View Full Version : Is our backline as bad as what people think
damage_inc07
21 Oct 2007, 22:00
Ok maybe this is a lot of wishful thinking, and I am just biased, but I was thinking about this last night, and in the end I thought, our backline isnt actually that bad.
When I was watching the NAB cup games this year, one thing that I was really impressed with was our backline, I thought, wow, they seem like they will get their act together this year - ahh, no, they didn't.
However, I still don't think our backline is as bad as it seems. I know people are saying Judd won't make a difference alone, but thats not the case is it, and when I think of the changes that could come next year, I truely think our backline will perform better next year, and I stuggle to see us not making the finals, or at least not coming close.
Forward line:
- Better delivery, and more of it
- More quality midfielders chipping in with more goals
- Fev should be exciting to have Judd & Stevens, and thus I think his attitude will lift, and he'll have a steller year
- Hopefully more options, with Betts/Cloke staying injury free, Edwards/Hartlett getting more oportunities, possibly Aisake/Kruezer or Cotchin at some stage.
Our foward line was the only good thing of last year, and even minus Matty/Lance and Josh, should see a great improvement in our forward line.
Midfield:
This is obvious,
- Quality, quality, and quality, adding Judd & Stevens will lift our midfield greatly
- Murphy will not have the best tagger, less pressure on him, I can't stress this enough the improvement this will make, his 3rd year, I believe he'll blow everyone away next year.
- Carrazo/Simpson ect. can only get better, and even if they don't, their current form, minus the pressure with Judd & Stevens there, will still add more.
- Depth - plenty of potential with guys like Hadley/Walker to be the big improvers oof '08, and plenty of guys to have stints in the midfield: Betts/Gibbs/Cotchin(Maybe) ect.
- Improvement in ruck, ok well look at it this way, even if Hampson, Aisake, Cloke, and possibly Kruezer all turn out to be worse than Ackland somehow,or all get injured leaving us no other options, then that will mean we just go with Ackland as we have this year, and surely he will improve on last year, no matter how minor.
Overall midfield will greatly improve, look at it this year, even without all these positives, we still managed to win a lot of stoppages and clearances. Adding these positives = winning even more stopages, using it better when we do, and more time in possesion.
Backline:
Now this is the point I really wanted to make. I know people say our backline is really bad, and im not saying it is great, but really, we havent actually looked that bad down there at times. We had to use O'haiplin elsewhere often this year due to injuries, but next year he should spend a lot more time down there. We have a lot of young guys coming through, and having Scotland/Walker down their provides great run.
Our problem has been our midfield quality and depth, which we have now adressed. Its not like every game we played this year, we got hammered in the first quarter, it was usually the 2nd half, 2nd quarter ect. that other teams got the better of us, why? Cause our backline is crap? No i dont think so. The reason is because it came down so quick, and so often. As soon as we didnt deliver it to our forward well (happened often), it rebounded immediately, and was straight back down the back after they had just cleared it.
Look at the Eagles, they have been a quality side for the last few years, but there forward line has been crap, but that is irrelevant, because they got the ball delievered so often, they would eventually score. Likewise with our defence, it got pumped into our backline so much, we eventually cracked, usually in the 2nd half. Jezz, put that sort of pressure on the Eagles/Cats defence week in, week out, and even they would crack.
So I think our defence will be great improvers next year, not the best in the comp, but not the worse either. Dont be suprissed if they suddenly look a lot better, even though nothing appears to have changed.
So what do people think, could our backline be possibly not us bad as we all think? And with less pressure, could they finally hold there own in games? More importantly, do you think the changes I have highlighted make us serious top 8 contenders (don't be reluctant to say yes, look at what the Kangaroos did this year, and they are some seriously considerable changes to our team!)
marcmurphy3
21 Oct 2007, 22:03
Not as bad as people think. I think our biggest problem last year was O'hAilpin having to go in the ruck when he was looking really promising at FB.
I agree with what you are saying. We don't really have any 'name' players in our backline, but its not as bad as it has been and it is improving. Jamison was a great find last year - really looked the part as a solid defender. O'Hailpin is big and athletic enough to challenge the Gorillas, and Thornton and Waite give options as well.
Our midfield has been the real problem. Our lack of ruck depth has meant we haven't had a Cox or a Lade pushing back and filling the holes. Last year we had Ackland in that role - an undersized role player struggling with confidence. Having a quality defensive ruckman makes a massive difference. Plus, we had to push O'Hailpin into the ruck far too often, which left a gap in defence. The more we improve and gain stability in the ruck, the more our defence will improve. Similarly, our lack of midfield depth made it far more difficult for our midfielders and wingers to push back and lend support. They were quite young too, and adding bigger experienced bodies like Judd and Stevens will enable far more run back into defence.
Our backline can only get better. I just watched the round 22 match again and saw some good signs. Jamison's going to be a beauty. Bower looks more settled and will only grow in confidence. Walker can do a good job and also rebounds alot out of defence. We still have Thornton to come back and Anderson. Austin is a project player and will come on in a couple of years.
The main reason teams scored so much against us is from our turnovers. Everyone pushes up the ground and then to have the ball turned over is suicide. Footskills and decision making killed us this year. We have turned the corner now and the worst is behind us.
MyBloodIsBlue
21 Oct 2007, 22:16
Our backline can only get better. I just watched the round 22 match again and saw some good signs. Jamison's going to be a beauty. Bower looks more settled and will only grow in confidence. Walker can do a good job and also rebounds alot out of defence. We still have Thornton to come back and Anderson. Austin is a project player and will come on in a couple of years.
The main reason teams scored so much against us is from our turnovers. Everyone pushes up the ground and then to have the ball turned over is suicide. Footskills and decision making killed us this year. We have turned the corner now and the worst is behind us.
Competely agree hustla. I thought we really fell down last year trying to switch play which didn't quite work and then put pressure on the backline.
Looking forward to watching the backline (and everywhere else!), hoping Jammo can pick up where he left off and Carlos can really settle in without being moved around and Bower/Thornton/Aussie and the crew can get into the groove.
Bluebear
21 Oct 2007, 22:54
Good thread.
The Stevens and Cloke injuries exposed our lack of depth last year, and we had to push Setanta into the ruck and Walker into the midfield.
Setanta was our ONLY big guy, and while he wasn't dominating, he was looking like he could compete.
Walker has been (despite the criticism of the position and arguements for playing in the middle) one of our best defenders, in being able to shut down a small forward (something we have had trouble with FOREVER) but also rebounding and attacking.
The addition of Judd and Hadly obviously helps our midfield depth.
The emergence of Aisake (hopefully) and Hampson, and possibly the recuitment of Kreuzer will help our ruck depth.
Of course, having player out forces others to step up, and Jammo and Bower did this down back, and Carrots did this in the middle.
With a better delivery in the midfield, giving our guys a chance to find their man, more midifeld pressure will help our backline greatly as well.
It will be better next year. Mark it down.:thumbsu:
Hayashi_62
21 Oct 2007, 23:00
I think many of you are missing the point. What's the point of being able to move the ball well out of the backline, if they're just kicking goals when they go in there.
blues4flag
21 Oct 2007, 23:04
Yep. While our backline is no strength, the lack of pressure and competitiveness through the midfield meant the ball was coming in easily and quickly. The opposition would run off the half-back line/through the middle with very little pressure - one of our biggest problems in 07 and hopefully Ratts + a more competitiveness midfield, with importantly more depth, will help address that issue, making our defenders jobs a lot easier.
PIES_MAGIC
21 Oct 2007, 23:12
yes its bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
when you got princess houlihan running out of there and running from his shadow must be problems
legendtofski
21 Oct 2007, 23:16
Is John Howard a Carlton fan like Malcom Fraser was, and John Elliot...?
"..I know it's bad, but it's not that bad, as long as we are still winning..(or are/were we??)
I digress...
Our backline is still an utter RABBLE, and we will not make any SERIOUS attempts at a flag until it is fixed.
We still get HUMILIATED by flash-in-the-pan hacks like Farmer, Rocca, Harvey, Gherig (well he's gone) O'Laughlin, etc...way too easily.
Simple as that.
We'll be pretty good one year, and average the next, but still have a hotch-potch defense.
Maybe we'll realise this for next years draft/trade period, when we can finally trade off that 'quality' player called Houla......
damage_inc07
21 Oct 2007, 23:23
when you got princess houlihan running out of there and running from his shadow must be problems
Feel better now? See you in '08!
setanta17
21 Oct 2007, 23:38
guys we have setanta! the irish spirt machine. we will be fine.
Bluebear
21 Oct 2007, 23:43
Do you know how excited I get when I think of Fev playing on Wakelin or Presti next year?
With Judd and Stevo (yes.....both could have been yours........careful, ters will damage your keyboard) feeding him the pill.
Finally we will be able to compare Murph with Thomas and Pendles and he will be in a similar situation with no immediate tagger for the first time in his career.
The more fear in your posts......the stronger we become.:p
PIES_MAGIC
22 Oct 2007, 00:12
i feel so much better now :) thank you for asking and no collingwood will be seeing you in 2008. pick up judd and you reckon your team champion player can beat a champion team. joke of a supporter be realistic no practical you goose
and for the goose above me i dont see you typing gibbs because you know his going to be a travis johnstone first pick dud as for fev and presti 1 position on the ground doesnt win you a game which carlton is use to. and 4 "stevo" as you like to call him he bleeds black and white and you know it if he had a choice to captain collingwood or carlton well you give me the answer sweet heart
Feel better now? See you in '08!
DonFletch
22 Oct 2007, 00:20
jamison and setanta will be welcome additions to our backline next year. jamison at FB, and i believe setanta is better suited to CHB, his agility and aerobic capacity are well documented, why not utilize it at CHB, where he will be able to compete with the running machine CHF's such as reiwoldt.
that along with a stronger midfield should help somewhat.....but its an area of concern for the blues...SOS for defensive coach!!!!!
Blue Dimension
22 Oct 2007, 00:36
Haha, i'll give you that one :thumbsu::p i actually had a bit of a chuckle when i read that.
cfc4life
22 Oct 2007, 11:46
Ok maybe this is a lot of wishful thinking, and I am just biased, but I was thinking about this last night, and in the end I thought, our backline isnt actually that bad.
When I was watching the NAB cup games this year, one thing that I was really impressed with was our backline, I thought, wow, they seem like they will get their act together this year - ahh, no, they didn't.
However, I still don't think our backline is as bad as it seems. I know people are saying Judd won't make a difference alone, but thats not the case is it, and when I think of the changes that could come next year, I truely think our backline will perform better next year, and I stuggle to see us not making the finals, or at least not coming close.
Forward line:
- Fev should be exciting to have Judd & Stevens, and thus I think his attitude will lift, and he'll have a steller year
- Hopefully more options, with Betts/Cloke staying injury free, Edwards/Hartlett getting more oportunities, possibly Aisake/Kruezer or Cotchin at some stage.
Our foward line was the only good thing of last year, and even minus Matty/Lance and Josh, should see a great improvement in our forward line.
Midfield:
This is obvious,
- Quality, quality, and quality, adding Judd & Stevens will lift our midfield greatly
- Murphy will not have the best tagger, less pressure on him, I can't stress this enough the improvement this will make, his 3rd year, I believe he'll blow everyone away next year.
- Carrazo/Simpson ect. can only get better, and even if they don't, their current form, minus the pressure with Judd & Stevens there, will still add more.
- Depth - plenty of potential with guys like Hadley/Walker to be the big improvers oof '08, and plenty of guys to have stints in the midfield: Betts/Gibbs/Cotchin(Maybe) ect.
- Improvement in ruck, ok well look at it this way, even if Hampson, Aisake, Cloke, and possibly Kruezer all turn out to be worse than Ackland somehow,or all get injured leaving us no other options, then that will mean we just go with Ackland as we have this year, and surely he will improve on last year, no matter how minor.
Overall midfield will greatly improve, look at it this year, even without all these positives, we still managed to win a lot of stoppages and clearances. Adding these positives = winning even more stopages, using it better when we do, and more time in possesion.
Backline:
Now this is the point I really wanted to make. I know people say our backline is really bad, and im not saying it is great, but really, we havent actually looked that bad down there at times. We had to use O'haiplin elsewhere often this year due to injuries, but next year he should spend a lot more time down there. We have a lot of young guys coming through, and having Scotland/Walker down their provides great run.
Our problem has been our midfield quality and depth, which we have now adressed. Its not like every game we played this year, we got hammered in the first quarter, it was usually the 2nd half, 2nd quarter ect. that other teams got the better of us, why? Cause our backline is crap? No i dont think so. The reason is because it came down so quick, and so often. As soon as we didnt deliver it to our forward well (happened often), it rebounded immediately, and was straight back down the back after they had just cleared it.
Look at the Eagles, they have been a quality side for the last few years, but there forward line has been crap, but that is irrelevant, because they got the ball delievered so often, they would eventually score. Likewise with our defence, it got pumped into our backline so much, we eventually cracked, usually in the 2nd half. Jezz, put that sort of pressure on the Eagles/Cats defence week in, week out, and even they would crack.
So I think our defence will be great improvers next year, not the best in the comp, but not the worse either. Dont be suprissed if they suddenly look a lot better, even though nothing appears to have changed.
So what do people think, could our backline be possibly not us bad as we all think? And with less pressure, could they finally hold there own in games? More importantly, do you think the changes I have highlighted make us serious top 8 contenders (don't be reluctant to say yes, look at what the Kangaroos did this year, and they are some seriously considerable changes to our team!)
Great Post:thumbsu: Totally agree
yeah fair call , the midfield is what usually helps the backline if the mids can win the ball a lot more or even just apply pressure to the kicker of the opposition team delivering it to their forwards. it helps the backs a lot
if you guys can find two young guys to slot into it , i dont see it as that big a problem
walker jamison thornton setanta all give something to the backline
why do they bother with houla hoops and scotland down there though ?
scotland would rather rack up 30 possies off easy kicks and hoops wont touch anyone let alone tackle a guy with the ball.
do carlton supporters prefer houlihan up forward? ive always seen him as a great kick for a goal and wasted in the backline. my thoughts were the same with matty lappin
yeah fair call , the midfield is what usually helps the backline if the mids can win the ball a lot more or even just apply pressure to the kicker of the opposition team delivering it to their forwards. it helps the backs a lot
if you guys can find two young guys to slot into it , i dont see it as that big a problem
walker jamison thornton setanta all give something to the backline
why do they bother with houla hoops and scotland down there though ?
scotland would rather rack up 30 possies off easy kicks and hoops wont touch anyone let alone tackle a guy with the ball.
do carlton supporters prefer houlihan up forward ? ive always seen him as a great kick for a goal and wasted in the backline. my thoughts were the same with matty lappin
I like scotland down back, gives great rebound. As for Houlihan i'd like to see him spend more time up forward for the Bullants! The game has passed by players with a total lack of defensive awareness! Eddy at half his size never has trouble making a tackle stick!!
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 13:13
I like scotland down back, gives great rebound. As for Houlihan i'd like to see him spend more time up forward for the Bullants! The game has passed by players with a total lack of defensive awareness! Eddy at half his size never has trouble making a tackle stick!!
Not every guy has to lay great tackles, chuck him in the forward line, and his job won't be to have defensive awareness, but to use his great skills to set up goals. Some of the goals he kicked around his body from 50 this year...great work!
Seriously, people need to stop using Houlihan as a scapegoat to us losing matches, he will be there for our next premiership, guarenteed :thumbsu:
The Grover
22 Oct 2007, 13:30
We need guys who are more defensive minded playing in defence.
Probably need a mix of 4 dour stoppers & 2 attacking defenders, if a player can do both then thats a bonus.
Dour defenders - Jamison,Anderson(I have high hopes for this guy,could also be attacking)
Mix of both - Walker,Setanta.
Attacking - Scotland,Thornton,Houlihan,Bower,Grigg,Waite
Unknowns - Hadley (could be a dour defender)
Not sure if I have covered all our possible defenders, the mix still doesn't look right to me.
I would like 1 more dour defender & a gun attacking defender who can set play up with run & kicking accuracy/distance (not advocating drafting him but Morton would be the prototype).
Not every guy has to lay great tackles, chuck him in the forward line, and his job won't be to have defensive awareness, but to use his great skills to set up goals. Some of the goals he kicked around his body from 50 this year...great work!
Seriously, people need to stop using Houlihan as a scapegoat to us losing matches, he will be there for our next premiership, guarenteed :thumbsu:
I never said he was our problem!
Eddy doesn't have a game long influence, but he always provides forward line pressure. how much attention does Fev get when he gets a high one in a contest against three, and doesn't continue to apply pressure? Surely if its good enough for a contesting forward to lay tackles its good enough for a crumbing forward also.
Smaller, Younger guys apply more pressure, imo he needs to play like a senior player and take more heat, as he has promised the last six pre-seasons. Not expect the Gibbs', Murphy's, Jackson's and Grigg's to take the pressure in their first twenty games, while he can sit and pick up cheap kicks off the pack up forward!
We all talk about a lack of leaders at Carlton, names like Fev, Whitnall, Stevens and Scotland, all with their bad traits. But Houlihan is about to play his 9th season of AFL football!!! When do you become a senior player with the ability to lead the young kids?? People ask what Thornton has done, but he has always put his hand up to play in our toughest, least developed position his whole career, now we say it would be good to see him as a third tall, cool. But Houlihan has never done the hard work to deserve a cheap spot.
We have seven mids that we need positions on the ground for them to rotate, we need to accomodate players like Asake, Hampson, Cloke and prob Kruezer. All better used developing kids around the ground than the bench while HOOPS waits in the forward line
jonoman89
22 Oct 2007, 17:08
it is true that our midfield will greatly improve our defence next year, but our defence is still rat shit.
if an opposition player gets in our 50, the biggest problem for him is his own accuracy - not our defenders. thats the true sign of a bad defence. hopefully ratts gives defence a big look-in before 08 or we are buggered.
we conceeded 100 points EVERY GAME THIS YEAR EXCEPT 1!!!!!
BlueYoss
22 Oct 2007, 17:21
The word 'what' in the heading is entirely redundant and grammatically incorrect.
'Is our backline as bad as people think?' :thumbsu:
The incorrect and unnecessary inclusion of the word what (usually following the word 'as') is something that seems to have crept into the language from sports players in interviews (like 'Nah, yeah...', 'Yeah, nah...') and is a pet peeve of mine :cool:
PeterDean
22 Oct 2007, 17:34
simply, no.
we pretty much have the complete team now, right down to emergencies.
Judd unbackable for Norm Smith.
AndSmithMustScore
22 Oct 2007, 17:46
i feel so much better now :) thank you for asking and no collingwood will be seeing you in 2008. pick up judd and you reckon your team champion player can beat a champion team. joke of a supporter be realistic no practical you goose
and for the goose above me i dont see you typing gibbs because you know his going to be a travis johnstone first pick dud as for fev and presti 1 position on the ground doesnt win you a game which carlton is use to. and 4 "stevo" as you like to call him he bleeds black and white and you know it if he had a choice to captain collingwood or carlton well you give me the answer sweet heart
**** off you bogan **** :)
Crawl back into the sewer from where you were conceived. :thumbsu:
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 18:34
I never said he was our problem!
Eddy doesn't have a game long influence, but he always provides forward line pressure. how much attention does Fev get when he gets a high one in a contest against three, and doesn't continue to apply pressure? Surely if its good enough for a contesting forward to lay tackles its good enough for a crumbing forward also.
Smaller, Younger guys apply more pressure, imo he needs to play like a senior player and take more heat, as he has promised the last six pre-seasons. Not expect the Gibbs', Murphy's, Jackson's and Grigg's to take the pressure in their first twenty games, while he can sit and pick up cheap kicks off the pack up forward!
We all talk about a lack of leaders at Carlton, names like Fev, Whitnall, Stevens and Scotland, all with their bad traits. But Houlihan is about to play his 9th season of AFL football!!! When do you become a senior player with the ability to lead the young kids?? People ask what Thornton has done, but he has always put his hand up to play in our toughest, least developed position his whole career, now we say it would be good to see him as a third tall, cool. But Houlihan has never done the hard work to deserve a cheap spot.
We have seven mids that we need positions on the ground for them to rotate, we need to accomodate players like Asake, Hampson, Cloke and prob Kruezer. All better used developing kids around the ground than the bench while HOOPS waits in the forward line
When I read your first post, I thought you were just another supporter taking a cheap shot at Houlihan, but after reading this post, I liked your reply. You bring up some good points, and I agree with what your saying......however he will still be part of our best 22 for some seasons yet.
blueant
22 Oct 2007, 18:48
If Waite plays CHB and Sentan FB with Jamison and Thornton back there i think we should be alright it take a bit of time until we have a good solid backline but in time it will happen our backline will have its good days and bad days next season
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 18:53
The word 'what' in the heading is entirely redundant and grammatically incorrect.
'Is our backline as bad as people think?' :thumbsu:
The incorrect and unnecessary inclusion of the word what (usually following the word 'as') is something that seems to have crept into the language from sports players in interviews (like 'Nah, yeah...', 'Yeah, nah...') and is a pet peeve of mine :cool:
Im supprised at how grammar and spelling are brought up so much, FFS its a footy forum, I come on here to unwind from that crap with my essays. I mean, I/my post got called an oxymoron the other day :eek:...WTF, that sort of language on a footy site should be banned.
BTW theres a thing called Synonyms, so I aint impressed, only thing that impresses me on here is good footy knowledge and opinions!
Forward line:
Midfield:
This is obvious,
Backline:
I've got to admit that after reading this I am convinced. On paper that is a premiership team. Unfortunately all games are played on grass.
BlueYoss
22 Oct 2007, 19:18
Im supprised at how grammar and spelling are brought up so much, FFS its a footy forum, I come on here to unwind from that crap with my essays. I mean, I/my post got called an oxymoron the other day :eek:...WTF, that sort of language on a footy site should be banned.
BTW theres a thing called Synonyms, so I aint impressed, only thing that impresses me on here is good footy knowledge and opinions!
If I got a dollar for every spelling and/or grammar mistake I picked up on BF I would be posting from a deck chair on the white sandy beach of my own private island in the Carribean!
This wasn't just a simple correction of any old spelling or grammar mistake.
I thought I made it quite clear that this one in particular was a pet peeve of mine. One of those that you start hearing in interviews with sports players and then within a year or two it has infiltrated society and becomes a part of the spoken language (who said footy players aren't role models?!?).
Nothing personal damage_inc (I'm a huge Metallica fan from way back -respect).
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 19:45
If I got a dollar for every spelling and/or grammar mistake I picked up on BF I would be posting from a deck chair on the white sandy beach of my own private island in the Carribean!
This wasn't just a simple correction of any old spelling or grammar mistake.
I thought I made it quite clear that this one in particular was a pet peeve of mine. One of those that you start hearing in interviews with sports players and then within a year or two it has infiltrated society and becomes a part of the spoken language (who said footy players aren't role models?!?).
Nothing personal damage_inc (I'm a huge Metallica fan from way back -respect).
I know my post seemed directed at you, but it wasnt meant to be, I didn't actually have a problem with what you said as I could tell you were genuinely just stating a pet annoyance...I've no problems with that. It was just easy to use your post as an example to get my point across.
Glad to know I have a fellow Metallica fan on here, good times.
yes is it, but it can improve significantly.
firstly there is going to be natural improvement, players gain experience and get get better
players have another pre season, so they become stronger and some fitter
then there is the midfield, if we can improve our accountability then this will help our backline'
same goes for our fwd's if all our fwd's apply defensive pressure on our FWD50 then this can only help our backline.
also some wins and a bit of consistency in our performances will help.
BlueYoss
22 Oct 2007, 20:06
I know my post seemed directed at you, but it wasnt meant to be, I didn't actually have a problem with what you said as I could tell you were genuinely just stating a pet annoyance...I've no problems with that. It was just easy to use your post as an example to get my point across.
All good :thumbsu:
To answer the question, NO!
I don't think our backline is anywhere near as bad as people think it is.
Thornton, Setanta and Scotland are great contributors.
Bower, Anderson and Jamison have shown some great signs and should improve further with another pre-season under their belts, as will Austin who could well develop into the CHB we have been waiting for.
Hadley is another mature body who could potentially add experience off a half back flank and Hartlett may spend some time at CHB if he does not end up replacing JK at CHF.
Waite can still be called on for specialist assignments like Reiwoldt, Franklin etc.
Bannister & Saddington put in some good games towards the end of last year and still provide experience and depth options.
MyBloodIsBlue
22 Oct 2007, 20:12
Now play the Unforgiven and have a make up cuddle fellas ;):p
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 20:27
Haha hilarious stuff, good call :D:thumbsu:
windows
22 Oct 2007, 20:34
I think the backline IS woeful. Yes J Brown kills everyone but against us its more like Halloween II. Jameson looked ok, but he is 21, and Lloyd looked like the younger version of himself against him late in the season. Take any small forward you desire and they will destroy us.
Our flanker defenders aren't too bad, but key position and small defenders are shocking. As bad as any in the AFL and will stop us from achieving success long term if not addressed.
Bower is our only hope next year. I actually think our season depends a lot on (a) injuries (because our depth is still poor) and (b) Paul Bower's ability to step up to CHB.
When I read your first post, I thought you were just another supporter taking a cheap shot at Houlihan, but after reading this post, I liked your reply. You bring up some good points, and I agree with what your saying......however he will still be part of our best 22 for some seasons yet.
I agree that his NATURAL talent will see him play many more games for the blues.
Just grew up watching players like Dean, Johnson, Rice, Hickmont, Brown, diesel, Sticks and co have a good hard crack. All have been senior players in bad teams, but they fly the flag. They have helped continue the rule that Carlton NEVER takes a backward step! We are the BLUES!!
Have spent many years also waiting for Houlihan to become a dependable senior player! He keeps making bold pre-season statements about how he wants to play midfield this year, but after about round ten we see same old Ryan!
Wouldn't master of pupets just fit the mood so much better??
Blue Dawn
22 Oct 2007, 21:02
B Jamison Setanta Bower/Anderson
HB Walker/Scotland Waite Thornton
This is probably how our backline should look next year - depending upon match-ups/rotations. With support from the midfield expect our backs to improve noticeably next year. However, it probably won't be for another two or three years - with the maturing of Bower and Austin in particular - that our backline will be strong enough to take us deep into September.
MyBloodIsBlue
22 Oct 2007, 21:31
Sanitarium should be the new BF them song :D
damage_inc07
22 Oct 2007, 22:44
Yer i reckon the part with James' slow guitar solo part would definately suit...hangon, what board are we on again?
Bluebear
22 Oct 2007, 23:06
Cool song.
At times I think "Fight fire with fire" would be more appropriate.
BlueYoss
23 Oct 2007, 12:55
I guess it really depends on the context....
AFL for taking our draft picks: Unforgiven
Ian Collins (re: Princes Park): Unforgiven II
Andrew Demitriou: Master of Puppets
Caroline Wilson: Creeping Death
Gary Lyon: Of Wolf and Man
Greg Miller: Leper Messiah
KB: Holier Than Thou
Terry Wallace: For Whom the Bell Tolls
Essendon: Fade to Black
Ben Cousins: Trapped Under Ice
West Coast: No Remorse
Collingwood in a Prelim: The Thing That Should Not Be
Current CFC Board: Fight Fire With Fire
JK traded to West Coast: Sad But True
Judd coming to Carlton: Nothing Else Matters
etc. etc. etc.
Bluebear
23 Oct 2007, 12:59
etc. etc. etc.
Chris Mainwaring - Fade to Black :(
Go_Blues
23 Oct 2007, 19:41
better midfield = better backline
jonoman89
23 Oct 2007, 20:05
shit backline still = shit backline
MyBloodIsBlue
23 Oct 2007, 21:08
etc. etc. etc.
Great Blue Yoss!
How about Richmond - The Shortest Straw :rolleyes::D
BlueYoss
24 Oct 2007, 12:37
Great Blue Yoss!
How about Richmond - The Shortest Straw :rolleyes::D
There were many more but unfortunately I had to run out to a meeting so had to leave it at that, hence the etc. etc. at the end.
By all means, feel free to add more!
Bluebear
24 Oct 2007, 13:41
Richmond - Misery
BlueYoss
24 Oct 2007, 14:21
Richmond - Misery
The full name of the song is actually My Friend of Misery, are you sure you still want to go with that for Richmond?
Suggested alternatives:
Dont Tread on Me
Poor Twisted Me
Harvester of Sorrows
Disposable Heroes
Wasting My Hate
Helpless
Bluebear
24 Oct 2007, 15:49
The full name of the song is actually My Friend of Misery, are you sure you still want to go with that for Richmond?
Suggested alternatives:
Dont Tread on Me
Poor Twisted Me
Harvester of Sorrows
Disposable Heroes
Wasting My Hate
Helpless
Definately.
They would sing it.......and misery is their only true friend.
Saints - Disposable Heros
I thought it was longer than Misery, but haven;t listened to that album for years, and didn't have it handy.:o
BlueYoss
24 Oct 2007, 15:52
Definately.
They would sing it.......and misery is their only true friend.
Saints - Disposable Heros
I thought it was longer than Misery, but haven;t listened to that album for years, and didn't have it handy.:o
I have 2 empty cases for the black album at home and no idea where the discs are, if I ever get my hands on those theivin bastards....
Might be time to go buy a third...
bluebrew
24 Oct 2007, 16:05
You could also include flotsam and jetsam -doomsday for the deceiver - Richmond.
damage_inc07
24 Oct 2007, 17:48
I have 2 empty cases for the black album at home and no idea where the discs are, if I ever get my hands on those theivin bastards....
Might be time to go buy a third...
Haha I know what you mean, I have a couple copies of that, and some of my other metallica cd's go missing myself, with only empty cases to show for it
...though I think this is more attributed to me listening to them while drunk, carelessly tossing them aside when I have a sudden urge to listen to a different album, and finding them a week later scratched to pieces...wouldnt have a clue where they are now, funnily enough it is usually only my met cd's this has happened to....time to buy the whole set for me!
damage_inc07
24 Oct 2007, 17:52
You could also include flotsam and jetsam -doomsday for the deceiver - Richmond.
:eek: Haven't heard that name in a while...poor Jason :(
Marc Shmurf 3
24 Oct 2007, 19:12
its improving, we have the players in place at the moment that still need a few more years in the system