View Full Version : English Premier League

Bateanator
21 Oct 2007, 14:36
If anyone's interested in it, you can talk about it here, fantasy, transfer rumours, all the usual stuff

I follow Man. Utd., bandwagon

RandB
21 Oct 2007, 14:48
If anyone's interested in it, you can talk about it here, fantasy, transfer rumours, all the usual stuff

I follow Man. Utd., bandwagon
Man Utd supporter too. I just watched some of my Man U DVDs the other day and I didn't know that Dion Dublin once played for them until he got injured.

Man, if anyone thinks Bay 13 is bad on this site you should check out some of the Man U v Liverpool clips on Youtube lol - they are all crazy supporters in UK. The UK v Italy threads are funny as well and then the yanks get in on the act and can the game and then it is Europe v USA. I tell ya the world is mad... but piss funny though. :thumbsu:

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 15:40
Ah I was waiting for someone to start a thread like this. Yes, in case no one noticed I follow the mighty Blues from West London. Having quite the shit season, and we lost the heart and soul when Jose walked out the door but we're coming back!!

Good win last night, 2-0 against Boro. Lovely goal from Alex

lion_gooner
21 Oct 2007, 15:55
go the gunners :D chelsea are shit :D:D:D:D

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 16:03
go the gunners :D chelsea are shit :D:D:D:D

Yeah...we kinda are at the moment. But what is the moral of the story kids? Money doesn't buy happiness...But it buys championships!

Van Persie...Gun, big injury blow though

RandB
21 Oct 2007, 16:11
...apparently it also buys duds. :)

http://fotball.adressa.no/multimedia/archive/00041/Andrej_Shevchenko_41445e.jpg

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 16:55
Every team buys duds...It's just that Chelsea accumulated all theirs in the space of like one transfer window. But there has been some very handy buys...And some shockers too.

FWIW I'll say this now just to save the abuse from you guys. Personally, I'm not a fan of the whole Roman era where they just throw money at players and whatnot. I won't complain that we won titles, but there's still a little empty feeling. But I'm not going to stop supporting them just because some Russian oil tycoon uses it as his plaything. And no, I wasn't a bandwagoner supporter. I supported Chelsea long before even the Demons, way back in the days of Jimmy Floyd, Gianfranco, Petit, Marcel, and Flo. Those were the days...

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 16:58
...apparently it also buys duds. :)

http://fotball.adressa.no/multimedia/archive/00041/Andrej_Shevchenko_41445e.jpg

Hey! You blokes bought Alan Smith, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Tim Howard and Kleberson! Although...We did get Sheva, Mutu, Veron, Geremi...Oh crap the list goes on:o

RandB
21 Oct 2007, 17:00
Every team buys duds...It's just that Chelsea accumulated all theirs in the space of like one transfer window. But there has been some very handy buys...And some shockers too.

FWIW I'll say this now just to save the abuse from you guys. Personally, I'm not a fan of the whole Roman era where they just throw money at players and whatnot. I won't complain that we won titles, but there's still a little empty feeling. But I'm not going to stop supporting them just because some Russian oil tycoon uses it as his plaything. And no, I wasn't a bandwagoner supporter. I supported Chelsea long before even the Demons, way back in the days of Jimmy Floyd, Gianfranco, Petit, Marcel, and Flo. Those were the days...
Don't worry mate this is a footy forum, I won't seriously bag another fellow Dees supporter on here.:thumbsu: FWIW I hope to see Jose back with some other club, he added spice to the EPL and had charisma like Fergie. Arsene on the other hand needs a personality transplant... although his kids are playing ok so far.

The Great Gabsby
21 Oct 2007, 17:06
. I supported Chelsea long before even the Demons, way back in the days of Jimmy Floyd, Gianfranco, Petit, Marcel, and Flo. Those were the days...

ZOLA!!!!!!!

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 17:10
Don't worry mate this is a footy forum, I won't seriously bag another fellow Dees supporter on here.:thumbsu: FWIW I hope to see Jose back with some other club, he added spice to the EPL and had charisma like Fergie. Arsene on the other hand needs a personality transplant... although his kids are playing ok so far.

Yeah no club or country would be stupid enough to pass up on Jose if he were made available. It just goes to show it was the coach who held it together, not the cattle we had. I liked the rivalries he had with Fergie and Arsene but Rafa the most CAUSE I HATE LIVERPOOL DIE DIE DIE nah not bitter at all...

Lampard>>>>Gerrard:D

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 17:10
ZOLA!!!!!!!

THE LITTLE ITALIAN!!

davey_magik
21 Oct 2007, 17:33
Yeah no club or country would be stupid enough to pass up on Jose if he were made available. It just goes to show it was the coach who held it together, not the cattle we had. I liked the rivalries he had with Fergie and Arsene but Rafa the most CAUSE I HATE LIVERPOOL DIE DIE DIE nah not bitter at all...

Lampard>>>>Gerrard:D

This season that's actually true.

UP THE HAMMERS!!!!!!

Deenamite
21 Oct 2007, 17:54
I support Everton. Disapointed about the derby result but we'll bounce back. This will be a good thread.

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 17:56
I support Everton. Disapointed about the derby result but we'll bounce back. This will be a good thread.

I don't have pay tv so I couldn't watch the match but what happened with the red cards? Were they there? I heard there was a pretty sketchy penalty decision against the Toffees...

RandB
21 Oct 2007, 18:01
I don't have pay tv so I couldn't watch the match but what happened with the red cards? Were they there? I heard there was a pretty sketchy penalty decision against the Toffees...
Dude you've gotta get pay TV! serious. Last week I was checking out the new viewer select option thingy they have and it was awesome. You have the main game and then if you go into the select option there are 4 other games live on the screen and you can just pick any one you want or have all four going. :thumbsu:

CaptainDavey
21 Oct 2007, 18:06
Dude you've gotta get pay TV! serious. Last week I was checking out the new viewer select option thingy they have and it was awesome. You have the main game and then if you go into the select option there are 4 other games live on the screen and you can just pick any one you want or have all four going. :thumbsu:

Hahaha I'd like to mate but I don't have that kinda scratch! I went to a mates place to see the viewers choice thing. I could cry. But I'm about to get a job to contribute funds towards Foxtel. But beer fund or Foxtel fund?? I can't decide!

Bateanator
21 Oct 2007, 18:44
If anyone's in need of highlights or you just cant find a match, there is this website:
www.footytube.com
has pretty much every major league, setup like a blog with youtube vids embedded

Deenamite
21 Oct 2007, 18:50

Yeh, Lescott was pulled down in the box in the 90th minute or something. Shame Harry and Tim were'nt out there but hey.

Knowitall
23 Oct 2007, 15:09
I am a massive epl and liverpool fan. Torres is the best striker in world no one comes close. Messi is a midfielder. I would just like to take this opportunity to comment on what a good result the liverpool everton derby match was on the weekend. What does everyone think?

davey_magik
23 Oct 2007, 17:11
I am a massive epl and liverpool fan. Torres is the best striker in world no one comes close. Messi is a midfielder. I would just like to take this opportunity to comment on what a good result the liverpool everton derby match was on the weekend. What does everyone think?

I stopped there....

CaptainDavey
23 Oct 2007, 17:34
I stopped there....

Bit way off the mark isn't it?

From what I've heard, Liverpool we're lucky to get the win. I'll put my bias aside for the moment:p but you know it's usually that sort of luck that goes on to win you titles, or possibly lose them

Knowitall
24 Oct 2007, 12:11
I probably got a little carried away with torres but liverpool have not had a good striker in ages and i think he is going to be really good. I think that the gunners are going to win this year becasue there youth is just so good watching the likes of Fabra and wallcot also throw in van persie they all just tear it up. As can be seen by there 7 to nil win last night

CowboyFromHell
24 Oct 2007, 16:02
I probably got a little carried away with torres but liverpool have not had a good striker in ages and i think he is going to be really good. I think that the gunners are going to win this year becasue there youth is just so good watching the likes of Fabra and wallcot also throw in van persie they all just tear it up. As can be seen by there 7 to nil win last night

Depends how long ages is - I thought the boy Owen went alright.

Dazman
24 Oct 2007, 17:06

They were both there. The first penalty could be argued by Toffee fans though.

The first red - Gerrard streaming forward, had more pace than Hibbert (the last man) and was just past him at the edge of the box. Hibbert has a tug of the shirt, a push and what not and Stevie goes down. Seemed to be just on the edge of the box so he fell into the area and the penalty was given.

Second red - Tim Howard pushed a ball away but didn't clear it. He was on his arse and Lucas Leiva, on debut for the reds, shoots on target, before Phil Neville sticks his hand out to save the goal. Definite red and penalty

The other incident involved Carragher pulling Lescott down in the box. Was obvious as hell and I'll be buggered as to why it wasn't given.

CaptainDavey
24 Oct 2007, 21:33
They were both there. The first penalty could be argued by Toffee fans though.

The first red - Gerrard streaming forward, had more pace than Hibbert (the last man) and was just past him at the edge of the box. Hibbert has a tug of the shirt, a push and what not and Stevie goes down. Seemed to be just on the edge of the box so he fell into the area and the penalty was given.

Second red - Tim Howard pushed a ball away but didn't clear it. He was on his arse and Lucas Leiva, on debut for the reds, shoots on target, before Phil Neville sticks his hand out to save the goal. Definite red and penalty

The other incident involved Carragher pulling Lescott down in the box. Was obvious as hell and I'll be buggered as to why it wasn't given.

Cheers Daz.

Holy shit Arsenal went postal on some Ukraine ass this morning. That was quite frightening. Here's hoping Chelsea continue the good run of British form tomorrow morning. C'mon the Blues!!

How long do we all think Martin Jol has left?

Dazman
25 Oct 2007, 00:26
How long do we all think Martin Jol has left?

It can't possibly be too much longer.

He's either losing, or fighting with Berbatov, or both. That side should be so much higher on the table it isn't funny.

CaptainDavey
25 Oct 2007, 11:05
Ah yes, excellent to see that Chelsea got up against those crazy Germans. Sincerely hope Drogba doesn't leave, he's led our current revival.

What are our tips for the European Cup this season? United and Arsenal are looking so strong, but you can't write off A.C Milan...They're just freaks when it comes to European football

Dazman
25 Oct 2007, 11:41
And Liverpool are going to struggle to qualify past the group stage. :thumbsd:

Bateanator
25 Oct 2007, 19:43
For the champs league i would put money on Manchester, Madrid or Barca, gunners are up there aswell. Rangers will surprise a few i think, which is annoying for me being a part-time Celtic fan
But AC will probably win it, sigh; always play the greatest game of the year when it counts

davey_magik
26 Oct 2007, 12:38
Ah yes, excellent to see that Chelsea got up against those crazy Germans. Sincerely hope Drogba doesn't leave, he's led our current revival.

What are our tips for the European Cup this season? United and Arsenal are looking so strong, but you can't write off A.C Milan...They're just freaks when it comes to European football

I'm actually thinking if Chelsea can keep Drogba in the January trade window they'll be a chance. IMO the Mourinho thing will make them stronger as a team and if they can be a bit more creative in their play they'll be hard to beat.

Obviously theres also the Gunners, Scum U, AC and co., but I think Chelsea could be very strong.

You also can't count out Barca and Real, but I'm tipping Chelsea for it.

bloods01
26 Oct 2007, 12:43
Yeh, Lescott was pulled down in the box in the 90th minute or something. Shame Harry and Tim were'nt out there but hey.

Yes we were lucky to get away with tht one. But how good was it for all the Liverpool fans out there :thumbsu:

RandB
26 Oct 2007, 12:44
I'm actually thinking if Chelsea can keep Drogba in the January trade window they'll be a chance. IMO the Mourinho thing will make them stronger as a team and if they can be a bit more creative in their play they'll be hard to beat.

Obviously theres also the Gunners, Scum U, AC and co., but I think Chelsea could be very strong.

You also can't count out Barca and Real, but I'm tipping Chelsea for it.
Chelsea may lose some players though. Players like Cavalho only joined Chealea in the first place because of Mourinho. I prefer Drogba in the EPL, he shits me (as a Man U fan) when he gets those last minute goals but he's great to watch.

Deenamite
27 Oct 2007, 17:20
Yes we were lucky to get away with tht one. But how good was it for all the Liverpool fans out there :thumbsu:

I was so pissed off. :cool:

CaptainDavey
27 Oct 2007, 17:29
Well Jol got the sack from Spurs not that anyone couldn't see it coming...Set to replace by the Sevilla coach, though his name escapes me. There was this interesting article on ESPNSoccernet.com saying that Spurs are the only team likely to crack big 4...I always thought it would either be them or Newcastle, Everton was creeping up closely as well.

For mine, I reckon Spurs and Newcastle easily the most underachieving teams in England. For all their positives, they just can't get it right, Newcastle more so than Tottenham I reckon

Dazman
28 Oct 2007, 19:27
Some good games overnight.

Chelsea getting 6 past City is quite an achievement and the Rooney and Tevez show was very entertaining, with a cameo from Nani (great strike).

Arsenal v Liverpool is on tomorrow morning should be a ripper. Just hoping Rafa doesn't wreck it with selections and subs.

bloodpumpsRnB
28 Nov 2007, 19:43
Massive Arsenal fan. Can't believe we lost to Sevilla!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Looks like second in the group it is.

CaptainDavey
13 Dec 2007, 19:40
Noticed that the missing little girl Maddie McCann was an Everton supporter....She had it coming:D:p

Bartram_Class
13 Dec 2007, 20:04
Bit harsh Davey.

Handy slip-up from Arsenal on the weekend, United right back in the fray.

CaptainDavey
14 Dec 2007, 09:28
Shaping up to be a very entertaining finish. I think the statistic is that the team is on top by the end of December goes on to win the league.

Hopefully we'll get over the Gunners in the coming days. Will be difficult without Drogba though but I think this is a chance for Sheva to finally show something...Hopefully

RandB
17 Dec 2007, 00:31
Glory Glory to United!!!

1 - 0 over Liverpool, sweet:thumbsu:

Knowitall
17 Dec 2007, 07:45
Yeah very luck though. Kewell got one cleared off the line so did torres before tevez scored. As is always the case with liverpool promis so much but never deliver against the top sides.:thumbsd:

jako27
17 Dec 2007, 08:14
Arsenal 1 - Chelsea 0, Gallas goalscorer.

Back to Liverpool, how good will Babel be, HUGE talent.

bloodpumpsRnB
17 Dec 2007, 13:38
1 NIL TO THE ARSENAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hmmmmmmmmmmm gallas or ashley cole i think i know which one i'd rather

RandB
17 Feb 2008, 02:51
FA Cup:

Liverpool 1 - 2 (http://www.livescore.com/default.dll/Game?comp=england_fa_cup&game=240671) Barnsley

lmfao!

RandB
17 Feb 2008, 04:15
More FA Cup:

Manchester United 4 - 0 (http://www.livescore.com/default.dll/Game?comp=england_fa_cup&game=240672) Arsenal

.....tearing 'em a new Arsène!

CaptainDavey
17 Feb 2008, 09:54
Results that just make you wanna get up and shake your booty

RandB
17 Feb 2008, 21:52
Bring on Champion's League, I can't wait any longer!!!

CaptainDavey
6 Mar 2008, 14:35
Kudos to all the English teams getting through, and it's good to see that we're not going to have another trophy going to Milan. Props to our North London friends dumping them out in sensational fashion.

But I still reckon Barcelona will win it, United right up there too...Although that depends on where their priorities lie. It's incredibly difficult as everyone knows to keep the pressure on in three different competitions. I had my brother who is an Arsenal supporter wanting the Gunners to lose in Europe so they could focus solely on the EPL. Interesting I reckon

RandB
6 Mar 2008, 15:10
Kudos to all the English teams getting through, and it's good to see that we're not going to have another trophy going to Milan. Props to our North London friends dumping them out in sensational fashion.

But I still reckon Barcelona will win it, United right up there too...Although that depends on where their priorities lie. It's incredibly difficult as everyone knows to keep the pressure on in three different competitions. I had my brother who is an Arsenal supporter wanting the Gunners to lose in Europe so they could focus solely on the EPL. Interesting I reckon
yeah I was hoping Arsenal would stay in it for that reason too. You'd think since they hadn't won in Europe that they would be ecstatic that they still have a chance. I think Chelsea are still a big threat in the league championship too - still a 3 horse race. Liverpool are just a rabble but have a nack for champions league.

CaptainDavey
6 Mar 2008, 17:51
yeah I was hoping Arsenal would stay in it for that reason too. You'd think since they hadn't won in Europe that they would be ecstatic that they still have a chance. I think Chelsea are still a big threat in the league championship too - still a 3 horse race. Liverpool are just a rabble but have a nack for champions league.

Me thinks if Liverpool don't finish 4th, it's bye bye Rafa. I don't think they'll go any further in the UCL, pending on the draw that is. Rafa is only a European coach, not a domestic one so I reckon his number is possibly up.

I don't particularly rate Chelsea to get the job done in Europe as we haven't got the most potent forward combination. Goals from the midfield are great, but we can't rely on them forever. Drogba can only do so much and we can't place that much reliance on Kalou, Pizarro and Shevchenko. Anelka needs to do something as well.

It's gonna be damn interesting no matter what happens though

RandB
6 Mar 2008, 18:02
Me thinks if Liverpool don't finish 4th, it's bye bye Rafa. I don't think they'll go any further in the UCL, pending on the draw that is. Rafa is only a European coach, not a domestic one so I reckon his number is possibly up.

I don't particularly rate Chelsea to get the job done in Europe as we haven't got the most potent forward combination. Goals from the midfield are great, but we can't rely on them forever. Drogba can only do so much and we can't place that much reliance on Kalou, Pizarro and Shevchenko. Anelka needs to do something as well.

It's gonna be damn interesting no matter what happens though
I agree with you there mate, he's been screwing with their line up too much over his time at Liverpool. I think they'll just scrape in though.