (in terms of interviews, promotions etc) Judd hates that type of thing
Jeremias
23 Oct 2007, 00:36
Stevens is the logical choice, however it is great to see that we finally have some competition for the role, as opposed to previous years when the cupboard was relatively bare.
Stevens (VC)
Judd (VC)
Simpson (VC)
Waite (LG)
Fisher (LG)
Murphy (LG)
I'd love Murphy to take it but he's not the type to step all over Stevens. He should definately be our captain after Stevens.
The leadership group should consist of:
Stevens (C)
Judd (vc)
Murphy (vc)
Simpson (d vc)
Waite (d vc)
nathansb
23 Oct 2007, 01:33
Stevens handles media duties well, but from the Carlton games I've seen he doesn't look like the most inspirational on-field leader.
I'd like to see Fev named captain, but I think part of that would be in the hope that he is involved in some sort of controversy next year and is stripped of the captaincy, meaning that a very similar thread to this will pop up around the same time next year.
Jeremias
23 Oct 2007, 09:28
Stevens handles media duties well, but from the Carlton games I've seen he doesn't look like the most inspirational on-field leader.
I'd like to see Fev named captain, but I think part of that would be in the hope that he is involved in some sort of controversy next year and is stripped of the captaincy, meaning that a very similar thread to this will pop up around the same time next year.
There is practically no chance whatsoever of Brendan Fevola becoming captain of the Carlton Football Club, and IIRC he has admitted as much, too.
Quite simply, his off field troubles, and his occassional on field negative antics have severed his chances of being captain.
We have numerous better options than Fev for the captaincy.
chelsworthgale
23 Oct 2007, 09:52
Agreed, I took a sickie the day SEN held their Friday afternoon show at my local RSL and only went because Nick Stevens was guest and he was very good. Spoke very well about his neck issues and even tackled the Mark Robinson curve balls quite nicely... on a side not what a HUGE fat bloke Mark Robinson is!!!!
Bluebear
23 Oct 2007, 11:02
He can be inspirational as a player.
NAB cup final vs Lions last year and Round 1 vs Tiges......led by example.
Shame about his injury. He was set for a big year.
Sticks 4
23 Oct 2007, 11:28
Stevo should get it but Simmo won't be far behind. His efforts this year when he had the job were sensational.
Stevens (C)
Simpson (VC)
Stevens, then Simpson.
On a side note, Mark Robinson as well as being HUGE is also a HUGE IDIOT.
On another side note, I don't understand people spruiking Waite as a deputy VC, or in the leadership group.
We need consistent performers as the leaders.
Waite's best and worst are too far apart, though in fairness, he did improve this year.
Jimthegreat
23 Oct 2007, 12:27
Either Stevens or simmo would make me happy. Stevens will probably be favourite and justifiably so. How good was Simmo when Lance was out? The rortaing capain system stopped very quickly when simmo took on the job. He rose as both player and a leader in that period.
Judd really doesn't want it so let's not "burden" him with it.
TorresIsGod
23 Oct 2007, 13:24
Simpson [C]
Stevens [VC]
Murphy [VC]
Judd, Waite & Scotland [LG]
RedHotGo
23 Oct 2007, 23:56
Really like the suggestion of Stevo capt. & Simmo v.c. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: and we should definately give this leadership group thing the 4rse and round up a few dvc's (plenty of solid candidates)
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
2 Nov 2007, 13:24
I was thinking about how Ratts wants to wait until after the pre-season to name a captain, and i reckon because of that it's going to be judd. stevens could just be named captain now, he already knows everybody. but by waiting a couple of months, it will give judd a chance to get to know the players and earn their respect
I guess the argument is that its just b/c Ratts is new and will want to check out everybody himself, but i still reckon its a sign judd will be named captain - just my thoughts
FWIW, id be pretty happy with Judd captain (as long as he wanted it obviously), and Stevens vice (hopefully alongside Simpson)
bluegal1983
2 Nov 2007, 15:47
I was thinking about how Ratts wants to wait until after the pre-season to name a captain, and i reckon because of that it's going to be judd. stevens could just be named captain now, he already knows everybody. but by waiting a couple of months, it will give judd a chance to get to know the players and earn their respect
I guess the argument is that its just b/c Ratts is new and will want to check out everybody himself, but i still reckon its a sign judd will be named captain - just my thoughts
FWIW, id be pretty happy with Judd captain (as long as he wanted it obviously), and Stevens vice (hopefully alongside Simpson)
If Chris Judd hasn't already earnt their respect with what he has achieved both individually and at club level, then there is something wrong!
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
2 Nov 2007, 15:56
If Chris Judd hasn't already earnt their respect with what he has achieved both individually and at club level, then there is something wrong!
lol true. you know what i mean though. he has to get to know the players etc
Mordech101
2 Nov 2007, 16:55
Non of the above.......
i rekon give it to Jarred Waite!!!!!!:thumbsu:
whippersnipper
2 Nov 2007, 17:01
Just on SEN: Apprently Richmond are in the box seat for the captaincy at Carlton.
Non of the above.......
Certainly would be very happy to see Waite as skipper. Don't know why I haven't suggested him. Very inspirational, great Carlton heritage and a good age and stage of career.
bexta444
3 Nov 2007, 11:36
Stevo for sure, would love to see Simmo as Vice I think he really stood up when given the role this year. I dont think giving it straight to Judd would be best way to go, personally I would think he wouldn't really want it straight up coming to a new club. The captaincy is something you should earn, sure Judd earnt it at the Eagles, but Stevo has definately earnt it at the Blues and its the right time for it to happen.
chelsworthgale
3 Nov 2007, 14:22
Non of the above.......
Waite has enough to concentrate on... consistency, his kicking, his game in general... He is a leader but not just yet. Stevens will eaily fall into the role.
MyBloodIsBlue
3 Nov 2007, 23:53
Just on SEN: Apprently Richmond are in the box seat for the captaincy at Carlton.
LMAO
Did KB tell you that?
chelsworthgale
3 Nov 2007, 23:55
LMAO
Did KB tell you that?
KB is surely in the box seat to tell whippersnipper! :D
Blue Dimension
4 Nov 2007, 00:37
The club are leaning towards Judd at this stage (bit of an inside scoop - i don't care if you choose to believe me or not). I honestly don't agree that he should be haded the captaincy the role given the circumstances, but they must have a different view. Surely Stevo would be very let down if that was to occur.
We have two genuine leaders at the club in Stevo and Judd. I'd hate to think Judd would prevent Stevo from getting the captaincy again. Both should get it if anything.
LMFAO. Thats classic :thumbsu: That comment will haunt Richmond for years.
tigers_of_old_08
4 Nov 2007, 10:37
The club are leaning towards Judd at this stage (bit of an inside scoop - i don't care if you choose to believe me or not). I honestly don't agree that he should be haded the captaincy the role given the circumstances, but they must have a different view. Surely Stevo would be very let down if that was to occur.
We have two genuine leaders at the club in Stevo and Judd. I'd hate to think Judd would prevent Stevo from getting the captaincy again. Both should get it if anything.
LMFAO. Thats classic :thumbsu: That comment will haunt Richmond for years.
Big deal, there's nothing criminal about KBs comment - and it would be true were it not for the fact that your President has a sh*t load of money to buy Judd.
It is the following comment that should REALLY be concerning Carlton:
"7-in-10 Australians Think Richard Pratt Should Be Sent To Jail"
:thumbsu:
chelsworthgale
4 Nov 2007, 11:02
"7-in-10 Australians Think Richard Pratt Should Be Sent To Jail"
:thumbsu:
I think you omitted bits from the comment:
7 in 10 Australians who barrack for Dickmond who wouldn't know anything about anything think Richard Pratt should go to jail... the other 3 still believe they are in the box seat to get Judd. :thumbsu: